Knowify

4.5 (78)
Integrated mobile contractor management platform

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(78)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.7/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

78 Reviews

Tonya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Absolutely the best job costing app for subcontractors and trades that integrates with...

Reviewed on 2017-10-28

We love sharing this software and its great features with our construction clients. To my mind there is no better job costing app on the market today for subcontractors and tradesmen in commercial construction.

Pros

The 2-way sync with QuickBooks; the ability to create AIA style billings directly out of the program (no duplicate entering); the integrations with great apps like ClockShark and Tsheets; the great dashboard on which you can monitor the profitability of each current job; the ease with which you can budget and bid from within the software; the wealth of available reports; and so much more.

Cons

Some improvements could be made to the service ticket side of the program to make it more comprehensive; if a PO is fulfilled in QuickBooks there is no way to match it in Knowify, so it has to be closed out manually on the Knowify side.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing product

Reviewed on 2021-02-09

Knowify has allowed us to streamline our processes, understand our costs and become more profitable.

Pros

It is very easy to learn, and use. It keeps all of our information in one place.

Cons

I am happy with all the features currently.

Elizabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Concerns with Knowify

Reviewed on 2018-12-14

Knowify allows me to better track materials and labor. Overall, it's alright as a support tool but I feel it still has a long way to go.

Knowify Support basically refers to the user manual for any questions - may as well start there before contacting them.

Pros

Allows me to have a front-end to Quickbooks and provides for a little better job tracking. We previously tracked jobs manually. Knowify also has some helpful reports.

Cons

When you first start using Knowify, it is not user friendly. There are many "quirks" in the system. We have submitted requested all through 2018 for some of these to be addressed. Our company cannot be the only user experiencing some of these issues. Using Knowify has helped but is still lacking for my purposes. Examples: adding another default phase for Subcontractors - the entry of this data now is awful. Support has not be terrific. Job numbering - if jobs are initiated in Knowify or Quickbookos, if the are communicating properly, the LAST number issued should automatically populate. This does not happen, even though Support says to mark it in preferences - it is flagged.

Tierney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

As a Quickbooks desktop Beta customer, we are still ironing out some sync troubles.

Reviewed on 2017-10-24

The online-ability is great for the boss in the field, but with QBD we have had to establish work arounds.

Pros

Knowify has many modules that are useful, however they do not all work with QBD quite yet. Once they can get the sync figured out it will be a one-stop-shop for estimating, time-tracking, invoicing, scheduling. We do not use the Plan and Track feature, but I can see how that could be VERY helpful. Emailing customers is very easy. Purchase orders are EASY to send. Getting customer signatures is EASY.

Cons

1) The billing module is very detailed, so it takes a long time to enter bills. There should be a shortcut around entering an "Item" that allows choosing an expense account. And maybe allocate to the job not based on an item in contract. Also Autofill feature? Or a Copy previous bill? 2) Default accounts are confusing. For a long time they did not save after I entered them. And many of them do not allow us to choose a COGS type account. 3)Time tracker does not sync at all. 4) Sub customer doesn't autofill address of top customer. 5)Estimate/Invoice template formats are not editable - I want to adjust which fields and where they go on the document. 6)Can't do a $0 estimate -sometimes a customer wants to choose from options. 7) Class info did not sync 8) In Plan and Track the work order should autofill item description from the contract 9) t would be great if Comments were visible in Time entries Instead of having to click on them to see.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Run your business efficiently

Reviewed on 2021-05-23

I have used the demo version of the software and I can say it is great software with many features that can allow users to grow their businesses and make profits.

Pros

It has an organized dashboard and many features.
Users can easily start a new project, add a description, divided the job into phases, and set the budget for each phase. The budget is detailed into materials, labor, and subcontractor costs. This can help users estimate the cost Vs profits for each phase.
The program makes it easy to calculate materials and labor costs, just add the price per unit and charge per hour then add the total amount of units and the total number of hours.
I like that data can easily sync with other accounting software like QuickBooks.
Users can create work schedules for their staff and send them messages on their Knowify mobile app to give them tasks and the time frame.
I like the time tracker and the detailed reporting module.
Finally, I like that it is a paperless based system. Users can send emails with their proposals for e-signature. Also, they can send invoices with links for online payment.

