Neon CRM

4.4 (491)
Nonprofit CRM Software with Fundraising & Membership Tools

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(491)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

491 Reviews

Mike
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

All 3 Things You Need it to Do - and More!

Reviewed on 8/23/2011

You want CRM software to do 3 things:
1. Safely store you data
2. Allow you to leverage your data
3. Allow you to interact with your organizations website

Most systems do the first 2 - they better (!), NEON does the third one too and better than any other product in the industry. My only hope is they don't get bought by Blackbaud.

I've done 15 or more conversions with many different product and have never been happier than with NEON. Feel free to drop me a line and I'll share more with you.

Pros

I won't comment on the other features NEON does that other systems do as well - or almost as well. Instead, I'll focus on the factors that set them apart from the other players on the market.

FORMS! - how can any org look past the ability to survey their constituents via email and then have the responses post to the database? e.g. How did you hear about us? a - k / What most interests you about our work? a.b.c. d. free form response / How would you like us to communicate with you? a - d

Events! NEON is the industry leader in allowing users to enter info via an org's website and into the database. I have one client using NEON that registers athletic event users via their website - all the way down to the waiver release form via a digital signature. All that info results in a paperless process that posts to their website on the back end.

Training - online video training is FREE - you won't get that with eTapestry or DonorPerfect.

Cons

The reports function features a URL for a particular report (dynamic too). This is is fantastic! But many board members and volunteers need to be reminded to access the url and it would be great if NEON would schedule the delivery of reports on an ongoing basis rather than the user having to schedule the delivery of the reports. A small thing, but one less thing the user has to think about doing.

Response from Z2 Systems

Thanks Mike! we appreciate your review! As for the ability to email reports out to board members, you can set up an account in NEON, create a recurring activity to have NEON email your board member with the dynamic report link on, for example, the first of the month every month.

And as for the comment about the BBaud buyout, no chance. :) We're in this for the long haul to create the best cloud based CRM for nonprofits and to ensure we offer it for less. Plus, NEON is built as an All-in-One platform that can house fundraising/donors, membership/members, events/registrants and track all of this in one system. Plus, our frontend connectivity to nonprofit's websites allows everything to funnel right into NEON automatically. Times are changing and there is no longer a need to spend so much for powerful software and IT staff to manage servers.

NEON, by Z2 systems, Inc., is here to stay and evolve with the technology needs of the Nonprofit industry. Count on it!

Stuart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Neon CRM is not for everyone

Reviewed on 4/27/2022

Overall my experience has not been great. In particular I have been extremely disappointed by the technical support or lack of support. We pay for telephone support but can never reach anyone or get anyone to return calls

Pros

The software has capacity to do many functions

Cons

NEON has it's own language and it the user experience is not very intuitive. We are a NON Profit that does not have full time employees. Our users struggle to find ways to do what should be the simple tasks

Alternatives Considered

Bloomfire

Reasons for Choosing Neon CRM

Donor Snap was not robust enough

Switched From

DonorSnap

Response from Neon One

Thank you for the feedback, Stuart! A big goal for our upcoming product development calendar is keeping all of the advanced features that users need while making daily use of Neon CRM simpler, especially for users like your team who need to be able to accomplish tasks without investing tons of time in learning to use the software.

Shauna
Overall rating
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Appears to have good functionality but the proof is in the details.

Reviewed on 11/26/2016

We chose this software because it appeared to be able to do everything we needed it to. However, when getting into it more fully we consistently run into obstacles.

Pros

Good database function, automated emails, customized reporting.

Cons

We utilize the event module extensively and find that the functionality is difficult. The WYSIWYG feature to build an event page is difficult, you can't build sub pages for an event, no ability to have event add-on items (register for the event and buy a shirt, etc). I've had to add them into the store function and then make all events appear in the store function so that the add-on items would appear in the shopping cart with the registration - but there is no ability to customize a store item (i.e. personalization). The registration function is very confusing to our constituents in that you have to provide all information for the registrant before making the registration/ticket selection. Then the only place to put the add-on/store items is in the event registration summary page. The social fundraising functions are not terribly user friendly and intuitive. When you want to do registration discounts you can either take $ off or % off of the entire order - not off each registration when more than 1 person is registered. When I have asked about these features it has been suggested that we use Eventbright for events. We left event bright when we purchased NEON because we could save the costs with the integrated functions in NEON. Eventbright doesn't do social fundraising so this looked like a better option. And finally - duplicate accounts are a problem - especially because pricing is based upon the number of accounts. Merging/deleting accounts is a time consuming process. And, you cannot simply two accounts that should be merged (because you know they should be) unless the system identifies them based upon duplicate name, email, etc. For example - if a person registered using her home email and address for one event and then the next time she registered as that person's name using her work email the system won't recognize them as potential duplicates - and you can't manually select them to merge. The login feature we thought was good but unless you have memberships it isn't great - folks just don't log back in the next time the visit the site - they just create a new account.

