NAPA TRACS Reviews

NAPA TRACS

Web-based platform for automotive repair shops

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(240)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

79%
recommended this app
Sort by

240 Reviews

Marisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommend

Reviewed on 2022-04-25

We have been using them for a long time and they are constantly updating and keeping up with the...

We have been using them for a long time and they are constantly updating and keeping up with the times. The support is great and have always been able to help me with whatever I need.

Pros

It is very user friendly. We recently switched to Enterprise so we can easily order from Napa, Advance, Worldpac, etc.

Cons

I do not like the coloring on the screen. I liked to be able to easily see when parts were following the pricing rules. I also do not like how the appointment screen looks. It would be nice to be able to see a preview of what the ro is for. I also hate that the RO numbers do not come up when you order from anyone except Napa. Instead it puts a generic purchase order number and you have to guess what the part is for when it gets here.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This is the only autoshop mgmt software we've used; so for what it's worth, I do recommend it

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Pros

We are a growing company and Tracs has helped us with our growing pains. We've been using Tracs for just over 3 years and there are many features we haven't utilized yet, but are looking forward to using. One of my favorite features is the subestimate. You can create as many as you need under one work order and using ProDemand estimating makes it easy for even office staff to create estimates.

Cons

When you accept partial payment on an invoice, it prints the payment type and amount on the invoice, but it also prints PAID in bold letters next to the total. There is no balance printed. There is no ability to apply bulk payments to individual invoices without going into each invoice and accepting payment. Also, I wish there was something in the Customer Account Summary that indicated which invoices were paid and which are outstanding. The statement seems to only apply it to the oldest invoice, even if you apply it within the invoice instead a bulk payment.
RepairLink doesn't support Heavy Duty through Tracs.

Alternatives Considered

AutoTraker

Reasons for Switching to NAPA TRACS

We became a NAPA Autocare,
Anna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

NAPA Tracs - Legacy

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Overall we've had a positive experience with NAPA Tracs.

Overall we've had a positive experience with NAPA Tracs.

Pros

We've used this program almost exclusively for the last 12 years. It has much to offer, but as it's been replaced with the Enterprise software, getting support and improvements can be difficult.

The things we like include being able to group all job-related items together; building jobs with labor, parts and sub-items; ensuring POs are received prior to invoicing; noting how our new customers heard about our business; various report options to help us learn about our productivity. We've just moved our Senior Technician to book time and the two reports that reflect book time are mostly helpful, when the data is accurate.

Cons

There is little to no support for the Legacy software, and the team is clear about there being no improvements to this software - that's frustrating. It's pointless to share other frustrations as the Legacy program is not longer offered to start-up shops for use.

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Is a good program. It could be a lot better.

Reviewed on 2022-06-02

For the most part, the program isn't too bad. It is relatively user friendly. In the "Cons" block...

For the most part, the program isn't too bad. It is relatively user friendly. In the "Cons" block is a list of issues that were noticed and some ideas that could make the system more user friendly.

Pros

The Schedule is easy to use. Ordering parts is very easy. ROs are clean and easy to read.

Cons

Shows another workstation in WO when they are not
Unable to edit Part number
Shows zero communication to order (1 on RO, 0 on PO; none in stock)
If unsaved "New" RO is Open, will Default to that one when trying to start another New RO
Anytime a RO is started, it should generate an appointment block
Under "Appointments" tab, allow limiting to a single day.
Receive all open PO’s at once
Can’t drag an item to the bottom, sometimes have trouble dragging the bottom item up
Put key tag number box in appointment window
An option to not print “repair notes” on job ticket
Merging vehicles sometimes erases the history of vehicle moved
Better highlighting of which Sub-Est is open
When doing a “history” search, after taking action (invoicing) going back to the search list, it is not updated, (still shows as a repair order)
Canceling a RO should delete the appointment
When adjusting price, amount does not highlight.
Needs more info when VIN decoding (is it 4X4 for example)
Automatically save and close a RO after __ (20?) minutes of inactivity.
Show how the backup is progressing
A real nice addition, be able to highlight text
At times, the system moves very slow and freezes, requiring a soft restart of TRACS. This can cause all
updates to a RO to be lost.

Tyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

NAPA tracs has been extremely beneficial in running my business.

Reviewed on 2018-04-02

Pros

NAPA Tracs allows me to write repairs orders quicker and that allows to help customer's quicker. It has allowed to keep track of inventory and parts ordering. It also helps me track efficiency in the shop. When calling support they have always been helpful in resolving my issue quickly.

Cons

I would like to see a better VIN decoder in the pro link portion of tracs. I would like to see easier ways to generate reports. I would also like to see a better parts return function in Tracs.

Response from NAPA Auto Parts

Tyler,

Thanks for your review.

The VIN Decoder used at NAPA is built and run by the NAPA Catalog Team. They provide us with the toolset used in TAMS, NAPA PROLink as well as NAPA TRACS. TRACS is testing Plate to VIN and a new Vin Decoder right now. It should be rolled out to all customers this by end of Q2 2018. If you contact Support, they can update you immediately.

