1,474 reviews

Microsoft SQL Server

Relational database management system for data analytics

4.6 /5 (1474 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
1,474 reviews
Muhammad yousuf H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Easy solution for data management

Reviewed on 2021-03-28

I have been using sql server for almost 10 years.
It has become indispensable tool in my software development career.

Pros

I found SQL server user interface undoubtedly most easy and functionality wise very rich. From database creation to analysis it provides one click operations that has made my life easy. Although, I am web developer but thanks to sql server I can easily handle and work on databases.

Cons

I have trust issues with Data restore functionality. Most of sql server backup fails most of time because of multiple issues.

Abdul wahab K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MSSQL is good and well supported

Reviewed on 2021-01-22

Overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server is good throughout with no major issues.

Pros

I found it quite easy to install, setup and operate. It is supported by almost all programing languages. The interface is simple and user friendly. I found it safe to be accessed remotely. The visualization of data and retrieving data from different sources is found good. The functionalities like Jobs, Stored Procedures, Functions and Views enhance the database development / management experience.

Cons

Performance issues faced with large databases. With every version, the license model changes which make it complex.

Muhammad ashhar H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best software for databases

Reviewed on 2021-01-08

Overall its the best software for databases, no matter your app is big or small, either it is a school project or a secure bank app this is a must have software for databases.

Pros

Features which I like the most:
1. Intellisense
2. Remote login - No need to login in any remote server to check it's database
3. Runs with any platform

Cons

The most irritating thing is when I try to restore a backup of newer version (2014) to older version (2008), it gives compatibility error. While taking backup, It should give option to user to make it compatible with older release.

Surender B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best DBMS tool for scalable enterprises

Reviewed on 2019-05-16

My overall experience is 100% satisfactory because of its robust feature.

I recommend this to all either its a large or small scale compan y because SQL server can handle large quantities of data and process it smoothly. Just loving it.

Pros

Microsoft SQL server is one of the best database management system that provide top rated performance optimisation with SQL queries, below is the list of top highlights:

1. Richness of user interface that provides ease of use with cool features like dock able windows.

2. Intelligence window is prominent feature that saves a lot of development time up to large extent.

3. Code debugging and performance tuning with query flow maps is the best features that assures about code optimisation.

4. Microsoft SQL Server Agent is provided with this software and that runs the automatic jobs in very secure way and later we can track the statements executed.

5. We can filter out the records in SQL Server Agent interface based on our interest.

6. Code snippet manager makes it easy to write high standard code that is perfact for code convention.

7. Most prominent feature is that it can handle large quantities of data, runs automatic jobs with concurrent transactions.

8. At last it's a Microsoft product that provides a belief to users.

Cons

I have been using SQL server from version 2012 to 2014 and never troubled with SQL server's performance in any way.

However I feel that error details must long descriptive when statement have some syntax error. Sometime its pathetic when we wants to know the exact error line but is hints the whole block of code instead of exact line number.

Otherwise Its a great product and happy with it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for all types of workloads!

Reviewed on 2019-04-04

Have used SQL Server as a a Relational Database (RDBMS) for the past 15 years, primarily to support SAP based enterprise workloads. Microsoft's development of SQL Server has been fuelled by its largest customer - SAP, in order to provide better functionality to rival its competition (Oracle, DB2, Informix (who remembers this one?). I started with MSSQL 2000 and boy has it come a long way. MSSQL versions are denoted via the year and is still a practice till today, similar to how Microsoft denotes its Windows versions. To date, the latest version of MSSQL 2017 is also supported on SAP, and I am sure once MSSQL 2019 is released later this year it would also be certified by SAP.

Pros

The review is based on my experience of using SQL Server as a database with SAP.

What I like about MSSQL :
- ACID compliant like any enterprise based RDBMS (Oracle, IBM DB2, SAP HANA)
- Runs well and scales well with commodity x86 hardware
- Various editions to suit customer needs and requirements. For example Express Edition for small workloads and is free, or all the way to Enterprise Edition for state-of-the-art functionality (High-Availability, Disaster Recovery etc. to prevent Single-Points-of-Failure). Its current functionality definitely rivals the existing enterprise RDBMS's
- Straightforward learning curve as it is Windows based. Unlike other RDBMS's (e.g. Oracle or DB2), administering a MSSQL DB is very easy GUI (SQL Server Management Studio) is very easy to use especially if coming from Oracle/DB2, or if you're learning from scratch
- Supports Linux (finally!) - MSSQL is no longer limited to the Windows platform, and Microsoft has released version on Linux to compete with the likes of Oracle, DB2, etc.

