Google Cloud Platform

4.7 (1,108)
Modular platform for computing, hosting, storage & more

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(1,108)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

1,108 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Engineering made Simple with the help of GCP

Reviewed on 2021-09-20

Pros

Management of data is always critical to any organization, and it is not wise to have our own data center from a cost perspective. As a result of GCP, our operating costs have decreased. In addition to a number of free resources and new innovative products rolling out constantly, there are lots of free resources available based on the service. The dashboard, in particular, is simple and allows for all management to be done from one place. Taking a backup and restoring it whenever you need it is particularly convenient.

Cons

The service is a bit more expensive than other providers, specifically the price tier varies according to the level of customer support. Therefore, any immediate fixes must always be followed by additional learning.

Max P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Cloud Platform to build on for any startup.

Reviewed on 2019-06-27

I have worked at two startups now and both were started on EC2 and transitioning to GCP. The costs are almost 50% less at GCP than EC2 and the support at Google to get started is much greater than the massive AWS. The services and Vms are super easy to use and setup. And if your company is on Gsuite, then user management is great. Will always plan on deploying new programs and projects on GCP for foreseeable future.

Pros

Google Cloud Platform is very easy to get started with compared to other clouds. There is free training videos and courses. The costs are among the lowest of all cloud platforms.

Cons

At the beginning compute resources ran out in datacenters that you were already in and using. Also, sometimes features are depreciated or changed to paying for. There is a few months notice on those but still an inconvenience.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to Google Cloud Platform

GCP is almost half the cost of other cloud platforms and much simpler to use.
Corey H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All tools with one platform

Reviewed on 2021-07-07

The ease in being able to share documents between users and the compatibility with apps by other companies like Microsoft.

Pros

Google Cloud allows access to spreadsheets, photos and text docs in one place and does not require integration with other platforms. Sharing is extremely easy after choosing whether to make access permanent or one time. The connection to all other Google apps like maps is a plus.
Saving is easy as everything input is saved right away.

Cons

Security for spreadsheets could be a risk. If the password is compromised, all information is available in the cloud. My company has a contract with Microsoft so it takes an extra step to convert Google docs to Word.

Jay A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cloud-Scale access to Google Apps, Storage, VMs, Renders, and Compute Engines

Reviewed on 2018-08-24

I've just started with Google Cloud Platform, bug they've been very generous in offering free small samples, trial offerings, and at that, the technology itself is inspiring, from the literature provided, and based on the descriptions. Essentially, a developer could scale an enterprise or computing task, or app at full Google thrust, at scale of course; yet it's not at all a paltry offering; significant and invaluable [previously] development tasks of an ad hoc nature are now, very simply put: offerings of tasty tidbits of modern day tech and lifestyle to-do; the results are visible, within a dedicated focused development session; connecting with the literature of the Google Cloud Platform app and the offerings therein will engender a deeper appreciation for how far Google's surfave-level apps have come, with the advent of Cloud computing and processing power, built on Google's rich foundation in logistics to carry out these tasks for the consumer, prosumer, developer, startup, and beyond.

Pros

This software platform is much more than one single concept of software: it's the starting point for accessing all of Google's Cloud Computing services as well as the background APIs that operate at code and scripting level inside of shells and IDEs. Ostensibly, any common computer task, client, service, object, or node can be made in to a Google Cloud Platform instance, from virtual disks and machines, to process rendering, to gaining custom access to nuanced aspects of the individual Google Apps which are offered as the common App Store offering for everyone; yet as for full functionality, API access is necessary. In addition, there are very notable, special, cutting edge technologies that truly transform the concept of user interface and user experience in the context of all things Google: some of the language and visualization Cloud Platform offerings are very exciting, a heralding of a new age in computing, marketing, and IoTs to come.

Cons

It's a vast expanse of software development to wrap one's focus about. That being said, a developer would be lucky to get some hands-on, real-world context of what the Google Cloud Platform Apps and APIs are fully capable of. There's not a whole lot to dislike; Google Developers on every Google product offering constantly update their literature and sites, co make sure that the content is presented well and that users have the means to learn by doing; going forth with the flow of context in development that pops up, from moment to moment; I suppose it [could] be more fluid, but then again, I am a common consumer developer and this is a beautiful array of modern computing leverage at my fingertips, potentially. I just have to learn to use it.

Jordan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Affordable Cloud Service For Marketing Analytics

Reviewed on 2019-08-04

Nothing but positive. I come more from an analytics background, but it's always easy for me to do the work of a data engineer in the platform.

Pros

Like all cloud software, I love how easy it is to import data and incorporate it into my work-flow for spinning up marketing dashboards. I specifically like Google Cloud Platform for its multiple integrations into Google Data Studio and other platforms, such as Datorama.

Cons

Like most Google products, I wish it was easier to integrate into third-party (non-Google) products.

Nolan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Gold Standard of Cloud Platforming

Reviewed on 2019-09-05

My overall experience with Google and their cloud platform has been, in a very real sense, life-changing.

