Real-Time Labor Guide

4.3 (75)
Auto repair software for managing labor costs

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(75)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5
Sort by

75 Reviews

Dano
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Real-Time product!

Reviewed on 6/1/2020

Great inexpensive labor time guide and invoice system, I have used it for over 8 years now!

Pros

Customization and accuracy of labor times!

Cons

Number of labor times not available in the system.

Alternatives Considered

Mitchell RepairCenter and ALLDATA

Reasons for Switching to Real-Time Labor Guide

Price and ease of use!

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Dano - we are so happy to have such a fantastic review from a customer that has been with us for so many years. We look forward to serving you for many many more!

BYRON
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IMPORTANT: PLEASE READ. PAYS FOR ITSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed on 1/14/2017

I'VE READ SOME OF THE COMPLAINTS OF OTHER SHOPS. THEY WANT EVERY SINGLE ESTIMATE TO BE PERFECT. NONE OF THESE PROGRAMS ARE PERFECT. OVER THE YEARS I'VED USE REAL-TIME AS A BACK UP TO EITHER MITCHELL & OR ALLDATA. REAL TIME HAS SAVED ME FROM LOOSING A TON OF MONEY $$$$$$ IF I HAD WENT STRICKLY WITH THE "BIG BOYS PRICING" I'D BE IN THE "POOR HOUSE" NOW. THIS ESTIAMTING GUIDE IS A MUST HAVE. AND YOU GUYS THAT WANT MORE FROM THE PROGRAM, THEY HAVE AN ADVANCED PROGRAM TOO.

Pros

KEEP A FINANCIAL ACCOUNT OF HOW MUCH YOU RAISED THE PRICE WHEN YOU DOUBLE CHECKED REAL TIME & I BET YOU BE LOOKING AT A MINIMUM $ A MONTH IN ADDITIONAL INCOME.
PLUS IF YOU EVER WORK ON A MEDIUM TO LARGE TRUCK - REAL TIME HAS THAT INFO AT NO EXTRA COST. A DOUBLE BONUS!!!!

Cons

NONE

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Thank you so much Byron for the awesome review! We agree with you - every shop SHOULD have the Real-Time Labor Guide even if it's just for a second opinion.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

customer service & incorrect Labor Time

Reviewed on 10/27/2018

labor times most of the time is wrong make sure you you have different source you can't trust the info which is they getting pay monthly! 30% of time they are wrong

Pros

????!!!I'm not sure I like anything about them they been introduced by different company

Cons

we have to call them at least a couple times a month to correct the time labor times incomplete and they supposed to give you credit to correct them. good luck they ignore you

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

How much trust can you put in an anonymous review? We serve thousands of customers and provide hundreds of thousands of labor times. No labor guide is 100% correct, which is why we are called "guides". But we are always here to take your call, look at the job with you and give you the information you need to complete the job. Most customers appreciate that and tell us it's impossible to get that kind of service from the other guys. They also appreciate how much money we make them by providing correct times when the other guys are off. This is why the smart technician has more than one source. Of course everyone is entitled to their opinion, but again, how much can you trust a reviewer who blasts you anonymously?

Dale
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great program

Reviewed on 6/1/2020

It's been a great tool for my company.

Pros

If I can't find a job customer service always helps me price it out!

Cons

Everything works greatfor me. Never had a problem with anything.

Alternatives Considered

Mitchell RepairCenter

Reasons for Switching to Real-Time Labor Guide

Price

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Dale - Thank you for the great review! We're glad to have you as a customer!

Elisabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to navigate

Reviewed on 2/12/2019

Pros

Easy to navigate. Very functional, its great that I can add parts and specific labor to our shop and store for quick reference.

Cons

Customer Service has not been the easiest to get ahold of the few times I've needed too.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Elisabeth - Thank you for your great review! We work very hard and reach out for tons of feedback in order to make the system as easy to use as possible. I'm sorry you've had a hard time reaching us lately - the beginning of the year is always very busy with annual updates but if you leave a message we won't leave the office until our voicemail box is clear, and usually we get back to you a lot sooner then that. Thanks for being our customer for the last several years - we look forward to many more!

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Real-Time labor guide helps with estimating

Reviewed on 3/25/2020

Overall, Real-Time Labor Guide has gotten us out of some jams for sure. Had we used the traditional labor times we would have short changed ourselves.

Pros

I like the low,avg,high industry labor times and the notes on certain jobs indicating errors with traditional labor guides.