Cons

Knowify is great, but it requires a high level of experience with similar apps. On the other hand, it is appreciated that newcomers can download a demo version to practice, also the software has built-in user service templates.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Knowify has made the process of paying vendors and tracking jobs incredibly easy.

Reviewed on 2018-05-21

Quick billing, detailed job tracking, and flexibility.

Pros

It's easy to use. The layout of menus makes it incredibly easy to navigate. The importing into Quickbooks happens lightning fast. There's a myriad of ways to handle POs making billing incredibly convenient. And the reports are useful.

Cons

Searches can be difficult to return to. They lack pagination customization. Sometimes I'd like to see 100+ results per screen!

Lorie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Try to "live" in Knowify every day.Customer service is great!

Reviewed on 2017-10-31

1.) Ease of use
2.) Consistently upgrading features
3.) Basic reporting
4.) Priced competitively

Pros

1.) Great YouTube tutorials.
2.) Easy software to start incorporating into your business.
3.) Knowify adding new modules of function in all areas of use
4.) Proactive customer service that is knowledgeable
5.) Consistently asking clients what can be added, that would help their company
6.) Software reporting

Cons

1.) Software glitches that affect our Knowify reporting
2.) getting a better grasp of templates (maybe a user issue)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommend Knowify

Reviewed on 2018-12-13

It has cut our administrative time in half.

Pros

Knowify is very user friendly and easy to use. It comes with AIA Billing at a very affordable price. It also syncs to our Quickbooks so there is no need for double entry.

Cons

I would like to see a more itemized schedule of values.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easy experience to ensure job costs are tracked correctly and accurately.

Reviewed on 2017-10-24

Pros

Purchase orders and bills. The synchronizing with Quickbooks works smoothly and saves on data entry as well.

Cons

The scheduling features seem to be a little clunky. Sometimes the scheduled time goes into effect right away and other times it doesn't seem to work correctly.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Program, I wish it could be tailored to architects more

Reviewed on 2022-03-25

We use Knowify for creating proposal and invoices. We integrate with Quickbooks so it's great that it ties into our accounting software.

Pros

We switched to Knowify essentially for the way it show invoices with the % billed, % complete etc. The job costing functions are also pretty useful.

Cons

It can be difficult to use. The program was built for contractors, as an Architecture firm we struggle sometimes with forcing it to do what we need. Generally we have been able to make it works for us though.

SALLY
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very complete

Reviewed on 2020-01-06

We love Knowify

Pros

It has everything we need for tracking hours and expense

Cons

It doesn't have the option to request leave by employees

Alternatives Considered

Buildertrend

Reasons for Choosing Knowify

This program is more whole

Switched From

QuickBooks Time
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is how it should be and it's only getting better

Reviewed on 2016-07-06

Knowify is singularly impressive in it's ability to speak to both the complex and real time needs of contractors while satisfying the employee, office staff, and the accountant's requirements. Our office has tried repeatedly to classify this program, as estimation, project management, AR, job costing, etc. when speaking with clients, and ultimately with each new client we find it is more than that, it is simply the right answer for the right problem for contractors. Combine Knowify's ever growing list of built in (and truly astonishing) benefits, with a staff who are willing to take our's, and I'm sure many, users suggestions for improved useage and the result is a company you want to see leading the market.

Pros

By far the best feature of Knowify is that, with a seemingly simple but comprehensive interface, the program is intuitively generating more beneficial outputs, then we could first imagine.

