Marketo Engage

4.2 (593)
Marketing automation for digital marketers

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(593)
Value for Money
3.8/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support Software
3.9/5

86%
recommended this app

593 reviews

James N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

I used Marketo for over a year and it was not very user friendly

Reviewed on 2018-07-25

Pros

Marketo seems like it is a good option for large companies and developers. We successfully ran webinars through the automation functionality and thought their support staff were nice.

Cons

Compared to the CMS I am using now, Marketo is very cumbersome and archaic. Marketo was very hard to get up and running on. It is very difficult to find user help articles when you need to find out how to do something. Much of the content is supplied by Marketo users rather than the company itself and ends up being very technical and hard to understand for anyone outside of being a developer. If you are new to marketing automation, I would not recommend this product.

Alexandra E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Marketo a Total Integration Tool.

Reviewed on 2021-02-25

We use Marketo primarily to stop form submission automation as well as data cleansing, and of course we owe Marketo an important part of our automation. We also pay additional money to be able to use their templates and thus create a landing page and of course have the templates within the emails. All this was done at the expense of a long time, which is the main factor to invest in Marketo, but after learning how to use and take advantage of the software in a good way, the results were magnificent.

Pros

Among the many impressive features that Marketo has, its integrations stand out, which are an important factor in obtaining a complete service that fully satisfies the requirements of the company, has integrations with many different software and also has the ability to integrate with third parties to through Zapier making it a full integration tool. The user interface is very flexible and can be configured according to the data flow of the company or the portfolio of clients and potential clients. Through Marketo, much of the information that reaches the company can be automated, thus bringing the data to Salesforce in a clean way.

Cons

It has a somewhat long learning curve that makes it essential to have some help before being able to use the program to its full potential, so technical support plays a preponderant role in the software. In addition, the system must be configured through an API connection, which makes it quite a cumbersome process. Although the interface has great flexibility, it can be confusing when starting out due to its main focus, which is undoubtedly the database for the software, but once learned it is a fast path to success.

Emanuela C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My experience with Marketo

Reviewed on 2018-05-28

Pros

Marketo is a great marketing tool that allows automating repetitive marketing activities. I am using Marketo since 4 years.
We use it to improve our lead generation process and we integrated Marketo with Salesforce. We are using Marketo Forms embedded on our website to get the personal information, track the activities done by leads and notify the sales reps. We are able to track campaigns (members are synced to Salesforce campaigns) and lead sources to measure effectiveness of marketing activities. We created a series of program templates that can be replicated to manage events, webinars, newsletters or email blastings. Cloning the templates all our marketers can start a new program easily customizing just the details, without errors and saving time. I want to mention a powerful feature that I use daily - smart lists - they allows to target a specific audience and continuously been fed with new members that match the criteria.

Cons

- Integration with MS Dynamics: we started with MS dynamics CRM and the integration is not seamless as the integration with Salesforce. We had unresolved issues for 3 years until we decided to move our CRM to Salesforce.
- Consulting Services: we started our project with direct Marketo consulting services but our project manager was not responsive and we had the impression that each PM had too many customers to manage and do not have the time to dedicate the right effort to each project. For this reason, we moved our project to an external consultant firm and the results are much better.
- Support: the response time of the standard support is not quick and usually it takes some days to resolve it.
- Landing pages: it is missing a validation workflow on the thank you pages (to be sure that those who will access the thank you page have successfully filled-out the form included in the landing page)
- Reporting: the reports are very basics

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best marketing automation system but becoming dated

Reviewed on 2021-04-21

Pros

Marketo is a robust platform built to scale. It is highly flexible and packed with integrations and features to helps you orchestrate your marketing strategy and automate the execution and tracking of many campaigns.

Cons

Other competitors are fast becoming more innovative solutions, with Marketo every new feature is an add-on that costs yet more money.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Switched From

HubSpot Marketing Hub
Miao L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Powerful Leads Capture Tools

Reviewed on 2020-07-25

Clone and use personalization templates at the program level is very useful. It's allowed us to develop best practice templates that we use and clone for all of the Marketo programs and campaigns that we build. This has allowed my team to achieve a significant time savings and more efficient.
Markteto is the center of all communications to our prospects and customers, it has been a very beneficial platform for our company due to its characteristics.

Pros

I've used Marketo for more than 3 years.