Response from N/A

Hi Shauna,

We’re sorry to hear about the difficulties you have experienced with functionality. We appreciate your feedback and take into account customer suggestions when considering product developments.

We will be reaching out directly to further discuss your duplicate management pains and to better understand your event registration items. There are deeper duplicate scans that can be useful, and we of course want to hear from you about how the event registration process might be simplified. In the last month, we've come out with an enhanced template feature for social fundraising for more customization and usability--we will also send you info on this.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and please know we are always striving to improve the system and its functionality to better serve nonprofits. It's feedback like yours that helps us to plan for our monthly product releases. We appreciate having Star Legacy Foundation as part of the Neon community. We truly understand the importance of your mission and want to ensure NeonCRM can be effective in furthering stillbirth awareness.

Our Account Management team will be in touch, but please know you can contact them if you have future questions or concerns.

-Your NeonCRM Team

Liz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Neon is a very comprehensive tool with a steep learning curve

Reviewed on 4/27/2022

I'm a fan. The payment tiers should be gentler, especially for really small nonprofits as they get their donation program off the ground. Have the $50 tier available up to a greater number of accounts.

Pros

This software is very comprehensive, offering all the tools you could need as a nonprofit doing fundraising. It can be difficult for those with low tech literacy to navigate the number of options but if you have someone administering who is tech savvy or who has the self-teach attitude to learn through tutorials and customer service then you'll have great success. The automatic thank-you and account registration emails are really really handy. It is an excellent payment processor and having all donations in one place is great.

Cons

The emails feature is not near the quality of MailChimp or Action Network so we do all our newsletter emails and targeted emails off this platform.

Response from Neon One

Thank you for the feedback, Liz!

A big focus for our upcoming product updates is making the CRM easier to learn and use, especially for users who may not have worked in a CRM software before and who are occasional users rather than administrators.

We're also planning a series of additional updates and improvements for the Campaign Email builder for summer 2022, so hopefully we'll get closer to the features you expect to see. We'll continue to offer and improve our integrations with Mailchimp and Constant Contact, however, for nonprofits that need more of an enterprise email solution.

Jared
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Neon is a worthwhile CRM software

Reviewed on 8/6/2022

Pros

Neon is user friendly and connects well with our other software platforms.

Cons

It is not completely compatible with our financial software.

Alternatives Considered

Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT and Dropbox Business

Reasons for Choosing Neon CRM

Better price and options.
Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best value for small to medium nonprofit

Reviewed on 4/27/2022

We've been using Neon for several years and are very happy with it. We're rarely frustrated the way friends at other nonprofits are who use other products (and they way we were with other systems prior to Neon). The

Pros

They are always making improvements, the customer service is stellar, it is very user friendly and easy to figure out.

Cons

Event management for fundraising events is the only part of this product that still needs to be improved.

Response from Neon One

Thank you for the feedback, Lisa! We're currently working on major updates to Neon events management and expect to have updates to announce later this year!

Jill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love Neon CRM!

Reviewed on 4/27/2022

The service is outstanding and we like all Neon has to offer!

Pros

We needed software that can be used with a screen reader since we have an employee that is legally blind. Neon seemed very user friendly since it can be customized and used for the purposes you need.

Cons

For me, I like all of the features and it is great in so many ways, but it is time consuming to figure out how to configure fields and reports when I have very little time to work with it!

Response from Neon One

Thank you for the feedback, Jill! We're so glad that our accessibilities features have been helpful for your organization. A big focus for our upcoming product development projects is making use of the CRM simpler for all users. Some improvements we're working on include updating Reports Module navigation and field/list management settings pages.

