449 reviews

Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

4.4 /5 (449 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4
89% recommended this app
449 reviews
Sarah U.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Outlook is amazing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/1/2020
Review Source: GetApp

I've used it with every company I've ever worked for and also have done support for our clients that use it as well for the last 15 years it's a great product

Pros

I like how organized you can keep your emails and folders also to be able to set up rules to automatically put specific emails into folders and the calendar reminders are fantastic

Cons

Every once in awhile it glitches and you'll have to either update or reinstall it other than that it's a great program to use

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jordan D.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great Product, but could be more stable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/26/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Outlook is a great product and becoming more so all the time. It is the productivity application that our business can't live without. The feature updates in Outlook tend to introduce issues unfortunately. The Shared Mailbox experience could be improved, it is common to see Outlook become non-responsive when switching between shared mailboxes, even on high end computers and gigabit internet. The features and ease of use are really what make Outlook great.

Pros

* Constantly Evolving Powerhouse of features and functionality
* Dark Theme = love
* Focused Mailbox
* AI Driven daily summary driven by Cortana
* Hundreds of App integrations via Marketplace or 3rd party
* Robust Rule and Tagging/categorization ability
* Quick Steps help apply multiple actions to messages
* Scheduling of messages
* Devloper and customize templates
* Visual Basic advanced development
* Shared Mailboxes
* Group Mailboxes (Channels) that allow team collaboration and follow up
* Favorite your inbox and often accessed folders
* Team, Planner, and Personal Calendar all in a single overlayed view
* Scheduling and Meeting assistance
* Tasks, Contacts, and Sticky notes
* Search emails using filters and key phrases

Cons

* Microsoft's new release and development schedule is great for the addition of new and useful tools but is causing stability issues. It is common to have to repair Outlook and Office applications after a feature update.

* Adding shared mailboxes often causes Outlook to run slowly.

* Some serious optimizations are needed in the sync process to prevent Outlook hanging. I have to disable Downloading of Shared mailboxes, which is enable by default, on every computer Outlook is installed on

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marcelo C.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

a good alternative

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/2/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Despite the small criticisms that I may have against outlook, I usually take this mail and use it for everything, I register in pages, I give it to my acquaintances and I even use it at work because I can use it directly in my laptop, and that saves me a lot of time.

Pros

Microsoft Outlook is a good mail system, which allows you to manage your emails quickly and easily. Among its advantages we have that it presents constant updates, presents integration to skype and one drive, and also thanks to the fact that they belong to Microsoft, allows to use the office tools online.

Cons

Among the elements that I like the least is the environment that is not as nice as in other emails, in addition your security system for spam seems not to be properly configured by default.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: International Trade & Development
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Solid reliable email and all round task management tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/10/2020
Review Source: GetApp

It's a pity that the version I bought for my Mac doesn't have the full functionality that I enjoyed in the past - Microsoft 365 is too expensive for my usage, but I don't know even if I would get the functionality there

Pros

It offers so many features in combination: email, calendar, tasks, contacts. I can customise my workspace exactly how I need /like to have it for working

Cons

I presently have the version for Mac and it unfortunately doesn't have all the features of say Outlook 2013 that I used in the past in a corporate setting. eg I can't set a mail to automatically file into a specified folder after sending or delay sending until a certain time and because my company email address is on an exchange server I can't use add ins to correct those issues

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

My mailbox got a lot more organized

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/7/2020
Review Source: GetApp

It was easy to use and totally worth it. Would recommend!

Pros

The section that separates the focused mail from the others is really helpful. It helps look at the important emails first, before going through the others.

Cons

It was kind of different from Gmail my initial choice, so took time to adjust. The layout was kind of different, but I got used to it in a week.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sabharish K.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Truly an enterprise level communications solution, much more than just emails!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/8/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Overall, it is a great product packed with capabilities and is constantly improving by the day. It forms the foundation for any successful work environment and the parent company Microsoft is very good about listening to their users feedback and offering solutions in a timely manner as well.

Pros

I'm going to begin with the ease of use and how there is virtually no connectivity issues. Some of my favorite features are the integrations with other tools in the Microsoft Suite like Teams, SharePoint, Delve, Analytics, Stream, OneDrive etc. I love the calendar capabilities and scheduling assistant that quickly helps me find available times. The search bar is excellent and returns valuable and accurate results. Some of the analytics offered by outlook is also very helpful as it tells me how long on average I spend writing/reading emails, in meetings etc. vs how much focus time I actually have to work. Automation is another huge area that adds a lot of value. Being able to set automatic replies and make it custom as needed. Outlook also allows to create generic groups and inboxes and listservs very easily.

