FastDUCT

4.6 (34)
HVAC estimating software for sheet metal contractors

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(34)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support Software
4.9/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

34 Reviews

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

FastDUCT overall is an excellent choice to make if you want speed and detail. The price is also very reasonable

Pros

This product has all the bells and whistles you need, fast and easy to learn, on screen takeoff, and the ability to customize to suit your style of working. The people there are always ready to answer questions when the need arises. This product along with Fastpipe is used daily by me and I highly recommend you give it a try.

Cons

I can't think of any at the time of this review. This product has it all covered.

Alternatives Considered

QuoteSoft

Reasons for Choosing FastDUCT

The price and ease of use FastDUCT provided has been an easy choice

Reasons for Switching to FastDUCT

It made sense to buy my plumbing and hvac software from the same company.
Bruce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FastDuct is a quick and intuitive estimating tool

Reviewed on 10/27/2022

Pros

The ability to make a multitude of different takeoffs/sections for a project

Cons

The Quick Pick Menu could be better customizable

Response from FastEST

Bruce, thanks for the review. About the Quick Pick Menu -- the buttons can be customized within the fitting spec editor, but we realize that can be a tedious process across multiple specs and sizes. If you have any ideas for how it could be easier to use, give us a call at 800-828-7108. We are always looking for ideas of how to improve the software, and we get most of those ideas from users like you. Thanks again.

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sheet metal Commerical use.

Reviewed on 11/11/2019

The one biggest benefit of this program is the time it saves.

Pros

This product is really easy to use. It save a lot of time and you can teek it to match most of your needs.

Cons

You are unable to create your own catalogs and pricing. Some of fast Duct prices are way out of line. An example would be to insert a metalbetsos catalog ,or a norfab. Also the workbook they provide is full of errors that take time to fix.

Mathew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PSM - FastDUCT Review

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

I'm our HVAC Estimator, I commonly put together estimates in the mid six figure range and I can't imagine trying to do this without FastDUCT. We had looked at other software solutions but this is the best one we found hands down.

Pros

The software is very easy to use and understand. Product support is excellent.

Cons

Wish there were keyboard shortcuts for common functions and the ability to click two end points to fill in duct.

Response from FastEST

Thank you very much for your review, Mat! We appreciate your feedback.

We added a larger, more customizable menu of keyboard shortcuts to our latest software version, which I believe your company is currently running. So please let us know if you have any questions about those.

And we don't currently have the AutoConnect feature in our FastDUCT program (like we do in our FastPIPE system), but we will definitely put it on our requested features list for prospective development down the road.

Thank you again for your review, Mat!

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fastduct Review

Reviewed on 11/9/2019

Outstanding when you add up all the benefits. I'll never stop using it.

Pros

I have used Fastduct and Pipe for several years . I not only am able to produce extremely accurate bids and take offs, But I use the recap sheet for quick change out bids for service and construction. Once I set my parameters, its remarkably fun and easy to produce bid after bid and be in the middle with all my competitors and be awarded 80% of my bids. Plus they keep updating with new features which I usually find some of the new features helpful depending what area I am focusing on at that time.

Cons

When setting up your export file to send to a vendor for pricing , it can get a bit overwhelming as the vendor doesn't want all the details as they have to input it into their computer and their computer adds all the little details. So you have to edit it then send it. But for that extra step I can accept it Fastduct and Pipe is awesome !

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best customer support I have ever dealt with.

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

I am in the plan & spec business. Pre-Bid changes are becoming more frequent. I used to dread this especially when the addendum plans are not clouded. With FastDuct this problem has been solved. Bring in the new plan with your previous take off and the changes are obvious and easy to make.

I have never dealt with better customer service. I was working on a Sunday Night and had recently updated my home PC to Windows 10. I tried to open FastDuct and got an error message. 10pm on a Sunday night and not only did I get a phone call from the president but he had me up and running in a few minutes.

Pros

The speed accuracy and customization has allowed us to not only bid more projects but also to handle change orders more efficiently.

Cons

Honestly I cannot think of any negatives.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Mark! We truly value your feedback.

And thank you for the positive comments -- we pride ourselves on our customer support, so we are glad that you are satisfied with our service!

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product from an excellent company

Reviewed on 11/4/2019

We noticed with our old system that many of our estimators were spending time running reports for operations instead of estimating cost for new work. FASTDUCT immediately removed that waste because it creates all reports natively in Excel. We also noticed that the way to setup specs for duct were MUCH more streamlined in FASTDUCT than other products... you could tell the developers had sheetmetal experience.