Marketo is a powerful tool that gives me the ability to market and track my marketing campaigns in a meaningful and scalable way. The integration with other platforms such as Salesforce and SDL Tridion is out-of-box and very helpful for us.

It has a slight learning curve, but the training is pretty decent. The community is very useful and the user groups have been very welcoming.

Cons

The classic user-interface is outdated, and the drag-and-drop function is not good as mentioned. Maybe cause I am in China, so the connection speed is very slow sometimes.

Alternatives Considered

Pardot
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Efficient tool for marketing automation!

Reviewed on 2019-05-28

We've found so much success since implementing Marketo. We are able to track and report on our sales campaigns, which allows us to continually improve our content and marketing strategies.

Pros

Once you set campaigns and functionality up in the platform, it's extremely easy to clone programs and logic. Managing lists and contacts is very easy to do and the platform offers pretty helpful reporting tools. The Marketo community is full of great resources and you are always connected to helpful tools to help you better use the platform.

Cons

Email creation can be difficult. How the email looks when you build it can differ greatly from what you see in the preview test send. I've spent a long time tweaking emails in the platform trying to get them to look good, and without templates, it's extremely difficult at times.

Steve S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best MA Tool On The Market -- By FAR

Reviewed on 2018-03-14

Marketo is by far the best MA tool on the market. I have used many. If you are looking at bringing an MA platform in house, do yourself a favor and go with Marketo.

Pros

I have been in the MA space for over 5 years. This is the BEST tool on the market. The best thing about is its relative ease of use. Yes, mastering it and making the most of it takes time. But the bottom line is anyone can learn Marketo, and all it takes is time. Other tools require technical knowledge outside of the platform (such as coding, scripting, SQL). But to use Marketo, you don't need any outside technical skill -- just a commitment to learning Marketo. It has an incredible user-friendly interface, integrates easily with other tools, and really adds to internal marketing's tool set.

Julia B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Marketing Automation leader, how can you exist without it?

Reviewed on 2019-06-21

We use Marketo to promote all of our content team's materials, promote and track conference and registrations and integrate it across a variety of platforms (Salesforce, Cvent, Outgrow, etc.).

Pros

It's super flexible and can accommodate just about any marketing automation request I receive. I've been using it for a couple years now and have made hundreds of programs to send emails, create landing pages, gate content, monitor and implement events registration and once you get the hang of it, it's a breeze. The learning curve can feel a little steep at times, but their in-person onboarding is a welcome training.

Cons

I feel like they've grown so much that their CSMs can't keep up. Our last one rarely knew the answers to our questions and would push us to support all the time. Support usually could solve our problems, but they take a little longer to respond (about a day). If you can live with that, then you're golden.

Steven M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

First platform for marketing automation

Reviewed on 2019-05-28

When we used Marketo it was functional for what we were looking for but also a bit sterile. There also seemed to be a level of IT knowledge needed to use the software effectively. Overall though, we were able to distribute targeted email blasts and the analytic and reporting portions of Marketo were very helpful in analyzing the data.

Pros

The software allowed us to easily collect information, group it and send out targeted marketing blasts to the recipients. The drag and drop interface worked very well and allowed us to implement some logic into the queries we ran to extract the data. We were also able to schedule email blasts so that we did not send out too many at one time overloading our targeted audiences.

Cons

When we first used Marketo we sometimes had issues with URLs working correctly when copied into the email templates. Also when the software first came out we felt it was a bit technical where we could not just assign a marketing person to plan, create, and implement an email blast. The marketing person had to work with someone who had an IT background (our product management team at the time was full of such people). This lead to email blasts being done by the product managers or someone else in the product management team.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great variety of tools, not always user friendly

Reviewed on 2018-01-16

The Marketo consultant we engaged with (paid) was great. They have very knowledgeable team members on the staff.

Pros

The interface mimics other day-to-day programs such as emails or file folders. So that makes it relatively easy to organize your campaigns and find them again. And there is a lot of flexibility built in once you get started. You can move campaigns around, bring in other pieces, clone items, upload relatively easily, etc. I also really like the auto-save feature.

Cons

When a process flow is broken, there are no hints or indications as to why. On a few occasions the program has given me error messages (the good old band-aid on the screen) for reasons I'm not ever able to figure out. While they do offer some basic training for new users, anything beyond that is a charge. And my experience with the community responses hasn't been great. When you have a very specific and detailed program, it's tough for other people to be able to understand where you're stuck. So often times the answers people provide are not enough to help me get un-stuck.