Cons

I have to buy separate licenses for each copy. Also, navigating the menu is a bit dated. I'd like to see more effort put into integration so advisors can build a labor estimate quickly.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Nick - Thank you for your awesome and honest review. We're so happy to have you as a customer, and glad we could get you out of some jams and save you from short changing yourselves!

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best way to invoice my jobs

Reviewed on 6/4/2020

Makes keeping track of customers and their vehicles so easy I can do it.

Pros

Very easy to use and configure the coverage is great and can even use custom types of vehicles overall the best software for shop invoicing.

Cons

There is nothing I don’t like about the software.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

John - It's feedback like this: "Did my homework and was the best price for the best product" that makes our day. We're so happy we can provide the shop management service that you need to help you run your shop. Thanks for being our customer for all these years!

MARCIANO
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EASY TO USE AND VERY AFFORDABLE.

Reviewed on 5/27/2020

Pros

VERY EASY TO OVERWRITE PRICES, PARTS AND JOB DISCRIPTION.

Cons

ENGINE SIZE CODE SOMETIMES NOT LISTED FROM THE LIST.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Marciano - thank you for your awesome and honest review! I'm glad you found us easier to us than some others out there. We're happy to have you as a customer!

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good quality, Needs more HD

Reviewed on 6/1/2020

Its great, passwords can be a pain, though when are they not

Pros

I like it gives you options for time, wish it showed actual book, then real time. I wish it could integrate with sms.

Cons

Everything is fine with it, Drawbacks are minimal

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Sean - Thank you for your honest review and we are so happy to have you as a customer!

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Curious

Reviewed on 5/26/2020

Quick estimates are now possible for my customer's.

Pros

Able to use phone app
Support does respond

Cons

There no reward when I call to point out errors in Labor Time discrepancies w/ real world experience.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Robert - Thank you for you awesome review. We're happy you are now able to provide your customers with quick estimates!

Jens
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best bang for the buck!

Reviewed on 5/26/2020

It's help me increase my profits and have better time management on jobs.

Pros

The price is great. Very easy program to use. The program has been getting better and better over the years. The quotes are very nice and professional.

Cons

Sometimes it's hard to find the task you're looking for. Some labor times are extremely low but those are getting much better.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Jens - Thank you so much for your honest and glowing review! We're so happy to have you as a customer and that we can help you increase profitability and time management!

Sabrina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software!

Reviewed on 6/4/2020

It is a software we have used and loved for years and will continue to use!

Pros

We have used Real-Time Labor Guide for our shop for over 5 years and as our shop has grown we have purchased other softwares but always keep our real-time subscription. We also do repairs on classic cars and this is the best labor guide software out for estimating labor times for older vehicles.

Cons

Through the years the software has not made any big changes.

Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have used Real-Time Labor in our business for several years, It is very easy to use.

Reviewed on 5/27/2020

I would highly recommend this to anybody that need a guide for flat rate time.

Pros

We are mainly a heavy truck repair shop. Software is very easy to use. I use it as a guide for the flat rate repair. The information in it is consistent with other repair shops as far as time.

Cons

Only had a couple of things that was not covered as far a repair.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Randy - Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy to have you as a customer!

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Thorough and Accurate

Reviewed on 5/26/2020

Simple product that is intuitive and fast. Seems to have many features we haven't even tapped into but look forward to taking advantage of. Very well laid out and a must in any shops labor guide arsenal, and extremely reasonable pricing!!

Pros

All the labor guides that are integrated into the big name services like Alldata and Mitchell, don't go back as far as Real-Time does. Easy to navigate, and often includes obscure job tasks I wasn't expecting to find. The range of low to high hours per job is also on point and fantastic feature

Cons

Loses some of the older years as it includes the later models.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Sean - Thank you for your honest and awesome review! We're happy you find our service intuitive and fast. We work hard to make sure it's as easy to use as possible.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Real time review from a dummy

Reviewed on 6/1/2020

Pretty easy and strait forward. Sometimes the simple things slow you down and this is one of them.

Pros

Very easy to navigate and use. I really like the simplicity and ease of use.

Cons

Nothing now that it has a custom feature for abnormal vehicles or repairs.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Jeff - Thank you for your glowing review! We're so happy to have you as a customer!

Jeffery
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for beginner shops

Reviewed on 6/10/2020

I have been using this program for several years now, customer service is great. For a small shop this is a great investment.

Pros

The ease of using a tag number to get all information on vehicle.

Cons

Does not pre fill fields on frequently used parts.

