Intervals

4.5 (68)
Time tracking, task management, & project management.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(68)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

91%
recommended this app

68 reviews

Bill G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finally found an integrated Project Management and Time Tracking tool for web designers!

Reviewed on 2018-10-11

Intervals is just so fast and flexible. For a web designer, it's hard to imagine that one couldn't benefit by using it. We've been using it for several years now. Every system has its learning curve. But this one is pretty easy! Written by designers.... for designers! They knew the territory and made it easier for the rest of us.

Pros

Might sound funny...but probably my favorite thing is the email queue that allows me to forward client requests directly into a project for time keeping. I use it constantly. It really helps when you're busy to "keep the flow going"! But honestly, there are so many conveniences with Intervals. And it's so fast and smooth!

Cons

I wish there were an easier way to attach sales tax to individual tasks for "non-web"projects. Right now you have to make a separate project for print projects like logos or brochures. It's easy enough to do, but we are always lookijng for "easier" :-) These print projects inevitably come along with web design if one has the skills.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best time & project tracking system for our consulting business

Reviewed on 2018-12-07

Over 20 years, we've gone from Excel-based time reports to one or two other systems in our office. They all were not that great but got the job done. Then we tried Intervals and it was like a breath of fresh air. It is an easy to use (once you get used to it and go through the training), logically laid out system, that is reliable and has good support. Our whole firm has used it for over 5 years. It has evolved nicely during that time. The company that makes it seems to be led by good people. I've introduced several other firms to it and they have been happy with it also.

Pros

First, we've been a user for 5+ years and Intervals has been rock-solid. No disasters, no corrupted data, etc.
Second, the system is very logical in how you work with it
Third, Time entry is a breeze, which makes billable time tracking across a group of 30 people much easier to do, because we get good participation from our team members
Fourth, the ability to export any report to Excel, PDF, etc. is fantastic. Every app should provide consistent output format in various file formats, if that makes sense. No matter which export format you choose, it looks like it should when it is displayed, printed or emailed, etc.
Fifth, I think their support is great, although we don't need to use it much given how easy it is (once you get used to it)
Sixth, these guys don't rest on their laurels and instead, continually improve the software

Cons

It has needed a mobile app for a long time. We've been waiting for it for a couple years. I've heard it is coming soon, I'm guessing early 2019. We'll see.
It absolutely needs one more access level for managers, project managers and executives. It kind of has two of the three, as well as a couple others, but this has been needed for a while.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for time management

Reviewed on 2021-05-20

I use Intervals to manage research projects and personal tasks. It is easy and flexible.

Pros

The layout is simple and the interface is organized.
It has different user Levels.
Users can easily start a new project, task, or milestone.
Users can set time for tasks and monitor the performance of the employees through the timesheet which keeps track of every change on the tasks.
It is easy to set the budget for projects and a reminder to avoid going over the budget.
Users can use filters and detailed reports in Intervals to analyze the progression of their projects.
The reporting feature is very appreciated by customers as they can see how much time was spent on their projects.
The invoicing feature in Intervals makes the payroll of people paid per hour uncomplicated.

Cons

I think it is tricky and requires some training at the beginning, but thanks to Intervals tutorial videos I got it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Good Product - depending on use case

Reviewed on 2021-03-12

I've used other products for time tracking, and like those much better, but for the price, this works fine.

Pros

We generally use for time tracking capabilities only, which is easy from a user perspective. The reporting capabilities are good as well.

Cons

It can be somewhat cumbersome to setup and is easy to get too granular. The reporting is good, but would be nice to have easier to use filters. The user interface could use an overhaul.

Nichole H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great all around Product! Highly recommend!

Reviewed on 2016-09-20

We began using Intervals several years ago when our In-house Creative Services team outgrew the Excel Spreadsheet. We were inputing data, tracking project, etc. through Excel and then time tracking through Harvest. It was very redundant with an excessive amount of data entry for each task that came in. We were looking for a simple solution, easy input, and time tracking. Intervals had all of the feature that we needed. It's worked very well.

Pros

I like most the external request queue. I will often send emails to this as a reminder and has made tracking projects and submitting projects very easy. No complicated forms to fill out. I like the ability to run times and input data at a later date. The reports have been very helpful for performance review and project audits.

Cons

I would like it to be more adaptable to forms and collaboration with online users. It is hard to get everyone to always change statuses and track time - but I think that is a people training issue. We don't invoice so it would be nice to maybe turn off some of the functionality that we don't use. Would love to get some training or webinars on how to better use this software.

