Candy

4.5 (135)
Estimating, Planning and Project Control software

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(135)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.6/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

135 Reviews

Larozelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Candy in my workspace...

Reviewed on 8/28/2019

I would definitely recommend Candy to any Construction business. You have to keep up with changing times to stay ahead of your competition and Candy is one of the best ways to do so. The courses that you can do with the program is also fantastic and you learn so much.

Pros

What I like most about Candy is the ease of using the product. Once you are set up and start going it makes your work a lot easier. It safes time and money, and in business time is money. I love how I can do my programming, subcontracting and pricing all at once. Project Management is made more efficient with Candy.

Cons

Initially getting all the "meat" for estimating of projects (Masters) can be a challenge. Pricing per license can get a little expensive if you do not make use of the program a lot.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Larozelle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so glad it has been so positive. Your feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Have a super day.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly construction cost modelling software

Reviewed on 12/25/2018

Users can get familiar with the software by vary basis knowledge, and if established a proper master CCS then very easy to price any project, however master should establish very carefully considering project requirements.

Pros

CCS providing user-friendly cost modelling solutions for construction projects to manage project cost from tender stage to until project completion.

The CCS detailed cost estimation model help to produce a number of cost reports which will help during the decision-making process in the tender stage, as well as this cost model can use to establish the post contract cost control process, and able to produce cost reports such as cost to completion, cost value reconciliation and cash flow statements, etc.

Cons

Its required more time for the establishment of master CCS, and also only one estimator can work in one project, if two estimators work for one project by dividing into two parts, later if required to merge into one file, it is possible but not simple.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Candy User,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time.
Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Uwais
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CCS Candy & Buildsmart Review

Reviewed on 3/8/2019

Pros

The simplicity of the software and features as well as the depth of accuracy.

Cons

Integration with BS, Support on Candy & BS, company-specific requirements and customization, Multi-Level user security and restrictions, consultation services.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Uwais
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy. It means a lot to us here at CCS.
We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our Users' experience and your feedback is invaluable.
Have a wonderful day.

Pierer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Contractor Tool by Far

Reviewed on 10/20/2021

Definitely the BEST fully comprehensive programme incorporating, Estimating, Planning and Project control all in one

Pros

The package allows one to price the project to the last screw and then enables one to analyse the project and fully understand where the cost is and what areas require special attention.
Generally 80% of the cost is in 20% of the items.
The programming module of Candy is by far one of the most advanced programs available. It assists in monitoring the design information for construction. It enables one to link the estimate to the programme and get out detailed accurate cash flows, labour and resource histograms.

Cons

It is a rather expensive package with a monthly cost per package and companies tend to look for alternative cheaper packages.
So far have managed to convince company to stay with candy

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Pierer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Neschlin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CCS

Reviewed on 9/18/2019

CCS is great for pricing tenders. It is great for assisting with the preparations of the cost reports

Pros

I enjoy the estimating and valuations . I like the fact that you can customize it for your own uses.

Cons

The difficulty and amount of time that it takes to programme on CCS. There is a lack of clarity of how to link everything and pricing multiple items with the same description.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Neschlin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us.

Regarding the difficulties you are having please see our consultants recommendation below, we hope this will help you:

The Link in the Program and Estimate can be made easier with the Auto Link option. We have a webinar on the topic "Program Auto-link Code" - please see link here: https://vimeo.com/205014305/8b79c40066

Items with similar descriptions can be quickly priced using the Description Matching feature.
We have a webinar called "Description Matching- Auto Price from Master", whose link is as below:
https://vimeo.com/230590752/b190be4c20

We hope this helps. Please don't hesitate to contact your nearest CCS branch should you have any further issues.
Have a super day.

Lulanga
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

CCS

Reviewed on 1/17/2019

Valuation most of the time and estimating,i m trying to use QTO but it is very inefficient.

Pros

Very good estimating software rates can be built easily and utilize efficiently,no other software can compete in term of estimating and valuation

Cons

Functionality of QTO is very bad and inefficient,it is way behind other on screen measurements softwares.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Lulanga
Thank you for your review on Candy. Your feedback and continued support is highly appreciated and important to us here at CCS.

Have you tried our new and improved Candy QTO3?

