169 reviews

Zoho People

Human Resources Information System

4.3 /5 (169 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4
87% recommended this app
169 reviews
David P.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Zoho Peoples Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-05-14
Review Source: Capterra

It is marginal over all

Pros

They have a lot of HR related resources pre-configured, time sheet and check-in/out services

Cons

not able to configure the time sheets to match our payroll cycle, it's only based on a bi-monthly or monthly calendar only. They take over 24 hrs to respond to any assistance needed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

As usual with ZoHo - A good idea that's not working out

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-09-08
Review Source: Capterra

(I ran out of room in the "What did i like least) section.. so I'll continue here)

The many many times I contacted support they were very slow to respond, unhelpful, and more than a little condescending...

Many times I wound up skipping customer support and contacting the sales representative who was trying to get me to use the software (he was financially motivated to help me)

Overall - Zoho People is an unrefined, difficult to use and poorly supported piece of software. I wish it weren't so! But.. alas...

Pros

There's a lot of conceptual things to like about zoho people - as with most Zoho products out there (And believe me.. I have tried just about all of them) There are a lot of great ideas..

Zoho promises the ability to track time, integrate with Zoho projects, track and measure performance, create employee profiles and in short manage every aspect of your employees.

As i'll describe below - these things don't actually pan out the way they should.

Since I have to pick one thing I like most about this software (That isn't theoretical) I would say it's ability to (almost) easily integrate with other zoho platforms - notably the various messaging systems

Cons

Zoho People is like every other Zoho software I have ever used - Too good to be true.

What makes most of the zoho software so attractive seems to stem from two things...

1. The price is always fantastic

2. The marketing team is clearly miles ahead of the development team (in other words, it looks better than it is)

With specific regard to Zoho people.. to start with, you definitely feel like you need to be a developer to set it up.

They have pretty extensive support documentation but it's often out of date - and at least a half dozen times I went to the documentation and found it was missing the specific problem/issue or feature I was trying to figure out.

Zoho people uses a lot of labels for things that aren't adequately explained which oftens leaves the user thinking that they are doing one thing.. only to find out they aren't.

An easy example is that you can have employees, or users - and sometimes employees are users, but not always.. I wish I could tell you more about it but honestly I have no idea what it means.

If you manage to get any pieces of this software set up, you will find that the functionality is more limited than planned. It doesn't integrate well with things like projects and it always seems to be lacking that ONE feature you really needed.. (for me, it was project task time tracking)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Neha P.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

All in one reporting and lerning tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020-09-22
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is good. I do get notifications once my request is approved by my manager. I have access to all my company process, news, updates and policy on a single interface through this software.

Pros

Its highly secured as it need a otp to login into the accounts. The training manuals and learning database could be created so that the employees get the access to these information with ease.

Cons

I found the interface bit confusing. It could be modified a bit created it more user friendly. Getting tbe list of holidays within the calender was bit difficult and took my time to find it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Priyabrata S.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best Online Human Resource software till now in the market, with amazing user interface.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-03-19
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to keep track of employees daily working hour record. Very user friendly to create online forums. Even yearly leaves and holidays can be tracked very easily. It saves lots of valuable time for feeling time sheets in a spreadsheets. All these features are done here dynamically.

Pros

Easy to keep track of employees daily working hour record. Very user friendly to create online forums. Even yearly leaves and holidays can be tracked very easily. It saves lots of valuable time for feeling time sheets in a spreadsheets. All these features are done here dynamically.

Cons

Zoho people mobile app can be enhanced similar to zoho people web page version. In mobile app still I struggle to find the user details including user's document, marksheets and certificates. Even won't be able to upload documents(Ids like driving licence, office id..etc )in it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chew L.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

This software apps is very interesting.

Reviewed on 2017-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to keep tracking staffs record

Pros

Having relevant data immediately available makes decision-making easy. Good quality hr software allows for a number of relevant areas to be updated simultaneously and can ensure that remember to input useful and important information on all aspects of human resources. Manual record keeping is very time consuming because all related records have to be up dated by hand. Using software to record information can free up staff for higher order functions. Additionally, employee inquiries can take up a lot of a human resource department's (or manager's) time and HR software can provide a self service option for employees to obtain relevant information themselves as well as saving staff time in obtaining it for employees. It can also save time and improve effectiveness for every step of the recruitment and selection process as well as for employee evaluation and training.