Cons

Grouping emails is still pretty difficult and manual. If outlook would create themes or containers based on the content in the email or the subject line, it would make it more easier for me to prioritize. Also which emails need my attention immediately vs the ones that can wait a bit longer. I've had a lot of trouble with rescheduling meetings and that sending the right timely updates to the invitees. Sometimes it is delayed and sometimes never goes out and Outlook sometimes does have some syncing issues as well. Creating signatures for different purposes was also slightly difficult. No way to unsend an email still and that would be helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jaco S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Industry standard

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/17/2020
Review Source: GetApp

It has been a long journey with Outlook, almost 15 years if I counted correctly. The product have evolved from a simple IMAP clone to a trusted product.

Pros

Being a Microsoft Office product, it is the staple of most companies. Especially those that are using Office 365 or the older Exchange server.
What I like about Outlook. It is stable and simple to use.

Cons

What I do not like about it? It seems that the offline caching is broken (for my users) on Remote Desktop Servers with redirected folders and profiles. I have to redo Outlook profiles quite regularly, compared to users working on local computers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abhinav G.
Industry: Semiconductors
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Indispensable tool for communication

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/11/2020
Review Source: GetApp

my overall experience with outlook has been positive. I have probably used other email handling software or systems out there but haven't found anything that was so impactive.

Pros

Outlook is one of the tools without which none of my work in the job can be possible. I use it to be able to collaborate with colleagues and also manage my schedule and setup meetings with colleagues. The tool helps keep me accountable with timeliness and alerts.

Cons

There are so many different features in outlook but a lot of them are not very intuitive and difficult to find and thus provide no value especially without much of customer support or help.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Vince C.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Microsoft Outlook is the best email client I've used

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/11/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Overall it's a great client with integration into all our Microsoft products and services.

Pros

The ease of organizing and collaborating with colleagues and other coworkers makes it a critical tool whether just sending emails, setting up meetings or sharing information.

Cons

Some customization is difficult to figure out initially but after a while it becomes second nature in usage.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christiana C.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

FREE BUSINESS EMAIL

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/20/2020
Review Source: GetApp

It is good to use and keeps one focus on the job, It is a good free email platform.

Pros

It is very popular so many workers already know how to use it, it is the go-to email for most company. I like its easy to use and straight forward.

Cons

Its interface is not that colourful and exciting but it is work email so usually, it is to encourage focus I guess.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason J.

Probably the best email tool out there, if you are tech savvy enough to use it.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/7/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Microsoft Outlook is full of far more features than most email clients. I really like being able to set automatic replies when I am away from work. I like the number of plugins compatible with Outlook. If you have a Microsoft Exchange inbox, Outlook makes it very easy to set up your email, without having to deal with POP/IMAP settings. The ability to share contact groups among other employees comes in very handy. Most importantly, at least for our company, it can store an extremely large amount of emails before causing the software to become unstable.

Cons

Outlook is not without its problems. It tends to be filled with randomly occurring bugs. I often have to use the inbox repair tool provided by Outlook for our employees. Some are caused by overwhelming amounts of emails being stored offline, which is understandable. Often, however, other bugs appear randomly. Sometimes Outlook is just suddenly unable to start, despite not having to load a large amount of data and requires the use of the inbox repair tool. Most recently I was unable to make an employee's laptop able to send emails until I downgraded him from Outlook 2016 to 2013. The support for problems such as these is very poor. Asking questions on the Microsoft forum often results in a generic list of things to try that any IT Manager would have already thought to try. One last point of criticism is Outlook's handling of POP3 protocol. Many users who were originally connected to Outlook via POP3 noticed their emails would come in bunches, rather than right after they were sent. It's hard to say how much of that is Outlook's fault, but certainly if you are choosing to use Outlook, I would recommend IMAP and Exchange over POP3. Overall, Outlook is a terrific tool, but it would be greatly improved if Microsoft took more time to address its bugs as well as provide better support to their customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Yaroslav K.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

IF you HATE Gmail - you will LOVE Outlook!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/5/2019
Review Source: GetApp

I use outlook for my personal projects and work. Generaly, I am working on google ecosystem, but I managed to make it work for me as I have several accounts on google and microsoft and some issues would be inevitable.
Outlook for me is a great email tool that I use when I am in the hurry or ant to create something on the nice software with great interface!

Pros

Outlook is am amazing email management tool.
I have started using during my years in the university as it was using microsoft ecosystem.
At first it felt unfriendly after gmail, but after little time I noticed an amazing UI/UX, I played around to discover the possibilities, extentions and functionality and it is awesome!

All you have about gmail is simply gone here.
Of course, it has some flaws, but in general, it give you everything in terms of email management (personal or business)

Cons

Microsoft ecosystem in general is a drawback here. If you are a poweruser like myself, you are probably familiar, how hard it is to switch from one ecosystem to another. Yes, outlook is great, but is onedrive better then google drive? - hard to say. Many people like google drive.
And now we have google photos as well, and google calendar. All work perfectly together and if you switch to outlook, something might be lost.
This is the biggest drawback.

