SpiraTest

4.0 (104)
Powerful Test Management Software

Overall rating

4.0 /5
(104)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support Software
4.5/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

104 Reviews

Juan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Do you want the red pill or the blue pill, the choice is up to you.

Reviewed on 8/1/2019

Automation v.s Manual and training has been made easier for an individual whom prior to 2018 had no I.T experience, I could pick up the product and teach myself with the Inflectra Webinaar sessions provided by CSR and the bloaks. FORZA

Pros

Spira Test meets halfway with Agile methodology and brings it to life with a user experience unparalleled in the current industry, excelsior!

Cons

Users not using it as designed, other than that.

Almost perfect, keep doing what Inflectra's doing.

Hugh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We Use it Everyday

Reviewed on 12/2/2016

We use SpiraTest daily. We use it as a repository for our requirements and use the workflow to help move them through the review and approval cycle. There are some issues with the workflow that need to be fixed by Inflectra but overall it helps us to be more efficient.
We convert the requirements to test case shells and the test team writes the test cases based on the shell. It makes it very convenient to be able to have the requirements and the requirements tied together. When the test cases get executed SpiraTest helps us see where we are in the test cycle.
Additionally, we use the incident management to track bugs and other issues that arise during the test process.
Overall we like the product. There are some outstanding issues that Inflectra needs to address, but the customer support has always been very responsive and being a small business the price of the package and support has been affordable.

Pros

Affordable and has lots of features.

Cons

Some quality issues. The software is well thought out, but it takes a little bit of time to learn its operation.

vivek sarma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Nice tool but needs lot of improvement

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Pros

1) Cloud based software and hence we dont have to worry about maintaining it.
2) Can create Test plan and defect in same tool and can link the defect to the test plan ID which is useful feature.

Cons

1) UI, Look and feel is so old and need drastic change.
2) Session time out value is too low and need to login very frequently.
3) The defect number is not based on the product/project and its based on complete subscription. for ex: Defect number 1 might be for one product and defect number 2 might be assigned to different product. the next numbering should be per product/project.
4) attaching images are not user friendly.

Response from Inflectra

We are a bit surprised with this review as we completely changed the UI about 3 months ago in v5.4. Also capturing screenshots is very easy, you just paste in the image, no uploading needed, perhaps the user was not aware of how this works.
In terms of the IDs that is correct, but that is because you can share defects across projects (unlike other tools like JIRA) so you need to have globally unique IDs.

Marc
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Spiratest is the prefect monitoring solution for our testing needs

Reviewed on 8/17/2016

I have recommend Spiratest to my client ever since their version 2.0. The easy to use presentation, the report generation, the overall test structure of using a Test Catalog (Test Scenario) to built specific group of sequential test cases (Test Sets) help me create the proper tracking for mastering of End-to-End Test Scenario (reusing single test cases as modular steps)

Pros

Easy to use and personalize dashboards

Cons

Addon (Excel / Word) not in synch with the version which cause a lot of rework. Upload/Download from Excel is only available at version 4.0 but doesn't work with the version 5.0 for Test Cases/Test Sets, etc...

Response from Inflectra

Thanks Marc for the feedback. Don't worry we are in the process of updating the Excel Add-In for version 5.0 so that you won't have to worry about that part in the next month!

Vasu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spiratest is a complete test management software/Requirements Management Tool

Reviewed on 12/7/2017

Efficiently manage automated and manual test scripts and cases.

Pros

Great tool to help organize software testing needs like project requirements, building a test plan, writing the tests, planning the test activities and capturing the results also like bug tracking in the automation testing as well manual testing. Easy to use and everything can be tracked in one application..that's awesome.one tool for all like document collaboration,Test Case Management,Project Management,Requirements Management and etc and mainly affordable cost compare to other similar software

Cons

The UI, is not very friendly with a complex form to work on it
frequently user experience application hang problems

Response from Inflectra

Thanks for the great review. We have actually made some major UI improvements in the user interface in v5.3 this year, with most customers liking the new streamlined, simplified look.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great value for money software with fantastic support

Reviewed on 4/11/2018

Pros

Have been using Spiratest for the last 3 years for defect tracking and test execution. It was already in use when i joined the company and i found it easy to use and feature rich. We use e seperate project for each or our customers & we can give them access to their own project to track defects during UAT.

