Identifix

4.2 (40)
OEM database for automotive services and repair industry

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(40)
Value for Money
3.6/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support Software
3.9/5

78%
recommended this app
Sort by

40 Reviews

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One valuable tool

Reviewed on 8/26/2021

Identifix is a great tool to add to your toolbox. The way it can help on some of those odd issues outweighs the cost of the subscription.

Pros

Identifix directhit is very easy to use. It is a great tool to help diagnose problems. With all the user submitted data it can be very helpful.

Cons

Navigating the service manuals section can be not as easy to navigate compared to other products. Not a deal breaker

Alternatives Considered

ALLDATA

Reasons for Switching to Identifix

The database of user submissions is vastly larger than other products
Jim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Information and more

Reviewed on 8/23/2019

Ease of use with a quick, accurate symptom based search function provides me with possible solutions and the required test procedures to confirm a suspicion. Saves time and increases the accuracy of a repair.

Pros

The program gives me the ability to quickly identify pattern failures that may lead to a solution for a problem on a vehicle. Symptom search works well and minimizes search time. Test procedures, component information, wiring diagrams, TSB’s and recalls are all listed with the symptom to further increase ease of use and minimize wasted time searching for each item individually.
Sending a request for help within the program for assistance finding information is excellent. The help desk personnel who respond to help requests are prompt, helpful and very nice to deal with.

Cons

Parts and Labor Estimator fails to meet my needs. Searching for parts or labor functions sometimes fails to supply required information or results supplied are inaccurate.

Maintenance schedule fails to display labor functions in a uniform order and mixes “Inspect” functions with “Replace” functions. Other maintenance schedules present all “Inspect” functions followed by all “Replace” functions which streamlines preparation leading up to the actual work by allowing me to see all items that need replacement and order parts accordingly before the tech receives the job.

Bryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Complete Repair Information

Reviewed on 5/11/2019

It was okay, it would work for anyone but did not have a good experience with customer service.

Pros

Identifix had most the information we needed in the moment.

Cons

Compared to Alldata they seem to have the same information with worse customer service. On hold forever. Would say Mitchell1 is superior to both.

Alternatives Considered

ALLDATA

Reasons for Switching to Identifix

It was not as familiar as Alldata and poor customer service.
stephaney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EVERYTHING..... ALL IN one place

Reviewed on 6/23/2022

Overall I LOVE it. My personal productivity has gone through the roof. Which helps my techs get their productivity up. And that means making more oney all around!

Pros

I LOVE Identifix. I no longer have to open half a dozen different windows to find information I need. I can find cars that have had the same issue, how to test that issue, diagrams and wiring for it and a list that shows what the most common fix is for that issue. ALL IN IDENTIFIX....GREAT PROGRAM

Cons

There are a couple things that could be a little easier. Many times specifications are not listed under SPECIFICATIONS. I have to search for them under testing info. It should be easier to find fuel pressure.

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Super helpful tool for small repair shop

Reviewed on 4/28/2020

Pros

Identifix has saved us lots of money and time by helping pinpoint troublesome vehicle’s maladies. Identifix has paid for itself many times over.

Cons

The overall interface is a little “busy” but after getting used to it, it became pretty seamless.

Alternatives Considered

Mitchell RepairCenter

Switched From

ALLDATA
Sharon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Identifix

Reviewed on 8/21/2019

I will continue to use the software because when it comes to fixing cars it is a great software for mechanics to use for helping to troubleshoot.

Pros

The program integrates with my Invoicing software. It's easy to look up Repairs for most vehicles. It's gives what other mechanics have done to fix the problems.

Cons

It's not easy to maneuver around some of the other parts of the program. Not always easy to find what you are looking for.

ELIAS
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

been using now for a couple of years, works well when in a pinch. price is a little high in my...

Reviewed on 6/21/2018

Pros

i like that technicians can find test procedures quickly with a search bar, instead of searching manually with alldata

Cons

price is too high for use. system is getting better with factory manuals, wiring diagrams and other related criteria

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Quick fault to fix software with full management capabilities.

Reviewed on 10/11/2017

Pros

I like the quick search tab that allows us to search for like faults in so many cars. It really does cut time when testing.

Cons

Program is a little sketchy sometimes although it seems to be improving. I think it will be really good in the future.

ABIODUN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Identifix, Great for giving customers accurate shop time estimates and printing invoices

Reviewed on 12/20/2019

Identifix is a terrific addition to our service department. If you want to grow, let this software grow with your business!

Pros

We are an independent auto repair shop in Florida. For years we worked without Identifix, Sometimes you wonder how did we do it... this allow you to print invoices very clean and presentable.

Cons

The thing I like the most about Identifix is the cost. It is 3 times more expensive than the stand alone product we were using before through Wayne Reeves, called the Shop program

RICHARD
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

NOT QUITE THERE YET

Reviewed on 8/13/2019

I do not feel we miss anything by not using identifix.

Pros

I quit using this software due to difficulty in program and lack of wiring schematic and original equipment service manuals.

Cons

The use of this software is only good for reviewing past fixes and what other Technicians have found in the field and is not useful to real technicians.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Identifix is a valuable resource

Reviewed on 4/23/2020

Identifix helps us do the right maintenance on our customer's cars at the right interval. It has also helped us figure out difficult hard to find problems on a few cars.

Pros

I like the maintenance schedule lookup feature. It makes it easy to determine what maintenance items we should be doing on our customer's car at any given time or mileage. The catch up maintenance and recall notices on the suggested maintenance is a great feature. I do like the ability to check the diagnostic trouble codes for most likely failures and tips from other technicians about testing protocols as well.