Response from Pelago

Thank you for taking the time to review Intervals so thoroughly. We truly appreciate it. We know what it's like to outgrow Excel. It's part of the story behind how Intervals was born. As for adaptability, we've got some ideas brewing on how to add more collaboration features in the future. If you have any more ideas you'd like to contribute, feel free to reach out to us at [email protected]

Alisa C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best time- and task-tracking software around

Reviewed on 2016-09-16

Intervals has changed the way we work. As a distributed company, our team members are located across the globe. Intervals allows us to follow tasks together, track their status, assign them to each other, set up milestones and timelines, and keep track of everything, including tracking our time, in one place. It's easy to use and the best software of its type that we've used so far. The Intervals team listens when we ask for specific features, and updates the software to make it better and better. I love how easy it is to use and to keep track of our projects and tasks.

Pros

Ease of use, responsiveness of the Intervals team when we have questions or suggestions. Being able to track time and generate reports in the project management software helps us easily track our projects.

Cons

There is one feature I'd like to see, optionally emailing a team member about a particularly urgent task or one where the team member is a follower vs assignee. But that's a minor quibble, compared to all Intervals has to offer.

Response from Pelago

Alisa, thank you for the thoughtful review and your commitment to our software. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business.

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on how we can make Intervals better.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that makes Intervals even easier to use. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Lukas L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We are using Intervals since many years and overall we are very happy with it.

Reviewed on 2017-05-12

Pros

We really like that it's not just another ticket system, but also can be used as time tracking and project management-tool.

Cons

We would like to see more customization features - we have a lot of users which don't want to go very deep into a new software and the loads of features is way too complicated for them. For example, it would be great to have an option that a project haven't got any modules or milestones and then none of these options would be shown.

Response from Pelago

Lukas, thank you for the thoughtful review. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business.

We can understand how limiting the interface to only what's being used could be helpful. We'll add this idea to our list of potential improvements.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that makes Intervals even easier to use. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Julio C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intervals - Potential for more

Reviewed on 2017-02-17

Wish this had notification and escalation for invoices tied to a portal rather than email or PDF invoices.

Also additional PM features such as GANTT charts and sub tasks

Pros

Integrating light PM into a time tracking tool

Cons

Invoicing needs to be fleshed out to include escalation and notifications plus links to portal payment options

Response from Pelago

Julio, thank you for the thoughtful review. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business.

We can understand how more powerful invoicing would be helpful. Thank you for sharing your ideas on invoicing. We'll add this idea to our list of potential improvements.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that makes Intervals even easier to use. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Anand M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Vital Project Management Tool For My Business

Reviewed on 2020-10-28

I was using this tool for two years couple of years back and stopped using due to downturn in my business. Now from past 6 months I am using this tool. I found lot of positive changes in several features and interface.

Pros

1. setting up custom summery reports at predefined time, custom pie chart reports
2. Comprehensive set of features to set and handle any scale projects.
3. Provision to park the projects for small monthly fee.

Cons

1. Too low active projects for the fees
2. Too many features presented upfront...need significant time to explore them before getting started. May be present only top 10 features 80% of standard users use on regular basis and present remaining ones gradually as need basis.
3. Also provide predefined features sets (GUIs) for small / middle size teams or different development processes such as water fall method or Agile method etc

Dave R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intervals

Reviewed on 2019-03-20

Intervals moved our team away from tracking development on individual spreadsheets and brought us into a place with transparency.

Pros

The software is easy to set up, administer, and customize to reflect the way our business works.

Cons

There is some structure to the design that works well for us but does present some inflexibility as well.

Jeff D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Our tried and true time tracking system for small buisness

Reviewed on 2018-05-01

Pros

We have been using this for for over 8 years and it has all the features we need to keep us working and billing properly

Cons

Cost. Wish it cost less or had other billing options for use to utilize. The design could use an overhaul

Alexey S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intervals review experience

Reviewed on 2018-12-03

We are using Intervals mostly to collect timesheets in our company from the employees.

