Jell

4.5 (23)
Information technology, software teams, remote teams, more..

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(23)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.5/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

23 Reviews

Robert
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easy, Simple & Effective Standup Tool

Reviewed on 2018-03-07

Pros

-Less than 1 minute to post your standup
-Integrates with Slack so you can share with your team
-Allows custom intervals so you can do standups with different granularity
-Allows reminders so you can get a ping in the morning if you forget

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WOW

Reviewed on 2021-04-13

AMAZING. Especially with Covid and working from home. This has been an amazing tool to make sure A) people are showing up to work on time, and B) you can track their process throughout the day. Such a great tool!

Pros

It is so simple, integrates great with other things we use such as slack and gmail and make sure that the leadership team or any team for that matter can keep themselves accountible.

Cons

It is not free. I do not have many cons for this. My gosh, it is 100% worth every single penny.

Alternatives Considered

Google Calendar and Google Sheets

Reasons for Switching to Jell

Because of how easy it was to set up and use. The design is so simple you can not mess it up.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Hi Tim!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Jell. We are glad to hear you and your team are enjoying Jell and that you are finding our Slack integration helpful!

- Jell Team

Zafer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jell has a huge integration library

Reviewed on 2022-08-03

Pros

The most incredible aspect of Jell is it has default integrations with other applications that we use for collaboration.

Cons

They should offer better pricing options for the usage of the platform.

Daphne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

mixed feelings about jell

Reviewed on 2021-02-16

Pros

It is convenient to be able to have my users report to me on a third-party platform

Cons

There seem to have been a number of bugs, for years, that just don't get addressed (time in the settings doesn't work unless people pick an "odd" number like 8:01 am as opposed to 8 am or 8:15 am) As well, a number of requests I've made have never been addressed.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Daphne,

Thank you for sharing taking the time to share your feedback. The reminder time issues that you're referencing should be fixed. We released an update late last year. We do know of other reminder time issues a couple members of your team have experienced more recently, but we believe those were addressed by adjusting the users' timezone settings.

I'll be reaching out directly to get more information on other requests that are still not addressed.

- Jell Team

Chandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Jell Review

Reviewed on 2021-02-16

Pros

The reporting part is what is helpful fo me.

Cons

Daily scrum is what we mostly use -- and thats is very helpful sa the teams are geographically dispersed.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Chandra, thank you so much for sharing your experience with Jell!

We are very happy to hear that Jell's reporting and its ability for asynchronous daily standups/scrums is helpful to you and your team.

- Jell Team

Brianna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good software with a few bugs

Reviewed on 2021-02-04

Pros

It makes it really easy to plan the day, knowing you won't forget anything that needs to be done. For longer term plans, you can add them in the future plans section, so nothing will get missed. It's also really satisfying ticking off each item as you complete it!

Cons

There is a bug when publishing the standup that automatically sets the day as the previous day, so every day you need to change the date, and if you don't, you get reminder emails even when you've published it. There is also no way to adjust for a part-time position, i.e. a four day work week, so either every week you need to put in out of office or get reminder emails.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Thank you so much for the feedback Brianna!

We sent you an email asking for more information on the date issue you're experiencing and we hope to get it resolved for you quickly.

We also sent information on how to adjust reminders to only get them on certain days. This is only possible if your admin selected the setting to allow each user to customize his/her reminders, and it looks like your admin disabled the option.

Keep an eye out for the email and respond when you get a chance. Thanks again, and take care!

- Jell Team

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use task tracking software

Reviewed on 2020-12-15

Overall, I like Jell a lot. I've been using it for 3.5 months since starting a new job, and it helps me know what my colleagues are working on. This is especially useful when we're all working from home and don't have normal office banter. While I have a separate task list of everything I need to accomplish over the course of a month, Jell is useful for reducing all of that down to "Ok, what am I capable of accomplishing just today? What did I say I was going to do today that still needs to be done?"

Pros

I use Jell as part of a genomics lab in order for the team to stay coordinated over Slack while working remotely. I didn't have any part in setting up the software, but as a user, the experience is pretty seamless. It's easy to enter my tasks for the day in a web browser, hit submit, and have them appear in a dedicated Slack channel. Scrolling back in time through old standups is easy and helpful for finding when I did certain things.

Cons

My only complaint is that the text fields are only one line high when typing even though they'll display multiple lines after being submitted. Maybe the intended purpose is to only write short, pithy tasks, but I'll sometimes include details in what I accomplished the previous day, such documenting how the software application we're building in house failed at a particular task and what troubleshooting steps I did. A two or three line bullet point is easy to read once it's entered, but difficult to write when the text box automatically shrinks to one line for writing.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Thank you for your valuable feedback John! We are happy to know Jell and Jell's integration with Slack is helping your team.

We will make note of the feedback you provided on the input text fields and will discuss how that can be improved.

