38 reviews
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.6
95% recommended this app
38 reviews
Dot R.
Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Vitrium is totally working for us and has taken our operations up a level

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 9/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The global pandemic plummeted us into the online space and we urgently needed to address distributing content. Our priority is peace of mind knowing people have got what we need them to have rather than being ferociously restrictive about every single item of content.

The makeshift method we previously used gave us no way of proving what people had received, and we had very little control. Now we make our course resources accessible via the portal before, and up to 14 days after each course, so delegates can print off, download or whatever they want (or whatever we allow), then are deactivated as users from our system. This means we can recycle user 'seats' and work within the budget of our user allocations.

Being based in UK, although we sell globally, a significant majority of our customers are UK NHS Trusts which have stringent security settings. Previously we had a lot of problems with NHS delegates not being able to access their materials. These problems are now resolved thankfully.

Pros

The control dashboard is simple neat and clean and very logical. We love the portal system which you can edit to showcase company branding. We have made it accessible from our website so from a customer point of view everything is integrated and seamless.

Watermarking content in user-specific or general ways to suit is brilliant, and checking out that people have got what they need ok for the courses we put on is of massive importance.

Probably the best over-arching things are that everything works and the customer support is brilliant.

Cons

Don't kid yourself that you'll get the hang of everything within 10 mins of messing around with the settings. You do have to put the time in to get your head round it - but that's less of a 'con' and more a reflection of the eye-watering range of configuration options there are.

So you do have to invest some quality time to learn it - but everything you need is there, and it totally works.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James R.
Industry: Security & Investigations
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A systemic approach to system processes

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 1/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It is the key factor which enables us to securely leverage our content for customer. It can sometimes prove challenging.

Pros

It was easy to use once I had the training required

Cons

It was difficult to implement for the team

Response from Vitrium Systems

Hi James. Thank you for your feedback. CSA Group has helped push the envelope with DRM features and polices in Vitrium that our system wasn't originally designed to enforce, but that it does today. While your learning curve may have been steep, the system continues to evolve every few months with CSA's and other brilliant feature requests. The content protection offered and the tracking included are second to none.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Ryan B.
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Satisfied

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 1/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Satisfied. Customer service is helpful and have been able to resolve most issues quickly.

Pros

It is easy to use and does the job it needs to do.

Cons

I would like to see more features such as a secure way to put digital files on a thumb-drive or flash card.
Also, I would suggest the following for files viewed online to make it function more inline with how adobe acrobat functions.
- Add a toolbar button to show one page at a time and allow users to use PgUp/PgDown to flip (no scrolling) to the previous/next page. And make this compatible with a remote.
- Add a toolbar button for true full screen mode where even the annotation tools are hidden from view.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Ryan for your detailed review. The option to download a protected PDF file and store or distribute them on thumb-drives or flash cards exists for years now. The issue is that your system is configured to use True SSO which requires your users first authenticate against your back-end. If you need to distribute files and have those users manually login to receive the secured content, then you could also request a 2nd account from Vitrium Systems that doesn't use SSO.
Since v7.2.1, based on your feedback/request, there is a navigation toolbar at the top of the Web Viewer window for moving between pages Up/Down icons (rather than scrolling) including a 'jump to page #' field. Also, full-screen reading mode is available. We will consider your request as a future enhancement. Today, the Web Viewer provides the means to collapse the bigger annotation bar (to the left) but leaves the smaller annotation menu bar. Above and to the left of the window is the scaling and zoom toolbar.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ron S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

DRM including video streaming

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/2/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Digital rights management made easy and well as the ability to have DRM on streaming products such as videos.

Pros

Single sign on capability, test account included to use in test environments, fantastic customer support from implementation to the end user stage.

Cons

For true single sign on DNS routing and web service calls/ urls need to be configured, not a CON so to speak, just something to be aware of.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Secure and functional with great customer service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We were uncertain when going from a standard PDF approach to a more sophisticated digital rights management approach. It was new to us and we were unsure whether it would overly complicate the delivery of content. The people at Vitrium have gone the extra mile to help us out, from the very beginning. Service and access to the employees, even top management, are very important to us. This is something that usually does not happen when working with a big company. Rather than sending large PDFs that some email servers reject, we are now sending a link that provides simple, protected access to our content. We encounter a small customer-related problem from time to time, but the people at Vitrium are quick to help us resolve it. We highly recommend Vitrium without reservation.

