FastPIPE

4.7 (132)
Plumbing & mechanical estimating software for contractors

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(132)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support Software
4.9/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

132 Reviews

EDWARD
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FastPIPE Review

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN VERY GOOD. THE SOFTWARE IS EASY TO LEARN AND THE SUPPORT IS FANTASTIC WHEN REQUIRED (INSTALLING ON NEW LAPTOP).

Pros

THE ABILITY TO IMPORT PLANS, PROCEED WITH TAKEOFF, AND OVERLAY REVISED PLANS TO SEE THE CHANGES THAT HAVE BEEN MADE. THE ABILITY TO INCREASE THE PLAN SIZE IN TAKEOFF IS A GREAT ASSET AS YOU CAN PRINT THE VISIBLE PORTION ONLY IF REQUIRED.

Cons

I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A SEARCH BAR TO FIND PAST JOBS AND I WOULD LIKE THE JOB LIST TO BE AT THE TOP IN LIEU OF REFRESHING.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Edward! We appreciate your feedback.

Per your comments in your review, I believe you're on our latest version nowadays (version 20.1.1), so you now have both job list search and catalog search available, among other search options we've recently added.

And related to job list refresh, let us know of your exact issue. If it's related to needing to view your most recent bids at the top of your list, you can click the "Bid Date" header to sort by oldest or newest, depending on your preference.

Thank you again for your input -- please reach out anytime at 800-828-7108 for any questions or further suggestions you might have.

Jack
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Feedback

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Customer support is excellent.
I was putting is extra time on the week-end bidding and take-off of a motel last year . I had an issue with the program not working properly (not sure what happened), but put a call in early Sunday morning and had a response with-in two hours. FastEst Rep had me back up and running with-in minutes.

Pros

User friendly and the maneuverability thru-out the program.

Cons

Not able to copy a second plan. Example. (I load up the plans needed, but sometimes, I would like to be able to have a second copy of a single sheet, but not been able to do that).

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Jack! We appreciate your feedback.

Call us whenever you have a few minutes (800-828-7108). There are a couple of ways you can get a second copy of the same plan into your estimate, and we're happy to show you how.

Bradley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Mission

Reviewed on 11/6/2019

I like that it does everything that you can do

Pros

It helps with labor And material for projects

Cons

Set up and updates it takes time and you can not back up in the cost

Charlie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fast Pipe

Reviewed on 10/24/2022

Pros

transition was not to bad, the training class was worth the time, it saved time for the learning process and we learned a lot of short cuts

Cons

that program won't save pricing from actual bid time. if you need to break out for schedule of values at a later date it requires you to recalculate which changes pricing if there have been any updates.

Brad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fastpipe

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Pros

Very easy to learn and navigate, Fast takeoffs

Cons

1. Can not update original drawings with addendum drawings.
2. Can not preform area square foot measurements on the drawing.
3. Its hard to quickly take off multiple items.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Brad! We appreciate your feedback.

Let us know when you have some time to chat -- we can fill you in on numerous helpful features within our FastPIPE program.

These include, but aren't limited to: Plan Overlay and Plan Replacement (both helpful when it comes to addenda plans and other revised estimate drawings); setting up a Job Item for calculating measurements like area per square foot, lengths per linear foot, etc; and the use of assemblies, AutoConnect, and the new QuickPick menu (all helpful ways to help you take off your estimates faster).

Thank you again for your review, Brad!

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FastPipe is a lifesaver

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Our company is involved in may multi-million dollar projects. Many that are not designed when we first receive the plans. FastPipe allows me to draw piping while creating an estimate and afterwards, I can print the plans with my layout to share with the owner/engineer team to indicate the extensiveness we went through to create an accurate budget. Additionally, we now don't have the need for so many people to complete the task of estimating which frees up resources for other departments

Pros

This software allows me to take on at a minimum twice the projects compared to taking PVF off by hand. I have used other estimating software in the past that really over complicated the process

Cons

Some of the takeoff button script is a little on the small side. Larger text would be helpful but its a give and take as I don't want to lose takeoff screen size for larger text

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Jason! We truly value your feedback.

