ArcGIS

4.6 (413)
Mapping & analytics system for visualizing data by location

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(413)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support Software
4.1/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

413 Reviews

Chanchala
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Science of Where – Definitely it is in ArcGIS!!

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

ArcGIS is a geospatial software that facilitates viewing, editing, and analyzing geographic data. ArcGIS consists of several features such as ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcGIS Pro, ArcScene & ArcGlobe. This software is used by a wide range of users from multidisciplinary sectors.

Pros

ArcGIS is a powerful software that can use to analyze locational-based data. The Arc Toolbox has a variety of tools including spatial analyst, spatial statistics, geocoding, data management, conversion, cartography tools, etc. Those tool sets can be used for spatial analysis, mapping, field operations, data collection, and preparation. I’m using ArcGIS for raster and vector data visualization and analysis. Especially for landslide vulnerability assessment, landslide hazard and risk zonation mapping, landform mapping, and different types of data management activities.
ArcGIS supports different types of data formats including ESRI shapefiles, GeoTIFF, Images, CAD files, KML, Excel data files, etc. The important thing is ArcGIS provides a data conversion facility using a conversion toolset.
The ArcGIS model builder provides automation of our analysis process and it reduces the time consumption. This is a good platform for map-making and map layouting. There are many toolbars that support map preparation, such as advanced labeling, data frame tools, layout, etc. And there is another option called the Data-Driven Pages toolbar, that allows us to create a multi-page map series from a single map document.
There are many options in ArcGIS that you can find to solve your problems, related to geographic data.

Cons

The license version of ArcGIS is very expensive and it needs a considerable amount of memory and storage space to function properly.

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS Suite - Extremely Powerful

Reviewed on 2019-07-18

Our field crews and engineering staff couldn't function without it. Out utilities assets with all of their attributes are on our digital maps. On it we document structures attributes, condition over time, maintenance schedules, and even hyperlink photo and video inspections to each asset. Invaluable information no further away than a click of a button, no matter where in our world that you are!

Pros

Extremely powerful software with a tool for just about anything you could think of to do with geographic data. "Smart Maps". Objects given geographic location and attributes of any kind that you want running in the background.

Cons

ELA agreement is extremely reasonable but for a private individual it could be cost prohibitive. I believe they are working on a different license model for home users but would have to check on it.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

I use ArcMap daily, but almost always as a part of my overall editing flow.

Reviewed on 2018-02-16

It makes the start of very pretty maps, sometimes. I almost always generate base layers here, and then export them into illustrator/photoshop to do actual final renders.

Pros

The styling guides are better than any other options out there - once you can learn to navigate the byzantine menus. I've used QGIS, Globalmapper, AutoCad, and Microstation, and maps just look better in ArcMap than in any others -it's made for creating display mapping. I know that there are other programmatic things you can do, but for my workflow, I use it almost exclusively for building maps for display.

Cons

The menus are silly that you have to go that far down a rabbit hole, processing is a nightmare (especially with messy geometry), and I used to (until I quit trying altogether) find myself trying a processing task in ArcMap, watching it fail, and then trying it again in GlobalMapper/QGIS and it would do fine. Processing is a very weak point in ArcMap, at least from my perspective.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

The industry standard

Reviewed on 2022-04-27

Pros

ArcGIS has an application anywhere within the GIS space. Thus knowledge of this software is transferable to any position so long as it requires GIS data to be handled. There are lots of forums, posts, and additional resources to help you along the way so you will not get lost.

Cons

When exporting or handling data ESRI prefers to keep things proprietary. This means being forced to use their organizational systems if you want to share and examine data in an efficient manner. This also means you are at the mercy of ESRI capabilities and trust in their ability to roll out feature updates in a timely matter.

Bintang
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The Function and Facilty Tools of Arcgis

Reviewed on 2020-07-16

These software has allowed me to undestand the concept of geostatistical analysist.
And also these software has allowed me to achieve my degree in bachelor of mining engineering.Such help like layouting map, analysis out put contour and another geospatial analysis.

Pros

Tool geostatistical, geospatial analysis

Cons

There in few of module to learning tools

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best GIS Software

Reviewed on 2022-06-29

Pros

At GIS suite of products has made spatial analysis and map creation (important tools in our industry) easy and visually appealing.