Pros

Vitrium allows us to create a quick username and password for each customer, which speeds up our delivery process, compared to our previous system. The online web viewer is an easy way for customers to view the report. It also enables viewing on tablet computers.

Cons

The user interface does not display the number of devices on which users have accessed a document. That must be done manually by sorting and filtering a spreadsheet for each user and each document. A quick counter on the UI would be ideal, and should be simple to add.

Response from Vitrium Systems

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review. In more recent versions of Vitrium, and for the enterprise subscriptions only, there's additional information provided for a given User's record under the Clear Usage window. There, at a glance, one can see Device Use, IP Address Use, Print Use, and File Use. However, it would seem that also providing File Use WITH Device Use per file would be useful and would help identify potential issues with end-users sharing content credentials. Vitrium also has plans on adding a notification system where administrators can define 'triggers' for things such as a user accessing content from n or more devices (or IPs) within a specified period of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Daniel G.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great software for delivering protected documents to end users

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Multitude of options for users. Manually creating IDs and keys is useful in some cases, integrating with out customer database so users automatically get access to appropriate documents is useful in most others. Downloadable protected PDFs or webviewer based documents used entirely in the browser satisfies almost every customer.

Cons

The very rare instance where a system update brings down the system for half an hour to an hour always somehow coincides with when my crankiest customer just happened to try accessing their documents.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Hi Daniel. Thanks for the feedback. Your comment is very true as no matter when we schedule an update, there's always someone globally that could be affected. However, we're now down to only minutes of downtime for an update due to greatly streamlined and automated release capabilities and soon may not have any downtime as we continue to evolve our system deployment abilities. This fully automated deployment can even be passed on to our self-hosted enterprise customers. Everyone is looking forward to that day!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carlos L.
Industry: Import & Export
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

A natural use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The main challenge that our company always had is that our information was available to our clients in a simple and safe way, and it seems to me that this challenge has been met.

Pros

Actually for me it is very easy to use, I almost do not realize that I am using software, so I called this review "a natural use" since for me its use is already natural.

Cons

For now the experience has been excellent

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank you for your kind review, Mr. Lopez. As you found, both the administration and end-user experiences are quite simple to work with and your intellectual property/content remains secure.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jennifer M.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

You want to use this product.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 1/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The team at Vitrium have created a great product AND provide outstanding customer service.

Pros

The Vitrium platform allowed our company to customize our own internal process.

Cons

We had a few issues with the platform when downloading PDFs. The platform easily lets users few documents on the web viewer but we have a lot of users that want to download the documents onto their desktops which wasn't always a seamless process.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks for the great kudos, Jennifer! Features are always being added and enhanced based on customer feedback. We're usually quite open to feature requests that are going to be beneficial to our other customers. In fact, our product road map tends to be mostly based on customer feedback.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mariana giselle P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

seems like a great company to grow with

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/21/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The responsiveness of the Vitrium team has been great, and we have really appreciated their flexibility with our requests as we are all trying to figure out how to best implement their powerful DRM capabilities. Having everything trackable and protected has completely removed awkward NDA conversations about IP that we are still developing.

Cons

I guess because it is so applicable to so many ways of doing things, just trying to make sure we are integrating it properly and in conjunction with other aspects of our website development. That's not so much a reflection of Vitrium, though. They've been quite helpful in talking through applications with us.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks for the kind words, Marina. We do strive to make our system work seamlessly in everyone's environment and especially keep your IP safe!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Burcu D.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 11-50 Employees

User experience

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 1/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The file size of our products is too big to send via email so, that's why Vitrium is a very useful option to share the files.

Pros

Easy to use. I can share our reports easily.

Cons

Slow process. The response time of the steps can take longer than expected.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Hi Burcu, thanks for the feedback. I'm not sure what you meant by "slow process", but our success team is always willing to help with your workflow to improve things if there's a concern. Please do reach out to our support team with any concerns as we frequently add new features that some overlook while we continually thrive to make things easy for all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Sterling B.