Pros

FASTDUCT is easy to start, easy to use, provides all reports in native Excel format, and an excellent value for the money. Though it is rare that we need assistance, the customer support is second to none. We have always received immediate responses to our questions, and that matters in today's fast-paced world. I highly recommend this product whether you are doing $100k or $100M bids. The ability to carry multiple tables for labor (shop or field) is also a nice feature if you do different kinds of work or have your own time-studies for certain products.

Cons

I would like some more options when estimating double-walled duct, but they are minor.

Alternatives Considered

Trimble Accubid Anywhere, QuoteSoft and IntelliBid

Reasons for Choosing FastDUCT

See notes above

Reasons for Switching to FastDUCT

See notes above
Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FastDUCT is an excellent tool for the HVAC indusrty

Reviewed on 10/18/2022

My background is HVAC duct fabrication/installation and learning the fastDUCT takeoff software was easy and fast.

Pros

I really like the simplicity of learning the software and the how simple it is to customize my take-offs.

Cons

A feature I would like to see is when taking off rectangular duct system and I choose a square to round fitting, to automatically go into the round duct take off mode.

Response from FastEST

Dave, thanks for the review! Great idea of automatically switching to the round spec when you take off a square to round fitting. We will get that in the next version.

Bruce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buy it & use it, you won't be sorry

Reviewed on 10/27/2022

I've been using it for 7 years here with very good results. I've been doing mechanical estimating over 40 years and I wish I found out about FastDuct earlier on in my career.

Pros

It's very easy to understand & use. Customer support is just a phone call away. Catalog/pricing updates come automatically and keep you running smooth.

Cons

Hmm, not so much on software but material systems such as different pressure class aluminums, FRP ductwork, PVA coated ductwork

Response from FastEST

Bruce, thank you for your review! We value your feedback.

Please reach out at any point if we can help you with any pricing issues, or if you have any questions or suggestions as well!

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

satisfied customer

Reviewed on 10/27/2022

reliable and I trust it's accuracy

Pros

reliable and I trust it's accuracy when comparing hard dollar bids

Cons

not all items on within the system that sometimes I normally use (fittings)

Response from FastEST

David, thank you for your review! We value your feedback.

We are always adding items to the database based on user suggestions so let us know if there are certain items would like to see added to the database! Also reach out if you have any other suggestions or questions.

FELICIA
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

first choice

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

I use fest est software every day it is my go-to software and very dependable, and the service team is excellent. the people from owner to developers and service technicians are very good people and willing to help

Pros

I like how easy it is to change the take-offs and to fix any errors.

Cons

format it gives on the excel sheet, and how it sorts the ducts

Response from FastEST

Thank you for leaving a review of FastDUCT, Felicia! We value your feedback.

Let us know how we can help with the formatting on your final bid spreadsheet, or with the sorting of your duct takeoff, duct reporting, or other information. Depending on the part of the program where you might be having issues, there is sometimes flexibility or customization available.

Thank you again for your review!

Caleb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Value

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

i am able to bid a lot more jobs in a shorter amount of time. pulling up records, making modifications and performing change orders are much easier using the program

Pros

not as costly as other programs on the market but it still has tons of features that provide accurate and detailed estimates for jobs. staff is very quick to respond to any requests for help or troubleshooting.

Cons

because it is set up using national averages it does not reflect local data for the market i work in so we need to constantly make adjustments to multipliers within the program to compensate for the differences. once the multipliers are set up in the program it works fine though.

Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of FastDuct by Daily User

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

Over FastDuct is a very effective tool at performing estimates on projects. It saves time and allows us to be more thorough then previously.

Pros

FastDuct allows me to quickly and accurately perform take offs of most any project we have come across. On top of this when we are completed we can quickly look at projects floor by floor and generate detailed excel spreadsheets of the project. Within this spreadsheet we can also keep track of all additional costs allowing for a very details project breakdown.

Cons

There is no shortcut keys within this software. That means all repetitive tasks need to be clicked through step after step.

Bruce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fastduct review

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Pros

Cut my estimating time in Half and I can easily go back and review jobs.

Cons

not being able to quickly scroll through drawings or find drawing that I had previously
taken off with going through each and every one

Response from FastEST

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Bruce! We appreciate your feedback.

Give us a call at 800-828-7108 when you have a moment. There are a couple ways to toggle between plans or takeoffs, that might be a bit faster than other methods. We'd be happy to show you those options.

Thank you again, Bruce.

Joel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Happy

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Awesome easy to use program, always recommend.

