Tableau

4.5 (1,544)
Business intelligence & analytics

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(1,544)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

95%
recommended this app

1544 Software options

Jonathan O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to Use and Good Support

Reviewed on 2021-03-09

I build dashboards for executives. The executives typically need something very easy to use that provides high-level charts with the ability to drill down with clicks of a button.

Pros

Tableau is widely used and supported. There is plenty of documentation available to help users get started.

Cons

As a power user for a non-profit I find this software to be a bit cost-prohibitive. It would make sense in a business with the available finances. It is easy to use and quick to set up so I think a business would find it easy to justify this expense.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing Tableau

SSRS has limited interactive functionality and isn't as nice looking.

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Power BI would make sense with an organization-wide switch to the Office 365 system but at this time we mostly use self-hosted, self-managed software and haven't made that upgrade yet.
Shane M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau Recommendation

Reviewed on 2021-06-29

Tableau allows complex data to be simplified by visualizing it. We can take a complicated digital marketing budget daily task and implement it via Tableau user dashboards etc. This will then open possibilities to automating specific processes that are a part of the whole task.

Another point in my experience - we can totally use Tableau to create a dashboard that allows non-technical stakeholders to understand technical data via dashboards.

Pros

- Amazing data visualization capabilities
- Tableau can comfortably handle large amounts of data. A million rows of data can be visualized without affecting the overall performance of the dashboard
- Dashboards can be built interactively using the drag & drop function
- It runs effectively and efficiently across different devices &
-

Cons

- There seems to be no schedule or automatic refresh functionality
- There is no custom visual import option available
- Scaling may cause potential high costs if the organization is huge

Thomas R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A premium option at a premium price point

Reviewed on 2020-12-19

Overall Tableau is a great BI/Visualization tool where the only limitations are what your team can do with it. The platform itself has every bell and whistle you could want and provides a ton of customization for various use cases.
The challenge arises when moving to the logistical management of the platform, specifically around access, user education and price. While it might be great for individual organizations, our use case of deploying dashboards to hundreds of clients just isn’t what Tableau was built for.
If you have the right use case and team to support it, it’s a fantastic option. But if you’re lacking in those areas (or perhaps want a tool with more automatic BI/AI capabilities), there’s likely a better option for your organization.

Pros

There is a reason that Tableau is synonymous with data visualization tools to many people and organizations. It’s a premium product that can do pretty much whatever you want it to.
Tableau’s features are limitless and with the proper resources to maintain and deploy it, you’ll rarely identify capabilities that it doesn’t have. It is truly a BI tool that enables your team to overcome any obstacle they face.
I specifically enjoyed some of the advanced visualization capabilities of Tableau that more “basic” tools don’t offer. The time series visualizations are easy to configure and are always a crowd favorite. The ability to deploy on-premise or in the cloud means that organizations can configure to their preference.
All in all, it is an incredibly powerful tool that leaves very few stones unturned.

Cons

The three biggest drawbacks to our organization continuing with Tableau were ease of use, cost scalability and functional scalability.
Tableau is not the tool for organizations that lack technical resources. It’s not as “plug and play” as other options on the market and requires significant training of architects to fully take advantage of all its capabilities.
Tableau also isn’t the ideal solution if price is an obstacle in your organization. Frankly, it ain’t cheap. Depending on your desired level of investment and the number of users you’ll need, it can run the tab up quickly.
Additionally, user management in Tableau itself isn’t an issue, but deployment presents its challenges. Other options on the market are much easier to introduce users to (here’s your login, go to this URL and boom, you’re good to go) whereas Tableau requires more configuration. This is dependent on which Tableau version you utilize, but there are efforts involved in scaling the platform.

Alternatives Considered

Geckoboard

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Frankly, these two products couldn’t be more opposite. While Geckoboard is easy to configure and scale, it is INCREDIBLY limited in functionality and visualization options. They just aren’t even the same type of tool, though we considered both for scalable dashboard needs. We eventually moved to Grow as our permanent solution since it was a kind of middle ground between these two extremes.
Anthony R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau- Comprehensive Business Software with Advanced Reporting and Analysis Tools

Reviewed on 2020-02-21

Tableau has been a great asset for analyzing various reports and data sets. As a data analyst, I found it to be an invaluable tool for keeping my critical reports organized and easily accessible. I highly recommend Tableau as a business platform for both report designers and users as it provides unmatched flexibility in developing and using data sets in ways that will meet your complex business requirements.

