531 reviews

Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

4.4 /5 (531 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.1
90% recommended this app
531 reviews
Douglas C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, Intuitive, and Easy to Use!

Reviewed on 2020-11-02

Microsoft Outlook is a powerful, intuitive and easy to use tool for creating, customizing, sending & receiving, and organizing your everyday email communications. This program is very comprehensive yet easy to use and allows you to create and send very professional looking emails with just a few simple clicks and some text editing. It's a snap to also attached any files you wish to include with your emails and also allows you to embed pictures and tables and other features right into the body of your messages. You can also easily organize your incoming emails by storing any you need to keep for future reference with the use of a customizable file folder system. There really is too much that this program provides to even really begin to list all its features and benefits here. It really is another Grand Slam Home Run from Microsoft!

Pros

I like that although this program is a very powerful tool for everyday email use, it is also extremely intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

There honestly is nothing about this program that I believe could be bettered or built upon to improve its functionality for the way I use it in my daily life.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best business email provider

Reviewed on 2020-06-11

Overall, Outlook is a great product for businesses, with lots of really helpful options. However, sometimes its SPAM filters are too strict for some types of communications.

Pros

I've been using Microsoft Outlook for the last 10 years. While it may look a bit old-fashion, especially if you come from Gmail, the quality and functionalities are amazing.

Microsoft Outlook is really handy for businesses activities as it offers lots of options such as: office away notices, company signature, filtering, automation rules, etc.

Cons

The main negative part of this product is the SPM filtering they normally implement. When signing up for newsletter communications or other third party email communications, sometimes Microsoft Outlook places them on the SPAM folder or even refuses to deliver them. This is because the email filtering of this ISP is very restrictive for companies operating email marketing strategies.

Shashu A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for Work eMail

Reviewed on 2018-07-23

Pros

You can have more than one email account inside Outlook. I have my work and personal blog email both linked to my Outlook. You can link your calendar, documents. I love that you can send emails with the adobe attachment. I overall like Outlook, its a great email tool. You can also link members emails to certain groups like you can type family and all the members you added to that list will pop up, that way you don't forget anyone!

Cons

I hate that when you try to scroll down, it doesn't move down by moving the scroll bar, ALL THE EMAILS STAY IN THE SAME PLACE!!. You have to manually move the LONG list of emails downwards to search. The emails pile up fast it seems in outlook. Its so annoying to not be able to move that scroll bar!

Also, you have to download any photos that are linked to an email.... For our own protection , but still annoying.

Sundeep G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You will love Outlook more if you are in Microsoft Ecosystem.

Reviewed on 2020-03-30

I have been using Microsoft Outlook from the college days and I have always loved it. It integrates well with Gmail as well and you can have access to your personal and work emails in a single window.

Pros

Outlook looks great, feels great and works great. Everything about this email management tool is almost good. The UI/UX is great compared to any other email management software and this works like a charm inside Microsoft ecosystem. Compared to the older generation the possibilities are greater with more extensions and integrations.

Cons

One of the biggest complaint I have with any particular software is not with the software itself but with ecosystems. Outlook is great but if you are on Google ecosystem, it might not look and feel great. The same thing applies for other software too.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you need in an email and calendar program.

Reviewed on 2020-09-22

Using Outlook has been an overall good experience. I have used other email and calendar applications in the past and they are not as easy to use. The fact that it is easy to use and the large support base online makes it a good choice for any business to adapt.

Pros

I like most about Outlook how easy it is to use. Creating appointments and sending emails is easy and quick to do. Scheduling is very nice with the graphical interface.

Cons

Depending on what type of service you use (whether or not you have an exchange server) your experience may not be so great. Without an exchange server, scheduling with other people and their schedules is impossible. You can only see your own schedule. Also, sometimes emails will randomly disappear before viewing them, and only after a few minutes will they come back.

Adith K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

There is no such a great alternate to this platform, this is such an great tool!

Reviewed on 2018-09-15

Pros

I can integrate almost everything to all the devices I have. Auto synchronizing option is very useful when I really forget to take a back up of some important emails. The inbuilt events calendar can be integrated to the phone as well. I can even add an image to my signature which is a very attractive feature. The customer care team were very responsive when I had a problem last year. They fixed the issue in few minutes.