I will call you on the other two comments. Jon Luttrell, General Manager, NAPA TRACS

Michele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

napa tracs review

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

I have introductory pricing and ProDemand at a good price as a bundle So that has been a good...

I have introductory pricing and ProDemand at a good price as a bundle So that has been a good but once the price goes up I will end up paying for software features I don't use If there was a simple version available for a cheaper price with less features but still ties into Napa Tracs

Pros

1. ease of ordering Napa parts
2. plate and vin scan into work order

Cons

The software is cumbersome and difficult to learn for a small auto repair shop
we dont use 75% of the features

Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Tracs come up short in reporting functions and support

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Pros

The cost is reasonable.
Once we adjusted to its unique style it is fairly functional for our daily use.

Cons

It reporting features for our 4 shops is abysmal.
Getting support or response for requests to fix items is a no-go. Mostly the solution we are offered is to purchase a third-party work around.

JOHN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great sales tool

Reviewed on 2018-10-03

Tracs has been a great assett to our business, allowing us to easily quote and sell jobs, as well...

Tracs has been a great assett to our business, allowing us to easily quote and sell jobs, as well as order parts and track inventory.

Pros

Tracs is very helpful when it comes to recommending and selling products and services in the automotive industry. I feel one of its best features is the ability to write several estimates under one ticket using the sub estimate feature. This makes it very flexable to show the customer multiple options with several different repairs and options.

Cons

While not a major issue, the thing I like least about using Tracs is having to back up the system every day. Not requiring all users to be logged out before backing up is a major improvement.

Response from NAPA Auto Parts

Hi John, glad you liked the upgrade to the back up process. In our Enterprise platform, NO ONE has to log out during a back up, and back ups can be set to automatically happen multiple times a day.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2022-06-01

I have used TRACS for 20 years and have been a power user and attended training and have even...

I have used TRACS for 20 years and have been a power user and attended training and have even participated in assisting the support team troubleshoot and correct issues. Everyone I have dealt with these past 20 years has been friendly and helpful. The features and benefits as well as the overall ability of the software to perform all needed activities is amazing. Very few users can even comprehend how much TRACS can accomplish.

Pros

I use most every feature TRACS. The ability to connect, look up parts, transfer them to the work order and transmit the order is excellent. The support has been awesome since the first day. The TRACS team is constantly updating features.

Cons

There are always things that some user may want and others may never use but the support team tries to add features when available to meet your needs.

Mary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Napa tracs is VITAL

Reviewed on 2022-06-01

Napa tracs and our representatives have been a valuable asset to our business. Can't imagine not...

Napa tracs and our representatives have been a valuable asset to our business. Can't imagine not having it

Pros

Many features in tracs are important to our business. As the accountant, I love how the info from tracs propagates to our Quickbooks with one click. It's a central place for all info needed by our team.

Cons

Sometimes customer payments don't close out their invoices. They show a zero balance on their account but in quickbooks they have open invoices that the payments aren't applying to. I have to manually close those invoices.

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Napa Tracs liking it

Reviewed on 2022-06-01

Overall I’m really happy with Napa Tracs

Overall I’m really happy with Napa Tracs

Pros

Overall I feel that tracks is a easy system to learn and operate. A lot of the new features in Enterprise make things easy. But there are some areas that could use some improvement.

Cons

Hard to reconcile invoices, would be nice if you could use the escape button like you used to be able to to exit out of something. Would love to be able to customize the color system used to flag things like customers waiting etc.. I really like the new scheduler except when I make appointments for existing customers I am not able to change their information like telephone number or if they’ve gotten a new vehicle I can’t add or delete a vehicle from the scheduler page would be nice to be able to do that all in one step

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love Napa Tracs

Reviewed on 2022-05-25

Finding warranties , old notes - the way it keeps track of vehicle history has been a huge...

Finding warranties , old notes - the way it keeps track of vehicle history has been a huge blessing as opposed to going through papers in the cabinet, also it saving where the part came from. Its the best.

Pros

Ease of use is my favorite thing about it, though I would change 1-2 things if I could. Item history has got to be my favorite tab, also I love the convenance of transferring parts directly to the work order from Napa pro-link or parts tech.

Cons

I miss the freedom we had to enter something as simple as : Dump trailer , gooseneck trailer on the pre- 3.0 version of tracs , though it did still require a year to be entered in which I usually noted 0 year, but also sometimes the customer thinks it unimportant to provide info in which case I used to enter 0 year and Unknown Vehicle into the vehicle info.

Danelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Needs to be updated

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

Pros

I like that Napa is integrated with the software. It makes my job of making estimates easy.

Cons

I get the most frustrated that I can only use one window at a time. There are times that while making an estimate I will either have a customer come in to pay or the phone rings and I need to get in another window. This forces me to end what I am doing so I can help the customer.

Alternatives Considered

ALLDATA
rick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

owner

Reviewed on 2022-05-25

forgetting how to change some of the settings and spending the time to go thru help screens

forgetting how to change some of the settings and spending the time to go thru help screens

Pros

user friendly, easily manulipulated. ability to set user paramaters

Cons

some screens switch to light type (unreadable)

Peggy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

tracs enterprise

Reviewed on 2022-06-03

So far its pretty good I would recommend it. It has a few glitches as does everything but overall...