Pros

The ease of use is fantastic. Ability to import new drawings and revised drawings is great.
Customization is easy.

Cons

The way duct is totaled in the summary is not intuitive.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Joel! We always appreciate customer feedback.

Reach out whenever you might have a few minutes, at 800-828-7108. We'd love further input on how our duct summary report might be able to be adjusted or improved upon.

Thanks again, Joel, for your review and your loyalty as a longtime customer.

Vincent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quick and easy to use

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

Very good customer service and good price

Pros

It is simple to use with images of the parts, our junior staff can easily become operational with a short training. The reports are clean and simple to use. We purchase our ductwork and we enjoy the flexibility.

Cons

The settings are flexible but it can be difficult to navigate in the options. Also some softwares have an option of a auto select the elbows etc... And the fact we have to create new sections for acoustic liner can be time consuming.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Vincent. We appreciate your feedback!

Please call us at any time at 800-828-7108 if you have questions about adjusting any settings or options in the program. I know you recently upgraded to our newest version, FastDUCT 20, which has several new features and options available.

Thank you again, Vincent!

Terry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SPSI

Reviewed on 11/11/2019

Customer service is excellent. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable whenever I call. I feel they go up and above to help you.

Pros

Easy to use. Support staff is excellent to work with. No matter what the problem maybe they can fix it. They worked with me on several occasions to develop the perfect excel sheet for my business.

Cons

Would like to see HVAC piping and insulation added to accomplish a complete system.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fastduct Review

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

works well for everyday Estimation

Pros

Take-off ease and speed, use of catalog items.

Cons

difficult to add some specialty items to catalog for repeated use.

Response from FastEST

Thank you for your review, Scott! We appreciate the feedback.

Please feel free to reach out to us at anytime at 800-828-7108. We'd be happy to discuss the specialty or catalog items you mentioned -- there are a couple different ways you can add items, or add them to specific menus, to improve your takeoff experience.

Braeden
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FastEST was the perfect solution for our needs!

Reviewed on 10/25/2022

Pros

The takeoff features have been vital to our day-to-day since using FastEST. We came from doing everything on paper, and now it's so much more convenient, accurate, and easy to do it all digitally.

Cons

I use FastEST in a virtual machine on a mac. Sometimes the software can start to lag if I have a lot of takeoff items already.

Stanley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimating for Mechanical contractors without their own Sheet metal facility

Reviewed on 11/9/2019

Fastduct provides us with a breakdown on materials, shop labor and field labor, making it easier to review Profit or loss at project completion.

Pros

Fastduct is user friendly, easy to make special job items for one time use.
Easy to sort data, break out floors, or duct design type.
Ties into our Sage accounting system.
Over all a very good product.

Cons

does not currently have a search feature.

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Duct Estimating made easy

Reviewed on 11/5/2019

FastDUCT has enabled me to bring more consistency to our bid process by giving me a tool to estimate our man hours better. FastDUCT has also given me a tool to get a pretty good sheet metal estimate together for quick turnaround bids that my vendors can't get out in time.

Pros

The interface is pretty easy to learn.
The customer service is the best I have encountered.

Cons

I would like to see more video tutorials or online help that I can refer to. I work all hours and it would be nice to have those resources available.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

United Mechanical Inc

Reviewed on 10/31/2019

I like the detail you get in the report section

Pros

Doing takeoffs are real easy and you can combine all of your takeoff are you can do real detailed breakouts in the workbook section.

Cons

There is no way to square foot a drawing in the takeoff mode

Response from FastEST

Thanks, Daniel. We appreciate your leaving a review for both our FastPIPE and FastDUCT estimating programs!

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

HVAC Estimating

Reviewed on 10/27/2022

Pretty good.

Pros

It is Excel based. It is easy to work with and understand.

Cons

American pricing and unable to talk with regional HVAC supplier price lists.

Response from FastEST

Dave, thank you for your review! We value your feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out via phone or email if you have any suggestions or we can help your user experience improve in any way!

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have and will recommend

Reviewed on 11/19/2019

Plan and Specs. Not reliant upon "Suppliers" to take complete jobs off. uses it as a checksum.

Pros

Select and drop of fittings ... Drag and drop Duct
Ability to change spec and or sizes

Cons

does not do the connect like plumbing does. only picks up new duct after Transition. Would like to see it after Taps. or flex connectors.

Drew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast Duct

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

Great!

Pros

Probably the easiest duct estimating system. the pictures for fittings are easy to get the correct fitting.

Cons

Nothing it is a great program. I wish all our programs we use was this good.