Pros

Expansive functionality that allows the user to both manipulate and export data in a wide variety of formats. Export as an image, excel workbook, PDF file, Powerpoint or more. Multiple custom filter options that allow you to sort to the data that is most important to your needs. Easy to navigate through reports and convenient features such as adding favorites that will show up on your dashboard. Clean and professional interface that helps with organization of projects. Sharing reports within your organization is simple and there are restriction features which will allow you to determine who has access to the data sets as you see fit. Software gives information on when data was last refreshed, if the report is in real-time, or when the data is scheduled to refresh again.

Cons

Inactivity will cause you to have to refresh the page and remove any applied filters which will require you to wait again for the filtered data to load. This can be a little frustrating especially when pulling very large data sets that take a long time to load before you can pull them and then forgetting to export the data before the page refreshes. However, this is a rare occurrence as the refresh time is pretty generous, at least a couple of hours in my experience. Nevertheless, something to note for improvement in future versions.

Tess B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Data Discovery

Reviewed on 2021-06-03

Overall its helped our business leaders to understand their data and make actionable insights.

Pros

Tableau is great for discovering interesting parts of our data. We use it to supplement Excel analysis and its super easy to use.

Cons

The dashboards can be a bit clunky sometimes for our end users as the UI is a little old fashioned. This is a minor thing but does make it a bit harder to use.

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics

Switched From

Mode
Mahesh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helps in Constructing complex analytical dashboards with different visualisation methods

Reviewed on 2021-05-09

With tableau There is no limit to the depth and complexity with which we can analyses the data, i meant to say it is so flexible, with good expertises we can build any type of dashboard

Pros

Tableau is a great tool for constructing complex analytical dashboards, any level of complexity is possible in this tool,

it can read input data from many sources, starting from plain file systems such as XL, CSV.. to complex databases such as snowflake, mysql..

We can join or write custom queries to build the source data,

to construct dashboard we go with dimension-metrics approach, hear we can write exuberant number of calculations and computations to create a calculated fields, and that in-turn can be used for dashboard creation,

the basic module is a worksheet and multiple worksheet can be put to gather to form a Dashboard,

here we can add any kind of advanced interactive filters for the dashboard which will filter the source data ,

we construct these on a desktop application and we have to push the to the server to host this dashboard,

the server tracks of the number of views , access control, refresh extract scheduling etc..

Cons

When we develop a complex & heavy dashboard with extract data enabled, then it takes lot of time to load on the tableau desktop, to pull it from the server some times it never opens, have to retry many times

and to push from the desktop to server also takes time, i think it pushes the local extracted datas along with the tableau files

Michael K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Tableau, powerful visualization tool.

Reviewed on 2020-02-23

Overall, I love the software. It always great ability to develop great, interactive, dashboards for the Directors of multiple divisions in our company.

Pros

The software is user friendly and easy to figure out by reading books (manuals) and watching tutorial videos.

Cons

The company's customer support is lacking. The statistical analysis part of the software is weak. It will get you by the minimum types of calculations.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

At the time, it seemed more user friendly. It involved some time to become comfortable with. HOWEVER, one is able to quickly grasp the necessary skills to get off to a fast start.
Jose L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most comprehensive tool to analyze multiple sources of information

Reviewed on 2018-01-09

A special mention should be made about their student policy. I started with the software because the company gave me a one year access while I was in school, and I brought the knowledge I acquired with it to my employers. It is a great way of promoting the software and giving students a great tool for their resume at the same time.

Pros

Tableau’s productivity suite allows you to connect it to all data sources we’re already using in a matter of minutes. This maximized our analysts' productivity, moving their tasks from the mostly mechanical to the analytical.
It is incredibly easy to use; it is intuitive even for non-savvy users, and doesn’t took time, programming knowledge, or expensive training for our team to get a grasp on it.
Its collaboration features facilitate group analytics, and at the same time ensure that all team members are on the same page. The best part about it is the devoted mobile app for different devices, which allowed our sales representatives to work from wherever they are.
Last, but not least, their tech support team is unmatched in service and follow-up.

