ClubExpress

4.2 (514)
Where the Best Run Clubs Run the Best

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(514)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support Software
4.6/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

514 Reviews

Judy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Terrific Platform for clubs

Reviewed on 9/14/2018

We are a garden club of about 200 members and needed a website that would allow us to have a central database for members, documents, and photos; manage events; manage emailings; and be relatively easy to update quickly and be very cost-effective. Plus we were looking for good customer support. Club Express has delivered on all aspects of this. In particular, their customer support (which I don't need very much because the platform is very easy to use), is fantastic. And they constantly improve the software too, taking lots of input from users. Overall, a great product, specifically built for Clubs and Associations. They really understand their target audience.

Pros

Centralized database for our membership and club documents that makes creating emails with newsletters (that are then available on the website) so easy.

Cons

Creating a graphical user interface based on templates is a little clumsy to use, but is certainly serviceable.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Club Express Fan

Reviewed on 1/22/2020

Very, very positive. Tech support is great, accessable, and quite clear in their responses.

Pros

It's tailored to clubs & social organizations making it's functionality ideal for us. The modules are, I believe, are unique to our (clubs) environment.

Cons

Formating is a bit of a PIA and can be cumbersome. Picture & photo upload is limited to resident computers only. There's no direct access to social media or cloud storage which is a definite negative. Event questions are very limited and do not offer If-Or linking. Event registrations can be confusing for the non- tech users/ members.

Todd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Be Wary of ClubExpress

Reviewed on 5/2/2020

I wouldn't recommend ClubExpress to anyone because of the poor coding techniques used and lack of response from the development team with regards to custom code requests.

Pros

Very configurable, many options exist for the calendar of events. Membership module is powerful and has tightened our organizations' membership count. Offers more capabilities than our org currently use which is a good thing for our growing organization. ClubExpress developed a custom Volunteer Time Search Box which has met our expectations, it's powerful and fast.

Cons

Emailing capabilities not well thought out but we understand how tough it is to design an emailing tool. Emails to full membership get logged in email database but Interest Group and Committee emails aren't. We had bad experiences with custom coding, for example a dropdown menu defined on one screen is defined as a text box on another screen. Couldn't get ClubExpress to provide detailed analysis of customer proposals nor would ClubExpress explain general statements their developers made about those proposals. ClubExpress programmers often would make poor coding decisions. For instance, in our custom time logging app, ClubExpress chose to display time detail entries in oldest to newest order, the most illogical and unusable choice possible, a sign of inexperience. Basic tricks to compress as much data as possible on one line (two (or more) line headers, truncation) weren't used, leaving important info undisplayed. As a customer we will have to pay ClubExpress to fix these bugs. Documentation of ClubExpress system is around 1,000 pages, virtually unusable for non-techies.

Response from ClubExpress

Shame on you, Todd. We designed and implemented custom functionality that is exactly what AR Master Naturalists requested. It was implemented on time and within budget. After using it for a year, the organization decided it wanted some changes. You proposed an alternate approach which the board rejected. We're now implementing the changes that the board approved. It's really quite unfortunate that you chose to vent your sour grapes in a poor review for a product that your organization has been using so successfully for more than 3 years now. BTW, our documentation and help system has all been moved online and includes not only reference material but also How To Guides and over 100 video tutorials and webinars.

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automated Membership Management

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

We have recently updated from an antiquated system that was not meeting our community's needs. There are additional features we would appreciate, but are currently enjoying the modern, user-friendly interface. Their user manual is complete and thorough, help buttons are available on all screens for users and admins, and phone or email support is quick and efficient.

Pros

ClubExpress reduced our workload for membership processes by 95%, automating our correspondence, dues collection, and renewals.

Cons

Ours is a parent-child group, and we find it frustrating that families are not linked in the directory. Our members organize events, but an admin has to assist every time there is a fee. Our membership manager has to separately track additional criteria for renewal.

Alternatives Considered

Workplace from Meta and Wild Apricot

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Homeschool-Life has no print admin or user manual; all directions are given via YouTube. It is not intuitive or user-friendly, and its financial systems are archaic.

