373 reviews

ArcGIS

Mapping & analytics system for visualizing data by location

4.6 /5 (373 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
373 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best GIS Software Available

Reviewed on 2020-03-24

ArcGIS has allowed us to display map data in a visually appealing way and provide extensive analysis of data on a large scale in an easy to understand way. We no longer have to use QGis.

Pros

ArcGIS is the best gis software available for planners. I've used other software like QGis and no product is as easy to use, comprehensive and provides the level of detail necessary for grant applications and presentations.

Cons

I would love for arcmap to stay functional and everything not be switched to ArcGIS pro in the future.

Johnson I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ArcGis Review

Reviewed on 2020-12-15

I got an outstanding applause from my audience during my project presentation on drainage simulation I did with Arcgis, and I got the first contract deal same day. since then i have always used the software as it provides values for my time and money.

Pros

The modeling tools and hydrology tools gave me awesome model of my research project. I could not have asked for more. The software drainage flow simulation and terrain analysis tools helped me achieve my overwhelming project mile stone within stipulated time frame.

Cons

More training is often required to perfectly preform your task, and this is cost effective. its not a DIY kind of software. one requires substantial know of the software to be able to use it.

Howard D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS, the most advanced GIS tool so far

Reviewed on 2018-02-26

With ArcGIS I have worked in multiple academic and work exercises, calculating risk indices for loads in the hydrographic basins, housing in inadequate areas, public services coverage in small population centers.
I have built models to perform analyzes in several areas simultaneously, saving money and time. we have saved on editing and publication of thematic maps.
we built more than 100 geodatabase which has guaranteed the maintenance of consolidated databases, which we have shared with other planner users of the worked areas.
In particular it is the best vector software with which I have worked

Pros

ArcGis has developed multiple tools, adapted to the requirements of the users, ranging from the capture of data by means of GPS, remote sensors to a simple load by address of the property, the ESRI developments go from the PC to the data management online through ArcGIS online.
The tools for calculating variables, buffer, interconnection, management of geographic projections, selection by attribute, by spatial location, inside or outside the defined polygon, pattern analysis, data conversion with other programs are CAD or GIS. Stresses the fact that the tools were designed with the collaboration of many scientists in the area of geo-statistics such as L. Anselin, P. Zandbergen, D Mcleod, among others.
ArcGIS presents the innovation of managing a compilation of data in Geodatabase, which facilitates the management of files, regardless of the raster or vector format, without corruption or loss of components that can alter the performance of the final display of .mxd files
ArcGIS online empowers researchers to share data through the ESRI data server, sharing cartographic databases that, in some places in the world where the culture of geographic data is deficient, are therefore highly needed.
The design of maps is ArcGIs is very simple with the tools of workflow by means of modelBuilder and the handling of the Layout and the ways of making thematic maps and 3D representations is amazing.

Cons

ArcGIS only works on the Windows system, it is a proprietary software in which you must cancel the license according to the requirements that the project requires, the company or institution where you work, it can be expensive or very expensive if you choose to have all the software extensions . It has a free trial version for 30 days. You need a high performance team for the management of powerful databases, the manipulation of 3D data or satellite images processed in this environment. Its strength is the handling of vector data, the modules for the plot data do not present a wide development

Exson M.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tool for the planning, execution, and monitoring of actions with criteria on the territory.

Reviewed on 2018-05-01

Is a program that has been very useful for the administration and planning of geographical and spatial problems in the process of georeferencing the projects financed in the 8 years of development of the organization.

georeferencing the territory of each project helps us make decisions adjusted to the dynamics of the territory. each of the actions that the organization applies uses arcgis to approach the territory.

Pros

I like it because it helps me to develop the planning activities of the approach of the territory I require for the fulfillment of my work functions.
ArcGIS helps me to visualize, manage, edit, calculate, analyze entities and georeferenced attributes of the financed projects of a productive nature in my work.
Another aspect that I like about ArcGis is the use of the ArcCatalog, which allows to search and make effective operations, facilitating the link with Servers of databases, GIS Servers, database, WMS servers, and Internet and intranet connection.

I find it easy to use, it has an excellent interface and multiple geoprocessing tools. I like the presentation of the cartography.

Cons

I do not like it to be a software with high costs. On the other hand, it requires a computer with a very high installed capacity to execute the tools in an easy way.

In the area of authematic cartography, I believe that the options to work with greater ease should be strengthened with graphics to represent the variables of the maps.