Cons

At first blush the interface seems very directed in how one should use it, but we began, after working with the demo, to find it slightly obtuse when faced with little ideosyncrasies common to many contractors. So far the team at Knowify has not disappointed in aiding us with these minor hiccups, which tended to be a lack of understanding on our end about certain settings, and not the program itself.

Joel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Wanted to make this a priority for my business, but customer service is terrible.

Reviewed on 2018-02-25

A good idea of what I want. Otherwise, no benefit at all. This software, by itself, is a great concept, but the management team and the connectivity with my normal QB software is abhorrent.

Pros

Makes bids, change-orders, and scheduling easy. In theory - but not actuality - it should link with Quickbooks, which, if working, would be awesome.

Cons

Customer service doesn't take the time to determine what is wrong. There are several tiers of people who are trying to help, but they continue to give a quick reaction to solve the problem and don't really help. The program itself only links with Quickbooks occasionally. If you don't input information perfectly, it scrambles your numbers and can throw all of your books off. Getting access to human help is hard. The input work is way more work than the results.

Response from Knowify

Hello Joel,

We are sorry to hear of your bad experience with our customer support. We at Knowify put an extremely high priority on all tickets and the majority of our customers will agree that this is one of the strongest parts of Knowify (as shown in many reviews on this page).

Your specific case threw us a curveball, as you had deleted your access to Knowify on a Friday night. Our customer support team is made up of specially trained technicians based out of the US, so dealing with a non-standard issue in the after hours might take a bit longer, especially if we have to involve our tech team. Even still, we did have your account back up by 7am the following morning.

Given that you like the product and the idea behind it, we hope you can work beyond this to try Knowify again in the future.

~The Knowify Team

Gavin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for the sub-trades

Reviewed on 2018-12-16

Knowify entered our business at the right time and it has been reliable. We've had our challenges navigating the options to find the right tools to use in each scenario, but it's been well employed since. Custom reports, automated tools, and a mobile event calendar would help knowify replace a few other tools that we are using

Pros

Knowify excels in connecting the user with the client in terms of financials. Contracts are made easily and change order management is a breeze

Cons

There are some inconsitincies in the UI where depending on the billing style of a project, different form fields are presented for very similar tasks. When creating a project, it's very important to know what information will be available to share to the client before attributing time or materials to the project. The calendar doesn't bring much value to our business where scheduling can be down to the 15 minute interval and mobile use is necessary.

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good app, not for every type of company

Reviewed on 2018-12-18

Overall, definitely recommend if you're a basic contracting company. Does this software work? Yes. Is it for every type of professional service company? No.

Pros

The easy to navigate website and features, and the fact that they will try to accommodate your business needs within the app.

Cons

The support, even from the owner, can be condescending; customer service quality could be improved drastically. A lot of attention grabbing features get added to the site however, they do not appear to be thoroughly tested because they are always failing in some way. The communication between quickbooks and knowify could be improved as well as the zapier integration. The time tracking and break down of services and how you manage projects could also be improved drastically. For what we are paying I definitely expected more.

Kristin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I really like the software. It has made our invoicing system so much easier and job costing.

Reviewed on 2017-10-24

I have recommended it. Better organization of invoice tracking and employee productivity.

Pros

I LOVE the invoicing system and contracts and having it sync with emails its great! Also the employees ability to check into a specific job. There is a lot to like. Also your customer service is great.

Cons

The CHECK/IN -OUT view vrs REVIEW time screen for clocking hours. I would prefer it these two features were combined with a running clock on clock/in out view. Im really working on my employees attendance record and lateness so when reviewing hours for payroll purposes it becomes redundant when I have to individually "fix" their clock in times. It's clunky and a little redundant. We also had problems with the old app but the new one seems to be working better as well as learning to use the job board more effectively. Also a way to change the job they are working on from the clock in/out view. I personally like this view the best not so crazy about review time.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Game Changer for my company

Reviewed on 2019-10-08

Te main problem that I solved was time, now I have the bidding and invoicing in the same program.

