Jira

4.4 (12,961)
Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(12,961)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

12961 Reviews

Saurabh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good project management and issue tracking tool.

Reviewed on 1/16/2023

Good experience with jira. Jira never disappoint our team for managing the projects and task also.

Pros

Jira is the best tool for project management and issue tracking . The best thing in jira is the dashboard of projects is awesome, very simple and easily accessible and understanding to everyone the status of the tasks.

Cons

Creating project is minor hard and all data of the project is filling in it is minor complicated.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira has been an essential tool in managing projects, client issues/bugs, and enhancement tasks

Reviewed on 11/27/2022

My main reason for choosing Jira was that I wanted a solution where I could grant my clients access to be able to add tasks or bugs and Jira has worked perfectly for that purpose. I have a few clients where I do a weekly status meeting and Jira is our main focus in the call. We review all issues with the 'In Review' status and if approved, we move them to the 'Done' status. We then look at outstanding items and adjust priorities as needed. My team then has their marching orders for the week.

Pros

The ability to assign priority ratings and then assign a task to a resource is great. I can then run reports to see all open, in progress, and done tasks by project, priority, or resource.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. Jira is an extremely powerful tool and sometimes a bit overwhelming. In fact, I would guess that my team is only using a portion of the features available to us.

Pratik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Project Management Made Easy!!

Reviewed on 1/14/2023

Pros

It is a well-established Project Management tool which helps us to plan and keep a track of Project cycle.Issue tracking is most helpful feature in Jira.

Cons

It is a great tool, for some of the tickets there is no delete option but I think its a bug which can be solved.

Deepanshu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jira offers a comprehensive range of project management services.

Reviewed on 10/12/2022

From last 3 years, I am using Atlassian products especially Jira. With ease, I am managing my agile and software development products in Jira. This tool offers a vast variety of services/functionalities which really helped me a lot to manage my project and activities on a daily basis. Scrum/kanban board, automation, service desk/issue collectors & integration with other applications like servicenow, slack etc helps me to keep track of all the info at one place. The integration of Jira with other applications like Servicenow, slack, github etc helps me to keep track of all the info at one place. With Github integration, I can manage my repos and pull requests info on Jira issues. Jira slack integration helps to get the notifications each time an issue gets created in my Jira project. Jira Servicenow integration is great functionality for Incident management tracking in Jira.

Pros

The best thing about this tool is that it offers you so much functionalities that makes your day to day work easier to manage and you can easily keep track all the project info at one place. Integration with other applications is one of the great functionality what this tool offers.

Cons

There are limited automations functionalities this software has to offer. While the project is software type, it does not offer you the automations functionalities. Other than that, this tool is a one stop solution for all your project needs.

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Sprints

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira is my preferred option over Zoho because of their superior user interface and user experience.
Faith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira - Best in Class for Project Management

Reviewed on 1/17/2023

Overall, I have a team that owns their work and are proud of each product they produce for our stakeholders.

Pros

The flexibility to choose the method of project management you wish to use. Also, the ability to customize features to suit your needs is enormously powerful!

Cons

During the implementation phase, be aware that each and every ask is an additional charge.

Alternatives Considered

Asana and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira, JITSM, and Confluence provided us with the most comprehensive package for our needs.
Enni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good software for managing tasks and projects

Reviewed on 1/14/2023

All in all, the software can be used by the entire company and different teams. Softa is very suitable for monitoring and managing the projects of all teams, from which the rest of the company can also follow the work and progress of other teams.

Pros

Software is easy to use and it makes it efficient to monitor the progress of projects and tasks. In addition, the software is good for projects and tasks, because you can put road blocks and reasons why a task has not been successful or progressed according to the schedule, for example. In addition, you can assign importance ratings to all tasks, which creates schedules for the importance of doing tasks.

Cons

Softa has a lot of different elements that can be used for different projects and tasks. In addition, different teams may have different ways of monitoring projects from the board, which may cause confusion in the management and monitoring of projects between different teams.

Teddy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review on Jira

Reviewed on 1/24/2023

Jira has been a great tool for managing my team's projects, making it easy to keep track of deadlines and tasks. Its flexibility and customization options sets it apart from other project management tools.

