60 reviews
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4
88% recommended this app
60 reviews
Garth S.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Things to be aware of for new users

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020-07-16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience has been fantastic! I am beginning to get reporting at a detailed level that I've never had, I enjoy the audit trails and Audit oversights

Pros

Super powerful package. We have a Procurement module, SIM (Supplier Information management), Sourcing, AI. This is an extremely powerful and well-orchestrated product. We had a very knowledgeable implementation team from Coupa which to really great job discovering on identifying what we needed due for the setup. We've been using this product now for about 4 months and now implementing a second affiliate company without much assistance from Coupa and it's going pretty well.

Cons

Beware that systems integration is much more complex than anyone tells you it is. Its been four months since go-live, And we are still having problems with integrating to oracle. Some may read this review think that this is a problem with the implementer, some of it may be. Specifically, we are struggling with the supplier integration and though we have weekly calls, we are still having problems. So just wanted to be aware we were made to believe that Integrating was done all the time and has never been a problem

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Shivam A.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Good Tool to Manage Purchase Orders

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-02-13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been good. The vendor receives the purchase order once approved via email. Once the service has been received attaching the invoice and the closure procedure is easy as well.

Pros

I have been using Coupa for 2+ years. Mainly use it to create Purchase Orders to vendors. Receive invoices from suppliers. The software has an inbuilt approval process to route Purchase Orders, vendor master service agreements. The software can be synced with Microsoft office which allows you to get notifications when a request is new your queue or the Purchase Order has been approved or denied. It also allows you to run queries to tabulate budgetary expenses and track historical expenditure. Creating a Purchase Requisition is fairly easy and straightforward.

Cons

Coupa is very useful and easy to navigate but requires training to become proficient in the application. Suggestion is to create job aids/ training procedures which can be used as a reference guideline whenever needed specially for personnel not using the application too often.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

David J.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Coupa is the worst software I have ever used

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-10-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Absolutely nothing. The software is the least institutive, user friendly I have ever used.

Cons

Regardless of whether I am using expenses, requisitions or invoices, I have never been able to submit or save anything without having to get the finance team to perform magic in the background. The end user typically gets an error message "Please fix the errors below", but there are never any highlighted fields or errors displayed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Lynne F.

Coupa's e-Procurement Solution Helps Students in Need

Reviewed on 2009-07-21
Review Source: Capterra

I highly recommend Coupa as an e-Procurement solution. Once you get the hang of it, it's really quite easy. And, once you do, your organization's work flow will be enhanced forever.

The most amazing part is to be able to take immediate advantage of Coupa's incredible new features, such as iRequest. Coupa is not a static company, and they are constantly updating features.

Coupa's team provides personalized service and lots of 'hand-holding'. They listen well to our needs. And, our students in need in the Washington, D.C. area are better served as a result

Coupa has helped transformed us into a 21st century organization with streamlined operations that enable us to stretch our donor dollars and help more students in need.

Pros

Neediest Kids is a nonprofit organization that works with 8 area school systems in the Greater Washington, D.C. area. We provide emergency funds to these school systems to purchase the basics - new clothes, school supplies, medical or dental care, eye exams and glasses, and more - so students (K-12) can stay in school and thrive.

Coupa's system has moved Neediest Kids from a traditional paper-based system of authorizations and receipts with school professionals spending their own time to shop for items for their students in need. We operate now through a web-based process of issuing POs that go directly to vendors with products shipped directly to school professionals. Thus, we have efficient purchasing, streamlined requests to vendors, real-time product and budget tracking, invoice reconciliation, and more.

It's fast...it's internet fast!

Cons

There are always a few tweaks that could happen here and there, but we get 95% of what we need!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software

End user's love but application team might face hurdles

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-06-05
Review Source: Capterra

Effectively reduces cost, better operational efficiencies and better end user experience

Pros

The tool is meant to give a very good experience to end users. All the out of box functions are designed with high quality UI standards which will reduce the learning curve for end users. IT team don't have to spend hours to explain the features and functions as the terminologies and configurations are quite intuitive. Finally so much comes out of box if planned well and ahead of time a lot of customization requirement can be avoided. The T&E module is really liked by a lot of top tier business users.