Cons

Over my years of using MSSQL have encountered numerous bugs (performance issues, corrupted data, etc.) but these are normal with other RDBMS's (Oracle, DB2, SAP HANA, etc.) given the enterprise nature of the workloads. Can't really think of any other disadvantages.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very reliable, relatively easy-to-use, and reasonably-priced compared to Oracle

Reviewed on 2017-10-05

Our entire product line (IIS-based web applications) relies on SQL Server. Without it, our business wouldn't function at all.

Pros

As a Systems Administrator, MS SQL Server is one of the easiest DBMS you can use from a management perspective. SQL Server Management Studio is a very robust client, and it allows you to configure everything from either the GUI or SQL scripts. No digging into config files, calling apps from command line, etc. User management in SQL server is easy and straight-forward while being EXTREMELY granular. Plus, it easily connects to Active Directory if you so desire.

The software is very reliable. MySQL can have issues during backups, but not SQL Server. Once you get it set up and configured properly (again, not hard to do), you can leave it running for months without encountering problems.

While SQL Server is by no means cheap, compared to the other enterprise-level DBMS like Oracle, it's quite reasonable. MySQL is free, but it's quite limited when you do a feature-by-feature comparison with SQL Server.

If you're on the fence, install an Express instance (up to 10GB databases with some limitations). You won't be disappointed.

Cons

Like a lot of other Microsoft software, the installer is pretty bloated with prerequisites, components, etc. But that's a fairly small nitpick.

I will also say that RAM management in SQL Server isn't perfect. SQL will, as long as it is regularly used, consume all of the RAM you have allocated it. By default, that setting is 2 petabytes of RAM, so it will slow your system to an absolute crawl, consuming everything it can to the detriment of the OS itself. This means you need to manually allocated a reasonable amount of RAM to SQL knowing full-well that it will likely consume this RAM at all times. That's fine for dedicated database servers, but it's not ideal for people running SQL on laptops.

Aside from that, I have very few complaints about SQL Server.

Prabhu S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All time market leader

Reviewed on 2020-08-29

When comes to business critical it can consume the raw data, process it and provide to the user understandable format. More than decades, this software providing tremendous help to business to evolve and reach their goals by fetching data from any formate and load it into structured form and with help of powerful Tsql query languge we able to fetch the right data from database. We can also connect with any visualization tool to provide the better UI(Power BI) to users to take right decision.

Pros

1. Optimized storage and querying business critical data.
2. Powerful Tsql Query language.
3. Query execution plan to predict and optimize the data.
4. Query profiler to find out anomaly and query latency.

Cons

1. We need to take care of all patching works.
2. We need to take care of all infrastructure scalability(RAM,HDD and IO etc)
3. Server maintenance and outrage time is high.

Gonzalo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for medium and big companies

Reviewed on 2019-08-21

I am using SQL Server for 4 years in a Low, Medium and Big environment, but in low environment i have a bad experience using SQL SERVER, Mysql is better in a small busines for cost, and simplicity, but in Big environment SQL SERVER can compete with ORACLE DB.

Pros

Is powerfull
Easy
Complete
Customer Support
Features
interoperatibity

Cons

Have some errors
You need to reset de SQL 1 time at week
Consumes a lot of ram
it needs a Windows Server

Giorgi K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great database system for any purpose

Reviewed on 2019-07-25

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and terabytes of data, so it's mandatory for DBMS to run smoothly. SQL server does its job extremely well.

Pros

SQL server is packed with features. It was a very fun job to implement it and using it is even better. Runs well, built-in tools are useful and plenty.

Cons

It takes up quite a bit of resources. Sometimes, tech support isn't very helpful. Otherwise, it's good.

Anjali G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

I have been working with this software from last 8 years. I like this software and used its...