One of the best and most affordable small business to enterprise level DRM solutions out there.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/19/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We use Vitrium mainly as a client PDF document security solution. It is cost effective, easy to use, with cogent and timely customer support that feels more like a part of your team rather than just another outsourced service run by low level customer service reps. When you need help. You get it directly from people who know the product and that save time, anxiety, and money.

Cons

With what it already does so efficiently with documents, would love for Vitrium to develop a multimedia DRM solution that covers audio and video so we wouldn't need to look for a DRM solution with a different company to cover those areas.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank, Sterling so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. I'm sure you already know this today, but Vitrium now supports much more than PDF's today. A complete list, including video, is available here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000423563-What-file-formats-does-Vitrium-Security-protect-

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael C.

Vitrium Security offers easy-to-use DRM for PDFs and other formats.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to manage access to our documents in a very specific way. The DRM for PDFs is very granular. No plugins or proprietary software are required. The web viewer is brilliant and brings our documents to any device while still maintaining control.

Cons

It is possible to defeat the DRM for PDFs, although this is not trivial or quick. It suits our product perfectly, because it does not contain sensitive information, but instead hundreds of pages of proprietary images. Removing the DRM from all these pages is unfeasible. However, if you are protecting short, sensitive documents, you are better off using the web viewer, whose DRM can't be defeated.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks for the kudos, Michael. Yes, we also believe that our proprietary Web Viewer product is much more secure than Adobe's PDF spec and we are constantly adding new features based on customer feedback. Video support is one of the biggest core product changes we delivered last fall and we're in the process of enabling inter-linked PDF's while maintaining links between multiple documents; Ability to embed files in a PDF and access same in the Web Viewer; and more ...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Lindsay H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Vitrium

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/20/2018
Review Source: Capterra

My company uses Vitirum to encrypt sensitive reports and send them to our clients. We are a consulting company specializing in IT Security and HIPAA Compliance.

Pros

I like that this is a very easy method for our customers to use, unlike other methods I have employed in the past I never have customers coming back to me with issues or complaints.

Cons

I don't like that we have to be the one to set the password for the client, each client should be able to change the password on their first login when we create an account. Also we should be able to revoke access to a document once sent to one user without revoking all users rights. Lastly, I would like permissions to be more granular. It would be nice to be able to give customers the ability to print without giving them the ability to edit the document.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Lindsay, for your valuable feedback.
Revoking access can be handled by utilizing DRM Settings when provisioning content to an individual user (as is the case on your account today). Remove the DRM assignment (set it to 'not set') and the user will lose access. However, when the user is in a group and that group is granted DRM permissions, you would have to remove the user from the group otherwise the entire group of users would lose access.
Your request about the password is in the pipeline but has not been scheduled for development as yet.
We're not sure what you're describing as content as it is always read-only to an end-users. Perhaps you're describing annotations and printing? A suggestion is to reach out to [email protected] and pose your concerns as our team will be more than happy to assist you to find solutions to the concerns.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy and Effective PDF Protection

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a great experience in using Vitrium Security to protect documents which we deliver to our customers. Over the past 5+ years, Vitrium has added value to the information which we provide to our clients, and we are very happy with the service.

Pros

We appreciate the ease of use and the effectiveness in the protection afforded our documents in using Vitrium Security.

Cons

The sole area in which we would like to see improvement is in an easier method for users to select their own user name and password options for viewing documents.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you¿ve had a great experience in using Vitrium Security. Permissions are granted via user names which, in most cases, will be an email address. As many of the systems are integrated to 3rd party back-end systems, these email addresses are required to remain static in order to maintain the system relationships. However, an administrator of the Vitrium Administration UI can make the change to the end-users email address. However, an end-user must consult with the content vendor to request such a change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bob C.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

We use Vitrium to protect digital versions of our courseware

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/22/2018
Review Source: Capterra

intellectual property protection

Pros

Provides controllable/flexible security for our documents. Intellectual property protection for our materials.

Cons

Offline viewing doesn't work on Apple ios . Biggest complainte we get because many people use iPad or iPhone to review documents.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Bob for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We always aim to deliver a great experience. Offline access is supposed to work on iOS devices but it could be that the content is simply too large to be saved in the browser's cache for offline retrieval. If you could email [email protected] with an example, we will more than happy to help resolve this for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Suri M.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Guard your content

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/28/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Good Product for your DRM solution in your enterprice.

