HeavyBid

4.6 (504)
Write a Review!
Estimating software for the construction industry

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(504)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.8/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

504 Reviews

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HeavyBid

Reviewed on 2022-04-25

I love using HeavyBid. I use it daily and have no complaints about the software.

I love using HeavyBid. I use it daily and have no complaints about the software.

Pros

The ease of setting up your crews/equipment/materials is very beneficial in creating estimates. It is very easy to use and pick up on if new.

Cons

I'm honestly having a difficult time trying to think of a negative about HeavyBid.

Marshall
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 2013-05-06

Pipeline Utilities, Inc. is a General Contractor based in Raleigh, NC that specializes in undergroun...

Pipeline Utilities, Inc. is a General Contractor based in Raleigh, NC that specializes in underground utility installation, maintenance, rehabilitation, and repair. We work on a broad spectrum of types of underground utilities; from water & sewer to underground chilled water & steam lines.

Prior to HeavyBid, we were using spreadsheets written in Lotus and converted to Excel. We had used these particular spreadsheets since 1985. We began looking for an estimating software that would help us standardize our process and format while remaining flexible enough to handle the variety of work that we do.

We purchased HeavyBid in February of 2010 and have been using it since June 2010. The training and implementation that we received from HCSS has proved invaluable. We initially trained our two estimators, then six months later, we trained the rest of the project management staff. HeavyBid is easy to use, but it takes a little getting accustomed to. HCSS is a great resource. Their support staff is always available. If you forget how a certain function works, the person that answers the phone will be able to help you remember.

As far as benefits, we have been able to spend less time performing rote data entry and more time actually thinking critically about our estimates. In 2011, we were able to bid four major projects in two months time. Prior to us using HeavyBid, we would have been limited to only bidding one of them. There are many time-saving functions in HeavyBid, from the COPY routine, to the CODEBOOKS, that help Pipeline Utilities produce better, more detailed, estimates that are more quickly analyzed.

Rudy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Updates Needed

Reviewed on 2022-08-24

Pros

Support is excellent when using any HCSS software.

Cons

This software needs a total overhaul of its GUI. Why do I feel like I'm using Windows NT or 2000 in the year 2022??? It's unfathomable that this is the best product HCSS can put out. This isn't a free software. And don't get me started on how any time you hit the ESC key on your keyboard trying to close out of a cell (like in Excel) the window you are working on closes without warning thus deleting any unsaved progress - in windows you need to click save as opposed to other windows where it saves automatically as you tab throug...what's that about? Once you know how to navigate the program, it's fairly easy, but that doesn't negate the fact that the software is/feels archaic.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HCSS works great

Reviewed on 2017-05-11

Went to the training/convention for the first time this February. thought it was great. thanks!

Went to the training/convention for the first time this February. thought it was great. thanks!

Pros

I like the quote class system. It's handy to input info as it comes in and compare with others. handy.

Cons

On occasion as I pull items from my codebook in the select bidtiem screen, the description comes across but my activities do not. if I tab through all the cells it seems to work.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Bye Spreadsheets, Hello Heavy Bid

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

I like the ease of use with Heavy Bid. An estimator can be as detailed or as generic as he wants to be. You have the ability to breakdown multiple activities and phases within one bid item. The audit checks help identify mistakes. The ease of changing mass amounts of data within the estimate is easy. From tracking DBE dollars to comparing subcontractor and supplier quotes, everything is a the tip of your fingers. You can get a report for just about anything in the estimate. The ability to build in automation is a huge time saver and maintains consistency within your organization

Cons

Hard question to answer. Once you buy the product, HCSS is on your team. Their support group is fantastic. I don't have any dislikes

Douglas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HeavyBid: the best estimating software on the market.

Reviewed on 2017-01-13

Great product with even better support. This is the best software we use. We have been using this...

Great product with even better support. This is the best software we use. We have been using this product for over 20 years. HCSS consults with its clients to improve the product. They also have an annual user group meeting that is one of the best educational events in construction to attend.

Pros

It is adaptable to use for any-kind of Construction Estimating.

Cons

Does not provide any take-off products.

Travis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS heavy bid is the best estimating software I've used in 22 years.

Reviewed on 2017-07-20

I would and have recommended this software to others.

I would and have recommended this software to others.

Pros

Customer support is amazing. There is always someone there to receive my calls at any time and on any day.

Cons

So expansive it's hard to learn all the tricks. It's hard to transfer all the tricks I've learned to coworkers but we have weekly trainings to share information.

Juan Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bidding with Confidence on Leaner Timees

Reviewed on 2016-02-18

Pros

I like that you have a great control over all the costs involved with entering all aspects of your bid, and consolidate source quotations plus revise quickly critical mark-up, schedulling and productivity scenarios to bid confidently based on your entries.

Cons

It's a bit of a steep learn curve at the very beginning, it's very dependent on a good network connection in order to process quickly, sometimes can be affected by overall bandwidth available from corporate server during peak times, I can only see a passive filtered generated list of multiple bids to review their current status, closing dates, missing steps or things that would assist to coordinate a prioritiezed sequence to close these bids.

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Estimating Software on the Market

Reviewed on 2018-11-02

Pros

- Has a plethora of features which create an easy bidding process
- Can setup local or global resource libraries to allow a job-specific library with our general materials
- Easy to run all reports of all different kinds and easy to read

Cons

- Can be a bit buggy when within an activity, which may force it to crash. This is primarily because of user error though and you learn ways to stop this from happening.