Reviewed on 2018-05-25

Pros

This software offers a lot of features that are very handy to work with. And frankly it took very less time to understand this software and get used to it. I have used this software for creating stored procedures, functions, views, database schema.
Easy to connect with external database as well. I have heavily used the SQL profiler which again is a very useful feature. SQL profiler let you see the request that SQL receive from a source and it help you debug your code. Generating backup, restoring backup, importing and exporting data tiers all features are so easy to understand. Even I never googled to know how to do it, I just saw the option and start following the instructions and it's done. Its easy to use and all its features are very useful. Even when you didn't saved your file and accidentally your laptop got off,it help recover your files. Easy interface to create database tables even if you do not remember the script syntax.

Cons

There is nothing that I don't like kind of this with this useful software.
Its just if the edit rows option could have been made easy by auto showing the SQL pane to write query while editing the rows. I found it one step extra. It should be like when we select rows. Also running the query on edit rows if could be done via f5 only, then it would be easier for the user.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very complete Database manager

Reviewed on 2019-09-09

Pros

Even when some people argue that is not the most fastest database for me is the most useful and with more tools than most, almost all databases has store procedure, functions, etc. but one thing that SQL Server has that most don't is the ability to create your own type of data, I mostly prefer to use Table type so I can insert a lot data in one single transition without using a loop condition to validate
The source manager allos to see the type the query and from what machine is been executed

Cons

you need to use the installer every time you need to create a new instance, if the server is down and you restar the services, you need to open the sql magnament to restart the jobs as well

Sourav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MS SQL -- Database Engine

Reviewed on 2019-04-14

We are using it as a main backend Database engine and it is doing well

Pros

it is a great RDMS engine that has a great User friendly interface .We can easily manage the database with the help of interface that provides a lot number of options and thus makes job of DBA more effective and Reliable .we can easily restore the database and operates Database functions like update , delete , insert etc and if needed we can also trace the query that is running at a time with the help of inbuilt tool called profiler. Remote access of the Database engine is very easy to configure , we just need to put the Database engine name , user name and password and we are connected and perform operations. To automate certain query , another built in tool called Job agent can be used by which we can create the job in which we just need to put the SQL query and its timing means when will it be executed .We can also integrate permission in the SQL as per the Organization and thus making it more secure .Database backup , schema extraction of the objects , most heavy query , most occupied table can be done with very ease.

Cons

WebAgent takes a lot of CPU utilization and thus making System slow
Large queries having millions of lines of code is not handled properly
Does not automate shrink table size when data is deleted from the table ,need to done manually

Ebrahim F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Stable, fast and reliable

Reviewed on 2019-01-09

Overall, my experience with SQL Server has been awesome

Pros

As a lot of my development work depends on SQL Server, it is something that I use almost every day. It is extremely stable and reliable and certainly the only database platform that I will ever consider working with. There is still so much I have yet to learn about SQL and so much to explore, but for my current skills and work requirements, it is excellent and always works well. From simple queries to complicated procedures, I always find it a pleasure to work with.
I have worked with other database architectures before, but found that SQL is much quicker, as well as easier to work with.

Cons

My problem is with SQL Management tools and some of their limitations, but not SQL Server itself. One such example would be backing up and restoring of large databases (40GB upwards). While backups are mostly a breeze, restoring becomes extremely challenging and time-consuming as the database grows beyond the 40GB mark. I am not sure if this is because of the limitations on the available management tools, or if it is an actual problem with SQL server, as the large databases I have worked with had no issues with CRUD operations or backups.

Denis V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MS SQL Server Perfect Database Management Solution

Reviewed on 2018-04-05

I would definitely recommend that you read the Windows administration book before you start exploring SQL server.

Pros

SQL server is a great database management product. This is a very fast and stable and at the same time cross-platform solution running on both Linux and Windows operating systems, the security of which is implemented at the highest level. It is also gratifying that SQL server works equally well on both physical and virtual servers, both on the ground and in the cloud. Since this product is produced by Microsoft, it integrates well with other products of this company, such as Power BI. This app can provide you with high availability and a wide selection of options available of your choice, though everything will depend on the edition. And most importantly, many features can be tested completely free using Developer Edition.