Cons

The geolocation tools is very glitch at times so it required going into the excel file and modify things to make it easier to locate which was tedious.

Zabeehullah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mapping tool

Reviewed on 2022-07-17

I have used this software for my masters thesis and then in field to find disaster destruction, vegetation cover, temperature change and comping old and new features on surface of earth

Pros

It is easy to use especially data handling is very easy. A verity of tools are present to apply on data. Knowledge to use is widely avaliable on youtube

Cons

Software installation is still a problem. It is difficult to install. It is very heavy and cannot be used on low space systems

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, kinda complicated though.

Reviewed on 2022-07-30

Pros

ArcGIS is pretty much the bedrock of mapping for cultural resource management. We use this product all the time to create maps of features, archaeological sites, track shovel tests while in the field, and even just navigation. This product is essential to what we do and I wish I knew more how to use it.

Cons

One thing that is difficult about this product is just figuring out how to use it. As far as formatting or inputting data, it’s not always that straightforward. I wish that it was more streamlined with more helpful tutorials to get beginning users started with ArcGIS.

ferryn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ArcGis excellent choice for the precision and efficiency of work and time management

Reviewed on 2022-07-25

Good. Customer service is excellent and they take the time to walk you through new things. I enjoy the program and the ability to be efficient in the field.

Pros

I like the ability to see the locations of all sites currently working on and that as a manager you are able to plan the best route to get the most work down in the most efficient amount of time.

Cons

It is a learning curve, a lot of training and remembering step by step procedures to get the product you were looking for. Lots of patience while learning at the beginning. Updates sometimes had to adjust to.

Gizem Yaprak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Am i appreciate with ArcGIS?

Reviewed on 2022-07-02

Pros

ArcGIS is the most useful app for the GIS,planning etc.. We can use python with this app and this is what i like so much.

Cons

It should have free trial for student more than 20 days because geomatic engineering or surveyors students have to use this app for their homework and 20 days not enough for this.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Utility mapping on both the desktop and mobile devices

Reviewed on 2021-03-09

Our mobile workforce has become significantly more efficient due to the ArcGIS platform and the systems that we have built upon its frameworks. ArcGIS has become a core piece of our business and our daily operations, and we continue to increase its use and integration with other systems.

Pros

ArcGIS continues to evolve as a product as our needs grow as a customer. We are moving away from desktop-based GIS, with nearly all employees now using mobile devices as their primary tool to access our utility mapping data. ArcGIS Online has made this available, and we continue to grow our mobile offerings, though the AGOL platform still allows us numerous areas for us to continue to explore and utilize to improve our field workflows.

Numerous samples, test applications, etc. are provided by ESRI to get you started, and since they're the industry leader, there are tons of real-world examples of the software in use that are available to the public.

Cons

ArcGIS is an enormously complex software platform, with tons of automation and analysis tools available. However online documentation can be difficult to find, and is frequently written in ways that require an in-depth understanding of the systems. Prerequisite setup steps aren't always included in the documentation, instead it's often written with some assumptions in mind. Setups completed by other employees can be difficult to troubleshoot because of these assumptions in the documentation.

The robustness of the platform can also lead to additional steps for end users, as they have to work through options that aren't relevent to them, but cannot be hidden from their view. One such example is just the login screen to the AGOL mobile apps causes our users frequent struggles as they can't remember the sequence of steps to get to the organization login. There should be increased administrator options available to simplify/restrict options available to the end user.

timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent mapping software for the patient.

Reviewed on 2020-06-10

After about 100 hours of being hopelessly lost in the menus, import/export functions, and display properties, an average user will probably be able to impress their colleagues with a tidy and professional display of 2-d or 3-d data in a relevant map background, which very few other freeware programs are capable of creating.

Pros

With enough time and interest, the features available for ArcGIS and ArcGIS Pro are brilliant and all-encompassing. Using raw map datums and a collection of information allows users to expertly display any sort of 2-d grid on any map projection with tons of custom options for audience display.

