166 reviews

Overall rating

4.2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
166 reviews
Jonathan O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

PM tool is not bad, but integrated time/expense/invoice processing did not work.

Reviewed on 2018-05-09

We got very little benefit from this software, as it did not perform as expected.

Pros

Project management tool is comparable to MS Project. Users that are looking for a subscription PM product rather than purchasing MS Project may benefit from this software, but I am not sure if all PM features are available out-of-the-box at cheaper subscription levels.

Cons

Although the PM tool is comparable to MS Project, it also comes with a level of complication also comparable to MS Project. Full functionality of PM (i.e. including resource management) requires buy-in by all departments/users in the company, and this is difficult to acheive in large or diverse organizations.

Our company implemeted this software with the goal of bringing project management together with time reporting, expense reporting, and invoice processing. The purpose of implementing Clarizen was to have a centralized system where we could report project status by including all relevant metrics on the project in a list or detailed view, e.g. planned time vs. actual time, planned cost vs. actual cost, and project manager comments/narrative on goal vs. result. This purpose was never realized. Clarizen underestimated the work effort to develop customizations, which resulted in the time module never being completed, the expense/invoice modules were cumbersome to use, the related approval workflows had many problems, and support from Clarizen management was almost non-existent.

We are now taking a different approach. No longer do we believe that one system can handle all our needs, and so we have adopted different systems with some integration between them to try to bring together all project-related data.

Bryce V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everything we needed to take our team to the next level

Reviewed on 2018-12-12

We needed to evaluate how we could best deliver a quick first time to value for our customers on our implementation team.

Pros

Clarizen enabled our team to effectively manage the numerous projects we had while surfacing the insights we needed to make business decisions.

Cons

Like any software that is aimed at solving complex business problems, Clarizen had so many features that it became overwhelming to our team during implementation. When a business has to undergo major changes to their operations, it needs the transition to be as easy as possible. This is more of a critique for most large software solutions as opposed to just Clarizen.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great project management software

Reviewed on 2018-01-23

Pros

This tool can be used for simple project management or complex projects. It can be used to do both simultaneously. Great tool!

Cons

It was intense to get started with the tool as there were so many options. Once you figure out what is best for you, then the tool is much easier to use.

Garret S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Clarizen has been a solid tool for us when expanding our professional services organization.

Reviewed on 2017-09-04

Visibility into projects across the entire professional services portfolio. This gave us a better understanding of our teams and how they were utilized.

Pros

The ability to customize Clarizen is one of it's strongest features. While not as advanced as some of the bigger SaaS players like Salesforce, it still provides a robust set of features to allow you to create custom business processes to accomplish your companies goals. They compete pretty well against other companies with much larger teams.

Another great feature we use a lot is the expansive and complex WBSs you can have for projects. This allowed us to have a better sense of project flow and visibility to where our projects are at.

Cons

Our biggest struggle comes with the idea that a PSA should be a three legged stool (projects/task management, time tracking/resource management, and project financial management). We can only seem to make two work at a time with Clarizen. Our PMs want some pretty detailed project plans to really understand where tasks are and who is responsible, but when you implement that with time tracking it becomes a nightmare for resources to know where to submit there time entries.

As our organization grew, the financials and resource management became more important that detailed project plans so we struggled to find a balance of how detailed our WBSs should be because everything within the project plan was tied to time entries and drove project cost. It has become pretty administrative for some of our PMs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Finally one project management platform that got it all

Reviewed on 2017-11-02

Pros

One single platform where both project information and customer information meet, thanks to the Salesforce.com integration. This enables salespeople to keep a real-time view on margins and project progress, without them needing to ask a project manager for a status update or a meeting. The information is right there, up to date and accurate.

Cons

You need to make a solid business case and build a real plan to get the budget approved. Most companies have a lot of tools and some work together with others and... but none beat Clarizen if you ask me - it is a "one-stop" to get all information. So do the math to show you can save money by centralizing the tools, and that you can lower the time spent on managing different solutions. It helps if you show dashboards: management likes dashboards (and numbers).
Clarizen was not so easy to explain to the whole team, it is a very complete solution. So we decided to "drip-feed" it to the teams.

Leo L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise grade PSA Solution

Reviewed on 2016-11-11

As our organization grew we knew need to migrate from our existing PM tool. We initiated an exhaustive search to find the best solution for our business. There are hundreds of "PM" tools out there of various shapes and sizes. We quickly narrowed this down to a handful of potential partners. We found Clarizen to be the best fit for our business. Clarizen accomplished 80% of our requirements out of the box. Because of the solutions extreme flexibility we were able to develop custom workflows to meet the rest of our requirements. Clarizen is scaleable to meet our growing business needs.

Pros

Extremely flexible in all aspects of the solution. The end user can customize the views to best fit his specific work requirements. Sys Admins can configure the system to provide custom functionality. Software updates occur regularly and they provide meaningful enhancements and bug fixes. Support has been great.

