B2W Estimate

4.5 (193)
Heavy civil construction estimating software for contractors

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(193)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.7/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

193 Reviews

Gerhard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes closing a tender a breeze.

Reviewed on 6/15/2018

Increased success in obtaining work and peace of mind.

Pros

The flexibility. I have three estimators who utilize the functionality that allow them to work in their own unique ways. It's intuitive, uses windows-like logic. The 'crew based', subcontractor based, vendor based, systems allows for quick tendering.

Cons

The system requires annual maintenance fees that are somewhat costly. I am utilizing the system to the maximum amount of users (paid for) and would have pay more if I were to add more users.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Estimating Software

Reviewed on 11/22/2016

This is a great program for estimating. It can be customized with activities, crews, etc that can be used over and over. Bids can be shared in real time among multiple users. It also exports into multiple programs (Excel, Viewpoint) which makes the transition into a project easier.

Pros

It takes time to build activities and crews, but once done, they can be copied with no effort. There's multiple reports (material, labor, equipment) that is really helpful if the bid is successful. There is effort to learn the software, but it is straight forward. There are simple but effective features like the subcontractor and vendor management that allows you to create groups that then apply throughout the bid - for example, you can make a subcontractor group for concrete and enter the separate contractors and pricing. Choosing a contractor in this group then applies to all concrete items throughout the bid. It makes the work easier, but also helps to avoid missing an item.

Cons

The program automatically saves and there is no undo button, so make sure you think of this ahead of time.

Rich
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Still Integrating

Reviewed on 3/7/2016

Pros

It's pretty user friendly and easy to understand for the average estimator.

Cons

Certain feature requests not available yet like "unit" sale pricing on the WBS/Item Pricing tab

Travis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Experience using B2W has been phenomenal and useful.

Reviewed on 6/18/2018

I am able to easily and effectively perform my job as an estimator.

Pros

B2W ease of use and ability to update costing on materials, labour and equipment simply.

The Item history lookup option on an item is an effective tool.

Cons

It's in ability to create phases within phases on B2W estimate.

When it crashes it crashes numerous times that day. Does not happen very often, but when it does, it does not simply crash one time.

Billy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

B2W Drives our Business

Reviewed on 8/3/2021

I have used several other software platforms and always go back to B2W for its user friendly package and customer support.

Pros

B2W provides real time cost and equipment resources that benefit our company daily. It is very easy to use and helps control our costs.

Cons

I would like to have the option of dictating the exact price of an estimate.

Alan
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Bid2Win Construction Estimating Software

Reviewed on 8/19/2010

Highly recommended.

Pros

With the Enterprise version, the software has the ability to utilize multiple databases for use with multiple companies, yet be maintained from a central location. Within the Sherwood organization, we have eight companies; each with their own location, identity, resources, wage schedules, equipment rates, etc. The system's flexibility, ease of use, and multiple database capabilities were exatcly what we needed.

Data migration for system implementation was greatly simplified by way of spreadsheet style templates that were used to pre-populate the program's data tables within each database. WIth the pre-poulated data, the system was ready to use, almost virtually out of the box.

Seemless integration with MS Office products and exports available for multiple other software products, including accounting systems, reduces time and effort.

We were bidding with the system the day after training.

Cons

There aren't any cons that I can think of. After using the system for four months, I have only called tech support once. It was for something that I could have taken care of with another few minutes of thinking. If you pay attention during the training and are somewhat computer literate, the systems intuitiveness takes care of the rest.,

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Estimating Software

Reviewed on 11/23/2021

Once you have built a task you can update from time to time.

Pros

Was easy to integrate from a different estimating system

Cons

All reports have money on them, overhead, profit, and cost. Cannot give this to field people.

Louis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

B2W Estimate Review

Reviewed on 11/15/2021

Pros

The overall ease of use and cost structure of pay items whil in the estimate detail view.

Cons

It costs extra to purchase the vendor/subcontractor RFQ suite.

Jan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Used Estimate (formerly Bid2Win) for more than 10 years. Very pleased.

Reviewed on 4/15/2016

Pros

Support is very good. Friendly and knowledgeable. And prompt! Usually you can talk to a support rep right away and get your issue resolved right then and there which is critical when closing a bid.

Cons

Because we have been so pleased with Estimate / Bid2Win, I have not personally used other estimating software for more than ten years so I cannot personally provide a detailed comparison to other currently available estimating software.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good estimating software with many tools

Reviewed on 11/10/2017

This program works very well with Viewpoint and makes setting up a job in Viewpoint much easier.