Cons

The learning curve is very steep and the complexity of the software is overwhelming to new users. The number of navigable menus and sub-menus in the home screen of the project can be exhausting to figure out without doing everything incorrectly the first time. This is NOT the Microsoft Powerpoint of data display.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Leader of the Pack

Reviewed on 2019-08-17

I've regularly used ArcGIS since it was ArcView 3.1, for about 20 years I guess.

Pros

ArcGIS leads the pack with functional tools like ArcMap, one of its most popular in spatial analysis. The tool-pack within ArcMAP allows users to convert layers to new formats, analyze data using a several geoprocessing tools, merge layers together and truly begin understanding landscape patterns. It has also been used to help forecast or predict after filtering layers or attributes within a layer to learn a unique set of characteristics that predict occurrence of a species or phenomenon, such as bank erosion. With the software, the user can subscribe to ESRI news to learn more about the broad applications of the product. And because it is so widely known, users can easily find tutorials and classes to learn the product. Recently I sought help from customer support and I will say, they are relentless at helping to diagnose the problem.

Cons

There are a lot of competitors for ArcGIS, though none seem to do everything that ArcGIS does. Rather than spending time waiting for the software to open, recognize our network license, and load the base maps, I can usually find an answer to my question using Google Earth or something similar. The high level of functionality comes at a cost. In addition to the memory hungry aspects of ESRI, the user interface can be a little intimidating. There are many tools and ways to layout the interface. Sometimes it can be confusing to know where the tools are and how to access them. While the interface is customizable in some ways, the geoprocessing tools cannot be added to the interface (or I haven't figured out how) and toolbars need to be loaded each time. For example, when I'm creating a shape file, I have to continuously ask the software to open the window for creating features. I'm sure this is great for some people who don't like machine learning or having their computer assume too much of their needs. But for me, I love that and would really like to see some of these customizable elements become more user friendly. Not only would that make things a bit more efficient on my end, but it might also make the experience less daunting or confusing.

venkatasivaram
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIS and what are the benefits of ARCGIS-ESRI suite of Tools

Reviewed on 2019-04-18

Amazing

Worked for companies in India, USA, then back for Government clients in India, Oman, Dubai, europe and likewise.

All the best with your search for a good GIS software.

Pros

ESRI, Thank you

since 1980s, ESRI has been a terrific performer, in Geospatial, Geotechnical, Geology, Government, Utilities, Transportation and Logistics, IT enablement.

1. ESRI is a high-end solutions and capabilities provider, their software can handle all kinds of requirements in LBS, Spatial Statistics, Data mining with GIS, Market Research with GIS, Geodatabases and likewise.
2. Pros in Information Technology world are primarily ArcPy, GIS consulting solutions for IT companies, main competitors Hexgon, General electric and others like IDRSI, ERDAS, SICAD, Transcad, Open gis platforms like Quantum GIS are weak and not customer specific.
3. Return on Investment, ROI from ArcGIS, ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcToolbox, ArcLogistics and solutions is good. Customization is excellent, their data models and work is exemplary in GIS world.
4. Licensing for Govt, Utilities, others is pricy as one would expect, but what can one do, customer support is good. Licensing is a major con.
5. GIS from ESRI-America is the dream for the Geographers, Engineers and other geospatial professionals to work with. ESRI internships all around the world. Also, it is used by Planners, Urban etc.

Cons

Major Con:

1. ESRI is offering startups a free licensing for using it for GIS startups for one year. not enough.
2. Major con is license and training cost for young graduates around the world.

Francis Carolina
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The most complete and efficient tool for making maps, vector layers or raster

Reviewed on 2018-06-07

ArcGIS is a system with which people can work with on-line maps and related geographic information. With ArcGIS you can create many different types of maps. The most interesting of all are the interactive intelligent maps that show, integrate and synthesize complete layers of geographic and descriptive information of diverse origins. These ArcGIS maps provide an interactive window through which you can view, explore and analyze this information.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ease with which you can create maps or design final maps better known as layout. Unlike other similar software, Arcgis simplifies the process, in addition to providing aestheticity and harmony in the scale of colors and labeling of toponyms. In addition, the work with ArcGIS encourages the use of geographic databases (geodatabases) in the management of our data. With the way to create projects in arcgis, not only allows us to store the styles and properties applied to the layer in the project, but creates a geodatabase associated with it in which we can physically include the layers that we use as Feature Class. Although we can also add a previous geodatabase to the project, as it used to be done a long time ago.

