Chrome River EXPENSE Reviews

Chrome River EXPENSE

Cloud-based solution for expense management.

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(173)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5
Sort by

173 Reviews

Mark
Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, Simple Expense Report Processing

Reviewed on 2022-04-25

This application was a lifesaver during the pandemic - so glad that we had completed implementation...

This application was a lifesaver during the pandemic - so glad that we had completed implementation in late 2019!

Pros

The OCR capability is outstanding - allows expenses to be captured either at time of issue using mobile app or by scan/email functionality. Eliminated much of the manual data entry previously involved with expense reporting. Customized business and compliance rules ensure that submission, routing, review and approval meet Firm policies.

Cons

The initial setup is very involved, as there are so many factors to consider. Once set up, however, the ongoing maintenance is very minimal.

tosha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Expense report

Reviewed on 2020-07-06

Chrome River has been a great company to work with. They are always open to hear about features...

Chrome River has been a great company to work with. They are always open to hear about features that would make our lives easier and try to accommodate when possible.

Pros

The digital receipts and paperless. You can do everything on an app. People get paid faster. Easy to use just click on the icon you want and fill in the data.

Cons

Some customization are a bit challenging at times.

Nitin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Chrome expense management

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

Its good and enjoyed with current features that helps in daily routine.

Its good and enjoyed with current features that helps in daily routine.

Pros

Yes, Product is much helpfull in terms of interface with ERP and few of the reporting tools from where we can extract data easily.

Cons

I see allocation of expense report or Assign the expense reports and tracking of the same is something missing. Especially on SLA matrix.

Cameron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River Rocks Your Socks

Reviewed on 2020-03-16

Pros

This software provides everything we were looking for...and then more. The implementation was great and very easy to customize to our needs. The user experience has been nothing but positive through the first few months we have used the system.

Cons

N/A - everything about this product has been top notch. Implementation, End Users, Reporting, etc. Leaves nothing to be desired.

Reasons for Choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Why didn't we make the switch sooner is the better question. This platform gives us everything we desired.

Reasons for Switching to Chrome River EXPENSE

Again, there isn't one thing missing from this product. Each of the others had their own strengths but this combines them all.
Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River Expense Reporting

Reviewed on 2020-03-16

Pros

This software is very intuitive for the front-end user while handling all of the needs of the back-end user with all of the options of customization to fit the product to the company's needs like a glove.

Before we selected this product, we had a list of everything we wanted and then went to market. Every single product we demoed was lacking many items on our list. Right when we were about to give up, we demoed Chrome River and felt very confident with selecting this product.

The 1-2-3-Go Implementation was one of the best and quickest implementations I have ever been through. Communication and understanding as well as the technological knowledge was spot on.

Three months later things are still running super smooth, and customer service is great. Couldn't be more happy!

Cons

Honestly, at this point there is not anything that we have encounter that there has not been a resolution to.

Reasons for Switching to Chrome River EXPENSE

Full capability and flexibility and customization
Tracy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We Love It!

Reviewed on 2021-07-05

The spend visibility and compliance have been the biggest wins for us. We had none of this with our...

The spend visibility and compliance have been the biggest wins for us. We had none of this with our previous processes. It has also broadened our annual audit with the reporting capabilities.

Pros

It is so easy to use from both a user and an administrator perspective.

Cons

The software is great. The only negative that I could say is that we had some hiccups early on with the support team, but it was during a transition to the service model offered. Things have been much better with the new model.

Alternatives Considered

Coupa and SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Chrome River EXPENSE

Chrome River had a great user interface and the pricing was better. We felt that the roadmap and innovation were superior and wanted to be able to integrate some of the other Emburse offerings easily.
Jill
Jill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Expense System on the Go

Reviewed on 2019-08-30

The system has streamlines our expense process allowing us to eliminate paper reports and move the...

The system has streamlines our expense process allowing us to eliminate paper reports and move the whole company to a single expense system

Pros

The flexibility of mobile use and user interface

Cons

The limitation of customization of Mexico VAT

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Mobile capibilities

Switched From

Boomerang for Gmail

Reasons for Switching to Chrome River EXPENSE

Reputation, flexibility
LaTonya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love ChromeRiver!

Reviewed on 2020-11-10

Overall ChromeRiver Expense is a great tool to use for invoicing and expense management!

Overall ChromeRiver Expense is a great tool to use for invoicing and expense management!

Pros

Once the compliance and rules are set-up behind the scenes for this system is it really a more efficient and easy tool to use. It helped streamline the reconciliation process for our P-Card and Travel Card programs. Users really appreciate that all the accounting information needed to process payment for expenses out of departmental budgets is readily accessible

Cons

the reporting tool is not easy to use. We would really like to see more adhoc reports provided to higher eds and other companies that utilize this system.

Alesha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Designed to fit each companies wants.