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most powerful and usable marketing automation solution

Reviewed on 2016-12-13

I've used Marketo and the other two large marketing automation tools over the last 7 years. All the platforms are valuable, but where Marketo really stands above the rest is in its rich feature sets and ease-of-use. It also has a fabulous user community, the best that I've seen of any software solution. The very active and helpful user community even rivals that of Salesforce CRM, and S CRM has a LOT more users in their community. I do a fair amount of side consulting, and whenever I'm making recommendations for marketing automation software I first recommend Marketo.

Pros

1. Super feature rich.
2. Very scalable - I can clone and launch new programs, webinars, nurturing drip campaigns, etc. very quickly.
3. Best user community around.

Cons

While the user community is an excellent resource for finding solutions to problems you may run into, I don't feel like their support is as fabulous as the rest of the solution. While support is good, it's not amazing - and amazing is something I've come to expect from Marketo.

Colin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

If you're looking for a Marketing Automation Platform - you must consider Marketo

Reviewed on 2017-12-22

Pros

Very easy to use interface and very flexible and easy to scale whether you have a small or a large business to support. Lots of help available from Marketo and also via their extensive community section. I've made lots of friends and learnt lots of things from other users - even competitors.

Cons

Some area's need improvement including Reporting and Analytics but you can get the information you need with a bit of digging.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Marketo can do anything - you just need to know how to tell it what to do

Reviewed on 2019-07-23

Pros

It is very complex and customizable and is only limited by you knowledge of the tool.

Cons

The email builder is weak and it takes some time to figure out how to use. And it looks like it is software straight out of the early 2000s.

Erika C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gets the job done and more

Reviewed on 2016-10-10

I've used Marketo for almost 4 years now and seen it grow and added some great features for some of the "non-technical marketers" so to reduce the need for IT. Whenever I had a question or issue, a great place to start is the Marketo Community and if I still can't find the answer, Marketo support is fast and pleasant.

Pros

The functionality is easy to understand because of the many years of use and being Marketo certified. Marketo community and support is a great resource.

Cons

I've seen nurture tracks such as Pardot's that look better and seem easier to understand. Marketo's nurture operates in programs and flows but hard to follow and test. I usually would need to run it by Marketo support before launching a nurture track just to make sure it's working. If your contract is up, they will disappear or wait until the very last minute to pressure you into renewal. They also say they won't shut off service without notice, but they will - probably another tactic to get you to renew your contract, especially when all your forms and leaf pages disappear since they all live in Marketo.

Devin L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is a great tool for Marketing Automation

Reviewed on 2016-08-09

Pros

The community is top notch with no end to advice and help as well as industry best practice education. With the product itself, I am not sure how we operated without it. While there is an initial learning curve, the ease in which one can create campaigns, clone templates/campaigns, generate complex functionality in simple smart list/flow methodology (think: if this then that) all make this an industry leading product.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. It would be nice to have something akin to Litmus built into the product (there is something similar but not as robust nor as easy to use).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Marketo is a great platform for marketing automation at an enterprise level.

Reviewed on 2018-05-15

Pros

The foundation of what Marketo is built on are these awesome things called Programs and Smart Campaigns. Marketo's ability to provide an almost endless realm of automation based on smart campaigns is pretty outstanding. The different programs offered as well are pretty great for flexibility and making the right marketing messaging.

Cons

One thing that I immediately noticed is the user interface and user experience. The overall look and feel seems very dated. Once you see the power and potential of Marketo, you have a different feeling (maybe not so negative) about the UI/UX, but overall not a great look for the platform.

Brian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good general functionality, nothing fancy

Reviewed on 2018-02-13

One thing that is appreciated is they are continuing to build the platform, especially working on integrations and new features. Seems to be a solid company, and I would have confidence recommending this product to anyone assuming they match functional needs accurately.

Pros

It can handle a good volume of data and multiple campaigns, and provides the functionality we needed. Specifically like the Salesforce integration, although I've heard it is slower integrating with other platforms..

Cons

A little lax on reporting and metrics, we had to purchase additional software for some analysis. It also "feels" a bit heavy from a price standpoint compared to some lesser known platforms, but I haven't done a true side-by-side comparison.

