RecDesk

4.6 (34)
Cloud-based recreation management software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(34)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support Software
4.9/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

34 Reviews

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Recreation Management Software I have ever used.

Reviewed on 2022-08-10

The customer service has been great and the software has been the most important part of sustaining growth in our Town programs.

Pros

I use the Point of Sale module for a park that has beach access and a snack shack. With using this feature we have tripled revenues over the last three years. It helps with inventory control in the snack shack, collecting daily admissions, and invoicing our cabin rentals.

The program registration module also is very user-friendly and has put 99% of my registrations on the customer side which relieves me of a lot of administrative time.

Cons

I wish the user side had more customizable features to have a unique website layout. It is still a clean layout.

Response from RecDesk

Thank you Joseph for your review! Please reach out to your CSM to review your website layout.

Jaime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

West Hartford

Reviewed on 2022-05-10

Overall, its a great system for registrations and scheduling. The customers find it very easy to use.

Pros

This software is by far the easiest software for new staff to learn quickly. With so many part timers, and a high level of seasonal and part time turnover, its important that the basic functions be easy to learn and figure out. Its the most intuitive software to use on an admin level, and our customers also find it to be easy to figure out. The basics are basic enough for new staff to figure out.

Cons

Once you become proficent in the basics, the more advanced functions are convoluted and could be cleaner.
We dislike the Export to Excel, would prefer a report that generates a PDF. In the export, it creates a list and you have to remove categories in excel, instead of being able to toggle the desired categories in the system before generating the report.
When data entering programs, we would like a report to confirm what was inputted instead of having to go through each tab individually.
When creating programs, its frustrating to have to keep saving on every tab and also every individual date that it added.
We want to do payment plans but it doesn't let you mass enroll into a payment plan, you have to individually set it up for each registration.
Once parents put in their own emergency forms, they cannot go back in and update the information without registering for another program.

Alternatives Considered

CivicRec

Reasons for Choosing RecDesk

RecTrac was very confusing and not web based.

Switched From

RecTrac

Reasons for Switching to RecDesk

price, customer service, RecDesk's willingness to hear us and meet our requests. It didn't feel like we had to fit their system, but more like they wanted to hear us and fit what we needed.
Shelley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MadCoRec

Reviewed on 2022-09-09

It has been great! Absolutely love RecDesk.

Pros

Financial based system and ease of creating programs, schedules, etc.

Cons

So far we have no complaints with any part of the software.

Alternatives Considered

SmartRec and CivicRec

Reasons for Choosing RecDesk

Ease of use. More of a financial system that we were looking for. Option to add a POS system.

Switched From

SportsEngine

Reasons for Switching to RecDesk

Cost, size of our department, ease of use.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Parks and Recreation Software Solution That's Sure to Help You Stay Organized!

Reviewed on 2018-08-06

RecDesk is a reliable and useful collection of tools that will help any Parks and Recreation Department provide the highest quality of service to the patrons of their community.

Pros

RecDesk is extremely helpful in bringing any Parks and Recreation department into the 21st-Century with a suite of services & tools that will help you come into the digital age. From online registrations, to great POS options, this program is an all-in-one solution to your managament woes!

Cons

While RecDesk will be there for you every step of the way to help you learn the in's and out's of their system, it might prove difficult for some to brave the learning curve the software asks for to fully take advantage of everyhting it has to offer.

Cynthia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RecDesk for State Parks & Recreation Agency

Reviewed on 2022-07-24

RecDesk prioritizes customer service and innovation. They understand parks and recreation agencies and the special challenges they face. We purchased RecDesk to fulfill one simple task - manage a food truck rental system for our state parks and recreation agency. Over our first three years with RecDesk, it's become an essential tool integrated into almost every facet of our agency.

Pros

From my earliest research into cloud-based solutions for our state parks and recreation agency, I was impressed by the customer support at RecDesk. Three years later, their support team remains outstanding - quick to respond, extremely helpful, very smart. The features of RecDesk that caused us to choose them included membership options, document management, calendar management, invoicing, internal task management, facility management, and many other features. RecDesk enabled us to modernize our parks and recreation agency, which had previously conducted most of its business on paper. I retired recently but know that the agency continues to use RecDesk and has extended their contract.

Cons

RecDesk makes regular upgrades to its software, so many of the features I'd hoped to see have already been instituted (and they're great about taking suggestions for future upgrades). The area where we requested the greatest number of upgrades was in the flex form area, because we used it so heavily for special use permits.

Alternatives Considered

VenueOps

Reasons for Switching to RecDesk

The membership feature and pricing.
Jeanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So glad we made the switch!

Reviewed on 2022-09-07

Our experience with RecDesk has been good from the beginning. The RecDesk staff will work with you to get everything set up. They guide you through the changes, etc, so you learn the system, instead of them doing it for you.

Pros

The ease of use is probably its best feature! There is a slight learning curve as with anything new, but practice makes perfect. This is pretty much a standalone software for use. We use it primarily for league scheduling, facility rentals, and minimal program registrations and POS. We are still discovering hidden features. The Customer Service is great!