Cons

Honestly, not come to mind.

Jonathan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effective & Customisable Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 2016-09-30

Clarizen has moved us from spreadsheet based project management to collaborative, efficient portfolio management. Adopting Clarizen was straight-forward and it was quick to see the benefits. Managing many projects simultaneously across many customers and project types is now possible and manageable.

Our development team have a much easier time of knowing what they should be working on in disparate cross-company project teams. The accompanying iPhone and Android apps help ensuring time-sheets are kept updated and communications are not missed.

It is hugely customisable in regards to setting up simple forms, workflows with notifications and visual aids. We've been able to recreate our own methodologies in Clarizen.

The only issue we have had is reaching the limit of custom fields possible without moving to the unlimited license model.

Support has been excellent and dependable.

Peter K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Clarizen: Perpetual Motion Towards Great

Reviewed on 2015-08-22

I started using Clarizen 18 months ago to manage multiple complex projects and to corral a pool of shared resources. Out of the gate, Clarion performed well. But what I am most impressed with is the perpetual evolution towards great. Updates are delivered on a regular basis and deliver meaningful improvements.

Pros

At its core, Clarion is a strong project portfolio management tool. The social media element is seamlessly incorporated and has added a valuable dimension to project management. The resource management component is strong and just got stronger with the Summer '15 update. And, most important, Clarizen provides a high-availability SaaS platform. They haven't left me hanging.

Cons

I am still waiting for a mechanism to assign multiple managers to a task. Our projects span multiple shifts. I need a mechanism to allow all shift supervisors to adjust tasks and sub-tasks as needed.

The pricing model could be improved. The number of customizations are limited in all except the Enterprise package. We use all three customizations in our package and, at times, turn some off so we can turn others on. Surely a better balance can be reached.

Neyda jose M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic software!

Reviewed on 2019-01-20

Pros

It is a phenomenal software because it offers great features to carry out a great management of business projects from the handling of mail, schedules and much more, offers excellent support as they answer any questions or problems personally ie go to the company to solve the inconvenience in the best time possible so not be satisfied with this great tool would be inappropriate because unlike other software works very well and provide a perfect orientation thus allowing to understand the operation of the software quickly that is why it is truly useful because through it we have everything in one place.

Cons

It may present some flaws but due to its very effective support it is something for which the use of this great software should not be limited.

Babar S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Clarizen makes project management easy

Reviewed on 2016-08-29

Working on clarizen was a new world for me as I had never used an online project management tool. As most project managers it is hard to move out of the comfort zone which really works, but Clarizen was different. It provided the flexibility of updating projects on the go as well as task assignment to resources and updates to stake holders. Clarizen also helped us to decrease the time to update project status as it was easy to get reminders on updates and also daily status reports on emails for escalation. The social collaboration part is one of the best I have experienced so far on any type of platform for the "working" environment.

Pros

Social Collaboration
Customization right down to the fields being used in each and every element.

Cons

I would see that at times the interface due to it's beauty becomes a bit slow.

Jeff H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

It Can Do Just About Anything...*

Reviewed on 2016-01-20

*...with the right knowledge of programming or significant investment in their custom programming services.

If you can think it, Clarizen can probably do it. It's that flexible. That's my all-encompassing endorsement of the app. It's just that good!

On the downside, the app can be a little slow at times--mainly slow page loads or inconsistent page refreshing. There are minor oddities and head-scratchers here and there (like it won't load more than 50 items on a page at a time without waiting for a further page reload), but we've been willing to settle for those quirks in exchange for the system's incredible flexibility and powerful tools, configuration, filtering, reporting, etc.

One other thing that is of note... we have been using the app for 2 years and have had at least 4 different account reps. And they all have three things in common: they tend to want to only speak with you by appointment, they seem to be in a hurry when they do speak to you, and they are always ready and willing to sell you something without listening very well. So just be prepared for that and demand that they slow down.

Tech support is thorough, but slow and sometimes it takes a while to get resolution to issues that aren't life-threatening.

All-in-all, we've found Clarizen to be the most flexible, versatile, powerful tool out there. All of the people we've dealt with are likable and eager to help...just not on our terms, which is the place they could improve the most.

Joseph K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent PPM

Reviewed on 2016-08-25

Compared all PPM solutions we have used in the past Clarizen provided a much needed increase in reporting and customization to meet our needs. It allows us to not only track the additional information we need but report on it in a way that make portfolio review much easier that it had previously been

Pros

Modern look and feel, customization, and reporting.

Cons

External collaborator option is too expensive, e-mail tracking and integration for capturing communication customers who are not users in Clarizen is limited

Bobbejo K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Clarizen more than project management

Reviewed on 2016-07-25

Clarizen was brought into our company as a project management solution. We quickly learned that it is so much more than that and soon it was in all parts of our company.

