Perch Security

4.6 (43)
Threat detection and response management software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(43)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.9/5

93%
recommended this app

43 reviews

James B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great SIEM Solution and Company

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

We have three monthly calls with them, so stay up to date as much as possible. They definitely work hard to make a good product, are very open in terms of roadmap, new features, issues, etc. I honestly wish all of our vendors were like Perch

Pros

It works well, has great integration support, easy to deploy and manage, and the company is great to work with and provides awesome support.

Cons

Nothing really comes to mind. If I had to say one thing, the web interface can occasionally get slow, but that is generally only on larger queries and has improved.

David L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A breath of fresh air

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Pros

The customizability and freedom in generating reports. It will also accept log data from almost any data source and the support team is awesome in assisting with the ingests and walking through every request, no matter how crazy it might be.

Cons

The sensors can be a little tricky to set up.

Tarah D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch is great!

Reviewed on 2021-01-11

This is an affordable cybersecurity solution for small businesses.

Pros

The support is quick, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Cons

The only con is that it's too bad we need a service such as this.

James D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch Review

Reviewed on 2021-01-19

Pros

The integration with a lot of the core services we use made this a clear winner when reviewing. The ongoing communication from the team allows us to be confident in how the product is working.

Cons

As with any product, there was a steep learning curve and I would say the documentation is not as good as it could be.

Nick G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Review

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Overall experience has been great so far, gives us more insight into what's going on and provides that extra layer that we all need

Pros

Amount of data presented and collected, provides great insight into what's going on in your network

Cons

Alerts can be loud at first before fine tuning, ELKstack might be a little intimidating to newcomers at first

Jonathan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perch - Very Useful Tool

Reviewed on 2021-01-06

Pros

Easy to use software, integrates with all of our systems which makes it the single pane of glass we were looking for. Has assisted us with our clients and located previously unseen security issues which has lead to greater trust with our client base.

Cons

Sometimes links don't take you to the correct alert, which can cause confusion. Physical sensors can go offline which is troublesome given the remote nature of all employees.

Thomas N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A SOC that will have your back

Reviewed on 2021-01-13

Pros

Remote SOC, fairly easy to learn, nice interface, integrations with many platforms

Cons

Needs to integrate with more firewall logging. I believe it does not work with Watchguard or Fortinet presently. I'd also like it if it could do vulnerability scanning or have the ability to automate some processes like disabling Microsoft 365 access if an account has suspicious activity, disabling an end-point that is compromised.

Adam A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to configure

Reviewed on 2021-01-07

Once it is setup and feeding data to the CW Perch SOC they are proactive with alerting so we catch issues early.

Pros

Setup is straight forward. Once you've done it once it is easy to replicate. Make sure you have credentials to your switches to turn on port mirroring for ingress and egress traffic.

Cons

Include in the instructions that you need the step about configuring your switch to monitor all traffic. This step should almost be first before you install otherwise it isn't seeing all traffic.

Andrew B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

ITlogix, reveiw

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

tiring to solve the puzzle of pulling in may alert sources into a good dashboard with alerting

Pros

The feature set seems to be complete from the marketing perspective. It checks all the boxes for what we are looking for and seems to integrate with our toolset.

Cons

the feater set does not work. For example, it does connect to our 3rd party services and pulls out logs in however the alerts are about useless and several of the integrations are only half done.

Response from ConnectWise

Hi Andrew,

Alerts can definitely be tricky. If you have some time, we can set up a direct meeting with developer support on how to get the most out of your alerts. Please send us an email at [email protected] when you can and we'll get that set up.

Thank you!

Frankie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IDS/SIEM for MSP's

Reviewed on 2021-01-11

Top notch. Everyone on the team is helpful and want you to be successful.

Pros

Having an IDS/SIEM that is geared towards the MSP market. The product is designed with how MSP's operate. Also, pricing is also aligned to the MSP market.

Cons

If I had to pick on item would be processes not 100% polished. However, support is good and will make sure your issue is resolved.

Joe C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product to help MSPs scale their security business

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

From the moment we have started working with Perch, they have been at the top of our list of vendors.