Overal, outlook is very nice product and I am happy to see its evolution into something better each year!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rahul A.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great Email Client for companies on Microsoft Environment

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/25/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Overall, Outlook is great. if you are looking forward to move to Microsoft environment, I would highly recommend using Outlook.

Pros

We use Microsoft environment in our corporation and Outlook plays a crucial role in it. Easy to use, secured and very powerful in terms of functionalities, contact syncing across platforms and devices and also native integration with google translator and other add-ons makes Outlook very functional.

Cons

Sometimes Outlook doesnt provide notifications for email and the desktop app doesnt show few emails. I am pretty sure Microsoft is working on these issues but rest it's a great and functional app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joshua M.
Industry: Printing
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Microsoft Outlook Is An Expansive Professional Collaboration Tool With Room to Scale.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/25/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Overall, Outlook offers both incredible web and mobile experiences. The ability to switch between devices on the platform is incredibly seamless. Our company uses Outlook the most out of any other email / communication tool and we are extremely pleased with the platform. We are a large international organization and Outlook offers incredible stability and reliability for communicating across continents!

Pros

Microsoft Outlook does a really great job of offering one of the most expansive user experiences out there. One can customize their inbox in a myriad of ways and set up automations in order to make workflow more productive. The tool offers extensive ways to communicate information, schedule meetings, and integrate other business tools within the platform. Furthermore, being able to organize an inbox or inboxes is very easy and efficient.

Cons

Microsoft Outlook is incredibly expansive. Therefore, it takes quite a bit of time in order to fully explore all the possibilities. Furthermore, menus can be a bit confusing for new end-users. I would recommend each business to spend ample time fully training-out end-users in the tool in order to fully gain the benefits from the service. I think there is a lot of value that can be lost when Outlook is used for the sole purpose of emailing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Muhammad J.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Best Email Configuration and Offline Applicatio

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/14/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Outlook Microsoft application is very streamlined application and working very seamlessly, Outlook also allows me to arrange my emails to be separated not only by inbox

Pros

Microsoft outlook is our secure and backbone plus primary source of email application in which you can configure any email domain or account, within one application you can configure multiple accounts where you can easily get all your email at one place, and very fast exchange of email collaboration, it is our primary place f email communication for our organization and all users, we are using in our all department, and see this is is one of the best service which will not be going down, it also allow us for group distribution of information via mail group, we can also reservation of conference rooms once send an email to room email, we are loving it

Cons

Every time whenever we can not receive an emails because of any reason we must have to click on send and receive button which i personally don't like it , why it can not sync automatically

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joel B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great email tool, but can be overwhelming for beginners

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/8/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I have been using Outlook for almost 20 years now. It's definitely the best overall email application for business, hands down. The depth of the features, the almost limitless customizability, and the tools and features it provides are the best in the industry. I love setting up RSS feeds to Craigslist searches. Not something people would normally think about. The amount of features is so overwhelming that most users never break the surface of the depth of Outlook. I love customizing it to meet my needs.

Cons

The biggest issue Outlook has is the lack of UI customizations. You have just a few colors to pick from as well as a few patterns. It's PATHETIC. There is no dark mode, no ability to change the overall theme, and very few UI options. Microsoft has stripped out those features in the latest version and users just have to deal with the fact that Microsoft doesn't want you to customize the UI out of the box. I really hate that about Outlook.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Nice but needs revamping

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/5/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Overall it gets the job done. I have a lpt of issues with spam.

Pros

It is a nice. It serves its purpose for emails. At times their can be a lag. I am not a fan of paying extra for spam reporting. This should be a regular feature.

Cons

I am not sure about the security. I receive a lot of phishing emails. They concern me because they seem like they are coming from reputable domains. I do not have this issue with gmail.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Adam B.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Outlook - The E-mail Overview Organizer!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/2/2019
Review Source: GetApp

My overall experience with Microsoft Outlook has been awesome. Very rarely do I have any issues with sending and receiving emails and if I do have an issue it is very quickly addressable and easily fixable.

Pros

Microsoft Outlook is a very great way to organize all of your email accounts as well as the emails you receive and send out. If you have multiple email accounts, as I do, it is very easy to keep everything separate from things that may not be a relation. Each email account that I use is typically four different types of services. This is one of the easiest ways for me to keep everything organized as well as keeping productivity at an all-time high

Cons

Other than the customization of the layout I can't say too much bad or anything that I don't really like. I just wish that maybe they could add more layouts to the overall application and making it seem more modern instead of a typical email account application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best business email provider

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/11/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Overall, Outlook is a great product for businesses, with lots of really helpful options. However, sometimes its SPAM filters are too strict for some types of communications.

