14 reviews

Neko

Web based salon management & scheduling software

4.3 /5 (14 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.4
79% recommended this app
14 reviews
Travis G.

Absolute value for money, easy to operate with fantastic puntual support

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/28/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Absolute value for money, easy to operate with fantastic punctual support. Having used many other software systems in the past I highly recommend Neko for value for money

Cons

There is nothing that comes to mind that I don't like about Neko. It meets all my requirements in assisting me run my business.

Response from Neko

Hi Travis, many thanks for your review! We're glad you are happy with Neko. We are always happy to develop new features in consultation with client needs, so make sure you get intouch if you would like to see something new :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tiriana T.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: Self Employed

Neko software review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 3/26/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good.
Which the basic fee included the reminder to clients.

Pros

1. Of recent, the information about Corona Virus and keeping up to date with the worlds changes through the challenges of operating a business.
2. The online help chat with quick turn around response.

Cons

Needing to pay for the "add on's" for things like the reminder emails to clients, or txts to the clients.
I dont use these and do these functions manually to avoid a higher subscription.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jordan C.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

good but seems to have a few glitches.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/18/2017
Review Source: Capterra

affordable, easy to use

Pros

easy to use, reports, stock take, ability to link to online bookings, client history, staff rostering

Cons

doesnt notify you when running out of credit therefore stops sending reminder texts to clients with no notification. doesnt alert you if client replies to a text other than Yes or No. for example if a client writes "no sorry" or messages to change an appointment time it does not notify us.
Have had problems trying to move appointments across dates, sometimes doesnt work and you lose the booking or it doubles up. Messages sometimes dont get sent to clients, replies sometimes dont come through at all so you dont know they have tried to confirm the appointment. Not sure if there is a way to put on ipad to give to clients to fill out their client card on first visit - that would be good

Response from Neko

Hi there, Thanks for your review. Text credits are shown on the main dashboard so you can see how many credits you have.

You can also see unread replies from your clients even if they reply "No sorry". You can read previously read messages on the Marketing Menu under Display Messages.

Sending of messages will stop if you don't have any credits, so check your dashboard from time to time. .

You can open the client card of your client on the ipad and Select Client Mode at the top right for your clients to enter their details. Hope that helps!

We are not aware of any issues with the moving of bookings, our support team would love to hear more from you on this as we don't want any bugs creeping their way into the system and we would love to make it easier as well for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Ka L.
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Optional to setup for clients

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I know you guys keep improving your software cause this 3 years I can see the difference. But I believe that can be better

Pros

If there is a optional to set up what we can see on the schedule. For example, on the schedule screen, when the mouse(arrow) go or right click the scheduled appointment, we can see the basic details, like name, phone number, booking time , services & comment etc. but we cannot see the card number, cause we basically just located the client with card numbers not their name or phone number. So we need to open another page to use there phone number / name and search them out, click in to their profile, and also scroll down to the bottom and check the card number and find their card out.

Cons

Let us choose what we hope to display on the scheduled appointment (the little box when we right click the scheduled appointment) / add display “card number”

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Katherine H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: Self Employed

Functional, Great Value for Money

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 3/30/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Really great, it’s easy to use and pretty good value for what you get.

Pros

I love the layout and how easy Neko is to use! It is so customisable if you want it to be or you can use it for basic needs too. It’s easy to store client info and make bookings too. It has different payment options too which enable you to use the software with most payment systems

Cons

Sometimes it could be a little buggy and freeze but they have since seemed to correct this in the last few months I haven’t had an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan T.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: Self Employed

Neko has grown into an essential part of my business which I love using

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/17/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy, user friends for me and my clients. The online booking is great and the features are amazing. Best value on the market in my opinion.

Cons

Unable to get support (like actual assistance where you can talk it out)
They are quite responsive to emails but if your not a techy, then some issues can be harder to fix. Iv never had a severe problem with Neko though - just more setting up in the early days when it only had a few tabs hehe

Response from Neko

Hi Ryan
Many thanks for your review. Appreciate it :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Samantha B.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great easy software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Very easy to use quick and effective

Pros

Love the software it’s so easy and can log on anywhere phones iPad and computer I love it.

Cons

Would love to get a notification when sms credits are low so I know if txts aren’t being sent out because iv ran out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shelley V.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great value for money for a micro business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It was easy to start to use and very affordable

Pros

Very easy to use and covers most aspects

Cons

It does glitch out a lot and you can’t use 2 different gift vouchers for the one person treatment and if a mistake is made with transactions you can’t change it back of house

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Erika M.
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great software, only the booking system is very old style, needs a little facelifting.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/18/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Follow and analyse our sales and employees on daily base.

Pros

Value for money, great analyses, tailor-made beauty salon software, good customer service. Very helpful tool to analyse our sales, follow the staff's turnover.

Cons

Old fashion design, which isn't disturbing in the salon work, but if you have a very modern website, it's a little bit strange to use this old fashion booking system. It would be great to have a possibility to connect directly to our website. Actually we don't use the booking system, we use wix.com for bookings.

Response from Neko

Hi Erika, Sounds like you are taking about the online booking system not the actual Neko software.

You can customize the online booking system to suit your store's website. Contact our support office if you need help on doing this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mike S.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Trial requires credit card

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 3/25/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The requirement to provide a credit card for evaluation purposes erodes trust. There is no valid rationale for this requirement.

Pros

We did not progress the trial due to the requirement for a credit card during the set up process.

Cons

The request for a credit card for evaluation purposes. We have tested many salon and spa management SAAS offerings, none of which requires credit card details for evaluation purposes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Jacquie D.

Use Neko daily for at home Salon.Easy to use for myself and Clients when they book online

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/21/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is Simple, straight to the point, easy to use.
My clients have loved how easy it is to book their own appointments when it suits them.

Cons

I have had Clients tell me that they are having alerts (reminders) sent to them at 4am in WA.
I have yet to contact Neko Support to try and rectify this issue.

Response from Neko

Hi Jacquie
Many thanks for your review. Appreciate it :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kate B.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Disappointing customer support

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/26/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Disappointing. After two years and assistance with promotion regarding the ease of use- my business is still undervalued.

Pros

Over the past two years, the customer support team have continued to be argumentative and unhelpful. The cloud base storage is great, but unfortunately the customer service makes this company a terrible choice for professionals. If you want to feel valued, this is not the company for you.

Cons

The customer support and service. Consistently unhelpful, it’s a work it out yourself approach. So if you’re not tech savvy, expect to struggle.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Luisa R.
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best salon software ever

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/18/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Amazing customer service!
And can be accessed anywhere in the world, at any time, should I choose to.

Pros

It has tons of functionality, is affordable & easy to use. A great combination! It is very easy to use For anyone looking at Salon software, I would definitely recommend the online NEKO software!

Response from Neko

Hi Luisa
Many thanks for your review. Appreciate it :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Terrie badullovich B.
Industry: Retail
Company size: Self Employed

Awsome salon program

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 8/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use....l the transportable system is great for todays business.

Cons

Changing transactions.... sometimes I find I've entered the wrong curreny and can't change the sale without cancelling transaction and starting again...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10