Splunk Enterprise

4.6 (181)
Machine data management and analytics

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(181)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

181 Reviews

mitchelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool for log collection and analysis.

Reviewed on 9/11/2022

Splunk enterprise has improved our IT security through collection of logs. It centralizes large amounts of log data and efficiently manages it. We use it for analyzing the collected logs and report on metrics found from the logs.

Pros

Through its robust log analysis and ability to collect data from different sources, we can easily perform analysis on various data and predict any future operational hazards. Splunk enterprise efficiently monitors our log activities and and gives results to any queries at faster speed than most SIEM tools.

Cons

The searches can be complex at times and the messages on query errors aren't always specific.

shabbir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Complete Security operations with Splunk

Reviewed on 10/3/2021

Splunk data visualization and its analytics handling chunks of data is exceptional.

Pros

Data visualization, Analytics skills with AI-powered and can handle data in TB/per day without any interruptions in services. Live dashboards, developing use-cases and their capabilities (correlation).

Cons

complex architecture and efficient skills are required, financial is also not feasible for small and medium customers. no inbuilt query builders for beginners to understand the platform.

Alternatives Considered

AlienVault OSSIM

Reasons for Choosing Splunk Enterprise

Its niche player was can handle only a few products data and not so feasible in terms of query building and customization in dashboards. Good for small businesses not for enterpraises.

Switched From

AlienVault OSSIM

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Not so feasible in handling data and its simple architecture cannot handle logs from all the data sources.
Nav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Currently using this diagnostic tool for log analysis

Reviewed on 3/14/2018

Overall a decent product.

Pros

- Ability to search logs across processes and services
- Ability to develop dashboards to Monitor critical metrics
- Ability to set up alerts based on threshold values

Cons

- Need to regex well in order to use the tool to its full ability
- Ability to extract values out of the log statements could be simpler
- Alerts usually end up being over alerting or false alerts.

Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best SIEM

Reviewed on 11/15/2022

Great SIEM that beats the competition, we utilized it for various functions

Pros

Splunk appsStrength and capabilitiesIntegration with most solutions

Cons

Resource utilizationLimited local partner support

Alternatives Considered

AlienVault OSSIM, IBM Security QRadar, ArcSight and FortiSIEM

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Overall functionalities
Avinash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk - Onestop Log Management & Forensics

Reviewed on 4/17/2021

Overall i like the product but as the user base grows the logs grows too. This busts the limits of the licensing.
We need to keep on doing housekeeping to ensure that our license limits is not crossed.

Pros

The ablitity to configure and tweak the use cases. Building Intelligence into forensics. The AI feature is gud but needs more enhancements.

Cons

The log management needs to be efficient , If the auditing logs is enabled then a huge influx of logs are pumed into splunk but no meaningful meaning can be derived.

Alternatives Considered

FortiClient and Trellix Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Splunk is a one whole package with features like AI & Forensics and also keeps you updated with the latest and newest threats..
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A tool which is one for all

Reviewed on 10/16/2020

Splunk has made me realize the ability to correlate different data from different realms altogether and generate valuable insights.

Pros

The ability to use this software for security operations, data analysis, creating dashboards, generating tickets and everything else

Cons

Splunk uses its own SPL, which is not very easy to learn. However, there are lots of documentation that Splunk provides to its customers. There is paid training available which is useful for beginners to learn.

Alternatives Considered

IBM Security QRadar

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Splunk has much more capabilities than IBM QRadar. The ability to automate things using Splunk is extraordinary which makes Splunk the market leader.
Surabhi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best monitoring solutions for different platform.

Reviewed on 11/29/2022

Pros

Best tracking and data analysis tool which help to monitor and manage the server and system component in very effective way. Real time Visualization helps to take the quick decision so that desired action can be taken to avoid failure.Best data collection in the forms of log and which helps to define the best set of automation jobs to fix the issue.

Cons

There are few components or observation like,1. most of the time observes the slowness in the performance.2. Sometime observe the delay in the issue or updated log reflection on the portal. 3. Need more storage to manage and maintain the lo g which impact organizational costing and budget.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Helpful tool for troubleshooting and analyzing data/logs

Reviewed on 11/10/2022

The overall experience has been good. Splunk definitely helped improve our troubleshooting capabilities.