Cons

Very difficult and hard to understand the formatting, do setting or customize what feature that we want.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Eric G.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Total performance control

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-02-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is very difficult for me to track what employees do and why we pay them money - in the company, although about 10 people work, each of them performs completely different tasks. This program allows you to put personally each clear tasks and monitor their implementation. But that's not all: with her help, holidays are easy to make out and wages are charged.

Cons

There are a lot of minor flaws in the product, but it's the support service, which reacts quickly to all problems. The main disadvantage: you have to call a specialist every time you need to set something up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ashraf M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Brilliant Software for Employees

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-09-18
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for more than a couple of years now and have had the best experience as an employee, where i get to see each and every information that i need in detail, like my leave balances, my profile information, my travel details, its a must have software for every organisation

Pros

It is the most prolific and advanced software once can use while being in a fast paced organisation, its easy to use and has lot of detailed information.

Cons

Its Flawless, good job on that, give the developer a rise in pay.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Johanna T.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It is easy to use, effective and user friendly

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-08-07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall I love this system. It is efficient and as I said before, people management made easy

Pros

Ability to track leave made easy. Recruitment process readily available.
Job performance tracked effectively, Performance appraisals, people management, company organogram, and departments easily manageable.

Cons

I am still busy familiarising myself with the system. I will give you feedback as soon as I have encountered any cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

John H.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A Solid HR Platform

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Zoho People is our internal HR hub so our employees can request time off, initiate performance reviews, and more.

Cons

Unfortunately, Zoho People doesn't currently have an efficient onboarding process. While you can send offer letters and have them sign it through a Docusign integration, you can't have new hires upload ID documents or submit payroll information.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alisa M.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A good system for personnel management

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-02-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This system allows me to monitor personnel and monitor performance. An indispensable tool and a reliable assistant. Has very wide capabilities. I recommend you try it - you'll like it.

Cons

Sometimes the program hangs, other bugs appear, but it happens quite rarely. Quite demanding of resources.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Prasanna M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent for automation of routine tasks

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-08-29
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

This covers all the basic HR and Administration capabilities that one business needs. We selected enterprise edition and think this is worth the money that we are paying. Simplicity to use and ability to customize the forms and add workflows. The mobile app is quite useful.

Cons

There are few forms that we cannot customize and Time Tracker is one among them. This is one form where each company would like to customize and this is very much required capability. Also, there appears to be a bug with mobile app (for custom forms, the privileges aren't working as designed).

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sowmya kalyani P.

Helpful but ease of use can be improved. Provide help and FAQ's.

Reviewed on 2017-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

Employee check in and check out details, Employee Data, Leave Management

Pros

Overall quality is good. Prompt Customer Support. Import and Export data options. Organizational Summary provides good insight with graphs.

Cons

A few more features need to added. Provide guidance for admin to do the initial set up and flow of the application. Should be easy to customize.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kiran R.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Zoho Apps are very reliable and effective for every mid sized organization.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Zoho apps made our daily HR operations very smooth with a easy implementation and support service.

Pros

The best in class features like integration with mail and all other apps are remarkably good and the user interface is also very accessible.

Cons

A stand alone chat software for windows will be much effective, also the mail should be taking the details from the people i.e. designations and department details should be visible when clicked on the mail id via mail app. Seamless integration with the mail app and zoho people app is much appreciated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Harendra pratap S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Amazing app for office Employess

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017-11-16
Review Source: GetApp

this is a perfect app no need to change i think as well thank you zoho for invented zoho people for us.

Pros

This is best for using in offices for tracking employees in or out , attendance & performance Etc & also ow-some report genrate

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mitesh V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good organisation management tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-06-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is easy to use and have lots of features for management. To manage recruitment data is really easy and help HR. It also provide performance management features and different reports. Employee can also regularise their details.