Cons

Even with all the flexible options they provide, it's still a pricey solution. However, it is totally worth it

Shetal D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Self Service Business Intelligence tool

Reviewed on 2018-04-02

Pros

For Data Scientists and advanced users, Tableau is the most efficient and powerful. Tableau offers different kinds of data visualizations and connectors to load once data.
Tableau has 3 offerings. A free version with limited functionality. Then Tableau desktop and Tableau Online are available on subscription pricing model, which is way cheaper when compared to the traditional pricing.
Tableau is a mature and stable product with a wide user base. Tableau is widely used in most companies i have worked for.
Tableau introduced a new data engine called Hyper recently, which promises faster performance.
Overall Tableau is a great product with bright future. In our company we leveraged it well.

Cons

Tableau is for sophisticated users. It requires training to get the best out of it. In our company we hired an experience consultant, who trained us and worked with us, so that we learnt all kinks of the tool.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intelligent Data Visualization tool for actionable insights

Reviewed on 2021-07-28

Overall experience with Tableau was great, especially for the predictive analytics it provides for health and life sciences project. My project had data coming in from different sources and Tableau was able to integrate and talk through these system seamlessly.

Pros

Artificial intelligence for data visualization
Can connect with multiple data sources without much hassles
Ample room for customizations

Cons

Cost is high as compared to peers
the learning curve is more for new users

Alternatives Considered

TIBCO Spotfire
Stephen S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy, intuitive and quick data visualizations.

Reviewed on 2018-03-02

This has become a go-to reporting solution for our team.

Pros

Tableau is a very intuitive data visualization tool. We use both the desktop version, for report development, and Tableau server for publishing reports for our staff. The tool is very flexible when it comes to data connections - you can connect to almost anything. The interface is very clean and once you get the hang of dimensions and measures you will be on your way to becoming a data viz master. Tableau has come along way with their ability to join data sources. This has been a major area of improvement in the last release. Tableau has a huge online support community and the few times I have had to use their customer support it was exceptional.

Cons

There are times I wish you could do more statistical analysis in Tableau. They have some built in components for this, but in my opinion this is one of the weaker areas of the tool.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Turn your reports from spreadsheets to dynamic and interactive reports with Tableau

Reviewed on 2021-01-17

We use Tableau for our internal and well as client based reporting procedures. This is a tool which has been lacked on any of our requirement. Even in case of complex requirements from the leadership or our clients, this tool has always been stayed well in advance and always had the required features in place which are required. Therefore, my experience with this tool has been very fluent and stable so far and would definitely recommend it to new users.

Pros

1. Tons and tons of features are available in the tool which helps you incorporate any of your complex reporting strategies.
2. Export to any format is available, which is a very handy tool when it comes to distribution of your reports. You can export your Tableau dashboards into the well known PDFs and many more.
3. Built-in libraries help you perform complex mathematical calculations to produce your required data sets which you will be displaying in your dashboards.
4. Tableau also provides a very intuitive mobile application and server model which helps you host your dashboards on cloud servers which can be accessed anytime and anywhere.

Cons

1. Tool set is very complex, therefore a very good grasp of the tool is required so as to use and create reports/ dashboards from the tool.
2. UI of the Desktop application can be made more intuitive, smooth and well places. At times I feel that the placement of items in the UI is not synchronized which deteriorates the user experience.

Abhishek B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Tool for Automating Visual Reports for your Enterprise

Reviewed on 2019-03-19

Tableau offers comprehensive Business Intelligence and Data Visualization features that most organizations will find sufficient for their use. The somewhat steep learning curve is eased by the availability of good-quality online resources. The compatibility with various devices and Operating Systems makes the software even more compelling.

Pros

Tableau allows you to visualize your data, whether simple or complex, in nearly limitless ways. Although the software taks some getting used to, once you have a hang of the bassic features, you can set about automating most of the routine reporting for your enterprise easily. Also it is a breezeto share your data and the visualizations are rendered faithfully on to diparate devices and different platforma like iOS, Android,Windows etc.

Cons

Uploading data from certain data sources can sometimes get very, very slow. Also, the software is not the simplest to use and the "Help " section for most topics offers precious little. However, this minor problem is easliy sorted due to the vast, high-quality user-created content and tutorials available online.