Reasons for Switching to ClubExpress

Features, calendar, ease of use, privacy, financial capabilities
John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

After reviewing several AMS and trialing a couple we chose Club Express

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

As this is our first AMS, the migration from a proprietary database system into club express was very easy. Passing our data through a spreadsheet to re-format it according to the spreadsheets they providing making the data upload very simple. We just started our annual renewal cycle of members on Jan 1 and will look forward to hearing our uses thoughts on it at the spring meeting.

Pros

It's all encompassing with one additional feature that many others didn't have. We were able to point our domain at our ClubExpress site and through them create aliases for all the officers, the committees/forums etc. that can be maintained through the site via memberships. These email addresses allow our board and users to interact via email the same as they would with direct email addresses or using a listserv.

Cons

They don't support DSEC/DMARC yet for email systems so aren't able to tag outbound email as authoritative for our domain so some mail receivers will put inbound email in a users spam email box. Also their email relay has a delay unlike many listservs and only processes mail a few times/hour.

Alternatives Considered

Wild Apricot

Reasons for Switching to ClubExpress

Mainly the email handling and the all inclusive financial processing of fees with their merchant account and consolidated billing.
Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What's missing?

Reviewed on 1/17/2020

I am a member/administrator of NAMC. We used Socializer then GroupSpaces and now Club Express. Club Express is by far the best package used or even tested.

Pros

The richness of its features and the customer care.

Cons

1. The designers fail to think about how to open a screen and focus the attention of the user on the area of the screen where the user's attention should be directed.
2. The lack of an incorporated database with the ability to do simple inquires.
3. Over-whelming confirmations.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Software for a Professional Association

Reviewed on 1/22/2020

It was a great decision to move to ClubExpress. Despite some of the shortcomings of the software, it has helped our professional organization to be more efficient and effective.

Pros

I use this software to manage a professional association of about 600 members. The best features are the various sorts of automation for our annual member drive and renewal. CE will send email notices with customized messages and/or snail mail to expired or potential members. They are then able to log in, select a membership level, and pay their dues without any effort on my part. It automated what used to be a two-week process.

Cons

Once you log in and get behind the facade of the website, the interaction itself is fairly clunky. The graphic interface looks like it's from AOL in the 1990s, and the functionality is not always intuitive.

Alternatives Considered

Wild Apricot

Reasons for Switching to ClubExpress

Price, personalization, and the option to pay a one-time fee up front to have an expert at ClubExpress design the website, etc.
Kim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Our experience

Reviewed on 3/10/2020

Centralizing our organization's data and improving communication.

Pros

We have all of our membership data in one place. We can also send emails and maintain our website from this platform.

Cons

There is some functionality on the emails and website that are cumbersome.

Alternatives Considered

Wild Apricot

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We were using several things to run the club. Wix was just for the website, we were using MailChimp for emails and data was done in excel.

Switched From

Wix

Reasons for Switching to ClubExpress

Recommendation from another club.
Janet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

There's a lot to learn!

Reviewed on 1/18/2020

We went from having a website with only one Web Designer to having a site where several people can have access and make updates. This alone has made our club website much easier to manage. The catch is that all the people need to ensure they talk to each other. Otherwise you can mess things up.

Pros

I'm proficient with software as I am a software analyst in my day-job. I use ClubExpress for my hobby and am an administrator. It is pretty straightforward to use, for the most part, once you get the hang of it. If you already know it can do a particular thing, it's not that tough to figure out how to do it. If you don't know what it can do for you, it's worth it to watch the videos and check it out. I was able to get it to do the basic stuff pretty well. But it did hose up an event for us, which was a bummer, because we did not know how everything worked in the events features.

Cons

The online documentation leaves a lot to be desired. It is not very searchable and it is not very applicable to putting your website together. The YouTube videos are helpful, but they make you sit through the very basic instructions, which is really a time-sink.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to ClubExpress

There was not enough skill level in our club to work with WordPress.
Sherri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Sadly not happy with ClubExpress

Reviewed on 2/5/2020

I enjoy the support we get from customer service, but some other members feel like they've been rude or unhelpful.

