The EDGE

4.5 (299)
Construction estimating for commercial subcontractors

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(299)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.6/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

299 Reviews

Shane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Really enjoy The EDGE, just wanted to point out a few things

Reviewed on 4/11/2017

While the majority of the time I love the functionality and practicality of The EDGE, I've run into a few "glitches" as well as a few things I believe could be added/changed with the next version. Please see my thoughts below.

1. Look up Database (Misc., stud, board, anything) shows No items to display happens a few times a month. Have to restart Edge.
2. Option to lock in Board heights so that it does not change when changing stud heights.
3. 6 Mil poly Labour shows up under prices.
4. More Track options in soffits. Can have 8 stud types but only 2 tracks.
5. Option to automatically allow for curved/flex tracks at walls plus arch bead and ¼ board at soffitss and arch molding at ceilings when using convert to arch
6. Allow same bead ( 3 counts) options for furred walls as there is for regular partitions.
7. There is a user code for special labour but not for special material.
8. Molding swap outs for acoustic ceilings to allow for C channel @ radiant heat panels and flex molding at curved walls
9. Would like an undo button for deleting conditions, pages etc.
10. Add a Notes page that can be added to the pages tab to put reminders, scope items, exclusions, etc.
11. Option to save Stocking and other Reports as pdf for e-mailing to suppliers.
12. Add condition for ceiling board swap outs
13. Multi condition selection tool does not always capture interior soffit, ocl. (May be more, only noticed with this one)

Again I would like to reiterate that day to day I love the EDGE, these are just a few things i've noticed over the past couple of years.

Thanks

Shane

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments and we welcome any additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Dane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

EDGE Review - Dane Lantry

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

Overall very exceptional program. There are a few items i wish could be implemented in an upcoming update:

- Drawing Maneuverability - I have used AutoCAD extensively and the zooming/panning operation with the mouse is much better/easier than what the EDGE currently offers. The zoom function is achieved by rolling the wheel of the mouse and the panning is achieved by holding down the wheel while moving the mouse. Currently the EDGE zooming is much slower and hard to control either with the keyboard (ctrl++/-) or the zoom window in the top right corner. Panning is not very user friendly whether the window in the corner or the keyboard arrows are used.

- Customizing Reports - the reports function of the EDGE is a very useful tool. However, sometimes i need it to spit other information out and this is not a very easy task to modify.

- Excel - exporting to excel is a nice function but i have been told that importing from excel is impossible. when entering prices in the Prices screen it isn't possible to pull down a value that is the same for multiple items. This repetitive process takes time and leaves room for potentially dangerous errors.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Zooming and panning has been greater improved in Version 12. This version is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, is web-based and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact [email protected]

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Edge 12 - It's getting there

Reviewed on 7/17/2019

In a nutshell, we are enjoying The Edge 12. But like my "Cons" list and my review title suggests - It's getting there (slowly). Right now, we're about at a 70-75% satisfaction rate for Edge 12. There is still a lot of work to be done to return to the quality of ease provided by Edge 10, and I don't doubt that it will eventually get to where we're 100% satisfied.

Pros

The Estimating Edge is one of the best (if not the very best) estimating software programs available on the market. It is easy to use, and the upgrades they made to the Edge 12 (compared to Edge 10) have sped up the estimating process (overall). Streamlined and accurate, we trust The Edge (and their customer service team) to provide us with everything we need.

Cons

Still very buggy and glitchy. The Edge 12.6 had fixed many of the issues that were prevalent since Edge 12 was first released; however, there are still glitches. Blurry drawings, slow response/lag time on mouse clicks, etc. But least favorable was the fact that they took away most of the aspects of Edge 10 that made it SUPER user-friendly, and it's not nearly as user-friendly as Edge 10. Their claim of "Less Clicks" for Edge 12 has proven to be inaccurate, as we often spend more time clicking through pages than we did when we had Edge 10.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have created shortcuts in the Version 12.6 please check them out https://www.estimatingedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/LIT-User-Keyboard-Shortcuts-WEB_0619-2.pdf. I am more than happy to send you a hard-copy. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Version 12 Review

Reviewed on 4/7/2017

The new version is easy to learn and move around within the program. It as the same basic function/layout as for the different tabs, scenario, section, condition, drawing. It has some great new features within the drawing (take-off) screen, but some improvements would be helpful in certain areas of the drawing (take-off) screen. I'm sure that there are other great changes that I have not seen yet, but overall, the new version 12 is a fantastic improvement from previous version of the Edge Estimating Software. I cannot wait to get all of the other estimators working on the new version.