Cons

Reports and workflows restricted to individual projects which gets really frustrating unless all work is done in a single project. No Enterprise reporting included so far, but i am told this is coming soon.

Tarun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Spira Hosted Solution

Reviewed on 12/5/2016

I am into quality assurance and testing. We were always looking out for a test repository that can help the team in sharing test assets and also produce reports. SPIRA lets us do both. We are only using SPIRA to define what we use in our requirement and defect tracking tool. It has been very helpful in showing test runs to the senior management as well.

Pros

Ease of use and it's setup

Cons

Excel functionality to export test cases needs an improvement as we cannot export only a limited set of test cases.

David
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Worth the money ;-)

Reviewed on 6/29/2011

It would be nice to have a forum/wiki on your website, where people can exchange knowledge or problems with other users.

Pros

quite easy to create testcases
management of releases is a good feature
interfaces between ldap and jira work well
clear structure (by folders) of testcases
clear notion of testing progress
good export features (ecxel, word, html)
support is very fast, competent and friendly

Cons

As a beginner it often happens that you leave a page without saving your work (for e.g. by clicking a link in the navigation). A hint, that you explicitly have to changes before you leave would be very helpfull.

When deleting an item, there is a confirmation dialog. It would be helpfull if this dialog would also contain the name of the item to be deleted.

It would be nice if attachements (e.g. screenshots) could be synchronized between jira and spiratest.

If you comment on an issue that has already been synchronized to jira, this comment is not submitted to jira (it only works from jira to spiratest)

Error messages within the windows event viewer are not easy to understand.

Response from Inflectra

1) We do have support forums on our website (which we have let the customer know about)

2) We shall be adding better save and delete confirmations across the application.

3) The ability to sync attachments to/from JIRA will be part of a scheduled update to the plugin.

Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A nice little addition to a development team

Reviewed on 3/29/2019

It's nice, obviously could use some improvements but their team is always putting out updates and new content. Overall I think it's worth it to have.

Pros

Integrates well with Jira.
Easy to configure for your needs.
Nice reporting tools.
Good support team.

Cons

Reports can be really slow sometimes.
Reports take a lot of customizing before you get any useful results.
The UI is not very user friendly.

Response from Inflectra

Thanks for your review, it is very helpful, I will pass on your feedback to our development team. I know that they are working to improve the reports, we plan to have the improvements released in v6.1 later this year.

Sathish kumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Import & Export
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

SpiraTest in not meeting our expectation

Reviewed on 12/2/2016

It would be good if you can improve your product usability and user-friendly
Customer support resolving issues are not as expected - for many issues, there was no solution from support team
While using the application we were getting exceptions in many areas
Overall I would like to see if you can improve on the below-mentioned areas, which is affecting us very badly
1. Allow to delete user
2. To prepare a test suite for execution - takes lot of time
3. No flexibility to add our own status to Requirements/Releases - due to this we are not able to sync with Jira properly
4. Filtering or searching is not working properly
5. Report can be made simple to use
6. Still struggling to understand how your dashboard displays the data
7. Not able to sync Severity field of SpiraTest with Jira
8. Uploading test cases is been very difficult (we don't have folder option ) to directly upload the test cases into a specific folder.
9. Bulk Edit of test cases is not available

Pros

Cost wise it is affordable

Cons

Already listed in my feedback

Response from Inflectra

We have worked very hard to help out Amber Road, but they have some environmental issues with their database server that has taken time to resolve. We are currently working with their IT group to get access to their on-premise installation to help them pinpoint which parts of their infrastructure is causing issues.