Pros

Ease of sales with account managers
Ease of set up and configuration
Continual development of API

Cons

No - nothing that can come to mind, they have been very easy to work with

Alternatives Considered

USM Anywhere

Reasons for Choosing Perch Security

Eventtracker's product support left a lot to be desired and working with Continuum's SOC was a disaster

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

SOC
Matt A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

An enterprise vs MSP view.

Reviewed on 2021-01-11

I have used and sold Splunk before and Splunk is very intuitive to use from the end user perspective. Perch requires more knowledge of query languages to dig some of the information out that I want to see. On the administrative side of things Perch is far easier to implement than Splunk and does not require a dedicated engineering staff to maintain.

Pros

Easy of implementation and the setup of the appliances at each location is great. The web portal reduces our overhead and maintenance cost.

Cons

Query of information via Perchbana needs to be segmented by client sites.

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Cost of the product was a major factor, but the implementation and maintenance of the product was also high on the list. Splunk on our list, but the cost to implement and maintain the solution was much greater.
Tim F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A true partner for improving cybersecurity

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Perch has built a product that enables us to provide detection across our client base. Their SOC makes our lives easier by going through the majority of the information collected, and alerts us when there is something we need to be aware of. They are rapidly adding new features and integrations, allowing us to stay on top of new threats.

Pros

Perch integrates with most of our technology stack, allowing us to collect log and event information, and create actionable alerts when anything suspicious happens.

Cons

The user interface needs some re-organization since so many new integrations have been added since it was designed.

Alternatives Considered

IBM QRadar SIEM, USM Anywhere and FortiSIEM

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Built with MSPs in mind, providing multi-tenant capabilities and scaling costs
Andrew W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MSP friendly threat detection

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Pros

MSP friendly threat detection. This space is filled with solutions designed for large enterprises, which is out of reach for a lot of typical MSP customer sizes and budgets.

Perch is able to take a lot of the same technologies used in those enterprise solutions, make them affordable and easy for MSPs to use.

Cons

Alerting when things stop working. When things flatline, there's nothing configured out of the box that will notify you.

Brandon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy Customer

Reviewed on 2021-01-11

We have used Perch to help address our need to have an efficient SEIM backed by a capable SOC.

Pros

The Perch team is easy to work with and available at all times. The SEIM and SOC services deliver what you expect and was extremely easy to implement.

Cons

As we use more and more Azure services, the current ability to access Azure logs is limited. We expect this to be improved over time, but currently this area is not as feature rich as we would like.

Alternatives Considered

Netsurion Managed Threat Protection

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Ease of use, reporting, and overall satisfaction with the Perch team each time we engaged.
Elias P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful Product if You Have Time Available to Customize

Reviewed on 2021-04-07

Overall, we have been happy with the product. Configuration takes time, but this is expected with powerful software. Support has been helpful with all of our questions.

Pros

Perch is very powerful and allows you to collect and monitor almost all aspects of your managed systems. Agent installation is quick and lightweight.

Cons

Perch requires a significant investment in time to configure monitoring for all required sources. Alerting also requires a decent amount of time to customize as needed. The product is best for experienced system administrators.

Michael C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent choice

Reviewed on 2021-01-14

Pros

The integration features are very well done, we're really happy with Perch allowing us to have full access to our data as well as our clients data while still providing a SOC service.

Cons

I wish there was a way to reach someone immediately by phone in the event of an emergency, but we have not needed this so far.

Alternatives Considered

USM Anywhere

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Pricing/Features/Integration built in
Chris L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch Security - SOC-backed Threat Hunting and SIEM that is not complicated

Reviewed on 2021-01-06

The people at Perch from the top to the bottom are great. If you run into issues, have questions, or just need some advice, they are there for you. Also, their SOC is based in Houston on USA soil which is important to many when you have someone watching your back from a cyber perspective.

Pros

The Perch solution has a very community-esque feel. Users of Perch love it and are not afraid to support one another, share tips, tricks, customizations, etc. This collaboration and feedback is also present within Perch and the improvements that are made to the product it reflect the users' requests and needs.

