On-Screen Takeoff

4.3 (157)
The Most Trusted Estimating Takeoff Solution

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(157)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

157 Reviews

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Be Here Now

Reviewed on 2018-08-14

I've recommended this company many times, advised two companies in the last two years, including the one I currently work with, to buy the software because it's simply the best value I know of. And one REALLY important thing; Their SERVICE in superb. Full stop.

I see lots and lots of major changes still ahead for this industry of estimating, and software will lead in that new complexity/simplicity. More to understand, more to buy, more to manage. Having a 'let's get this fixed now' tech team, along with a friendly 'no such thing as a stupid question' mandate, if all OCS keeps doing is being the best at SERVICE, they will always have my business .

Pros

When using both OST and QuickBids together there is a synergy that not only allows you to 'standardize' your pricing, but also build unlimited 'conditions' using those standard conditions, or from scratch. As an independent can manage clients in completely different databases if that level of separation is required.

Yesterday a client gave me some feedback-just a little too high. Well, I have 4 other floors ready to submit for the next phase. I just go into 'markups', a little wiggle, a jiggle, and I have my pricing in line to vigorously compete in the next round. Total time, including new reports, 1 hour. Every single condition, adjusted for the new pricing (not just some lump sum discount, that's just lazy) and re-sent in a lunch hour. Nice... Alternates and change orders are even faster.

Cons

Reports stinks. Sorry, I call 'em like I see 'em. It's a bit better, more choices for printing and a 'master list' of available functions, but STILL, the actual graphics are completely terrible! No headings, no subheadings, just all one font, all one size, all run together with random page breaks. It takes me a lot of time, hours for big projects, to go through it all and make it legible. A little bird says it's in the works, I have the champaign chilled to celebrate when it's available in an update because it's probably the only thing that still irks me.

Also, fix the output PDF distiller!!!

Mark
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best takeoff software I've used, albeit a little pricey.

Reviewed on 2017-12-19

Fast reliable estimates

Pros

It's fast and easy to use once it's setup.
Does most things well.
For most estimators, this is the software you want.
If you have the funds, it's worth getting On-Screen Takeoff & QuickBid together.
When you start to delve into it's various features you really see some great ways to save time. E.g. Typical Areas, Style Sets, Layers, Copying Bids, etc. I'd highly advise setting up one or more Template bids and copying the relevant one every time you have a new bid to do. Saves a ton of time.
I'd highly recommend this software.

Cons

There are some features it could have which would make it better. E.g. Auto-Page labeling, automatic page links, etc.
Database has issues from time to time. E.g. It disconnects from it's sister software QuickBid - which can cause problems. But that's not too often and possibly related to my computer?
On it's own it's just OK, but with QuickBid it's really great. Quickbid is a separate purchase.
The price would be the biggest issue I see with this software. It's quite expensive. Kind of precludes smaller businesses from buying it. Which is unfortunate, since it's possibly the best takeoff software out there. I could have bought a small family car for the price of the two licenses I purchased for my business (that was along with sister software QuickBid)

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Outdated

Reviewed on 2018-11-20

Pros

OnScreen Takeoff Typical Groups works well - I don't know any other software that has this function. Very helpful for apartment takeoffs.

Cons

Software has become outdated. OnCenter is very slow to respond to problems with their software.
Several problems discussed with their technical department are known, but they state that in their opinion these issues, some of which can actually result in incorrect bids, are not critical enough to warrant repair. I suggest being extremely careful when using OnScreen and QuickBid interactively. Note that Windows 10 has more issues that older versions of Windows - Oncenter is not keeping up. DON'T GET A NEW COMUTER!
OnCenter is not keeping up with innovation that other software companies.
Adding notes is cumbersome - in OnScreen they get in the way of doing takeoffs. In QuickBid they easily become buried in the bid and get missed.
Adding drawing numbers and names function in OnScreen Takeoff does not work well.
Revising drawings to TIFF is outdated.
Programs do not work well interactively and also bog down on large bids.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A standard in the Construction industry

Reviewed on 2019-08-13

Overall good experience. Construction companies typically have to use different pieces of software that do similar things when working with joint ventures and contractors, but OST is one of the most used pieces of estimating software. From an administrative side, the licensing system is a little clunky if you are hosting your own license server. This is not uncommon though.

Pros

Many useful features, Quick and accurate general estimating tools, Good support.

Cons

It takes some "use time" to get a hang of all the features and functions OST comes with.

Alternatives Considered

PlanSwift and Sage Estimating

Reasons for Switching to On-Screen Takeoff

It seemed more comprehensive, for the price.
Quinn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for large Jobs

Reviewed on 2018-12-10

at first i did not stick to a specific process and my take-off got messy and difficult for others to understand. Once i figured out a system, I stuck to it and the results were clear. My take-offs are clean and easy to understand. My production has more than doubled and the results are better.

