Builterra

4.0 (104)
Contract administration software for AEC industry

Overall rating

4.0 /5
(104)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

80%
recommended this app
Sort by

104 Reviews

Amchan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Builterra

Reviewed on 4/28/2020

As a user of Builterra, it has saved me time and effort compared to doing work manually.

Pros

Builterra is a very useful software that can be used via laptop, phone, or tablet. Daily inspections and weekly quantities of site work can be conducted through this platform which makes it easier than older methods such as Microsoft Word or Excel.

Cons

The software runs slow on laptops sometimes as the server is huge. Some data takes time to enter but they are still being developed to better aid the contract administrators.

Vaibhav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best platform for contract management

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

Pros

The easy way to write and submit the inspection report, payment certificates, estimate and most of the contract administration work are breeze to do

Cons

Absolutely nothing that I don't like about the product. Though there can be some improvement in testing side before the product rolls out to avoid any miscalculation in projects

Response from AEC Solutions

Thanks Mali,

Looking forward to serving the team at WSP Canada in 2021! As we rollout new portals, we will spend more time on the sandbox testing. Point taken.

Laurence
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

A great concept but not a finished product.

Reviewed on 8/28/2018

The best word would be 'frustrating'. Downloading a report in PDF form sums up the experience: having to wait several minutes for a 1pg pdf form is inconvenient - being told that it's because you are number 1 in line is just a bizarre user experience - finding out that using a different method to download that same 1pg pdf report gives a significantly different looking document is very frustrating.

Customer service was timely and patient, but not always helpful. Many of the things we needed help with would turn out to be large problems and it did not seem that there was any interest in undertaking the necessary work.

Pros

I honestly believe the idea behind this software has the potential to change the way the industry operates and any company not using something similar will be seen as being behind the times. Builterra is on to a really good idea by putting CA tasks online and increasing automation and smart interactions between tasks.

Cons

The most frustrating part of using Builterra is experiencing it fall short of it's clear potential. From uploading/inputting data to downloading reports, every step was slow, buggy, and difficult to navigate. This translated into additional costs that had not been budgeted for and additional time that I did not have to spare. At no point did the time and effort savings of the software materialize.

I suspect that each company signing up with Builterra will require a fair amount of work to customize the reports and functionality to that company. This is worth either putting under user control or taking the time to set up the software to turn out a product that matches the company's existing output.

Much of the value of the product results from mobile use, sadly the mobile experience falls far short of even the desktop experience.

Response from AEC Solutions

Laurence, Our sincere thanks for providing this insightful feedback. We only have 1000 chars to respond but will follow-up directly.

Performance:We are committed to resolving report generation times during peak hours.
Report differences:Some custom reports using checkboxes do not render properly from Excel to PDF. We recommend the Excel report be used for reports with checkboxes and PDF for image reports.
Overall Support:We are very sorry to hear that the support provided was sub-par and are addressing this with our team.
Customization requirements:Builterra is an out-of-box reporting system and a platform for report customization. For the latter, our team works closely with clients to ensure success.
Report Customization:For now, reports are custom coded. However, our roadmap includes user defined reports for greater flexibility.

Thank you for seeing our potential to 'change the way the industry operates'. We'd love for you to help us do just that. We'll be in touch.

Ilham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best product in the Market

Reviewed on 8/30/2018

overall, i am really satisfied with this software and will continue to use it.

Pros

I really liked how user friendly the software is. Any age or computer skills person can use this software with any problems.

Cons

the software is a bit slow to reload and response.

Response from AEC Solutions

Hello Ilham, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Builterra.

We appreciate your positive comments on the usability and have taken note of the performance issues you mentioned. We will review our cloud servers and upgrade accordingly to resolve response times during peak hours.

Once again, thank you.

Feel free to reach out to our support team should the need arise: http://builterra.com/contact. In the meantime, we'll be in touch once your feedback has been addressed.