Cons

This is a product where the more one puts into it, the one gets out of it. It is no magic system out of the box per se. This is not really Perch's fault, but to the layperson, one could thing that.

Alternatives Considered

USM Anywhere, Graylog and Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

The Perch experience is second-to-none. You can tell they are passionate about their product and it is just not a re-packaging of existing open-source tools.
Peter P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best SIEM for us busy administrators

Reviewed on 2021-01-13

They have been overall amazing. The staff are all super helpful, the software works as intended, and the analysts are responsive. Lots of KB articles already written up make my life easy. The monthly calls are really nice as well since they actually listen to the users.

Pros

The ease of general use - everything is just simple to do without any extra steps, crazy setup, etc...

Cons

Speed of the platform overall - some days, it drags hard.

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

The managed piece was huge - we didn't want to invest in threat hunters. The next big reason is that the staff were personable and easy to work with.
Tyler S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perch Security

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

100% positive. No issues with price, no issues with their service, and the clients we deploy it on appreciate the additional insight to their security.

Pros

Honestly the entire SOC team in Houston is the best part of about working with Perch. Any questions are quickly answered, any events found are quickly visible / communicated, and the integrations with our systems were seemless.

Cons

I dont know if its a really a con, but the small learning curve would be it. However Perch was helpful through all the onboarding and calls to ensure it was the best it could be.

Alternatives Considered

USM Anywhere

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

After being personally invited to visit and shown the product by both [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we were sold. Not only were we impressed with the software, but with the entire team at Perch. It made the decision very easy after them taking the personal time/touch in showing us their entire operation.
Michael G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch has made delivering advanced security services possible for our business!

Reviewed on 2021-01-19

We love working with the Perch team! They have been there with us through the process to help us understand that it was the right tool for us and also in tweaking as our needs and their tool has evolved. Overall I would recommend that any managed services provider consider this tool in their stack if they want to protect, and impress, their clients.

Pros

Perch has enabled us to get all of the information about potential breaches into one place backed by a top tier set of experts who help us decipher it all. Our team has built an interactive relationship with the Perch team and our clients are thrilled that we are finding potential issues before they become breaches.

Cons

When we chose Perch to deploy to all of our managed clients, our initial deployment was a challenge. We expected this to be a smooth process led by the Perch team and that is not what we experienced. I believe that they have resolved some of these issues as recent deployments have gone more smoothly but when something wasn't working properly and they found the issue, it was typically a configuration issue that we never could have know needed to be done in a tool that we had never used. More guidance in this process would have been appreciated.

Eric W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Perch by security focused MSP

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Seem to hire very competent people
Worked very hard on ux
Good branding

Pros

MSP focused company. Good UX. Monitor multiple sources. Per user pricing.

Cons

Not clear what the best practices are...
Support via Slack - it works but it is a pain.
Pricing structure always seems to be changing
It has gotten A LOT more expensive over the last 18 months
Worried about support being owned by Connectwise :(
Good sales resources (marketing info)

Alternatives Considered

Netsurion Managed Threat Protection

Reasons for Choosing Perch Security

monitor more sources, less expensive, more MSP friendly

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Working with the people at Perch - sorry to be vague but I spent hours discussing with Perch management before I made my decision.
Jason H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure your house, then your customers!

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Amazing. From set up to active use, I've been impressed with the SOC, sales and overall.

Pros

Ease of use, community, and support. Top notch all around!

Cons

For a novice to perchybana, custom searches can be difficult

Ilya P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perch Security

Reviewed on 2021-01-11

Very good

Pros

We specialize in Cloud/office 365 and serverless environments so it's important for us to have a solution that met these needs.

Cons

We feel that the SLA can be more competitive.

Dorin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MSP using Perch for customer networks

Reviewed on 2021-01-05

Our team has always been impressed with the team from Perch and their knowledge of the product and their willingness to help has always been Top Notch!

Pros

From day 1, we always were drawn to the flexibility and functionality of the software solution.

Cons

Frankly, for our customers, the price is the biggest hurdle. While this solution does so much, our customers don't always see the value.