Pros

Accurately producing a bid. Keeps the project organized when it come to alternates, VE options and other project changes.

Cons

Manipulation of the drawings within the take-off screen, example - measuring, without being within a condition, draw lines parallel or perpendicular to each other. Detail screen not working or is very limited in what you can do.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Tyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimating made easy

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

The Edge is a completely comprehensive method of estimating construction projects. The best part about the program is the user has the power to manipulate the input in order to meet his needs. The Edge has been a terrific tool which has allowed for a full breakdown of our operations from estimating all the way to evaluation of job cost versus expected O + P. The friendly staff at the Edge in Boynton Beach, Florida have been great to work with from the time I was in Florida for the introductory stages to the customer service aspect now. It's a terrific program and I would highly recommend it.

Pros

The overall functionality of the software is seamless. It's very easy to set things up and estimate a project using the Edge in a matter of moments. Once the preliminary stages of learning the ins and outs of the program is complete, it makes taking off a project very easy.

Cons

It can be clunky at times when revisions to estimates are necessary.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Long Time User

Reviewed on 4/4/2017

I think the product is great. would love to see the changes forthcoming with Version 12. I think there are a few of items that would only make the program only that much better.

Pros

The fact it walks you through each assembly and gives you the areas you need to focus on. unlike with Qbid you have to know each part and peace before building the assembly.

Cons

Some of the Onscreen features of Qbid would make the edge that much better. like the ability to just select a portion of a wall assembly in stead of the entire wall. or having to break it up into small parts.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Additionally, version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact [email protected]

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Edge for 18 years plus!

Reviewed on 4/10/2017

I have used the EDGE for fireproofing estimates for more than 18yrs. The Edge software is very versetile and allows you to build a system that is taylered to your business needs. I have also use the edge for developing estimates for Fire Stop, Insulating Roof Systems, Roofing Systems, Sprayed insulation such as K-13 and Monoglass, as well as generic SF, and unit counts for other materials. I would recommend the edge to anyone who does estimating for a career.

Pros

Accuracy, data bases, on screen, printing of reports, and charts for shop drawings and field crews.

Cons

It is a little more in depth than most estimating software and takes more time to learn, however the benefits of the learning process are realized in the accuracy and customization to a company's needs.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments.

Spencer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Edge Estimating 10.8

Reviewed on 7/24/2019

With all the little quirks the Edge has, it is still a fairly versatile program. I came from PlanSwift 11 and even though it was a little easier to do take-offs, the database building was much simpler with the Edge (for the most part). Overall 8/10.

Pros

Custom Database Building.
Ease of Take-off estimating.

Cons

The small bugs (Crashes, install issues, etc)
Not Cloud Based, yet.
No tutorial on how to make custom 'reports'.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Scott M
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimating

Reviewed on 4/4/2017

I really enjoy using the edge for my fireproofing take-offs. The simple design of the user interface makes it quite easy to use, and their technical department is very responsive to questions and dealing with the back-of-house operations if changes with-in the program need to be done.

This program allows me to greatly increase my production as an estimator in both the quantity and quality of my estimates for my company. With the ability to upload drawings directly into program, I have gone paperless in my estimates, saving my company money in the long run by not having to order or print out drawings anymore. The Edge is a great tool for us and highly recommended.

Pros

Ease of Use. Good Technical support.

Cons

Fireproofing Shop Drawings as printed out directly from the Edge are a bit messy. I need to use a PDF editor to edit and clean them up.

Should have the ability to write notes directly on the take off pages that can be included in the printed out shop drawings

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Zach
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Version 12 Review

Reviewed on 7/10/2019

Love the idea and how it calculates but disappointed with how many issues the New version 12 has. I understand New software needs testing to fix any bugs and issues but testing this software with my business is not appreciated. I hope to hold more trust in the edge software in the future but for now i am hesitant and require extra time to assess any bids before submitting.

*In future versions and updates I would love to see a module to allow you to view your take off in 3 dimensional views especially when constructing tapered insulation packages. being able to see each bored in a tapered layout would allow more exact tapered estimates.

Pros

Very detailed and easy to use format. Love the Tapered module.

