B2W Estimate

4.5 (193)
Heavy civil construction estimating software for contractors

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(193)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.7/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

193 Reviews

Brent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chicago Heavy....Highway

Reviewed on 2022-03-02

Pros

Easy to put together private estimates that require a professional quote.

Cons

The program has many features, figuring out all of its functionality takes time (not really a con).

Randall
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Bid2Win Estimating Software User Review

Reviewed on 2010-09-29

Having used multiple estimating packages including Harddollar, HCS, Success, MCACES, and MCII, this program is by far the most user-friendly and feature-rich system in the commercial marketplace today, in my opinion. Additionally, the Bid2Win Software Engineers are eager to hear of user-identified feature requests and incorporate them into the software as new feature updates. We have used the system for 10 years, now, and have been very satisfied with the stability, speed, ease of use, minimal learning curve, and scalability of the program. I would give the software a 9.2 out of 10 and would raise the rating to 9.8 out of 10 if the Cons posted above were addressed.

Pros

Our company is a heavy/highway general contractor that self-performs removals, earthwork, bridges and retaining walls, underground utilities, asphalt paving and concrete paving. We investigated other options prior to commiting to the purchase of Bid2Win, choosing it because of its intuitive, tabbed user-interface and the ability to construct reusable task templates for any kind of work imaginable. The following bullets give an overview of the features available:
- User defined work categories / sub categories
- User defined labor classification / burden database
- User defined equipment classification / rates database
- Unlimited task template creation for repetitive work items
- Tabbed costing interface for calculating costs / markups / and bid pricing
- Markup distribution strategy tab for spreading costs to maximize project cash flow
- Automatic bond cost table
- Microsoft SQL server-based for unlimited concurrent user access (multiple estimators work at the same time)

Cons

- Weak export of costs and resources to Critical Path Method scheduling software (i.e. Export to Microsoft Project, not Primavera)
- Only basic implementation of Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) subcontractor assignments (still requires additional spreadsheet work outside of the program to get a complete analysis of DBE participation)

Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Potential is there

Reviewed on 2019-01-03

Pros

The best thing about B2W is how the different modules communicate with each other. Estimating flows into Track and Schedule to reduce redundancy.

Cons

There is a long learning curve to adapt to using this product. Setup is seemingly easy until it creates problems later and you have to start over. Not enough training is provided with the product and the charges incurred for additional training and setup is painful.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Continues to perform as expected. Easy to navigate around after becoming familiar with...

Reviewed on 2018-06-21

Standardized bidding and job set up process across the company. Also provides place for easy review of bids at all levels of management in various locations across the group of companies.

Pros

Level of control over all aspects of the bids. Also the ability to break down information in various formats for easy review and analysis. Conditional formatting allows to catch anything that may be an issue at a quick glance. Numerous reports built in to cover a lot of aspects of the bids.

Cons

Inability to create custom reports in house. Also with concurrent licenses not having the ability to pull a license back from a user has been a challenge. The user may have remained logged in even though they are not using the software preventing others ability to access.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Estimating Software

Reviewed on 2021-11-23

Once you have built a task you can update from time to time.

Pros

Was easy to integrate from a different estimating system

Cons

All reports have money on them, overhead, profit, and cost. Cannot give this to field people.

Kirk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Heavy Civil Estimating Software

Reviewed on 2022-02-08

Pros

Great system for compiling heavy civil / site bids.

Cons

Can be somewhat cumbersome due to softwares built in detail capabilities for first time users. Once you have some use in the system it is great having the extra detail.

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2022-02-10

B2W is a great product and I would recommend to anyone in the construction business.

Pros

Ease of use for creating estimates and sending out bids.

Cons

Integration with viewpoint always seems to be an issue.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

B2W review

Reviewed on 2022-02-06

Pros

Easy to use and easy to understand with no previous understanding

Cons

None can not find any real cons that I can see just yet

Tod
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very useful Tool

Reviewed on 2021-11-22

It is an efficient Database

Pros

It integrates will with Vista and we also use Track.

Cons

The modules and licenses get very expensive.

Seth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

sw

Reviewed on 2022-02-18

Fantastic software to learn on

Pros

Easy to use.
Works well with program we run.