Julia T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Marketo Mayhem

Reviewed on 2019-06-12

Our marketing team had a horrible experience after using Marketo for a year and switched to HubSpot. It was the best decision we have made and we are not using Marketo again.

Pros

Marketo had a lot of potential in terms of its lead tracking, automated workflows and contact management capabilities. We were thrilled to be on board with using the application, but soon realized we would never get to use the extra bells and whistles it offered since the core components were a constant frustration. It's also a very expensive platform.

Cons

Marketo provides templates for emails and landing pages that are difficult to customize, especially with our company logo and branding. We constantly were hitting road blocks and their support always very slow to respond days later after a technical issue was reported.

Alternatives Considered

Act-On

Reasons for Choosing Marketo Engage

We needed a new marketing platform for creating and sending emails, creating event registrations and tracking leads.

Reasons for Switching to Marketo Engage

Marketo had a lot to offer and it was expensive, but at the time we were evaluating other applications, we believed it had everything we needed.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great tool to dig deeper into analytics.

Reviewed on 2018-04-13

Pros

Marketo offers large amounts of control and also large amounts of integration opportunities (which makes this well-suited to a company that focuses on or uses lots of technology); its pricing and features make it well-suited for mid-level companies. Additionally, setup is both quick and easy and has a community to help make the transition even more effortless.

Cons

Marketo is generally expensive and also requires the aforementioned integrations to work effectively, which adds to this cost. Additionally, analytics are limited and some parts of the interface are strangely unintuitive compared to the rest.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great tool at its core

Reviewed on 2018-06-26

Pros

I like that I can typically do anything I set out to do using Marketo. I rarely find myself saying "I can't do that with Marketo"

Cons

While you can do most everything related to marketing automation, the user interface sometimes requires extra steps/work to get where you need to go.

Laura B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Lead Nurturing Tool

Reviewed on 2018-03-13

Pros

Marketo was built for lead nurturing, and it does that well. The integration with Salesforce is pretty robust.

Cons

The tool leaves a little to be desired when it comes to email marketing, but they have made improvements in recent years (for example, a better analytics dashboard.)

Bryson E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Taking My Teams Marketing to a New Level

Reviewed on 2018-03-07

Super fast analytics dashboard that is helpful in providing dynamic trends data. With the speed of this software, teams are able to truly optimize their marketing channels and see tangible results.

Pros

This software is easy to use and an amazing option for allowing teams to view insights about trends and behavior. The dashboard is user-friendly and offers opportunities to really delve into crucial KPIs. Not only does this increase overall efficiency, but it is also an affordable option.

Cons

I think that having a more structured educational resource available would help support teams become certified with this software.

Anna B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Moldable, powerful tool

Reviewed on 2016-08-11

Pros

Marketo is moldable to what you need. It's a powerful tool that enables me to imagine how I want a process to happen and then actualize it without using any code.

Cons

The analytics leave something to be desired. Simple reports are good, but with complex reporting you need RCA, which isn't very user friendly. I end up doing a lot of reporting in Salesforce, but I am excited that Marketo has more robust reporting coming down the pipeline.

Brent L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A powerful platform if you truly understand marketing automation

Reviewed on 2016-12-13

I've used Marketo both as a brand side manager and as a consultant on the agency side. It is incredibly powerful and can be used in almost any business environment. From traditional b2b to education to publishing. It can be the central part of any martech stack if leveraged appropriately with enough supporting knowledge.

No other MA platform will match the SFDC integration (yes, including SFMC) which makes it a no-brainer for any SFDC customer truly investing in MA. The partner community is vast with integrations to do almost anything you need. And, of course, the marketing piece is insanely customizable to the customer journey.

Pros

- the flexibility
- the powerful
- integrations
- reporting capabilities

Cons

- speed
- complexity (also a major pro)
- time to train

Tyson J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Marketo has all we need and more

Reviewed on 2016-08-12

Pros

Marketo gives me all the tools I need to create and measure marketing campaigns in a way that truly impacts our business. From email to social, web tracking to sales enablement, Marketo is chock full of tools that we use daily, and even plenty that we don't.

Cons

Marketo really is meant to be used by a power-user. It takes a lot of exposure and practice to get good at navigating the tools and customizing each action to your specifications