Pros

Jira offers an intuitive interface, making it easy to manage tasks and projects for both experienced and amateur users. It also has many add-ons and integrations that enhance its functionality.

Cons

Jira can be overwhelming with multiple projects, but it's manageable once you get the hang of it.

Konstantin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great task and project management platform

Reviewed on 1/18/2023

Pros

For us the best features are task and project management, IT service desk - awesome, especially with its portal to task creating.Searching and filtering possibilities help to track issues and bugs easily.Agile and Kanban boards - are amazing!

Cons

Jira query language is little bit odd and searching mechanism is not user friendly.

Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Project Management at its best

Reviewed on 1/18/2023

Its an excellent tool that help us to manage our projects in an easy way and with a lot of ways of communication.

Pros

The way that everyone in the team can see the bigger picture to understand how tasks impact the project overall

Cons

Sometimes the software can be a little scary, it would be awesome if there was an outlook integration to have the tasks in the calendar.

Jesús
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Jira review

Reviewed on 1/7/2023

Pros

tracking tasks and progress. also, the plugins are great and very helpful

Cons

The UI could use some works, and Jira take time to get used to

Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best and most true to tradition agile project/product management tool around

Reviewed on 11/9/2020

I have a (probably unhealthy) love for Jira and would need a lot of convincing to switch. It's interface is genuinely enjoyable to use and it aligns perfectly with agile product management methodologies, natively and in conjunction with its plethora of add-ons.

Pros

Jira is an immensely powerful issue management tool. It's JQL language provides ultimate flexibility to satisfy the needs of all roles on a product/project team. It's easy to use (if agile concepts are familiar to you and semi-intuitive if they're not), easy to deploy (especially if you're using Jira Cloud) and easy to integrate with.

Cons

The pricing model for add-ons. You could have a 100 users registered to your Jira instance, have an add-on that is used by a small handful of power users, and still be paying a license fee for all 100 users. Very annoying!

Alternatives Considered

Trello, monday.com and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Basecamp was rudimentary and unable to effectively visualise our cross-company/cross-team workload.

Switched From

Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira was the most aligned with our internal development workflows and flexible enough to work for both technical and non-technical users.
Glenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Collaboration Tool For Teams

Reviewed on 4/16/2020

Great way to collaborate with team members and outside vendors on ticketing and projects, with a lot of integration opportunities. Would highly recommend to users not currently using JIRA.

Pros

It is a feature packed program that helps teams collaborate using a ticketing system. Much easier way to work with team members to fix issues, deploy updates and collaborate. Using this system between employees, departments, consultants and others we have been able to streamline collaboration on projects. It also has a lot of integration, including with Slack, to expedite notifications.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve with this project and it can be a little hard to get the hang of, but once you do, the UI of the program will make sense.

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Switched content and development companies who use JIRA instead.

Switched From

Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Jira

More features and integrations over Basecamp.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Makes most sense for software projects and products.

Reviewed on 12/10/2019

JIRA is our source of truth for what is inside, coming out and ready to go next in, in our engineering pipeline is. There isn't a better tool out there even for miles and once you are cosy with JIRA, you can't really make do with another tool.

Pros

1) Releases/Versions:
Releases allow us to work in parallel on multiple efforts with the same team.
2) Parallel Sprints:
Same as releases, we are a lean team and we have to work on Product features and polish/bug fixes simultaneously.
3) Custom Filters: I like these the most!

Cons

They have taken out small pieces of functionality and made them separate products. These products are now paid and for those small pieces of functionality, you have to make extra purchases. e.g. Pages

Alternatives Considered

GitHub, Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA is complete suite for base requirements for development. If you are using Bitbucket for holding your repos then it makes the most sense as well. Atlassian has done a great job with a niche market of software in mind and even though it may seem like an overkill to use it for projects outside the engineering, it is still the best choice for engineering.
Youness
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira is the Best Project Management Software

Reviewed on 8/13/2019

THe best software for project management ever.
It's paid, but even for our size of projects, we still love to spend some money on it and enjoy the good project management.