Cons

From my understanding their is no undo button.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 2011-07-08

About a year ago, our company was still estimating with spreadsheets. Our system was effective for acquiring work, but didn't really allow for much integration with scheduling, project management, or accounting software. We also had problems with collaboration between estimators on a single estimate. Limitations with spreadsheets forced us to occasionally create multiple estimating files in order to allow more than one estimator to work concurrently on a single project.

A more troubling problem was the increasing disparity in spreadsheets from different estimators. Personal preferences led to individual changes on each spreadsheet revision, in both appearance and function. This was problematic during file integration, but also through transitions among staff. Our project managers and superintendents struggled to coordinate projects between different estimators, who sometimes presented the same information in different formats.

Realizing that the problems and flaws in our system were only going to get worse, we began to investigate potential software solutions. We decided to go with BID2WIN because the software addressed all our needs at a reasonable price point, and provided all the features of other systems as well as a lot more.

We've been using BID2WIN for about a year now, so we're still newbies, and still finding new ways to harness its powerful tools to our advantage. Make no mistake, it IS a powerful tool, and the only regret I have is that we didn't make the move years ago.

Implementation of BID2WIN Is not just "installation." It's a collaborative process that entails considerable effort from the client, and from different levels of the BID2WIN implementation and training team. They don't just dump the software on your server. They require considerable effort and involvement from you, the client, but the time and effort you invest into it will be returned many times over.

BID2WIN Software had us up and running pretty quickly, and we immediately realized the savings in time. The import features, item and task templates, and RFQ process make building an estimate almost effortless. The process only gets faster and easier as we gain familiarity with the programs, and as our databases grow. The time we save in building estimates can now be utilized to learn the intricacies of the project, and fine tune our efforts accordingly. We don't get every job we bid with BID2WIN. That isn't a goal, and never was. What utilizing BID2WIN does do is lead to better cost accuracy - which, of course, is the single most important aspect of estimating, and the construction business as a whole. Anyone can be a low bidder. What's great is to be the low bidder, while knowing exactly what your margins are - and that's just for starters.

BID2WIN addressed all of the issues we had with our spreadsheet estimating. The system allows multiple users to modify a single estimating file concurrently without the need for multiple bidding files, so true collaboration can take place. BID2WIN also immediately standardized our estimating process.

These days, we can easily transfer project responsibility from any estimator to any project manager or superintendent, knowing that the information stays consistent in both content and presentation. But beyond that, BID2WIN's myriad reports allow people of different responsibilities to extract their information in virtually any form they want. BID2WIN effectively addressed our crucial need to standardize our process, but the tool also maintained the positive aspects of individualization.

My favorite aspect of BID2WIN is the effortless and sleek integration it affords us. Once we are a successful bidder on a project, we can export BID2WIN files and load them into our accounting, project management and scheduling software programs. Within minutes, we have a resource-loaded schedule to hand off to the project manager and superintendent; cost estimates loaded into our job costing; and purchase orders and subcontracts printed, loaded into our accounting program, and ready to distribute to our vendors and subcontractors. There is no redundancy, duplication of effort, or clerical errors, and the task is done in minutes. It still amazes me.

As a business owner, the old adage that "time is money" should be a mantra, and the time savings we have derived from the implementation of BID2WIN has already paid for its acquisition costs. With our ability to generate a larger volume of estimates, and with greater cost accuracy, we are also more profitable overall.

Innovation is another aspect of BID2WIN that makes the company stand out. Many of the product updates and developments to the system come directly from end-user requests and suggestions. The software doesn't just add cosmetic bells and whistles. The developers collaborate with users to add useful tools that provide additional value, and make our jobs easier.

BID2WIN has been everything we had hoped for, and more. We highly recommend this solution to anyone except our direct competition. We'd love to maintain the competitive advantage it affords us.

Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CB, Inc. - B2W Estimate Overview

Reviewed on 2020-11-16

We went from Excel/ Pen and paper to using a standardized database that will integrate with out new Viewpoint Vista Accounting package.

Pros

Best ease of use cost to price Construction Estimating Product out there. Best bang for the buck. If familiar with cost coding, production rates, cost to price estimating; the setup and go live can be achieved in a relatively short time span. Being able to have a standard with the entire team (Estimating, Project Management, Accounting, & Field personnel) is worth the purchase alone.