I am worried that the program with the updates demands greater requirements of the computer where it is installed, so that all the tools work optimally, which can generate incomplimiento of the work delay before the delay of the run of the information.

the fact that it requires constant investments to enhance computers requires that the company must continually invest resources, being in some cases impossible, as it can harm the performance of the organization.

Andre J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Photoshop of Geospacial Data

Reviewed on 2019-02-05

ArcGIS (Global Information System) is a program I would highly recommend anyone to at least dabble with. It's 100% integrated with Google Maps and Google Earth. You can measure distance in real time, depth, the rise and fall of elevations. My experience with this program was nothing but exceptional! It greatly aided in my day-to-day tasks working for the Department of the Interior and the live customer service was a huge plus!

Pros

As the title suggests, this program is essential for anyone dealing with...well essentially anything related to land. As an employee of the Bureau of Land Management, this program was the backbone of plotting land boundaries, identifying leaps and bounds, mapping oil company property and even had the ability to provide three-dimensional down hole drilling perforations and depth intervals!

Cons

This program is not for the faint of heart. It does require a myriad of training modules to complete before you can start to see its full value. However, take heart as the modules are straight forward and step-by-step.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Not just a simple tool

Reviewed on 2018-11-16

Upon gaining a good knowledge of the software, the ability to transform data into information that is usable and intelligent makes ArcGIS not just a tool but a tool that transforms information in new ways and illustrates such information in a logical and intelligent manner.

Pros

Illustrates geographical data on a platform that not only provides a simple map but also allows for the creation of information in a dynamic way for all sorts of purposes. Multiple sources of information can be utilised to create meaningful information for a specific outcome. It is a tool that creates new tools to expand data into information that can be manipulated and transformed continuously.

Cons

It can be expensive, however, the functionality of the software and its use within the company does mitigate the costs as to reasonably priced. Otherwise, not much to complain about as it is a software that is above the rest.

Kyo Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great GIS Software

Reviewed on 2020-10-27

Pros

I like the ability to format and being able to change the symbology. And generally feel that they make a very good looking maps compared to other, non-premium GIS software.

Cons

The price tag Esri offers for the ArcGIS suite is a bit high for what it offers. And I am not a huge fan of their licensing options and to its extensions (adds up)

Brian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product - ArcGIS Enterprise

Reviewed on 2020-01-29

We wanted to use ArcGIS Enterprise because we recently purchased an asset management software and wanted to be able to use the work order system in the field and since we are already an enterprise client we wanted to leverage it to the fullest.

Pros

We really like being able to have our Enterprise Portal look and act like ArcGIS Online. Once we got the environment set up, working in it was almost the same as ArcGIS Online.

Cons

They have an out of the box setup for one machine. I almost wish we would have gone that route, but we wanted to future proof it and put the different modules on different servers. That made setup a little more difficult.

Maria D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best GIS in the market has not comparison

Reviewed on 2018-03-01

Analyze spatyal data, satellite images, manage tables with spatyal information, edit shapefiles, make hydrology models and so on.

Pros

This GIS offers everthing that a professional that works with spatyal data needs, enormous amount of tool, a very complete interphase, the possibility to manage big amounts of spatyal data, a quality of image and video very high, and a ArcTool Box with everything you need to analyze spatyal information, The three moduls are awesome: ArcMap, ArcCatalog and ArcScene are the best in the market and everyone meets it porpuse. This is the best software in the world.

Cons

The cost is and had always been the highest limitation of ArcGIS is too expensive for individuals and small companies, so only the goverments or big companies can afford to pay for the license of this awesome software.

Greysi n. M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The most complete GIS tool

Reviewed on 2019-01-03

Pros

ArcGIS by Esri has a great reputation and experience in the GIS software market, for which it has great competitiveness to position itself as the main option for computerized geographic analysis. Impeccable reporting, advanced statistical tools and effective handling of large amounts of vector or raster data make it simply the best.

Cons

Personally, I believe that the cost and high hardware requirements of ArcGIS limit individual entrepreneurs willing to give their start in a second level analysis. However, it is important to highlight that for these cases there are several free access softwares with powerful analysis tools that, despite not having the complete and integrated analysis of ArcGIS, can satisfy certain advanced needs. On the other hand, investing in this software represents a strength to be on the tip of the iceberg, since the response time and the depth of the analysis can be much more favorable for the client.

Eduardo G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simply the best of its kind!

Reviewed on 2018-06-12

An indispensable tool to work every day in my business, helping to manage all my spatial information quickly and easily for all my employees..