Cons

The integration capability is not up to the mark. When it comes to customize a lot of road blocks can be faced but it seems the Product team is actively looking in to some of them and with every release they are making some advancement in this direction. There are some weird limitation on few types of reporting capabilities which I think should be there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joshua V.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Review of Coupa Procurement

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-04-14
Review Source: Capterra

I've used Coupa for close to 5 years now. While the product provides a good value to it's primary functionality, the product lacks a level of polish to it. The navigation and processes to do specific steps feel clunky and not very smooth. I've looked for things only to ask Accounting where something is at because I simply can't find what I'm looking for.
While overall an ok to good piece of software there are pieces of it that make it time consuming to use and because of that I only use it when I absolutely have to.

Pros

Pros of Coupa:

- Allows process and systems to work through large purchases
- Helps better keep track of the purchases needed for the company (whether they be large or small)
- Ties the purchases to a PO for Accounting and Finance teams to keep track of.

Cons

Cons of Coupa:
- The usability of the product isn't polished. You can't find a submitted request easily to see who has the next step in the approval process
- It's difficult to search for created items in Coupa
- You end up searching for large amounts of time to do things in the product you need to complete but are not quite sure where those things you need to do are at.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-02-04
Review Source: Capterra

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want.
billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue.
it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tawanda S.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Supply chain solution that actually works

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-08-06
Review Source: Capterra

It has been a refreshing experience considering we were moving from a manual system. Procurement process has never been any simpler. I like that I can place my requisitions anytime and from anywhere! That I can track the approval flow is also a plus for Coupa

Pros

Its flexible and has great availability
Took lesser time to understand and get to using
Mobile support is a good thing
Customer support is great

Cons

I cant seem to be able to edit items from a copied requistion when its a product already in the system catalog; thats a no brainier really

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer

The best expense coding system we've ever had!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-07-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is easy to learn and use! The process for updating and communicating about various transactions is so much simpler than it used to be. It's saved us time by keeping communication between our users and approvers streamlined. The fact that I can just hit "reply" to an email asking me to adjust some coding on a receipt has kept me from digging around in my company directory, figuring out who to call with a question, and getting redirected often. So much faster.

Cons

It can be a little slow to load and the mobile version has often had issues uploading receipt images or giving me access to all the coding breakdowns I need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ciedelle E.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Coupa makes business purchasing easy

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-03-17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am satisfied with how coupa is used for B2B purchases and how most vendors is easily found when issuing the PO.

Pros

I like how helpful the global search is and how integrated it is with specific punchout, also how easy it is to track and receive orders.

Cons

Copying an order should allow punchout specific items to be automatically added to the requisition.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sean B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Coupa Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-12-02
Review Source: Capterra

Great software for the end user and supplies but not for the admins.

Pros

It is very easy for the end user and supplier to submit invoices. Suppliers are able to track the invoice process and payments. Helps reduce the time spent communicating with suppliers.

Cons

Making changes are not easy. Adding custom fields and changing approval chains have not been easy to adjust.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Bolt-On to NetSuite

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-05-07
Review Source: Capterra

Our business added it as a bolt-on to NetSuite, and a large selling point was the Sourcing package. Even though we cannot use the Sourcing module as it is, it has benefits of keeping the invoices and POs tied together and integrates well with NetSuite

Pros

The mobile app is very convenient for our PMs in the field that need to review and approve POs and invoices remotely

Cons

the Sourcing module is far to restrictive and cumbersome - it makes it harder for our vendors to submit quotes and there is now way for them to add options/alternatives to what we have asked them to quote

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Nicholas C.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Coupa Expenses makes paper receipts obsolete

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-12-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

So often employees loose paper receipts and just give estimates of their expenses. This creates difficulties for the accounting department that needs to track these expenses and their related taxes accurately. Coupa Expenses allows your employees to take pictures of these expenses as they are incurred so they cannot be lost of forgotten. All of this is delivered with an easy to use Android or Iphone app as well as a full featured web client.

Cons

It sometimes gets tedious filling out the same options on every single expense, these should be caches so they do not need to be selected each time. The web client interface is sometimes a little clumsy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Siva K.

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-01-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Positive experience with processing expenses

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017-12-06
Review Source: Capterra

The software allowed for some additional options in our expense reporting policy and for a reduction in training costs

Pros

The software is easy to use and very intuitive. There is minimal training needed and fields are very clear. The computer based login ties into the mobile receipt capture with no issues and corporate card transactions prepopulate expense reports.

