DataCandy

4.3 (46)
Write a Review!
The gift & loyalty platform that grows your business.

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(46)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

89%
recommended this app
Sort by

46 Reviews

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Loyalty and Gift Card Program

Reviewed on 2022-10-29

I do like the monthly cost. I do like working with customer service.

I do like the monthly cost. I do like working with customer service.

Pros

I do like how this software works with out POS System (Logivision). It does make it easy for our cashiers to activate and redeem points. Customers like the feature of saving points for future larger purchases.

Cons

Our customers are having a hard time signing up to be able to redeem points. I have used many programs and this seems to be the worst for customer sign up. We do have an older customer base who have a hard time with emails. Most loyalty programs are phone number based. YOu do have to spend more money to change it to that style which I do think is not good.I also am not a fan of having to pay for text messages.

Alternatives Considered

Vicinity

Reasons for Choosing DataCandy

Cost...however the thing about paying for text is not cool.

Switched From

Vicinity

Reasons for Switching to DataCandy

Cost
Chad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing set up experience

Reviewed on 2022-04-07

Top notch

Top notch

Pros

Set up support was amazingly good
Best value for money

Cons

Required Zapier to integrate with QB desktop/enterprise but [SENSITIVE CONTENT]
at Nicejob implemented a very good solution to automate, so not really a negative

Alternatives Considered

Swell, GetMoreReviews, Reputation and Birdeye

Reasons for Switching to DataCandy

Focus on reviews/ good value for multiple locations
Shelly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Unauthorized payments

Reviewed on 2023-02-07

Horrible

Horrible

Pros

Whatever is good about this software is buried by the fact that this company has been withdrawing money from my account since closing my terminals in August - and it is currently Feb of the following year. Most recently, they have billed me with an almost $500 bill for a terminal that I returned in September. Oh, I keep getting the runaround - "we'll fix this, we'll refund this" and every month or so, there's another unauthorized fee that I have to spend months chasing, and hours on the phone with placating sales people that assure me I'll be refunded to only be refunded months later and then have another $500 fee taken for a terminal that was returned 5 months ago. This has actually come to a point where I am actually considering closing my back account (and dealing with the enormous headache that that would be) in order to have these criminals stop taking money out of my account. Never, never, never would I recommend this company. They actually even asked me how much $$ it would take for me to remove a previous bad review I gave them. When they didn't like my answer, they withdrew another bogus $485 from my account that I now have to chase.

Cons

see above. Or heck, I'll copy it for you here:Whatever is good about this software is buried by the fact that this company has been withdrawing money from my account since closing my terminals in August - and it is currently Feb of the following year. Most recently, they have billed me with an almost $500 bill for a terminal that I returned in September. Oh, I keep getting the runaround - "we'll fix this, we'll refund this" and every month or so, there's another unauthorized fee that I have to spend months chasing, and hours on the phone with placating sales people that assure me I'll be refunded to only be refunded months later and then have another $500 fee taken for a terminal that was returned 5 months ago. This has actually come to a point where I am actually considering closing my back account (and dealing with the enormous headache that that would be) in order to have these criminals stop taking money out of my account. Never, never, never would I recommend this company. They actually even asked me how much $$ it would take for me to remove a previous bad review I gave them. When they didn't like my answer, they withdrew another bogus $485 from my account that I now have to chase.

Dion
Overall rating
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Loyalty that your customers would enjoy!

Reviewed on 2021-04-19

Pros

Paystone's loyalty and gift card program is extremely easy to use. Integrating into our existing point of sale software was painless, and their support team are an actual joy to work with. From the signing of the initial contract to the execution of our first loyalty transaction, Paystone held our hands to ensure that it was a seamless process. With constant updates to the software, new features are always being released, allowing us to stay fresh and relevant with our customer base.

Our top 5 features:
1) Real-time security and fraud prevention
2) Branded customer loyalty and gift card portals
3) Customizable merchant dashboard
4) Flexible options for loyalty earn & burn
5) Multi-tiered Loyalty benefits, allowing us to better reward our most loyal customers.

Cons

We would like to see a deeper integration into the POS for inventory items.