Cons

Unlike other free email platforms, the storage space allowed is not on the higher side. I usually have to delete/move emails from my inbox to other folders to free up space. Attaching images and other files are not best like other similar apps. It takes a while to upload too.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for professional communications

Reviewed on 2020-09-05

Awesome is enough to describe in one word. New features like Cortana are always welcome.

Pros

1. Various features to organize the communication
2. Search features are good
3. Several ways to save the old communications especially with MS Azure cloud based
4. Several shortcuts can be used to move from one function to another
5. Customization like color coding of emails and calendars also available
6. OOO and signature options are nice
7. Several other features from MS can be enabled as well
8. New feature Cortana is also nice

Cons

Cortana can improve further. Understandably this is as still new and at an early stage of learning and will improve further.

Gar yan Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great E-mail service

Reviewed on 2018-10-03

Pros

I use Microsoft Outlook daily and I love the ease of signing in. I love how easy it is to see my different calendars on the same page without going back and forth. The spam filtering is great! I very rarely receive spam e-mails in my inbox folder. I love how I can create different folders.

Cons

Every since Microsoft updated with 365 I found it super confusing especially when I have an e-mail and the response from the sender is on the same page. Especially when there are many people involved I sometimes get confused on who send what and if I read the messages already. Searching for previous e-mails are hard to.

Samuel M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best email tool

Reviewed on 2020-11-19

The work experience is being great. Facilitating and streamlining formal and informal communication between employees.

Pros

I use the tool daily in my work with the office 365 package. The outlook integration with teams and skype applications is excellent, sending and receiving emails is fast, there are no crashes and the daily work becomes more agile and efficient.

Cons

Previously we couldn't block the contact directly from the inbox email, only when it went to spam. It was recently updated and solved this problem.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outlook for your mail

Reviewed on 2020-11-06

Outlook has offered simple solution to email management.

Pros

Outlook offers the best quality if email management. Storage of old emails and their retention excellent. it is easy use with a lot of features that are nicely stacked in an orderly manner. it offers great value for money for any user, and it is very easy to deploy irregardless of having a technical background.

Cons

Since it is a paid up it can be costly to individuals that want to use the app, however for companies it is the ultimate email manager there is on the market.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most of the features of desktop Outlook

Reviewed on 2019-01-15

Pros

I like that you can do the majority of things you can do in Desktop Outlook still in the app: you can still check your calendar, set appointments, filter emails into folders (and ALL your folders, not just an abridged version for the app), flag emails for follow-up and what not.

Cons

I sometimes notice that my app and desktop versions aren't perfectly in sync, so flags don't carry over or things marked read are still marked unread in the other location. But thankfully that's not all the time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You Can't Go Wrong with Outlook

Reviewed on 2019-11-05

Pros

Outlook is so easy to use. I have used it in nearly every position I've ever had in an office environment. It has a mobile app that allows you to access your email and calendars on the go, which is helpful for those in event planning.

Cons

From what limited I can tell, your options for customizing the desktop screen view are limited. However, it gets the job done and allows us to coordinate meetings and room reservations for those in our global address view and those outside the outlook system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Keeps me organized

Reviewed on 2018-06-12

Pros

The interface of Microsoft Outlook is very well organized. I love being able to organize items by priority and colorcode them. Also having the ability to add plug-ins to set up online meetings and webinars in line with coworkers’ availability makes it quick to schedule the team.

Cons

Some features are not very intuitive. One example of this is creating custom titles for color-coded categories. Some things are not a simple click, they require you to dig into the settings to change specific items which isn’t always easy to do.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My favourite email app

Reviewed on 2020-11-08

Outlook is my weapon of choice when I get the job done. It's many options for making your work look professional. Security is embedded and it has features for making your routines more efficient and practical, including your calendar and Ms Teams integration.

Pros

Outlook is a well-rounded email app with powerful authoring tools, and many options for business users, office integration and now better functions in mobile.

Cons

Email search function not as powerful as Gmail's. The mobile version is far behind the desktop version in functionality

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Outlook helps me be more efficient at work

Reviewed on 2021-01-09

Very satisfied with the software overall! The app is easy to navigate but need to wait for a while to load the data.

Pros

I use MS Outlook for work and study. The design of the website and app is very user-friendly. The part I like the most about the software is that it is very easy to schedule an appointment and send to the team via Outlook.