Pros

It provides an extensive possibility of resources for the spatial analysis of data. With this tool you can create, consult and analyze in a very easy way your data in the territory, combining layers easy and fast and obtain new information from that data. Amazing compatibility with most used formats and the best for analyse interpolation of data values in the space

Cons

Maybe the license, ArcGIS forces you to connect to a license to perform certain geoprocessing operations. Therefore, although it has a good geoprocessing framework, solid and broad, its license level determines which tools can be used in this tool

Parag jyoti D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS: My old trusted friend

Reviewed on 2019-01-21

Distribution Network Analysis for Marketing of Fertilizer
The company’s marketing strategy coupled with spatial and attribute data enabled us to simulate the market in ArcGIS for the identification of the most suited distribution Network.
By combining ArcGIS with workflow and a messaging system, we have automated a large portion of the marketing operation. Using reports on expenditures and success rates per location, the number of staff members is then estimated with ArcGIS and forwarded to the management for review.

Pros

Most intuitive GIS
Clutter-free menus
Bug-free algorithms
Research-oriented design
Built on a best-in-class database engine
Documented guidance for every feature and option
Never fails to deliver

Cons

Should have been free for students
Should have minimum pricing for academia

Isabel H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best GIS tool

Reviewed on 2018-02-07

Pros

1) The graphical interface of ArcGis is easy to use. 2) I like labelling tool called "The Maplex Label Engine", provides best options for labelling. 3) It has the ability to make very nice looking map products, has unmatched cartographic output. 4) ArcGIS can work with CAD data, KML files for Google Earth and other data sources, great!

Cons

1) The costs of this software are enormous for the initial purchase price and the subsequent yearly fees for the product. 2) It can be very slow. It takes a few minutes to open and uses a lot of RAM. 3) Limited options for incorporating graphics into maps

Jessa S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Software works well, costly and difficult to administer

Reviewed on 2019-04-08

At the end of the day, it serves the needs we need to produce our work product for clients.

Pros

This has up to date maps and data that we need to service our clients needs. We are able to download and create visually appealing graphics.

Cons

My main complaint is the user interface as an administrator with purchasing and transferring licenses. It's not intuitive, we have to manage internally whereas other software we are able to login to an online portal and easily administrate licenses. It's also quite costly for us as a small business, and the file sizes are huge.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIS for water resource management

Reviewed on 2018-12-28

I used ArcGIS mostly for water resources management purposes such as catchment delimitation, map generation etc.
And i use HEC georas when i need river /canal cross sections.

Pros

It's really a very useful tool when it comes to making maps. As a water resource engineer i really like arc hydro tools.
And it's very convenient because the software gives us the chance to use various coordinate systems and user defined coordinate systems.

Cons

It requires high speed computer capacity to run a complex models. But given the capabilities of the software i can't say it's a con.

Nick W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ArcGIS is the most popular GIS platform, it allows users of all skill levels to utilize...

Reviewed on 2018-07-17

Ability to utilize GIS in an enterprise environment.

Pros

You can perform complex analysis very simply and and create replicable analyses, create complex cartographic designs, and interact with cloud hosted data all within the same platform. In this regard, it is an extremely powerful tool.

Cons

ArcGIS 10.x has been out for nearly 8 years now, yet it is still extremely buggy and can be prone to crashing. ESRI is working towards releasing ArcGIS Pro, which is a completely rebuilt version of ArcGIS, but it is not currently as full-featured as ArcMap.

Hilary W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS: An essential tool for environmental consultants

Reviewed on 2018-09-14

There is so much that the software can do that it really has become an essential tool for me. I have overall been very pleased with the features and capabilities of ArcGIS. I am constantly learning new ways to use GIS!

Pros

The versatility of ArcGIS is incredible. In my day-to-day work, I use GIS to create anything from basic tag maps to sediment concentration interpolations that help inform remedial designs.

Cons

Depending on server speed, computer processing, and amount of data in your map, ArcGIS can certainly get bogged down and can become frustrating to navigate.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is one of the go to softwares for making GIS analysis, but it is somehow unaffordable to...

Reviewed on 2018-07-12

Allows me to do anything i can ever think of. The colleagues on other subteams are very impressed with it

Pros

There is no limit to the analysis you do. There is always more to learn. Literally anything can be analysed, lots of toolbars with really great extensions. ArcScene is amazing since i'm into urban designs and 3D modelling. I love transportation , so the network analyst extension is my go to.

