151 reviews

SAP BusinessObjects

Self-service business intelligence (BI) platform

4.2 /5 (151 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.9
85% recommended this app
151 reviews
Cheryl H.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Good product, but poor support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-04-04
Review Source: Capterra

The applications is good and very flexible. But there is a very complicated licencing system, much like that of Oracle. Be sure that you get proper advice from SAP of your SAP Partner.

Pros

Business Objects has many capabilities, for me, the ease of publication of reports is the most important.

Cons

SAP is a large company, if you work for a relatively small company (700 people), then you have to go through a partner. The quality of these partners varies.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Great tool for report automization, analysis and calculation

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-03-02
Review Source: Capterra

It's a very powerful tool to download data, however, requires some trainings for users.

Pros

It's intergrated in Microsoft Excel, so I can use all function of Excel on the data download by SAP Business Object.
Normally we have to go to the web version of the reporting tool and download report one by one, but with SAP business Object (Analysis Office), we can insert the data source one time, format it, do calculation with it (using all other Excel function). The next time when you need to update the data. Just simply refresh data source in your formatted file. All data are refreshed while your calculation/format are still there.
You can even write Excel VBA to load data with Analysis Office. It saves you a lot of time to download all reports based on different filter criterion.

Cons

First, it takes time to load if the data is too bid
Second, there is a limit (55 000 lines) on Excel. You can, of course, change the limit, but not everybody knows how to do it (or allowed to do it)
Thirdly, the prompts are not so well-designed and user-friendly. I normally have to scroll down a lot to find the filter. (imagine you have 10 different sheet, scrolling down will take long time).
Fourthly, VBA and Analysis Office are quite complicated to use and the trouble-shooting is quite annoying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dhruv J.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sap business object overall review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016-10-18
Review Source: Capterra

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc.

In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool.

Sap business object is platform independent and robust.

Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise reciepent.

Pros

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc.

In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool.

Sap business object is platform independent and robust.

Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise recipient.

Cons

Sap business object , for create the universe need knowldge of database and query and fundametals.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Romer R.

Satisfied but I can still see a lot of rooms for improvement of the products.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-02-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects is a wide collection of softwares that businesses can use to handle different functions such as reporting, business analytics, forecasting, etc.

Based on my experience, the softwares are easy to use with interactive graphical user interface. Also, with its point and click functionality, new users can easily familiarize with the system. In addition, the ability to customize the system for more advanced users is absolutely commendable. Few systems are flexible enough like SAP BusinessObjects. The integration of SQL Database Management makes it easier for more advanced users to customize the system according to the company's needs and demands.

Cons

Since the software is mostly Window-based, computers using other programming language might have some difficulty in using the system. The wide variety of functionality also makes it a little bit confusing with new users especially those with no knowledge of SQL syntax.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Robert S.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

I use Business Objects to write production reports and analysis

Reviewed on 2015-07-09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Its best feature, in my opinion, is the ease of building reports through its drag and drop interface. We have several data universes which we use to generate the reports. Business Objects makes it quite easy to manipulate the data fields and build professional looking reports.

Cons

My least favorite thing about this product would have to be the lack of download capability in more current versions of Excel. Currently, Business Objects only downloads in Excel 2007 format, which can sometimes complicate pulling millions of rows of data into one spreadsheet. Office 2010 and 2013 are capable of handling millions of rows of data, but B.O. cannot deliver it into those new formats.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great for Data and Reports

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-04-01
Review Source: Capterra

Apart from the Support Service, the Application has been very helpful for our Data Extraction and reports. No problems with the application so far.

Pros

SAP Business objects is great for storage, creation, and reports sharing. It allows us to use real time business data and prepare reports from real time data for making business major decisions.
Reports creation could be difficult for the beginners, since there is a long learning curve to master all it´s functionalities. But once you´re there, you realized how powerful this tool is.