Liz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Neon CRM is great

Reviewed on 8/30/2022

It has been a smooth and easy experience

Pros

simple, efficiant and intuitive to use. Multiple members of the staff team have access and data is stored in a clear and usable fashion

Cons

Its inability to invoice and run certain reports

Alternatives Considered

DonorPerfect

Reasons for Switching to Neon CRM

price
Jenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Neon CRM Review

Reviewed on 4/27/2022

Thus far really enjoyed getting to know/use the software and I know I haven't even began to use all the features.

Pros

All the different functionalities. Most used at the moment that has been a great new feature for us is the online donation integration with our website for our donors.

Cons

Comments/Notes and how volunteer hours are set up/logged

Response from Neon One

Thank you for the feedback, Jenn! We'd love to hear more about your organization's needs for improving Notes and the Volunteer Module - you can submit feedback through our Forum at https://support.neonone.com/hc/en-us/community/topics. Thank you!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Too Little for Too Much

Reviewed on 10/20/2017

Pros

While researching a new CRM for our organization, we liked that NeonCRM included features like Quickbooks integration, MailChimp integration, custom forms etc.

Cons

They really don't do well to inform you how little is available at the entry price. Every integration they showcase and even the ability to create custom forms comes with an additional monthly fee which also increases when your contacts increase beyond your current pricing tier. Our biggest issue is that PayPal discounts are not recorded, so when you push your donation transactions over to Quickbooks, you have to manually edit all of those sales receipts to include the discount from PayPal. Also, any recurring monthly donors in PayPal will have to give their credit card information again in the new Neon process which could run the risk of losing donors. Overall it has not delivered up to our expectations and for a smaller organization, it would be very costly to have all the features. Customer service comes at a fee
and that is not even available until after you purchase the setup call and until you've been a customer for at least six months. Meanwhile, the online support largely results in waiting for hours and then them referring you to a guide you've likely already read. Massively frustrated with this system and it has taken us forever to get it up and running, which has proven to be a waste of time anyway because it can't do what we'd like it to, or at least not without an additional fee.

Kate
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 11/4/2013

If your experience is anything like mine was, you are currently struggling with outdated software. You are having to maintain multiple databases manually in order to do all the things that are standard operating procedures in these fast-paced days, and you are working on a shoestring budget with a great but stretched staff.

For me, this is where Neon came in to help us. Is it perfect. No. Of course not. Unless you have a zillion dollars to house your own tech department you are unlikely to find absolute perfection. Is Neon, in my opinion, the closest thing to perfect for a non-profit organization? Yes!

Why do I think that?

1) Technology upgrades every 18 months (at the longest) which is almost impossible for a non-profit to keep up with while remaining competitive within today's business world. Neon is an ever-evolving system that shares functionality with all Neon clients; your membership database is always up-to-date with new innovations appearing and available to be customized to meet your needs for reasonable pricing (unlike other systems that, in my experience, started customization at around $25,000 a piece).

2) When hosting our own CRM on-site, we were responsible for maintaining our server; with an aging server and without a hardware specialist on staff, our data was always at risk, even though it was backed up. With Neon, our system is now a cloud-based system, leaving the hardware support to the experts at Neon. This was not only a worry off our backs but also a fiscal savings.

3) In order to keep up to date, we were maintaining multiple databases. We had our member database, our event database, our website member-only database, and our email database. This doesn't include the QuickBooks upkeep and our area membership lists that had to be maintained and exported separately on a monthly basis. Needless to say, this ate up a lot of time and was susceptible to human error. With Neon, everything was in one place (Please note we chose to use Neon's email because another service would mean we once again would have to import/export data and not have the tracking material on the records where we wanted them). This was a huge benefit. Having everything available in one place freed up our staff to work on other projects and spend time on long-term strategic planning as opposed to just working in the moment.

4) With our old system, we were the experts. We were all alone. If we wanted customer service, the vendor could sort of help but the service teams wouldn't take time to understand the way we were using the system and could only provide generic answers. With Neon, we have experts at the end of a chat or a phone call (depending on your needs and service package) who can log into your system, see what you are seeing, and team with you to find an answer to your issues.

5) With our old system, our volunteers and members had limited abilities and options available to them. With Neon, our volunteers and members have a greater level of interaction with their own records, as well as with each other.

So with all that said, my overall advice is get Neon. But when you do jump in also be realistic and patient with both Neon and your staff. Remember change is always hard. Expect that the transfer of data will be stressful. Expect that the first six months will include hiccups. Expect that in a year you will be an expert in NEON. Expect that your "sophomore" year experience will make it all worthwhile.