We're here for you, if you or any of your other team members ever have any questions or need assistance with the FastPIPE program. Call us anytime at 800-828-7108.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FAST PIPE

Reviewed on 11/5/2019

I have been using Fast pipe for over 20 years and it allows me to estimate a job accurately and have it organized for installation. its just a very efficient way to estimate a job.

Pros

-The ease of use is awesome. you can down load a set of drawings set the scale and start taking a job off very quickly.
-The assembly's you can create along with the standard ones already set up make take offs very fast.
-The fact that you can print the colored take off drawings and have all the systems with a different color is great to hand to the field.
- Great for doing design build job estimating as you can draw the pipe as you go and have job laid out. much more accurate way to price.
- Printing material list by system and or material type or by area. gives you a lot of variations to get materials ordered for the job.
- they are constantly updating the software and data base to keep it current.

Cons

- Really do not have any con's. As stated above they are constantly updating the software with improvements and data base.

Edward
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Estimating software on the market!

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

I have been estimating for almost 20 years and have used two other programs before Fastpipe and can say honestly that fastpipe is by far the best and easiest estimating program I have use. They listen to any changes we think would improve there product, I use it daily for over 7 years now.

Pros

Reliable, easy to uses, Fastpipe always keeps up on updating the data base and are always improving their product to keep up or stay ahead of the market. Great customer service, we have built up a relationship with the guys both professionally and personally.

Cons

The only thing I can think of if we could have (2) of the program open on one computer once we have (2) or more licences.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Ed! We truly value your feedback.

As you mentioned, we are always receptive to any feedback and suggestions from customers (that's how many of our best and most helpful features have come to fruition).

Please reach out at any point, as we're happy to help with any questions or problems big or small.

Thank you again, Ed, for your review of FastPIPE!

Vern
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I am an Estimator with 35 years of practice, all types of programs

Reviewed on 2/8/2016

Pros

Ease of learning.
Comprehensive materials price service provided.
Availability to many industry standard labor data bases and accuracy of Fast Est Materials labor data.
Assemblies,
Reports available exportable to Excel. Ability to import data from other takeoff.
Ability to copy plans from Fast pipe to Fast duct or vice versa, saving time for job setup,
Customizable Bid workbook to fit company needs,
Ability to feed into combined Pipe and Duct workbook from either Fast Pipe or Fast Duct program,
Takeoff tools within program, ability to replicate visuals and paste for repeated patterns, Scaling options great
Customer support is the best I have ever experienced
Cost of programs and yearly support fees are very competitive. Absolute best bang for the buck.
Ease of copying take for show and tell purposes
Program is entirely flexible to be used in network configuration or stand alone.

Cons

Nothing to not like. The product is the best software I've used in my career.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efficient for use and cost

Reviewed on 11/4/2019

Many years ago we realized our old estimating software was not efficient with regards to assemblies and reports - we had too many estimators spending time making reports for operations, rather than helping cost new opportunities. After reviewing several softwares, we found that the support from FASTPIPE during the sales process was a good indication of how they would be after the sale - they were top-notch all the way. We immediately noticed the setup and training was easy and that we could send data to operations and let them run reports however they wanted, which saved us time. The cost was also much more competitive than several other options, which is a nice benefit.

Pros

FASTPIPE is easy to start, easy to use, provides all reports in native Excel format, and an excellent value for the money. Though it is rare that we need assistance, the customer support is second to none. We have always received immediate responses to our questions, and that matters in today's fast-paced world. I highly recommend this product whether you are doing $100k or $100M bids.

Cons

I would like a few more options in terms of custom reporting, but the EXPORT feature does a good job of handling most of those. Would also like some more options when setting up specifications for underground work.