Pros

Splunk is great for monitoring, logging, and analyzing the large volume of data on the servers. Our support teams use Splunk to collect data/logs from the servers and troubleshoot product related issues. We introduced Splunk few years ago in our organization and it helped improve our defect/issue analysis and problem solving abilities

Cons

While Splunk is not too complex, it also requires a certain level of skillset to decipher the information. It may take a while to figure things out if you are a new user, or someone with limited technical knowledge

stephanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

With Splunk Enterprise , we can rapidly detect and get rid of bottlenecks.

Reviewed on 11/2/2022

Splunk Enterprise is the basis of our SIEM. We use it for log correlation and analysis. It collect events from multiple sources for analysis. I love using Splunk enterprise. It is the best platform that we have for monitoring data and identifying issues in real time.

Pros

The tool can collect all sorts of data from diffuse sources and preform advanced analytics on it. It has powerful monitoring capabilities useful in threat identification and maintaining the health of our IT infrastructure. Splunk enterprise helps us to foresee, trends through machine learning which has been a crucial to making informed business decisions.

Cons

Training new users is tough, the learning curve is very steep and it gets overwhelming for them. The installation and configuration process is very long and needs a lot of time.

vikas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best application for monitoring of SAP system, server and database health

Reviewed on 7/13/2022

Overall Splunk Enterprise is excellent and one of the best business application for early analysis of system performance. Also, tool is really fast and provides analytical report of every system, which is really useful for detailed analysis.

Pros

Sofware is really excellent and best suited for small and large scale business who would like their systems, interfaces, server space and database health check to be performed.

Cons

Sometimes the Splunk alerts creates multiple tickets in ITSM tool during issue. Hence it may result in spending sometime for closure of open incidents.

Amit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best tool for Distributed logs data analysis

Reviewed on 4/15/2020

We have several micro-services deployed in production which require to lookup application access as well as server logs and analyze data for their usage. We created several reports/charts for visualization. We use splunk as security logs tool to see the firewall traffic, tracing any vulnerable access, any database related crash ..etc.
It helps easily to find issue and fixed quickly by black listed in system.

Pros

Splunk Enterprise is best tool to analyze the data based on different visualization. It help us to lookup distributed logs for micro-services . It enables field based lookup. For complex logging, we can use search query using expression. We can create multiple reports/charts for visualization such as a pie or bar chart for our data. Best feature what i like , We can visualize our search results and share them with others using dashboard panels. If Already have a dashboard, we can add a new panel from a report, clone from another dashboard, or add a prebuilt panel. Fully customization available. Interfaces is very flexible. We export it in different formats, or refresh it to visualize the newest data. Online Support is available through different community.

Cons

Search query builder is fully based on technical. for Non technical users, its really difficult to lookup logs. Sometimes, error thrown by query builder is more difficult to understand. Deep Learning is required to use splunk for production data. For Large application installation, it need to manage more.

kalaiselvan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Splunk review

Reviewed on 7/12/2019

Overall, it is a very good monitoring tool for an support team and developers for doing root cause analysis.

Pros

Splunk Visually represents the logs mainly from production servers in the web UI .

People who Usually has no access to logs in production servers, will access the logs through splunk UI with very simplified and friendly search query.

It has lot of features like you can query for particular date and time range with specific characters. The search engine is very fast which will bring the query response effectively.

we can access all types of logs including XML and JSON.

we can create a custom dashboard with custom query for each projects and can relatively trigger the email to the support team in case of any issues.

This tool is boon for production support team in any enterprise company.

Cons

Licensing cost is quite higher for enterprise usage.

Query response time will be slow when you are searching for relatively longer history(Eg. 3 months old data)

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Doing setup redundant servers without Splunk

Reviewed on 12/20/2020

Saved my a$$ many times. In a multi-server environment, if you don't have Splunk or something like it, it will be a nightmare to try and coordinate the various log files involved.

Pros

Several of our applications are distributed across multiple systems. It is the same software running on each server but doing the same job for different users. Each server would generate its own log files. When things went wrong, we used Splunk to be able to see what was going on on each server. Click a few buttons and you get two logs from two different servers listed together coordinated by time. But that leads you to discover that the issue came from a separate upstream or downstream server, then bring in those logs too . . . all coordinated by time. Don't get me wrong, the IT guys love these tools for their own enterprise reasons, but as a server stack developer, this was a resource I used OFTEN.

Cons

I never fully grokked their SQL like language. I could do basic things daily without issue. However, I often had to hit the documentation to do anything more than a simple "find this" query.

shashank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Tool for Monitoring Purposes.