Changes include:
1. Automatic vertical scrolling to Variable and Detail sections of Take-off sheet
2. More intuitive drop down box to Units of the Variable section of Take-off sheet
3. Option to preserve line colours for PDF and DWG formats. This is a tick box on the drawing page (Drawing list)
4. Snap selection stored as per latest user selection. Does not change when "Count" tool used
5. Measurement bill default setting is Full description with No Blank lines. User may alter this setting
6. Copy and Paste from one drawing to another now available
7. When updating the Measurement bill, the system now does not close all drawings

Jean Lorenzo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efectivness of the CCS in the Construction Field

Reviewed on 1/17/2019

I have been using Candy for almost 25 years, and the greatest plus is their constant upgrading, quality training and help at all times of the day.
The consultants also go out of their way to sort out your problems.
That is why I believe that they will be leaders in AI technology, and take next leap into a new fascinating world.

Pros

1) Complete package
2) Cradle to Grave
3) Able to use in motivation contractual claims
4) Interlinked between Tender, Costing, Measurement, Programs, Cash flow, Claims etc

Cons

1) To get the full use of the product the user needs to spend a lot of time working on it
2) The constant changes require aren't always apparent to the user
3) Artificial Intelligence has not been implemented in the product, where the program could understand your thinking process and assist with the creation and general work process
4) Artificial Intelligence could also be used for the more mundane chores, leaving the User to spend more time with the creative process
5) Artificial Intelligence could be used to monitor the original implementation and subsequent betterment due to AI. Time is precious, and if we can do the same work faster, with assistance from AI that would be a major plus

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Jean,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS.
We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Martin Heinz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Candy review

Reviewed on 1/17/2019

Have been using Candy from when it was still known as "Marsbar" in the 1980's, in tender planning and project control & monitoring in both building construction and civil engineering projects.

Pros

01. Can use a bill of quantities to allocate resources to tender- or construction programmes and therefore come to sensible programme activity durations very quickly.
02. Access to help (have built up a good relationship with the reps over the years & have always had excellent service).
03. The ease of using macros, saves me loads of time, especially when linking multiple activity strings.

Cons

Used to be able to import more fields when importing new programme activities; would like the option of importing text 01 to text 05 as well.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Martin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for close on 40 years.
We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Candy- A better alternative software for Project Management

Reviewed on 3/16/2020

It is a good alternative software for project management. Please try it, recommended.

Pros

I have experience with MS Project and Oracle Primavera for project management works and during the initial period, I struggled a lot to learn these softwares. But recently I got introduced with Candy and it is really simple to understand and more powerful to work. It is the most suited software for the construction firm and price-wise also the preferable option to go with Candy.

Cons

It always difficult to correct the mistakes and functional wise, MS Project is far better to compare with Candy. The popularity of this software is very low and there are very limited numbers of online tutorials available for Candy.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

You will be happy to hear that we are presently developing on-line tutorials for all Candy modules and hope to have them out within the year. In the meantime, we have User guides in the system that may help you and run Candy courses in various regions around the world - please follow the link below to find out what Planning courses we have and where they are being held.

https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/candy-courses-category/planning

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Have a super day.

Derrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simplifying Estimating

Reviewed on 3/7/2019

Candy Simplifies the estimating process with this powerful software package while being flexible enough to customise to my needs. Managing my resource and subcontractor pricing is simple with easy export to a number of file types.

Pros

Coding system
Resource manager
Subcontract adjudicator
Buildsmart integration
Planning links
Candy Support

Cons

Candy courses a must for beginners .

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Derrick
Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Rajesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Must try this software - all estimation engineers/civil engineering student

Reviewed on 1/15/2019

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process. After candy introduction it made our business easy and we can plan cash flow and resource mobilization easily and estimation also accurate. We are now more competitive and won couple of project.

Pros

This software designed in such a way that it satisfy the need of all contractors/engineer.
We can get ' n ' number of types of reports it helps you in financial planning, cash flow,resource planning, mobilization etc.
It makes your estimation process easy and most effective way.

Cons

Price is not affordable for small firms and free lancers and some of commands need to be more friendly like MS excel, however if you practice candy even you can achieve required speediness in work

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Rajesh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, its great to get feedback like this as our team is always encouraged to hear that Candy is being used correctly and helping you to win tenders & manage projects effectively . Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Candy - An Excellent Tool

Reviewed on 10/20/2021

Excellent

Pros

Most of what I use Candy for is the QTO and Estimating portions.

I find them very useful and quick to use. I do enjoy that the software is continually being updated and changing to make it easier to use and more streamlined.

Cons

As I mostly use the QTO function, I do come across a few minor bugs. Sometimes QTO will crash or state that there is an unexpected error; or sometimes the length or area tools will bug out when inserting new point etc. However this is not a major issue.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. I will forward your feedback to the QTO Developers for their attention. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Neschlin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A PRICING DREAM!!!

Reviewed on 1/23/2019

Life Changing.

Pros

The way in which you can customise everything to yourself and your business, making it easy to do everything for a project on one program.