Ryan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very easy to learn, but a surprisingly high ceiling for more technical users

Reviewed on 2019-06-03

Pros

1) Easy to use (i.e. you can do a lot without knowing SQL), making it very easy find qualified people to do Tableau-related work.
2) Much more "click & drag"-able than Excel; even box & whisker plots are a one-click addition to a scatterplot (versus very very tedious to create in Excel)
3) Flexibility in syncing to real-time datasets OR extracts enables you to work with whatever datasets/format you have, while providing end-users with realtime data whenever possible.

Cons

1) Can't link datasets from different sources (e.g. manual Excel sheet with something synced to server)
2) Limit on # of fields you can add to a table before they get truncated.
3) It's pretty difficult to tweak the size of individual "sheets" on a dashboard & ensure they're all the same size without spending forever dragging borders around with your mouse.

Neus M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Create your dashboard connecting from multiple sources

Reviewed on 2019-12-07

We create dashboards for different audiences and different formats.

Pros

Tableau is a good tool to create dashboards and reports in quick time and user-friendly way. The visualizations are smart and understadable. It allows you to divide your data into Metrics, Parameters and Dimensions. The 'Show Me' option will suggest you which visualization create taking into account the variables type that you would like to use.
Connecting to data sources like Redshift or Google Sheet is very easy. You can also join data coming from different data sources.
Publishing to Tableau Server is a smooth experience and is available from the Tableau Desktop menu.

Cons

Tableau Desktop is not the tool if you need to manipulate or transform your data previously. There's a separate tool to do this, it's called Tableau Prep.

I'm switching from another tool that had this feature integrated and I missed it so much at the beginning because it completely changes the way you work.

It takes time to perfectly fit all visualizations into a dashboard so it looks nice. You always need to use blank squares to make all fit well.

Amanda H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Tableau reporting is only as good as your report writer

Reviewed on 2019-06-06

Tableau is a powerful and engaging tool in the right hands. I recommend purchasing the trainings available to front-load any new users, and their web version for published reports is fantastic once you have your data selected and narrowed.

Pros

Tableau is phenomenal at taking complex data sets and making them understandable to a wide audience. Built-in functionalities are easy to navigate and the "how-to" links and articles are stellar.

Cons

The biggest issue we've had with Tableau is the steep learning curve that comes with access to data fields previously unavailable. Because we are now more empowered to generate our own reporting versus our advancement team, there have been a fair amount of misunderstandings on database basics and etiquette, like naming conventions. This is not the fault of Tableau in any way but has soured some users with its complexity of options.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visualize anything

Reviewed on 2019-10-29

Great, we have recently incorporated into Server, and that really let the data fly.

Pros

Easy to learn, but complex enough. Visualization is robust and sufficient. Nothing fancy, but thats what you need for a visualization tool, its not for art.

Cons

Some functionalities can be weird, but there are work arounds for that, and future updates addresses some issue soon.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best tools for reporting

Reviewed on 2019-01-08

Pros

Using Tableau, I am able to make aesthetically beautiful, well structured, easy to share and automated Reports - Thanks to the numerous features to build the dashboard, Integrate with a wide range of databases, pretty graphs, storyboard, actions options! A website like dashboard can be created with a lot of interaction and shareable format. With each version update, the features are improving, which is another great thing about this software

Cons

Nothing really, initial versions (2 years ago) had fewer features, but now it has everything one needs to create a great dashboard. However, Simple dashboards are easier to build, the more complex the dashboard idea gets, the harder it becomes to make and not many resources are available for the challenging issues - needs lots of experimentation.

Mithun G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Costly but Visually Appealing

Reviewed on 2021-06-24

I am satisfied with Tableau although the cost per license is a little on the higher side.

Pros

The features and functionalities of Tableau are quite advanced and the ease of preparation of the Dashboards helps a lot. The look and feel of the Dashboards are quite advanced and has a look of professionalism compared to other reporting tools. With the inclusion of Tableau Prep it becomes easy to get the data blended, prepared and reported in one single tool.

Cons

The building of data connections need to be enhanced to make it easy and less error prone. The tableau extracts need to have some sort of compression technique applied.

Leah J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerhouse Dashboarding and Data Analysis / Visualization Platform

Reviewed on 2018-12-19

I've used Tableau at mid and large-size companies for analyzing and visualizing data. Getting up to speed on its use and application took a few weeks, but I've been impressed with its functionality, reliability, and capability overall. It can put together good looking dashboards and PDF exports for client-facing purposes, and internally can be used to host read-only dashboards to gauge performance or insight.