Pros

Very well thought out product, protecting your content in commerce. Easy to integrate, 100% API enabled.

Cons

Bulk Encryption of content is time consuming process.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Suri for sharing your review. Yes, when we're speaking about GB's of data, it is relatively time-consuming as there are several processes involved to convert a raw 'unprotected' PDF to a 'protected' version and to convert that same raw file to an equivalent HTML5 rendering. Over time, Vitrium has implemented scalability in it's hosted environment such that when a host server senses an influx of content that it now scales and dynamically loads additional servers that can each take on a multitude of conversion tasks. This dynamic scaling is a feature available to all hosted accounts regardless of subscription level.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amelina K.

always been good tech support is quick and helpful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/27/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What i like about vitrium is the easy to use function of it, there isn't too many issues so a smooth operating software is nice.

Cons

the only cons are the troubleshooting instructions can sometimes seem a little confusing to understand

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Amelina for your review. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email [email protected] if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Does what it says

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lots of flexibility for users to access pdfs(our primary use) setting expiry and resetting access. Able to limit access b device IP so people can’t just share your hard work.

Cons

Have had some glitches over the years. Weren’t able to reset access properly for a while. But the platforms rm seems quite it bit more stable recently.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that our DRM technology gives you control over your PDFs. It's one of our core values to continuously improve our products, services and processes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Madalina O.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Unfortunately, it has been slow recently

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/19/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to track access, user friendly.
Like the reports.
Really professional and fast customer service.

Cons

Unfortunately, it has been really slow recently. It happens with small and large documents.
Not being able to see user's passwords.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Madalina for your feedback. Users passwords are a known sore spot and we'll be addressing that in the near future with a password reset feature for the end-users. However, if you'r eexperiencing slowness, please reach out to [email protected] and someone will gladly investigate and help resolve the issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason C.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

We are very happy with support, but there are a number or shortcomings with the product.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 6/21/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It secures our documents and that's the main goal we have.

Pros

Good API and meets most of our requirements. For a small document it performs well. Other than one major case, it has been consistent in reliability.

Cons

We had do deal with a major bug that hurt our system for over a month before the fix was found. We still can use the product in all of our system because it is too slow.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Jason for your review. While we did address your primary performance issues with what we call an Auth Extension, we do appreciate that there is work to be done still. Vitrium is actively making improvements to its core product based on your experience and that should be available by the end of summer 2019.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sean D.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The best tool and team available to the industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is fantastic product supported by an excellent team that will work with you to fulfil your company's needs. Their attention to detail is excellent and the software is a breeze to use, no matter how complex your set up.

Cons

There's nothing I don't like about Vitrium.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rishi S.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Robust & Self Intutive system

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/18/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reports, Different Security Policies, Watermark functionality and many more...

Cons

Would be great to get a UI functionality that supports our one of the business model for (IP Authen.) user reports - Currently it is achievable via API

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Rishi for your kind words. We understand your concern over 'group reporting' capabilities, and our data model is to provide the tools for our customers (you) to build their own end-user/group reporting web pages.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Adeline W.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Vitrium Security

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/19/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We wanted to restrict others' access to our documents in softcopy for a prolonged period and the software perfectly address this.

Pros

I like the fact that there is an admin portal that allows easy administration and management of documents

Cons

DRM control setting that appears everywhere and I am not sure which is the valid one?

Response from Vitrium Systems

We¿re so glad that Vitrium successfully addressed the user access restriction and you¿ve found the admin portal easy-to-use.
DRM settings can be applied in five (5) areas: Global (not recommended for most), Content, Users, Groups, and Folders. We have a couple of useful videos that should help explain them in full detail here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joe S.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Digital Rights Document Management

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/4/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have had excellent experience with the security.

Pros

The social DRM function is excellent and has proven to be very helpful.

Cons

I think the configuration is comprehensive but difficult to follow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jon S.

Vitrium allows us to easily and confidently share protected documents.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/20/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Prior to using Vitrium we were unable to share PDF's of documents and be confident that the documents were not being shared without our permission.

Cons

One issue with the software is that sometimes users have troubles due to Adobe settings. Better error messaging would be helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support