HeavyBid

4.6 (503)
Estimating software for the construction industry

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(503)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.8/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

503 Reviews

ERIK
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS Heavybid is the best product on the market.

Reviewed on 12/7/2017

Look no further, write the check.

Pros

The power of the system, the ability to manipulate and quickly adjust pricing. Customer support is un-stumpable. The ability to import data from previous bids makes the estimating process fast and accurate.

Cons

As with anything this powerful, you must dedicate the time to learn the system. The ideal program is to bring in a trainer once a month for 6 months to grow and groom the new user.

Joy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Timecard, material and equipment tracking

Reviewed on 8/15/2019

With heavy job, we were able to transition our export files to a new payroll system when we made a change. Customer service was excellent at guiding us through the process.

Pros

This software is so easy to set-up, from adding employees, job classifications, to merging employees into the job, to exporting timecards. The setup flow just make sense. Works great for those who have crews out in the field, foremen can use their tablets to record time, material and equipment used on the job and submit. No more paper time cards to do manual entry with.

Cons

This software has "user licenses" you have to buy, so at times they may all be used by other users in the company. It does allow you to "boot" them off, but you better make sure they are not in the middle of something if you do or they will lose the information. A quick phone call to ask if they can log out is best.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The product gets the job done

Reviewed on 2/18/2016

Pros

The support team is always very helpful with any questions and or problems. When bidding large DOT projects we can bring the crews in with the activity and it saves an enormous amount of time by not having to building your crew for each activity.

Cons

I do not like the amount of clicks that is required to create an estimate. I did see some improvement when modify the crews for the new version we can now do it without clicking on modify crew, then selecting the equipment and or operator that we want to change.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Estimating Software I've Ever Used

Reviewed on 9/6/2016

Pros

I love how you can preload your labor and equipment cost into the system and only allow certain people to adjust them as union wages go up or inflation hits. This adds to the accuracy of your estimates. I also like how you can pull in quotes from subcontractors and these are stored on the system. The integration to HeavyJob is seamless. This makes bidding the job and managing the budget simple and efficient. The customer support line is extremely useful.

Cons

It's very expensive and it takes a little while to get set up and can be a little frustrating at first. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes a lot easier and much more efficient and accurate than an Excel sheet.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IT Manager - Review

Reviewed on 7/28/2014

Pros

As a product, HeavyBid makes estimating quick and accurate. Our estimators' success rate is quite impressive, and I'm sure they're very thankful to have the assistance of a powerful tool. As a vendor, HCSS has the best support and customer relations around, hands down. Their support is one of the best because they are willing to take on any issue and spend as much time as possible to resolve it. Unlike many other vendors I have worked with, they don’t require additional costs for remote support or training during a support session. Their answer rate is very quick, usually only taking 10 minutes to get someone on the phone. Their support staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Their after-hours support is equally impressive. I would highly recommend them based on their support alone.

Cons

They have always resolved any gripes or dislikes I may have had in the past by listening to customer feedback, improving with updates, or through support calls.

Travis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS heavy bid is the best estimating software I've used in 22 years.

Reviewed on 7/20/2017

I would and have recommended this software to others.

Pros

Customer support is amazing. There is always someone there to receive my calls at any time and on any day.

Cons

So expansive it's hard to learn all the tricks. It's hard to transfer all the tricks I've learned to coworkers but we have weekly trainings to share information.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS HeavyBid is Powerful and Effective

Reviewed on 7/18/2014

Pros

There is no end to the amount of detail you can get simply into a bid with HeavyBid. Once you figure one part of a project, you never have to do it again on future bids. Once you build an activity, it can be used as a starting point for future work and modified quickly. Once you set up labor, equipment, material, crews, etc. in the system, it is quick, simple, and precise. On the fly changes are easy to make, and I can be sure that my costs are covered.

