GitHub

4.8 (3,602)
Social coding & collaborative development platform

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(3,602)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app

3,602 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub is my choice for repo keeping

Reviewed on 2021-07-23

Pros

- community
- availability
- new features (dark theme, contrast theme, updated code review tools)
- git actions
- git applications

Cons

- doesn't have cherry-picking in web version

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket and GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

due to community

Switched From

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

- due to community - the latest drop was the moment when github release free private repos
Fidelis A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub Review 2021

Reviewed on 2021-03-05

My overall experience is awesome. Github to me is the best because they are doing lots of work to make it great for developers. The ability to collaborate and commit my code is second to none. Their Desktop version helps me to develop a great android app that I can easily be deployed to GitHub without lifting a finger. It is well integrated into android studio and it makes my coding work easier and faster.

Pros

Github is a great software for collaborating on coding projects. I use GitHub to create a coding project and store it in a code repository for easy collaboration, editing, and review. I use GitHub to crone open-sourced code projects easily, download and edit as a zip file or forked, which is a great feature that helps me to duplicate other people's projects for further contribution and collaboration. Github has helped me to update/commit my developed and produced code/application at intervals and versions( version control). Using GitHub I was able to host my web app projects for easy review by companies under view. It is easy to install and use both as a desktop and as a cloud software online (web). It can be integrated with hundreds of software and platforms.

Cons

Having used GitHub, I will like to highlight that I am only allowed to recover repositories that are not forked, and this is where public and private repositories come to play. I think the private repositories are not taken seriously because sometimes, we forked repositories that are publicly shown which one may not know if the editor actually keeps it private because if the editor does, I should be able to recover it as long as it has been forked and edited by me. There should also be an option that explains if the root code is deleted so as to avoid loss of everything. This takes lots of time and is under the premium package.

Naseeb B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer.

Reviewed on 2020-10-02

It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Pros

Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Cons

May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

Matthew P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's an industry standard tool for reason

Reviewed on 2020-08-04

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Pros

Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Cons

I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Alternatives Considered

Apache Subversion and GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I've worked with team using self-hosted git and subversion. For most cases, I would highly prefer a team simply let Github host it. git is a superior vcs system compared to subversion, and Github.com is the best hosting for git.
Chris V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

Reviewed on 2020-06-09

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pros

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Cons

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket and GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is the most stable platform, and our engineers are the most known with GitHub. Compared with GitLab and Bitbucket, GitHub has the most available integrations into other solutions, and has the lowest pricing. This all made us making the decision to rely on GitHub.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in class, world-known service

Reviewed on 2020-02-20

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well.
Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket is very slow, especially when doing code reviews (Pull Requests), and has lousy integration with other tools.

Switched From

Bitbucket
Youness M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Feedback about Github & Comparison with Gitlab

Reviewed on 2019-08-13

A great software !
Very useful, necessary, and i have been using it in our organization for many years, even that we are using Gitlab for most of our projects.

Pros

Very sofisticated, today it gives us more freedom and we are able to use private repositories.
Github is the reference of version controls, and we are using it every day ( in our organization, and as well with a couple of open source products ).

Cons

Sometimes it's confusing, I love the simplicity of Gitlab, but it's not really a full comparison, both softwares have their own pros and cons. But i find that Github is sometimes confusing, and the options and how to do simple things are hidden.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github for personal and enterprise use

Reviewed on 2019-05-02

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pros

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Cons

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.
Aleissia L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github is the developer community in today's world

Reviewed on 2020-02-03

If you're sharing code and using Git, Github is likely to be a the preferred place to do it. Even if you're not working on an open source project, developers gain a lot here in the way of their online profiles and rapport. Users can easily share and communicate with each other. Governance can be handled through robust permissions over pull requests and protected branches which makes life a lot easier since we don't have to developer other tools to manage this.

Pros

The Github website is reliable and easy to navigate. Pricing is very reasonable. UI tools are good a available for different platforms. Extra features like issues and build tools are now integrated and quite useful. Nearly all developers are already on the platform making it easy to onboard them.

Cons

There have been a few (not many) painful service interruptions. One of these involved service hooks and caused us some trouble with our build automation.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github is much more widely used and preferred in our community of developers. Pricing made more sense to our model.
Tom E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Invaluable! So simple and so powerful

Reviewed on 2019-11-11

Our development process is much smoother after picking up Github. We use gitflow to make versioning easy.