Pros

Everything ! the software is very powerful, it has a lot of options and features:
- Scrum, Agility and flexibility of changing flows.
- Security setup for every type of users.
- A lot of features ( no way to compare it with any other software i know )
- Very simple to use
- Sprints support..
- High Availability.
- Awesome Designs ( old and new ).
And so many other things i love about JIRA

Cons

I wish the cost was a little more less for small sized companies.

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Trello is very limited comparing it to Jira.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

The amount of features and the ease of use. Finally, everything is great about JIRA.
Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility

Reviewed on 7/15/2019

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.

Pros

The backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.

Cons

Cumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.

Cristian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira for bug tracking and project management

Reviewed on 7/18/2019

I highly recommend Jira for a bug tracking tool and especially for Agile software teams. For us it has really made a difference in terms of: team collaboration, Agile methodology adoption, decreased time to market of new projects/new features and on the overall teams' spirit. We have seen a wide adoption for the other departments as well, non software development.

Pros

We used several bug tracking tools in the past but Jira is by far the best one. What I like most:
- user friendly interface, provides a nice user experience
- Agile SCRUM/Kanban support out of the box
- extremely configurable on almost everything
- extendable through custom scripting, either built-in or via addons
- very collaborative
- there are thousands of addons in the marketplace; you can even write your own

Cons

Being so flexible to be configured, the learning curve for admins is a little steep.
The price is based on the number of users and if you experience wide user adoption in a big company, you end up in paying more for upgrading to the next tier, than if you would pay for that tier first time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect Combination of Customizable, Detail-Oriented, and Easy to Use

Reviewed on 6/20/2019

Pros

I love JIRA. I use it professionally and personally. Even though it is primarily a task manager for software development, I have found that it is flexible enough to be used for all sorts of projects. It is amazing how customizable it is; you can configure your project settings to your already existing workflow, whatever it may be. While the initial setup can be time consuming, once you have your settings configured, using the tool is a breeze. It takes seconds to create tasks, start springs, evaluate progress, etc. I find that this makes JIRA standout from other task managers. In most cases, if the software allows for detail-oriented task management the process of inputting and tracking the tasks themselves is cumbersome. Entering and tracking tasks should not have to be another time-consuming task! The JIRA web application is also excellent, making it easy to enter or track tasks on-the-go.

Cons

I think there is a lot of potential with Jira's NextGen projects, however, the software rollout has been uneven and often not well documented. I wish this process would have been better thought out to make transitioning to NextGen projects smoother.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Extremely capable project management platform, but almost too flexible

Reviewed on 2/11/2020

Overall, it's been a great experience - but that was largely because we understood our own limitations, and kept our customization of the platform to a minimum.

Pros

Jira offers great flexibility: it can be adapted to any custom workflow, and readily supports custom fields/attributes. Also has fantastic API support for external integrations.

Cons

Jira's flexibility is also its achilles' heal. It's relatively easy to create workflows that aren't intuitive, or worse, leave users in "dead end" states that require admin assistance. Further, their implementation of Agile tools is still a bit awkward (probably because they acquired a 3rd-party set of plugins, and didn't really make the corresponding fields native). Finally, Jira's pricing represents a slippery slope - you can get started relatively inexpensively, but adding on options here and there rapidly adds up, and can make alternatives more price-effective.

Alternatives Considered

Pivotal Tracker, Breeze and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

High cost, facing even higher costs to make it really usable

Switched From

VersionOne

Reasons for Switching to Jira

API integrations with other tools in our software development lifecycle
Mikael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool for a product manager

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

My experience has been great with JIRA and I have setup the product in my last two organizations. In my current role, the entire company has moved all their projects to JIRA. Despite some pesky UI bugs here and there, JIRA does everything that I need and has become a critical piece of my day-to-day work. It's never easy to build a product for product people, but JIRA has found a way to do most of what I need. I only wish the business would invest a bit more effort into their support team, but since many companies are already using JIRA, the internet has become a great substitute.

Pros

JIRA gives me so much functionality out of the box. Within five minutes, I can create a board and invite my whole team to start working with me. It doesn't take long to customize your presentation of work to make it specific to your business. It has become the standard for the industry and with good reason; JIRA gives me everything that I need to track performance and ensure a timely release.

