RIB Candy

4.5 (158)
Write a Review!
Estimating, Planning and Project Control software

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(158)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support Software
4.6/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

158 Reviews

Anton
Anton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why i like Candy

Reviewed on 2019-01-23

We have solved a lot of issues with Estimating as we are now able to include and adjust all our...

We have solved a lot of issues with Estimating as we are now able to include and adjust all our cost drivers into an estimate. Adding and excluding cost items is extremely easy.

Pros

It is designed specifically for the construction industry

Cons

I don's know all the functionality and do not have the time to go on training courses.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Anton
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do facilitate monthly webinars with the purpose of upskilling our users and will be happy to forward the link to you, covering a substantial number of topics

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Candy Review

Reviewed on 2019-01-23

Candy provides important information for costing purposes at a click of a button. I can import...

Candy provides important information for costing purposes at a click of a button. I can import costs such as labour, plant & material for any item or trade at any given time.

Pros

Candy gives you real time costs. What I love most about it is that it is linked to the accounting system so there is no need to request costings from the accounts department, you can retrieve the information yourself via build-smart.

Cons

QTO which is the measurement tool takes a while to load drawings.

Response from RIB Software

Good Day
Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Uwais
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CCS Candy & Buildsmart Review

Reviewed on 2019-03-08

Pros

The simplicity of the software and features as well as the depth of accuracy.

Cons

Integration with BS, Support on Candy & BS, company-specific requirements and customization, Multi-Level user security and restrictions, consultation services.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Uwais
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy. It means a lot to us here at CCS.
We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our Users' experience and your feedback is invaluable.
Have a wonderful day.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Candy Course

Reviewed on 2019-01-23

The Candy program is an all-inclusive package that takes care of all aspects of a building...

The Candy program is an all-inclusive package that takes care of all aspects of a building project..it just makes life and work easier!

Pros

The course is proudly South African developed. The course presenter is just a master and simplified the course.
The Candy program is hugely beneficial and knocks socks off the competitors.
I can honestly highly recommend the course to any construction firm and consider it an essential tool for any Contracts Manager as well as Quantity Surveyor who wants to keep track of cost and time.

Cons

There is nothing negative to say about this software; well done CCS!

Response from RIB Software

Thank you so much for the positive review of Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our Users.
We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Syed Shiraz
Syed Shiraz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CCS / Candy

Reviewed on 2019-01-16

Witnessed a transformation of Candy from a DOS based platform to recent look which is not just a...

Witnessed a transformation of Candy from a DOS based platform to recent look which is not just a cosmetic touch it's enhanced like anything with strong features from setting up a job at pre-tender stage and helping through out the construction cycle till handover

Pros

Candy is a complete solution for a construction firm

Cons

cash flow needs some more improvement and reporting tools

Couldn't explore it to a full extent

Response from RIB Software

Dear Syed Shiraz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Nawras
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2019-01-15

If you have the right input, then Candy is the best software to translate your inputs into priced...

If you have the right input, then Candy is the best software to translate your inputs into priced job with great analysis and review reports

Pros

This software is made by people who practiced estimation, they took care of everything you may think about while pricing including the inputs and analysis reports.

Cons

I believe we must have the UNDO options in the coming versions.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Nawras
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Owen
Owen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Candy for Estimators

Reviewed on 2018-12-24

Candy allows the user to produce a true nett cost of a project,
Including a proper risk analysis,...

Candy allows the user to produce a true nett cost of a project,
Including a proper risk analysis, cash flow and perspective on viewing costs from different views.

Pros

Estimating from first principles.
Ease of use,
Accuracy

Cons

There is nothing I do not like.
Candy provides all that is necessary for senior management to have proper knowledge to submit a realistic
Competitive accurate tender.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Owen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Johan
Johan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great versatility

Reviewed on 2019-07-20

Candy's customer service is phenomenal, they offer great training sessions and constantly improve...

Candy's customer service is phenomenal, they offer great training sessions and constantly improve and innovate to keep the software in line with industry trends.

Pros

The software allows the user to customize a bespoke solution based any number of outcomes.

Cons

I cannot "undo" once I've moved off the line.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Johan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Jazab
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best Reporting on Estimation Work

Reviewed on 2024-05-15

This is very good software to long term Estimation data evaluations.

This is very good software to long term Estimation data evaluations.

