HeavyBid

4.6 (503)
Estimating software for the construction industry

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(503)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.8/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

503 Reviews

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best estimating software I’ve used

Reviewed on 2019-04-20

Pros

Honestly i cant say there is anything i did not like about this software. Makes your life a whole lot easier and helps you dial in your profit on projects and you get things set up and get some history in the system.

Cons

I can’t really think of anything i didn’t like. Great product.

Lou
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have experience with other software estimating systems.

Reviewed on 2022-08-08

I have had 15 plus years experience setting up Heavy bid with two different companies. I changed jobs to another company that had Sharpesoft. Support was awful. When ODOT and PENNDOT changed the electronic formatting a few years ago, it was very frustrating because Sharpesoft didn't keep up. It was a nightmare. I did change companies once again & I am a very happy user of HCSS Heavy bid.

Pros

Easy to incorporate to the type of work you do. It is only limited to your imagination.

Cons

I think the review can be updated to be easier to see what has been reviewed. I talked about it at our users meeting in Houston earlier this year. I was told it has been brought up and the software engineers are looking into it. That is a great thing with HCSS..... taking users comments and making the software better.

Rudy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Updates Needed

Reviewed on 2022-08-24

Pros

Support is excellent when using any HCSS software.

Cons

This software needs a total overhaul of its GUI. Why do I feel like I'm using Windows NT or 2000 in the year 2022??? It's unfathomable that this is the best product HCSS can put out. This isn't a free software. And don't get me started on how any time you hit the ESC key on your keyboard trying to close out of a cell (like in Excel) the window you are working on closes without warning thus deleting any unsaved progress - in windows you need to click save as opposed to other windows where it saves automatically as you tab throug...what's that about? Once you know how to navigate the program, it's fairly easy, but that doesn't negate the fact that the software is/feels archaic.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Missing helpful additional feature

Reviewed on 2022-08-25

Estimating Projects

Pros

Sub Total Feature, Equipment Set Up, Merge Set UpItems

Cons

Not able to highlight or color headings; Equipment , Local Materials

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best option.

Reviewed on 2018-11-27

Love it. Great customer service. It can be customized to integrate with all your other software.

Pros

HCSS's support is the best I have ever delt with. Not only do they offer custom programming to taylor the users tools and reports, but they always answer the phone right away. No machines you the first person that picks up the phone can usually help you with whatever issue or question you have.

Cons

Clunky reporting with the mobile app. The only thing that is kind of frustrating is the reporting capabilities from and administrative side, but whatever reports you are unable to generate as a customer, they will be able to generate for you on their end.

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HeavyBid

Reviewed on 2022-04-25

I love using HeavyBid. I use it daily and have no complaints about the software.

Pros

The ease of setting up your crews/equipment/materials is very beneficial in creating estimates. It is very easy to use and pick up on if new.

Cons

I'm honestly having a difficult time trying to think of a negative about HeavyBid.

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good tool, but a bit dated

Reviewed on 2021-12-17

Overall it is a useful product. Hopefully the web version is a bit smoother to use.

Pros

The desktop app of Heavybid is a powerful tool.

Cons

Can be buggy at times and crash. Takes some time to figure out and has a very old feel.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Heavy Bid - Expensive but worth it

Reviewed on 2019-02-12

HeavyBid works well for us and we have no plans of changing. We like the concurrent licensing vs a per user model. It isnt cheap, but it is at least manageable.

Pros

HeavyBid software makes quoting large construction jobs manageable. with the import function we are able to get accurate costs and estimates for projects that we bid.

Cons

System works good even though it looks like it was developed 10 years ago and hasn't gotten a facelift...but it works.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Works Good but Could Use Some Improvements

Reviewed on 2018-03-30

our bids seem to be tighter and its a good tool to be able to track price escalations throughout the years.

Pros

Setting up a bid is intuitive and I like that the different components 'talk' to each other. Copying estimates and deleting information are also easy.

Cons

some of the character limitations are ridiculous and entering bid prices for comparison is not as intuitive as it could be.

J Mickey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Used daily, Powerful tool

Reviewed on 2018-11-14

This is an absolute gift of a service provided by HCSS. Overall, I've yet to see a product that equates to HeavyBid.

Pros

The ability to organize your bid into as much detail as your can support. The software allows you to update a cost / historic cost database to be used in future bids.

Cons

Much like my complaints about HeavyJob, the software itself has a pretty poor user interface. If you spend enough time knowing where to look you'll understand the software but I do with it was easier to navigate and customizable.

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Estimating Software in the World!

Reviewed on 2014-07-17

Pros

Product: This is a very fast, user-friendly, automated estimating and bidding system that is particularly effective for Unit-Price contracts. It allows quick creation of accurate estimates, accommodates variations in quantities, allows risk evaluation on an item-by-item basis, and provides the means to price individual bid items so that they reflect the bidder's assessments of quantity, value, and risk for each item.

