Plandek

4.5 (13)
Build software better with Plandek Value Stream Metrics

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(13)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.9/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

13 Reviews

Camilo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Plandek is the essential tool for software teams and leaders

Reviewed on 2022-04-12

Overall we are loving this product and excited to continue to ramp up our teams and get them diving deep into the Plandek data to optimize and enhance how they deliver software.

Pros

I loved how easy it is to setup and get started. Simply point it to your various datasources (eg: JIRA boards, repos, build pipelines) and it'll start collecting data and providing insights.
Out-of-the-box dashboards providing an array of useful metrics and insights to help you get started quickly with industry-standard views into software development processes.
The Pipeline/Deployment API is a game changer as well; a little more involved to setup, but well worth the time. With this integration, you can track production deployments and tie those deployments back through your SDLC events to understand key metrics related to delivering software.
The ability to organize datasets into hierarchical relationships made it really easy to group teams into products / product areas for higher-level views across our organization.
The customer service is also excellent; very responsive and willing to listen to our feedback and provide help/support where needed.

Cons

Nothing really stands out here. The Plandek folks are great and they are eager and willing to incorporate feedback into the future roadmap plans where it makes sense.

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Switching to Plandek

Plandek works across data sources to get insights into the plan, build & delivery phases, so it is much more extensive than purely looking at JIRA data. We choose Plandek over GitPrime and other similar vendors because of their unique ability to capture production deployment events, and correlate those events with other data points from the SDLC, providing a true end-to-end view of the engineering process.
Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective Product Development Platform

Reviewed on 2022-04-11

CaseWare has been able to gain visibility into the full lead time to value across our bug tracking, code, build, and production systems. We have also implemented a common set of metrics for best practices and lessons learned to be more effectively shared globally.

Pros

Plandek aggregates data from disparate systems to put together full DORA metrics and many other additional more comprehensive metrics into a single pane of glass. The documentation built into the platform lowers the barrier for all team members to be able to derive value from it's usage.

Cons

Some connectors to more exotic bug tracking or build environment toolsets are not yet available.

Juan Ramon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Juan's review

Reviewed on 2022-03-11

I see a lot of potential on Plandek, I think Plandek can help us to have a better understanding on things that generally are missed from engineering point of view in order to improve our productivity.
Adopting Plandek forced us as well to define some JIRA standards from our side, so that the information we get from Plandek can be compared on time using the same base, which is good.
In the end I quite like Plandek and it is already having impact on our product, but there are still some changes that will need to happen for us to fully get the value that we expect for having big impact

Pros

Plandek offers a lot of information gotten from JIRA in a more user friendly way than JIRA itself. Plandek is really flexible and many information can be taken in order to identify areas for improvement in the team

Cons

Plandek offers a lot of options for tracking multiple useful areas for the business (delivery time, sprint info, tickets, etc), but some of the important things for making this really useful to the final client are missed, eg: I find the LiveView app useful, but there is not much value if I can't define specific levels and raise alerting based on the levels that I specified instead of the one that are pre-defined by Plandek.
There are small details that seem to be quick win from me and will really improve the impact of Plandek in my end (like dates flexibility, etc)

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Plandek for Software Engineering Delivery

Reviewed on 2022-04-21

It was easy for us to see the value of Plandek, and then became easy to pick it up and use it. We've only really explored a fraction of its potential.

Pros

Plandek is easy to configure/deploy and easy to use, and Plandek give a lot of customer support to help get to grips with the product. For me, this meant that even though we were going through a lot of change (new ways of using Jira, new team structures, etc.) we were still able to use Plandek to get to our metrics.

Cons

It would be good to be able to control the colours used on metrics (maybe through a colour scheme or style sheet config feature).

Vipul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Consolidation of Delivery Metrics

Reviewed on 2022-03-09

So far I will rate my overall experience good. More to be explored on the available reports to see how much it fits the organization need and can be extended across multiple project teams

Special mention for Kerry Seaton as main point of contact for Plandek support. She is knowledgeable, supportive and has been extremely accommodative to the meeting requests.

Pros

I found tool very handy, easy to understand and build meaningful reports. Interpretation of data using different graphs is impressive.

Cons

Would be good to see below reporting capabilities being added to Plandek:
- Average velocity trend (sprint wise and quarterly)
- Burndown chart for the entire sprint similar to Jira view
- Ability to edit the categories. Once created it is difficult to delete or rename it

Besmir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool for metrics oriented organization

Reviewed on 2022-04-12

Pros

Sprint progress
Sprint tickets scope
Cycle time
Lead time
Live View
No of tickets created vs completed
etc

Cons

No real time sync with Jira and BitBucket.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid easy-to-use tool for engineering metrics and performance insight

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

Pros

Easy to setup and use. Good set of out the box default dashboards to get you started. Fantastic customer support. Gives useful insight into end-to-end cycle time and engineering performance.

Cons

Can be a bit tricky to manage links from a large number of github repos to metric datasets. Probably only a problem past a certain scale - e.g. if you have a lot of microservices each in separate repos.

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All round great product for tracking essential metrics

Reviewed on 2021-10-07

Pros

- Dashboards were easy to use and set up
- Displays multiple metrics on a single dashboard so you can spot patterns between relatable metrics
- Friendly customer service
- Endless customisation to suit your purpose

Cons

- Having a "overall" toggle to switch all metrics on a single dashboard to a specific sprint/timeframe/project would be really handy

romain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good software to measure performances.

Reviewed on 2022-04-14

Pros

Plandek is very easy to use.
It is providing a lots of usefull tools to measure performances.
Plandek team is very responsive and helpful each time we need something.

Cons

I would like that Plandek integrate data coming from Gitlab, Jenkins.
Or Tempo report from Jira.

Giulio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software, although a bit clunky and not as user friendly as it could be

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

Great customer service and support

Pros

I like the fact that it does what it says on the tin - unleashes metrics from various sources

Cons

The user interface, it feels clunky an unintuitive. Could do with some more user research.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for tracking and visualising productivity metrics

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

Pros

Ability to report on the DORA metrics
Very intuitive UI that is easy to navigate
Presents various useful productivity metrics to teams in one place

Cons

Could do with some more automation of adding new repos, JIRA boards, CCI projects to datasets to streamline the setup process and reduce the amount of ongoing maintenance required

Andi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Plandek can help you to understand your team health

Reviewed on 2022-04-12

Pros

- Good set of default metrics to start onboarding into the tool.
- Powerful set of filters and custom views to get the most out of each metric.
- Possibility to configure company templates for dashboards.

Cons

- It's not easy to quickly set up large numbers of teams. Can be solved easily with batch processing jobs.

Stefan
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Get on top of your data foot print and improve your decision making.

Reviewed on 2021-10-10

We have been through a constructive journey and are in a better space thanks to using plandek.

Pros

The appealing user interface and clear presentation of data.

Cons

Set up needs to be left to technical people.