Paymo

Task Management, Time Tracking, and Accounting for SMBs

4.7 /5 (399 reviews) Write a Review!

Paymo Overview

What is Paymo?

Paymo is a solution dedicated to Marketing, Design, Creative, and Advertising Agencies, Architecture firms, Universities, Law firms and Consulting businesses.
It allows you to create and assign tasks, schedule work, accurately keep track of work time at the office and on the go, collaborate and issue invoices to your clients based on worked timed.

Paymo Overview

Pricing

Starting from
$9.56/month

Pricing options

Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Free - For 1 user
Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools
Small Office - $9.56/user/month
Business - $15.16/user/month


Paymo Features

Devices
Business size
S M L
Markets
United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, Brazil
Supported Languages
Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch and 14 others, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Media

Kanban View
Full Task Details
Timesheets
To Do List
Advanced Task Management
Real-time Comments and Discussions
Desktop Apps
Mobile Apps
Team Scheduling
Time Reports
Paymo video Paymo screenshot: Kanban View Paymo screenshot: Full Task Details Paymo screenshot: Timesheets Paymo screenshot: To Do List Paymo screenshot: Advanced Task Management Paymo screenshot: Real-time Comments and Discussions Paymo screenshot: Desktop Apps Paymo screenshot: Mobile Apps Paymo screenshot: Team Scheduling Paymo screenshot: Time Reports

Paymo Reviews

Paymo Reviews

Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Excellent
307

Very good
82

Average
8

Poor
2

Terrible
0

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.7
97% recommended this app
Krystle chanel K.

I finally found the one!

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new features are thoughtful and integrated seamlessly with the tool. I appreciate this because I have used other software that seem to have their priorities mixed up when releasing enhancements; adding things that don't move the needle ahead of things that do.


Neal B.

Paymo has grown, evolved, and expanded alongside of the needs of our business.

Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management, client management, invoicing, estimation, Zapier integration, scheduling, team tasking...and the list goes on and on.


Cameron N.

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.


Jelena J.

My time and sanity saver!

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management.

Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription.

Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :)

Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.


Leticia M.

Our main tool to run the business

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant improvement with new features. It's a rich feature tool for a low price and it suits our company as no other does, not only in what they offer but in an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. The timer, invoices using the timesheet, team scheduling, sending estimates, all those make the difference in our business and has help us to save and make money.


Krystle chanel K.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

I finally found the one!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/26/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new features are thoughtful and integrated seamlessly with the tool. I appreciate this because I have used other software that seem to have their priorities mixed up when releasing enhancements; adding things that don't move the needle ahead of things that do.

Pros

After years of using project management software for both myself and companies I've worked for, I found the right tool for the job for my personal, small business as a marketing coach and online entrepreneur.

Until I build a team, I'm using Paymo for myself, and other tools are not always price-sensitive for a solo user. I appreciate that Paymo provides an option to pay for one user until I'm ready to grow.

A particular feature I was looking for was the option to view all projects on a single Kanban board. In the rare case that I found this option, it was a significant upgrade to acquire. But Paymo offers this and it's super easy to use!

Other features I love:
- Time-tracking/timesheet: Visual representation of where my time goes. I use the in-app timer every day.
- Flexible viewing options: I can easily switch between list, table, board, and Gantt views, with easy to use filters that allow me to see exactly what I want. No custom reports or views need created - which can be time-consuming and inflexible (enterprise tools).
- Note: The user experience of the Gantt chart was also what I was looking for. It is drag and drop and allows you to adjust your timeline from within the view.

There's so much to love about Paymo! And that is saying a lot coming from someone who has researched and used as many tools as I have - including enterprise solution, Workfront.

Paymo is definitely worth giving a try!

Cons

I wish there was a way to invite collaborators/reviewers like there is in Asana. If I want a coaching client to be able to collaborate, there is no way to do this without paying for another user.
This is superficial, but, the name! When I tell people about Paymo, they immediately think it's a financial tool, not a project management tool, based on the name. I would hate for this to hold Paymo back in the market.

Response from Paymo

You sure did your researh, Krystle, thank you for the review :)

Actually, we're working on an improved client portal with in-app access to guest users, so they can collaborate with you on the same page. This is our #1 priority atm, so stay tuned!

As for our name, this goes back more than 10 years when we started out as a time tracking and billing tool. The purpose was to use the app and GET PAID MORE, hence Paymo :)

Hope this helps, thank you again!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Neal B.
Industry: Graphic Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Paymo has grown, evolved, and expanded alongside of the needs of our business.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/25/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management, client management, invoicing, estimation, Zapier integration, scheduling, team tasking...and the list goes on and on.

Pros

Time tracking is seamlessly integrated into our current designer workflow. This allows us to calculate the actual time spent on the job so clients understand where their money is being spent. It also allows us to identify where we need to increase project costs (9/10 times it's with 'customer correspondence').