Cons

>No toggle box for Tax Exempt Status. We would love to see a toggle box for Tax Exempt Status on the member accounts, so that we would not have to remove sales tax for each transaction.
>Trying to make cancel a reservation and credit the household account on a multi-reservation, multi-pament invoice can be a little tricky if you don't know which payment covers the reservation being cancelled.
One other thing I find a disadvantage is that too many capabilities are lumped together under the user roles.

Pam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Moving to RecDesk immediately improved customer usage.

Reviewed on 2022-09-12

Very good. Our customer satisfaction and retention is much higher. We're able to collect back-end data that helps to formulate our marketing tasks. Control for registration openings/closings is in place Customer service has been extremely reliable and quick to solve any issues.

Pros

The product was easy to use for staff who must create the forms, registration options, and update back-end requirements while the product was easy to use for the customer. We have grown to appreciate this software even more as upgrades have been made and new features added.

Cons

The only module that didn't fulfill our needs fully was the league module. We have shared our needs with RecDesk on this module, especially for double-header scheduling and allowing more parameters for team needs to help generate the schedule.

Megan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly software with great support

Reviewed on 2022-09-13

Great! It's userfriendly. I've recommended it to others.

Pros

Customer support is key and is great. We find things here and there that would make our navigation easier but for the most part having someone easily explain another way is great.

Cons

I have submitted many requests since we purchased in 2019, definitely look those up.
Pulling POS reports could be easier
Looking up someone by their first name only (not just exporting to excel)
Viewing someone's waivers from their profile would be better than having to find them in the Membership tab and option

Tara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RecDesk works perfectly for our Department's needs!

Reviewed on 2022-09-09

We have very pleased with the ease of this product, and our residents/ participants love the convenience and flexibility it has brought for registering for our department's programs and events.

Pros

It is easy to train staff on how to use it, if we have a question it's answered in a very timely manner, there is no cost for upgrades, and we get emails or pop-ups announcing new modules or upgrades.

Cons

When we move a participant to a new program their forms disappear, and for new participants they sometimes find the category selection on their "view" homepage to be a challenge.

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RecDesk is a time saver.

Reviewed on 2022-09-15

Our organization has had a wonderful overall experience with RecDesk. The customer service is outstanding. We began using RecDesk in July; we are saving on staff hours and paper usage.

Pros

We love the ease of use of the program, not only for our office but for the public.

Cons

The only item I would like to see improved at this time is with printing league schedules. The online copy shows the date and day of the week; the printed copy does not show the day of the week.

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product - Easy to use!

Reviewed on 2022-05-09

Excellent customer service.

Pros

I really liked how easy this software is to use. With very little training, a new employee can pick up its functionality and navigation easily.

Cons

We run after school programs and summer camps and there are some features in Camp Specific Software that don't work as well in Rec Desk. There are ways to get the information but its not as streamlined as a general program registration.

Alternatives Considered

Sportsman Web

Reasons for Switching to RecDesk

Affordability and easy of use. Some of the other vendors some steps were counter intuitive and took longer than seemed necessary
Lisa
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Makes my job so much easier!!

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Pros

This software allows our department to stay organized in a way we never could before. I love the fact that I can access it from my phone when I am outside at a ball field needing to check a schedule or book a practice for someone. It is so much easier for me to organize my leagues-- attaching birth certificates to our members, attaching concussion certification to our coaches, seeing how many participants have registered at any given time. The compliments are endless. The customer service is superb! Super quick to answer emails or phone calls. If there is something you want this software to do that it doesn't, it gets added to a list of possible future enhancements. Our department needed something added a couple of years ago. In less than a week, the enhancement was made just because we asked. We used the free trial when we first began and never looked back!

Response from RecDesk

Thanks Lisa - we love hearing this feedback and it validates the efforts we put forward every day to push platform forward every day to make life easier for our clients.

Heather
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Working with RecDesk has helped us streamline the registration process for our staff and...

Reviewed on 2017-12-06

Pros

The ease of use. It is intuitive to use, which makes training new staff super easy. It is also simple for our customers to use the community portal. The staff and the consumers love that once their household information is saved it makes registration simple and quick. Our staff loves everything about the software. We are constantly impressed with the new features that are added on a regular basis. Often we'll be wishing for an improvement on something and before we can ask about it they make it happen! We are so happy we chose RecDesk over it's competitors! They can't be beat for customer service and price!

Cons

The only thing I don't like about the software is people can create multiple profiles. I wish there was a way it recognized a person's email or mailing address and alerted them they already have a profile with us.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for the review Heather. We do have duplicate account detection that will do just what you ask - Maureen will contact you about activating it for your account!

Dani
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

2 Years with RecDesk

Reviewed on 2022-08-16

We’ve gone completely paper free in the last two years. The administration portion of my job has gone from 90% paperwork to 40% and most of that entails running reports.

Pros

RecDesk is very easy to use for a one person department—features are manageable, yet quick and easy enough to set a program up within 5 minutes and get it published.

Cons

I really, truly wish, that the registration process was easier for my residents. I’ve had many complaints that the process is too time consuming and they just call me to have me do it. I also wish that the program wouldn’t allow residents to register for more than one program at the same time scheduled.