Vendor: HCSS sets the standard for customer support. There is no software company anywhere, of any type, with whom I have had contact that comes even close to the responsiveness and excellence of HCSS' technical support. It is extremely rare that a call is not answered before the third ring by a human who understands the problem (no matter how arcane) and who has the right answer, without sending me to a second- or third-level technician. The professionalism and expertise of the Technical Support team are near-perfect. I tell people whom I am training that if they get stuck on a problem for more than three minutes, they should call Tech Support. The person who answers will have the problem solved, and the estimator will be back in production nearly instantaneously.

Cons

There is little to dislike in a system that works so well and with a technical support team that is so knowledgeable. HCSS takes suggestions from its users and implements them in new releases of the software so that the system is always cutting-edge and fulfills its users' expectations. The system seems expensive to purchase and maintain, at least to the non-using evaluator, but the confidence in the accuracy of the estimate, the outstanding technical support, and the continuous improvement of the software will provide confidence that offsets cost. One caught and corrected mistake that that would have gone unnoticed without HeavyBid's analysis tools, could pay for a dozen licenses for years.

Joy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Timecard, material and equipment tracking

Reviewed on 2019-08-15

With heavy job, we were able to transition our export files to a new payroll system when we made a change. Customer service was excellent at guiding us through the process.

Pros

This software is so easy to set-up, from adding employees, job classifications, to merging employees into the job, to exporting timecards. The setup flow just make sense. Works great for those who have crews out in the field, foremen can use their tablets to record time, material and equipment used on the job and submit. No more paper time cards to do manual entry with.

Cons

This software has "user licenses" you have to buy, so at times they may all be used by other users in the company. It does allow you to "boot" them off, but you better make sure they are not in the middle of something if you do or they will lose the information. A quick phone call to ask if they can log out is best.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The BEST Estimating Software

Reviewed on 2016-10-28

I have been a HeavyBid Advanced user for over 14 years now and its amazing to see how far this small company from Texas has come. I still remember when we ordered the software and a representative from the company came to our main office in CT and over the course of 2 days went over everything from setting up labor, benefits, burden, equipment, crews, bid items (manual entry and DOT import), etc. to showing us how to enter activities into bid items and actually creating an estimate. Such a great overall experience from the early stages of implementation to the countless support center calls at all hours of the day and night before a bid (which were always answered) up to the present day where all of the above is still true today.

Pros

Unmatched customer support, ease of use and the ecosystem of programs/applications on multiple platforms that integrate perfectly with each other and will only grow with your company.

Cons

Recently I purchased an iPad Pro 12.9" pretty much for the sole purpose of using a handfull of apps such as Projectwise, Bluebeam Revu and HeavyBid Mobile. Well, after emailing HCSS Support I find out that HeavyBid Mobile is no longer supported. I was looking forward to trying something different with HeavyBid on the go, even if it wasn't the full blown version.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS Review

Reviewed on 2016-01-02

Pros

I have used this system since the DOS days. Todays system and its various styles of reports provide us with quick turn around times in responding to our clients needs. The 24 hour support service is no joke. We introduce HCSS to clients all over the world and with time zone differences of 6 to 13 hours we have called upon theses services at 1 AM and 3AM when we have proposals due in Qatar, Dubai and Zurich.

Cons

The 24 hour service that is so good is also frustrating. Because of HCSS's commitments to its client base our commitments to our clients sometimes suffers as it appears that the 24 hour hot line only travels with one HCSS representative For some reason it always happens to our firm. You need to be able to answer our calls so we can respond and answer our client's issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS Review

Reviewed on 2019-07-23

Overall, HCSS is the best estimating software on the market. Reason why everyone uses it. But it is expensive, and some smaller companies have trouble justifying cost.

Pros

HCSS is a very powerful and easy to learn estimating program. Many companies use this software which makes integrating with partnering companies very easy. Endless resources and crew construction abilities. Provides drop down or key stroke options to enter data. Gives many different ways to view costs and code costs.

Cons

Cons are the limitations on "child" items underneath the parent. Only 3 are allowed as compared to other competing softwares. Also the reports are limited in what is shown.

Dustin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS Heavy Bid is the Heavy Lifter for Highway Construction

Reviewed on 2017-08-08

HCSS Heavy Bid is one of the most widely used estimating software for heavy-civil construction.

Pros

The advance calculation routines and checks allow me to have confidence in my costing and pricing. The escalation features is time saver, especially at bid time when final scheduling is provided.

HCSS customer service is the best. Never been on hold or transferred. Immediate connection to a friendly person who can help.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve, however, they host user group meeting that can bring beginners up to speed quickly.

Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Only Longtime Users Can Possibly Like HeavyBid

Reviewed on 2020-11-27

HeavyBid is YEARS (perhaps decades) behind other platforms, especially InEight. HCSS needs to rewrite the entire platform in order to be relevant again.

Pros

Customer support is good. It has to be because HeavyBid itself is archaic.

Cons

1. Anything in bulk. Example: Cannot even “non-add” multiple activities. Rather, you must click on one at a time and then click the “non-additive” radio button on each and every activity. Such limitations are in all areas of the software.