Cons

The program is very complex and to get started and acquanited with every aspect of the program is near on impossible.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Neschlin
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy
Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation.
We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Construction Computer Software

Reviewed on 7/22/2019

Cost reports are life and up to date, procurement is executed as estimated/priced or within all allowable. CCS Buildsmart/CCS Candy hand and glove

Pros

It is user friendly, results driven and assist in ensuring an improved accurate level of reporting in all aspects

Cons

None, it and you always life you need internet to connect

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Have a super day.

Mohammed Iqbal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Comprehensive tools with solution for Estimators

Reviewed on 12/24/2018

Pros

-No chances of arithmetical errors
-Generating Reports makes it very useful to review the tenders/project
- Easy to change the price of particular resource which will change the price in overall BOQ
- Able to add different mark up for each trades

Cons

- Initial setup for pricing/estimation takes time
- Not able to export pdf BOQ

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Candy User,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CCS

Reviewed on 3/7/2019

Pros

the software is user friendly and easy accessible. after going through the practice book i was able to understand about 80% of how the software works

Cons

the manual and software quantity take off need some improvement. calculation from QTO (not the result) are hard to export onto worksheets

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Candy User
Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, it means a lot to us here at CCS.
Manual take-offs have now been replaced by calc panels to link your measurements directly to the bill items. QTO is being updates and improved on an ongoing basis.
We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

ganesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Budget review and Cost control

Reviewed on 1/15/2019

To be honest i am really happy to work with the software and mainly we can control the materials in detail

Pros

It is very useful to review the budget and compare with the actual cost. Also it helps to notify the loss early and forecast for the Project can be verified every month or whenever need.

Cons

It is very difficult to understand and mainly confusion about codes. Also to note that time taken process during switch over menu (eg. Cost allowable to Valuation)

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Ganesh
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our Users.

Gavin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CANDY REVIEW

Reviewed on 3/7/2019

The speed with which complete estimates can be put together is a huge factor

Pros

From an estimating perspective, the easy with which an estimate can be constructed (from baseline and from a database) is effective in getting tenders out quckly and in time

Cons

The interface between programming and estimate. After working with MS Projects, it seeds the programming function is a bit limited

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Gavin
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Candy, we appreciate the feedback.
We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Thabo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thabo Review

Reviewed on 10/20/2021

Overall I am happy with the product and would recommend any professional in the construction industry to invest in this powerful product . Candy Makes Project Budgeting, Estimating and cost controlling much simple.

Pros

The ease of use, the user interface is so simple to toggle through and for one to get used to. In terms of Quantity Take offs, one may do this in a matter of half what they would if done manually

Cons

The frequent updates only really , otherwise I am happy with the product

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Thabo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We like to assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The system is accurate, Help full, and easy handling, good support services.

Reviewed on 12/24/2018

I have work with Candy more then 9 years. It was very good for the tender pricing works and also latest updates versions are very help full.

Pros

latest updates versions are very imported.

Cons

I have used the Candy system for tender pricing per pours only. The all pricing tools are most impotent.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are honored to have been by your side for the last 9 years. We want to assure you of our continued support in the future.

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Job but need some Upgrades

Reviewed on 12/24/2018

Candy is a Good Estimation Program . but will need some Upgrading

Pros

easy to use
Friendly interface
Good Reports structure

Cons

Limited number of Characters for the Resources
Some Bugs that appear instantly need to be fixed for good . (like the storage area Error)

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Ahamed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Commercial Companion

Reviewed on 12/24/2018

It reduces my time in pricing

Pros

Upgrading in line with the technical advancements

Cons

1. Yearly renewal. May be one time payment for 3 years/5 years with special discounts
2. Importing MS Excel Boq is difficult, if various sheets are given by Client
3. Importing MS Excel BoQ is difficult, if sheet is protected by Client

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Ahamed,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Tamer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

my comments

Reviewed on 10/24/2021

it's likely application, easy and not risky since it's stable software

Pros

importing worksheets from sheet to another one

Cons

housekeeping process is so easy to recode all workgroup

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Tamer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

ABDUL
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Candy is good

Reviewed on 12/24/2018

Overall i like candy

Pros

Features of candy.i like the overall features included in candy. Many more need to include in candy in future

Cons

its not easy to access. For starter its not easy to access.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Abdul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Expand Text Lenght on Resource List

Reviewed on 1/15/2019

Pros

I like the speed, the efficiency of mathematical calculation and the auto save.

Cons

The resource listing of materials cannot describe full material list due is length limit.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Candy User,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 2 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.
Have a super day.