Cons

The way it categorizes whether an email is a focused email sometimes is not precise. I have to check the non-focused email box to see if I miss any important one.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best app for your mail

Reviewed on 2018-03-19

Pros

1. You can add all your emails into this outlook app
2. You an easy add or remove email account.
3. Easy to tag, star or move into different boxes, add customised adds on
4. The updates are automatically updated without a manual intervention.

Cons

The updates are the main a good and same bad thing what can happen. Some clients are not updates same time. A lot of bugs with some new updates. You can think you did fix it and the next bug appear with a new update. So Microsoft needs to worked harder for this step.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of Use, Plug and Play

Reviewed on 2020-09-05

Outlook is a fantastic tool for anyone who wants a solid app for e-mail that’s accessible from whatever smart device and computer you have. I love using it and just wish there were more updates and patches to fix issues with organization and other small bugs.

Pros

Simple and easy connectivity with other apps and e-mail accounts, fluid design, attractive user interface.

Cons

Bloated inboxing and somewhat poor e-mail organization compared to free tools like Gmail, updates few and far between meaning longer time spent with bugs and problems.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Still the best email product on the market.

Reviewed on 2018-05-18

Pros

Great features.
Easily customizable to the way you do your work and use email.
Allows me to easily filter incoming mail into different folders.
The product is quite stable.
Great search capability for finding emails that you've filed away.

Cons

You have do a little maintenance, especially when your storage file (e.g. PST file) gets really big. Only an issue if you get a lot of email and you file them away for future use. But this is pretty simple using their maintenance utility.

Clay B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

There is none better

Reviewed on 2020-09-08

I can't say I have any complaints concerning Outlook. It works well and it always has. In my opinion, Outlook and Office in general is the best productivity suite on the market.

Pros

It is the most robust mail and calendar client I have ever used. It is full-featured, easy to set up, and works very well.

Cons

It can be difficult to update the license if you change versions. I recently changed from Office 2019 to Microsoft 365 and it took great effort to get the license to switch over.

Luca Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Outlook Review

Reviewed on 2020-10-22

Very good experience with this product, I use it daily and it definitely does make my job and organization much easier.

Pros

I like it's compatibility to other product of similar caregory such as Webex and MS Team's. It's calendar is also well organized and in sync with email correspondence.

Cons

While overall good, what I dislike about Ms Outlook is both the time it take it smto sync up with the server, as well as the amount or Ram that it uses even when idle.

Tejaswi B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outlook! probably the only email tool you require.

Reviewed on 2018-07-03

Pros

Easy to use, categorize emails and search for older emails. Everything works like a charm, it can also store all your chats from Skype for Business. This is the best email tool for any organization. Mobile application is great as well.

Cons

There is nothing you can dislike about Microsoft Outlook, everything works like a charm. The only problem I find with Outlook is that sometime there is a delay in receiving emails but that is fine.

Javier M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User Friendly and Reliable App

Reviewed on 2020-10-28

I use this app on a daily basis to communicate with my workmates and also handle personal communication. I considered this to be my main method of contact before 5pm since after that I start using other methods of communication as well.

Pros

I like the simplicity of this app when handling emails. From creating, saving drafts and forwarding content.

Cons

I honestly do not dislike anything about this app right now. It's a super reliable tool for communication.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best work-related email software

Reviewed on 2020-11-03

Outlook helps me on my day to day organizing tasks, setting bio follow ups and arranging meeting than I can take on any device

Pros

Outlook is the best email platform available, it has several features and it can be connected with several devices and other software to handle meetings

Cons

I cannot find any cons on this software, the only thing I would say is that is has so many things that is hard to get to learn about all of them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The most advanced tool for e-mail management

Reviewed on 2018-05-21

Pros

I have been a heavu-user of this soft for over 6 years as I worked in corporation - the possibilities are not to be compared to any other software on the market. The integration using Exchange gives a lot of extra possibilities of room management, calendars, address books etc .

Cons

As it is very heavy, it tends not to be the most user-friendly at the very begining with some of the functions that are not very UX thought-of

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Outlook is great for emails

Reviewed on 2020-09-20

It’s a great email and calendar software within the whole Microsoft suit

Pros

In the whole Microsoft suites. Great email functionality, great calendar and meeting set up ability. Links with other Microsoft products such as onenote and sharepoint that’s easy to organize files and meeting notes

Cons

Sometimes it’s hard to organize emails. In addition, it’s hard to see multiple peoples calendar availability