Pros

The program is straight forward to learn, however, there are many features so there is a learning curve. The vendor and subcontractor RFQ is a great feature that makes analysis much easier. There are many reports available. Very helpful software.

Cons

There is no undo button, so be very careful before you take action. It is somewhat laborious to set up an estimate, a drag and drop feature of tasks or components would speed things up greatly.

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2/10/2022

B2W is a great product and I would recommend to anyone in the construction business.

Pros

Ease of use for creating estimates and sending out bids.

Cons

Integration with viewpoint always seems to be an issue.

Tod
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very useful Tool

Reviewed on 11/22/2021

It is an efficient Database

Pros

It integrates will with Vista and we also use Track.

Cons

The modules and licenses get very expensive.

Doug
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Overall it is great software riddled with terrible reporting and some ease of use issues

Reviewed on 6/19/2018

Pros

Document management is okay. Could use some better tagging
Windows interface is user friendly. user folders are a great benefit to organize information

Cons

Sub Payable is terrible. works fine as long as you don't make a mistake or need to add anything on the fly.
Reporting is terrible.

Kristen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

B2W Excellent Estimating Software

Reviewed on 3/26/2018

Pros

This software has the ability to hold a great volume of customers and estimates without the system getting bogged down.

Cons

It would be nice if it had a scheduling feature within the same program to allow for ease of job progression from quote to finished product.

Alicia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimate and Track

Reviewed on 9/7/2016

Pros

Their customer service is excellent! Very helpful and get back to you right away. We have used the product for a couple of years now and really like it. It's very user friendly and helpful with the information you are able to get from it.

Cons

I wish you were able to customize reports more especially in Track.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimate Review

Reviewed on 3/7/2016

Pros

The ability to customize the product for our needs and the willingness of the B2W employees to help with it. Also the tracking and reporting we can get from it.

Cons

I wish there were more selection of custom reports. We utilize some of the reports but it would be beneficial to be able to run more custom (specific) reports of what we are looking for with in estimate.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

best road construction estimating software

Reviewed on 9/25/2020

Pros

Software was designed for Heavy Construction

Cons

learning curve could be long for odd users

Stewart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is very comparible to HCSS.

Reviewed on 3/7/2016

Pros

This is very comparible to HCSS (the Cadillac of estimating softwares) but much more user friendly.

Cons

I cannot honestly think of what I like least. This software is easy to use.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review 1

Reviewed on 3/1/2021

Pros

It's ease of use and repeatability that expedites the bidding process.

Cons

Integration was the most difficult part, we went from excel bids to utilizing B2W, so it was time consuming to get it implemented.

Leo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

review

Reviewed on 7/29/2021

it is a lot faster and is really a great software

Pros

it is a lot easier getting a quote together

Cons

some of the function, not being able to manipulate the software in certain circumstances, and not being able to delete things

Sue
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimate and Track

Reviewed on 9/7/2016

Pros

The product is user friendly. My rep was wonderful in helping us set it up and to troubleshoot.

Cons

We seem to have the tablets lock up when trying to submit their job sheets; currently one of the newer ipads will not let you copy.

Keith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have been using estimate for the last 10 years

Reviewed on 3/3/2015

Pros

This software is easy to learn and very functional in Earthwork and Utility work. The support group is both timely and knowledgeable and eager to hear the customer's opinion.

Cons

I am colorblind and have a difficult time seeing the red text.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Earthwork Estimates

Reviewed on 12/18/2014

Pros

The software is easy to use and is very functional. Most of the features I look for in putting together a bid are included in the software.

Cons

There is one issue I have with the vendor management. It is difficult to spread my HDPE pipe fittings out among different items. The software works, but the way we price and spread our fitting cost generates a lot of custom material codes within the resources. Another item that would be nice would be to be able to use formulas in some of the cells in the same way you can use formulas to calculate quantities in Excel.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

B2W Estimate is the best!

Reviewed on 3/2/2015

Pros

Windows-based. Ease of use. Updated and enhanced features 2-3 time per year. Always evolving

Cons

I love everything about the software. There are no negative statements I could make regarding the software.

Lars
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User friendly with great support

Reviewed on 1/13/2017

We bought the software 4 months ago and it has been a very easy process to set up and start bidding with the program. We paid for the onsite training and while expensive was well worth the money.

Pros

I really like the ease of globally editing the material costs, labor costs, crews, production rates, etc with the global editing feature.

Cons

I haven't been using it long enough to have any real complaints about the product but it would be nice to have some sort of undo button.