So far its pretty good I would recommend it. It has a few glitches as does everything but overall It does what I need it to do and I keep finding new stuff the more I investigate so by next year I will know even more about it.

Pros

Tracs is generally a easy program to use for beginners and does everything you need in a business to keep customers and production in the office moving along.

Cons

I liked the old way to look up parts, before we switched to enterprise. It was a better system for me and it had a little more information I felt. I also don't like how every time I order something it erases anything I have wrote in my work order where the part listing is. I like to label my parts and it erases any labels I add.

Vernon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great to improve your bottom line

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

Great very happy with Napa tracs

Great very happy with Napa tracs

Pros

Helps add to customer service repair needs

Cons

Need a way to mark job status and estimated repair time

Jim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

TRACS after multiple years of use

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Pros

The "Windows" format is very nice. Has most of the features we need. Integration was simple as we were not using a shop management program prior to purchase.

Cons

Spell check is dismal at best. No way of adding "industry" related words to the dictionary. IE: Hyd. for hydraulic oil. The older version allowed this but the Legacy version does not. The most frustrating MISSING feature is a "predictive" search feature for searching parts (Items). It should auto populate as you start to search. Same thing applies to the customer look up. If you don't type in the customer name EXACTLY as it is in the system it will not pull up.

Clint
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Helpful

Reviewed on 2022-06-04

Good

Good

Pros

Records keeping and ordering parts and checking

Cons

Intermittent problem and sometimes doesn’t work

Clint
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great System - Easy to use

Reviewed on 2018-04-24

easy to use

easy to use

Pros

Ease of use.
Access to reports and Ease of export for accounting purposes.
Support is quick to help and repair problems, easy to contact with minimum wait times.

Cons

access to connect to other suppliers easily - Can't wait for the update, and love that Worldpac is already accessible in my system, now need O'reilly's and some other small independents if possible.
Final Invoice printing options - I like the Look of the new system with their add-on's for job printing and breaking the Invoice up to be easier to read for the customer. Color break outs, Personalized Logos, and Jobs printed together would complete an already awesome system.

Krystle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

User Friendly Software

Reviewed on 2022-06-01

We have been using Tracs for a few years now and there are additions/changes that need to be...

We have been using Tracs for a few years now and there are additions/changes that need to be implemented, however we have been able to make it work for our business. We would like to see improvements made to the accounting/reporting side of things in the future.

Pros

The software for the most part is very user friendly for people of all skill levels.

Cons

There could be improvements on the back end of things as for reporting and some additional key accounting pieces that should be in place. Definitely geared towards a Mechanical type of business versus an Auto Restoration business that does both mechanical and auto body repairs.

Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

president

Reviewed on 2022-06-03

Very good we have used it a long time. It works very well with our shop. We are 65 miles from...

Very good we have used it a long time. It works very well with our shop. We are 65 miles from parts so knowing where parts are and when they will be at are shop is huge. I t is nice to see profitability on each ticket. very simple to use.

Pros

We like how easy it is to use electronic cataloging with the work orders. we can easily see where parts are and how long to get them. lately with some parts hart to get it helps to know where it is .

Cons

it would very easy to put a small book keeping program with it. tTo make it simpler than imorting to qick books

daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

average

Reviewed on 2022-06-03

Average at best

Average at best

Pros

integration with prolink and repair link

Cons

Tracs often times drops orders and doesn't transmit them although it says ordered leaving us without parts. super often super bad

Azael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Owner

Reviewed on 2022-06-01

I love it

I love it

Pros

I just love the software in general. Over the years it has made my job easier

Cons

I would like to add picture messages if possible. Other companies have it.

Alternatives Considered

Shopmonkey

Reasons for Switching to NAPA TRACS

The price
Greg
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

easy to use. great for parts lookup and ordering

Reviewed on 2018-04-02

Pros

I use quick quotes for a faster sell and accurate quote. Tracs keep my inventory straights and shows quantities in ProLink.

Cons

VIN decoder for late model vehicles isn't always accurate, and often times transfers the wrong vehicle to the labor guide.

Response from NAPA Auto Parts

Hi Greg,

The VIN Decoder used at NAPA is built and run by the NAPA Catalog Team. They provide us with the toolset used in TAMS, NAPA PROLink as well as NAPA TRACS. TRACS is currently testing Plate to VIN and a new Vin Decoder right now. It should be rolled out to all customers this by end of Q2 2018. If you contact Support, they can update you immediately.

Marc
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

great program for the money

Reviewed on 2022-06-08

Overall it is a great product and value

Overall it is a great product and value

Pros

I like the customer support, email feature and the vin decoding when it works, the mitchell catalog is also a great feature when it works

Cons

the ability to text customers would be great. the VIN decoding could be a bit more accurate I have had problems where it decodes the wrong engine size or model making it likely to order incorrect parts