Sheri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Neon, an elegant solution

Reviewed on 9/2/2014

Pros

I have had my NeonCRM system now for about four months, and what I love the most about it is probably its elegance. It's like the designers sat in my office, watched me work, and then designed a system that would not only take care of the many things I need when working with our donors, but also thought of a whole lot more! The system is very comprehensive, and while it is quite large and will take many more months to completely master, it is consistent. This consistency throughout makes it relatively easy to learn to work, even in the beginning.

Cons

The thing I have found the most frustrating is that I run a Mac, and this system is more compatible with PC. For instance, I could not run the tutorials on my Mac, so I had to haul out an old PC laptop for my training webinars. It worked out okay, as I could be working on the Mac in the program while watching the tutorial on the PC, but we Mac users get frustrated with these situations. Later, I learned that the internal mail merger program would not work on anything but Internet Explorer, which is unfortunately no longer available for Mac. It would have been nice if we could have at least had Firefox or Chrome, both very commonly used browsers, as an option. This is not a deal breaker for me, but for the price and quality of the system, I would have liked more compatibility.

Response from NeonCRM

Sheri, we really appreciate the kind words and positive review, but also thank you for the constructive feedback to make our processes better.

We've heard you and other Mac users loud and clear in regards to accessing the recorded trainings. Where NeonCRM obviously works just fine on PCs and Macs, the webinar provider we work with only renders our recordings in a PC-compatible format. Due to this limitation of our webinar partner, we have made the decision to stream all NeonCRM trainings on YouTube to ensure Mac users and all NeonCRM users have easy access to all training sessions. We'll be having your account manager reach out directly to you to provide this resource directly and these can be accessed with a simple search on YouTube.

In regards to the Microsoft Word mail merge functionality you brought up, that direct push from NeonCRM to Microsoft Word is actually something that is dictated by Microsoft, not us, since they want people to be using Internet Explorer. Unfortunately, Chrome, Firefox, and all other browsers are unable to receive a direct push from any system directly into Microsoft Word. We are looking to see if there's a way around it and will of course let you know. Of course, you can always use the built-in NeonCRM mail merge templates or export to Excel/csv to perform the mail merge externally as well. So there are options!

Again, thank you for the amazing feedback and look forward to growing with you for years to come.
-Your NeonCRM Team

Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Neon is unmatchable

Reviewed on 3/30/2021

It is a core component of our business at this point, which we use daily. It stores so much information and organizes it in an extremely accessible manner. The various functionalities are used by our non-profit organization every single day. It seems like every aspect is useful and functional. As an organization, we have been able to eliminate other competing premium softwares and instead use Neon.

Pros

The user interface is extremely intuitive and easy to learn. It's truly an all in one software that can do so much. It's integration with various other apps is seamless. We have so much data, and Neon can handle it all, and make it easy to understand, access, and analyze. Neon is honestly an essential must-have for any organization.

Cons

I think the campaign email marketing part can be somewhat confusing. The components seem too separate, it needs to be more cohesive in one big step-by-step process instead of going back and forth between the tab's sub-categories. It works perfectly, I just think the process to sending emails can be a little more streamlined.

Response from Neon One

Thank you for your honest and comprehensive review of Neon CRM, Sarah! We know that email has been a pain point in the past, which is why we are uncovering some major updates on April 10, 2021. If you want to find out more about the updates to our email functionality, you can tune in to our upcoming webinar (or watch the recording afterward): https://neonone.com/resources/event/product-webinar-neon-crms-new-email-tools/

Mandy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Multi-platform CRM

Reviewed on 4/24/2018

Overall a great product and easy to learn. If you need a lot of very specific reporting, however, this may not be the one for you.

Pros

Seamlessly integrates event registration, social fundraising, online donations, volunteer scheduling, grant tracking and donor development all in one CRM.

Cons

Specific reports can be difficult to obtain. Trial and error to get the exact information you want. You also cannot create tickets for events-- registrants only receive email confirmations.

Response from Sean

Hi Mandy,

Thanks so much for your thoughtful feedback. We're happy to know you've been taking advantage of so many of the tools Neon offers!

