Buildxact

4.5 (116)
Online construction management for builders & remodelers

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(116)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.5/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

116 Reviews

Barry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buildxact Experience

Reviewed on 11/3/2021

My overall experience with Buildxact is great.Estimates are Professional and build confidence in your clients. This program will help you win Quotes.

Pros

The product was easy to use. Uploading your company logo for branding was easy. This program is backed up by fantastic support which I accessed .

Cons

Could have smoother transition between estimate and invoice. Should be in same drop down box. Ex convert current estimate to invoice.

Alternatives Considered

CoConstruct

Reasons for Choosing Buildxact

Buildxact was superior in functionality and ease of use. You cannot upload a print in CoConstruct and do take offs.

Switched From

CoConstruct

Reasons for Switching to Buildxact

It took me very little time with some articles and bit of conversation to start putting out professional looking estimates, in total time a couple days and your up and running providing detailed Quotes

Response from Buildxact

Great to hear you're enjoying the software so much Barry.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Continually Evolving

Reviewed on 11/10/2021

It has been a great product to help our company grow and is continually evolving and improving, the customer support is excellent.
It was a little learning curve at the being but is definitely a case of short term pain for long term gain

Pros

It has systemised our quoting process, which speeds up our quote time, which leaves more time for project management and sales.
We can produce extremely professional quotes now which include all the products we have allowed for so the clients and my team know exactly what they are getting

Cons

Integration with building suppliers in NZ isn't available yet but I believe this will come in due time.
The client portal is quite cumbersome and I don't like the fact that we don't have control over this once it's set up.
Manual inputting of supplier invoices can take some time
The scheduling tool can be a bit of a pain to use and doesn't look very nice, an upgrade to this would be great

Alternatives Considered

Procore

Reasons for Choosing Buildxact

very limited functionality and not user freindly

Switched From

WorkflowMax

Reasons for Switching to Buildxact

Based in Australia it was more suited to us in NZ also, other products were too USA focused The estimating software was a step above their competitors

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the feedback George.

Gary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Bx

Reviewed on 4/5/2022

Pros

The set out and ease of use is good.
The take off allows for basic functions and calculations.
Job control is good

Cons

Bx Has some annoying traits
Take off is slow when a decent template is used. You have to go in and out of the take off for every item.
The program basically shuts down by8:30 , 9pm and is useless.
the email functions eg emailing Po's from the system are so unreliable that we don't use them. We save and email from outlook.
The client portal is not very good and we are not using it.
POs cant be ordered by supplier which is very annoying.
Invoices get scrambled if you try to move the order.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Residential Renovations building Company review

Reviewed on 1/31/2022

My experience with BuildXact has definitely been positive. It has streamlined and simplified our quoting and cost planning processes.

Pros

I find the estimating features to be easy to use and effective in generating accurate project estimates / quotations.
Leading on to 'Job' stage the historical data and cost plan is essential for reviewing and maintaining project cost controls.
The Variation portal is also very beneficial with submitting and tracking any changes as the project progresses

Cons

I dont find the Accounting Software integration to be beneficial as the communication between Xero and Build Xact is not 2-way.

Alternatives Considered

Buildertrend

Reasons for Switching to Buildxact

Subscription Fees and options Australian based and supported Best suited for the features I was chasing
Glenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great work tool

Reviewed on 12/15/2021

Pros

Keeping my jobs costed and follow profit to each job

Cons

Nothing to mention, everything works as I need

Response from Buildxact

Glad you're enjoying the software Glenn!

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of use

Reviewed on 9/3/2019

Pros

how easy it is to use, provide digital take off, purchase orders

Cons

not a great fan of the schedule, im sure its easy to use as well but never got around to it.

Bruce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buildxact - Estimating Game Changer

Reviewed on 1/31/2022

Estimates are so much quicker. I have been an estimator for over 20years and this system makes my job so much easier and faster.

Pros

The digital take-off is by far the best part of this software in my opinion. When linked to Recipes I can complete a full estimate far quicker then I ever have using other systems. Very easy to use and set up.

Cons

It woud be great if you could have a report while still in estimating stage of all Cost Centres with Recipes allocated, not being able to add more than one item at a time is a pain.

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for such great feedback Bruce!

Jamie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JAK Build

Reviewed on 4/23/2022

Great after sales services , and follow you up. Always looking to improve and up grade, asking for our thoughts and also testing some new ideas.

Pros

The integration with email, suppliers and other products is great. The client Portal is another good add on, you can also make suggestion for up grades

Cons

Some better training for the the more experienced users, look a t the schedule side of the program. Some subbies and rated the request quote side of things.

Claire
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buildxact for residential building companies

Reviewed on 7/3/2022

Pros

VERY easy program to use, gives a great insight into overall budgeting throughout a particular job, ease of use, generation of invoices, compatible with our MYOB software

Cons

It can be a likely clunky with MYOB and generating "design" invoices appears to be sometimes challenging. It would also be great to run cost centre reports

Tristan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software for any size building firm

Reviewed on 5/29/2022

job cost tracking, Material ordering and job scheduling

Pros

Ease of use and a great way to keep track of jobs/Quotes from start to finish

Cons

I feel a dedicated app that could be used onsite would be great although the web browser is ok on mobile

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buidxact

Reviewed on 9/7/2021

Love it

Pros

Super easy to use, can't believe I was quoting jobs without it

Cons

Needs a mobile app. Using the browser through the phone isn't very good. Also be good if you could buy it outright rather then a subsciption

Alternatives Considered

Databuild

Reasons for Switching to Buildxact

Recommended to me by another builder and price was reasonable

Response from Buildxact

Thank you for the feedback Matt. Much appreciated.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cant go wrong!