If you would like more information, I would like to put you in touch with several of our members/admins who can discuss why they are disappointed with the product.

Pros

Ability to create paid for events. Lots of options and functions for creating pages and customization, especially if you understand computers a little. You don't have to be completely computer savvy to use this product.

Cons

Hard to get around, I feel like I'm clicking all over the place.

My organization really dislikes the forums and we need to reset settings, but we'd have to go through 600+ users to reset each setting individually due to an error during set up. The forums seem to be either too difficult for users or somehow not engaging enough for them. I think my organization is looking for a platform like Facebook, so communication between members is easier.

Poor chat service.

Classifieds are not easy to use.

Formatting issues often happen and s

Alternatives Considered

StarChapter and Wild Apricot

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

BigTent was no longer available.

Reasons for Switching to ClubExpress

Lots of functions and the forum seemed like it was going to be great for our organization. But turns out it has been difficult for some users and admins and we have lost a lot of membership due to the lack of conversation and engagement with the website.
John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible and capable package that has improved society admin and is popular with members

Reviewed on 1/31/2020

It is providing our club with a lot of useful communication and administration features, and has been well received by the membership.

Pros

Plenty of flexibility in how it can be set up. A cloud-hosted solution at a reasonable price, backed by a responsive support team.

Cons

The various content editors have their quirks, and there are still some inconsistencies between different modules.

Alternatives Considered

Wild Apricot

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Lack of ongoing support and development, including for GDPR (European data protection) compliance.
Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Don't look any further

Reviewed on 1/17/2020

Seven years ago I was on the team to find and implement website software for our growing club. We searched for a year but when we found Club Express and worked with them and the demo software we were all convinced that for our purposes this was the best solution that we had seen. We have been using the software now for 6 years and have no desire to look elsewhere.

From day one their software support team help desk has been the best I have ever worked with in my 35 years of messing with computers. They respond quickly, speak English and when we are having a difficult time implementing something they will often do the coding for us at no extra charge. Early on we had a very complicated event/registration we wanted to get on the calendar. I told the support person what we wanted/needed and he did it for us. We have copied and modified that event several times since with little difficulty.

Pros

I love that it is WYSIWYG. What you see is what you get. I don't have to know HTML or any other programming language. I love that it is user-friendly. I love that I can delegate certain pages and/or functions to other folks and they can't mess in areas that they don't belong. I love the unlimited space available at no extra charge. I love the modularity. There is a module for almost anything a club would ever want to do. I love the clear and extensive documentation that is always up to date. I love that there are constant improvements and additional functionality being added. There are many more things to love but most of all I love the stellar support via email and/or phone.

Cons

I don't like that there is no way to download more than one photo at a time. Multi-photo uploads are supported but not downloads. I don't like that photo searches bring up multiple instances of the same photo and only returns 100 photos instead of all that meet the criteria. There needs to be better ways to manage photos. Maybe an interface like Windows Explorer.f

The survey module needs to do better reporting of results. Maybe something similar to what Survey Monkey does.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Comprehensive Cloud Based System for organizing, managing and growing membership based...

Reviewed on 1/21/2020

1. Public and Private (member login required) website. Implemented within 30 days.
2. Membership database implemented in three days. 200+ member records bulk-load by Club Express in one day.
3. Sons in Retirement (SIR) is an interest (activities for men in their retirement years) based organization. The ClubExpress platform provides for creation and management of categorized interest groups of activities managed by designated member coordinators. Members may join or leave individual activities at any time.
4. Financial management of member dues payments and organization event registration and fee payments via an event calendar.
5. Availability of version and a mobile app

Pros

Comprehensive integrated cloud based software for a custom public/private website, member database management, club and activities organization, communications, financial management with access to on-line, telephone, user manuals and webinar customer support. The total monthly cost is based on the number of active members with no long term contract commitment. A 30 day trial period was provided which allowed ample time to review, learn and use the basic functions including configuring our initial website.