Lucas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Municipal Services Inspector review

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

Good customer service and easy to use

Pros

Gives me more time to inspect instead of writing reports and I can draw and edit pictures. I can easily download pictures and reports without having to save them on my computer.

Cons

Not everything I would like to use is on it yet.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Builterra App

Reviewed on 5/26/2021

Overall experience been really good it’s been helpful for my day-to-day operations

Pros

The software is great easy to use I like the mobile app makes my tracking of the day-to-day operations useful

Cons

I do not like how when you sync data on your mobile app and you’ve done work on your desktop it doesn’t match up, also importing of equipment labour and materials on the mobile app doesn’t give you the full list that it does on the desktop

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Builterra is a great platform for civil engineering projects!

Reviewed on 5/18/2021

Pros

Ease of use. Functionality. I can view the reports immediately after my inspectors have completed them.

Cons

uploading photos and documents can take some time. Permissions on reports could be adjusted. Better (more reliable) notification structure could help.

Diana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome software

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

Good but needed more training when I started

Pros

PQR financial statement linked to diaries is a nice feature
It's nice to generate a mid month payment for budget purposes.

Cons

Making change orders are not easy as there are many steps. Simplifying this would be great

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Subsurface Utility Engineering, from supervisory perspective

Reviewed on 5/21/2021

Pros

The best feature is the field data is easily viewed in office.

Cons

The integration gets better and better. Some features like our truck tracking is difficult to manage (aside from the same day data) in the field. Office/browser side works great

Mandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Builterra

Reviewed on 5/18/2021

Pros

The fact that most of the items are picked up app automatically such as location, weather and edits the placement of the photos.

Cons

Every time you write a activity or observation you have to hit the submit button and to edit it you need to go to review mode. It would be easier to add numbers on table for construction members and equipment used rather than selecting once by one. When you take a photo some times it gets deleted and you will have to retake it. When manually a photo is added it adds a default stamp which is incorrect. Contractor has to be written every time you edit the report. When publishing in pfd for example if you have tree photos the stamp of the photo will show on the next page. Adobe files are very heavy when directly publish as pdf. No weekly set up

Marko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

Easy to use, helped with the daily tasks of my job

Pros

Ease of use and intergrates well with contract payment documents

Cons

Would be nice to be able to add more than 20 photos at once from mobile

Response from AEC Solutions

Hi Marko,
Thanks for the review. We will look at the photo capacity limit for future builds.

Audrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Useful for Site Inspections

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

Pros

Using Builterra on our tablets and phones on site was very useful for writing speedy inspections. We mainly used Builterra on our mobiles for taking pictures and tracking locations.

Cons

Sometimes WORD reports and PDFs wouldn't get generated properly, but after contacting Builterra staff it would be resolved promptly.

jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great value

Reviewed on 5/18/2021

my experience has been positive.

Pros

This is daily use software that cuts down on paperwork

Cons

Sometimes the mobile app takes time to get use to

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Getting started with Builterra

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

It's been a learning experience, as it is with all new endeavors. However I feel with a little more time this will be a very useful tool.

Pros

I am impressed with the thoroughness and how everything can be tied together, "one stop shop".

Cons

It's not that I dislike any of the options, it is more to do with getting used to the program. I have run into situations that do not completely line up with how the training is set up, so it takes some guess work to figure it out.

Mehrdad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Day to Day Usage

Reviewed on 5/19/2021

very Satisfied

Pros

Easy to use, Documentation, Project Tracking

Cons

Sewer Cards, Water service Cards, Templates

MIchael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Field to Report, Easy Data Collection

Reviewed on 5/21/2021

Overall, it stacks up great compared to other projects. Really appreciate the data going from field directly to report.

Pros

I really appreciate how a lot of the day-of data collection work is taken out of the picture.

Cons

I find it difficult to manage projects. i.e. build/edit projects.