Pros

Extensive learning resources are available, through the platform and with its community of users. Tableau is excellent for preparing reports, data analysis and visualization, and customizing dashboards. It can ingest a variety of data sources, like CSVs, XLSX files, and connect directly to SQL databases to query and present massive datasets. It is extensively functional, and it puts out pretty decent -looking reports in PDF format for clients or execs.

Cons

The limitations of Tableau are really more about the cleanliness and organization of the data sets with which you're working. If everything in the database is tidy, Tableau is excellent for importing and exploring datasets. It can sometimes freeze or crash, and refreshing data can take a long time when you're working with complex dashboards (like, 2-3 hours). The Public (Free) version of Tableau is great for learning, but everything you do in it is public (which is a smart way to get people to buy the paid version, while also incentivizing learning).

Keith S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tableau for Dashboarding

Reviewed on 2018-12-18

Pros

The functions are easy to create and implement into your dashboard.
The columns of your dataset are organized between categorical and numerical in a clear and concise manner.
You can upload your projects onto Tableau's website onto your viz profile.
The ease of creating formulas is due to their autocomplete feature.

Cons

There are some issues with the licensing features. Often the software after an update may require you to confirm your current license.
There are some aspects of the software that aren't straight-forward. For instance you need to make a special file in order to upload your dashboard onto their servers.
There isn't a clear way to use Tableau's webservice with data models created in a .py file making it difficult to view your dashboard without using Tableau's website.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Tableau provides a good visualization platform for users with user friendly functionalities

Reviewed on 2018-08-07

Pros

The overall customer support of tableau is really amazing. If one gets stuck in a functionality, there are plenty of resources to get a quick and easily implementable solutions for instance tableau communities on google as well as you tube videos. This software has brought a positive change in the field of data visualization and for taking quick business decisions.

Cons

Despite of having many visual solutions, the server space provided by tableau has very limited options and some data refresh issues. There are some usual bugs which need improvement. For instance, if one wants to see the tableau dashboards using different screen resolutions "its doesn't seem possible".
There is no automatic way by which it could detect the screen resolution of the system and adjust accordingly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool to analyze and visualize data

Reviewed on 2019-12-05

Only positive expirience, instead a design ETL to get and visualise data you can do it quickly by yourself using Tableau. Really helpfull to visualise data and create reports.

Pros

Easy to use. You don't need to know data source specific, only a business ER. Quickly join, merge and aggregate data from multiple data source, even they're from different types of data sources. Dynamically update a dimensions and measures. If you have a Tableau server, you can develop on your host and publish company wide with dynamic data update. Basic tools for data analysis and ability to create custom dashboards.

Cons

Needs to get quick intoduction or course how to use it. Without that it's impossible to use it naturally.
License a pretty costly, but worth it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best platform for data visualization

Reviewed on 2020-11-05

Tableau has been the most useful team when creating data tables and having takeaways from massive piles of data. The platform makes it easy to create so many types of charts and to edit the templates for client facing interfaces.

Pros

This platform is the best platform for visualizing data in multiple formats. Tableau can be used for wrap reports, mid campaign reports, finances, really whatever it is. It is also great that it can ingest data from platforms without having to manually upload- for example DCM.

Cons

Nothing to dislike, but it is a learning curve with using Tableau- both from the creator and the viewer side. The creator needs to learn how to make charts and play around with the various options which takes time, but is not that difficult.

Cailin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful Software for Data Insights

Reviewed on 2019-04-24

I think Tableau is extremely powerful and I'm very excited to see what data insights myself and my company will be able to gain from it. Right now our biggest hurdle is training and implementation but once we get going with that, I think it will be a very valuable tool for us.

Pros

Tableau has been able to cut hours from my monthly workload. Reports that used to require multiples downloads from different data sources and tons of time updating spreadsheet tabs are not available with the click of a button. I can spend less time pulling together my data and more time actually analyzing it.

Cons

The biggest hurdle that I've had with Tableau is the learning curve required to start being able to use it. It's not very intuitive for beginners and you can easily make mistakes without even knowing you're making them if you aren't careful. Thankfully, there is plenty of training provided by Tableau and other sources on the internet to assist with this.