Cons

Although SQL server is easy to manage through the graphical user interface, but to understand how it works, to fix some problems you need to read a thick book, and even more than one and read ton of documentation. Does not have good monitoring tools out of the box. For some companies will not be a cheap solution.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Stable, high performance and extremely capable enterprise database software

Reviewed on 2018-01-28

This is a very vast and complex software and one has to spend years using this software to summarize its very many benefits.
Having worked in mostly Microsoft development shops for the past 14 years, I have used SQL server in almost every enterprise project that I have worked on.
Ease of use, simplicity to alter schemas, easy TSQL syntax, ability to easily create and manage indexes/stats, reporting services, ease of access control, security via encryption, performance tuning capabilities, always on features, backup and restore capabilities with advanced backup and restore options, cloud capabilities, ease of integration with various front end software are just some of the various benefits of this mammoth software.

Pros

Microsoft Ecosystem
SQL management studio
Query Analyser
DB Tuning / Optimization wizard
Estimated Query Results
Ease to integrate with any front end technology
High Performance
High Scalability
Scheduled jobs
Ease of Integration via Visual Studio

Cons

Enterprise License costs
Slight learning curve for advanced features like SSIS, data warehousing.
Performance Tuning of large database would take years of core specialized training and experience
No supporting software like RedGate to performance schema / data comparisons

Sanchita A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server - RBMS by Microsoft.

Reviewed on 2019-03-22

We are working with this technology from past seven years. The buffer pool extension and encryption for database backup make its production ready RBMS. The high featured management tool for SQL Server help in administration and make it user friendly. The SQL express edition is also good as it comes with all basic feature to host the RBMS.

Pros

Microsoft SQL Server is a structured query language based relational database. SQL server is easy to implement as administrator makes it simple. The high performance sql engine help in data compression and can be scaled upto petabyte of data with maintaining the enterprise grade. MS SQL improves the security with its each patch and make it least vulnerable. High availability and feature like load balancing make it user’s first choice to implement it as its production friendly where A high end server is needed. The backup can be scheduled under maintenance plan.

Cons

Microsoft SQL server price for enterprise edition cost thousands of dollars. Depending on the requirements it also needs high end and dedicated server which indirectly increase the cost with the platform licensing cost.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Data Consolidation Platform

Reviewed on 2018-09-10

If you are an IT resource, the experience is great.

Pros

SQL Server continues to get better all the time. I use it for helping SMBs consolidate their data for BI/analytics for both on-premise and Azure. The product is solid and never have a problem (especially Azure). If you have used any of the previous versions. Due to its long history and wide use, resources are always available to support the product. The security continues to get better and integrates well into Power BI. Over the last couple of years, Microsoft has also added additional connector services which is great for many IT shops.

Cons

If Microsoft wants to stay relevant in the SMB world they need to make it more automated, intuitive and dummy proof for individuals in Marketing and other disciplines. The product requires some serious IT support which is not always available. I have never been happy with their Training and certification programs (basically they suck). Microsoft dictates how classes are to be run and lost connection with the evolving world.

Nicholas R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

So far I enjoy using SQL Server to query databases that our customer have at my job

Reviewed on 2018-04-17

Pros

I like that you can upload a database, then immediately start querying the data or altering if needed. There is no waiting afterwards. Our customer at my job have databases that we don't really query on to reduce usage or traffic. So we make backups and upload on our person computers that way we can hit it hard and not have to worry about the customer seeing any issues or if we accidentally mess up, it doesn't shut them down instantly. Once you get used to using select statements, joins, and looking at store procedures, SQL is pretty easy to use.

Cons

My only con is that the learning curve is difficult but I understand why. It would be ridiculous to make it easy and then hackers all over would destroy data or steal it even more. The actual con I have is in the latest release of SQL Server. It is a bit glitchy when it comes to opening the application and waiting for it to fully load after signin. This could be the hardware I am using it on but at times it is the only thing running and still is slow.

Daniel T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great but unknown database engine

Reviewed on 2019-09-18

The easy implementation on some occasions generates a quick win on process or projects that require a database engine.
The new capabilities to connect with Big Data clusters and, the AlwaysOn to have synchronised the database between different nodes, permit extend the use of this engine.

Pros

It is easy to use. You can do the setting of the database with the "next-next" to have a quick use. Obviously, it isn't recommended but for the dev environments are quick.
To do a good set up of the engine, you have a lot of documentation and if you follow the steps, set up well the engine is not complicated. Others capabilities that I like about this are the capabilities to scale.

