366 reviews

ArcGIS

Mapping & analytics system for visualizing data by location

4.6 /5 (366 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
4.1
95% recommended this app
366 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

ArcGIS the best

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-12-26
Review Source: Capterra

ArcGIS can use to setup boundaries for rainfall catchments. So that it helps to run rainfall-runoff models and predict whether flood can occur or not. So that, ArcGIS plays a major role as a supporting software for hydrological modeling softwares like HEC-HMS & Mike 11.

Pros

ArcGIS is one of the best software that most civil engineers used atleast once in their life. It can easily download from internet. ArcGIS having user friendly interface wich beginner also easily handle the software too. Best thing about it is we can setup catchment boundaries of any specific area by easily using Digital Elevation Map(DEM). Using this we can easily get information about ground elevation, soil type of the area and much more information about the specific area that we concern about.

Cons

ArcGIS uses some amount of storage usage within the computer. Also it use some memory in the computer too. Also to setup boundaries, you must aware about the software quiet extent.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rajah P.
Industry: Research
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Tool for enhance the productivity of Spatial planning

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-03-27
Review Source: Capterra

In the subject of GIS and spatial planning ArcGIS has an strong influence. User friendly platform makes it easier to work and easy to understand the concepts behind the tools

Pros

I have been working with Esri products such as ArcGIS desktop, Server and portal for more than 4 years. Products have wide range of functionalities and have very supportive backends. Help manuals and online esri forums provide detail information on each tool. ArcGIS desktop has the wide range of capabilities and tools which can help to solve almost every spatial problems. Specially model builder and the integrity of python provides the facility to automate the multiple tasks. There are opportunities to customize the tools as we preferred which let us to built our own tool with the help of python. GUI of ArcGIS provides user friendly working platform, specially ArcGIS catalog provide easy way to access the wide range of spatial data with the help of interperobility extension.
Server for ArcGIS and portal provides total solutions for sharing the geographical data via effective user and device friendly platforms.

Cons

It would cost reasonable amount to get all features and full benefits from ArcGIS products. Even it has perpetual licecnse, we have to pay for the upgrades.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

ESRI ArcGIS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-01-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I like most about ESRI ArcGIS is the option to use the online platform or Desktop version. Points, tracks, and layers are easily uploaded and viewed. I also found the customer support to be excellent. I had a few issues with billing, but when I contacted my service representative, she explained everything very clearly and sent me extra resources to make sure I knew exactly how to avoid problems in the future.

Cons

My one issue was that the credits system was not entirely clear to me right away. I ended up adding a new feature layer and going through 1000 credits in about a month (which would normally take a year). This meant I had to add more credits (and spend ~$200), but once the service representative explained how credits work (she was extremely helpful), I haven't made the mistake again since.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Best Mapping Software Out-there

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-01-02
Review Source: Capterra

My use of ArcGIS has ranged from an academic setting - where I was trained to use the product - to using it for mapping water pipelines in the water utility industry. The software is incredibly effective and can handle just about any map product that someone wants to make. However, it does require time and effort to become a master of ArcGIS and it cannot be accomplished in a few hours.

Pros

If you can dream it up, ArcGIS allows you to do it. This software has every function imaginable. Plus, it's super easy to input and export data. One major thing that makes it the best software and the most widely used, is how easy it is to combine different maps together into one product. During graduate school, I worked on a map with a couple classmates combining data to create a map of Nigeria that featured hospital locations, sites of conflict, and areas of concern for food security. We had an incredibly easy time inserting all the data, generating a map that looked how we wanted it to look, and correctly labeling all the different pieces of information.

Cons

You need to know what you're doing before you use this software. Make sure to either watch some YouTube videos, invest in a textbook that teaches you how to use the software, or hire an individual who has experience with the product in an academic or professional setting. While you really can do anything you want with the software, it does require some knowledge to be able to achieve the desired end result. If you forget how a certain function works, make sure to doube check how to do it and do not wing it because you can very easily mess up the map product (one classmate of mine did this and deleted her entire map that took three months to build).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Frank M.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Arcgis is a great civil engineering software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020-06-11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, arcgis is a beneficial software that has brought great benefits in my line of work as a civil engineer.

Pros

Arcgis is a great civil engineering software that we use for mapping.
It is a great tool for the analysis of geographical information that has so many different features relevant in the analysis and exploitation of maps.
Arcgis also functions very greatly in that it integrates very well with other software like google earth.

Cons

Arcgis is a very difficulty software to learn and also to use.
Also inorder to use this software to its optimum ability and potential, alot of time has to be dedicates to learning the proper use of this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: Self Employed

Positive feedback

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

I like the practicality and speed in performing tasks that were almost impossible or extremely difficult with similar software before

Pros

472/5000
The software has many libraries and functionalities that enable the optimization of several processes, including the most varied areas, such as mine, related to air pollution. The community is very committed to assisting and consolidating many codes and tips.