Pros

We love how this product is tightly integrated with our other development products. Setup is a breeze and our entire team loves Github!

Cons

Setting up the public/private key authentication can be tricky, but if you know what you are doing, it shouldn't be a problem :) Also, I miss the 'blame' feature that Subversion had.

Alternatives Considered

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

It's more widely used.

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It's almost the defacto solution for versioning now.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Github: Simply amazing

Reviewed on 2021-05-23

Github is simply amazing to use. I like the deployment through using the Github Action.

Pros

I like the "Github Actions" and its support for the deployment.
The code review of the Pull Request (PR) is simply awesome.
We can simply host the static file through Github which is so exciting for the new users.

Cons

The most of the feature of github is simply amazing.
But the learning curve of github is little daunting for the new users.
User Experience (UX) can be improved.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket and Apache Subversion

Switched From

Bitbucket
Austin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github or bust

Reviewed on 2019-10-15

I've been a developer on GitHub for almost 5 years. It's amazing how far it's come and how ahead it is compared to alternatives. You would think that alternatives would have a upper hand of executing what Github can't do, problem is, Github doesn't really do anything bad/wrong.

Pros

Everything about github is just so much better than the alternatives out there. I'm looking at you bitbucket. The UI is easier to look at and the UX just makes more sense from a developer's standpoint. There's a reason why developers look at issues of repos on GITHUB and not any other alternative. The community and ecosystem is primarily in Github and they now offer free private repos which was definitely the best move.

Cons

No complaints. I use bitbucket at work, but strictly only use github at home for short-term and long-term projects

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github has a community. Bitbucket feels too enterprise
Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github is where your software should probably live

Reviewed on 2020-02-21

Great. We love it and will continue to use it because we don't want to manage on-prem Gitlab and because the developer tools are first rate.

Pros

We've been using Github for so long that it's almost hard to recall the dark days before proper hosted version control software. But I _do_ remember them. And they were dark indeed. SVN was a nightmare. Temperamental and difficult. Github made the Git platform accessible, friendly, and safe.

Github has added so many extremely useful developer-centric features, that it just works for our flow. We manage pull requests and code reviews through Github. We've built automation and functionality on top of the Github Projects kanban board, further empowering our work.

And it just works.

Cons

Nothing, really. Even having been acquired by MSFT, it's still solid software and continues to introduce new features.

Patrick F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simply the best repository hosting

Reviewed on 2020-06-15

We use GitHub to host our code and allow engineers to collaborate on it as well as view how the code has changed over time.

Pros

The main reason to use GitHub, IMO, is the pull request and code review feature. Not only does it work great right now showing you the context of the changes you are making and making it easy for others to comment and suggest changes, GitHub continues to invest in this feature and it gets better and better every year.
Besides that, I think GitHub just has a very beautiful UI and intuitive UX.

Cons

For businesses who want to use GitHub to host their code on-premise for security reasons, it can be very expensive and buggy. My team and I have experienced a lot of difficulties trying to host it on-premise and caused other teams to experience down time. Sure, it was our fault, but why is it so hard to run GitHub out of the box.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket and GitLab
Darian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of Github

Reviewed on 2021-07-01

Github greatly increased out efficiency when we moved away from a selfhosted git server. I strongly recommend using github or other similar software at the least rather than doing everything yourself. You end up with clean reviewing procedures and accessibility

Pros

Github is useful in that you can view almost all code or files directly through the web. Previously we used a self hosted solution which was difficult to quickly pull up code or readme-s unless you had cloned the repository. Github's UI lets us showcase our code quickly and is searchable, without having to own the code on your machine.

Additionally, there ease of use for adding protected branches and monitoring reviews was what pushed us to use the software. We previously had no protection on our master branch, and reviews were done in person looking at the codebase. Now, we can submit pull requests and mark down which specific lines of code are invalid or need fixing.

Cons

The only aspect I've noticed or had trouble with was with outside developers. When I add a developer, they get access to all projects once they accept the invite. Then I have to lower their permission level AFTER they accepted, which I may not notice when that happens. Not sure if that was an issue with me or with the software (perhaps there is another way to do it)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best repo for open source development

Reviewed on 2019-08-29

Overall is a great tool to be used for OpenSource or personal projects. I've never used it on a professional environment but just to create personal/open-source projects and collaborate in others. For this purpose I think is the best you can get online for free.