Cons

The Club Express platform is technically and functionally comprehensive. Our organization chose to implement the system ourselves rather than purchase and engage Club Express support. As a result many volunteer hours of effort from club members were required. A new function, text messaging, comes at extra cost which appears to our members as not justified. The News article function is good for brief, one page or less, articles. However, our organization monthly newsletter icurrently includes eight pages and is emailed in pdf format to most members, printed and post mailed to a few members. We must resort to using Microsoft Publisher and uploading the pdfs to a ClubExpress document folder, creating a custom page with links to the newsletter documents making the newsletter available on our website.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete Club Management Platform

Reviewed on 1/21/2020

This has been extremely well received by our members and we noticed a huge uptick in applications for membership at our gun club. The ease of use of the platform makes it simple and easy to update and provide as much information as we can to members and the public alike to increase interest and participation in our Club activities.
Members are still complimenting our website committee and with online renewals the administrative savings are immense. Online renewals were going to be a make or break with our Club and ClubExpress and they exceeded on all ends. I set up the renewals incorrectly and one phone call and ClubExpress was able to fix my mistake. Members were shocked how easy renewals are while still being through: we can display our range rules and members have to sign off on them before renewing. Finally, we've seen an uptick in our optional raffle ticket purchases for our annual gun raffle. Members were able to easily add on their purchases and since the funds go into different "accounts" in ClubExpress' log, we can easily separate membership dues from raffle ticket purchases.

Pros

The front end for website creation is simple and easy to use, but the system is extremely robust in the back end (administrative systems). Right now we are going through renewals and nearly everyone was shocked by how simple it is to navigate.

It's hard to list just one: they really thought of everything and keep updating and adding more features to their platform.

The system is extremely through. Finally the two times were I had issues, ClubExpress has answered the call and had the problems solved extremely fast; they know their stuff and and fix problems quickly.

Cons

Knowing what we know now, the original set-up costs were higher than we needed to purchase. However, knowing what we know now, we would have definitely chosen ClubExpress again; we see no reason to change from ClubExpress anytime soon.

Dick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RinMyVillage

Reviewed on 6/29/2022

Is essential to our operation and we could not operate without it.

Pros

This software is absolutely essential for our organization. Without it we would not be able to coordinate the efforts of volunteers and would have to have paid staff. That would add hundreds of dollars to the nominal cost we now charge our elderly members who receive services. I've been able to operate as an online organization without a physical office for the last dozen years. This means that volunteers can work from their homes coordinating services and finding volunteers for members. The software handles all of our renewals even sending out snail mail letters to members who do not use computers when they need to renew. Our website is completely generated using the club Express software.

Cons

There are no major features that we can think of that are missing. That's not a coincidence over the last dozen years club Express as responded by adding those features we think we need sometimes involving major development effort. Only mind tweaks to increase efficiency are needed from time to time.

Kary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good product for a Ski Cloub

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

As an admin and one of the founding people at getting Club Express into the club, I have been on the front lines with this product since day 1. It has been an evolutionary process and you need strong IT people to set this up correctly. The product is not the most intuitive, and the user interface could be much simpler, but once people are trained in how to use the software, most adapt reasonably quickly. Older members have the most problems and it is typically with the payment and sign up for events process.

Pros

It put our 400 person ski and sports club online for the first time. It is reasonably easy to use once people get trained on the product. The company has good tech support which is available online or on the phone without a long wait period. They are very responsive and have adopted some of our requests for improvement.