Pros

Google Cloud has made my job so much easier. As a teacher, I have to store my data, assignments, and everything else digitally. I tried other platforms but they all were clunky, difficult to use, or non-compatible with other services. Google fixed all of that. All of my data is at my fingertips and, as an educator, I will never leave this product.

Cons

Since everything is connected through Google, there is sometimes some overlap in different apps that do similar-but-technically-different functions. It can be a little frustrating to work in one thing and then find that a different app does it much better.

Tristan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Strong and Flexible

Reviewed on 2019-02-24

Excellent! Over the past few years, the commitment to GCP and the new developments has been incredible. We've seen so many commitments to growth and so many new and amazing things. It just keeps getting better.

Pros

GCP has tons of excellent APIs and has the strongest feature set and platform for development of new tools, apps, and systems. We have seen it scale fast and scale up to whatever needed which highly suits our needs. It is often cheaper due to sustained usage discounts and committed usage discounts and carries so many more secure services than the other major platforms. It's just the best.

Cons

Some commands can be a little lacking due to security best practices designed by Google Cloud. Cross-project scripting can be difficult, so we've had to wrote some circuitous meta-scripts in order to share and access information outside the confines of a project.

Yasiru G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Most Reliable Cloud Platform

Reviewed on 2019-08-24

Migrating to Google cloud has made a huge compact in our business and made the workflows easy and reliable. And also availability of services are also really good.

Pros

Google cloud platform is packed with most of the features we need from a cloud platform. The best thing about Google platform is its simple interface. They have packed all the complex features in to a user friendly and easy to use interface. As a Kubernetes developer Google cloud platform is the best way to use kubernetes. Via Google cloud You can use Managed Kubernetes with its full potential. And also all other features like Cloud functions, Cloud SQL , Google Buckets are working flawlessly and usefully.

Cons

There is only one thing I wanted to be added to google cloud. That is dark mode for the console. We spent lot of hours a day looking at the cloud console. So it will be really good to have dark mode in cloud console because looking at white screens can cause eye strain.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Best decision we ever made was switching to Google Cloud Platform.

Reviewed on 2018-07-12

Pros

We switched from using our own servers in a server farm to the Google Cloud Platform about 5 years ago. It was the best thing for our company. At the time I was the only Developer/IT manager we had. I was rushing to the server farm whenever we had an issue. With Google Cloud we haven't had an issue. If we do I can fix things from my own computer where ever I am. Upgrading servers takes seconds instead of days. and downtime is not in our vocabulary any more. I am SO happy we switched.

Cons

The only thing I have to complain about is finding the docs you are looking for. Once you find them they are very helpful and easy to understand, but finding them can be hard at times.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A robust cloud based platform for the budget conscious

Reviewed on 2019-09-23

Pros

I love how it's all connected to my Gmail account. The sharing functionality and ease of use made it a no brainier for us.

Cons

Can sometimes be a little clunky. And require additional steps

Steven C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

1 click deployment of services and solutions with scalability

Reviewed on 2021-01-22

Migrating to GCP is uncomplicated and segregation of projects for different business entities makes it easy to manage. Scaling services and capacity management is a click away, something which can be difficult on prem with physical kit.

Pros

Migrating from on prem to cloud was made easy with GCP. Native capabilities cover a majority of requirements such as data stores, database and reporting. For anything that is not available, you have other options such as container deployments or IaaS in GCP.
Connectivity to on prem for ingress and egress of data is a well performed task and easily secured with firewalls.

Cons

Some features may not available that are required for your software solutions or for regulatory requirements such as off site replication. Google are constantly adding features and will work on any resolving such issues.

Carmen C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent cloud service integration

Reviewed on 2021-06-15

Pros

I appreciate the many softwares' free tiers and the ease with which they may be integrated, such as the App Engine. The integration with Firebase is also fantastic.

Cons

My App Engine standard web app has some deployment issues ( due to some Flexible/Standard flaws ). On that, I had to put in a lot of effort.

Dmitry K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great set of cloud tools

Reviewed on 2019-04-12

I have been using several API offered of Google Cloud Platform (mainly Maps for my community for translators where I use Maps API to help potential customers find professional translators based on their location). I also use Google Translate API in some of my projects to get the gist of text that I'm working on. The overall process of using it is rather simple but due to very obsolete UI it can get quite confusing sometimes.

Pros

I really like the Google Translate API that helps me in my work as I can easily plug it into other professional tools that I use.

Cons

The UI is a common problem with many Google products. It takes forever to find an option you're looking for and it feels too complex for something that could be fairy simple and straightforward.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

i won't recomment GCP if you are already using Azure or AWS

Reviewed on 2021-02-13

The experince was great while it lasted, i really liked some features specially app engine to delpy nodejs apps quickly but for long term run i won't recommend them to any one unless they have enough money to burn with GCP. I stopped using GCP after one and a half year of constant usage.

Pros

The virtual instances were amazing and performance was really superior, the other features including but not limited to VCN, CDN, object storage, boot volumes and the region availability everything is super amazing and i would really love to use it again if i ever run into requirements especially mentioning GCP.