Reviewed on 11/8/2021

Service is great, they get back to you super quick!

Pros

Simple and Easy to use! The trial period gave me the chance to test the system out and I couldn't fault it

Cons

Uploading the initial pricelist takes some time

Alternatives Considered

Databuild

Reasons for Switching to Buildxact

Price point and trial period made me choose BuildXact

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the quality feedback.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Build Exact user

Reviewed on 8/26/2021

Tracking of variations has been extremely useful especially as linked to the invoicing

Pros

All the features are useful and relevent

Cons

Clearer tracking of progress invoices from contractors and suppliers for part claims

Response from Buildxact

Hi, thank you for the great feedback and for using Buildxact.

Rolf
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reveiw

Reviewed on 10/28/2021

Overall experiance has been great.

Pros

The take offs of plans is very quick and efficient.

Cons

cannot change quote template to replicate the rest of the company's documents and formats

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the review Rolf.

Jane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great all round software

Reviewed on 9/15/2021

Love using the software and makes my job as a builders wife significantly easier and would highly recommend the software to all looking for an al rounded building software that does, quoting, takeoffs, job management and job tracking etc.

Pros

Takeoffs are a breeze, proposals look and present well. The costing and profit and loss is also great

Cons

Needs to have a good app that we can use easily on-site, the portal needs works before I will start suing as this would be a more site friendly/ ie app for messages etc and photo upload

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the great review Jane.

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Buildxact for residential construction

Reviewed on 8/26/2021

Buildxact does a great job of estimating and job management. Helpful with back costing etc

Pros

intergration from estimate to job. this excellerated our sales process helping us lift our turn over

Cons

intergration with other systems...Payrole etc. The overall dash board is helpful but I would like a global company planner

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the feedback Anthony.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buildxact has become integral to the success of my business

Reviewed on 9/7/2021

Love it. Enjoyable to use, simple to develop a tender, and build up pricing and to know what you have made at the back end of a project

Pros

The ease to develop a new project each time is a great tool. Even allowing the copy a similar project from previous tenders saves so much time. The ability to have separate categories for each trade, and to individually add margin where required is such an integral tool to use. The ability to use existing formulas from historical jobs creates and ease and confidence when pricing. I love the take-off options, that can be used on-site and for others to price,

Cons

Nothing really but think the tender letters could have more options aesthetically

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the great feedback Scott.

Sera
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buildxact is the game-changer we needed in our business

Reviewed on 10/6/2021

Pros

We found it very easy to use and easy to teach our employees. We all use it daily!

Cons

Aspects of workflow could be better. We came from using on-site companion software, and believe that check-lists would be beneficial.

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for the great review Sera.

Natacha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great programme and much more user friendly than others.

Reviewed on 9/15/2021

We like it. It works well for our proposals/quotes and something we will continue using for this purpose.

Pros

It's very easy to navigate when it comes to the basics and the proposals you produce look great for clients.

Cons

Probably like most programmes, it has a lot of functions that we have to pay for, but do not use. Also annoying when you are putting a proposal together and you enter an item, hit TAB and if there is a receipe it autofills and if it's not what you were wanting, you have to delete the line and start again.

Response from Buildxact

Thank you for the awesome review.

bob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Bob at Loven tools

Reviewed on 1/19/2022

Pros

overall package offers a lot. compares to other software. Template is useful when planning the project

Cons

The software price is at the higher end. Only offers 2 user account is a bit limited. It will be good to allow a few accesses only accounts for Site managers.

Jordan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All in one tool

Reviewed on 8/30/2021

Pros

Buildxact is more than a way to produce professional accurate estimates quickly and easily. We have integrated it into our day to day operations using the jobs scheduling and construction management. Its great to be able to track a job from start to finish comparing estimated and actual costings and applying the results to future estimates.

Cons

Would love an app for the onsite staff to be able to use with limited capabilities

Response from Buildxact

Thank you for the great feedback Jordan.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use software

Reviewed on 8/26/2021

Buildxact cuts down time at tender stage and provides an easy to use system to manage your project as you progress.

Pros

Super easy to use, a great tool for tendering and beyond.

Cons

Some difficulty getting used to all the functions.

Response from Buildxact

Thanks for using Buildxact Matthew.

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Buildxact Review

Reviewed on 3/19/2022

It has some great features and functionality, but with time they will become more polished and more sophisticated to really shine to builders and then to clients.

Pros

The layout and options with the proposal template, professional looking

Cons

As exploded recipes are not available at estimating stage, it has not saved me as much time as I had anticipated.

Nisha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product and customer service.

Reviewed on 8/26/2021

We have been using Buildxact for over a year. It helps save us time for drafting professional quotations, takes offs and scheduling entire project.

Pros

We use Buildxact from generating quotation to completion of project.

Cons

Very user-friendly. Great features and excellent customer service.

Response from Buildxact

Hi, thank you for the great feedback and for using Buildxact.

Brett
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Eagleye Building Buildxact Review

Reviewed on 9/4/2021

Spending less time doing take offs and tendering.

Pros

The ease of doing plan take offs and tendering jobs.

Cons

No issues with Buildxact, really happy with the ongoing support and cost of the program.

Response from Buildxact

Thanks, Brett for the feedback. Much appreciated.