Cons

The payment scheduling is not functional for us. We need each member to be able to know exactly how much is owed on a particular trip or event and to have the amount correct in the box when they go to pay. Right now there is a "pencil icon" that must be changed to the correct amount. This is particularly troublesome for trips with multiple payments as not all members sign up at the same time. Repeated attempts to get this to change have been unsuccessful. It is the main issue that keeps me from giving 5 stars to the product.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

State Geocaching Organization

Reviewed on 1/21/2020

ClubExpress definitely has a learning curve, but it is a powerful and mostly straight forward service tailored around clubs and organizations like ours. The people behind the organization are absolutely excellent to deal with. If I get stumped, customer support is always ready, willing and able to help and almost always comes up with a good solution. They have fixed my errors on more than one occasion. I can't say enough good about them. I have recommended ClubExpress to a few other organizations similar to ours and will continue to do so. My scores on this survey only reflect that the product is not perfect. Close, but not quite.

Pros

The product offers multiple ways to accomplish the same or similar tasks, from fairly simple to very complex. After a learning curve for someone not familiar with web development, I find it well thought out and pretty well implemented. I have yet to find something that I really need to do that I can't find a way to do it. There are plenty of features this product has that I have not explored, but it keeps me coming back to see what else it can do.

Cons

I think the editors for various functions could use a little work. The editing screen gets a little tongue tied at times and the cursor has a mind of its own. Exiting the current session and starting back up always seems to fix the problem.

Chemene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The customer support alone is well worth the investment

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

It's been great. Members are using our system more. We are disseminating more info through our members only portal and having coordinators for different features have helped spread the work around more efficiently.

Pros

I liked the fact that as we were converting from another platform without support how accomodating CE was. As I was building our site from the ground up without much experience in website building, they stopped in whenever I hit a roadblock and I didn't incur fees other that out monthly fees. Over the, CE has continued to respond to issues we encountered and address them quickly and communicate often with progress or alternate solution to solve our problems. We are a volunteer organization which often requires the time of a regular paid position and CE has made it easy to support our members and provide a much needed member management solution that we did not have previously.

Cons

There are a few features that I would like to see implemented but nothing that are deal breakers for us.bi would like to see more opportunities to export data and filter it other than in the canned reports but overall it works for us.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid product - Okay development from ClubExpress

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

The final product is fantastic from our point of view. We have a much better web presence that communicates with our members, potential members, and the general community in ways that are clear, appealing, and functional. Getting to this point required a lot more time and effort on our part than we anticipated due in part to decisions we made as an organization, but also due in part to communication problems with CE. To be fair, when we brought those communication issues to light, CE was responsive within short order, but the process still required much more effort on our part than we had been told would be the case and more even than we anticipated. That said, if we had it to do over again, we would still make the switch to CE, but we might choose a different, less expensive implementation option than we chose the first go around.

Pros

* Contains all the features of our "must have list
* Has most of the features of our "wish list"
* Reliable service
* Little to no downtime
* Regular communication about issues with product features

Cons

* Software is fantastic but implementation team from CE struggled at times with communication
* Sales and service seem to have a communication issue resulting in over-promising what can be delivered within a given time frame
* Some elements are a bit clunky or cumbersome for our specific implementation

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid software for managing our Club

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

Pros

We are a cruise club and our main purpose is to host cruises for our members. With Club Express my members can easily sign up for a cruise, pay for the cruise online, and even see which other members will be joining them. I can track attendance which enables me to recognize those who are active with the Club. I can advertise the Cruises with photo albums and emails. Member photos allow our members to get to know each other a little easier. We need to notify the marinas who will be attending a Cruise. Club Express wrote me a report whereby my Fleet Captain can instantly print a PDF "Cruise Roster" to send to the appropriate marina.
We also host a number of social gatherings . For our Christmas party I was able to create a dinner menu that each member chose from. With this report I was able to easily plan for quantities. There's a lot to like with Club Express and in my opinion the pros outweigh the cons.

Cons

Club Express wasn't designed for MY Club but for ALL Clubs. The system is somewhat non-intuitive and it took quite a bit longer than I expected to setup. Since my Club is somewhat unique I often have to find workarounds for situations where I could, if allowed, write a bit of code to personalize the software for the Searayders. There's some system 'quirks' that require me to provide additional training for my members i.e., the 'primary' member must pay the dues even though our Club doesn't really have primary members or secondary members.