Reviewed on 2020-11-24

Pros

What I like most about the software is that we have the ability to customize to meet our companies needs, while also being able to take out a large part of manual tasked by having reports routed automatically within the platform to lessen some of the administrative burdens.

Cons

What I would say is least liked about the product is that there are some functions that would be beneficial but are not yet envisioned, but with the ability to provide enhancement requests I am very positive that if it is possible that Chrome River will eventually have whatever it is added to the platform.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chrome River has made my work much easier!

Reviewed on 2018-06-04

Pros

As an administrative assistant, my favorite function of Chrome River is that the information for all the dozens of people I support is located in one place. This function has made my work much simpler and easier than it was when we had to authorize and reimburse travel by hard copy.

Cons

It would be nice if Chrome River had a function where I could duplicate pre-approval reports or expense reports from one user to another. Frequently, our staff travels in groups and have identical expense reports for their reimbursements (e.g. meal per diems) and I frequently end up submitting the same expense report for several employees.

Nathaniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River - Easy Expenses!

Reviewed on 2020-02-18

We went from an in-house excel based expense report to CR so it was amazing to go from a spreadsheet...

We went from an in-house excel based expense report to CR so it was amazing to go from a spreadsheet to a real expense submission site. The improvements that came with the app and how easy it is to do expense reports now make the old way seem like a nightmare

Pros

CR Expense makes expense reports incredibly easy, both from the submission to the approval. The newer apps also alleviate the need to collect a folder of receipts that you have to later attach to paper and scan in manually, as with the app you can sign in on your phone or tablet and take a picture of the receipt right there. For other things, like receipts you receive via email, it was just as easy to sign into the site and upload a PDF copy of the email. Or if you still want to do everything at once, you can upload all your receipt images and attach them to individual items that way as well. With the available options and easy use there is no reason for people to be missing images or late on submission

Cons

The only down side/complaint I have is the "old" version (pre-mercury) still requires flashplayer. And I don't believe the admin tool has been migrated to mercury either so you still need to go into the old site to manage anything manually or investigate problems

Wanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Corporate Expenses

Reviewed on 2022-03-21

Chrome River expense system has taken us from a paper based expense system which was very slow,...

Chrome River expense system has taken us from a paper based expense system which was very slow, lacked the ability to audit, or create reports for spend tracking. We have moved from a very slow process to a quick and prompt paperless way of claiming expenses. No more desk drawers full of papers and receipts. Reports are set up to run monthly and distributed to dept. managers for review. The ability to enforce policy guidelines has been an important part of the expense system implementation.

Pros

The ease of use for the claimant, being able to create the expense tiles to suit our business needs. It was easy to implement and train end users. I can make changes and updates easily on my own or utilize support from the help desk.

Cons

The reporting can be a bit of a challenge to understand and set up.

Abhishek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Emburse helps you Reimburse!

Reviewed on 2022-08-23

It is the best tool for expense submission and management as it as so many features such as ease of...

It is the best tool for expense submission and management as it as so many features such as ease of submission of expense reports, uploading of receipts is just a click away it helps in auditing the expense reports on easy basis. You can prepare lot of reports with the help of tool such as spend management reports, not submitted reports, reports pending with manager for approval and so on details. Overall it is a a great tool. I Highly recommend this tool

Pros

It is the best tool for expense submission and management as it as so many features such as ease of submission of expense reports, uploading of receipts is just a click away it helps in auditing the expense reports on easy basis. You can prepare lot of reports with the help of tool such as spend management reports, not submitted reports, reports pending with manager for approval and so on details. Overall it is a great tool.

Cons

No i i not fin any issue. Basically i had few issue with the tool before, but it has been rectified.

Todd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Customizable Expense Reporting Made Easy

Reviewed on 2019-06-10

Huge benefit from the perspective of check printing and reconciling, less time for Accounts Payable...

Huge benefit from the perspective of check printing and reconciling, less time for Accounts Payable to work through and sort paperwork and being able to use the A/P staff in other, more productive way was critical. When we lost a staff member we decided not to replace them because of the efficiency Chrome River gave us. We likely have the capacity to downsize another FTE but we will wait for either a retirement or someone to leave on their own.

Pros

Investing time on the front end of this product is well worth the results in the end and the overall buy-in of fellow employees. Keeping the initial screen simple is the key to employee adoption rates being higher than normal.

Designating an implementation person or two (cross-training is key) is all that is needed. Do not rely on the partner from Chrome River to tell you what you need. They will interview you and guide you but the important thing to remember is that this will be your software to operate once it is ready to be deployed.

Cons

Not much honestly. When I implemented it there wasn't much OCR technology built in but that was something that was being developed.

Parameswaran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy Spending & Reporting!

Reviewed on 2021-06-21

Product migration, configurations, and continued support are good. Overall employee's experience...

Product migration, configurations, and continued support are good. Overall employee's experience improved significantly.