Pros

The reports we can get after the estimation work are the best part

Cons

Working from master sheet to new estimation sheet is little complicated.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Jazab,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to us and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

NAVEEN KUMAR
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

NAVEEN KUMAR REVIEW

Reviewed on 2024-06-07

Pros

RESOURCE ANALYSIS, IN-DIRECT COSTING, REPORTING

Cons

LIMITATIONS IN VARIABLES, BETTER IF THE MACRO SHEET HAVE EXCEL KIND OF FACILITIES

Response from RIB Software

Dear Naveen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to us and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Pierer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Contractor Tool by Far

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

Definitely the BEST fully comprehensive programme incorporating, Estimating, Planning and Project...

Definitely the BEST fully comprehensive programme incorporating, Estimating, Planning and Project control all in one

Pros

The package allows one to price the project to the last screw and then enables one to analyse the project and fully understand where the cost is and what areas require special attention.
Generally 80% of the cost is in 20% of the items.
The programming module of Candy is by far one of the most advanced programs available. It assists in monitoring the design information for construction. It enables one to link the estimate to the programme and get out detailed accurate cash flows, labour and resource histograms.

Cons

It is a rather expensive package with a monthly cost per package and companies tend to look for alternative cheaper packages.
So far have managed to convince company to stay with candy

Response from RIB Software

Dear Pierer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Jean Lorenzo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efectivness of the CCS in the Construction Field

Reviewed on 2019-01-17

I have been using Candy for almost 25 years, and the greatest plus is their constant upgrading,...

I have been using Candy for almost 25 years, and the greatest plus is their constant upgrading, quality training and help at all times of the day.
The consultants also go out of their way to sort out your problems.
That is why I believe that they will be leaders in AI technology, and take next leap into a new fascinating world.

Pros

1) Complete package
2) Cradle to Grave
3) Able to use in motivation contractual claims
4) Interlinked between Tender, Costing, Measurement, Programs, Cash flow, Claims etc

Cons

1) To get the full use of the product the user needs to spend a lot of time working on it
2) The constant changes require aren't always apparent to the user
3) Artificial Intelligence has not been implemented in the product, where the program could understand your thinking process and assist with the creation and general work process
4) Artificial Intelligence could also be used for the more mundane chores, leaving the User to spend more time with the creative process
5) Artificial Intelligence could be used to monitor the original implementation and subsequent betterment due to AI. Time is precious, and if we can do the same work faster, with assistance from AI that would be a major plus

Response from RIB Software

Dear Jean,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS.
We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Rajesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Must try this software - all estimation engineers/civil engineering student

Reviewed on 2019-01-15

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation...

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process. After candy introduction it made our business easy and we can plan cash flow and resource mobilization easily and estimation also accurate. We are now more competitive and won couple of project.

Pros

This software designed in such a way that it satisfy the need of all contractors/engineer.
We can get ' n ' number of types of reports it helps you in financial planning, cash flow,resource planning, mobilization etc.
It makes your estimation process easy and most effective way.

Cons

Price is not affordable for small firms and free lancers and some of commands need to be more friendly like MS excel, however if you practice candy even you can achieve required speediness in work

Response from RIB Software

Dear Rajesh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, its great to get feedback like this as our team is always encouraged to hear that Candy is being used correctly and helping you to win tenders & manage projects effectively . Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Candy - An Excellent Tool

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

Excellent

Excellent

Pros

Most of what I use Candy for is the QTO and Estimating portions.

I find them very useful and quick to use. I do enjoy that the software is continually being updated and changing to make it easier to use and more streamlined.

Cons

As I mostly use the QTO function, I do come across a few minor bugs. Sometimes QTO will crash or state that there is an unexpected error; or sometimes the length or area tools will bug out when inserting new point etc. However this is not a major issue.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. I will forward your feedback to the QTO Developers for their attention. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Farhan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most Comprehensive ERP System - Candy

Reviewed on 2018-12-24

I have used Candy primarily for estimating and planning. Estimates are the foundation of any...

I have used Candy primarily for estimating and planning. Estimates are the foundation of any construction projects. and Candy has one of the best estimating Modules which synchronizes with planning and post contract Cost valuation and monitoring.

Pros

It is designed to cater the construction industry, by construction professionals and they constantly improve the deficiencies, provided by the users and improve it. Its a daily basis transformation, moving with the technology, and I have not seen such a competent customer service by any software provider, as of now.

Cons

Nothing really. Perhaps the monthly licence, but they deserve that too!!

Response from RIB Software

Dear Farhan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our long standing Users. Your continued support is highly appreciated.

Bhim Prasad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimation tab is very useful for me. I have listed below the details.

Reviewed on 2018-12-25

Pros

1) Pricing for the next project is very fast.
2) Easy to make report in detailed.
4) easy the identify the resource.
5) Easy to maintain S/C price
6) Easy to reduce and increase the price.
8) Easy to transfer the resources, change the resources etc.