Cons

SAP support service is not the best in my opinion. Long response times, and sometimes they don´t offer effective solutions to our problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Irv V.
Industry: Facilities Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Simple, fast, and powerful software that has been an amazing asset for my team

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017-08-15
Review Source: Capterra

The main benefit is a great UX interface that makes building queries easy, repeatable, and amazingly quick. The ability to run queries in the background as well as scheduled daily/weekly queries is a major selling point as well. You can act as your own data analyst for a small business without having to manually update your reports.

Pros

Much faster than manual queries and data pulls from our internal software
The ability to build off of a saved query expedites all future queries
Features including reoccurring queries and running queries in the background so it does not interfere with your current work

Cons

There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries, so there is some training involved
Some of the "result objects" do not pull data but that may be our data sources, not the program itself

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Navid U.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Best Enterprises Package

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016-10-23
Review Source: Capterra

SAP Business Objects is a complete package that suits a large enterprises. From designing to visualization and delivering real time reports.
This tool is always stands at top.

Pros

Easy to visualize raw data.
Efficient in scheduling
Reporting
Low maintenance
Worth for money

Cons

As other BI tools avaible in the market, this also lacks at some features and functionality

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brad M.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Non Profits

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-04-14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It's highly scalable and flexible. We use it to track participants in youth serving agencies. We use it to connect many databases together. It's the best tool we've found in almost 20 years.

Cons

The only drawback is not the software itself, but rather training. We use it in a fairly non-traditional way, but I struggle to find training that is appropriate for our needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Barbie S.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

versatile program

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-02-04
Review Source: Capterra

overall it has been a game changer for our company

Pros

Love how quick and easy it is to use this program . A lot of our major software programs are SAP based and very user friendly

Cons

sometimes the layout of things was a little confusing or too cluttered for my taste. i would probably change the layout

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Nice Way to Interface with Data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-07-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SAP Business Objects provides a nice way to interface with data, allowing both power and flexibility through its structure.

Cons

With each new version there seems to be some flaw that needs to be corrected or feature that should be added and at an enterprise level it becomes difficult to continuously deploy the updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Olayinka A.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

It is an excellent software. It allows many users to navigate through the databases easily

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-03-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It allows many users at the same time.
It can be easily used with different databases configuration.
Easy to learn and use.

Cons

inability to generate graphics such as graphs, charts, etc.
Sometimes slow depending on the nature of task.
Not for economically ok for individuals or small corporation

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rekha N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

SAP Business Objects

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-01-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best part of it is once the report is designed, we can schedule its time to run, and recipients and it is not restricted to the Organization which purchased.

It allows more than one lakh records at a single stretch.

It fetches live and latest data from Operational Data Source

We can create user defined functions

Cons

Migration from SAP BO to another reporting tool was very difficult. It can be more compatible and flexible. We cannot apply the filters using brackets.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alejandro F.
Industry: Computer Software

SAP BO is a Powerful Inteligent solution for your Business.

Reviewed on 2016-09-02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

SAP is one of the most acepeted BI tools in the market, its suite are design for all company sizes, so it can handle your organization grows, SAP BO allows to connect to a multiple data sources and connect to a different integration points like sharepoint, java, etc.

Cons

First of all, this toll is quite expensive, small and medium companies are not capable to spend a lot of money acquiring it and continue paying for supporting cost. Another think I dislike about SAP BO is it require a number of servers so this increment the amount of the spend.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chenyu H.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

We use it for creating internal purchase order

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-05-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We used SAP system quite often for purchasing lab items from supply store. And the supply store in University will ship the items basically within a day, so the system is quite efficient for ordering. Lab manager and account manager can also track the spending and let us know the status of the budget.

Cons

I don't have any problem using this system. We have been using this system for a long time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brian C.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Large scale, accurate and secure business intelligent at any level

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-01-11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Wonderful for a large healthcare setting. The product is scalable to the system, region, facility, and patient level, and the security features ensure that PMI is never inappropriately exposed.