- Jell Team

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Small distributed IT team -

Reviewed on 2020-10-12

Daily, Weekly and Quarterly management stand ups and reports made for a conscious assessment of people's work load and easy sharing of challenges with the team. The platform replaced an daily stand up meeting and resulted in better focus, planning and communication with the team.

Pros

We used the software for daily stand-ups, weekly check ins and quarterly check ins. We integrated it with our Slack platform. The weekly check in roll up was useful for my weekly touch base with employees.
We had everyone on the team using it each day. It was an excellent platform to ensure everyone understood what was accomplished, what the plan of the day was and what challenges were being faced. Additionally, the quarterly check in helped us assess completion of annual performance goals. This made the annual performance review process much smoother each spring.

Cons

I would have liked to have more in depth reporting and roll up. This would help for weekly roll-ups to upper management

Jason
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamline and keep track of team stand-ups

Reviewed on 2016-11-08

Our team uses Jell to streamline and keep a record of our daily team standups. Each day, in Jell, team members enter what they achieved the previous day, what they have planned for the upcoming day, and if they have any questions or comments that may be blocking progress. Jell allows users to check off tasks once they are complete, and carry over incomplete tasks to the next day. Slack integration allows us to get daily morning reminders to fill out our Jell's before our scheduled standups. Productivity charts show how much ass you've kicked in the past 2 weeks and exportable csv reports give you a history of every jell you have filled out. It works much better than having one team member type out every team members stand up in an excel sheet. Our team has really taken to Jell and it has become a fixture in our daily routine and has streamlined our daily standups ten-fold.

Pros

Jell's core purpose is very niche, and it doesn't try to do more than its meant for which is great. Our team can fill out their daily Jell reports and we can go over them as a team, and they are recorded in the app. It has made our daily standups much more enjoyable.

Cons

When you fill out your daily report, you cannot check off completed tasks from the complete report page. You have to go to the Profile page and check them off there, then go back to the Complete Report page, and continue to fill out your report. Not a big issue, but when you do it everyday it becomes annoying.

Response from Jell

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear we've helped make daily standups much more enjoyable, and that it's been helpful for you and the team.

And thanks for the feedback about checking off completed tasks. We're working on some UI improvements right now that hopefully will streamline your workflow.

Tirtza
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jell is exception for remote team standups

Reviewed on 2022-01-19

Pros

Ease of use and integration into Slack. It seamlessly becomes part of the team workflow and collaboration.

Cons

Would like to see it integrated into Zoom Chat

Response from SureSwift Capital

Hi Tirtza,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to know that you and your team enjoy Jell and happy to know that it was easy to adopt into your workflow with its Slack integration.

- Jell Team

Elias
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Close the Communication Gap

Reviewed on 2020-12-15

The team at Jell has done a wonderful job of keeping the features right in line with our needs. So often, software platforms exceed ease of use by continuously adding features (we understand completely how and why this happens). Where they've added functionality, it's clear the addition was carefully considered and executed with precision.

Pros

In a world of increasingly dispersed teams, a singular platform that allows all team members to chronicle their daily projects and progress (that is NOT another virtual meeting space) is an essential tool in any manager's toolkit. Jell is that platform for our team.

Cons

We don't have any cons to call out. The Jell developers have kept it simple (in terms of features and usability - we know it's more complicated on their end).

Response from SureSwift Capital

Elias, thank you so much for the feedback! Happy to know Jell has been beneficial to your team.

- Jell Team

Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jell Review

Reviewed on 2021-02-18

Jell fills the void of keeping track of what our team has on each day and we can see their progress

Pros

This is easy to use and a good way to monitor the teams workload

Cons

Nothing. It is easy to use and meets all our standards

Response from SureSwift Capital

Hi Christian! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience with Jell.

We are happy to know it is beneficial to your team!

- Jell Team

Fabien
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely useful, but is it worth the cost?

Reviewed on 2017-01-13

I'm not a big fan of meetings, and working in multinational companies I always feel the pain of people having to interrupt their workflow and step "out of their zone" to participate to a daily stand-up at an inconvenient time (you know: time zones). Jell helps my team considerably by avoiding wasting time in meetings we don't need... We're still very Agile and we of course meet every now and then (and we do meet immediately if we encounter a blocker), but the introduction of Jell has also made us a lot happier :)

Response from Jell

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear we're helping you and your team avoiding wasting time in meetings.

Ivan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Review IAM

Reviewed on 2021-06-22

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Marketing (constant emails) is a bit annoying.

Cons

Found it counter-intuitive when submitting tasks for standup when certain day is skipped (weekend or non-working day).

Response from SureSwift Capital

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and feedback Ivan!

We'll take a look at our marketing efforts and adjust our frequency as needed.

Just a reminder that you can control when you get your reminder email to submit your standup in Settings > Notifications. This way, if your schedule is different from a strict M-F, you can adjust it to fit your needs.