Cons

There are occasionally some annoying bugs that will present themselves, but it's never something that really prevents me from using the product effectively; usually it's an annoying UI bug that looks messy or ugly. For the most part, many of the people that complain about the product just don't know how to use it 'as is out of the box'. The more configurations you try to make, the more problems you can create for yourself. Aside from this, their customer service is quite lackluster and it often takes days if not weeks to hear back from support - usually the bugs are fixed before you even get a response.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Indispensable application...but setup is not for the non-tech savvy

Reviewed on 12/5/2019

When our internal IT Help Desk went down, we were in a bind. We needed something that we could get up and running with very little trouble and start getting help tickets going again. Despite there being a negative view of JIRA due to previous setup by non-technical users (who deemed it too complex); when the Help Desk was designed and implemented by the IT Team, there was very little talk of complication and more talk of how much better things were than the previous Help Desk. We did integrations with third-party collaboration tools and generated workflows and custom forms that made JIRA one of the best additions to our IT toolkit!

Pros

I love the quick and easy setup of JIRA spaces and it's integration with other Atlassian products. There are also a lot of third-party integrations to help fill-in the gaps.

Cons

JIRA is a beast. Plain and simple. Actually that's just it...it's not plain and simple. You have to have a good grasp of what you want from it to make sure you get what you really need. It is not friendly for the non-technical user looking to create a workspace.

Alternatives Considered

Trello and Asana

Switched From

Microsoft SharePoint
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The "Ticket or No Ticket" Debate

Reviewed on 3/19/2019

It took time to get buy-in from the entire IT department to fully utilize JIRA. However, now that the whole department is all-in, JIRA has truly made our work effort much easier. We now have internal business partners who utilize JIRA to review work status, set priorities, and create new tickets when issues/upgrades present themselves. With an organization our size, I can't imagine not utilizing something like JIRA...not sure how we did it all in the past.

Pros

The best part about JIRA is the ability to keep track of all work being done via tickets. I love that JIRA works for all kinds of styles of work. We work within an Agile environment, with some teams using Scrum and other teams using Kanban. No matter how the team is structured, they utilize JIRA tickets. This is great because there is a single repository for all work being done and we can easily search for tickets across all the different teams. The use of Epics vs. Stories is very easy too. We can keep track of what tickets belong to which effort with ease and show the progress of work through the tickets. We can also easily maintain a backlog of tickets. If two separate people submit a similar ticket (or at least two tickets that reference the same work effort), we can combine those tickets easily so that we aren't feeling overwhelmed with more tickets than actual work.

Cons

The biggest debate among our team members is when it is necessary to create a ticket. JIRA has created a culture of needing to log every little thing, even if it takes just a moment to complete the work. Sometimes, it takes longer to create the ticket than to complete the task at hand. That tells me there is too much reliance on JIRA to report work completed. It causes some in management to show that their department is succeeding simply by the number of tickets completed. But the tickets don't tell the whole story, especially because there isn't a time component to those tickets being completed.

Ding
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review on Atlassian JIRA

Reviewed on 5/31/2020

Overall, JIRA does the job for our team and even though I am on the Systems Team, we ourselves are mostly users as well. That keeps the headaches in check (as things could be very frustrating when trying to administer the applications. See above for the reasons).

Pros

A team needs a ticket/issue tracking system and JIRA Atlassian seems to be used widely in the industry.

As a user, it's easy to use for the most part. Besides having the option of hosting the application in-house, it also has the Cloud edition so from the Systems Team perspective, there's no need for servers, backups, security, keeping the service up (with fault tolerance), etc.

Cons

From the administration aspect of the software, JIRA still has a long way to go:

1) As an administrator, as far as I can see, one can *not* even do such a simple thing as change the Display Name for a user (I suppose it's a "feature" but I can't see why that's a good feature). Instead, an invite is sent out to the user, who can then set the Display Name after signing up.

2) As an administrator, one can login as another user to test permissions. That's normally a nice functionality for administrators. However, for some functionalities, while you are still logged in as another user, you suddenly go back to your normal identity. That's very confusing and thwarts the purpose. One potential good use is being able to login as another user to set/update the Display Name (see #1).