Khaled
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Greatest invoicing and labour guide system

Reviewed on 5/26/2020

Pros

It saves all invoices and makes pricing a job a breeze

Cons

Search criteria should improve By adding make and model and year in the same category

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Khaled - Thank you so much for you honest and glowing review! We are so happy to have you as our customer!

linwood
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ive used this for 7 years and love it

Reviewed on 6/5/2017

saves me money and time.
I have had no issues to complain and see nothing but good ,, I see no reason to buy into a more expensive product

Pros

price and ease of use , seems accurate and saves guessing, saves me money , something to show the customer

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Thank you for your review Linwood!

stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

tca

Reviewed on 6/8/2020

Pros

easy to use and labor rates broken down into sections

Cons

some labor guides not accurate search engine never works

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Real-Time Labor Guide

Reviewed on 6/1/2020

Able to go back and see what I have done in the past.

Pros

Keeping track of all my invoices able to go back to review customers.

Cons

Nothing is a great product it does what it claims to do.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Michael - Thank you so much for the awesome review! We work hard to give our customers what they need, and its great to get this kind of feedback. We look forward to serving you for many many more years!

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Real Time Review

Reviewed on 5/26/2020

Average

Pros

Easy to use.

Cons

Not enough new content for quite a long time. The software has become stagnant and has many holes.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Michael - Thank you for your honest review and for the high marks in Ease of Use and Customer Support. When you say that its time for some new features, we really can't disagree. We are beta testing a new integrated payment feature now that will be released to all users shortly, then a full suite of features soon after. Do you have a couple feature suggestions that should be at the top of our list?

FLOYD
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Update

Reviewed on 6/3/2020

Very Good

Pros

Use of the system and moving to next application.

Cons

Wish it had semi-trailer labor guide, do lots of work on trailers.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Floyd - Thank you for the great review! We're so happy to have you as a customer!

Harold
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

owner

Reviewed on 12/1/2022

terrible

Pros

nothing the labor time is wrong , if you are a shop you will go broke with this labor time

Cons

pricing, you will get screwed, on real time labor guide

ralph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

watch the times

Reviewed on 6/9/2020

Pros

easy to use just not accurate on labor times

Cons

not all labor actions are on the program, labor time are wrong on some repairs. usually short you on repair time.

Charles
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great pic for small shops

Reviewed on 9/16/2020

Needs more features in an additional tier or al a cart add ons.
I use this daily, incredibly easy to generate accurate quotes, but a POS system its not...yet.

Pros

Overall the product is very useful. The are very few products for small guys to get away from paper & get access to labor guides. Ive tried all of the $20-$50 monthly options as I wanted a cloud based system that I could work with from anywhere regardless of platform. I really think this has helped me attract more business & close more sales due to accurate quoting. Lets face it people want professional & accurate quotes up front...and when they come back to pickup they dont want surprises either- this gains trust. In this regard RT has actually made me more money & makes things more efficient. How can a small shop justify $100-250 per month for Shop Management? Well theres not much out there that will get you running for sub 100 much less the $25/month I promise ya!

Cons

Now for the downsides...Im anxiously awaiting some upgrades- another tier for those of us wanting AR & Inventory, regardless of the info page here there is no inventory- nada. This needs to be fixed. The Customer owed balance needs to me on the main page so you know what folk are due/overdue at a glance instead of drilling into each work order & clicking thru to the end- its ridiculous to have to do that. Multiple tech assignment would be super helpful as well- each labor line should have ability to assign more than one all of the techs- not just one. Adding part vendors on the fly would be nice too but thats nit pickin. We need inventory Customer AR (and report) as well as Quickbooks online integration. I should be able to use this software to see what oil & filters I have on hand at least! All that said, they promise more soon & are adding payment processing- I really hope its soon!

Alternatives Considered

Shopmonkey, AutoShop, Shop Boss and AutoRepair Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Real-Time Labor Guide

To get the features from Workshop it gets pretty expensive...when you pay that kid on money you expect it to be stable & not glitchy. Had my request & complaints not went ignored for days I may have stayed longer & dealt with it, as there is alot of promise for Workshop. Though when I tried RT & actually saved a ton of time & money & wasnt bogged down with glitches I was sold on RT. WS had many half baked feature sets that were there but didnt work fully only to get aholt of some one and be prodded into spending more $$...then when had to sort out billing errors with overseas CS, thats it Im done!

Switched From

Workshop Software

Reasons for Switching to Real-Time Labor Guide

Ease of use, price & stability