Cons

The layout of the home page is my least favorite feature. It's not as intuitive as it should be. I think the options to click on new car, maintenance, schedules, etc could be neater and easier to find.

Denise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Identifix is an automotive repair shop necessity

Reviewed on 4/14/2017

My automotive repair shop uses Identifix daily. One of my favorite tools on this program is the ability to paste a vehicle's VIN number into the homepage, it effectively decodes the VIN and looks up the vehicle. Identifix comes in hand especially when we are dealing with a check engine light. The program shows us what the most common fixes are for a specific engine light code and provides detailed service information for the techs. My techs greatly appreciate the wiring diagrams and diagnostic tips from other shops.

Pros

This software provides a vast amount of vehicular repair information. I have been able to utilize this program on nearly every vehicle that comes into my shop.

Cons

I like everything about the software.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Real life fixes from automotive professionals.

Reviewed on 7/9/2017

Quick Diagnostics and repair information. Saved many headaches from unpublished repairs. The ultimate "shortcut" software.

Pros

Easy to use with a wealth of information on most makes and models. This software has saved our shop hundreds of hours of diagnostics which makes us more money and saves the customer money. Has labor guides from multiple sources. Has OEM TSB's and repair information. This software has a wealth of information once you learn how to use it.

Cons

The price can fluctuate depending on your needs and who you talk to. Like any good business deal get it in writing. Charge your customers a fee for use and you will recover the costs.

Odis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Identfix can do exactly as the title states. Identify the problem and lead you to fixing it.

Reviewed on 2/18/2019

Identifix is my go to for all labor times, R & R procedures, Its vital in creating accurate estimates for my customers

Pros

I like that you can search by vehicle malfunction and see reports from other users that have had the same problem and how they were able to solve the problem.

Cons

Biggest Con is the price. Its quite expensive and may not be for everyone if they do not have a shop that can justify the cost.

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Identifix Is a Must Have product

Reviewed on 11/9/2021

It is useful to identify pattern failures, TSBs, and recalls. It also has labor times and wiring diagrams. It is a good product to have in the shop.

Pros

The ability to shorten the diagnostic time by pin pointing common pattern failures, causes, and testing steps.

Cons

Technicians often want to rely on it and they fail to do basic testing.

THOMAS
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A must have for auto repair buisness of all types and sizes

Reviewed on 6/19/2020

makes you an expert on any vehicle .. also maintenance schedules are extremely helpful

Pros

I like the fact that it shows "most likely" causes of complaints and trouble codes .. also you can call real time to an expert to discuss and guide you through a diagnosis and repair

Cons

they are always improving have on line guides

alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love the help and resources this program provides

Reviewed on 11/8/2017

Pros

Love the help and resources this program provides. It is easy to use and if you need help using it or if the information that you are looking for is not there, you can always call to get help. Very quick and reliable

Cons

Our technicians use this program for help when needed, just don't like the fee when you need to talk to someone on the phone

Angela
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great tool used daily in our shop

Reviewed on 10/3/2017

Pros

What I like most about Identifix is the knowledge that we can acquire through the program. We can use the endless information to streamline our workflow.

Cons

What I like least about Identifix is the fact that paid subscribers do not get to call into the hotline for free. I think it should be included in our monthly membership.

FRANCIE
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Identifix helps our auto shop daily.

Reviewed on 1/8/2020

Identifix helps our shop with problem solving in our automotive repair shop on a daily or weekly basis. We have used it for several years. The website is user friendly and customer service has been easy to work with.

Pros

It is always available no matter what day of the week we are trying to diagnose a car. Their website format is easy to maneuver through.

Cons

I have come across repair problems that I can not find answers for on the Identifix website even though I assume other mechanics has come across the same problems.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great support

Reviewed on 7/23/2019

Pros

Easy to navigate and seems to be loaded with information related to our needs.

Cons

No issues at this time, everything seems to work as expected for us.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very easy to use, lots of information

Reviewed on 6/4/2018

Other users comments

Pros

One of the best things about using Identifix is getting information from other users that have had similar issues and being able to narrow down certain issues. This has help me quite a bit in the past to determine what was wrong with some vehicles.

Cons

The one thing I don't like about Identifix is the cost, it is hard to pay so much when you only work on cars as a hobby.

Jean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Identifix

Reviewed on 6/11/2020

Overall good product to utilize when resolving basic issues.

Pros

Communication with multiple vehicle platforms. Easy to plug in to vehicles and getting basic readings.

Cons

Can be difficult to get issues resolved within a reasonable time frame when dealing with complicated vehicle issues.

alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

we use this product in comparison to another shop program we use, it is our secondary go to...

Reviewed on 8/2/2018

Pros

we love this program, it lets us know the most common "fixs" and failures in our industry, works very good for diagnostics

Cons

we love this program, but one time we did call in to get additional help and later on we recieved an additional bill for that

Lucretia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall a Good Product

Reviewed on 9/5/2019

Pros

The information available is better than that of similar products. Definitely worth the investment.

Cons

Can be a bit hard to navigate. Sometimes having to use multiple key words for the same part.

Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Definitely worth it!!!!

Reviewed on 4/3/2019

It has been a wonderful experience thus far. Customer support is amazing you get one guy his actual cell number it’s direct communication they take wonderful care of you while your learning the system and when you need help

Pros

It’s so easy to navigate. You can type in anything your stuck on and boom there’s you answer, it gives you labor time, pricing, you can make bills. It does SO much

Cons

I am satisfied enough that there really isn’t anything I don’t like.