Cons

Arcgis licenses are expensive. It was not always possible to count on the availability of ESRI products for acrgis. In addition, it is not very versatile in the consumption of data, that is, a different protocol must be applied to open each file according to its type. Likewise, with the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) services connection, it is necessary to download and install the Data Interoperability extension, unlike other softwares that this process refers to one clicks.

Israel Jose
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

ArcGIS is a leading tool for managing, analyzing, creating and integrating geological/spatial...

Reviewed on 2018-04-23

Pros

Built using standards such as COM, XML, and SQL, ArcGIS can be easily integrated with the structure of the information system and data of any organization or individual. Given that GIS extends to new applications and new user communities, ArcGIS also solves the challenges of offering and receiving data and related GIS services to users around the world. The versatility and easy to use allows ArcGIS to be used in a variety of areas: from land cadastre, geodesy, cartography, geography, and telecommunications, to geology, ecology, management of water resources and subsoil, oil and gas industry, and even remote sensing. Its technology of Geodatabase allows you to effectively store heterogeneous data and easily use them in complex projects and systems. In the geodatabase, users can define rules and relationships within the repository that define the behavior of spatially interconnected geographic (or geological) objects and object classes and ensure data integrity. With the help of ArcGIS it is possible to prepare qualitative cartographic products with all necessary elements of marginal design. Also, you can quickly create a realistic virtual 3D scene based on spatial data, using digital terrain models. With a lot of possibilities for processing of both raster and vector data, and its strong functions for map algebra, editing, and spatial analysis, together with the latest data models and control make the ArcGIS family of software products ones of the leaders among GIS software.

Cons

I have been using ArcGIS for almost 10 years and I can testify that this software is difficult to study, a very complex program for a simple user, the program is only for those who take the professional level, so, to exploit the full potential of ArcGIS (for example processing of multispectral and hyperspectral images, geostatistical studies and so on) you need to dedicate time, endless hours of study. Other con that I see, is the high price taking into account the purchase of any additional modules, it is a very expensive program, but, once and again, the potential is almost limitless once you get to dominate all its functionalities.

Howard
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS, the most advanced GIS tool so far

Reviewed on 2018-02-26

With ArcGIS I have worked in multiple academic and work exercises, calculating risk indices for loads in the hydrographic basins, housing in inadequate areas, public services coverage in small population centers.
I have built models to perform analyzes in several areas simultaneously, saving money and time. we have saved on editing and publication of thematic maps.
we built more than 100 geodatabase which has guaranteed the maintenance of consolidated databases, which we have shared with other planner users of the worked areas.
In particular it is the best vector software with which I have worked

Pros

ArcGis has developed multiple tools, adapted to the requirements of the users, ranging from the capture of data by means of GPS, remote sensors to a simple load by address of the property, the ESRI developments go from the PC to the data management online through ArcGIS online.
The tools for calculating variables, buffer, interconnection, management of geographic projections, selection by attribute, by spatial location, inside or outside the defined polygon, pattern analysis, data conversion with other programs are CAD or GIS. Stresses the fact that the tools were designed with the collaboration of many scientists in the area of geo-statistics such as L. Anselin, P. Zandbergen, D Mcleod, among others.
ArcGIS presents the innovation of managing a compilation of data in Geodatabase, which facilitates the management of files, regardless of the raster or vector format, without corruption or loss of components that can alter the performance of the final display of .mxd files
ArcGIS online empowers researchers to share data through the ESRI data server, sharing cartographic databases that, in some places in the world where the culture of geographic data is deficient, are therefore highly needed.
The design of maps is ArcGIs is very simple with the tools of workflow by means of modelBuilder and the handling of the Layout and the ways of making thematic maps and 3D representations is amazing.