Pros

The organization of the take-off items is great. Easy to export the results and easy to use...once you have learned the software. As long as i stick to my workflow i created i do not have any problems.

Cons

If you get off you order of operations or workflow...it can get a bit messy. Use the layers and stick to a color scheme that fits the jobs. figure it out and be consistent with it and it will work amazing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good quality and easy to use.

Reviewed on 2017-11-14

Pros

Most of my customers use this. Which allows me to export the OSP file and send to them to review. Easy to export and categorize areas.

Cons

Can't have multiple people log in to the software at one time to have a compiled take off. So after a project is complete with multiple people working on it. I need to compile all of the files into one OSP file.

Response from On Center Software

Thank you for your feedback. We are proud to have customers like you as part of the On Center family. If you are looking for a way to have multiple people login and compile a takeoff, you should look at Oasis Takeoff to see if it might fit you needs. Oasis Takeoff allows for "team estimating" inside the same project.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ideas going forward

Reviewed on 2018-08-15

Support is outstanding and helpful. And learning a new system to bring into our business has been awesome for job understanding and reviewing especially back costing

Pros

I like the changeable nature of the plan take offs. I can adjust quickly and return to understanding where I was up to quickly

Cons

I believe it need to have a time measure on working on each project so it can be tracked

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SR at Homeco

Reviewed on 2018-08-15

Plans colored for field operations for easier understanding

Pros

Multiple colors, and listing features.

Cons

No cut feature. The back-out feature is not as helpful as a scissors type feature

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficient and accurate estimation made easy

Reviewed on 2019-08-22

Estimating/Bidding/Takeoff. I primarily supported the roll-out and work with support if any issues come up.

Pros

The most obvious feature of OST is the intuitive user interface. This allows for easy use by estimators and project managers as it requires little to no training to be up and running and utilizing the calculation and estimation features. Auto-count with OCR saves tons of time by automatically counting all similar objects. So a plan with 100 plus fixtures will calculate easily and seamlessly. Another feature that is incredibly useful is the overlay functionality. Allowing architects/estimators/project managers to compare plan iterations and instantly see what's changed between two specs.

Cons

I haven't experienced or heard of anyone experiencing any difficulty with OST.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great estimating tool

Reviewed on 2018-09-24

Easy to record and keep takeoff and pass to other colleagues, if needed.

Pros

Ease of use and the ability to record and track every takeoff.

Cons

The software is a little pricy compared to competitors such as Bluebeam, but worth the extra.

Klaus
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Takeoff Software

Reviewed on 2018-05-08

Great software if you need to do professional quantity takeoffs

Pros

This product offers you a lot of options to structure your takeoff:
- Conditions: This is the main structure to organize your takeoff. Fully customizable, conditions can be used as a CSI-Code structure.
- Layers: Similar to CAD-Software, you can create layers (even as Master layers which will be available for all projects) and assign a layer to each takeoff. Turning layers on/off helps you to work with multiple takeoffs on one drawing.
- Zones: Creating zones (and organize them on a separate layer) helps to split your takeoff according to the zones - fully automated!
- Takeoffs: Each takeoff can have up to three different quantities - whatever you need.
Takeoff description: each takeoff (condition) has a name as well as a field for notes where you can put a full description of your item.
- Multi-takeoff: This is an outstanding feature, saving a lot of time: mark several conditions (takeoff-items) and do your takeoff: the takeoff will be done for each of the simultaneously!
- Second window: the program allows you to open a second window, to have another drawing (details etc.) open while you work on your first drawing.
- Overlay: changes in drawings can made visible by using the new drawing as an overlay on top of the old drawing: you will automatically see, what changed.
There are much more pros and features available than any other takeoff software. This is the great thing about a software that is a takeoff software and nothing else: the software does not pretend to be an estimating software and by focusing on takeoff, the software does a great job.
Online descriptions are available for almost every issue you might run in.

Cons

The software is missing only one feature: to assign a different condition to a specific takeoff is not available (up to now).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

On Screen Takeoff

Reviewed on 2019-10-26

It is a good software for simple takeoffs. Counting widgets, or measuring lines, and areas. Other than that, not much use.

Pros

Easy to do simple measurements and counts. The various levels and labels are nice, also being able to change colors makes it easy to differentiate between items.

Cons

It adds an extra stem to the takeoff process. You have to upload pdf's into the program, and then organize them before you can work on them. In lieu of just opening a pdf, and measuring items instantly.

Tamera
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Preferred over Plan Swift

Reviewed on 2018-08-20

I work in multi-family construction and need to be able to do quick conceptual estimates and the later detailed estimates that require more takeoff. I've been using OST for the takeoff for the last 11 years. I love it.

Pros

OST is easy to get up and running. It's intuitive and user friendly. I was recently introduced to PlanSwift - a competitor to OST and it was overly complicated. It was hard to figure out how to go in and just take the SF of a room.

With OST it's a breeze to take a simple measurement or do more extensive takeoff without needing an owners manual or even a tutorial.

Cons

Is the difficulty in naming sheets that are imported in. It's cumbersome and time consuming. It also makes it hard to relink to a different folder location.

The high cost for a single license is prohibitive to the freelance estimator and forces us to use alternative programs that aren't as efficient. I wish there was a way to make it cheaper for sole proprietorship businesses in the construction industry.

Kellie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It may have it's weaknesses, but overall it's great!

Reviewed on 2016-12-07

I began using On-Screen On-Center Take-off is Feb. 2016. Overall the program is great. Its fairly simple to import and manage drawings, create conditions, and quantify areas. I am sure there are many features which I fail to use to their potential, but learning to make the system work of me and the types of take-offs I perform was quick. There is very little learning curve, and if you have any questions their Customer Support Tools are incredible. I enter a question and typically receive a call from a person within hours. They are very knowledgeable and helpful. The program has its weaknesses. One huge weakness is it's tolerance. When using the measure tool the tolerance is to the nearest inch. There is no way to adjust this, which can mean rejection of material and a lot of jobsite labor in our particular field (Stone). Also, exporting to excel could be clearer, but overall it's pretty helpful.

Pros

Ability to create various types of conditions, in various types of materials, in various areas, and being able to calculate various types of information from one condition (sq. of one side & top & total lf, Average tile count & overall sf, etc.).
Ability to import various file types, PDF, AutoCAD, etc.
Ability to export to Excel.
Ability to label conditions & include conditions legends, creating a helpful Take-off maps for bids.

Cons

Inability to tighten tolerances.
Inability to label linear conditions.
Inability to increase the size of the font on condition labels.
Excel Export could be much cleaner.
Inabiliy to create non-grid tile layouts.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Custom Home Builder Review

Reviewed on 2018-08-14

I love OST it can be used in so many different ways it's my favorite program for manipulating just about any type of file.

Pros

OST is flexable software, meaning it can be manipulated to conform to any/every trade. It is an amazing tool that makes any estimators take-off portion of the job quick and easy.

Cons

There is not much I do not like about OST, but...
- some times I could more color selections differentiation for take-off conditions
- Also it would be nice if i could freeze dimension takeoffs to either only move vertically or latterally respectively.
- Also if dimensions could be a default layer separate from annotation that would be awesome. Sometimes i want to have annotations but do not need the dimensions and i have to delete all the dimensions on the page to only show the annotation that i want.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

On Screen Takeoff the Equilizer

Reviewed on 2018-08-17

The On Screen Takeoff program along with the support provided by On Center is a great combo for anyone looking to standardize and get better control of their takeoff and bids. My experience has been nothing but the best from Training, to implementation, and support throughout the past few years.

Pros

Allows me to constantly and quickly take off plans that used to take all day to provide.

Cons

The software has been awesome for me in many ways but I wish it was more report friendly for people who are working outside of the standard databases and reporting schemes. I had to build my database from the ground up and how we export and report that information isn't typical for OST. Trying to build custom reports and exports has been challenging but On Center support was always there to help or at least let me know that I have hit a dead end.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Satisfied Customer

Reviewed on 2017-06-07

I've used OST for 10 years and overall satisfied. I think for the annual service fee, there should be more upgrades than once every 2 years or so. We have used tech support maybe once a year if that and the owner of the business doesn't think that justifies the annual cost.

Pros

It's easy and quick to use and easy to train others. I like and use the overlay function a lot. I also like the intelligent paste function as well for repetitious items.

Cons

Only 1 overlay possible, needs ability to remove the original plan and add an additional overlay as plans change (i.e.,80% dwgs to 90% dwgs to final dwgs. The 90% supersede the 80% and now we have final. A new bid file has to be created and the takeoff copied to the new file for adjustments)
Database bogs down on very large projects
Auto count feature doesn't work very well on scanned plans

Les
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best takeoff I have ever used.

Reviewed on 2018-08-15

I have been using On-Screen Takeoff for about 16 years and I have always been impressed with the ease of use, support and the upgrades that have been made through the years. I can do a takeoff of a large commercial building in a fraction of the time it would take me to do it with a ruler or takeoff wheel and it is extremely more accurate. I am able to bid a lot more work with the On-Screen Takeoff program. Another benefit is you end up with a color-coded plan that you or someone else such as a project manger can look at and see what you did.

Pros

Its easy to learn to use and if you get stuck on something the support staff are there to help and they have never laughed at my dumb questions.

Cons

I don’t know if there is anything I don’t like about it, but I wish you could copy text or images from a plan sheet and past them into a word document.

Jaime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

As an estimator this program makes my life much easier. Can breakdown my estimate any way I...

Reviewed on 2017-05-23

It not possible to mention them all here. Better accuracy in our estimates. Greater flexibility with our estimates too. Can change conditions very easily if necessary. Our field personnel loves it too. Were able to print all of the plans from any project and breakdown the estimate by floor or zone or phase.

Pros

This program is great for our office and field personnel. Both can see the entire scope of work to be performed and know where each condition is to be applied on each floor of our jobs. Allows for better management of our labor hours and cost accounting too!

Cons

That I cannot download it on my iPhone! I have absolutely no complaints, I love, I use it everyday and I enjoy all of the features too! Just wish I could take it with me everywhere I went.

Joey
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Been using QB since 03 started using OST in 14, CAN NOT imagine going back to ole manual...

Reviewed on 2017-05-31

Pros

In OST it is possible to become very creative in how you make conditions, it allows you to build your take-offs in a manner that makes sense to you, and you are able to constantly refine and make adjustments to the way you do things, which allows for faster take-offs. And the progression just continues.
Also the tech team that comes with the subscription cannot be beat, those people are the best software fix my stuff in a heartbeat group...period paragraph no more conversation about it!!!

Cons

Sometimes the General Exceptions box pops up and when it closes it resets some of my preferences, however its very simple to readjust and be moving again.

Shelby
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Using OST we are able to perform take offs much quicker than using a ruler or than digitize(ing...

Reviewed on 2017-06-05

Can probably do triple the amount of estimating than before.

Pros

Ease of use and how easy it is to review work. Being able to assign different take offs to different area's makes breaking out bids for alternates very easy.

Cons

I would like to be able to "crop" or cut all take offs to assign them into an area. For example, if the portion of a building becomes an alternate after the takeoff was performed. I would like to slice each take off to break out each area. Right now you can select multiple takeoffs and reassign but if you select say a wall that was one take off but you want it to be cut in half you have to delete it and redo the takeoff.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Used to be the bomb!

Reviewed on 2019-07-25

I used it regularly for more than 2 years and the company considered me a 'power user. Unfortunately, when I changed companies, I could not justify the pricing for the result it produced compared to other programs available now.

Pros

I't fairly easy to learn and integrate. It's visual and it's fairly robust. If you also pay for QuickBids, it integrates well with that. The tech help service is outstanding.

Cons

It's limited on what it can do. It must convert a PDF file, with it's rich underset of information, to a TIF file, which is just an overlay. The reports are basic at best and there is no help with modifying those at all.

Fady
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Advanced, powerful software provides a plethora of features for construction project management...

Reviewed on 2017-05-25

This is the fastest way that I know of to complete a takeoff. Once you have a good grasp of the user interface, it becomes second nature and takeoffs can be performed by anyone.

Pros

Ability to accurately quantify count, area, volume, and more on drawings with a high degree of complexity. We use it to count washroom accessories, confirm tile flooring quantities, area of roof, and others when tendering the project. During construction, we use it to track progression and productivity rates.

Cons

Printing can be tedious / counterintuitive. Also, the software auto-saves progress, which is great unless you make a mistake...

Lorna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love OnScreen

Reviewed on 2018-10-29

Very positive experience. It's made my life a whole lot easier. I can easily take off concrete, steel, MEP, etc., and it's a very organized program. It's like coloring for adults.

Pros

This software has made estimating so much more efficient, accurate, and easy. I learned to estimate by hand, and those days were so much harder than now. I can handle so many more trades and estimates alone that I would have been able to just a decade ago.

Cons

There needs to be more symbols available for our use such as Mechanical, Fire Suppression Piping, and Electrical symbols. That would be helpful.

Muhammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use but has an upfront cost

Reviewed on 2020-08-07

So far it has been a very useful and easy program to use you can break down items based on categories you want and have sub categories it Also has a built in labor and price calculator if you want to use it.

i usually count in OST then take it to excel.

Pros

OST is a very easy to use tool to do take offs with and what we like most about it is :
1- Fast Counts for areas, Linear feet, And counts.
2- you can overlay different versions of the plan on top of each other the old will be red and new blue that way you can see purple if noting changed or moved and blue if something changed.
3- easy to export to excel or other programs.
4- quick click links so you can jump between plan and detail fast.

Cons

1-2 people cant be in the same file at the same time and edit.
2- gets laggy with larger files and count items ( over 700 in one page from what i have seen)
3- Price.
4- cant Layer more than 2 drawings at the same time