Cons

MSA and Blanket contracts are challenging to build in Estimate.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

B2W is Great

Reviewed on 2021-08-03

B2W is great, and has saved us time and allowed us to bid more projects, thus making more money each year. It also helps a new hire or intern understand the construction process by showing labor and equipment for each task.

Pros

Setting up and bidding a project is much easier now that we have B2W. Before we used spreadsheets with formulas to calculate production and pricing. B2W does all of that for us, especially when your resources are set up correctly to your needs. I can auto populate items with tasks that have all formulas built in, so all I need is the takeoff area or volume. Setting bond, profit, overhead and labor burden is a breeze with B2W.

Cons

Integrating with Spectrum accounting software is still a bit of a challenge. We have to export to excel and spend about an hour or two to prepare a budget so it will upload correctly.

Alternatives Considered

HeavyBid

Reasons for Switching to B2W Estimate

User friendly and interface
Blake
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Estimate Review

Reviewed on 2021-03-01

Overall it has been a great experience. In the end it is up to the user to determine how much that they want to get out of the system . You get what you put into it (if you put in a lot of time and effort your results should be great).

Pros

Usability and user friendly. Easy for new employees to pick up. Security - we have the ability to allow user different levels of access. Also, integrates well with our accounting system.

Cons

Takes a lot of time and effort to get the system up and running. Have had some issues with mapping to our accounting system.

Alternatives Considered

HeavyBid

Reasons for Switching to B2W Estimate

Cost and user friendly.
April
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Because I'm happy...

Reviewed on 2015-03-02

Pros

First, I like how responsive this vendor is towards user concerns and input towards a better product. Each employee is very willing to help and answer questions, or record any input to be evaluated for future updates.
Second, I like how much this product continues to evolve. When I started using the software three years ago, I only used the estimate portion. Now we have evolved to using it for job cost tracking, dispatch, forms, etc., it is much more convenient being able to use one software to handle a lot of our needs.

Cons

The only thing I do not like is not having an "undo" button, one like those seen on the Microsoft office softwares. I greatly appreciate the recycle bin feature to help restore items that I've deleted, but I also make many small mistakes or changes that I would easily like to undo.

Devin
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 2011-07-07

Romero is a certified SDB General Construction Corp. specializing in: design-build, general contracting, fine grading, aggregate placement, asphalt paving, concrete paving, curb & flatwork, aggregate crushing/recycling, based in the northern San Diego, California area.

Prior to BID2WIN we were using customized Excel spreadsheets on an ad hoc basis. What compelled us to switch to BID2WIN was the ability to have a centralized database on which all of our estimators could draw. That, and the fact that BID2WIN keeps our resources and our bids organized.

We were very impressed with BID2WIN's customer service and the fact that we can call them up anytime and have one of their support reps log on to our computers and fix a problem. The company wants to go in the direction of the consumer; they're willing to customize the package to our operations and they want to implement it the best way they can to benefit us.

One of the biggest reasons we went with BID2WIN is there support department. Whenever we call up they are like bull dogs; they get on a question and they wont let go until it's solved.

BID2WIN saves our company time and money in several regards. First, it has standardized our estimating and bidding. Our estimators are all using the same program. Our bid proposals all look the same and there's no opportunity for anyone to be using an incorrect cost with any of our resources. Also, BID2WIN's built in error checking lets us quickly determine if we've omitted any costs or missed any aspects of the bid.

My favorite feature is the ability to update a bid globally when we have material changes or labor or equipment rate changes. We can go into a very large bid and make the update and have it take effect everywhere.

We use Maxwell's StreetSmarts and the integration with BID2WIN almost saves us a body at the office. Right from BID2WIN I can export my budget, cost codes, purchase orders – everything we need to set up the job.

I would definitely recommend BID2WIN to some of our colleagues in the field. In fact, we've done so in the past!

Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RGT Clouthier LTD

Reviewed on 2021-09-15

Fantastic!

Pros

User friendly, as long as your costs etc. are constantly updated

Cons

An undo button would be great! Also, a trucking global edit would be extremely helpful.