Alternatives Considered

Trimble Accubid Anywhere, QuoteSoft and IntelliBid

Reasons for Choosing FastPIPE

See notes above

Reasons for Switching to FastPIPE

See notes above
Ronald
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FastPIPE Usage

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

It has been a huge asset for us in the estimating of our bids.

Pros

I like being able to create job items and assemblies that can be used on multiple jobs. i love being able to sort and filter the material worksheets to get information for different phases of work. I also want to praise the technical support staff at FastPIPE. They have been there whenever I have a question or a problem. They are outstanding!

Cons

I wish we were able to manipulate the fittings list on the takeoffs to place the most commonly used fittings together

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Ronald! We appreciate your feedback.

On our latest version of FastPIPE, which I believe you're currently running, we now have a way to customize your fittings menu, so that you can have more common fittings placed towards the top of your list.

Give us a call at 800-828-7108 and we can show you how to customize your specs!

Thanks again, Ronald!

efrain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Efficient

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

It has solved our estimation quote problems. ours numbers have gotten a lot more closer than they were before.

Pros

Program is very flexible. It will allow you to get as detailed as possible or you can make it as basic as you want and still get an accurate reading of what you are trying to do.

Cons

updating pricing is a hassle. other estimating programs i use i just update and it is done. with this program, i have to go in and adjust pricing due to pre-loaded specs.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review of our FastPIPE program, Efrain! We truly value your feedback as a customer.

Reach out to us at any point at 800-828-7108; we'd be happy to discuss our material pricing updates with you. Usually, we can just adjust your template specs one time, then they should be synchronized with the corresponding material prices from the catalog.

Thanks again for your review!

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in Industry, in my opinion

Reviewed on 8/16/2017

I believe this is the highest quality estimating system you can buy. The support is awesome, problems resolved within an hour at most. easy to learn... I could go on but at a minimum give theses guys a chance if you are looking to buy a system.

Pros

This program allows me to estimate with speed and confidence. I have the right material and labor every time. Great for young estimators and old dogs like me. Packed with everything I need and lots of features. With this program I can tackle any project that comes my way. I can't tell you how impressed I am without you thinking I work for the company. But the truth is the truth and this program is the best I ever used.

Cons

If it was only FREE but I digress. It would be nice to have more mark up functions such as clouding.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great software

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

it's in the Pros

Pros

there customer service is the best , i think our company is one of the beta users .They have got the best system in the industries . they have a great team . always looking to make it easy to use . I have had to call them numerous times , it was't the software it was me

Cons

i have no comments , it's very ease to work with

Response from FastEST

Thank you so much for your review, Dan!

We truly value your feedback, especially as one of our most loyal and long-standing customers.

Please reach out at any point, if you need any assistance or have any questions or suggestions. Thanks again!

Ron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Plumbing contractor review

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

The ability to see what was actually "taken off" therefore streamlining the bidding process and becoming more efficient overall.

Pros

1.The ease and speed at which a takeoff can be performed.
2.The ease at which changes could be made to an existing takeoff if material types changed midway through a bid.
3. The speed at which change orders can be produced.

Cons

Setting up different specs can be somewhat daunting.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Ron. We appreciate your feedback.

Reach out to us at any time -- we'd be happy to assist you with building up any specs you might need for a given estimate.

You can call us at 800-828-7108, or email us at [email protected]

Thanks again, Ron!

Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

For better or worse

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Pros

Easy to run. Time saver. Good spreadsheets.

Cons

Had one problem when software was updated it had my material pricing messed up and didn't figure it out till I got a few jobs due to bad material pricing that we ended up losing money on.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Sam! We appreciate your feedback.

Sorry to hear about the mishap with the software update that affected your material pricing. Please feel free to reach out to us at any point at 800-828-7108, if you ever have any questions or concerns about any aspects of the program, assistance with upgrading, or any other items.

Once again, we appreciate your taking the time to submit a product review for FastPIPE.

Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software review

Reviewed on 11/5/2019

This software allows us to bid on a lot of projects. Job set up is easy and the take off is a breeze. You can customize each job for your needs.