Also, if you'll be out of the office for any reason (holiday, vacation, etc.) you can enable "Out of Office" mode.

On the left menu, click on "Out of Office" and select the date range you'll be OOO. Jell will hold back any reminders during this time and they'll automatically resume when you get back.

Thank you again!

- Jell Team

Doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A very helpful tool for managing a far-flung group.

Reviewed on 2022-04-06

Again, it's a very helpful tool for managing a far-flung group.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Nothing, really.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Hi Doug,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy to know Jell is helping you in managing your team.

- Jell Team

Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My experience

Reviewed on 2021-02-05

The chat function is always a fight understanding what I am entering
I missed months of stand ups because I was signed out but didn't know because the notifications didn't arrive in MS teams
The chat function puts me a loop and never lets me submit. I have to use the workspace which leads me to using a browser instead of staying in Teams
I tried working on a stand up with my team but then it failed when I keep getting prompted to enter for my own.

Pros

I would recommend this produce it has a lot of potential

Cons

I have had many challenges with this product
I want to setup a stand up but I don't want to get a reminder of it. I want my team to do it not me.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Diego, thank you so much for the feedback. The experience you had with the MS Teams integration is not the experience we want any of our customers to have. That is why we're putting all-hands-on-deck to get the MS Teams + Jell experience up to standards. We are focusing on getting Jell working painlessly in MS Teams, like it does in the web-app and in Slack.

The workaround you mention about using the Workspace tab is what we would recommend using for now, while we smooth out some of those issues you mention.

As far as disabling reminder notifications for yourself to submit the standup, this can be done in Settings > Notifications. I will send you direct email with additional information on the setting. Thanks again, and take care.

- Jell Team

Melody
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helps Business Partners Stay In Sync

Reviewed on 2021-08-12

Pros

The ease of use and Slack bot integration.

Cons

We have used Jell on and off for over three years. The only reason we find that we don’t use it is if we revert to handwriting our lists and don’t have time to enter our tasks digitally.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Melody,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Jell!

Glad to know you've found Jell and its integration with Slack beneficial for you and your team!

Take care,

- Jell Team

Ankur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Bot for Teams Focusing on Agile

Reviewed on 2021-02-16

Pros

If you are looking for a bot that is good at standup and retro, Jell is great. It is a really simple integration into Slack and works really well once you understand it.

Cons

The actual template for submitting reports isn't as clean as other bots. The delays of when configurations become active was also confusing at first.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Thank you so much for your feedback Ankur! We do have plans for updates on the UI/UX, but are currently focusing most of our efforts on improving integrations specifically Jell's Microsoft Teams integrations.

Yes, changes to reminder settings were not 'kicking in' until the next day, but after a recent update, those changes take effect immediately.

Thanks again!

- Jell Team

Jin Kyong
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Daily scrum made easy

Reviewed on 2017-07-28

Pros

super easy setup
what am i going to do today can be easily made into to-do list
what's done today goes automatically to what did i complete yesterday list

Cons

price.
if using it for daily scrum only, it's a bit hard to adjust it's as expensive (or more) as the premium subscription of slack.

Maryam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Maryam Alharasi

Reviewed on 2021-02-09

fantastic and I like it

Pros

It is easy to understand

User friendly

it doesn't have any technical issues

It send automatic reminders

Cons

when I write the day and dates it would have been easier if the calendar is there and I tick ion it

Response from SureSwift Capital

Maryam,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Jell!

Yes, we have it in our upcoming plans to improve the calendar/date selection.

Thanks again for the feedback.

- Jell Team

Stuart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great check-in software for teams

Reviewed on 2020-11-12

Pros

Easy to setup, reports are really functional for management. Saves us over 1 hour in meetings per week.

Cons

UI could be updated a little bit, otherwise very easy to operate.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Thank you for your feedback, Stuart. We are happy to know your team is enjoying Jell and it's cutting back on time in meetings!

- Jell Team

Duke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Customer care responsiveness is impressive.

Reviewed on 2021-04-08

Pros

My team has been using Jell for a while, but I recently joined and am getting started with it. Seems straightforward and comparable to alternatives. But I ran into a minor quirky bug, and their customer care team was incredibly responsive, reproduced the detail and followed through on a quick bug fix.

Cons

Nothing yet. But I'll keep playing with it.

Response from SureSwift Capital

Duke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're glad we were able to help.

- Jell Team

David
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Do your Daily Scrum remotely over Slack

Reviewed on 2016-11-22

We have a distributed team that use Jell for daily scrum. It's easy to use, and gives a total transparency in what everyone is doing. For free!

Pros

- Free tier does its job
- Daily reminder (either Email or Slack message)

Cons

- Slack integration sometimes become wonky when on boarding new members

Response from Jell

Thanks for the review! Glad you're finding Jell useful.