Pros

- easy of use and navigation to setup the system
- easy to use by employees to report time
- automated invoicing feature
- licensing model, you paid for the product not per company person

Cons

- use roles: it will be good to have additional role of manager that can view only selected projects and can approve timesheets

Response from Pelago

Thank you for the feedback. Regarding managers, you are correct that only administrator level users can approve timesheets but which projects managers have access to can be controlled. With resources, executives, and managers you can control which projects they can see. Only administrator level users see all projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive, comprehensive task management software

Reviewed on 2018-12-16

Pros

I've been using Intervals to keep track of tasks for the past year now and I can say that it is very easy to use and learning navigation is a breeze. There hasn't been any major issues around missing tasks/data or malfunctioning. Very pleased with being able to drag and drop files.

Cons

Since my marketing team has switched around, there are inconsistencies within Milestones/tasks, but I suppose that's more of a user con (i.e. there is no way to fix if old tasks do not follow the same format as new projects/tasks). Communication between tasks and larger milestones can be difficult and less intuitive to follow, especially if the Milestone spans several months work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Nice Trend Tracker

Reviewed on 2019-04-03

Pros

Love the ability to toggle into weekly time summary displays. Been very insightful having a clear snapshot

Cons

Lots of information, takes a bit of time to digest and understand

Josh L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intervals Tickets

Reviewed on 2020-10-08

Works and functions well for what we use it for.

Pros

We use this software for our ticketing system and works really well minus some work arounds.

Cons

I wish it was more customizable and had the owner listed in the task list.

Whitney H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Get as granular as you want

Reviewed on 2016-09-30

We've been using Intervals since we were a 3 person studio and find it a solid, reliable way to keep track of project time and tasks. The team finds it easy to learn and use, and i like the variety and options of running reports.

Only recently did we start using the "subtasks" checklist to group items together and not drive ourselves crazy - a great move. We will set up templates using this method, to give each new similar project a good head start on what needs to be done, in what order, and in what time period.

I appreciate being able to set time estimates so the producers know how they are tracking against budgeted time. The new dashboard helps us get a big picture of the budget. I hope the next evolution of this tool will allow for improved PPM (Project Portfolio Management) so the project managers can see where we have gaps in our schedule and an opportunity to shift work around or accept more.

Pros

Reliable up time, easy to learn, variety of reports available

Cons

Can't really manage the portfolio of projects (seeing across team members and tasks to understand where we have capacity).

Response from Pelago

Thank you for the review and feedback. It's great to hear how Intervals is helping your agency.

I wanted to point out a relatively recent report we created, called the Resource Allocation Report. This report will provide some lightweight resource planning help.

It works by dividing up the task estimates across the days its scheduled and the people assigned to complete it. This should help seeing current capacity across tasks and projects.

Regards,
John

Tom G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great solution for our needs

Reviewed on 2016-09-13

I first became aware of Intervals when I worked on a client project. From there, I signed our company up and find it to be an excellent tool to track time, log hours, and produce both internal and client reports. Its flexibility and ease of use put Intervals in a class all its own in my opinion. Works great for our needs

Pros

The ease of use to create client tasks and then log time according to the task. Each time log has a description, which is very helpful to our clients so they can see how their billed time was spent.

Cons

We have found no cons regarding how we use Intervals. If we were to expand our use into other areas we are not currently using, we may encounter functionality that is not as expected.

Response from Pelago

Tom, thank you for the thoughtful review and your commitment to our software. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that makes Intervals even easier to use. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Cynthia D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Time Tracking Management for Development Shops

Reviewed on 2016-09-14

We've tried so many time tracking systems and Intervals has been meeting our needs for our software development, project manage and support teams for about 3 years now.

Pros

easy of use and flexibility to really address our needs in time tracking.

Cons

would like ability to tie specific tasks together to be able to show A needs to be done before B. there are workaround using task statuses, due dates and milestones, though.

Response from Pelago

Cynthia, thank you for the thoughtful review and your commitment to our software. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business.

We appreciate your thoughts on tying tasks together and we can see how that would help with your workflow. We've made note of this idea.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that makes Intervals even easier to use. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Amazing tool!!!!

Reviewed on 2014-09-04

I became a user of this tool 5 months ago.
I am a Computer Science Engineer and have been involved in project management for 15 years.
I was looking for a project management tool for our 30 people company because we manage more than 500 projects per year. This search took me more than 8 years, testing ALL kind of tools. Some of them were good but none of them fit us 100% (or, at least, 85%).
I am a SaaS believer and this was one point I was not going to avoid.
I found Intervals and gave me a great feeling since the first time.
The user interface is very intuitive so that our learning procedure was easy for all kind of our users.
And second point was functionality. The data model is perfect and you are able to manage all kind of situations without a problem.
Reports are wonderful and you are able to get all kind of important information to decide whether a client/project is interesting or not.
Other of our requirements was tracking time. And this is something that this tool allows you without any problem.
We were also looking for a tool that uses a Calendar view, because it gives users the possibility to organize themselves in an easy way. This is something that works great in this tool too.
There´s much more we can say, but I recommend you to test it and decide by yourself.