3) Setting permissions is not that easy. I tried to set permissions for an account that's used for scripting (using the REST API) but it seems very difficult (really, it should be easy) to get the permissions done correctly -- sufficient but minimal privileges.

4) The REST API is not great. The online documentation is often outdated and sometimes things don't work (with errors). Even when things run without errors, it might not actually do the thing that it's supposed to do (so you write the code for nothing when you expect it to work).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JIRA- Easy to Plan, Track & Release Project.

Reviewed on 4/11/2019

Overall, experience with JIRA is just awesome.
Simple tool to maintain the team's effort and Project's status on a single page, Project boards.
Would blindly recommend JIRA for simple and complex Agile projects.
Happy Project Tracking :)

Pros

I have been working on an Agile Project and I would say this is the best tool for the below reasons,
* Better visualization of the project roadmap for the team.
*Customizable options, Kanban and Scrum boards that can be modified as per the project and fields to be displayed, columns on board for the flow of tickets, etc..
* Easy task allocation and tracking, from both Manger's and team members view.
* Allows the user to create/edit respective items, for example making file and screenshot attachments just a click away.
* Integration with other apps used by the project is simple. Namely apps like TestRail & Confluence.
* Best part is the backlog, which helps to create/track ticket then and there when required and work on it in future.
* Viewing logs is easy as every action is tracked.
* Easy filtering options and report generation for project statuses.
* Filter out tickets release-wise, helpful for regression.

Cons

For the simplicity of the application, I could hardly think of any major negative points.
I faced this situation so just sharing it. If the team member is released from a project he/she has no option to request via.JIRA to dissociate from the Project Board/unsubscribe from getting emails related to the ex-project. Inbox gets loaded with all the comments and action performed by the ex-team members.

bennar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira for test management

Reviewed on 12/11/2019

As a QA in the team, our project is fully customised for tests, and Jira with Xray so far provides the best test management tool in the market. It makes life way easier, it is better than Zephyr and of course much better than excel sheets, which saves time, energy and money for us as testers and for the project.

Pros

The organisation of tests and the variety of the issue types for testing (Features ,Test cases, Test sets, Test executions, Test plan, bug...)
The ability to track the executions of tests and bugs
Great adaptability with Gherkin and Cucumber
It goes perfectly with ISTQB standards for testing
Perfect for both Scrum and Kanban users
The great boards and views provided by Jira (followup dashboards, sprint board, ..)
The ability to add Xray or Zephir or whatever test plugin that suits you

Cons

Jira users must receive a training before starting to use the software since it can be a little complex to use the software for the first time
For testers you cannot execute the same test case more than once in the same test execution
It gets more and more difficult when end to end testing multiple applications at the same time

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful tool once you know how to configure it

Reviewed on 7/29/2018

This software helps us to follow the process the team agreed to, and see the progress on issue and sprint level. We manage several projects there.
JIRA by itself is a perfect solution for IT teams when it comes to managing projects. Not only you can create issues there, but also you can build workflow this issue goes through. It is perfect to see the bottlenecks of your process. Scrum and Kanban are supported. In case you need some enhancements, there is an add-on market available, where you can find a big amount of third part addons available, either paid or free. Paid once have a trial period during which you can see if this is really what you need for your business.
Along with JIRA we use other Atlassian products, such as Service Desk and Confluence. Easy integration with these, makes our daily job much easier.
I advice my customers to use JIRA for their business. There are several types available: Cloud and Server. Each one have their own payments depending on the size of the users. However, in some cases price might become an obstackle.
In my opinion, this application can become really helpful if it gets into right hands.

Pros

This software can be used by any type of company. I have configured JIRA to be used by publishing company, by law firm, and of course, IT companies. And it was possible to make everyone happy with what JIRA provides. Even though sometimes it was hard to teach people how to use it, after a month or two they could not remember how they lived without it.

Cons

Recently JIRA started to update its design. My users complain about new design, I get crazy when I can't find things. And JIRA doesn't want to stop at that and is updating its design further and further. I would really prefer that they look through bugs that were raised on comunity portal and do something regarding new features instead of doing design updates.