Pros

Clarizen is easy to customize and has a wonderful roadmap and gantt chart.

Cons

It is designed for people to go in an update their own work, however, it seems hard to get buy in. Therefore, the PMs still end up doing most of the work.

Matt B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very capable, customizable & user friendly

Reviewed on 2016-04-05

Pros

This product is very capable. This does mean that it can be complex however. There will be a learning curve based on the level of use your interested in using the software for. The vendor has been very helpful in getting us off the ground and holding one-on-one training webinars. We have also found the software to be highly customizable. There have only been a couple of things we'd like to customize that currently isn't an option. The others we've changed to how "we" want to use the software. And, the software is user friendly. It did not take us long to figure out how to start entering projects and tasks. The admin role can be a little overwhelming, but the user role is pretty straight forward.

Cons

The team at Clarizen has been very diligent in their training approach. I'm sure they do so to ensure their clients' success. For us though, it's been too slow. If you know how to use Microsoft Project or other project management software, a lot of the training they will go through is common knowledge.

Sharad G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best management tool with coolaborative options

Reviewed on 2018-03-20

Pros

Great new social media and project management collaboration tools with V6. Creating and saving templates is much more intuitive in this new release.

Cons

It doesn't play well with IE; processing time is way too long. There is a substantial delay when working in IE with the application.

Avnish B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Value for money and user friendly staff

Reviewed on 2017-07-13

Very good value for money and excellent product for medium to small enterprises

Pros

Easy to configure and easy to use product. Staff can be trained quickly and product can be launched in short timeframes.

Cons

Interfaces development that is not standard take too long. So might need work around some times as required.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great PM tool if set up correctly

Reviewed on 2019-06-13

Pros

- so many features/functionality
- lots of ways to customize PM workflows
- all the options needed for managing waterfall projects and some agile

Cons

- could use more work on agile features and especially the kanban board

Robin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is a Manager's Choice which enables seamless social integration

Reviewed on 2018-04-04

Pros

I just love the tool because of its social media integration capability, the realistic information which the software provides is just awesome.

Cons

I wish if the prices become reasonable and they were supposed to be not just a project management toold.

Brian B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Project Management Tool!

Reviewed on 2016-04-25

Pros

Innovation. Clarizen seems to be not content with it's product and continues to innovate new features that we take advantage of. We have also brought a lot of custom scenarios to them that they have been able to develop and implement with our company.

Cons

Tough to get a lot of time with your personal account manager after implementation. I know there is is of course never enough time but yo always want more.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Brought order to our project portfolio

Reviewed on 2018-12-26

Given its complexity, it is still very approachable and you can start using it right away, adding the more advanced features as you go. It is a tool that can be utilized by team members at all levels, and their experience can be controlled with customizable views and profiles.

Pros

Completely customizable to meet the needs of each individual, team, or business. The ability to create custom workflows and objects allows for automation and can improve any project management scenario.

Cons

The complexity does require a lot of setup and training, but once it's complete it is very easy to maintain.

Neha H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

review for clarien

Reviewed on 2017-05-12

Pros

Clarizen planning tools allow project managers to define the scope and size of projects and estimate resource and workforce requirements.

Cons

Seemed a bit expensive, and for our needs we found that any license except the most expensive was pretty useless. The levels of functionality in the lower licenses didn't help us at all. We ended up getting all licenses at the highest level.

Erne I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Mandatory $7,500 Onboarding Fee Sucks

Reviewed on 2016-12-18

I've been using an extended trial of Clarizen for several months. I love it, but when I was ready to subscribe the fee was high. High but affordable and worth it. What nobody told until I was ready to pay is that there is a mandatory minimum onboarding fee. That's not cool.

Pros

Easy to use, comprehensive tool

Cons

Onboarding fee of $7,500

Drithal K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Clarizen PM Tool

Reviewed on 2016-11-07

Interesting experience, however the tool is too detailed and not easy to use if you are not a PM. There are too many dependencies that need to be filled in before moving ahead. The timesheet feature is not very user friendly. No integration with QuickBooks online Canada. No customization allowed with this tool.

Pros

It captures the right areas required for project management, provides more detail that Microsoft project and allows for all projects to be captures in one place. Has great reporting and pictures of timelines and milestones

Cons

Timesheets are to complicated and difficult to complete. No option for capturing project expenses against a project. difficult to enter in dependencies, very repetitive task, rather than allowing for templates to be used.

Avnish B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Wing to Wing PPM Integration, Information Visibility, and Improvement

Reviewed on 2016-06-26

Pros

Integration of PPM with Resource Allocation, Capacity Planning, and Finance.

Cons

Data and Reports based on Calander days require manual steps.

Damiano C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good collaboration tool

Reviewed on 2019-05-04

Pros

Great set of features for project management. Good integration with social media

Cons

Not very efficient tracking and task allocation system, they could be improved