Cons

The huge price tag. Whenever it crashes on me. There should be a better way to arrange toolbars, rather than clustering them at the top

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software to manage curb ramps data

Reviewed on 2018-10-19

I used ArcGIS to collect, manage and analyze data about curb ramps in my state.

Pros

It's great software to create maps and manage data. I use ArcGIS software to collect curb ramps data all over state using an app called Survey123 for ArcGIS, this app helps to collect live data of many points from many locations. When it come managing the data in ArcGIS, there's many features such Edit and Analysis that helps me to QC data. I like that have the ability to run query on live data by either using "Select By Attributes" or "Phyhon", I can also use "ModelBuilder" to create my own report. It also, has feature where I can customize my maps. There's many features in ArcGIS that i'm still learning and discovering, and I feel the more I learn, the more I'm getting the best tools from ArcGIS that will help me manage my data more sufficient.

Cons

Sometimes can run slow from time to time, and it can crush if the volume of the data is too big and also if the computer process/memory can't handle it.

Sally B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ARC GIS

Reviewed on 2020-02-15

Pros

ARC GIS is the industry standard for mapping geographical information. It provides powerful integration of data with geographical locators. The visual display of data and the the integration of layers of data across a landscape or geographical area can provide insights into relationships between and among data sets.

Cons

ARC GIS relies on data collected from various sources and researchers, often without complete treatment of the metadata, specifically it is problematic that data sources may or may not fully document the strengths, weaknesses and appropriate application of the data. This can lead to misapplication by ARC GIS users and lead to misleading impressions of interrelationships among and between data sets. ARC GIS is a strong tool with great potential. It's greatest weakness is the variable quality of data integrated via this program.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent, with all the tools and functions that ArcGIS offers I have done plenty of jobs and...

Reviewed on 2018-03-21

I'm a geographer so ArcGIS has helped me with my school projects and with my career in many ways, without these maybe my life would be so easy.

Pros

All the tools and platforms that has, ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS online and Armap, these allow me to get all my jobs done in plenty of ways and without any trouble.

Cons

The only bad thing is the high price of the software that for people like me hat lives in countries with restrictions to dollar access is pretty difficult and pricy.

Marshall B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I use the ArcGIS suite of products daily

Reviewed on 2018-03-07

I'm able to do my job much more efficiently using this suite of products

Pros

I like that I can do nearly anything I'd like to do with this software from minimal viewing to mass editing and geoprocessing quickly and efficiently.

Cons

I don't like the p[ay structure for the 'named user' model that is being implemented. I think there should be a free named user and a pool of concurrent licenses that can be used at any given time by certain users.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ArcGIS: powerful GIS software

Reviewed on 2019-11-16

It’s a great educational tool for work with spatial data and a wonderful tool to handle and create geographical data. The simply useful tool who are under these related professionals.

Pros

I'm familiarised with this software since my university final year optional module. A highly powerful tool for handle geotechnical data and we can simply analysis with ArcGIS and can get highly useful outputs. It helps us to create multiple layer maps using ur surveying data and our geographical coordinates and the most useful feature is we can save our output file as our convenient format such as .shp.SVG & etc.It's a really helpful tool who are specially working with spatial data and still there are plenty of features available under this software actually most of them are not aware by my self.

Cons

The pricing for this software is really high and I'm pretty sure about most of us not ready to spend these much of amount for ArcGIS whether there are open source alternatives available in the market. It’s a big opportunity for me to use this vendor during my university life.

Sara R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everyone uses ArcGIS

Reviewed on 2019-11-20

I use ArcGIS mostly to solve environmental problems, but I have used it to make great maps and in other industries as well.

Pros

I love the fact that ArcGIS is getting very common throughout multiple industries. You can do so much with this software, and are only limited by your data and your imagination.

Cons

Customer service is terrible. They will not help you figure out how to do something (better to just google it and play around until you figure it out). Also, downloading and licensing this software is the biggest pain! It usually takes me half a day just to figure out how to get it on a computer, then usually end up calling customer service because a single computer has multiple licenses (total waste of money) and therefore we have run out of licenses....

Edgar R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

for many the best GIS of the market but it is not easy to operate

Reviewed on 2018-03-06

I have made thematic maps about population distribution

Pros

the flights on digital models of the terrain are incredible, it has an impressive number of modules that allows you to carry out any study of spatial data

Cons

It is not easy to use, the menu and the tools are not intuitive. sometimes simple tasks must be performed using many steps in arcgis. it is necessary for the company to work on simplifying steps in data processing