Cons

1) I don't get the amount using work code/ task code.
3) uses of master is little bit difficult.
4) update the recent complex resource which resource number are same is difficult.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Bhim Prasad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Contractor's Viewpoint

Reviewed on 2019-01-23

Not enough development in planning

Not enough development in planning

Pros

The planning side. It is critical to all our projects and allows you to manage all activities

Cons

Not easy to translate to stakeholders unfamiliar to programs. More dashboard views would be great. IRS all mono colour - therefore not easy to manage consultants. Same for LL Schedules.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Candy User
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated.
To help new Users, we do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy
Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation.
We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region

Geoff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Candy and Edwin Construction

Reviewed on 2019-01-18

We expedite the adjudication of sub-contractor and supplier experience and are able to compare with...

We expedite the adjudication of sub-contractor and supplier experience and are able to compare with ease

Pros

Candy affords Edwin to tender professionally and once awarded a contract, reassess and compare actually current prices to tender prices.
Forecasts for the projects are accurate and practical
Valuations and cost reports are relatively simple to execute

Cons

The difficulty in correcting a mistake. No revert to previous facility button.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Geoff
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CCS in South Africa

Reviewed on 2019-01-17

Been using Candy for 10 years and happy that it is the best Estimating package around. Exellent...

Been using Candy for 10 years and happy that it is the best Estimating package around. Exellent backup service from local CCS offices

Pros

Software is very relevant to the local industry. The software is constantly being updated and enhanced.

Cons

No "Undo" function. More local training for eg. in Port Elizabeth.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Kevin
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. It means so much to us here at CCS and please be assured of our continued support.

Regarding training, we run courses covering all aspects of Candy & at various levels of expertise. New users are urged to attend at least one 2 day course to get the best results. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held in Port Elizabeth. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy
Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ahmed Elsayed CCS Review

Reviewed on 2019-01-15

my experience in Estimation . I solved how calculate amounts of alternative items without adding to...

my experience in Estimation . I solved how calculate amounts of alternative items without adding to overall project total cost.

Pros

CANDY software save more time and easily review and updated .
I can make many useful reports from CANDY.

Cons

Little reports can not be extracted from CANDY such as resources per trade with number of BOQs for repetitive BOQs.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Candy User,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Speed in preparing estimates

Reviewed on 2019-01-17

My experience with candy has been great so far. I have increased my speed therefore improving time...

My experience with candy has been great so far. I have increased my speed therefore improving time management in pricing tenders.

Pros

This software helps to keep an archive which is easily accessible to use for tendering.

Cons

That you cant undo something, once you delete something you cant go back to it, you have to start again.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Candy User,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last few years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.
Have a super day.

Niel
Niel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Candy Review

Reviewed on 2019-01-23

I love the estimating module and all the functionality that goes with it.
The integration into the...

I love the estimating module and all the functionality that goes with it.
The integration into the Buildsmart accounting & procurement package makes your life a lot easier to track budgets & forecasting.

Pros

The ability to cross reference everything that was done.
Pricing from 1st principles and to continue through project process until completion.

Cons

The fact that is not web based.
Difficult to access from remote locations.

Response from RIB Software

Dear Niel
Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Thabo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thabo Review

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

Overall I am happy with the product and would recommend any professional in the construction...

Overall I am happy with the product and would recommend any professional in the construction industry to invest in this powerful product . Candy Makes Project Budgeting, Estimating and cost controlling much simple.

Pros

The ease of use, the user interface is so simple to toggle through and for one to get used to. In terms of Quantity Take offs, one may do this in a matter of half what they would if done manually

Cons

The frequent updates only really , otherwise I am happy with the product

Response from RIB Software

Dear Thabo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We like to assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.

Derrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simplifying Estimating

Reviewed on 2019-03-07

Candy Simplifies the estimating process with this powerful software package while being flexible...

Candy Simplifies the estimating process with this powerful software package while being flexible enough to customise to my needs. Managing my resource and subcontractor pricing is simple with easy export to a number of file types.

Pros

Coding system
Resource manager
Subcontract adjudicator
Buildsmart integration
Planning links
Candy Support

Cons

Candy courses a must for beginners .

Response from RIB Software

Dear Derrick
Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Only Construction Software Required

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

10/10 excellent service and constantly being improved

10/10 excellent service and constantly being improved

Pros

All in one package, excellent for first principles, enable use of previous schemes, linking of programme and Estimates and details resource profiling

Cons

Needs better output to excel, but can be used just need to formatting

Response from RIB Software

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Its' much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support.
Have a super day.