Cons

The tool is good enough as compared to they charged. We have to prepare a resource who can manage it with custom organisation flow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ravikiran R.

Good online HR solution with good work flow support that lets you automate

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-04-28
Review Source: Capterra

No need to spend money on hardware just go with Zoho

Pros

Best workflow support
Great support for Time , Attendance , Performance , Time Tracker. that lets you to easy t manage
Good Integrated Payroll System

Cons

Need to provide some training to the HR team to use. We need expertise to adjust the flow according to the organization

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lila L.

AWESOME PRODUCT

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It can integrate my employees and new hires onto one platform! It has numerous reports and even a free edition if you are a start-up business. It took a minute to completely understand it. Once I learned the software it got easier to use. It just took almost two weeks to excel in it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Hana K.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exceeded my expectations

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

Organizing my database and cvs into one safe place

Pros

Flexibility of customizing the fields to meet my needs.
Organized, and has a lot of options.

Cons

A bit overpriced only because we are a small organization with not a lot of requirements and a few vacancies every couple of months.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lalit K.

Great product. Very user friendly, and everything available.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-07-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Zoho as a brand. We could trust with our data.
Great UI design
Everything well placed
Start with free

Cons

A bit highly priced than competitors.
Not much customisable (Not sure, still exploring)
A bit confusing when adding leave balance manually

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sachin S.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Zoho People Appraisal is not good at all.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-12-09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Going by Zoho's appraisal tool, there is no way I will recommend any product. The lack of decent support even for paid plan, and lack of basic features, only shows what low quality/bar they have set out for themselves. I am now curious to know how bad other Zoho products are and might try them out only to know / learn how not to do things. Perhaps others can use Zoho appraisal system as case study on how not to build / launch products.

Pros

- Named brand with some good story behind it.
- Seemingly out of the box turnkey solution for HRMS (we used it for employee appraisals).
- Quite easy to import new employees into system (via CSV).

Cons

Weak/bad Customer support:
- No 24x7 support. Weekend they are off. Weekday support only for 9 hours.
- No customer support call centre. You have to wait for callback and it takes 2-3 days for them to give callback and another few days to resolve issues.

Bad appraisal product:
- Features or lack of it is not clearly listed out. You will find it once you have started using the product (and too late to make changes).
- Really terrible UX. One could not figure out how to do something... there is no proper onboarding/videos either.
- Basic features were absent, and there are way too many bugs to be put it out as paid product. Google form works lot better.
- Employees were not able to access their account for weird bugs, and could not see right screens (again bad product).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Justin L.

Not your ordinary HRIS, you might want to consider

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-06-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Zoho gives a user a FREE for trial so that you can have a feel on the software. This
software is also easy to integrate with other Zoho products. This software is also packed
with features such as timesheet, appraisal, feedback, forms customization and others.
There is also an available API in case it will be integrated with other softwares.

Cons

The organization of the sidebar is a bit confusing. The whole UI somehow confuses me
and took time before I managed to know where to find this and that. The price is also a bit high

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

All in one solution

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017-08-25
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We were looking for an appraisal solution, however the additional extras (training log, time tracker and leave tracker) may replace our spreasheets. Really nice and efficient customer support.

Cons

It takes some time to learn how all of the features work, however, you need to be through this learning process once.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jean yves B.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Rating only

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017-06-01
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Arung I.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

So far the best Human resource manager app ever

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-08-30
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to manage my company efficiency and manage employees performance.

Pros

Because I use other Zoho apps, the user interface is very familiar and easy to use. Connecting it with zoho mail and zoho invoice is so easy and by far the most working human resource app I have ever tested.

Cons

Some of the unused features such Approvals is not necessarily important for small business.
No app for this for Windows.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Édouard D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Not expensive but you set it yourself

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-02-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Zoho People is inexpensive and no competitor beats Zoho on the price

Cons

Zoho People's interface is not user-friendly altogether and requires to be set before using it which can entail some delay to consider in the implementation and deployment phase

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10