Cons

Version 12 has many issues. Very glitchy, and concerning when it comes to producing bids. A mistake made by the Edge can be lethal to our business. Had such errors with our tax amount disappearing and leaving our bids without tax included. Fastener count being all over the place jacking up the bid price. The recap screen does not refresh right away after changes are made. Also aesthetic nuisances such as similar items not merging together. I don't like the new visual format of the new edge. Very Cold and bland. The off and On buttons are confusing looks like everything is off. Dull colors. looking at numbers is tiring I need stimulation with more color.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great estimating tool!

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

The Edge is a clean system that allows our estimators to quantify and create bids that are easy to review and simple to follow. Having a uniform bid software makes training easy! The Edge reports truly give our project managers an advantage in ordering materials and understanding the bid. A great tool!

Pros

The software makes for an easy take off.
Reviewing bids is simple.
Revising old bids or creating multiple bid scenarios is as simple as a click.

Cons

Not many cons... you cannot manipulate colors or fonts. So visually speaking you can't make color separators for grouping. Not a game changer.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Allen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THE BEST

Reviewed on 7/17/2019

Very good.

Pros

Everything:
Clarity
Complete
Job costing tracking
Flexibility​

Cons

Wish it was available in Apple mac systems

Alternatives Considered

On-Screen Takeoff

Reasons for Choosing The EDGE

Accuracy and to increase the volume of estimating and simplified job and project management.

Reasons for Switching to The EDGE

Liked it better

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Obada
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An good tool for analyzing and pricing bids, as well as project management.

Reviewed on 3/3/2022

The EDGE has helped us a lot in developing our bidding department, and has improved the quality of our pricing and contract management processes.

Pros

The EDGE helps in organizing and displaying a lot of useful data for accurate estimation of bids, and helps in automating all functions of pricing and submission of bid documents. I also like how The EDGE can be used as a project management tool, which allows accurate tracking of tasks and enables the work team to collaborate in preparing work programs and technical and financial reports.

Cons

With proper training, there's no need for exhaustion, since all tasks will be completed on time.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Blake
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Edge Review

Reviewed on 7/11/2019

Customizing the reports to create production rates for the field and creating SOV's.

Pros

I like the dual screen capability, being able to customize reports, the software is user friendly and the customer service is top notch. Representative, with the Edge, has be integrall in transition from 10 to 12 for our entire team. He will always take the time to listen and help it we have any problems.

Cons

Not being able to run multiple job take offs, not being able to pull conditions from one page to the next from the take off screen and not being able to print a drawing report on a wide format printer without additional editing software.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good Estimating Software

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

EDGE provides great information that would otherwise take a lot of time to figure out manually. There are features (UNDO BUTTON!) that would be nice, but overall the user interface and available reports are great.

Pros

Easy to learn user interface. Provides usable reports. Easier and more thorough than estimating by hand.

Cons

No undo button. Some of the more intricate features are difficult to learn how to perform.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have noted your request and welcome additional comments http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

We welcome the opportunity to help with training to ensure complete end-user satisfaction. Please feel free to contact [email protected] We also have a YouTube channel that has a collection of how-to videos located http://go.edgeestimating.com/YouTube.

Addison
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Estimator/Manager Specialty Coatings

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

I have been using edge know for over two years. We have asked for UL updates the whole time. Every UL update still has the wrong thicknesses. On intumescent fireproofing, I have to go through and check and or change the thickness. This is on every manufacture. On the ease of use, its complicated at first then as you use it I see little flaws. Such as, UL rating wrong, no undo button, difficult to break out individual sheet material counts or linear to sq.ft. Defiantly better than others but lacking follow through.

Pros

It's software, much better then by hand.

Cons

incorrect UL's , no undo, and ease of gathering individual member material counts.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Updates are available and we would be happy to help you "apply" the updates and verify the various thicknesses. If you need instructions or help please contact the support team at [email protected]

Miranda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Roofing Estimator

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

Roofing estimation. Shingles and flat rolled membrane Roofing as well as sheet metal fabrications.

Pros

Ability to relace tilda codes. Ability to change units from LF or SF to pails/tubes etc.

Cons

Unclear of how and when items get changed and messed up in the database. Especially when we hire a new employee something always seems to get messed up. Adding an "are you sutr you want to change this in thr database" prompt might help. Also a "select all" button eoukd be helpful in the wizard.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We welcome the opportunity to help you to ensure complete customer satisfaction. Please feel free to contact support at [email protected] or sales at [email protected]

We have also noted your request and welcome additional comments http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Kip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Longtime User

Reviewed on 7/10/2019

The Edge saves me so much time in preparing estimates. Time in the office is limited. Using the Edge lets me make the most of that time.