Pros

- Very intuitive, tile-based with the picuture driven for easy identification.
- Centralized configurations
- Better tracking mechanism
- Better workflow management
- Violation tracker

Cons

Customer Service is good but I see room for development in handling the cases faster after assignment.

shawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River

Reviewed on 2022-03-26

Overall this has been great, and easy for end users to be able to submit expense reports. As well...

Overall this has been great, and easy for end users to be able to submit expense reports. As well as a better ability to monitor what is being expensed.

Pros

The ease of use for end users, allows our end users to submit expenses on a digital platform form the pen and paper that were used prior to our change.

Cons

At this time I do not have anything that I dislike about this product.

Sonya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and teach

Reviewed on 2021-04-09

Our travel department was able to become mostly paperless using Chrome River. Most of our end...

Our travel department was able to become mostly paperless using Chrome River. Most of our end users are pleased with the product.

Pros

All of our travel is processed through Chrome River. I really appreciate the ease of use of the product. It is also very easy to teach and create training materials. Our travel card program integrated very well with the software.

Cons

I would like to see more scoped administrator roles to choose from.

Emily
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River for a lawfirm

Reviewed on 2019-03-21

We no longer need to track paper expense reimbursements and our entire approval process is...

We no longer need to track paper expense reimbursements and our entire approval process is streamlined. Our attorneys like that they don't need to keep a file of receipts when they travel, they can take a picture and throw away.

Pros

Chrome River is always making updates, changes and new ways to customize the software to fit our business.

Cons

Ad hoc reporting is not user intuitive but the standard reports are useful for the majority of needs.

Rhonda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our wonderful CR project team helped us improve, streamline, and rethink outdated travel...

Reviewed on 2017-05-12

Automated rules that drive compliance thereby eliminating manual checking. It has taken the guess...

Automated rules that drive compliance thereby eliminating manual checking. It has taken the guess work out of 'where's my expense report'. Employees receive reimbursement quicker. Paperless system!!

Pros

It drives policy compliance with reminders, warnings, and hard-stop violations. Plus, no more paper!!

Cons

The credit card reconciliation has been difficult for us, however, a big part of that could be related to our stringent state requirements.

Danielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy Chrome River Admin

Reviewed on 2020-09-02

Pros

I love how user friendly the software is for my colleagues that need to enter expenses. On the admin side, I love that I can pull information and analytics easily. Since everything is automated I can focus my time on projects and cost saving initiatives rather than be buried in paperwork.

Cons

I do not have any complaints. Chrome River is constantly updating and giving more power to admins. I can make a lot of changes on my own, and create custom reports.

Conny
Conny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Chrome River...amazing product.

Reviewed on 2020-12-21

Pros

The best part of the program is the ease in teaching others how to use. We have users that come in, not knowing anything about the program and with one training and 1 or 2 uses, they make it work.

Cons

The settings section in the new platinum version is not very user friendly.

Hester
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CR Review

Reviewed on 2020-02-24

Overall, users are able to submit requests and be reimbursed quicker.

Overall, users are able to submit requests and be reimbursed quicker.

Pros

I like the ease of use and the ability to have all information in one place.

Cons

The ability to make changes sometimes involves higher Customer Support involvement and the lack of response is critical to our business.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

It has been frustrating

Reviewed on 2017-09-19

Pros

Just looks "Pretty". As an end user, since I have been using this program in our company, I haven't found anything with Chrome River which made me think what a great program.

Cons

Not user friendly, at all. It takes the Chrome River support help weeks to respond to your request. The features that Chrome River offers is too restricted and they are not tailored with our needs in the company. The final report is too long and keeps repeating the same information in different line entries. Overall, the previous simple program which our company used was much more user friendly and easy to process and use.

Gwen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It is a pioneer in its field

Reviewed on 2017-06-12

Pros

Mobility, and putting the data entry into the hands of the end-user instead of an A/P team. Ability to create complex approval chain based on roles and locations.

Cons

Support is slow and overly challenging. Seems to be a bit of a language barrier with enhancement team.

Lottayne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chrome River travel expense system scheduled to go live this summer.

Reviewed on 2019-04-08

We are hopeful Chrome River will provide a faster turn around for reimbursements to travelers. We...

We are hopeful Chrome River will provide a faster turn around for reimbursements to travelers. We also hope the excitement over the system's features will make transition more appealing for our end users.

Pros

While our campus will go live within the next 2 1/2 months, our end users are excited about discontinuing a manual system and have been sold on CR Snap. The end users appreciate the ability to track their reports allowing them to identify who has yet to approve their report. We are hopeful the entire campus will be as enthusiastic as our testers are.

The travel audit staff enjoys having Chrome River configured with university travel policies which assists the end users with proper reporting.

Chrome River imports from the ERP system allow the display of check information and payment break down for easy reference while reviewing submitted reports.

Cons

The travel audit staff in accounting is accustomed to correcting account codes during the final audit process before the payment is made in the ERP system. Items will now have to be returned to the traveler for correction then back to the travel audit staff for review again before payment is processed in the ERP system.