Pros

Calendar view.
Data model.
Tracking time.
Reporting.
Performance (never shuts down...).
User interface.
Support (when you propose or notify a bug, the answer is surprisingly fast!!).

Cons

Approving time tracking permissions.

Jenny M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Flexible time and task management software

Reviewed on 2019-04-29

Intervals helped our team organize our projects and keep the scope under control by accurately tracking our time and comparing it to estimates. It also allowed accurate invoicing and reporting for happier clients.

Pros

Intervals stood out because it made it easy to break down large projects by tasks and keep a close eye on the scope. We've had projects fail due to scope creep before and Intervals really helped to nip that in the bud.

We really liked the ability to manage tasks by milestone, allocate resources, and set a budget for each project. Comparing the estimated time to the actual time taken on each task has been tremendously helpful and we are now much more mindful of how we spend every second of our time.

Speaking of time, the time tracking feature is very complete and allows us to accurately invoice without shocking our clients with unexpected billings.

Cons

The UI looked like it was designed purely by developers, but the team has been working hard at revamping the entire thing and it now looks a lot cleaner and professional. We also struggled to keep our inboxes clear with the hoard of email updates we'd get from Intervals.

Krista B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't Live Without Intervals!

Reviewed on 2019-03-20

I couldn't live without intervals. I use it every second of every day for my job and I can't imagine a better software. I especially love the constant updates and upgrades the team provides!

Pros

I love how easy it is to use, so intuitive!

Cons

It used to be that there was no easy way to see which tasks had been viewed or commented on but the new feature changed my only con!

Ben S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent value for money

Reviewed on 2017-06-13

Pros

Brilliant tutorials, exceptional customer support. Getting started was far easier than the products I tried before

Cons

I find I still manage to spend a lot of time 'managing my project management', rather than doing actual project management. Having used a couple of other software packages though, I honestly think this is mostly just in the nature of the work rather than anything from Intervals

Response from Pelago

Ben, thank you for the review. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business. We understand what it's like to spend a lot of time managing projects. We hope Intervals helps cut down that time.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that might help streamline projects. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Javi G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

it's very easy to use.

Reviewed on 2017-05-17

Project management, and ease of putting the hours dedicated to each project.

Pros

it's very easy to use and timers for task it's very comfortable to control this. Daily mails with the memorandum of the tasks expired are very well

Cons

I think it is an application that is growing and there are enough things to be complete, but I think they are in it, for example, there would be a type of cost typology. You can not define neither days of work nor ability to work.

Response from Pelago

Javi, thank you for the review. We're glad to hear Intervals is a good fit for your business. We'd love to hear more about your thoughts on cost typology and defining days and abilities to work.

We've recently launched a new interface, called Modernistic, that might help streamline projects. It can be found under the Settings & Defaults / Themes section on your account.

Ami H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 2015-11-06

Rod J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Nice but needs more

Reviewed on 2017-02-18

We are are active users of this service but there are many things that it doesn't do well. We find that getting this integrated with our other systems is a challenge and that other products on the market are beginning to offer attractive features. As changing platforms means that we need to change our business practices we are not looking to move (at least in the near term) but at some point other features may attract us to other platforms.

One challenge is integration with our accounting software Saasu. The ability to invoice within Intervals is OK but it isn't an accounting tool.

There are many features that would be useful and I have suggested adding tags to all of the levels as a feature request in the past so that we can better identify groups of tasks or projects. Reporting isn't great and we find that we have to export the data and use other services to get the reports that we need.

New features don't seem to appear that often which does make me wonder whether this service is seen more as a cash cow for the company than an actively developed service that will maintain its competitive edge over time.

Pros

Price point is good. It is easy to use.

Cons

Lack of features, difficulty in integration

Response from Pelago

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We understand how integrating Intervals with third-party tools can be a challenge, and it's one of the areas we are improving. We've recently launched a few more integrations, and we're currently evaluating which ones to add next. Our goal is to continue adding the features and integrations that will benefit the majority of our customers the most. We'll be taking your notes into consideration as we do so. Thank you, again, for sharing.