Dustin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gets the job done correctly

Reviewed on 2018-11-27

Pros

Heavy Bid gives you a lot of flexibility for determining where to put costs and revenue. Overruns/Underruns are handled with ease.

Cons

This is a steep learning curve for heavybid however, their support is world class. No waiting and instant help.

Tara
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2017-09-21

Pros

Great features. HCSS offers wonderful classes at the UGM each year to make using products easier. Great for use on projects of any size.

Cons

Start up can be slow. It takes some time to use the product to its potential and integrate all the software together.

Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS is the bomb.com

Reviewed on 2017-05-18

Pros

Allows you to customize your bids to your liking. Bids can be streamlined for customers and/or you can copy what the owner has set up.

Cons

THE SELECT BID ITEMS FEATURE NEVER WORKS. EVERY TIME I TRY TO ADD BID ITEMS THROUGH THE SELECT BID ITEMS IT DOESN'T WORK!

doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavy Bid is great

Reviewed on 2018-07-12

Pros

Very functional. Can modify bids very easily and create and remove bid files very quickly. Customer service is great.

Cons

The quote form (I believe Crystal reports) loads and closes very slowly. Calculation routines are complicated

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HeavyJob & HeavyBid Review

Reviewed on 2015-03-25

Pros

I enjoy the ease of use with this product. Although, there is a bit of a learning curve once you get the hang of the software everything comes naturally. I can hop between each program seamlessly to pull reports, gather information, review time, and finish estimating tasks. We use both HeavyJob and HeavyBid for our work and wouldn't consider anything else. Customer service is also top notch and we never have to wait on hold if we have a phone question.

Cons

No complaints about the software or vendor. There are some minor technical things I would like to see addressed in the future but they are mostly minor.

justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software for estimators and construction managers

Reviewed on 2018-08-14

Pros

Insanely powerful program. The cost database from previous jobs make estimating far easier when old numbers are at your fingertips. Great customer service.

Cons

Takes a while to understand program and use features effectively. Once the ins and outs are learned, the program becomes intuitive.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HeavyBid Rocks

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

HCSS prides itself on innovation and customer service. They are constantly updating their products to keep up with modern technology and the changing construction environment. HeavyBid makes the estimating process streamlined and much more effecient. It helps us bid a lot more work.

Cons

There is not much to dislike about HeavyBid. The only negative that I can think of is that the software (although user friendly) can be very complicated. But that is where their helpful customer service comes to the rescue to help you out.

Corey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use program with lots of customizability

Reviewed on 2017-05-18

Pros

I like how easy it is to use. With master estimates, it is easy to customize the software to industry needs.

Cons

The reports are a bit complicated for first time users. Not all of them are used either but it just takes practice to know what is needed.

Allison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Estimating Software for Heavy Civil Bidding

Reviewed on 2018-03-30

Pros

The software is easy to use once you get familiar with the system. The integration with Vista by Viewpoint is extremely helpful, as that is the Construction Software we use. Great reports to get data that you need. Reports help with the buyout process as well. Considering implementing HCSS Heavy Job at our company for tracking in the field. I love that you can get production requirements from direct cost report to the guys in the field.

Cons

Takes a little time to get familiar, but then very easy to use. It seems a little overwhelming at first.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Learning experience but can't imagine estimating without it

Reviewed on 2016-02-18

Pros

Customer support is 2nd to none. Phone calls answered in quickly and responses have always been correct. Techs are knowlegable and personable and will explain what was wrong and what had to be done to correct the problem(s) which are typically a user problem not a software problem.

Cons

That I don't know how to use everything that it offers nor would I need to. What I least like about HCSS is that it's not closer to home (Maryland).

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Have used the product for estimating for the last 10+ years.

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

The software is easy to use and the support is very knowledgable. HCSS listens to it's customers and implements changes they are requesting in updates to their product.

Cons

There is not too much I dislike about the product. At points it would be nice to have a better laid out users manual for the program we utilize to help some of the newer estimators understand the product more ithout having to attend training.

Corey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavybid review by grading contractor

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

heavybid is the easiest and most user friendly estimating software that i have ever used. Heavybid can be used by any employee with very little training.

Cons

cant speak of any problems or concerns we have had with the project. we have used it for numerous years and if we have had any problem it has been handled quickly and professionally. no problems to speak of and cant think of any problems in the near future

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

The software is a great time savers. Being able to integrat Heavy Bid, Heavy job and the Saftey system is nice. Great customer service and timely help with any issues. I also like the estimate check features to check for errors and missing costs. Being able to copy from previous estimates is also a great time saver.

Cons

New copy function does not pull in resource plugs from master list

Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavy job is a great product

Reviewed on 2016-02-18

Pros

The best part about Heavy Job and HCSS is the customer service. They are very quick to solve any issue. They also listen to there customers to help improve the product.

Cons

I dont know that there is anything that i dont really like about HCSS. I know that they cant make a product that is great for everyone. I guess they do not keep up on the android mobile app as much as the IOS.

kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavy Job Exprience

Reviewed on 2016-02-18

Pros

the product is very user friendly, offers multiple options to make almost all aspects of your easier. the tech support is second to none and answers questions quickly and accurately.

Cons

i have very few complaints, but if i have to come up wit a downfall it is HCSS's willingness to listen and try to implement too many requests. these requests sometimes burden the system.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our experience has been very good

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

The field and mobile capabilities of heavy job makes us more efficient. Foreman and Superintendents are able to track time, submit time etc. from the field without having to go into the office. Things are timely!

Cons

Having the ability to interface into our back office system is very important. Having a propietary database makes this a bit more difficult.