Showing 137 reviews of 134

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
Showing 137 reviews of 134
Justin N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful for the Data Scientist, Friendly for the Business User

Reviewed on 2015-08-05

Pros

When I first saw Looker (during a long BI evaluation process where we demo'd perhaps 5-10 tools) I knew it was what I had been hoping for in a BI vendor. The ease of dragging dimensions and metrics onto a canvas, the fluid way that you could generate reports, and the simplicity of drilling down into the source data all suggested this was a tool that had been built well from the ground up.

Other vendors seemed to trap you into a narrow view of your metrics, but with Looker the only restrictions were the ones built into your data model. It could easily flex to accommodate whatever data you wanted to look at.

The LookML language and the way Looker is designed to interact with your data is pretty brilliant. Even a non-data scientist and non-SQL user like me could get the hang of the basics ;)

The range of options, the configurability, the flexibility...all aces. Really you only get stuck by your imagination, the tool is powerful enough that you can solve most problems if you have the know-how.

The team is also great. Awesome culture, friendly support.

They have a continual flow of new features and improvements.

Cons

You do need a good BI person or ETL developer to really get the most out of this tool.

Setting up your data model really well and going to the outer limits to solve some particularly difficult queries are all things I would have had a hard time doing without technical resources on the team.

Of course it's possible Looker helps with a lot of this during implementation; we pretty much controlled our own because we had the folks in house to do it.

Fabien B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

When analytics becomes part of your operations -

Reviewed on 2015-07-30

Pros

Everything.
Looker made it sexy for BI developers, and intuitive easy to use for business user.

Their support is extremely knowledgeable and always available if you need any help.
Their engineers are brilliant and their hard work is allowing frequent releases that are going in the right directions.
Looker is customer driven and will deliver what makes sense for every user.

We love the creativity and flexibility this tool is offering us, as we are able to manipulate LookML to create anything, from data extract to Process automation.

Their growth is EXPONENTIAL.
Their Doc is well maintained so you are never lost.
Their community became part of their offering, you cannot find this elsewhere.

Cons

We have been satisfied since day 1!

I dislike the fact that our internal users are not curious enough (or don't get it) to explore data on their own. Maybe a different UI would help people discover on their own.

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All your data, visualized

Reviewed on 2019-07-29

Great data visualization platform that opens up so many options and possibilities.

Pros

Looker's customizable dashboards are the heart and soul of the platform, and the most valuable part in my opinion. I can (and do) create dashboards for almost everything, from customer engagement, to content performance, and even technical metrics of a web application. This freedom to track and visualize almost any data source within a business is just incredible, and well worth the steep learning curve.

Looker can aid in team productivity as well. We use quarterly dashboards to track key metrics, so that everyone can see (in real-time!) how our organization is doing. It's very encouraging for the team to actually see progress over time in a chart, rather than just hearing/reading numbers.

Cons

Looker can feel clunky. This is not just because you need to know SQL to really use it well, but because the UI is slow, on occasion. Granted, if your data warehouse is slow/enormous, Looker can only do so much. But even for regular data analytics tasks, it can be sluggish.

Also, I do not like some of the predefined formatting for graphs/charts/visuals. The size-to-information ratio seems way off at times, but perhaps this is customizable and I have not discovered the settings yet.

Alan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finally a flexible reporting tool that is not a nightmare to maintain

Reviewed on 2015-08-17

Pros

So many things are done right:
- The simplicity of creating a meta schema using lookml, the learning curve is lightning fast
- The flexibility of the system, making data available to intern customer has never been so easy
- The support team is really knowledgeable and fast to answer
- The roadmap is clear and moving forward as a great speed. Most missing features that we have in mind are usually in development when we ask
- A really fun team, every meeting with looker is always a pleasure

Cons

Even if the team is moving fast and offering more and more features, they still lack on some of them. Mainly on dashboards.
It went a long way since the early days and now I'd say that 95% of our needs are covered.

On the other hand, their releases are so fast it's hard to keep track with all that was already implemented, the documentation is always a bit behind and searching for something precise on the discourse page can be a nightmare.