Cons

Generally speaking, the license price is very high

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Yemsi P.

Share my cartographic information update in a simple way

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-02-13
Review Source: Capterra

the benefits that I receive using this program is the development of my profession as a geographer, I do my jobs more quickly, I communicate more spatially and efficiently with other colleagues in my country and other Ibero-American countries

Pros

As a geographer, the software allows me to do my work associated with cartographic representation, population centers, attributes, population indexes, heat maps, land use, level of services, wealth generation and projection of these indices for a future population

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

The best GIS on the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-04-02
Review Source: Capterra

I am using ArcGIS in combination with Oracle Geodatabase Entreprise and ArcGIS Server.

Pros

Complete set of tools for most of uses cases with the standard license.
Possibility of using the arcpy python library to develop rich GIS application.
The file geodatabase (fgdb) format is performant and compact.

Cons

Some extension like the Network Analysis can be expensive.
The new user licensing used with ArcGIS Pro can make the cost explose.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael H.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

I use this software on a daily basis for mapping our school district and its great.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-01-11
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to pull the data we needed for zoning students.

Pros

I am able to pull any data I need as long as I have it in there. Good Data in, Good Data Out. As long as I added the correct data to the system I can manipulate it and format it any way i desire.

Cons

You need a pretty beefy system to run the software. This has been my only complaint. The Rendering time for the amount of roads I deal with is pretty extensive when I am on a system that is low on resources.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sean A.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good mapping software to easily convey ideas, concepts, and locations visually.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-08-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software allows for quick and easy input of different mapping objectives, such as an as-built survey of existing drainage or sewer infrastructure. This allows provides a clear map whether to use in the field to review existing conditions or in the office to create conceptual plans for proposed work. The software also allows our organization to create quick maps for project scoping, grant applications, and public meetings to aid in illustrating existing conditions and proposed improvements.

Cons

Some features are not always intuitive and full use of the software requires class study, reading, and years of experience. While I don't necessarily think this is a bad thing it limits how easily someone new to the software will be able to access and process available information.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pedro B.

Facility for georeferencing geographic data and spatial interpretation of the same

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-03-06
Review Source: Capterra

I prepare the maps of my doctoral thesis at the university

Pros

That allows to make maps at different scales and facilitates the interpretation of georeferenced information with precision for a better spatial analysis

Cons

the layer combination sometimes disappears georefenciados data what produces lack of information in the maps and consequently it is necessary to relizar edition of the data to reconfigure the map

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dami A.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Excellent Mapping Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-09-16
Review Source: Capterra

ArcGis is the gold standard in the industry and is used by a lot of different companies.

Pros

My overall experience with ArcGIS has been positive. It is a powerful mapping software. It can be integrated with a lot of other software.

Cons

The cost of the ArcGIS basic package is a bit on the higher end. It could be pricey and prevent other potential users from using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Is there another option?

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-12-03
Review Source: Capterra

Mapping of utility infrastructure as well as transmissions of suppliers

Pros

the agility of this software for use in multiple corporations
Integrations with almost any vendor through API

Cons

Cost is always a concern with a monopolistic program such as this
There are no other real options at this point and you are at the mercy of ESRI

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Greg F.
Industry: Public Safety
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Amazing Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-11-02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We indirectly use this software daily with our emergency mapping system and I cannot say enough good things about far our system has advanced since we started using ArcGIS

Cons

I cannot really name any cons to the software. I guess if I had to name something, it would be my like of training but that is no issue with the software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Monel K.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Powerful Application for Managing Geo Spatial Data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-02-20
Review Source: Capterra

Helps to maintain data integrity and increases efficiency.

Pros

Great features for managing and mapping Geo-Spatial data. Documentation is very detailed. Python module for ArcGIS helps to automate the workflows and manipulate data effectively.

Cons

License is very costly which limits the use of it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fundamental cartography software, but could be easier to use

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, ArcGIS is imperative in the Planning field, and in any other field where geospatial analysis is necessary.

Pros

I have been using ArcGIS for many years, as it is the most fundamental cartography and map analysis software in existence. You can add layers from thousands of sources, and calculate and analyze almost anything one could imagine, in terms of the geospatial realm.

Cons

The software is not intuitive at all, and many classes and trainings are needed to even begin to use it properly. It is very difficult to integrate with outside files, such as CSVs, and they often need a lot of meticulous cleaning up to get the software to read the data.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Travis M.
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

ArcGIS for Environmental Consultants

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020-02-25
Review Source: Capterra

Provides solutions for all my mapping needs. Mapping land covers, calculating project impacts, displaying species occurrences and hydrological connections, etc. Sometimes it feels like a necessary evil with all the bugs.