Pros

Well, no need to say that is the most popular repository for open-source projects as almost every open-source or DIY project is hosted there.
The reason in my humble opinion is that it offers the possibility to create a complete "site" for your project, not only being limited to a code repository and a readme file, but it also allows to create a wiki, it provides an issue reporting section, good and complete branch management interface, and so on.
Personally I do like the releases section, as it allows to publicate together with the downloadable code, all the changes list, bugs fixed and so on, so you can set all needed documentation of each release in there.
This is the most important stuff about the public repos and "collaboration sites" it provides.
Apart from this, for private use it provides the usual stuff on version controll sites, with te pull request management section, code reviews, comments and so on.
As a free repository service I think GitHub provides the best service you can find online.

Cons

Maybe the documentation on GitHub itself is a bit of a mess. Sometimes is hard to find some info on how to do stuff, especially for new users. Once you're used to it, then all goes smooth.
Beside that, it lacks the possibility of doing some special git operations, for which you need to go to command line in order to perform them, but besides that minor stuff, it is a great service.

Mayave R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Git solution

Reviewed on 2021-02-08

I use it since university to version software and UI project files.

Pros

It's trustable, modern, easy to use and deploy software in any platform or programming language. It can be used to version even thesis document, for example.

Cons

It could have SVN servers option to offer different kinds of software versioning, not just Git as usual.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Switched From

GitLab
Bhavani N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The quickest version control tool you can implement in the market.

Reviewed on 2019-08-30

Overall a great experience moving to Git. Exceptional tool!

Pros

The switching over from TFS to git was a cake walk!
The integration with Katalon Studio. Hence the number of tools used reduced phenomenally.
Integrated git with Sourcetree so branch management for me was easy.

Cons

Initially developers had issues with the huge commits but then with sourcetree it was lot easier to manage.

Alternatives Considered

Jenkins

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

we were dealing with multiple branches for a single source code. As commit to each branch would trigger the deployment process on the respective environment. We badly needed a tool that would enable us to have the least number of branches while giving the developers the independence they needed with regard to merges and commits.
Nipun harsha W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Github for successful and profitable projects which ease the work of developers

Reviewed on 2019-10-20

we use GitHub to develop our projects for several years and through this platform we could manage our developers and we could ease our works. This is more profitable when hiring developers from various places and we could easy to manage them through this platform.

Pros

The features I like most are in this software it is easy to upload our codes in our private and public projects on GitHub platforms using terminal or Git integrated IDE s. It gives so many advantages for me by letting my codes to others and let them to vote and share their experiences with me so this is a great platform to manage our codes and share the experiences. In GitHub platform it provides an opportunity to write scrips to push their codes and also a GUI is also provided to d these tasks easily.
In our company we worked with developers in our projects and it is easy to manage them easily through this platform. GitHub has great third party tool integration and it can automate everything.This is developer friendly

Cons

We should have a stable internet connection to access this and also beginners require more practice and time to familiar with GitHub .The desktop app sometimes crash when pushing and the configuration on pc some time go off. Another thing I don't like is it has strict command line application that requires technical knowledge to manipulate the platform.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Premier Git Experience

Reviewed on 2019-01-30

I have been using GitHub throughout my university career and have found it to be a much more pleasurable experience compared to other version control software and other Git clients like Gitlab. GitHub has a more sleek design and is easier to use. It also offers more features and its social media features are awesome. It's great being able to see what friends and colleagues are up to and being able to contribute to open source projects with ease.

Pros

-Unlimited public repositories
-Searching is extremely well implemented
-Main host of open source software
-Branch management and easy merge process
-Easy to track code changes via commit messages
-Highlights changes made to your code in comparison to previous commit
-Desktop client has made it even easier to use
-Social media like aspects are great and allows you to stay up to date with friends and colleagues projects
-Built in issue tracker allows bugs to be fixed and features to be implemented in a timely matter

Cons

-Learning curve for non programmers committing to repo
-Specific set of instructions to follow and can lead to merge conflicts if not followed properly
-Depends on contributors and if not maintained may fall apart
-No way to view differences between branches
-Lack of project management features

Prabir S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Source Control

Reviewed on 2019-09-23

Very positive, solved all our source control issues. Definitely settled on using Github as our storage repo.