To address your concerns specifically, we completely understand that getting the right report results can be a trial-and-error process, which is why we try to offer a wide range of resources that deal with reporting. There's a wonderful article in our support center titled, appropriately, "Getting the Right Report Results" at https://support.neoncrm.com/hc/en-us/articles/218529077-Getting-the-Right-Report-Results.

I would also encourage you to submit a support ticket or schedule some time with your Professional Services Consultant for an in-depth, one-on-one discussion of your reporting needs. Should you need access to a report that isn't available within Neon already, we can always pull a custom report for you at your request!

Finally, while Neon does provide email confirmation for all event registrants and attendees, you can also utilize our integration partnership services for more robust ticketing and check-in functionality. We integrate with both Eventbrite and MyRollCall--if you'd like more information on how these services integrate with Neon, please send us an email at [email protected] Thanks again!

-Your Neon Team

Clarate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Performing Arts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Neon CRM is Great for our Mid-Level Nonprofit!

Reviewed on 2/18/2021

Overall our experience has been positive, and we would recommend Neon! It's a great way to organize our events and ticket sales, as well as track income from those same constituents and more. The volunteer projects and timesheets are seamless, so it's easy to tell how many volunteers have worked with the organization during the year and how many hours they've put in.

Pros

Neon has been great for our organization. It's easy to navigate and pull reports to track donations, memberships, event registrations, etc. This year we used ClickBid to organize our virtual fundraising gala and auction. The integration process between that and Neon was seamless.

Cons

There isn't a great way to set up monthly payments for annual membership plans. The grants module could be more helpful if there was a bit more automation. We don't use that function much as we've found it easier to stick to our own spreadsheets and calendars.

Response from Neon One

Hi Clarate! We are so happy to hear that Neon CRM helped you organize your events and ticket sales, as well as track income from those same constituents and more. We appreciate your honest feedback and will bring your voiced concerns back to our team, so we can continue to improve our products and support our clients.

Courtney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great customer service!

Reviewed on 8/23/2018

Pros

I've looked into several different donor relations databases, and Neon was hands down the best we've seen. The customer service was definitely above and beyond, and truly set them apart from their competition! The database is very user-friendly and customizable. I can't wait to full start using it!

Cons

I don't particularly care for the fact that you have to pay an additional cost for the extra training. I feel like this should be included. If companies don't have time to watch all of the youtube videos, or aren't great at being self-taught, then they will not be able to get the most out of the system, and will be more likely to cancel the services. If the customer doesn't understand the database and how to use it, then it will ultimately be a waste of money for the client (which means NEON will lose their business). Small non-profits like mine, who are looking to increase fundraising and donations, just can't afford that extra cost.

Response from The Neon Team

Hi Courtney,

Thanks so much for your kind words about your experience with our team! We are happy to have you on board.

To address your concerns regarding training, let me say that we strive to provide training options suitable for all of our clients regardless of budget, size, or learning style. Our online knowledge base at support.neoncrm.com has in-depth guides and videos to help new users get started and experienced admins take their CRM to the next level. We also have an active community forum and unlimited ticket support included with every service package. For those who would like more customized, one-on-one training, we offer a range of services and pricing that includes chat, phone support, on demand training, and extended training & consulting.

If you'd like any assistance finding the training and support options that are right for you, drop us a line at [email protected] We're here to help!

-Your Neon Team

Jane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Still a newbie but very happy so far

Reviewed on 5/8/2015

Pros

The sales staff was extremely knowledgeable, responsive, and helpful. Once we made the decision and started working with the support staff I found them equally accessible, knowledgeable, responsive and helpful. It is very easy to find helpful and instructive written materials and video training modules to solve most problems. The program is fairly intuitive and responsive.

Cons

Exporting our data from eTapestry and importing it into Neon was a disaster. If I'd had any idea how difficult it was, I'd have paid someone almost any price to do it for me. Most of the problem is the way gifts export from eTapestry, but Neon did not have the ability to adjust for that. It took four months to clean up the data and begin enjoying the functionality of Neon.

I'm "Old School" and living in the formal Deep South, so I have to make some adjustments to keep communications formal as Neon is developed for the less formal use of the younger set. But it can be done.