Pros

Ease of use. Customer support is always on point. Notifications about pricing changes are sent out as needed. Training seminars are available several times a year throughout the US.

Cons

We haven't updated to the newest version (18), I know there have been several improvements made. I really can't comment on this as of yet.

Drew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best software for the best value

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Overall, FastPIPE helps us achieve our business goals.

Pros

Ease of use & excellent customer service

Cons

Lacking hotkeys, have to mouse off plan.

Alternatives Considered

Trimble AutoBid Mechanical and QuoteSoft

Reasons for Choosing FastPIPE

Maxwell Estimation was outdated as we moved into the digital age.

Reasons for Switching to FastPIPE

Cost, and ease of use.

Response from FastEST

Drew, thanks for leaving a review for our FastPIPE program. We appreciate the honest feedback.

Hotkeys are coming soon -- we hope to have that in our newest release, due out in the next month or two!

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast pipe = Fast estimates

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Pros

The best part about the software is how efficient you can be using it. We have our live pricing for piping materials which makes it accurate and the support from the fastest team is great. The software is very easy to learn and very user friendly.

Cons

Only con is getting used to the software, learning how it works, and getting the specs setup for your specific materials and local codes. Once your setup I don't think there are any cons.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review of FastPIPE, Greg! We appreciate your feedback and continued business. Our support staff is always available to address any questions should they arise!

Jim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and Reliable

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

The customer service at FastEst is the best I have experienced with a software company. You can always get technical hands on help from their team. They can remotely log on to your computer to step you through your issues. It actually ends up being a quick tutorial sometimes.

Pros

The software is very intuitive to use. It is constantly being updated. I can design a job at the same time that I'm taking it off. Changes are easily made to update budgets.

Cons

I would like to see more pre-built assemblies

Response from FastEST

Thank you, Jim. We appreciate you leaving a review, and value your feedback!

We appreciate the positive replies. And please reach out when you have a few minutes, at 800-828-7108. In the past few months, we've developed some new VRF system assemblies that we can pass along to you (from previous conversations, I think that's work that your company has been doing more of lately?)

Thanks again, Jim!

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love your product

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

love the support

Pros

I only do the material take off. for me it is very easy to use

Cons

I think there can be a few things added. Like counting core hole when adding risers on the rough-in

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review of FastPIPE, Greg! We appreciate your feedback.

Setting up an assembly might be a good way to takeoff the combination of a hole-core and riser with one markup on your plan. Give us a call at 800-828-7108, and we can show you how to set one up!

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FASTEST

Reviewed on 11/16/2019

The man hours are close to accurate using factor 1, but the commercial factor bad. Overall it works but frustrates me as well. My business either thrives or dies using it.

Pros

Accurate way to do take offs, great reports for ordering material and managing labor hours.

Cons

Using the highlighter to do as built drawing and make corrections or provide information to my field staff needs improvement.

Rodney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast pipe best estimating software out there

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

It’s been great and set up to implement new updates was easier with IT

Pros

Accuracy and spread sheets with excellent excel breakdowns

Cons

Updates from software with customer service and IT set up thru network

Deet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Product can be improved

Reviewed on 11/5/2019

We are able to provide a superior service in a timely manner because of the capability of the product.

Pros

The ability to take off materials from a plan and provide a cost estimate. EG: 1. Identify pipe length of pipe between two fittings, then able to spit out material and labor in an excel file. 2. It can see multiple drawings. 3. Allows for material cost change.

Cons

Some of the inflexibility of the program. EG: When there are multiple fittings on the plan, a toggle switch would be helpful to choose which fitting to connect to. 2. It cannot see multiple drawings simultaneously (plan & diagram view). 3. It cannot enter material quote at take off.

Mina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most user friendly on screen takeoff tool in the market

Reviewed on 11/4/2019

Great Experience

Pros

The user interface make the product very easy to train new users on.
Also, the various options of reporting allows the users to utilize the output data to build an accurate estimate.

Cons

Would like to see more integrations with CAD and Bluebeam