Reviewed on 4/15/2019

As a user of Splunk, we generally used to monitor the log provided by the server clusters belonging to a tool called API Connect. As the logs are stored in Splunk, we tally the transaction count from API Connect tool and filter the log search in Splunk with a particular search query. We can download the logs of particular time and date of API Connect servers in case of transaction count issues. We create a dashboard for all the individual API's transaction count in terms of total transaction count of all API's. In this way, it makes our work easier to find out which API has the highest transaction count. We even use Splunk to know the state of the machine. Reports generated by the Splunk helps us to find out the API with the highest response time. In this way, Splunk makes our work a lot easier as it is very fast and highly secure.

Pros

1) Accepts multiple data formats like CSV, JSON, XML
2) Does the hard work for us i.e converting machine data to a human-readable format.
3) Can create customized alerts to serve our business purpose.
4) Searching on the based on queries is pretty simple.
5) We can create dashboards to analyze and visualize our search results.
6) Can export the log content to our Personal computers.
7) Setting up plugins and integrating with any tool that needs monitoring is pretty easy.
8) Technical support for the Splunk is very quick as they have a dedicated staff for that.

Cons

I did not find any flaws with this software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Number 1 SIEM

Reviewed on 9/18/2022

I was very happy with splunk and I suggest it to everyone

Pros

I think Splunk is first and best software in the field, easy to use, does what it had promised,

Cons

pricing could be better, they could be more flexible, support is a bit slow

Rob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

Reviewed on 3/12/2021

The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

Reviewed on 11/8/2018

As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Pros

Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Cons

Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

André
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very reliable and powerful resource

Reviewed on 3/3/2021

On business side we have a lot of logs, informations provided for a very different resources, the most beautiful thing about Splunk is to consolidate everything on just one place, and the ease to extract this information make Splunk the most powerful resource to gather and extract data from every resource that you have logs, even if you are using Windows or Linux, Splunk covers both.

Pros

Ease of use, you can extract any kind of information using commands provided by the software vendor. The other good thing about this software is the easy implentation on the servers, and the configuration is basic.

Cons

For people that are not used to use command lines, it might be a liitle bit difficult on the beggining.

Parth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitoring Tool Splunk

Reviewed on 12/4/2021

With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely suitable to utilize, in light of which we can make different dashboards. For server Monitoring, Splunk logs are not exceptionally accommodating. It totally depends on log explanations, assuming articulation isn't organized in standard organization, and it gives mistaken outcomes.

Pros

Splunk Light is ideal for independent on-premise organization.
Augment endpoint logging.
Can find and store logs from a wide range of resources.
Customization of dashboards.
Making applications dependent on your requirements.

Cons

Complex generally design.
Long execution time.
The instrument needs to incorporate AI to comprehend the framework logs and alarming ought to be founded on the auto learning.

shaik
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

Reviewed on 2/12/2018

make our business life easy

Pros

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

Joevanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very cool but pricey

Reviewed on 8/8/2017

Pros

Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Cons

Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

Carlo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk Review

Reviewed on 6/4/2019

Pros

The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Cons

At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

Satish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent tool for logs & data anlaysis

Reviewed on 5/5/2020

As a developer/operations team member i felt this tool is excellent to analyse any logs or texts

Pros

log analysis, text patterns, statistics and graphing

Cons

Too much of programming, not easy for laymans to write queries.

Damon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Worth the Learning Curve

Reviewed on 4/2/2020

Pros

As a software engineer, Splunk helps me debug issues in my microservice applications. The Splunk forwarders are efficient and quickly collect logging from multiple server instances. The timestamp resolution is precise making it easier to track down race conditions. The reporting and pivot tables are powerful ways to visualize frequency of api calls once you learn the syntax.

Cons

Splunk forwarders that collect the data from applications can sometimes hang and need to be restarted. The amount of traffic that can be collected has maximum caps based on your subscription.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Powerful and easy to administer

Reviewed on 6/1/2015

Pros

It very easy to jump in and learn. Installation, configuration, and administration is very easy. Use of the product such as Search/Dashboard can seem daunting at first but is actually very simple. Splunk has very good documentation and community support. I am always able to find answers to my questions by using Splunk Answers and/or the IRC channel.

Cons

Licensing and pricing in general. Managing the license usage can be annoying and paying for more can be costly. There have been quite a few times where small issues with our log intensive systems have caused license violations. Scenarios like this are usually avoidable with small changes to the Splunk configuration but it can be tedious.