Pros

Easy to setup with a fair amount of online documentation to assist with any issues we have. Currently still trialing it with our development team but so far it has been working well to integrate with Visual Studio for our C# code repositories. Very little effort required to setup a repository and there is good guide presented once a repo is created to indicate how to push an existing project to Github. The way pull requests are handled for review is another nice feature, an email is sent taking you right to the request to review.

Cons

We are still using free accounts and wish that private repos could be added to organizations on free accounts. No easy way found to add collaborators to multiple repos.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I had used Bitbucket for years but when starting at a new company now I decided to give GitHub a go. I must say I am very impressed, I find that it is a lot more intuitive that Bitbucket and expects you and guides you in using Git bash which, where as Bitbucket pushed using Sourcetree which was quite a memory hog.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

More intuitive and less Sourcetree expectations
Peter W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Git repository hosting

Reviewed on 2017-11-15

Pros

Easily share your code with team members, for QA'ing and bug fixing purposes.
Integration with various Git clients allows users to have full control over what goes in and out of GitHub.
Various built-in quality control features, making sure all work is up to an adequate standard. Pull requests force team members to double check any work submitted, and the 'Markdown' system that runs alongside that allows for total customisation of our documentation.
The user management system is also very useful, as it lets the team know who made what changes and when.
The in-built version control also ensures our code is backed-up and can be reverted if need be.

Cons

The user interface can be confusing for a newcomer, and the amount of options and features available can be overwhelming.
Once you have filled a repository with a lot of code, the whole thing can seem a bit daunting. As it just looks like one large wall of text.
Setting up GitHub to work with some Git clients can be a bit of a pain, but it all depends on which client you go with.
GitHub's own markdown code differs from the usual markdown code, so there can be some strange bugs you might not be used to.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool to manage the versions of your projects.

Reviewed on 2018-12-14

I use Github to collaborate in different projects within the company, as well as manage the versions of personal projects allowing me to work as a team with other people in addition to serving as backup of the work done, so it is possible to return to previous versions in case of failure or problems, as well as carrying out projects with the same structure but adapted to different requirements.

Pros

In general I love everything about this tool because it offers multiple features and options such as configuring the visualization of your repository, allowing it to be public, that is, visible to all, or private so that only the work team has access, which is very important to maintain the confidentiality of the projects.

In the same way, navigation through the code including those complexes, is very fluid and simple with options that allow you to consult the changes made in it, including the data of the person who made them, the time, date and other information of interest.

It is an excellent tool that supports and facilitates collaborative work among the members of a team.

Cons

What I like least is that even though it is a powerful and complete tool in terms of functionality, it is a bit difficult to learn to use it, at least initially.
Similarly, there are no free private repositories, which would be ideal at least a limited free version so that users can test its operation.

Ben M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best place to host and version code of any kind.

Reviewed on 2017-08-28

GitHub is an incredible service for hosting any kind of code of versionable content. It's extremely affordable, even for an individual who wants to host a huge number of private repositories. It integrates with just about everything that you could want, to the point where you can even use GitHub's integration list as a portal to finding other great services you can use online.

Pros

It's nearly a perfect place to host code. Most things happen almost instantly on the platform, and there's a good chance every developer you know is a member of the site. Careers can be built from having an impressive GitHub profile.

Cons

There are very few cons to GitHub anymore. The platform continuously gets better and doesn't sacrifice anything in the process. If I had to give one complaint, it's that the structure of organizations can be a little bit weird, especially when it's used for things other than team members (such as giving a lot of crowd-funding backers access to a private repository). The activity stream on my dashboard is mostly useless in my experience, though that's likely not the case for everyone.

Sanchita A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A social platform for workspace.

Reviewed on 2019-03-31

The journey from git to GitHub is really amazing. The enhanced user interface make the things simple the web based interface provide you freedom to connect it from remote location. The GitHub market place is a amazing place to find your best API as per your need with GitHub verifications. Team discussion help in interacting with in the team.

Pros

GitHub provides the platform where each team of different responsibilities work together in very interesting way. The process of reviewing the code is simplified with help of enhanced user friendly interface where a reviewer can comment and suggest the enhancement in same platform and help to deliver the better code. Diffs feature helps in comparing the two changes side-by-side and browser the commits history. The blame view provides a short hand to get the idea of code change over the time without going through the complete history one by one.

Cons

GitHub helps in resolving the conflicts but the manual process make it vulnerable at the time of merge which can lead to a late release. Documentation of code can be written in GitHub page and Wikis which should be more enhanced. The code search engine should be added with the features like google advanced search engine.