Cons

There is no way to decline an individual piece of the expense report. The expectation for the user to understand the full reimbursement policy of the company may be to high. There is no built in calculation to reduce a reimbursement by type selected.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jessie W.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great for Accounts Payable Team

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-11-27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This piece of software has streamlined so many of our organizations processes. It connects with personal purchasing cards as well as invoicing for vendors.

Cons

I wish this software had the ability to allow property managers to see their vendors invoices on a regular basis without having to pay extra for a user license.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dawn A.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Coupa Accounting and Expense (implementation)

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-05-21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We have used Coupa Accounting for a number of years, and just purchased Coupa Expense. Really excited about:
- Mileage capture (save a lot of time)
- Receipt parsing (e.g. we don't have to type in expenses--line items pulled from the receipt)
- Mobile submission of expenses
- Embedding tutorial videos for new users directly into the interface
- Level of partnership and support to implement successfully

Cons

Too soon to tell, as we have not yet gone live. Based on our previous experience with Coupa AP and our current experience thus far, I have high expectations for the project.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jessica L.

Does what it needs to

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-03-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

That i can use the punchouts to directly order rom stores that link to it. It makes it way easier and takes away other steps for me

Cons

It's hard to search, right now i can't search to find items i have approved other than the administrator.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Marsha L.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 201-500 Employees

We should have done this years ago!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016-11-18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our company was stuck in an antiquated paper-based system of tracking indirect spend. Originally it was fine, as managers were able to keep up with their approving responsibilities. As time went on and the company grew, managers backed off of this responsibility and invoices were coming in without any purchase orders, let alone signed ones. Time for a change. I researched many indirect spend, procure-to-pay software systems until we decided on Coupa. We are very happy with the program. Not only does it put the responsibilities back on the requestors and the approvers, we have opened up more time for our Accounts Payable Clerk to handle other meaningful tasks.

Pros

Ease of use; supplier portal

Cons

Currently the phone application does not allow a user to create a requisition

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paul W.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

This product is very valuable to a large organization and specifically the accounting teams of that org. Implementation can be difficult but ultimately Coupa Expense platform is highly configurable to an orgs needs.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-09-03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

1. Can be configured in almost any way a business needs. 2. Approval chains can be as simple or complex as you need them. 3. Administration can be managed by accounting team. 4. Integration with Google maps for mileage records. 5. Super easy for users to adopt

Cons

1. Implementation can be painful depending on which route you go. Coupa may direct you to a third party they partner with and you may be stuck we super strict deadlines and change orders if you aren't able to stick to them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lesha L.

Coupa is so easy to use and helps keep budgets in line, especially with approvals in place.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-03-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Coupa is easy to navigate and to understand. I can easily request payment be made for something, upload the invoice, IDT (Internal Department Transfer) specific items that our department needs, the list goes on and we have it setup with the vendors that we use to go directly to their page and once we've selected the items we would like to purchase it will send the checkout back to Coupa for approval and purchasing!

Cons

Honestly, I don't have anything bad to say about Coupa. There was only one one time that we couldn't figure out why a PO# wasn't reflecting right and we kept getting emails about a PO# that was denied but it wasn't. Maybe a weird glitch once?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

John O.

Modern portal with some caveats

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-01-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Modern look and feel. Constantly updating the product. Lots of functionality related to end-to-end procurement. Some promising features in the upcoming road map.

Cons

Rigid rules and hierarchy structure. No conditional logic support. Vendor overpromises, underdelivers. Universal search bar is terrible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-04-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Shetal D.

simple and user friendly expense management software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

mobile app, automatic mileage calculations, streamlined approvals, inbuilt analytics

Pros

Coupa makes reimbersement of employee expenses a breeze. Credit card Transactions can be automatically loaded.Coupa expenses Mobile app comes with voice capture capability. The expenses approval workflows are streamlined. Expenses policies can be changed easily. Based on the expenses history and other industry data, coupa flags each expense on a frugal meter thus encouraging employee to spend less.

Cons

Coupa needs to be integrated with ERP for accounting and payments. Sometimes this is a pain as there can be integration issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Most modern platform with some downfalls

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-02-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Modern and simple platform that blows most competition out of the water. Frequent releases and a good portal for customer suggestions and knowledge forums. Handles complex workflows and hierarchies relatively well.

Cons

Their "super" search bar is terrible. Like, the worst search bar I've ever used. No matter how well we tagged items, it would never find them. It was basically useless. Thankfully our users primarily use punch-out catalog. They also don't support IF/THEN statements in much of the platform. That makes certain workflows impossible or extremely tedious.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support