Tina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customer service is top notch. Ease of use for staff and the public is great.

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Pros

The ease of use, easy reporting and the front side website. Customer service is top notch - I never have to wait for an answer, the staff are extremely easy to communicate with.

Cons

Limits on functionality for specialized programs and registrations. Having to do some transactions on 2 different websites (example: refunds have to be completed on recdesk and authorize.net)

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for review Tina and we've enjoyed serving Carteret County Parks and Recreation. We're always pushing the platform forward and will address your comment soon!

Brice
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple, great communication, wonderful response time

Reviewed on 2017-12-11

Simple structured registration software that gets the job done. Other registration software can be overwhelmingly (and unnecessarily) complex, both for the user and administrator.

Pros

Ease of use for both my department and users. Also, the response time is amazing when I have any questions about our community site.

Cons

I cannot add/update certain portions of our RecDesk website, such as pictures or drop down menus. It would be nice to be able to do these things myself, instead of having to request RecDesk to do them for me.

Response from RecDesk

Thank you Brice!

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall Incredibly Positive

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Makes our registration a breeze, it organizes bulk activity information in one location and is quick and easy to access.

Pros

Anyone can learn how to use it, most employees pick it up in less than an hour. We have various seasonal employees train to use it for us in the summer, they never have a problem.

Cons

Our web page editing is difficult, it was easier with a previous version. The link they provided works, but it just seems cumbersome to edit and change.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for great review Dan.

Johanna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Recdesk is the most user friendly software behind the scenes & for our customers.

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Pros

How easy it is to use, it took me less than a few days when I started the job to get the hang of it & it's very easy to go back & fix a mistake.

Cons

That we can't edit the webpage as much as we used to do. (i.e. flyers on the front page). We like to promote upcoming events & we can't do that anymore.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for great review Johanna. As you know, Mahomet was our very first customer back in 2006 and set us on our journey to being the Leader in Easy to Use Recreation Management Software.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy to use and learn for all Recreation applications

Reviewed on 2017-12-05

I mostly use the registration feature for this software.

Pros

I really like the ease of use. I train many interns/employees and they understand it very quickly. The price is very affordable compared to others on the market.

Cons

I wish it had more abilities to create reports is it can be a very valuable tool during budget season.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for review Scott. The new Activity Report in addition to more recently created extracts should help you meet some of those reporting needs!

Cleo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RecDesk Recommendation

Reviewed on 2022-05-16

We have had a very favorable experience. The sales and implementation teams have been proactive and thoughtful about all elements necessary for us to have a successful launch.

Pros

1. Ease of program set up
2. Website integration
3. Ability to upload forms and pertinent verification documents
4. User friendly customer facing interface

Cons

In time, we are hopeful to have the ability to have our logo displayed on the mobile site (it can be viewed on a desktop).

Alternatives Considered

CivicRec

Reasons for Switching to RecDesk

RecDesk offered a more mature solution with features that we believe provide the best possible experience for consumers.
Charlie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very happy, overall, with RecDesk.

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Great value for a great product

Pros

The value for what you get is incredible! We are also very pleased with the customer support. Second to none!

Cons

Some compatibility issues with operating platforms. Also, there are some issues with the cash drawer activation and receipt printer fro Windows.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for taking time to review our platform Charlie. Unfortunately, some older versions of Internet Explorer don't 'play well' with modern web applications ;)

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great company to deal with. Always available for technical support. Best thing is they listen...

Reviewed on 2017-08-21

It same so much time.

Pros

The way it has made registration so simple. It has all features needed for a small recreation department. (email, schedule maker, reports rosters and etc.)

Cons

The portal or website that public see is not very user friendly. The only other thing is if we could go back and use program code numbers again. I look at a lot of rec data programs I still think Re Desk is best.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for review Tommy!

Angie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Pros

On line registration is very user friendly and easy for our customers and ourselves.

Cons

The only con is one that any program would struggle with. We have 7 different municipalities within our school district and residents are charged a certain rate and non residents a different rate. We have to watch this very carefully so people are charged the correct rate

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for taking time to review our platform Valerie. We do offer the capability to upload a list of addresses for residency validation - contact your Customer Success Rep to learn more. It was released last year and you may not have seen the announcement!

Charles
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software with outstanding features.

Reviewed on 2017-09-05

Very beneficial software that has allowed staff more time to work on other projects, instead of having to worry about other issues this product solves.

Pros

The features offered with such a small price tag. Additionally, the customer service is second to none.

Cons

The compatibility with different operating systems. We have had some problems with the cash box actuation not working with Firefox or Google Chrome.

Response from RecDesk

Appreciate it Charlie.

Edward
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great company to work with

Reviewed on 2017-08-21

Pros

The system is easy to learn. New users can be comfortable with the system in a matter of days -
no long, drawn out process to learn, no numbering systems for programs, etc.

Cons

We have found the software to be very user-friendly and on the rare occasion that we have encountered issues, Customer Support has been outstanding.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks Ed - we've really enjoyed serving Wake Forest's needs these past 5 years.