Cons

It’s expensive. This product isn’t like Power BI or even SPSS in terms of buying an enterprise license or a few licenses for a hundred thousand and covering the organization. Be ready to pay for the features you’re getting with SAP.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Neelam P.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

It is a great software. Very useful and is customer friendly. Meets the need.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017-02-28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Modules can be designed as needed. Reports that extracted can meet the requirement and hence makes it more useful.

Cons

it is a little complex, specially while dealing with data management.
not flexible with data input methods or formats

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

A great product in it's time

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-12-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

BusinessObjects came up with a fantastic way to interact with data back in the day. The Universe concept is still a great way to translate the technical terms in the underlying systems into business language.

Cons

Sadly BusinessObjects innovation has slowed since the SAP acquisition and the product has been overtaken by the likes of Tableau and Qlik, who provide easier to use options that require a lot less time to get up and running.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Derek M.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

We use Business Objects to create reports for our ERP system and it creates reports that can be converted to excel spreadsheets for analysis

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-10-16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We are looking at other apps to use the SA P product

Pros

It is embedded into our application so users can get reports, create reports and view reports from within the app

Cons

A little more flexibility on creating new reports would be helpful for staff to meet the needs of the customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dipesh P.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

User Friendly but less features

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-05-10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

If you have experience working on SAP BI/BW, then you will find this tool easy to use in the first go. It creates charts based on DataSources like Infocubes.

Cons

Although, this is a very user friendly tool, it offers a limited range of chart types like Bar Chart, Column Chart, Pie Chart etc. As compared to other leading reporting tools in the market, this tool lacks in offering Global Map charts, Histogram etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Alicia M.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Industry Leader in BI is Perfect for Us

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-10-11
Review Source: Capterra

With SAP BusinessObjects, we find new insights in our donor data. Keeping track of relationships is crucial to our organization.

Pros

The universe makes connecting to our data super simple for myself as a business user. I cannot imagine trying to connect to all these databases without some level of advanced database knowledge.

Cons

The Lumira tool does not offer the features that competitive tools like Tableau offer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jose alejandro C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

SAP BO makes easier the reporter on the company

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-03-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It have been improved very much since i used it from version 3.1 to the last version 4.2, always creating new features and new integration with new tools, its very complete and fast, also can be good modeled from final user, make your own reports, customize it, and share it, its really works good, can be integrated with sap erp sap bw, sap bpc, it has many purposes.

Cons

SAP BO becomes a bit slow when its a high amount of data for processing, if you have to create a big data report, its heavy to create it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Harkiran K.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

SAP business objects

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-01-05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am using SAP business objects at my current position for report creation and adjacent data queries and for simple data dumps

Pros

It's easy to use, the cost is less as compared to tableau or other BI products in the market and customer care is good.

Cons

You need to maintain universe layer to talk to the database, it does not talk to databases directly. If you have to add a new field in the report from the database then you have to add that particular field in universe layer which is added headache.
If you have to create a report by using data from multiple data sources then you have to create detail variable, which is again a mess!!!
Also, visualization wise it is pathetic because I have checked tableau. Usually, I use excel to do my visualization and presentation because it's better than business objects
Also, you cannot use it for predictive analysis.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Aaron H.
Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

SAP BusinessObjects for Administrators

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-08-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The system is able to interface and pull data from a very wide variety of data sources once configured and setup. The reports that come out from the system are very customization and the end users seem able to learn to write them fairly easily.

Cons

The amount of updates and complications of installing, configuring and getting the servers up and running can be time consuming. Updates are also a very tedious process ... these are all normal with a software package this large. The most end-user complaint would be the size of the PDF files, they can be quite large depending on the contents of the reports, which can quickly fill up an inbox.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Naveen C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Managing Consultant

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016-10-07
Review Source: Capterra

SAP - Integrations and S4HANA for the past 15 years. Integrations for the past 12 years. Integrated SAP and NON-SAP with SAP proprietary solutions.

Pros

Integration with SAP. Easy of use. Seamless integration with SAP HANA

Cons

There is confusion about the different products under the BOBJ suite.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10