Pros

I've been an Edge customer since the late 80's when the program was DOS based. We bought then for the same reason I use it today. It's fast and accurate. I can change systems and calculate numerous alternates with ease in in short order.

Cons

That's really hard because there's very little that I don't like. If I had to give an answer it would be that the tapered insulation designer was an add on instead of being part of the program.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate your loyalty to our product. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market.

Allen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy User

Reviewed on 7/11/2019

Pros

Speed at estimating, no longer having to waste paper and time printing plans, easy to go back and make changes to the project

Cons

Unfortunately my boss never sent anyone to training, so wish there were better operating manuals on how to manipulate the data base and change how the formulas figure different materials. These may exist on the web site but I haven't found what I'm looking for yet.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have a knowledgebase article on the v12 user guide https://www.estimatingedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/LIT-User-v12-User-Guide-The-EDGE-WEB_0519-1.pdf. We encourage our customers to be trained on The EDGE to be able to utilize its full potential. We have monthly webinars that could benefit you from watching. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good program for quick estimates and takeoffs for material and labor on construction projects.G...

Reviewed on 5/9/2018

Pros

Easy to learn, for beginners to the program. Easily manipulated to fit a specific companies needs, awesome!

Cons

After giving feedback about new updates to the software, most of our suggestions weren't taken into consideration leaving us frustrated. This also opened up more problems trying to use the new update the way we were used to working, slowing down our productivity.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. While we strive to include all customer feedback in releases, at times we have to re-prioritize feature/functionality requests. Your requests are still on the backlog list and you can be assured that the product team continually re-evaluates these. This year, we have added more developers in order to meet all our customers needs. We value your business and thank you for being a loyal customer.

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software, very flexible!

Reviewed on 7/11/2019

Pros

The EDGE is very flexible. I can start out with one condition and manipulate it into almost any other condition I need quickly (change out paint types, labor rates, etc.).
I also like that I can look at and change all production rates at the same time on the same screen.

Cons

I don't like the navigation, there is too much reliance on the mouse and the keyboard is underutilized. I would like to be able to zoom in and out of drawings with the clickwheel on the mouse.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Version 12 verses Version 10

Reviewed on 7/11/2019

Pros

Technical support is the best thing about version 12

Cons

Version 12 made so many unnecessary changes. It's a fight to navigate. I'm still trying to use version 10 short cuts but they don't work any more. The number on the key board (far right) don't work you have to use the number line at the top of the key board - just something to get use to.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have come out with some short-cut keys for v12 (https://www.estimatingedge.com/knowledgebase/keyboard-shortuts/). We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Dominic
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Increased Productivity with Accuracy

Reviewed on 7/11/2019

It has allowed us to increase our number of estimates with an accuracy in material quantities and cost. It is so easy to maneuver from start to takeoff to review.

Pros

The program may look complex, but it is easily modified to fit the individual need of your company. Not only has it increased the way I estimate, it's transformed how I see each and every project. Time and money to print plans and hand calculate quantities are now spent on project management.

Cons

In todays fast paced and busy construction market, finding time to make full use of its many potentials has been difficult.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Estimating Edge has monthly webinars that would help you set out time to learn a little more about our software. You can sign up for upcoming webinars at https://www.estimatingedge.com/webinars/. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Edge Review by Ian Paul

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

As a college student who was unfamiliar with this program before starting my job, it was very easy to become comfortable navigating and using The EDGE. As I became more familiar in my field, as well as The EDGE I was really exposed as to what features were available. It was very simple to tailor The EDGE to do the lion's share of the work for me. Once I knew where to begin, with only a few clicks I could have an entire estimate almost finished. With a few more adjustments to fit what I am working on The EDGE has helped me complete a full estimate in a fraction of the time. Not only that but it also allows me to feel completely confident in my bid knowing it is extremely accurate. The EDGE is the most efficient and accurate way to take of an estimate.

Pros

Easy to learn, and use. Very accurate, and easy to program for future use. Great customer service!

Cons

no undo/redo button.

Response from The Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

Shawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 7/17/2019

Pros

The Edge is easy to navigate. Everything is labeled. In the pricing screen, if you want to change an item, it is easy to change without having to go back into the scenario page and change it on each individual scenario.

Cons

The taper module should be a standard feature not an additional purchase. Just about all low slope roofing projects have some taper required.

Response from Estimating Edge

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa