ArcGIS

4.6 (451)
Mapping & analytics system for visualizing data by location

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(451)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support Software
4.1/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

451 Reviews

Howard
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS, the most advanced GIS tool so far

Reviewed on 2/26/2018

With ArcGIS I have worked in multiple academic and work exercises, calculating risk indices for loads in the hydrographic basins, housing in inadequate areas, public services coverage in small population centers.
I have built models to perform analyzes in several areas simultaneously, saving money and time. we have saved on editing and publication of thematic maps.
we built more than 100 geodatabase which has guaranteed the maintenance of consolidated databases, which we have shared with other planner users of the worked areas.
In particular it is the best vector software with which I have worked

Pros

ArcGis has developed multiple tools, adapted to the requirements of the users, ranging from the capture of data by means of GPS, remote sensors to a simple load by address of the property, the ESRI developments go from the PC to the data management online through ArcGIS online.
The tools for calculating variables, buffer, interconnection, management of geographic projections, selection by attribute, by spatial location, inside or outside the defined polygon, pattern analysis, data conversion with other programs are CAD or GIS. Stresses the fact that the tools were designed with the collaboration of many scientists in the area of geo-statistics such as L. Anselin, P. Zandbergen, D Mcleod, among others.
ArcGIS presents the innovation of managing a compilation of data in Geodatabase, which facilitates the management of files, regardless of the raster or vector format, without corruption or loss of components that can alter the performance of the final display of .mxd files
ArcGIS online empowers researchers to share data through the ESRI data server, sharing cartographic databases that, in some places in the world where the culture of geographic data is deficient, are therefore highly needed.
The design of maps is ArcGIs is very simple with the tools of workflow by means of modelBuilder and the handling of the Layout and the ways of making thematic maps and 3D representations is amazing.

Cons

ArcGIS only works on the Windows system, it is a proprietary software in which you must cancel the license according to the requirements that the project requires, the company or institution where you work, it can be expensive or very expensive if you choose to have all the software extensions . It has a free trial version for 30 days. You need a high performance team for the management of powerful databases, the manipulation of 3D data or satellite images processed in this environment. Its strength is the handling of vector data, the modules for the plot data do not present a wide development

Chanchala
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Science of Where – Definitely it is in ArcGIS!!

Reviewed on 6/20/2022

ArcGIS is a geospatial software that facilitates viewing, editing, and analyzing geographic data. ArcGIS consists of several features such as ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcGIS Pro, ArcScene & ArcGlobe. This software is used by a wide range of users from multidisciplinary sectors.

Pros

ArcGIS is a powerful software that can use to analyze locational-based data. The Arc Toolbox has a variety of tools including spatial analyst, spatial statistics, geocoding, data management, conversion, cartography tools, etc. Those tool sets can be used for spatial analysis, mapping, field operations, data collection, and preparation. I’m using ArcGIS for raster and vector data visualization and analysis. Especially for landslide vulnerability assessment, landslide hazard and risk zonation mapping, landform mapping, and different types of data management activities.
ArcGIS supports different types of data formats including ESRI shapefiles, GeoTIFF, Images, CAD files, KML, Excel data files, etc. The important thing is ArcGIS provides a data conversion facility using a conversion toolset.
The ArcGIS model builder provides automation of our analysis process and it reduces the time consumption. This is a good platform for map-making and map layouting. There are many toolbars that support map preparation, such as advanced labeling, data frame tools, layout, etc. And there is another option called the Data-Driven Pages toolbar, that allows us to create a multi-page map series from a single map document.
There are many options in ArcGIS that you can find to solve your problems, related to geographic data.

Cons

The license version of ArcGIS is very expensive and it needs a considerable amount of memory and storage space to function properly.

Derek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

ArcGIS - From Bad to Worse

Reviewed on 7/6/2017

Other people use it, so I have to.

Seriously, this software will turn your hair grey.

Cons

I've been using Arcgis for years. It's gone from BAD to WORSE. Probably the slowest, buggiest, most unreliable piece of software out there. What other software locks itself out of it's own maps? Corrupts it's own shapefiles? Takes 10's of minutes to open a single tiny map? etc.

Arcgis is like playing a bad round of golf everyday. Yeah there are a few moments that play out ok, but most of the time you'll be cursing at the monitor and wondering how this company is still in business.

Francis Carolina
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The most complete and efficient tool for making maps, vector layers or raster

Reviewed on 6/7/2018

ArcGIS is a system with which people can work with on-line maps and related geographic information. With ArcGIS you can create many different types of maps. The most interesting of all are the interactive intelligent maps that show, integrate and synthesize complete layers of geographic and descriptive information of diverse origins. These ArcGIS maps provide an interactive window through which you can view, explore and analyze this information.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ease with which you can create maps or design final maps better known as layout. Unlike other similar software, Arcgis simplifies the process, in addition to providing aestheticity and harmony in the scale of colors and labeling of toponyms. In addition, the work with ArcGIS encourages the use of geographic databases (geodatabases) in the management of our data. With the way to create projects in arcgis, not only allows us to store the styles and properties applied to the layer in the project, but creates a geodatabase associated with it in which we can physically include the layers that we use as Feature Class. Although we can also add a previous geodatabase to the project, as it used to be done a long time ago.

Cons

Arcgis licenses are expensive. It was not always possible to count on the availability of ESRI products for acrgis. In addition, it is not very versatile in the consumption of data, that is, a different protocol must be applied to open each file according to its type. Likewise, with the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) services connection, it is necessary to download and install the Data Interoperability extension, unlike other softwares that this process refers to one clicks.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best GIS Software

Reviewed on 6/29/2022

Pros

At GIS suite of products has made spatial analysis and map creation (important tools in our industry) easy and visually appealing.

Cons

The geolocation tools is very glitch at times so it required going into the excel file and modify things to make it easier to locate which was tedious.

Amanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

WJCUD mapping and asset collection

Reviewed on 5/26/2022

Very pleased with the software and will be using more option as they come available

Pros

New Pro software is more user friendly and has so many more capabilities

Cons

publishing server maps can be a problem and sometimes causes errors

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS is the GIS

Reviewed on 5/10/2022

Pros

ESRI is THE GIS company. For handling everything geospatial, they are the go to company

Cons

There are fun errors that are legendarily frustrating. Reading documentation is a language of it's own. But nothing classes can't overcome

Zabeehullah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mapping tool

Reviewed on 7/17/2022

I have used this software for my masters thesis and then in field to find disaster destruction, vegetation cover, temperature change and comping old and new features on surface of earth

Pros

It is easy to use especially data handling is very easy. A verity of tools are present to apply on data. Knowledge to use is widely avaliable on youtube

Cons

Software installation is still a problem. It is difficult to install. It is very heavy and cannot be used on low space systems

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, kinda complicated though.

Reviewed on 7/30/2022

Pros

ArcGIS is pretty much the bedrock of mapping for cultural resource management. We use this product all the time to create maps of features, archaeological sites, track shovel tests while in the field, and even just navigation. This product is essential to what we do and I wish I knew more how to use it.

Cons

One thing that is difficult about this product is just figuring out how to use it. As far as formatting or inputting data, it’s not always that straightforward. I wish that it was more streamlined with more helpful tutorials to get beginning users started with ArcGIS.

Antonis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

ArcGIS review

Reviewed on 9/9/2022

Mostly basic data visualization through thematic maps creation.

Pros

Software of massive capability, regarding to integrated tools and customization of them.

Cons

The disproportionate purchasing cost, and especially when similar software of other vendors emerge. Even more when there is an open source (free of charge) similar software (QGIS).

venkatasivaram
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIS and what are the benefits of ARCGIS-ESRI suite of Tools

Reviewed on 4/18/2019

Amazing

Worked for companies in India, USA, then back for Government clients in India, Oman, Dubai, europe and likewise.

All the best with your search for a good GIS software.

Pros

ESRI, Thank you

since 1980s, ESRI has been a terrific performer, in Geospatial, Geotechnical, Geology, Government, Utilities, Transportation and Logistics, IT enablement.

1. ESRI is a high-end solutions and capabilities provider, their software can handle all kinds of requirements in LBS, Spatial Statistics, Data mining with GIS, Market Research with GIS, Geodatabases and likewise.
2. Pros in Information Technology world are primarily ArcPy, GIS consulting solutions for IT companies, main competitors Hexgon, General electric and others like IDRSI, ERDAS, SICAD, Transcad, Open gis platforms like Quantum GIS are weak and not customer specific.
3. Return on Investment, ROI from ArcGIS, ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcToolbox, ArcLogistics and solutions is good. Customization is excellent, their data models and work is exemplary in GIS world.
4. Licensing for Govt, Utilities, others is pricy as one would expect, but what can one do, customer support is good. Licensing is a major con.
5. GIS from ESRI-America is the dream for the Geographers, Engineers and other geospatial professionals to work with. ESRI internships all around the world. Also, it is used by Planners, Urban etc.

Cons

Major Con:

1. ESRI is offering startups a free licensing for using it for GIS startups for one year. not enough.
2. Major con is license and training cost for young graduates around the world.

Exson
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tool for the planning, execution, and monitoring of actions with criteria on the territory.

Reviewed on 5/1/2018

Is a program that has been very useful for the administration and planning of geographical and spatial problems in the process of georeferencing the projects financed in the 8 years of development of the organization.

georeferencing the territory of each project helps us make decisions adjusted to the dynamics of the territory. each of the actions that the organization applies uses arcgis to approach the territory.

Pros

I like it because it helps me to develop the planning activities of the approach of the territory I require for the fulfillment of my work functions.
ArcGIS helps me to visualize, manage, edit, calculate, analyze entities and georeferenced attributes of the financed projects of a productive nature in my work.
Another aspect that I like about ArcGis is the use of the ArcCatalog, which allows to search and make effective operations, facilitating the link with Servers of databases, GIS Servers, database, WMS servers, and Internet and intranet connection.

I find it easy to use, it has an excellent interface and multiple geoprocessing tools. I like the presentation of the cartography.

Cons

I do not like it to be a software with high costs. On the other hand, it requires a computer with a very high installed capacity to execute the tools in an easy way.

In the area of authematic cartography, I believe that the options to work with greater ease should be strengthened with graphics to represent the variables of the maps.

I am worried that the program with the updates demands greater requirements of the computer where it is installed, so that all the tools work optimally, which can generate incomplimiento of the work delay before the delay of the run of the information.

the fact that it requires constant investments to enhance computers requires that the company must continually invest resources, being in some cases impossible, as it can harm the performance of the organization.

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Online Map User

Reviewed on 12/3/2019

ArcGIS is really the only product that competes well in the outdoor map market for large amounts of data. There are some improvements we would like to see, but for a company that large, this might be unreasonable. You kind of get what you get, since they are the only show in town.

Pros

ESRI is the big dog when it comes to digital maps. We use these a lot to map our facilities and specifically our underground utilities. This is the best product on the market. The only competitor might be AutoDesk, but even that doesn't compete. It is a very functional product and can contain all the information we need.

Cons

Sometimes when you load some of the basemap images that software can really slow down. Also the zoom function for the online database interaction can be a little glitchy at times. A lot of these can be fixed by changing some of the detail settings, but that can take some digging to find. The company is so big, that if you have a question; you are not likely to get ahold of anyone. You are better off to look up videos on youtube or try posting questions on forums.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ArcGIS, Industry Leader GIS Software

Reviewed on 4/9/2020

I have used ArcGIS most of my life, from my study time at university to my work in the academic sector. One can't run away from the fact ArcGIS offers the most complete and advanced tools that one can ever find in any GIS software and for that, no other software can compete with it.

Pros

ArcGIS is by far the industry leader when it comes to the world of GIS and offers an extensive array of functionalities and tools that no other GIS software can offer.

Cons

It is proprietary and quite costly to get a licence. It is least likely to be used by small to medium companies. Only government institutions and universities that can afford the huge licencing costs.

Zavud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review on ArcGIS

Reviewed on 5/9/2019

Pros

I have been using ArcGIS for a year now. I am a master student studying Environmental Sciences and in this field it is very important to be able to work with geographic information systems. Although I learned a few similar software, I prefer working on ArcGIS when I have to work with maps and geographic information. The reason why I prefer ArcGIS to the other similar software is it is easier to learn as a beginner (from my personal experience). In our department at my university, we sometimes have to create maps or work with mapped information. I like how easy it is to add different geographic data collected from different sources in order to make comparisons. The software enables you to create your own map layout providing you with various features and designs. I usually work with environmental maps showing the ecological problems on my map layout for my research projects. If you design your final map properly making use of the features ArcGIS provides you with, you can make your final output look very good and simple to be understood by even people who are not professionally ArcGIS users.

Cons

As a student I am allowed to use the computers that have ArcGIS with its license at my university and its libraries. However, I cannot use it on my personal PC at home or wherever I am, since the software is extremely unaffordable for an average student I believe. What I also dislike about the software is it gives me a lot of errors when I work with larger scale while I do not get my results have as many errors when I work with smaller scales.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS the best

Reviewed on 12/26/2020

ArcGIS can use to setup boundaries for rainfall catchments. So that it helps to run rainfall-runoff models and predict whether flood can occur or not. So that, ArcGIS plays a major role as a supporting software for hydrological modeling softwares like HEC-HMS & Mike 11.

Pros

ArcGIS is one of the best software that most civil engineers used atleast once in their life. It can easily download from internet. ArcGIS having user friendly interface wich beginner also easily handle the software too. Best thing about it is we can setup catchment boundaries of any specific area by easily using Digital Elevation Map(DEM). Using this we can easily get information about ground elevation, soil type of the area and much more information about the specific area that we concern about.

Cons

ArcGIS uses some amount of storage usage within the computer. Also it use some memory in the computer too. Also to setup boundaries, you must aware about the software quiet extent.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sophisticated map-making

Reviewed on 2/20/2020

I have very specific features that I need to show in a map. With ArcGis I am able to customize my maps as much as I like.

Pros

Easily imports my .csv data or gis shapefiles.
Offers a variety of basemaps including Open Street Map and Natl. Geographic. You don't have to depend on Google maps.
Converts to a file that can be read and worked on in Adobe Illustrator. Necessary for tweaking maps.
Doesn't seem too demanding on resourses.
Customer service has been great. One fellow took nearly an hour with me on the phone getting me up to speed.

Cons

Steep learning curve.
Confusing credit system. Essentially, you start out with 500 credits in my case. Every time you make an inquiry of their database, you get dinged. I used one of the ArcGis tutorials and saw my credit usage go through the roof. Called cust. service and they explained that was the issue.
When I make a route, changing the type of line is a pain and there may not be a solution. You will learn that there are lots of hidden tools under " ... " on most menu choices.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful Feographical Mapping and Integration tool

Reviewed on 3/29/2019

We created a lot of Spatial files in different formats for analysing the count data (Demographic data) for economic analysis, Housing, Unemployment benefits and many more. The spatial files were used to create State Map with different counties and congressional districts for analysis that are used in Tableau and Power BI be

Pros

The biggest asset of this software is that we can create the custom territory maps with different layers of the data for perfect analysis. We can create multiple layers of the maps using different geographical coordinates and has the ability to save the images in different formations (.shp files, Topjson, SVG..). It integrates well with Power BI and Tableau tools.

Cons

The license of the software is very expensive. The interface of the software is very difficult for users who are using for the first time. It is a Computer RAM intensive software (You need to have more powerful machines)

Kyo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great GIS Software

Reviewed on 10/27/2020

Pros

I like the ability to format and being able to change the symbology. And generally feel that they make a very good looking maps compared to other, non-premium GIS software.

Cons

The price tag Esri offers for the ArcGIS suite is a bit high for what it offers. And I am not a huge fan of their licensing options and to its extensions (adds up)

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product - ArcGIS Enterprise

Reviewed on 1/29/2020

We wanted to use ArcGIS Enterprise because we recently purchased an asset management software and wanted to be able to use the work order system in the field and since we are already an enterprise client we wanted to leverage it to the fullest.