Arpit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It provide a good repository for Test Docs. Execution w.r.t. each release is very easy

Reviewed on 8/16/2017

very good test case repository
easy test execution
amazing reporting

Pros

The Ui and Test Case structure is amazing, it has got folder structure so that users can setup the modules per folder per release. It has wonderful export and import feature where user can easily import the test cases from excel sheets

Cons

It has very poor response time when user copies and paste the test cases. Sometimes there are no updates on screen initially and after two mins user see multiple copies of tests

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great product at the price and brilliant support

Reviewed on 10/16/2009

I'd still go with the de-facto standard QC only if a) I had the budget AND b) I knew that we would make use of the additional features and would use it on a scale that justified the additional cost.

To anyone looking to buy this type of tool, I'd suggest giving SpiraTest serious consideration, and being honest with yourself about whether you really are going to use all the features of a higher-priced tool.

I'll certainly remember SpiraTest and consider it the next time I find myself going into a team that doesn't have a test management tool in place.

Pros

- Agree with other reviews that Adam is incredibly helpful, and he responded brilliantly to our enquiries
- Great tool for the price. It does everything we need it to.
- Good integration with other tools provided by add-ons and the web service.
- Very fair approach to license upgrades, as user base grows. (SpiraTest started off in one QA team and is now being used by three teams within the company.)

Cons

- As a TD/QC user for 10 years I do miss some features, and the UI isn't as 'polished'. But at this price I really can't complain.

Guy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Varied feature set yet unintuitive to use

Reviewed on 5/6/2019

Finding a suitable test management system isn't an easy thing to do and various of the features offered by SpiraTest in theory come off sounding like a good thing, in practice however it feels more like a battle when it comes to using it on a regular basis and sometimes leaves the user desiring simpler solutions, which may not offer this almost object-oriented like approach to reusable content, but are at least easier to learn and use.

Pros

Can share and re-use test content
Can create instances of a test that allow for snapshots relevant to the time of execution

Cons

Tricky to learn / Not intuitive
Interface doesn't make the re-use of test content as straight forward as it could be
Attachment system can result in a messy collection of files stored within repository (and can then make selecting attachments tricky too)

Response from Inflectra

I'm sorry that you found it harder to use SpiraTest than anticipated. We put significant effort into the UX to make it work for teams and projects of different sizes, and we will certainly listen to your feedback to see how we can do even better.

Vino Kumar
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Prefect Monitoring Solution for Testing

Reviewed on 3/16/2018

Pros

The User Interface and Test Case structure is amazing. ST got folder structure so that users can setup the modules per folder per release. I can execute same test case for each release.

Cons

The lack of branching and versioning of test cases. Need to improve in requirements for test steps. SpiraTest requires too many resources

Arie
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Spiratests is for us qualified to support our testorganisation and even improve our organisatio...

Reviewed on 4/9/2009

Spiratests is for us qualified to support our testorganisation and even improve our organisation. We just installed it and used it. All users are surprised with the results.

Pros

Easy tu use and to implement. Even with relative small knowledge of testing organisation. Our testeam is very enthousiastic of the results. We are testing a major upgrade and we are using this project to test Spiratest. We have a clear overview now of the the testresults. Because of the furtures of the software we also learn to improve our testorganisation.

Cons

Difficult to install on a pc as a common user. However. For system administrators the installation software makes it easy for people with their skills.

P
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great tool at a great price!

Reviewed on 3/1/2016

Really intuitive and easy to use.
Does everything we need it to:
- captures requirements
- allows us to plan and design tests (and map requirements to them)
- execute test runs and log incidents on the fly
- with the option of managing incidents separately too
- brilliant how related artefacts keep track of each other and the users can, at a glance, assess the overall progression of testing
- document collaboration
- really flexible and easy to customise from an Admin perspective as well
- LDAP and email notification functionality really useful
- huge array of useful add-ons
- absolutely inexpensive when compared to HP Quality Centre.

Claus
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Highly adaptable and flexible solution that has lifted our test organization.

Reviewed on 3/8/2016

When we started out using SpiraTest nearly 4 years ago, we didn't have a structured process for mapping Requirements to Test Case coverage, or indeed test results.

We started out from scratch, and have since expanded the use of the tool inside our organization to our remote location also.
SpiraTest has enabled us to gain clear tracability and easy test case management, that makes regression test planning easy, and development of new test cases clear.