Vince
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Acceptable Product

Reviewed on 8/30/2018

It has been acceptable. We haven't been impressed, but not disappointed. It needs to be more fully adopted by our clients before it will become truly useful.

Pros

It has all the functionality needed to effectively perform contract administration and inspection services.

Cons

The setup process has been difficult. Our projects don't have all the correct details, and inspectors do not have a trust level with the software.

Response from AEC Solutions

Vince,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Builterra platform.

We're happy to hear you're pleased with the functionality for contract admin and field inspection.

We would like to learn more about the difficulties you've experienced during setup.
Inspection details are configurable so if you could review which details are required by your client, we'll be in touch to help.

Thanks again Vince. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to connecting.

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Builterra Review

Reviewed on 5/21/2021

Pros

Convenience of using the web based service and tracking the daily notes

Cons

The android app is not designed user friendly and need modification

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not Builterra’s fault

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

Pros

It’s a great platform that can shape a system and culture for organizations that don’t have one. I would recommend to public sector or larger groups that can manage one platform or need a culture change from pen and paper

Cons

Frustration of being forced into it by public sector work. We work in support to a variety of different platforms ie; onware, field wire, procore and our own cloud system

It’s to rigid for us to use on all projects, so we need something more flexible to work within the other systems.

Response from AEC Solutions

Hi Chris, Thanks for the Review.

Glad to hear that the issues are not completely "Builterra's Fault". Complete User Configuration of data collection forms, bid catalogs and pay items was our intent with the platform. The Owner's sometimes dictate the configuration of the system and we can only influence them in the process. I would suggest that we facilitate a Owner-Consultant round table to review pros-cons with them and make changes to better suit your processes. We can reach out directly to help you with this.

Arqam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Product

Reviewed on 4/10/2019

Pros

Easy to use, user-friendly and convenient

Cons

Navigating through the available options

Malcolm
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Technical Services Manager, Design and Construction Division

Reviewed on 8/30/2018

Pros

Easy of use, reliability and close tie in with the on-line tendering software used by the Region's Purchasing Division.

Cons

Can be confusing, during the configuration and setup.

Response from AEC Solutions

Malcolm,

Thank you so much for your review!

We're pleased to see you find Builterra easy-to-use and that you appreciate the tie-in with bids&tenders for Region of Waterloo.

You'll be happy to hear we're working on streamlining the Tender Configuration process this Fall. Stay tuned!

And thanks again Malcolm!

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 8/28/2018

Pros

The ablitlity to complete reports onsite is amazing and to add photos right in the app with captions is great.

Cons

There is some issues with the formatting, but the support we received to fix the issue is really quick and it was fixed right away.

Response from AEC Solutions

Mike,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide your thoughts on Builterra.

We're happy to hear you're seeing such great benefit to your onsite reporting and that you appreciate the ability to add photos with captions.

Our support team works hard to address any client issues so we're glad to hear you had a good experience.

Thanks again for your kind words Mike.

Landon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Not helpful

Reviewed on 5/13/2021

It’s not helpful to those in the field and is solely for the benefit of the office staff. I find it actually creates work for me and doesn’t speed things up at all. I only use this product because I have to. It’s horrible and I wouldn’t recommend it!

Pros

I don’t like any features of the software

Cons

It’s slow, the pictures take forever to load to the point I stopped using it.

Response from AEC Solutions

Hi Landon,
Sorry to hear about your challenges with Builterra Mobile App. We will setup a meeting or field visit with you and your field manager s soon as possible to get to the bottom of the issues experienced.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Builterra from a Home Builder Perspective

Reviewed on 5/18/2021

Pros

We primarily used Builterra to monitor and track site progress

Cons

Automated emails when certain dates or tasks are achieved.

Alain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Multi use software

Reviewed on 5/25/2021

Pros

Builterra allows to to track effectively projects, collect and exchange information on a timely basis.

Cons

The software is not integrated with other softwares to allow a direct share of information.