Cons

ArcGIS only works on the Windows system, it is a proprietary software in which you must cancel the license according to the requirements that the project requires, the company or institution where you work, it can be expensive or very expensive if you choose to have all the software extensions . It has a free trial version for 30 days. You need a high performance team for the management of powerful databases, the manipulation of 3D data or satellite images processed in this environment. Its strength is the handling of vector data, the modules for the plot data do not present a wide development

Cesar A
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

This GIS has not comparison

Reviewed on 2018-01-17

Pros

We are in front of the best GIS in the market ARCgis do anything you want to do in special analysis. With this software you can build maps, editaed, analyze raster data, make models, 3d models, terrain models, simulations, Geodesign, and so many other things. This software has incorporated the biggest data of datum and coordinates system of the world, you can virtually use ARCgis in any part of the world, and with great precision. Since the version 9.3 ESRI has incorporated the Imagery tool, that it is a layer that with internet connection allows you to have satellite images of any location of the world, it is very useful to analyze change in the enviroment and urbanization changes. ARCgis has everything, virtually everything that a people who work with maps needs, does not have comparison.

Cons

The main limitation of ARCgis it is the cost, it is a very expensive software that a little company or businees cannot afford. This a very useful tool but the cost does not allows to some people uses their potential for the spatial analysis. In some countries they offer educational licenses who help the students to know the software and work with some tools, this can be palliative for all that people who wants to work with the software but cannot afford.

Gabrielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My go to for anything spatial

Reviewed on 2018-11-05

It’s been great. I once compared the functionality of ArcGIS to QGIS in a certain talks I had - ArcGIS produced a more comprehensive outcome. I always choose ArcGIS in my research.

Pros

ArcGIS is one of the most frequently used softwares for GIS. Given this, it means that most people trained in GIS are able to use the software but communicate about its functions too. Arc has created a network of GIS users which in some regard, has formed its own language. I like this because when speaking to other users, they understand me and my actions on the software.

I like the endless capabilities that Arc offers. Using the software is highly beneificial to people like myself who are involved in natural science research. It’s a tool that never fails to produce some sort of value - even if it is only a map. I appreciate the product development and like that it can utilize multiple spatial datasets in a user friendly framework.

Cons

Learning how to use ArcGIS definitely takes its time. It’s endless capabilities make it somewhat complex and so the user has to know exactly what they are looking to do in Arc in order to achieve it. I know too many people who have no idea where to start with Arc it are apprehensive to use it because of its technicality. I guess this is not a bad thing should one be trained in the software, but it’s defintwly not user friendly to the layman. Other esri products are more suited and easier for laymen - such esri online products.

In my experience, I have had ArcMap freeze or shut down numerous times. These bugs seem to still get through and it is the worst feeling when one loses their progress on a project.

I also find the tools somewhat tedious at times and it can be frustrating to have to search the help or esri online panels for solutions. However, in most cases, these problems get solved because their is readily available information on each tool.

Exson
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tool for the planning, execution, and monitoring of actions with criteria on the territory.

Reviewed on 2018-05-01

Is a program that has been very useful for the administration and planning of geographical and spatial problems in the process of georeferencing the projects financed in the 8 years of development of the organization.

georeferencing the territory of each project helps us make decisions adjusted to the dynamics of the territory. each of the actions that the organization applies uses arcgis to approach the territory.

Pros

I like it because it helps me to develop the planning activities of the approach of the territory I require for the fulfillment of my work functions.
ArcGIS helps me to visualize, manage, edit, calculate, analyze entities and georeferenced attributes of the financed projects of a productive nature in my work.
Another aspect that I like about ArcGis is the use of the ArcCatalog, which allows to search and make effective operations, facilitating the link with Servers of databases, GIS Servers, database, WMS servers, and Internet and intranet connection.

I find it easy to use, it has an excellent interface and multiple geoprocessing tools. I like the presentation of the cartography.

Cons

I do not like it to be a software with high costs. On the other hand, it requires a computer with a very high installed capacity to execute the tools in an easy way.

In the area of authematic cartography, I believe that the options to work with greater ease should be strengthened with graphics to represent the variables of the maps.

I am worried that the program with the updates demands greater requirements of the computer where it is installed, so that all the tools work optimally, which can generate incomplimiento of the work delay before the delay of the run of the information.

the fact that it requires constant investments to enhance computers requires that the company must continually invest resources, being in some cases impossible, as it can harm the performance of the organization.

