12 reviews

DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

4.1 /5 (12 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.1
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.1
92% recommended this app
12 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great platform, well done!

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/29/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a great product that will assist you to speed up your development process!

Pros

Great Security and very complete and user friendly documentation. Example apps get your going quick!

Cons

I cant think of anything not to like. In the beginning it might be a little overwhelming, but once you have read the documentation and looked at the samples apps, you on your way.

Response from DreamFactory Software

Thanks for your feedback & glad you are able to shorten your development cycles with DreamFactory! That's why we were founded in the first place.

We have been working very hard to augment our security and compliance feature sets - keep your eyes out for big improvements in Q2 2019 ;)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Expose your database with an API

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We implemented Dreamfactory to integrate Salesforce with an ERP software that didn't have an API, constrained by a limited budget which didn't allow us to go for a more complex middleware.

The solution allowed us to quickly send and retrieve records from the ERP, and run processes using SQL stored procedures which gave us a bit of a headache at the beginning because of lack of full support.

Pros

Authentication and API is out-of-the-box
The free version includes many features
It saves a lot of time if you just want to use the basic REST API features

Cons

Upgrading to a new version can be a massive pain
Debugging problems is very difficult if not impossible sometimes
Stored procedures are not fully supported
The API options to query a database are not as powerful as the options a SQL language provides

Response from DreamFactory Software

Hi, thank you for your review - DreamFactory does support stored procedures, it is just not meant for managing the stored procedures and functions themselves. For a more sophisticated project requirements we also support custom business logic via our powerful scripting engine that supports four different languages (PHP, NodeJS, Python, and V8JS).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Taj A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Useful but hard to use

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I liked the concept of the product. And it is good at what it does.

Cons

1. Nested Object filter for database tables apis is hard. more often we had to write custom code to implement.
2. Alternate authentication setup is hard. we tried adding alternate authentication and failed, Also connected with customer support and still failed to add customer authencation.
3. Installation steps do fail to setup it smoothly i got into a lot of issues even after following exact steps for installation on ubuntu16

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Phil B.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good at what it does, not so good at what it doesnt do.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It did what we needed for a time, and I cant fault it for that.
For some other software we use, that this has integrated well with, we will keep using it.
However, for current development, and anything we expect to be high load, we have moved away in favor of developing our own API.

Pros

The software is relatively comprehensive, with very granular access and control to many different parts of your system.
Quite easy to setup an API, and expand it once setup.
Lots of support both from their technical team and also integration with other companies using this platform for their system.

Cons

It is very CPU intensive, I have built a bespoke API to run side by side this one, using the same DB, SPs, Server infrastructure but different technology for the API. The difference in the resources required is substantial, which means we are moving our more intensive systems away from this.
It is also a quirky system, having to reset the cache when you alter the DB, with a learning curve to get your way around the system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Phil B.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Dreamfactory API Use

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/30/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It allowed us to quickly develop a API for use for one of our sites, giving us better visibility of everything going on, and at different levels of operation.

Pros

Was easy to setup, and is quick to increase the functionality of the API. Has a very understandable Roles and services, which allows for great control on what people can do. Also had a few sessions with some of the team, and they are very knowledgeable and supportive.

Cons

It was easy to expand the system with clones (for example, a dev, stage, production, client specific access). Once you setup all the roles and services for one account, you couldn't easily clone this but pointing to different credentials. Only work around I found was doing it all the DB, but you would have to figure out what means what, as everything is stored as IDs, so not easy to understand.

Response from DreamFactory Software

Thank you for this detailed review. With regards to replicating your DreamFactory environment across multiple instances we have an Import/Export feature. This feature allows you to package up everything from your Services, Roles, and much more to be imported into a fresh instance without frustration.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Dan S.
Industry: Gambling & Casinos
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Does the job, easy to use

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/30/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use
Straightforward integration to SQL backends
Simple UI
Post / Pre Processing Features

Cons

Limitations on SQL features via API (e.g; multiple filters)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Anjumol K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

My view on dreamfactory

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Making my work simple and user friendly.
good customer support

Pros

I'm using dreamfactory for past 6 months, actually its one of the most simple and user friendly software package i have used so far. If I got some doubt will contact customer care and they will respond immediately. Re-usability of API services makes my work much simple.

Cons

I'm using latest version of dreamfactory, I tried creating services on Python, its not supporting. So I'm using node to create my services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pallavi T.

Very helpful tool for Project Management

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/21/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Building the documents and sharing them with Team and Business is very easy. Able to track the Project status.

Cons

Compulsory training needed in order to use the tool. Especially for Business and also for the teams to get used with the tool

Response from DreamFactory Software

Hi Pallavi, thank you for your review - I would like to point out that this review is for a product no longer run by DreamFactory. DreamFactory is now an API Management service featuring API frameworks with automated generation & advanced orchestration features, without the need for a dedicated team to run an enterprise bus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 201-500 Employees

DreamFactory is like Ruby on Rails for APIs

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 1/30/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Their support team is excellent! We had some difficulties connecting less common databases and they helped us navigate a solution in an amazing time. Thank you!

Pros

DreamFactory is the definition of convention over configuration! It has a great user format that allows us to build and streamline our APIs in a simple and rapid method without coding. I honestly couldn't imagine building APIs without DreamFactory in the future.

Cons

When we first started using DreamFactory, I was frustrated with its short time to live, but we were quickly able to change a setting that extended the session time - I think we'll be using DreamFactory for many years to come.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher G.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great API Management Software

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

This was the first free software for API Management that I loved. It met my needs as a App Developer. Keep up the good work!

Pros

Very easy to link to your database and to setup your API endpoints. Software does a good job explaining what each endpoint can receive and information shown.

Cons

Free version doesn't include e-mail, phone or chat support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Pallavi T.

Excellent Snapshot feature

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/16/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Creating Snapshot for migrating the components easily to all environments. Components can be exported easily through the package.

Response from DreamFactory Software

Hi Pallavi, thank you for your review - I would like to point out that this review is for a product no longer run by DreamFactory. DreamFactory is now an API Management service featuring API frameworks with automated generation & advanced orchestration features, without the need for a dedicated team to run an enterprise bus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lankika

DreamTeam Project Management

Reviewed on 10/3/2012
Review Source: GetApp