Runn

Real-time resource management for growing businesses

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(30)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.9/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

30 Reviews

Sam
Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Professional services companies: know your expected billing

Reviewed on 2021-03-02

The team are helpful and responsive to feedback; the tool is good and gets better every month.

The team are helpful and responsive to feedback; the tool is good and gets better every month.

Pros

Runn is great at providing a projection of what the billings of a professional services organisation will be in months to come. It's an essential part of running an effective business which isn't as commonplace as it should be!

Cons

With a lot of pre-existing tools (time-keeping, invoicing, business intelligence), it took a bit of time to get everything integrated nicely. While they do have out-of-the-box integrations that might suit your needs well, we found our needs too specific and needed to make custom integrations.

That said, their APIs have meant that we could do this integration reasonably easily.

Alternatives Considered

Google Sheets

Reasons for Choosing Runn

We had a hand-rolled solution using Google Sheets. It worked, most of time, but it was difficult to maintain, and difficult to use.

Switched From

Google Sheets

Reasons for Switching to Runn

Moving to Runn meant that our whole project-management team could keep our future booked work up to date, and reliable projections of our future billing could be generated whenever we need them.
Joyce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use for managing resource allocations and time reporting

Reviewed on 2024-01-10

Pros

This tool was so simple to implement, and it's easy to use to track what projects our resources are working on now and in the future. It gives us a good view of our cross-project metrics. I can't say enough about how customer support is very responsive to questions, issues, and feature requests. While the tool may not have every feature I want, it is a pleasure to work with this company.

Cons

While I would like better reporting, they make it easy to export data and when I have a unique reporting need I can move the data to a spreadsheet. Therefore, the biggest area of improvement I see for Runn would be more security profiles. We could benefit from more flexibility than what they provide.

Alternatives Considered

Hub Planner, Nifty, BigTime, Float, Hive and Saviom

Reasons for Switching to Runn

This product is much less expensive than many of the other tools we looked at, and provided most of the functionality we needed without being too complicated.
Keval
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Short and Sweet

Reviewed on 2023-12-20

Pros

This product for us was back to basics. Runn is very easy to use with the inclusion of all the major functionalities required to manage the project. Interface is easy to interpret!

Cons

Overall it's a good one but it will be great if we can export the custom fields data i.e. fetching the data for the custom field created for a Project along with other project details. Few other must haves are
- more control on permissions
- restrict backdated update for planner
- saving the filtered view on report
- bulk update if can be made easy

Albert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Import & Export
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Runn is THE way to manage projects and resources in 2022

Reviewed on 2022-03-02

We made the great decision to start using Runn in early 2021 and it has been a blessing.
Easy to...

We made the great decision to start using Runn in early 2021 and it has been a blessing.
Easy to set up, customize and roll out to the different teams. Everything is built with care and it shows.

Overall, I couldn't recommend it more. In just a few months, we are able to get better visibility and control over our services teams with a fraction of the effort.

Pros

Clean interfaces and easy-to-use software, that's what you need when you are dealing with the complexities of project and resource management. Runn delivers exactly that and keeps improving every week.

Team leads now have up-to-date visibility on every front, including project financials, team utilization and beyond, without spending the entire day trying to source the updated data. it's ready for them.

Cons

Some Reports and permission levels are missing or are limited and we've had to figure out workarounds. This is something the team is working on and I am confident they'll be resolving it pretty soon.

Alternatives Considered

Polaris PSA

Reasons for Choosing Runn

Keeping projects and resource management in Excel is an absolute pain, it's extremely time-consuming and it's outdated the moment you close a file.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Runn

Nimble and hungry team looking to deliver on a top-notch experience. A smaller company/product allowed us to provide feedback and be heard. Polaris seemed too complicated, built on top of a legacy system that created a lot of confusion and not so user-friendly software.
Ailsa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Software for Software Development Agencies

Reviewed on 2021-02-17

Honestly, the team is amazing. They will answer your questions quickly, and offer support when...

Honestly, the team is amazing. They will answer your questions quickly, and offer support when needed. At one point, I spotted a bug with their dropdowns... I sent a support ticket and I had a response and a fix was deployed within two hours. Truly amazing stuff!

Pros

Runn is incredibly easy to use. It's UI is clean and makes it easy for the user to understand how to complete their tasks. Their support team is also incredibly responsive.

Cons

Runn is fairly new, so there are definitely some features we're waiting on... but the fact that the Runn team listens to every suggestion we make is amazing. I have complete confidence that Runn is going to be an incredible fit for us for a long time.

Alternatives Considered

Forecast

Reasons for Choosing Runn

The other options could not support our process(es) for a reasonable price.

Switched From

Kantata, Resource Management and Forecast

Reasons for Switching to Runn

We were in the Forecast sales process for two months before we realized they weren't a good fit. WAY too expensive, too.
Alicia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Runn is the perfect fit for our company

Reviewed on 2021-02-09

I am extremely happy with Runn. They were very helpful with the initial set up. I had a recommendati...

I am extremely happy with Runn. They were very helpful with the initial set up. I had a recommendation for changing the scheduler page which would help my team out. Runn was able to make the change in a few weeks.

Pros

Runn was very easy to set up for our company. I can easily create schedules for our current and upcoming projects. The reporting features are great. I love how easily it shows the profitability per project and scheduled vs worked hours. We have used other software in the past and they had more features than our company needed and were complicated to use. Runn does exactly what we need it to do at a good price point.

Cons

This isn't really a con because they are working on it but there currently isn't time tracking software and we have to integrate with Clockify. I'm looking forward to Runn having their own time tracking software so we don't have to use to apps.

Anne
Anne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for a Startup needing to balance resources and costs

Reviewed on 2021-03-25

Pros

Quite simple UX
Timesheet linked to profitability functionality
Resource based view
Tentative project view
Affordable for start-up

Cons

Colors are not customisable
Cant keep notes on projects (like Trello)
Takes time to set up, can import the MS Project input

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Runn

We needed to be able to track utilization per person as well as per project and see overutilization clearly.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Runn

Timesheet linked to profitability functionality Resource view
Karthik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good, but can be better

Reviewed on 2022-12-15

It has been good, we're currently working on implementing the tool across the organization. The...

It has been good, we're currently working on implementing the tool across the organization. The customer support has been helpful in getting our questions answered. Certain exports to Excel are difficult, and the current API call limit is frustrating.

Pros

It's easy to manage resources, and time management for different projects which is useful for large organizations managing hundreds of projects at the same time.

Cons

Messes up the names which has accents in them. A more effective real-time connection with Workday (our people management tool) would be helpful in ensuring names are consistent across these two different tools.

Kieron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great resource management and planning

Reviewed on 2024-01-10

Pros

Easier to see where people and projects are at a glance, including budgets.

Cons

Sometimes I wish there were more reporting options.

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Runn

Reviewed on 2023-12-20

Pros

the hours management for allocations and the API to other programs which we are using to get accurate reporting.

Cons

I would like some more features in the space of HR Management of people and their skills to be able to better use the time allocation part in conjunction with RFI/RFP answering.

Warren
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lets you manage complexity with ease.

Reviewed on 2022-03-04

Pros

Global view of people and projects. Ease of bringing people in and spotting when people will be free is essential. Project and functional reporting is straight forward and insightful.

Cons

All features that I thought were missing have since been added. A very active development team.

Roman
Roman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A perfect Resource Planning instrument

Reviewed on 2022-01-25

My team is very happy. On last two years there were no one reason to switch to another tool.

My team is very happy. On last two years there were no one reason to switch to another tool.

Pros

My team is very happy about resource management, tracking projects, utilization, financial metrics and permissions features. Since we had invited very different groups of people (finance, PMs, delivery, sales, etc), everyone has set of features they like, and everything is working very smoothly.

Cons

We have pretty complex business intelligence tool to gather finance and project metrics, and we're using API sometimes. I would say that we're missing API features, but having public roadmap of planned features would be a plus.

Nicolas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Runn changed our way to manage people and projects

Reviewed on 2022-05-17

After starting to use runn, we could improve our precision for the time allocation per person and...

After starting to use runn, we could improve our precision for the time allocation per person and project.

Pros

we are using runn on a day-to-day basis to manage our consulting projects and where our employees are located. We use all features related to project management and reporting.

Cons

Things that we would like to see in the tool is a better way to manage access per user role, it would be useful for us.

Gavin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive, magnificent value, addressed every single one of our needs

Reviewed on 2022-02-24

In addition to meeting ever one of our use cases, the time between initial evaluation, demonstration...

In addition to meeting ever one of our use cases, the time between initial evaluation, demonstrations to our leadership team, and having key stakeholders up and running using the tool productively was minimal. The intuitiveness and ease of use are off the charts.

Pros

It addressed literally every set of asks we had in the domain of Resource Management (Capacity, Forecasting, Utilization) and Project Metrics (Role/Person Assignment, Burndown, and profitability). It had the added benefit of being able to retire a dedicated time tracking tool as well.

Cons

If there were one thing, just one thing I could change, it would be: Nothing.
Joking aside, I genuinely don't have anything I dislike about this tool. In fact, the more we use it, the more cool features we discover.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We're off and RUNNing....

Reviewed on 2022-10-13

Really good!

Really good!

Pros

I can teach someone to use it in 5 minutes. It is graphically intuitive and simple to display utilization. I like the tentative toggle.

Cons

It's a new platform. The team are responsive to new features. We would like a few more categories as discussed for billing/non-billing and the team have this in their roadmap.

Wojciech
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Brief opinion

Reviewed on 2022-12-14

Faster decision making process and future capacity planning overview

Faster decision making process and future capacity planning overview

Pros

User friendly, easy to manage and great Customer support

Cons

Desired features which can't be customized quickly due to many customer requests

Alternatives Considered

Workday Adaptive Planning and monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Runn

Meeting the most our requirements. Very fast and helpful Customer Care showing the demo and responding on questions
Danish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Discovery for project working

Reviewed on 2022-09-07

Pros

this app is so helpful for my small project. we can use it easily . Time saving.

Cons

Runn is fairly new, so there are definitely some features we're waiting on.

Khilan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

RUNN review

Reviewed on 2022-12-15

all well similar to Maven link

all well similar to Maven link

Pros

the features are user friendly but it could do with a slight update of colour

Cons

need to be colour friendly for tentativeness like maybe put in shading

Alternatives Considered

MSP Manager

Reasons for Switching to Runn

it did what we wanted to do as a co.
Iain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good Value for Money, Great Customer Service, and Solid Understanding of the Use Case

Reviewed on 2021-02-21

Aside from the high quality and highly usable software, Runn's customer service has been exception...

Aside from the high quality and highly usable software, Runn's customer service has been exception - very impressed

Pros

Powerful and feature rich, yet easy to understand and set up. Modelling my team, projects, and resourcing took a remarkably short time and prompted one or two very good questions I hadn't considered.

Cons

Very little that is an out an out con; initially resourcing by percentage wasn't available but this has been added. Managing public holidays is a little fussy, as is the resulting treatment of longer term resourcing but neither of these are a big deal.

Jeremie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Runn for Project Management

Reviewed on 2022-12-14

Runn is an effective tool for PM's to easily Plan projects, Track resourcing schedule and I can...

Runn is an effective tool for PM's to easily Plan projects, Track resourcing schedule and I can produce desired results without wasting my time.

Pros

Runn is very easy to navigate and very useful for efficient planning, especially if you are managing multiple projects.

Cons

Nothing I can think of, the product is user-friendly to be honest

Cj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Drives our operation

Reviewed on 2022-02-20

We use Runn to plan and view all of our projects highlighting where people are needed and when. It...

We use Runn to plan and view all of our projects highlighting where people are needed and when. It helps provide a birds eye view of our team and the business.

Pros

Runn is really easy to set up, add projects, place holders and teams to giving us a clear picture of our capacity and timelines.

Cons

It would be great to integrate with our team holiday calendar

Andrii
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great resource scheduling tool

Reviewed on 2022-05-11

Overall, Runn is a great tool that fits almost all my needs with resource scheduling

Overall, Runn is a great tool that fits almost all my needs with resource scheduling

Pros

- Easy to use
- Simple entities, that fits all my neads
- Great API, so that I can populate all my data with ease from another source

Cons

1. I'd like to have the possibility to add part-time vacation
2. I'd like to have vacation resolution strategies available through API
3. I'd like to filter only projects that have placeholder

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why didn't we use Runn sooner?!

Reviewed on 2022-02-23

Pros

*Incredibly simple and intuitive UI
*Ability to adjust resources in real time and see the impact is incredibly helpful
*Built in filters, graphs and reports
*Ability to import/export data to support integrations
*Incredibly responsive support team and constant new features/improvements

Cons

*Really need an undo button
*Would be incredibly helpful to include version control

Yvonne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Runnio is easy to use and friendly to new user

Reviewed on 2022-12-15

Pros

Runnio is not complicated and friendly to new user, you can easily learn how to use it. It helps a lot when we're doing resource planning , we can know who is overutilized and do needful

Cons

I'll recommend to add more feature like bulk updating resources leave time and auto set the public holidays. and it will be great if we can filter by location and employee ID

Andrejs
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Much more than just resource planning

Reviewed on 2021-12-14

Pros

Runn provides the ability to plan and manage your workloads, but it also helps track the project's financials in a very easy and intuitive manner.
Special thanks to a customer success team for a quick response and flexibility!

Cons

More like a nice to have feature - to have the ability to see project tasks from tools like Asana and be able to plan them across resources in a calendar view.