Alternatives Considered

PlanSwift
Tyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

B2W Estimate

Reviewed on 2015-03-24

Pros

Custom Reporting feature made it possible to customize the reporting and views to the old way we were used to seeing it. It does a really good job of computing all the numbers in a bid item fashion. Tons of ways you can tackle different tasks or multiple items within one parent bid item, phases, alternates, etc. The subcontractor compare tab is a great way to compare item by item, apples to apples of multiple sub quotes. Then with a click of a button it will push them in to your actual bid. Huge time saver!

Cons

Sometimes on larger bids with hundreds of bid items that are very complex it seems to have a slight lag when doing data entry. That could also be part technical on our side as well. But I need to address this. I guess I'm always shooting for "Very Efficient" in everything I do.

Don
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommended

Reviewed on 2021-07-29

Saving time and increasing accuracy is the best way to describe B2W.

Pros

The best part of the program is that it speeds up the bidding process and increased bidding accuracy and consistency. With that said, it allows us to bid more projects and obtain more work.

Cons

In the subcontractor management and comparing self performed vs subcontracted, it would be a vast improvement if overhead and profit were added to the self performed option.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid tool with an ever growing list of valuable features

Reviewed on 2018-06-19

We are able to drive our goal of industry leader with the tools being afforded to us by B2W. We find new ways of use daily, we are able to get information to our field personnel quickly. Responding in minuets to issues not days and weeks. it is a platform we plan on building upon aggressively for a long time.

Pros

I truly appreciate the integration among the entire product line. It truly streamlines our approach to doing business

Cons

While I enjoy the integration, I do feel it could be better, the limited functionality of certain parts of the programs limit its full potential.

Gerhard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes closing a tender a breeze.

Reviewed on 2018-06-15

Increased success in obtaining work and peace of mind.

Pros

The flexibility. I have three estimators who utilize the functionality that allow them to work in their own unique ways. It's intuitive, uses windows-like logic. The 'crew based', subcontractor based, vendor based, systems allows for quick tendering.

Cons

The system requires annual maintenance fees that are somewhat costly. I am utilizing the system to the maximum amount of users (paid for) and would have pay more if I were to add more users.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Estimating Software

Reviewed on 2016-11-22

This is a great program for estimating. It can be customized with activities, crews, etc that can be used over and over. Bids can be shared in real time among multiple users. It also exports into multiple programs (Excel, Viewpoint) which makes the transition into a project easier.

Pros

It takes time to build activities and crews, but once done, they can be copied with no effort. There's multiple reports (material, labor, equipment) that is really helpful if the bid is successful. There is effort to learn the software, but it is straight forward. There are simple but effective features like the subcontractor and vendor management that allows you to create groups that then apply throughout the bid - for example, you can make a subcontractor group for concrete and enter the separate contractors and pricing. Choosing a contractor in this group then applies to all concrete items throughout the bid. It makes the work easier, but also helps to avoid missing an item.

Cons

The program automatically saves and there is no undo button, so make sure you think of this ahead of time.

Shane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cougar Companies Review of B2W Estimate

Reviewed on 2021-02-24

We are creating a seem less database for any estimator to use. The ease of learning this program from scratch is a lot easier now than when I started 15 years ago. The estimators I train now pick this up in about 1 week.

Pros

Reviewing Vendors and subs side by side for comparison is great. It is amazing how quick an estimate can be completed accurately. The initial set up is time consuming but well worth the cost.

Cons

An automatic schedule builder in Estimate for the customer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I am new to the product, but it seems like a good software program.

Reviewed on 2018-06-14

It's easy to use as an estimator.

Pros

Ease of use and functionality. I like the various windows for different functions, and the icons are getting better to differentiate various functions. I do like how I am able to have many number of tasks in a tree, in lieu of only having the ability to have 3 or 4 tasks per item.

Cons

Lacks some features I am used to. I am not a huge fan of the different reports, but we are working with B2W about customizing various reports to suit our company needs. I am also not a fan of how slow the inputs can be. We are working off an off-site server, and sometimes in can bog down.

Travis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Experience using B2W has been phenomenal and useful.

Reviewed on 2018-06-18

I am able to easily and effectively perform my job as an estimator.

Pros

B2W ease of use and ability to update costing on materials, labour and equipment simply.

The Item history lookup option on an item is an effective tool.

Cons

It's in ability to create phases within phases on B2W estimate.

When it crashes it crashes numerous times that day. Does not happen very often, but when it does, it does not simply crash one time.