We look forward to the continued development of the Web interface for test execution, which is the only drawback I can see compared to other solutions on the market.

Torsten
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Not for everyone

Reviewed on 10/10/2012

Spiratest has a lot of features but is very annoying to work with. If you have a very rigid development process it might be a product for you but if you are into more agile processes and/or get annoyed by bad UX this is not a product for you.

Pros

Very feature rich

Cons

Slow

Extremely lousy inline editing of test cases

UX needs major improvements

You loose edits of test steps if pressing save before update

Workflow is very waterfall or V-model centric.

Response from Inflectra

We're sorry to hear that Torsten didn't find SpiraTest appropriate for his organization. The version he's using is not the most recent one and many of his items of feedback have already been addressed, and the others are addressed in the upcoming v4.0 release.

Specifically the feedback around Agile is interesting since SpiraTest provides built-in support for user stories, sprints (iterations), unit test integration and acceptance tests mapped to user stories.

The UI has been completely updated in our v4.0 release which addresses the UX issues.

Anna Lucovsky
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Great test and requirement management tool

Reviewed on 3/5/2014

Our company uses SpiraTest for over 5 years already and it helps us to keep our tests in order and track status and progress of the QA tasks

Pros

Wide range of functionality, comparable with industry leaders in this field (e.g. HP QC)
Simple and reliable installation and configuration
Good value for money
Excellent support
Many integration capabilities with other tools

Cons

There are few UI issues here and there
Reports are OK, but could still be improved

Sándor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Try to test case design, test set, test execution, incident review

Reviewed on 8/27/2018

One of our clients uses this software as a test manager tool. I registered to practice. The user interface was a bit unusual. It functionally met my expectations.
++ cloud-based version did not have to be downloaded
++ more options for evaluation (not just one)
Thanks for the opportunity.

Pros

easy to use, same design entities, fast learning, immediately used

Cons

scrolling (entity data does not view one screen)

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

i don't want your software

Reviewed on 3/28/2019

hard sales pushing without regards towards user experience on trial signup. cannot cancel trial. cannot be removed from emails, which is illegal. this is a form of harassment which is unwelcome in the current technology climate. change your ways !!

Pros

nothing about it interests me and i do not want your trial.

Cons

forced signup. no way to cancel trial. no way to opt-out of emails, which is illegal in the U.S.

Response from Inflectra

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the trial of SpiraTest and your experience overall.

We send the emails upon signup unless indicated otherwise to assist with the onboarding experience. Many customers find them helpful, I am sorry that you did not.

We are always happy to unsubscribe you after the fact and/or cancel a trial, just reply to our email with Unsubscribe. Happy to assist further.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Excellent customer support.

Reviewed on 8/20/2008

Still early, but based on my experience with this tool and with Test Director, I believe that this tool would be the way to go. Especially from an ROI perspective. For a QA Test Management solution, it seems like it will be excellent.

Pros

Excellent customer support. If you have a question, they answer it quickly and with complete straight forward answers.

Excellent cost. This makes it accessible to every company with QA and Test Management needs.

Pretty straight forward.

Cons

None encountered yet.

Amanda
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

The product is quick and easy to use right out of the box.

Reviewed on 6/10/2009

The product is quick and easy to use right out of the box. It is a great answer to our QA Management needs, especially for a smaller company like ours.

Pros

The support team has been excellent. I really appreciate their prompt, courteous responses!

Very affordable.

Cons

My only compaint is the lack of integration with Axosoft Ontime. Although it is my understanding that is coming very soon.

Response from Inflectra

We have released integration with AxoSoft OnTime since this review was written.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 7/14/2015

Leo
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

SpiraTest is the best you can find on the market for an affordable price

Reviewed on 1/31/2010

When I was looking for a test management tool to replace the one we used before, I noticed SpiraTeam/SpiraTest.
The tool is so rich, I wonder why not everybody is using it for measuring the quality of their developments.

Pros

- web based
- learning curve is pretty short
- with many features and add ons
- fits exactly our methodology
- reporting is great

Cons

can't think about any