Frederick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent choice for migration from older website programs

Reviewed on 1/18/2020

We are using this software to manage a surgical society that has been in existence since 1949. We transitioned to the internet (website) 10 years ago. ClubExpress has allowed us to integrate our meeting management and greatly improve bookkeeping for dues collection.

Pros

This program was recommended by a use in another professional society. For 10 years I was the webmaster for this Society's website using Microsoft Expressions. Though the software worked well, the manipulation of images, text and pages was tedious. Using the old site as a template, I was able to migrate and improve the information in the new system. I especially liked the functionality of assigning (limiting) roles to others without compromising security of site. The integration with PayPal was seamless. Behind the scenes I have been using this system as an archive of information allowing our organization to go "paperless."

Cons

On occasion navigation of the administrative pages is tedious. Some of the prepared reports associated with meetings are odd in format. However, the ability to choose the output is very useful. I would like to have an easier approach when building table. In some cases, the built in vocabulary is not applicable. For this organization the term "donation" is problematic for industry support. I would like to see a synonym table for some of the financial terms.

Kim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Club Express is a website content management system and Club Management

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

Great Support , easy to use, new features constantly added for free, and it does have a few fee based additional items if you need them. Also Quick-books integration for only $100 one time fee.
Solid product 99.995% up time.

Pros

Club Express is a website content management system and Club Management in one package, very granular settings to allow different parts of our Yacht Club users to manage to aspect that applies to them, cutting down on the need for a webmaster/administrator. Does member management, Email blasts( easier than mail chimp) Group members by committee , function etc. Good event Calendar with signup, including paid events. And has good web design features/intial setup support. and support in general is outstanding. they also have a mobile app available.

Cons

I wish that the event calendar could be linked at a google calendar, you can click a button that says add to my calendar, but it doesn't allow the whole event calendar to be shown as a google calendar.
And it does cost money every month, but for what you get it is a reasonable fee.

Jack
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great system for our club

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

The system makes it easy to maintain and control our membership information and makes the renewal process and collection of dues extremely easy. The ability to schedule and maintain events is also very easy and useful. The availability of blogs and photo albums is also very useful.

Pros

The system provides a wide range of capabilities. Pretty much all of our needs have been met by the standard system and it offers many services that we don't use or need. The few special capabilities that we desired we provided as a custom service at a very reasonable cost.

Cons

Since the users in the volunteer positions often change frequently there is sometimes a problem with the learning curve. The system provides so many functions that our volunteers sometimes have problems devoting the time necessary to adequately learn the capabilities of the system.

Howard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top Notch

Reviewed on 1/21/2020

We have a reliable, easy-to-use web solution that has a distributed workload model. The webmaster might make a custom page with code, but the majority of work is done by non-technical members who don't have to wait for a coder to make things happen.

Pros

Ready to go. Made for clubs. The best feature is that it's not technical for club members to handle their areas. The social director (non technical) can make events on the website. The membership director can adjust member data. No training needed. So productive out of the box.

Cons

There are no "like least". I evaluated 5 major website offerings and I recommended this to our club. (sailingclub).

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Creating value for our club using Club Express

Reviewed on 1/16/2020

We like the constant activities to improve and expand the website, even if the additions are not relevant to our club...we like the training videos....we like the personal tech support when we need it.

Pros

The basic modules that most clubs use and need are structured for quick set-up and modification. Also, once you become acquainted with the software, it is intuitively useable, and all functions use the same methodology. It is quite adaptive to a clubs function and modifying as needs change.

Cons

There are a few too many steps that can cause frustration...especially when filling out a form and saving it. Also, you must realize there can be a time lag between adding something new (like an article) and its appearance. This can cause new users to make multiple entries because they thought their prior entry was not accepted. Also, it is somewhat too complicated for new members to establish their profile.
Importantly, two communications tools are significant to our newer and younger members (or potential members)...texting and Social Media. We rejected the texting module as not functionally valuable to our needs...and we are just integrating the Social Media sharing, so we will learn the extent of its value to our club.