Pros

I've been using Microsoft Outlook for the last 10 years. While it may look a bit old-fashion, especially if you come from Gmail, the quality and functionalities are amazing.

Microsoft Outlook is really handy for businesses activities as it offers lots of options such as: office away notices, company signature, filtering, automation rules, etc.

Cons

The main negative part of this product is the SPM filtering they normally implement. When signing up for newsletter communications or other third party email communications, sometimes Microsoft Outlook places them on the SPAM folder or even refuses to deliver them. This is because the email filtering of this ISP is very restrictive for companies operating email marketing strategies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rafael V.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The best email tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Every day I receive and send emails using Outlook, I have not found yet another tool the time to replace it. In addition to receiving and sending e-mail, Outlook lets you manage contacts, tasks, and appointments.

Speaking of appointments, when scheduling a meeting I can check which meeting rooms are available, and the most fantastic, allows me to check the agenda of the participants to see if everyone has the one determining the available time for participation in the meeting that is being scheduled.

Cons

I have some VBA features, to automatically save attached files to certain senders, and the VBA IDE is very precarious, a lot of improvements could be made to that part, Outlook itself has been improved several times since I started using it , but the VBA IDE remains the same, not bringing the features that are seen today in development framework IDEs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shashu A.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great for Work eMail

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/23/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

You can have more than one email account inside Outlook. I have my work and personal blog email both linked to my Outlook. You can link your calendar, documents. I love that you can send emails with the adobe attachment. I overall like Outlook, its a great email tool. You can also link members emails to certain groups like you can type family and all the members you added to that list will pop up, that way you don't forget anyone!

Cons

I hate that when you try to scroll down, it doesn't move down by moving the scroll bar, ALL THE EMAILS STAY IN THE SAME PLACE!!. You have to manually move the LONG list of emails downwards to search. The emails pile up fast it seems in outlook. Its so annoying to not be able to move that scroll bar!

Also, you have to download any photos that are linked to an email.... For our own protection , but still annoying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cesar a S.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A great email option for people and companies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/13/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

All the products of apps of Microsoft are awesone and this is not left behind, Outlook are so easy to use, you have your inbox on the left, your emails on the middle and the details and contacts on the right side of the screen, so you can handle or your information easily. You can also manage your contacts and emails by creating folders to keep all your information in order. Another great feature is the huge amount of user that are connected with Outlook that is a huge advantadge for make groups of friends and coworkers.

Cons

Sometimes the app does not load all the information, and has another mistakes vinculated with the interphase, I remember one ocassion when I cannot closed my email, and was really frustrating for me because I share my computer with another partnerts, bur fortunately errors like this are solve very quickly for Microsoft.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Anil J.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

An organized approach to e-mail and productivity management.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/23/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Outlook is a sophisticated way to manage your email and calendar together. While managing emails can be important, it can be difficult to keep track of what emails are relevant for what period of time. It is also very important to keep a record of upcoming events linked with the same. If we receive an email with a scheduled date in it, it will pop up a notification whether to add that to the calendar and if we click 'yes' then that date will be synced with the calendars on all the devices. I am using it for free for the last 5-6 years.

Cons

The incoming emails are categorized as 'focused' and 'other' which I didn't understand yet. I can see a few labels have been created automatically and emails are moved before I read it. There were instances that it detected an email wrongly and moved into a bottom subfolder and I missed them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

The only tool used to communicate to everyone at work

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/8/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I have used this for over 8 years. This is the way we communicate at work everyday. Everyone is on Outlook sending emails, invitations to meetings, has the function to use WebEx to make calls, share calendars, colour code them, create folders etc
I work for an international company and therefore email is key! The best feature has to be the webex calls for me as i can send invitations with call details real quick. I keep important emails in folders and is the best way to communicate over email.

Cons

At times, there can be issues loading and updating but I find that is down to your wi-fi. If you blind copy people in, when forwarding the email the names disappear. This would be ideal to keep as blind copy. There needs to be a wider range of colour coding and at times, I feel calendars don't always update. These are minor changes needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Benjamin B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great email tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/6/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Outlook is a cool email tool. Especially the design is way better than with gmail. It also is very basic in its functionality and hence it is fairly easy to use, even if you are not an experienced PC user. The fact that you can choose from several domains when opening the account is yet another advantage. In addition, the Outlook account serves as a Microsoft Account and can also be used with Windows Phone and Windows 8 / Windows 10 computers for better integration.

Cons

Compared to gmail, Outlook is very slim when it comes to functionality. In addition, the adverts are more obstrusive than with Gmail. There is an option, to get an ad-free version of Outlook, but it appears to be fairly expensive, considered what you get. Customer Service from Microsoft is yet another issue. Other than that, great tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10