Being on the lower end as far as size contractors who use HeavyBid, i have never felt that i am treated as less important to HCSS than their largest user. HCSS has always been a delight to deal with and I consider them to be an important partner in our business. And they make us feel important to them.

Cons

The only thing that would make me like it better would be if it were free. But the constant improvements and excellent support make ownership costs easy to justify.

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Estimating Software on the Market

Reviewed on 11/2/2018

Pros

- Has a plethora of features which create an easy bidding process
- Can setup local or global resource libraries to allow a job-specific library with our general materials
- Easy to run all reports of all different kinds and easy to read

Cons

- Can be a bit buggy when within an activity, which may force it to crash. This is primarily because of user error though and you learn ways to stop this from happening.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

working with Heavy Bid

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

Heavy Bid contains every way necessary to build a complete bid. The multiple methods allow the user to approach the solution from different angles to come up with a complete, accurate, competitive proposal.

Cons

There are very few dislikes. It has a simple interface but which has at times complex means to a solution. It is not the perfect software. There are a few functions which wcould use enhancement such as vendor solicitation and document control.

Rudy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Updates Needed

Reviewed on 8/24/2022

Pros

Support is excellent when using any HCSS software.

Cons

This software needs a total overhaul of its GUI. Why do I feel like I'm using Windows NT or 2000 in the year 2022??? It's unfathomable that this is the best product HCSS can put out. This isn't a free software. And don't get me started on how any time you hit the ESC key on your keyboard trying to close out of a cell (like in Excel) the window you are working on closes without warning thus deleting any unsaved progress - in windows you need to click save as opposed to other windows where it saves automatically as you tab throug...what's that about? Once you know how to navigate the program, it's fairly easy, but that doesn't negate the fact that the software is/feels archaic.

Juan Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bidding with Confidence on Leaner Timees

Reviewed on 2/18/2016

Pros

I like that you have a great control over all the costs involved with entering all aspects of your bid, and consolidate source quotations plus revise quickly critical mark-up, schedulling and productivity scenarios to bid confidently based on your entries.

Cons

It's a bit of a steep learn curve at the very beginning, it's very dependent on a good network connection in order to process quickly, sometimes can be affected by overall bandwidth available from corporate server during peak times, I can only see a passive filtered generated list of multiple bids to review their current status, closing dates, missing steps or things that would assist to coordinate a prioritiezed sequence to close these bids.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HCSS works great

Reviewed on 5/11/2017

Went to the training/convention for the first time this February. thought it was great. thanks!

Pros

I like the quote class system. It's handy to input info as it comes in and compare with others. handy.

Cons

On occasion as I pull items from my codebook in the select bidtiem screen, the description comes across but my activities do not. if I tab through all the cells it seems to work.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

Heavy Job simultaniously allows us to perform our daily payroll requirements while giving us instant feedback on the productivity of our crews. Double entry of employee payroll hours is eliminated with the exporting of Heavy Job information directly into our Accounting software. It saves us time and gives us immediate information on our daily productivity,

Cons

Nothing not to like about the vendor of this product (HCSS). They have the best technical support of any company in the software field. Calls to the support helpline are answered by knowledgible staff members and our problems are typically addressed within a few minutes. Great Technical support!!

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HeavyBid Rocks

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

HCSS prides itself on innovation and customer service. They are constantly updating their products to keep up with modern technology and the changing construction environment. HeavyBid makes the estimating process streamlined and much more effecient. It helps us bid a lot more work.

Cons

There is not much to dislike about HeavyBid. The only negative that I can think of is that the software (although user friendly) can be very complicated. But that is where their helpful customer service comes to the rescue to help you out.

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good tool, but a bit dated

Reviewed on 12/17/2021

Overall it is a useful product. Hopefully the web version is a bit smoother to use.

Pros

The desktop app of Heavybid is a powerful tool.

Cons

Can be buggy at times and crash. Takes some time to figure out and has a very old feel.

Tara
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 9/21/2017

Pros

Great features. HCSS offers wonderful classes at the UGM each year to make using products easier. Great for use on projects of any size.