Pros

We really like being able to have our Enterprise Portal look and act like ArcGIS Online. Once we got the environment set up, working in it was almost the same as ArcGIS Online.

Cons

They have an out of the box setup for one machine. I almost wish we would have gone that route, but we wanted to future proof it and put the different modules on different servers. That made setup a little more difficult.

Juan Andrés
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Most widespread paid GIS software

Reviewed on 4/23/2020

After 3 years of use, I find ArcGIS and the ESRI family of products an extremely effective tool for the storage, processing, analysis, modeling, visualization, and distribution of spatial data.

Pros

It's extensive functionalities for the advanced use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS), in the different forms available from ESRI (i.e., ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Desktop, ArcGIS Online services).

Cons

It is a paid software, which makes it compete with a myriad of other free and open-source software (FOSS) that would do the work just as fine... however, the tradeoff is that FOSS doesn't provide the same speed and consistency in customer support.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful and Endless Capabilities

Reviewed on 10/9/2018

I recommend ArcGIS for field biologists. This is a powerful software for collecting data in the field even without service. Create customized data forms with upload to Collector and sync with your phone. Drop the clipboard and endless hours of data entry. When you are done collecting in the field sync back, edit, and export your data to excel if desired.

Pros

ArcGIS is a very powerful software with a preset of tools. It does take some training and playing around to learn the setup and how the tools work. I love that the capabilities is endless. Remember simpler the better. If you can't do something with one of their tools you can often find commands online or write your own script.

Cons

There is a lack of function when you have media attachments to a set of data/table. For example, if you have a set of points with photo attachments there was no way to export the photos for File Manager with custom name or association to the points. It should at least be titles by the Object ID # instead it was a random name given by the initial phone. You also cannot export multiples photos. But the good New is I was able to write a script to make it all work for me.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GIS Powerhouse but could use some updates

Reviewed on 2/12/2019

ArcGIS provides a suite of programs that create incredible map visuals and can integrate huge amounts of data or simple tables for different projects I work on.

Pros

ArcGIS is packed with tools for 2D and 3D, Raster and Vector, and small scall and large scale. It's tool set provide an incredible array of options to a trained user.

Cons

This software is very expensive and it's obvious ESRI is trying to make this a legacy product when it should be their biggest investment. It was a big disappointment that ESRI chose to only put python3 into ArcGIS Pro and left the ArcGIS suite alone. Once python2.7 becomes officially unsupported this program will be much less useful even after costing so much.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Mapping Software Out-there

Reviewed on 1/2/2019

My use of ArcGIS has ranged from an academic setting - where I was trained to use the product - to using it for mapping water pipelines in the water utility industry. The software is incredibly effective and can handle just about any map product that someone wants to make. However, it does require time and effort to become a master of ArcGIS and it cannot be accomplished in a few hours.

Pros

If you can dream it up, ArcGIS allows you to do it. This software has every function imaginable. Plus, it's super easy to input and export data. One major thing that makes it the best software and the most widely used, is how easy it is to combine different maps together into one product. During graduate school, I worked on a map with a couple classmates combining data to create a map of Nigeria that featured hospital locations, sites of conflict, and areas of concern for food security. We had an incredibly easy time inserting all the data, generating a map that looked how we wanted it to look, and correctly labeling all the different pieces of information.

Cons

You need to know what you're doing before you use this software. Make sure to either watch some YouTube videos, invest in a textbook that teaches you how to use the software, or hire an individual who has experience with the product in an academic or professional setting. While you really can do anything you want with the software, it does require some knowledge to be able to achieve the desired end result. If you forget how a certain function works, make sure to doube check how to do it and do not wing it because you can very easily mess up the map product (one classmate of mine did this and deleted her entire map that took three months to build).

LEWIS
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best tool for planners

Reviewed on 6/10/2021

Efficient and reliable

Pros

The fact that planners can use it to do variety of analysis including transportational analysis,geographical analysis,economic analysis,built form analysis among many others with the software makes it the most convinient tool in possession of urban planners and designers

Cons

The complexity of the software especially for newbies makes it a little challenging but with various tutorials installed in the software it enables them to catch up and be able to utilize the software.