Aleksandar M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use Data Reporting tool

Reviewed on 2019-05-31

We use Looker for all kind of data analysis and reporting needs. We use its dashboard tools to keep track of everything without any difficulties.

Pros

Looker offers data reporting tools and options, and it doesn't require deep SQL knowledge. It has a clean and well-organized user interface and helps you create reports and dashboard with only a click of a button. It is very easy to use and you don't have to have any experience with data extrapolation or reporting.

Cons

The pricing is somewhat high, but if you are a larger company it might be worth the money.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Empowers entire companies with data with an intuitive software and incredible customer service

Reviewed on 2017-10-08

Pros

Even non technical people, get excited to use this product once they know how!
Customization ability
Incredible data visualizations
Allows me to automate and optimize processes
The friendliest and most helpful customer service

Cons

Loading dashboards can be very slow
Validating code can sometimes take forever
Occasional bugs make it temporarily go down for the entire company

Mohammed Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool!

Reviewed on 2017-03-14

After using looker for a coupe years now, I can definitely say its an awesome tool. It is super easy to learn and use but the best part about this tool is the customer service; support and the account managers go above and beyond to solve problems and actually listen to you when doing product planning. Keep it up!

Pros

Customer Service, Ease of Use

Cons

Features

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great support, great people, great product!

Reviewed on 2017-10-05

Pros

Support! Smart people that give quick and accurate answers. Ease of use and simple flow makes it easy to learn and teach

Cons

Visualizations seem a little immature for the product but hopefully with the newer version, we can download js visualizations on our cloud instance

Greg B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Looker gives me on-demand access to data the way I want it, with great visuals and sharing...

Reviewed on 2017-10-06

Easily accessible data, ability to share in various formats and upon demand. It's easy to create custom queries on the fly.

Pros

Looker helps me put actionable data in front of various teams within my company, regardless of how tech savvy they are. I love being able to schedule reports and alerts so I can spend more time working on higher value items. Looker's support is exceptional, from the top down to the chat team, they are responsive and helpful, and just nice people to boot.

Jake C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Data Visualizer

Reviewed on 2018-10-31

Streamlines data for those with less experience in excel, making it easier for us to coordinate efforts, drive decision-making, and on board new users.

Pros

Works well for those that aren't quite experts in excel and prefer a different method of visualization.

Support/Updates are solid. I always like to parrot "invest in the team," and that's what you're doing with Looker. It seems they listen to their customers & feedback and take action on that information to improve the experience.

Cons

Sometimes a power-user who multi-tasks w/ a larger dashboard (myself, ha) can find it takes longer to load. It's not a huge deal, and maybe our computers need an upgrade (when don't they), but it's something to mention. There aren't any huge drawbacks to this program I can really think of.

Paco A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

With looker I feel with a little bit of "how" I can easily get the "why".

Reviewed on 2017-10-25

Pros

- The constantly updated content. I feel the vehicle is moving forward all the time.
- The ease of making a deep and helpful analysis.
- Really nice visualisation of looks.

Cons

- The division of Dashboards and looks in each user space is a bit rigid. Folders could help to organise it better.
- It would help to search for individual spaces from people (I think I could do it before)

Meagan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Seems great, takes some getting used to

Reviewed on 2018-01-18

Pros

Capabilities seem endless, nice visuals to represent data, integrates with many many other platforms. We've been able to leverage data from Looker from so many places (our own database, redshift, CRMs, etc) and gain some invaluable insights.

Cons

the learning curve is a bit high for anyone that is *not* a data analyst or intimately familiar with pivot tables, etc

Erik J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic tool for enterprise analytics

Reviewed on 2019-06-14

Pros

Ease of use, Embedded functionality, cloud based, integration with Snowflake

Cons

No ability to cross-filter as in Tableau

Christy L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

There was a bit of a learning curve, but overall the product is really great for visualizing...

Reviewed on 2017-10-06

Pros

Customer support is amazing! The love the live chat feature in Looker. Someone is always prepared to help and gets back to me if they can't. There was one time customer service emailed me with a very in depth analysis and guide to one of the variables that was populating twice.