Pros

Customization of templates, colors and layers allows for attractive and unique maps.

Cons

ArcGIS can be very buggy. Sometimes the program hard-crashes. Other times, if a basic function (create buffer, edit vertices, etc) doesn't work, I find restarting the program does the trick. There's usually a work-around but it is very frustrating to lose time or progress. It's rare that I can go a few hours on ArcGIS without it crashing, and when it starts it gets on a roll.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Saran A.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Good tool for geospatial application

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-11-05
Review Source: Capterra

- It is nice tool to plot your results and easy to handle

Pros

- easy to create interactive maps
- simple command tools
- linked with python environment

Cons

- the large size of software and requires high memory to process data.
- cannot handle large size files and crash during the processing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Leading Mapping Software

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-04-24
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience but it can be daunting in the beginning.

Pros

Once you master ArcGIS you'll be surprise with all the things you can do. I love how many settings it has. It can be daunting but by the end of the day you can make maps perfect for presentations, school or government level. It is a behemoth of a program that can make just about any kind of map.

Cons

ArcGIS has a very high learning curve and it can be incredible daunting for someone starting on it by themselves (ie working at home). I found that the best way to learn was with others, especially in person. There are simply so many settings, windows, layer toggles, etc that it can be overwhelming to tackle by yourself. I've also found that it's hard program to "play with". You need data to work with that must be compatible with the program, it's hard to come with things to from "scratch". That's why learning it through a company or a college class (or online) is the best IMO. It's near impossible to self-teach it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ArcGIS for map making and analysis

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

Solves any and all data-driven map making problems.

Pros

This is the best map making software there is. It is powerful and able to handle A LOT of data. There are endless ways to manipulate data and the tools available at your fingertips are seemingly never-ending, there is always something to learn to make it better.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve associated with this software. Also, while making the maps in GIS is best, its formatting and map producing (as in those you'd print and use) are not done well and the maps must be brought into other software to make the maps presentable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

ESRI making strides

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-04-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have worked with ArcGIS for decades now, and in the last 8 years the ArcGIS platform has truly undergone positive changes to be leveraged by all kinds of business professionals - instead of solely catering to Analysts. Online access now makes for an easy solution for most users, while ArcGIS Pro has come along and has a much more visual UI/UX than its predecessor ArcGIS Desktop.

Cons

ESRI isn't exactly forthcoming with its enterprise bundle pricing; ESRI managers tend to disregard customer requests to line itemize components of a bundle solution deal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Julian P.

Main environment consultant software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-02-27
Review Source: Capterra

We work every day with the software and we found out that to prepare Araya's Mayor Office Land Use for the municipality it's very important tool, because we can arrange several types of use of the land and propose new types of uses for an established areas.

Pros

I like most is the ability of this software to connect to database servers that allows to have actualized information of an studio area. We can focus objectives by preparing entities and giving them attributes to make advance calculations about population or services. All this information is displayed in the final layout to be exported as a map, in a pdf format or an image. It covers every part of a project.

Cons

I like least is the requirements of the software to run in the computer and the RAM memory it needs to use. In addition, the price of the software isn't affordable to a small business like us. Some times the computer that uses ArcGIS, can't operate with any other software, limiting the capability of the office.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Manuel G.

Excellent for mapping and georreferencing

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-05-17
Review Source: Capterra

I really recommend arcgis, it is a really complete geographic information system, which can be expensive and difficult at first, but using it can be really rewarding.

Pros

I've used arcgis for georreferencing during a project in which we constructed several logistics bases for supplying spare parts to oil and gas drills, and it was really easy to use because of it's accessible and user friendly workspace. We created a base map and the needed variables for a very dynamic map, and the best part was that updating it took almost no time.

Cons

Using arcgis at first can ve really overwhelming as it is not easy, you need to spend a lot of time learning it but since there are lots of tutorials online it is not that big of an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Derek L.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Love ESRI products

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020-02-28
Review Source: Capterra

I’ve really enjoyed this software and am excited to continue to learn and move beyond a beginner status.

Pros

It’s very powerful. The range of tools at your fingertips is amazing and the training available to get an inexperienced user up and running is top notch.

Cons

With such a powerful tool it’s not immediately intuitive on what to do where to start if you’re a true beginner. But as I mentioned, esri provides awesome tutorials, training, etc...that can get you up and running in no time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great piece of software, but there is a price to pay for greatness.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-12-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Make my job easier and tasks completed faster with all the built in tools

Cons

Expensive, and need to buy all the additional extensions to do any analysis type things.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10