Alka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Impactful for geospatial operations and cartography

Reviewed on 2020-08-27

Overall experience has been great- as I have been using this software for more than 2 years now. It is one of the leading software in the GIS industry as of today and is surely going to reach heights with its new feature releases every year. Comes really handy for both coders and non- coders as it has its own built in python modules and packages which can be used inside ( through built in tools/ python window) or outside the app using independent python IDEs.

Pros

Wide variety of tools available for spatial analysis and mapping - with minimum fuss as help is available for each tool. They also have a variety of license options available which can be customized based on your needs.

Cons

Customer service is only available if you have maintenance license (with ArcGIS desktop)- that needs to be renewed each year. It makes the overall cost of the software high, making it difficult for small to medium businesses to have this at their disposal.

Ricardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Esri's Arc Products are Essential Tools for Spatial Analysis

Reviewed on 2021-01-12

I have formal training in Geography and advanced GIS uses, so ArcGIS has been an essential tool for spatial analysis and spatial database creation.

Pros

I appreciate the flexibility and thoughtfulness of the software's design. There is almost always more than one way to accomplish a task in Arc products and suggestions for improvement are often met with modifications to the products to maintain their usefulness. The product is pretty much self-contained but there are patches and programs to customize the software. It also allows users to program routines to facilitate repetitive work. It also uses Python and Visual Basic, which allow users to write their own routines.

Cons

The price of this software can be prohibitive, particularly if users are looking for a full suite of services. Many of the functions are not intuitive and require a long ramp up time. The program crashes more than others on my computer.

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Online Map User

Reviewed on 2019-12-03

ArcGIS is really the only product that competes well in the outdoor map market for large amounts of data. There are some improvements we would like to see, but for a company that large, this might be unreasonable. You kind of get what you get, since they are the only show in town.

Pros

ESRI is the big dog when it comes to digital maps. We use these a lot to map our facilities and specifically our underground utilities. This is the best product on the market. The only competitor might be AutoDesk, but even that doesn't compete. It is a very functional product and can contain all the information we need.

Cons

Sometimes when you load some of the basemap images that software can really slow down. Also the zoom function for the online database interaction can be a little glitchy at times. A lot of these can be fixed by changing some of the detail settings, but that can take some digging to find. The company is so big, that if you have a question; you are not likely to get ahold of anyone. You are better off to look up videos on youtube or try posting questions on forums.

Jayaprakash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One-spot software platform for all the geo spatial dolutions

Reviewed on 2021-07-21

As a enterprise user of the ArcGIS for more than 6 years, i would recommend this product for enterprise level professional geo-spatial mapping and analysis tasks

Pros

Both Desktop and browser based ARCGIS software platform enable GIS users to create, edit, visualize, analyse and share their spatial contents effectively. Especially , recent versions of ArcGIS desktop versions (10.5 and above) consist of several spatial and statistical analysis tools which can simplyfy the spatial mapping and analysis in an easy manner. ArcGIS online is a web based solution for spatial mapping which contain almost all the features available in the desktop versions and it is great option for performing the tasks without installing any sofware.

Cons

Great features of the ArcGIS comes with considerable amount of cost. Cost is the only drawback in using this software

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't Live Without It

Reviewed on 2019-02-18

Pros

Unparalled mapping features. Without a doubt if someone needs to create a map, I'll suggest ESRI. The platform allows analysis of data, different data projections, and gives the user a lot of freedom if they can write scripts. I'm just a regular, simple user who has built maps and analyzed spatial data. The tools that can be used for analysis are among the best and as far as I know, unavailable elsewhere. ESRI has truly built an empire in spatial analysis,

Cons

Over the years, ArcGIS has become much more intuitive to use. The availability of spatial data, free or not, has become huge, The biggest problems I have now are the size of the program -- it takes forever to load...well, maybe 5 minutes (it's networked). The other problem I have is in understanding how to do things. There is a Help file, but I've found Google search engines far more helpful. The good news? ESRI has been around so long and lots of people know it so well, answers to common questions can be easily found.