Pros

I like the ease of use, bidding and invoicing functions most.

Cons

Imputing receipts and job costs. I am getting better at the process but I wish there were an easier way.

Alternatives Considered

Buildertrend and CoConstruct

Reasons for Switching to Knowify

Cost and ease of use.
Sara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Knowify has drastically simplified the admin side of our business.

Reviewed on 2018-05-15

Job costing & tracking, easy AIA style billing / invoicing.

Pros

The biggest pro of this is the step-by-step process from bidding to proposal to billing. We are easily able to track and manage each step of the process, produce AIA style invoices efficiently and track all payments in one application. And a huge shout-out to customer support - anytime I have an issue, they respond and are able to help us out within an hour or two (even outside of business hours).

Cons

Every once in a while there will be a glitch, sending payments over to quickbooks an extra time (but this also could be our synching with banking...). Either way, it's an easy fix as long as you are also managing your books correctly.

Jenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I really like how responsive the Knowify team is to questions and support!

Reviewed on 2018-05-16

Keeping close tabs on project P&L's is great with Knowify. Project Managers/Admin can pull data at any time to keep up-to-date on project costs. We like being able to use AIA billing through Knowify. Finding one place to apply all job costs to a project is great!

Pros

We all like how we have been able to provide ideas/needs to Knowify and see them integrate many of those into their updates and new options.

Cons

There are still some functions that area holding us back in what we are able to do with Knowify, specifically billing. We have been told that they are working on those options, but the sooner those are added the better workflow we will have using their system.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I highly recommend Knowify!

Reviewed on 2021-02-09

Very happy with Knowify, it's continuously improving and great customer service. I highly recommend!!!

Pros

Great for creating and sending quotes, invoicing (syncs with QB), managing time entries from crew

Cons

It would be great if there was a pipeline for a project and if tasks could be created for project managers based on the stage in the pipeline. CRM could have touch points created for follow up with leads.

Henry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall Good Software for Construction Industry

Reviewed on 2020-03-05

Pretty good experience overall. Would recommend for small and medium sized business that needs to streamline their contracts.

Pros

Product is easy to use, good interface.
Like the sub-client feature.
Really like the ability to customize the contract.

Cons

Needs better reporting systems for our commissions sales reps.
Needs separation between sales rep contracts.

Esther
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Knowify is a great tool that has transformed our project management.

Reviewed on 2018-05-15

Pros

Knowify is intuitive, manages job costing well, and most importantly ties all aspects of a job together in one, easy to understand space.

Cons

By far the worst thing about Knowify is the reporting. Though there are numerous reports built in, they are not easily manipulated, and they filter data depending on how it is put into the software. This is especially true for invoicing, though it is mainly a project management software and not an accounting software

Jim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great program for managing my commercial roofing company

Reviewed on 2018-12-11

This software makes sure we are being profitable and shows us where we need to do better on different kinds of jobs.

Pros

This software tracks my employee time and job location. Great for seeing how long jobs are actually taking. The estimating portion is awesome once you have your pricing entered. Estimating templates make sure you don't forget parts or pieces to the estimate. Great customer service!

Cons

No cons as of yet. Been using this software for over a year.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Program

Reviewed on 2019-12-03

I finally feel organized in my business.

Pros

This software makes it very simple to make change orders, simple invoicing, and great documentation.

Cons

Some times the address look up system does not work. The phone log in app tends to lag or not work at times. I wish I could add lines in-between existing lines on the break down or bill of materials. This would be for grouping reasons. To make is easier to understand.

Doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This software has been a huge time saver.

Reviewed on 2017-10-28

It has saved me hours of paper work when it comes time to invoicing. It is also great to know exactly how many man hours a project takes.

Pros

Once the estimate is approved the office work is over. All employees are able to track there time and materials directly to the job with no extra work involved when it is time to invoice.

Cons

My employees do like not being able to view all of there entered time for the last two weeks, but I believe this might not be the case with the last update.