2. Sorting and organizing is essentially non-existent. This aspect of HeavyBid is one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever encountered on any software of any kind. This is especially frustrating on bids with child and grandchild bid items requiring reorganization. In resource setup registers, there is no way to sort. Material lists can be quite large and HeavyBid offers no way to sort this data. Unbelievable that this is the case in 2020.

API integrations are not even on the table because of the old architecture of HeavyBid.

It seems that those giving HeavyBid good reviews have not been exposed to other platforms. HeavyBid is an outdated software that needs to be completed rewritten to stay relevant.

I have been a user of the following estimating software platforms TPL, B2W, InEight Estimate, HeavyBid.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HeavyBid

Reviewed on 2017-12-12

Like any software it isn't what you are used to, but, once you understand HCSS software (HeavyBid & HeavyJob) it is extremely helpful to managing work both prior during bids, during, and after as a resource for labor rates etc.

Pros

Great for CIVIL work. Lots of helpful shortcuts, like the fact it automatically pins most recent jobs to the main screen (you can also pin bids manually to always be on that screen). HCSS doesn't just hire techs to go around and tech the software they hire real construction professionals that have experience in both the software and industry which is very helpful.

Cons

Worst part about the software is the error sounds it makes when you forget to fill out a field and try to move onto a new task (that can be shut off). Great for both new bids and pricing COR work and managing budgets (with the help of HeavyJob in the field)

dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I used Heavy Bid regularly for almost 6 years and it was great.

Reviewed on 2018-05-01

i makes bids more accurate and consistent

Pros

It was the first bidding software that I ever used and it seemed very intimidating at first but it was very simple to get the hang of after a very short period of time. Their live help line is amazing and they are so good at helping an new and seasoned user.

Cons

You can only have so many administrators and i worked in a very large office so if something needed changed as far as rates or crews it wasn't always convenient to get it changed

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Estimating Software I've Ever Used

Reviewed on 2016-09-06

Pros

I love how you can preload your labor and equipment cost into the system and only allow certain people to adjust them as union wages go up or inflation hits. This adds to the accuracy of your estimates. I also like how you can pull in quotes from subcontractors and these are stored on the system. The integration to HeavyJob is seamless. This makes bidding the job and managing the budget simple and efficient. The customer support line is extremely useful.

Cons

It's very expensive and it takes a little while to get set up and can be a little frustrating at first. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes a lot easier and much more efficient and accurate than an Excel sheet.

Douglas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HeavyBid: the best estimating software on the market.

Reviewed on 2017-01-13

Great product with even better support. This is the best software we use. We have been using this product for over 20 years. HCSS consults with its clients to improve the product. They also have an annual user group meeting that is one of the best educational events in construction to attend.

Pros

It is adaptable to use for any-kind of Construction Estimating.

Cons

Does not provide any take-off products.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HeavyJob & HeavyBid Review

Reviewed on 2015-03-25

Pros

I enjoy the ease of use with this product. Although, there is a bit of a learning curve once you get the hang of the software everything comes naturally. I can hop between each program seamlessly to pull reports, gather information, review time, and finish estimating tasks. We use both HeavyJob and HeavyBid for our work and wouldn't consider anything else. Customer service is also top notch and we never have to wait on hold if we have a phone question.

Cons

No complaints about the software or vendor. There are some minor technical things I would like to see addressed in the future but they are mostly minor.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Bye Spreadsheets, Hello Heavy Bid

Reviewed on 2016-02-17

Pros

I like the ease of use with Heavy Bid. An estimator can be as detailed or as generic as he wants to be. You have the ability to breakdown multiple activities and phases within one bid item. The audit checks help identify mistakes. The ease of changing mass amounts of data within the estimate is easy. From tracking DBE dollars to comparing subcontractor and supplier quotes, everything is a the tip of your fingers. You can get a report for just about anything in the estimate. The ability to build in automation is a huge time saver and maintains consistency within your organization

Cons

Hard question to answer. Once you buy the product, HCSS is on your team. Their support group is fantastic. I don't have any dislikes

ERIK
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HCSS Heavybid is the best product on the market.

Reviewed on 2017-12-07

Look no further, write the check.

Pros

The power of the system, the ability to manipulate and quickly adjust pricing. Customer support is un-stumpable. The ability to import data from previous bids makes the estimating process fast and accurate.

Cons

As with anything this powerful, you must dedicate the time to learn the system. The ideal program is to bring in a trainer once a month for 6 months to grow and groom the new user.

Juan Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bidding with Confidence on Leaner Timees

Reviewed on 2016-02-18

Pros

I like that you have a great control over all the costs involved with entering all aspects of your bid, and consolidate source quotations plus revise quickly critical mark-up, schedulling and productivity scenarios to bid confidently based on your entries.

Cons

It's a bit of a steep learn curve at the very beginning, it's very dependent on a good network connection in order to process quickly, sometimes can be affected by overall bandwidth available from corporate server during peak times, I can only see a passive filtered generated list of multiple bids to review their current status, closing dates, missing steps or things that would assist to coordinate a prioritiezed sequence to close these bids.