Cons

The pricing structure is broken if you use a micro-1 instance with reserved IP get ready to et yourself nuked with horrible billing calculations one month usage will be around twenty bucks for a micro-1 instance well you probably only will use GCP if you enough budget to go overboard in your spending allocation.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon EC2 and Microsoft Azure
Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Of the big three, I love this cloud platform the best

Reviewed on 2021-02-16

I run a number of server and docker containers. Setup, backup, and data storage couldn't be simpler. You simple enable the APIs you want to use and they are immediately available. The tools are top-notch and it is significantly easier to set up private networks than any other Cloud platform.

Pros

The administration on this platform is very simple to use and is able to project costs more accurately than the competition. The ongoing costs are generally less than competing platforms as well.

Cons

I have used AWS and Azure, and in comparison, I have no criticisms for the Google Cloud Platform. I feel it is secure, reliable and less expensive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good CP for quick installations

Reviewed on 2021-02-28

Great experience and it can definitely improve further

Pros

Availability, stability and sturdiness. Great customer support and easiness of implementing the apps. I was part of installing and support of SAP applications in GCP and I had good experience.

Cons

Cost is little high compared to other cloud platforms. There are some latency between the servers in different regions and hence there might be slowness of applications- it needs to be fixed.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon S3 and Microsoft Azure
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

GCP - Compute Engine

Reviewed on 2019-07-16

Pros

A large number of different service offerings can integrate with each other which is great. And in many cases it is cheap than the competition (Azure/AWS)

Cons

The layout can be a bit confusing especially for someone new to cloud platforms.

Devan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Cloud Platform Out There

Reviewed on 2019-12-17

It's been a life saver and is so simple to use especially with customers, coworkers, and schoolmates!

Pros

It is so readily accessible and so easy to use! I literally use it everyday for everything! I use it to share photos and documents and it make collaboration so much easier!

Cons

It always seems like I'm running out of space but that because when you delete something it actually just puts it in your trash folder so the space is still taken. If you deleted it from there though then you're fine!

Diane P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love google cloud platform

Reviewed on 2021-05-25

Easily access all my patients information

Pros

Very easy to use in the medical field for quick access

Cons

Have not had any problems so far really like using

Alternatives Considered

Passportal

Reasons for Switching to Google Cloud Platform

Ease of use
Dallyce B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My documents are always safe and accessible!

Reviewed on 2018-11-02

Pros

I loved being able to continue working on Google documents at home, that I had started on my work computer. Having my documents shared to a cloud made it perfectly simple and easy to access (and share) any place that an internet connection exists.

Cons

I have no frustration with the Google Cloud Platform. Maybe just re-learning how documents can be shared and 'saved' for those that have primarily used static documents and folders. It's more of a label system, not a sorting system.

Rachel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Goodle Cloud Review

Reviewed on 2018-10-29

I use Google drive when I was in school and loved how easy it was to complete assignments. It's so easy to use and I never had to worry about loosing my work! I also use Google photos to backup all the pictures I take on my phone and clear out storage. I would be lost without Google cloud!

Pros

Ease of use! I love how everything is online. I never have to use a USB drive to access my work. Everything automatically saves, you can share documents with others and edit at the same time.

Cons

There isn't anything I can think of that I don't like.

Fabiola G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Google Could is the best for staying connected across devices!

Reviewed on 2020-05-12

Overall, I love Google Cloud. It's easy to access everything you need from anywhere!

Pros

The thing I love most about Google Cloud is how easy it is to stay connected across many different devices. Personally, I use it to connect through my phones, laptops, desktops, and even my iPads. It is so easy to store your information and keep it safe, yet accessible.

Cons

There's not much I can say that I don't like about Google Cloud. Personally, I use it every single day.

Ye Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ye Yi

Reviewed on 2021-08-27

I love the user interface. it's easy to use and manage.

Pros

Interface user friendly and easy to use

Cons

Google Cloud DNS is still slower than another provider

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure
Vitaly P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Access to all Google services from one platform and it's great!

Reviewed on 2018-11-05

Pros

I have been using Google Cloud Platform for 4 years now. What I like most is that I can access all Google services just by running the Google Cloud Platform. I easily and quickly view documents from Google Drive, read Gmail mail, work with Google Maps and process web requests.

Cons

Due to the abundance of services that this platform combines, it becomes difficult to find a particular file. Therefore, you need to refine the search function and make it more advanced.

Steve K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent cloud platform but lagging a bit behind AWS

Reviewed on 2018-11-27

Overall I really liked my experience with GCP, the product is quite sound and pricing competitive. They do need to fix a few things to provide the full enterprise experience.

Pros

Ease of use and developer friendliness. I really like the plethora of tools available along with the multiple options for running services on GCP. The services are a bit sparse but certain ones are excellent (GKE). Performance varies based on location, the nice thing is they have several regions which AWS is not in. Pricing per instance is VERY competitive as other cloud services are not cheap.

Cons

Does not have as many platform services as AWS or Azure. Customer support was a mixed bag, would have liked more responsiveness for sev 1 issues. On several occasions GCP had a major outage, down for 2-3 days which is not acceptable.