Darlene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Satisfied

Reviewed on 2022-11-08

Our overall experience has been great and like that we have human support when we need it

Our overall experience has been great and like that we have human support when we need it

Pros

Very user friendly even for the technically challenged staff

Cons

there was nothing really that bothered me

Alternatives Considered

Lightspeed

Reasons for Choosing DataCandy

Paystone was recommended by a colleague and was less expensive

Reasons for Switching to DataCandy

recommended and less cost
Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Press'd Paystone Review

Reviewed on 2021-04-14

Very happy with Paystone and especially the customer service they offer. They are always available...

Very happy with Paystone and especially the customer service they offer. They are always available to hear us out if we have issues or questions and we feel very well taken care of.

Pros

The gift car functionality is easy to use from loading gift cards all the way to customer redemption. The reports are easy to run and they allow you to easily mine all relevant data, quickly.

Cons

We would like to sell digital gift cards that could be emailed out to our customers instead of having to mail them physical cards. This function is available but seemed a bit expensive for us. That said, we are a smaller operation so it could be priced fairly for the market.

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service, Great Value with Paystone

Reviewed on 2023-11-27

Great Experience, overall, recommended.

Great Experience, overall, recommended.

Pros

Competative Price, very helpful sales team to make everything clear, and good service.

Cons

CS take long some times.

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It Works

Reviewed on 2022-11-02

Good

Good

Pros

I like that we get paid the next day.Customer Service has been excellent, fault pinpad was replaced immediately.Semi-Integrated with our POS

Cons

The pinpads are confusing and very techy. Setup was difficult.

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Paystone is good enough but there is better available

Reviewed on 2022-10-28

Pretty good once you get used to it.

Pretty good once you get used to it.

Pros

The ability to reward my regular clientele, collect contact information for our newsletter and offer a trackable gift card that is easy to use for my staff and clientele.

Cons

The dashboard is not very clear and the fact that it's not a one card fits all is a bit problematic and costly as you need one card for the gift card and one card for the loyalty program.

Roly
Roly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Expensive, but worth trying!

Reviewed on 2023-10-16

Quite grateful for their customer loyalty feature, it has helped my company grow rapidly. Only if...

Quite grateful for their customer loyalty feature, it has helped my company grow rapidly. Only if they could provide free trial, it would be great to get the user of a glimpse of what he is going to get. A bit expensive but certainly worth it.

Pros

The loyalty program is definitely something we found great to encourage our employees do better. This has drastically improved their performance. Quite helpful.

Cons

Paystone should allow their users at least a free trial. Though it's a bit expensive, the user must be given a chance to explore what he is going to get.

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Review of Credit/ Debit processing machine

Reviewed on 2022-12-19

Frustrating, expensive and regretful.

Frustrating, expensive and regretful.

Pros

Gift card program is easy to use and a great option for business.

Cons

Daily we are experiencing "not completed" transactions with debit cards and when we re-enter it, our customer may get charged TWICE for their purchases! When this happens, we have to explain to the customer that they will get reimbursed within 1-30 days. This is very frustrating if that customer does not have the funds available and even worse customers think we are intentionally charging them and assume we are stealing from them. I also feel that we are getting charged for every extra "not completed" transaction. I am a small business in a small community and cannot afford to constantly defend my reputation each time this happens. Unfortunately your service/product has negatively affected my daily operations and the damage is done. We are now encouraging cash transactions whenever possible to avoid complications like this. I have contacted customer support and I was told that "it happens" and there is" no solution" for this.

Ayman
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2022-11-11

Good

Good

Pros

Easy to use when making a transactions.

Cons

Not much. I didn’t have a wireless terminal to start.

Houneida
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gift Cards used in a High School

Reviewed on 2022-10-28

It was the best option we provided students

It was the best option we provided students

Pros

The system is an accordance with our accounting procedures and very easy to track

Cons

There's nothing that I don't like about this program

Carmen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure

Reviewed on 2022-12-12

Our experience with Paystone has been great! Customer service has also been great we honestly...