Cons

The learning curve dissuades some people from becoming proficient in Looker. I think the in person guides help, but this problem would probably exist with similar platforms.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic tool for big data

Reviewed on 2019-02-08

I'm currently analysing big quantities of data with Looker and taking insights to support business decisions

Pros

Looker is an incredible tool to get insights from big data. The fact that you can connect easily to databases and run complex calculations in a matter of seconds is of great help. Furthermore,​ the degree of flexibility that you have while you create dashboards is definitely​ a big advantage.

Cons

I cannot see any disadvantage in​ using Looker

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Taking Business Intelligence to the next level

Reviewed on 2017-11-16

Pros

Looker have done what most BI tools are missing, they managed to create a tool that can be used both for nice visualizations, but also to do deep data analysis. I love how everything is flexible, and its always possible to explore your data a step deeper.

Cons

Im still missing some flexibility compared to do data analysis in pure SQL and Excel. The price is in the high end compared to the competitors

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great business intelligence tool

Reviewed on 2018-05-12

This software helps me have access, measure, analyze, and act on our trusted data to inform everyday business activities.

Pros

It is a great tool as it has helped my company unify and liberate data, drive our business forward with data, give anyone the freedom to drive decision-making with data and help all employees view data as integral to everyday business activities. It has also enabled our company to consolidate data into one single platform and assure the accuracy of its data.

Cons

Not intuitive at all. Requires hours of training sessions. I have only been using Looker for a few weeks now and still have A LOT to learn. I'm sure it will be a great tool and very useful tool once I'm fully on board but it definitely is taking me more time than I thought.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Using Looker to Access Cloud Data

Reviewed on 2021-01-24

Overall the experience with Looker has been good and the data analyst who use it are happy.

Pros

Looker's real strength is in its ability to model data. My company installed it on our Google Cloud Platform and have had no problems. We have it pointing to extremely large datasets located in Big Query, and it provides a more robust access and visualizations than SQL or Python.

Looker Professional Services helped with installation and training. Our team was productive in about three to four weeks.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve and not a lot of free resources. The visualizations are not as nice as other applications. The tool can get very expensive when considering the user types and server licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Looker review

Reviewed on 2019-01-13

Pros

cost-efficient. pre-built templates for common-use analysis. visualization. good integration with cross-platform data sets.

Cons

low processing speed. frequent lags. limited coding capabilities.

Matt K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Looker Review

Reviewed on 2017-03-14

Looker is an amazing reporting tool. I've used multiple tools in the past and Looker is the quickest to get up and going. The customer support is the best I have ever experienced.

Pros

Creating LookML

Cons

Some visualizations are difficult to create.

Douglas F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good BI tool for data visualization

Reviewed on 2019-08-05

It is a good BI tool. You can have a lot of dashboards to monitor the status of operations.

Pros

I like most the big range of charts and dashboards that I can do using looker.

Cons

I don't like most the fact that it is not user friendly to write the queries. People with less experience need a lot of time to learn how to use it.

Shivakant D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A+ Service Management

Reviewed on 2018-02-16

Pros

The most point is Deployment was quick and easy and even though it has a good collaboration and most important Support was very good.

Cons

while using this platform I didn't find any major concern but I do feel that the data retrieval is a bit slow sometimes.

Friday A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent choice

Reviewed on 2019-07-30

Pros

Looker is one very useful business intelligence software. Data presented by looker are very robust and detailed.

Cons

It's not so easy to learn how to use the software.

Quan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: International Trade & Development
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2018-12-08

Brandon W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

For Great Insights Go With Looker

Reviewed on 2019-05-01

Looker has been a huge help for our entire team in the few short months we've used it. Better than alternatives we've tried in the past.

Pros

The ability to segment reports and see customer engagement within our app is really helpful. Also, seeing what content is being consumed is helpful for our team.

Cons

Since you can customize reports so intricately, sometimes it can be difficult to navigate the platform. With more usage though, I expect that to get easier.