Cons

Some options to set up the database engine requires additional SO configuration and depends a lot of the correct setting of this.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SQL Server Review

Reviewed on 2019-07-03

Overall, my experience using SQL Server has been nothing short of great. Querying information is easy to pickup and the application is relatively intuitive when using different features. This software has been crucial for my team and I highly recommend adopting it.

Pros

Microsoft SQL server offers one of the most complete packages when discussing database management systems. The intelligence window is especially helpful when trying to save time during development. Debugging is simple to do within the application making code optimization a simpler process. I most enjoy the Microsoft support when encountering issues. Microsoft truly cares about their users on this platform and have gone out of their way to help me with bugs/issues that I've came across.

Cons

Through my time using SQL Server I've encountered corrupted data, performance issues, and application startup issues. Luckily, all of these issues have been resolved quickly by the team over at Microsoft.

Kushal G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MS SQL Server : Perfect way to manage your data

Reviewed on 2021-03-15

My MS SQL journey was started in express edition when I was completion my degree so I have used the express edition for majority of my project and it helped me to setup my applications from minimum knowledge about the DBMS.
Right now we are handling the several enterprise customers in my organization and we used MS SQL for all our DBM services and back-office modules.
Really happy abo

Pros

Works well with Enterprise level applications.
User Friendly Interface
Can handle the basis operation with out expertise knowledge.
Realtime data recovery mechanism help you to save you data from improper exists and disaster situations.

Cons

Major disadvantage Microsoft SQL Server has compared to the other database management systems is that cost is high for the licensing and implementation.
Works only with Windows platform and open source OS not supported.

Sara C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complex Reporting at Your Fingertips

Reviewed on 2019-03-15

I use SQL on a regular basis to analyze data, locate errors or issues in a particular table, and to quickly pull details in the form that I or an end user requires them in. It is an amazing tool in the right hands but the but developing the queries must have a strong understanding of the formatting needed in SQL and anyone using a query that another employee developed must know how to interpret the query results and how to manipulate the queries if required.

Pros

I am able to query from any table that I have data stored in. I can set very specific or very open parameters. I can add comments into a query so another user can read instructions for use, such as details on changing an employee ID, start date, end, number of lookback days, etc.

Cons

You must have an intimate knowledge of your data tables and what buckets items of data are stored in for each table. You will need to define by very specific, 100% accurate naming conventions. No suggestions or auto corrections will be made by the software.

Anil G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Database Handler

Reviewed on 2018-12-05

My overall experience with this software is very good. I'm using it daily to store and access production data with the help of procedures and functions.

Pros

This software has many features through which you can store your information in the form of table and can also access it as per required. I'm using it in my office, to store energy sector data. You can create procedures, functions for complex code. Every dynamic software wants to store their data and SQL Server is the answer. Creation of tables and modification is very easy in this software. You can also create backup of database dumps and can restore it on multiple machines. You can also create jobs for automatically executing of codes.

Cons

You need to be very careful while creating tables, procedures or functions, otherwise your database will be very slow while accessing the data. To avoid this situation, you need to create Indexes.

Troy W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft SQL Server is Powerful if Not User-Friendly

Reviewed on 2021-04-09

I have used Microsoft SQL Server for 13+ years, and have kept up-to-date on the latest versions throughout that time. I have gotten used to the software, and it's possible I overlook some user-friendliness issues because I'm just so accustomed to it.

Pros

Easily creating tables, either through a user interface, or through T-SQL. A user can do most things through the user interface if they want, but of course you can still do everything you need to do via T-SQL, from creating tables, to adding/updating indexes, etc.

Cons

It can be difficult to find certain options/settings. For instance if you want to change the number of Rows to directly Edit in a table, that number is difficult to find by just navigating the options/settings. It's not the most user-friendly, but like many Microsoft software, it is powerful, and you can do a lot in it, from creating tables, to how those tables should be stored.

Umut K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sql Server you need

Reviewed on 2019-10-13

It was always my ready to go database before I meet with NoSQL databases

Pros

One of the most advanced SQL server out there
MS-SQL is really fast and advanced scripting language
There are free and embedded versions for development purpose

Cons

Installation is huge and slow.
SQL server uses soo much memory
There is only one driver option
There is more advanced and open source alternatives too