Response from NeonCRM

Thank you for your constructive feedback, Jane! We’re so pleased to have you on board and can’t wait to see how NeonCRM furthers your mission to help people whose lives have been disrupted by serious mental illness. We have helped hundreds of clients successfully migrate their data into NeonCRM. We understand this is the toughest part of moving to a new system, but also the most important. A good CRM starts with good data. That’s why all of our clients have access to free data export guides (https://z2.zendesk.com/entries/65688740-Data-Export-Tips). We also have a dedicated team that specializes in data analyses and imports. Clients can choose to have us do the entire import for them (custom import) or to have our specialists guide them through a self-import.

Thanks again for your comments and we are thrilled we were able to get you through the difficult time of getting your data out of your previous system. Onward and upward! We look forward to being a partner of Reed House and are thrilled to be aligned with an organization doing so much good for people who truly need help.

-Your NeonCRM Team

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Critical platform to our business performance

Reviewed on 3/25/2021

We are very proud to partner with Neon One. Their business team is responsive and helpful. The company is an exceptional corporate citizen. I have also been very impressed with their willingness to help us network with their other clients.

Pros

Neon One allows us to centralize our operations and interactions with our clients. The single sign on function means we can track all of our processes through the CRM, giving us a single source of truth to analyze and report our successes.

Cons

Editing letters within the platform is a little cumbersome.

Response from Neon One

Hi Susan! Thank you for leaving a review. Client support and feedback are an essential part of our business. In regards to editing letters, we have a great support article about different options for "letter templates" with Neon CRM. You can find that here: https://support.neonone.com/neoncrm/s/article/218530127LetterTemplates

Beth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This CRM Newbie LOVES NEON!

Reviewed on 3/21/2017

I was new to using a CRM type data base like NEON when we were researching programs and systems a year ago, so I had a lot of concerns about jumping in. Thanks to excellent live customer support as we launched and loaded, as well as the online support via videos and online knowledge base, I've been able to learn a ton and make NEON do what I need it to do. I feel like I'm always learning more and that we're still just scratching the surface of what is possible with this very powerful system. I think it is affordable, and I appreciate the ability to only pay for the modules we're using - we received terrific guidance from our client manager during our purchase and set up, and once they had a sense of the work we do, she recommended against our purchasing an additional module. We can always add more later. We have learned a great deal about our data and have decades worth of records that need housekeeping attention on our end, but we're moving forward and using NEON on a daily basis to support our work.

Pros

Ease of use
Clear, easy to use screens
Consistency across options - once I learn one thing, it is applicable in many different scenarios
Online knowledge base and training videos
Potential!

Whitney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love NEON

Reviewed on 6/7/2018

All in all, its a great software that is easy to use!

Pros

Neon is very intuitive and makes it easy for someone new to the software to learn. We love the donation page because it's easy to see when new ones come in. Email campaigns are awesome and easy to create.

Cons

I wish there was a little more customization. I would love more email templates. Secondly, I feel like it's hard to run customized reports.

Response from Neon Team

Hi Whitney,

Thank you for your feedback! We're so glad to see that you've found Neon's forms and email campaigns helpful!

Please let me take a moment to address your concerns:

While you can build or upload your own email templates into NeonCRM, we understand that there may be times when you'd like more complex email configuration options. That's why we offer robust integration partnerships with services like Constant Contact (https://support.neoncrm.com/hc/en-us/articles/360004170474) and MailChimp (https://support.neoncrm.com/hc/en-us/articles/218530147), both of which are great options for sending beautiful emails.

You also mentioned encountering some difficulty running custom reports, so I've created a support center account for you to access our client support team directly! If you find yourself struggling to configure a report, submit a question at support.neoncrm.com.

I hope this helps!

-Your Neon Team

Sara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Lots of functions, not easy to use

Reviewed on 4/14/2017

The system has lots of functionality (tracking donations from multiple events, creating automatic thank you letters, end of year letters) and there are additional add-ons for more (crowd funding, integration into Quickbooks, etc). The ability to scale makes it more affordable than other bundled similar products that we looked into.

The biggest drawback is customer service. There is a large database of questions/answers, but without added expense, you are largely left to your own to figure out the system and set things up correctly. It's a good system for the value, but due to the lack of ease, I feel that we haven't utilized the system to it's fullest ability.

Pros

It gives a small non-profit an affordable option for keeping track of donations and donors.

Cons

Customer service isn't very good and since the system has a lot of functionality, it can be hard to navigate.