Our experience with Paystone has been great! Customer service has also been great we honestly didn't had any issues

Pros

Secure, quick and easy. Customer support amazing

Cons

Maybe working and searching for other banks to be their provider for online business purposes.

Serge
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A true Partner with integrity. DataCandy's team is top notch.

Reviewed on 2016-10-27

From project prep to migration and launch DataCandy supported every aspect of my org's requirements....

From project prep to migration and launch DataCandy supported every aspect of my org's requirements. Exposure to training, knowledge of data imports, approach to bug fixes, access to developers, access to top management, support and access to industry expertise were all smooth and excellent experiences. The task of switching from our old provider to DataCandy seemed daunting but they made it easy. Truly a customer focused organization. We hope to work with DataCandy for many years to come.

Pros

Ease of integration, scalability and ease of use.

Tina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2022-11-11

Pros

Very easy to use and always technical support available

Cons

I don't know what to say. I'm not a tech persona. So what can I say, but that I like this company.

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Copper Branch

Reviewed on 2018-10-11

Pros

Simple and intuitive backend
Connected and integrated to our POS
Simple to use for employees and customers
Good customer support

Cons

New features could be explored and developed.

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Old time partners

Reviewed on 2016-10-27

We have been working with Datacandy for a long time and we have seen them explore and grow. They...

We have been working with Datacandy for a long time and we have seen them explore and grow. They offer more and more services and understand the needs of their customers.

Pros

Support is very present

Cons

Some technologies don't work with our POS sytem.

Audrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing service!

Reviewed on 2019-04-06

Pros

I used Datacandy for two years and it's been amazing. Before then we couldn't track any giftcards that was sold by an employee. Their system really helped to make sure there wasn't any fraud.

Cons

It took us a little while to understand all the options that come with the system, but when you get a hold of it it's great.

Amanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Gift Card Program

Reviewed on 2022-10-28

Cards are nice and professional

Cards are nice and professional

Pros

Easy set up; great customer service when registering and setting up account

Cons

It’s too many steps. It should print out either 2 redemption slips for server and customer, or automatically print a redemption and balance slip. Too time consuming to have to swipe again and do the process over again in a busy restaurant setting

Loic
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

DataCandy Gift Cards

Reviewed on 2019-09-26

Just a few steps to get gift cards ready. I can train new employees to use it in just a minute!

Just a few steps to get gift cards ready. I can train new employees to use it in just a minute!

Pros

It is easy and very efficient to get gift cards ready. Just a few steps and I can charge or reload gift cards easily. Training new employees to use it is very simple.

Cons

Loading the DatCandy on the device can take a few seconds. When you charge cards or even when customers need to use their own gift card, it is longer than using a Visa or Mastercard.

Rick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Would Not Purchase Loyalty Gift Card Program Again

Reviewed on 2022-10-28

Negative

Negative

Pros

Not much. What was sold to me and what is implemented are two different things. Sales makes it sound easy but the implementation support is minimal.

Cons

Not easy to use. Triangulation between the POS vendor and Data Candy / Capstone

Kayleigh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

New User Review

Reviewed on 2022-11-03

Great customer support and easy access. Patients and customers are loving the system and the...

Great customer support and easy access. Patients and customers are loving the system and the ability to impact the environment in a small way with allowing emailOr text receipts

Pros

We love the ease of deployment into the office and simplicity of the set up

Cons

No cons this far except a minor glitch of double charges however customer support dealt with it beautifully

Gita
Gita
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I love Data Candy

Reviewed on 2018-10-23

We now have information about our business that we didn't have before. We can react faster to our...

We now have information about our business that we didn't have before. We can react faster to our clients wants and needs. Thanks Data Candy!

Pros

I have definitely gained clients by offering rewards and gift options using Data Candy solutions. Customer support is great. Everyone is so accommodating.

Cons

Unfortunately the gift cards are not integrated with our POS system however integration is coming.

Marcello
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paystone Review

Reviewed on 2022-10-29

So far very good just a little getting used to because I was with monaris so long

So far very good just a little getting used to because I was with monaris so long

Pros

Your product is very easy to use and the machines look very good

Cons

I find the print out at the end of the day og all transactions are printed very small hard to read