Cons

Start up can be slow. It takes some time to use the product to its potential and integrate all the software together.

Dylan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product for the Industry

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

The codebooks are very helpful if setup correctly. Being able to bring in activities with a states standard item code speeds the bidding process up tremendously. Also, Support is second to none. Call anytime and someone will be there immediately to help. They wont get off the phone until the problem is resolved.

Cons

Some very minor tweeks might need to be changed, but if you know what they are they can avoid them. However, if you do make the mistake, you can still find it in the end under the Estimate Review.

JT
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Heavyjob- Worth the Grind

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

Before coming to this event in Houston I liked how intuiitive the HeavyJob software is. It allows for easy production tracking and therefore easy field adjustments that can benefit the individual job, the company, and the future jobs within the company based on information gleaned from the results of the tweaks. After attending this event HCSS has proven to be highly nowledgable of their own product and ready to work to make it even better.

Cons

The lack of easy transition from not usong the software to using the software for primarily field employees has proven challenging. Also there is not a great way to quickly take copies of field tickets and incorporate them into a pdf of daily reports.

Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have not had an opportunity to find this much detail in any estimating platform in over 20...

Reviewed on 8/21/2018

I would highly recommend this to any business that is into production estimating. Once you are set up, and ready to go you can estimate a lot of work using the stored information quickly.

Pros

The ability for me to create an estimate that can be handed off to a project manager that doesn't have him asking me 100 questions. It is all there for them and helps them get the project started off right.

Cons

There is a fair amount of learning that goes into it, and if you are not careful about the set up you can really have problems that multiply through the estimate.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Learning experience but can't imagine estimating without it

Reviewed on 2/18/2016

Pros

Customer support is 2nd to none. Phone calls answered in quickly and responses have always been correct. Techs are knowlegable and personable and will explain what was wrong and what had to be done to correct the problem(s) which are typically a user problem not a software problem.

Cons

That I don't know how to use everything that it offers nor would I need to. What I least like about HCSS is that it's not closer to home (Maryland).

Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavy job is a great product

Reviewed on 2/18/2016

Pros

The best part about Heavy Job and HCSS is the customer service. They are very quick to solve any issue. They also listen to there customers to help improve the product.

Cons

I dont know that there is anything that i dont really like about HCSS. I know that they cant make a product that is great for everyone. I guess they do not keep up on the android mobile app as much as the IOS.

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavy Bid Review

Reviewed on 2/18/2016

Pros

Flexibility and ability to work with diverse accounting systems. The BIG THING is the product support which is available 24/7 and in English. What's more the problem is resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

Some times it is a bit overwhelming. But usually I can work through with support to understand and apply. There are many features that the software can do but sometimes it's had to actually use them all.

Allison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Estimating Software for Heavy Civil Bidding

Reviewed on 3/30/2018

Pros

The software is easy to use once you get familiar with the system. The integration with Vista by Viewpoint is extremely helpful, as that is the Construction Software we use. Great reports to get data that you need. Reports help with the buyout process as well. Considering implementing HCSS Heavy Job at our company for tracking in the field. I love that you can get production requirements from direct cost report to the guys in the field.

Cons

Takes a little time to get familiar, but then very easy to use. It seems a little overwhelming at first.

sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great product suite

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

great way to submit electronic time cards and production quantities / materials used. the new mobile app release with it's job analysis is great - you can quickly see how jobs are doing in the field instantly

Cons

there's not much not to like... I wish the export of production quantities to timberline worked - it's causing us to manually enter quantities into accounting software

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heavy Bid is Awesome!

Reviewed on 2/17/2016

Pros

The flexibility it allows the estimator. Reporting!

Cons

That it is in Houston and not San Francisco. It would be great to have some localized offices in major cities that have increased access to training. Trainers are usually pretty busy and it can be difficult to get the correct dates lined up. If there were maybe a few more trainers that would be great