Response from Z2 Systems

Thank you for your feedback, Sara, and we are sorry to hear about your customer service concerns. We pride ourselves on great service and take any bad rating or experience seriously. All service plans include unlimited and personalized online ticket support for up to two users, so we encourage you to contact our support team whenever you have system usage questions. Our online ticket support satisfaction rating is 93%.

Both the system and our online knowledge base are robust, but our support team is available to help point you in the right direction to specific guides or training videos that are most related to your questions and needs. We also offer additional help and Professional Services for current customers, such as implementation packages and personalized training/consultation. Our teams are here to help you get the most out of your system, and we plan to continue making improvements so Neon is easier to use and learn!
-Your Neon Team

Valerie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Headaches Releaved

Reviewed on 8/10/2017

After 2 nightmarish contracts with two separate inward-/outward-facing database platforms, this was a breath of fresh air. It works right off the rip, the training videos are actually helpful, if you can get through them, and there was no pressure from sales; no contract. They know what they're good at and integrate other systems for things that have better, more specialized products like, Eventbrite, Quickbooks and Mailchimp, and consolidates the data. The whole team can actually use it rather than feeling like data-entry drones.

Pros

The integrations with Eventbrite and Mailchimp allow us to use the best of everything without having to manage lists in every direction or hiring an IT guru.
We talked through our existing (and very messy) data with a data rep from the platform. She talked us through how we needed to clean and modify it for this particular system, including recommendations based her knowledge of the different form fields and feature, and then we uploaded it based on the mapping she set up, and were able to easily modify once we had everything ready to go live

Cons

It's not as flashy or designed as well as some others, but it works! The only other issue would be if we wanted to connect organization accounts and contact accounts in the upload. We could have asked for a custom import, or manually connected the accounts, but since the system search includes scanning the org field, we can search for one org and all the contacts who have it listed as their company pop up anyway, which is all we need!

Erin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It's nice to have all of our donation history in one place

Reviewed on 4/28/2022

It's fairly easy to use. I think there's always room for improvement.

Pros

I like that everything is one place and that reports are easy to pull. Data entry is easy. System letters and emails are nice.

Cons

I feel that customer service is not always available when needed. An online/instant chat would be REALLY appreciated for the quick questions that sometimes come up. The System Letters and System Emails Condition ranking is very confusing to me, I still struggle with it every time I update our letters.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Neon CRM

Ease of use. Fresh content.

Response from Neon One

Thank you for your feedback, Erin! We are planning to update system emails soon, with system letters to follow, and our major focus is making email and letter setup simpler, especially applying conditions and hierarchy.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good product for the basics

Reviewed on 10/6/2021

Seeing all our member interactions in one place is very useful. Reporting and selecting users based on various criteria is fairly good.

Pros

It covers our “bread and butter” features for our nonprofit: membership, fundraising/donations, and basic CRM.

Cons

Some of the other functions are weaker than expected, and could use significant improvements (definitely not near best of breed status). These include email (we continue to use MailChimp), event management (we continue to use EventBrite), and volunteer tracking. We do use the Store functions as our product sales are very limited, but when we open a gift shop we’ll transition to something like Shopify.

I feel as long as you don’t expect it to be a “one stop shop” you’ll probably do ok.

It’s a good price for the basics, given we are a fairly small non-profit.

Emma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

On balance, a solid CRM!

Reviewed on 2/14/2018

Pros

- Customer Service and Tech Support are helpful, responsive, friendly, and have addressed my concerns as well as pointed me to resources and set up extra training to make sure I get the answers I am seeking!
- I love the reports functionality! You can customize your own to get whatever info you need, or you can run some of the common ones the system has pre-formatted for you. Super easy and helpful.
- Managing and avoiding duplicates is really well addressed in this system. Since switching to Neon, I've been able to quickly address our pre-existing duplicates and to greatly reduce the number of new duplicates being created.

Cons

- The interface can be clunky in certain places (especially editing forms/system letters), and sometimes this leads to a lot of tedious work to make something look the way I need it to. That said, Neon says they're currently working on a fix for this particular issue.

Response from Sean

Hi Emma,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Neon! You really highlighted some of the most useful features within Neon, and of course we always love to hear that our team has made a positive impact!

To that end, we are absolutely prioritizing the user experience throughout 2018 as we work to improve the interface and usability of Neon. Keep an eye out, because we're all very excited about what our UX team is team is working on!

-Your Neon Team