Cons

We've been with Paymo for over 10 years so it was a bit of a kick when they started charging for functionality like Gant Charts. We've always loved the complete 'soup-to-nuts' service that Paymo offered so when certain items were put behind another paywall it definitely stung a bit. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Response from Paymo

Loved the "(9/10 times it's with customer correspondence)" part, Neal :)

Besides Gantt Charts, the Business plan also comes with a Team Scheduling module, 100 GB of storage, and priority support.

We found this plan to be more appealing to larger teams, that's why we've decided to include it in a separate plan.

What specifically do you need from Gantt Charts, the ability to set dependencies or see task deadlines on a calendar?

If it's the latter one, then I have some good news: we're going to launch a task calendar view in the near future, so stay tuned!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cameron N.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 1/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all!

If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!

If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!!

I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Jelena J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

My time and sanity saver!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management.

Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription.

Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :)

Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros

Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting.

With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver!

One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time!

Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task.

And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus!

It's brilliant.

The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis.

It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need.

And it's getting even better!

Cons

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap.

Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Jelena <3

Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access.

Cheers,
Marcel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Leticia M.
Industry: Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Our main tool to run the business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/16/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant improvement with new features. It's a rich feature tool for a low price and it suits our company as no other does, not only in what they offer but in an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. The timer, invoices using the timesheet, team scheduling, sending estimates, all those make the difference in our business and has help us to save and make money.

Pros

The timer is the best feature of Paymo. We search a lot but none of the other tools allows us to easy time our work and bill our clients as Paymo, with an always-visible timer. And the ability to bill our clients with the timesheet completes our process perfectly.

Cons

It's lacking a client portal, where they have all information about their project and invoices

Response from Paymo

Time tracking FTW, Leticia - thank you :)

I think there's a misunderstanding. The current client portal allows clients to view their invoices. Just be sure to add them as contacts too: https://help.paymoapp.com/en/articles/900000-how-do-i-add-a-contact-to-a-client

They can't see the project progress, something that is going to be fixed with the next release of the client portal. That will grant guest users in-app access.

This is our #1 priority right now, so stay tuned!

Kind regards,
Marcel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

User recommendation
9/10
Based on 399 user ratings
Compare user recommendation rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Paymo Pricing

Paymo Pricing

Starting from
$9.56/month
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Free - For 1 user
Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools
Small Office - $9.56/user/month
Business - $15.16/user/month

Free - For 1 user
Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools
Small Office - $9.56/user/month
Business - $15.16/user/month

Value for Money
4.6/5
Based on 399 user ratings
Compare value for money rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Paymo Features

Paymo Features

API
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Automatic Notifications
Collaboration Tools
Drag & Drop Interface
Gantt Charts
Multiple Projects
Prioritizing
Progress Tracking
Project Management
Project Planning
Project Time Tracking
Project Tracking
Projections
Reporting & Statistics
Task Management
Task Planning
Task Tracking
Third Party Integration
Features
4.5/5
Based on 399 user ratings
Compare features rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Categories

Additional information for Paymo

Additional information for Paymo

Key features of Paymo

  • accept payments online
  • client portal
  • create invoices based on timesheets
  • customisable reports
  • daily timesheets
  • discussions
  • email integration
  • estimates
  • expenses
  • file sharing and attachments
  • gantt chart
  • milestones
  • mobile and desktop apps
  • online invoices
  • project temaplates
  • resource planning
  • task management
  • time tracking

Benefits

- create, assign, and manage tasks
- track work time in browser, via desktop tools or mobile apps
- see who's overbooked or underbooked in Paymo's Team Scheduler
- track expenses, issue invoices to your clients and get paid online
- measure employee performance and track leave days
- comunicate with your team in real time with task comments

Paymo FAQs

Paymo FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Paymo.

Q. What type of pricing plans does Paymo offer?

Paymo offers the following pricing plans:

Starting from: $9.56/month

Pricing model: Free, Subscription

Free Trial: Available

Free - For 1 user Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools Small Office - $9.56/user/month Business - $15.16/user/month

Q. What are the main features of Paymo?

Paymo offers the following features:

  • accept payments online
  • client portal
  • create invoices based on timesheets
  • customisable reports
  • daily timesheets
  • discussions
  • email integration
  • estimates
  • expenses
  • file sharing and attachments
  • gantt chart
  • milestones
  • mobile and desktop apps
  • online invoices
  • project temaplates
  • resource planning
  • task management
  • time tracking

Q. Who are the typical users of Paymo?

Paymo has the following typical customers:

Small Business, Non Profit, Mid Size Business

Q. What languages does Paymo support?

Paymo supports the following languages:

Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Q. What type of pricing plans does Paymo offer?

Paymo has the following pricing plans:

Free, Subscription

Q. Does Paymo support mobile devices?

Paymo supports the following devices:

Android, iPhone, iPad

Q. What other apps does Paymo integrate with?

Paymo integrates with the following applications:

APIANT, Bitium, BugHerd, Egnyte, Hubstaff, LambdaTest, LeadMaster, ProjectManager.com, Retently, VisitorTrack

Q. What level of support does Paymo offer?

Paymo offers the following support options:

Online Support, Forum, Knowledge Base