EMDECS

4.3 (19)
Write a Review!
Cloud-based fleet maintenance & repair shop software

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(19)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

84%
recommended this app
Sort by

19 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing software since upgrading from paper files

Reviewed on 2018-04-16

Pros

All of the tracking features are amazing! From cost, to maintenance history, to repairs, this software makes it very easy rather than our old paper system.

Cons

The overall performance could be upgraded but from what I have been told, this is currently in the works.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

New to Emdecs

Reviewed on 2023-09-11

Once getting to know my sales person [sensitive content hidden] this transition has been as smooth...

Once getting to know my sales person [sensitive content hidden] this transition has been as smooth as anyone could ask. From information gathering to implementation it has been a pleasure to work with him. He was very committed to Emdecs and it being a solution for us during the initial conversations and now even after 6 months of use we still communicate regularly. I would not only consider [sensitive content hidden] a business partner but also friend. Currently while still learning and trying to adjust our needs [sensitive content hidden]
has been another person that has helped us immensely. He has been there for us during implementation and continues to be there for us daily. The overall experience has been exceptional because of the people in my opinion, keep doing it right and Thank you!

Pros

The features that benefit us the most are the PM and work order related activities and then the reporting on the backside. We are currently integrating with Spireon and once complete this will be a big benefit in mileage documentation and retention for tax reporting.

Cons

The cost of the software is expensive but we believed that because of all the features and being customizable it will benefit us within our current workforce. We have a very diverse workforce and the software is able to meet our needs for our employees.

Alternatives Considered

RTA

Reasons for Choosing EMDECS

Ease of use and being able to customize.

Reasons for Switching to EMDECS

Ease of use and the ability to customize. The follow up and people part of getting something new meant a lot to us. The team at Emdecs went the extra mile to help us in making a decision and showing all parts of the software.

Response from BrightOrder

Dear Michael, Wow! Thank you so much for the feedback! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Nancy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Emdecs review

Reviewed on 2023-10-27

We began with the old system, Paccar Connect, back in 2005. In 2020 we were switched over to this...

We began with the old system, Paccar Connect, back in 2005. In 2020 we were switched over to this system. It was very rough for a few years with not much knowledge from your team and turn around with employees as far as getting our troubles and questions answered. We find it easier and faster to still use the old system for our parts department. We still use the old system for re-ordering parts and labeling. Customer service has greatly improved over the last year which we appreciate.

Pros

The service board, time sheet for mechanics, and complete RO are what we use most and work awesome for us.

Cons

PartsWe still have troubles with printing of labels . There are so many tabs to go into when pulling up a part number. It was so much easier and user friendly with the old system, Connect. Receiving parts, doing physical counts, printing labels, and adjusting inventory are still done in the old system.

Response from BrightOrder

Nancy,
Thank you so much for the review! We continually strive to improve at BrightOrder and appreciate your feedback. If you are still having issues with printing labels from EMDECS, please reach out to us at [email protected]. Our team is happy to assist in any way they can. Have a great day!

KARL
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

9 YEARS WITH EMDECS

Reviewed on 2023-10-30

PLEASE DONT GET ME WRONG , OVERALL I DONT THINK THERE IS ANYTHING OUT THERE THAT CAN MATCH YOUR...

PLEASE DONT GET ME WRONG , OVERALL I DONT THINK THERE IS ANYTHING OUT THERE THAT CAN MATCH YOUR SYSTEM. IT IS SIMPLE TO OPERATE AND EASY FOR THE TECHS AND LOWER MANAGEMENT . IT HAS BEEN A GREAT MANAGEMENT TOOL FOR OUR COMPANY.

Pros

I LOVE THE EASE OF SETTING UP PROGRAMS, THE SEVERAL DIFFERENT WAYS OF CROSS REFERENCING SERVICE, PARTS OF FINANCIAL SYSTEMS. IN THE 9 YEARS THEY HAVE MADE IMPROVEMENTS WHICH HAS HELPED

Cons

THE INABILITY FOR THE MANAGER OR ADMINISTRATOR TO MAKE DECISIONS CONCERNING THE PROGRAM . FOR INSTANCE YOU CAN DELETE A WORK ORDER INVOICE BUT IF YOU RECEIVE A PART WITH THE WRONG INVOICE NUMBER YOU CANNOT GO BACK AND DELETE THE INVOICE AND RE DO IT. i WAS TOLD BY THE HELP DESK THAT I WOULD MESS UP THE INVENTORY. WELL I THINK THAT THE SITE MANAGER SHOULD BE SMART ENOUGH TO DO AN INVENTORY ADJUSTMENT. AFTE R RE-DOING THE INVOICE. BY NOT BEING ABLE TO DO THIS REQUIRES A LOT OF LEG WORK TO THE MAIN OFFICE AND THE INTEGRATION WILL BE WRONG SO YOU HAVE TO WRITE A LETTER EXPLAINING WHAT YOU DID WRONG AND THEN THEY HAVE TO DELETE AND MANUALLY RE-ENTER ON THERE SIDE. tHE INABILITY TO CLEAN OUT OLD INFORMATION ON THE SRT GUIDE. THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR SETTING THIS UP IS VERY VAGUE SO MISTAKES WERE MADE IN THE BEGINNING WHICH MADE IT MISERABLE FOR SETTING UP FUTURE SRT GUIDES. IT HELPED A LOT WHEN YOU ALLOWED US TO INACTIVATE THE OLD ONES BUT WHEN SETTING UP A NEW ONE YOU HAVE TO BE SO CAREFUL NOT TO REUSE CERTAIN WORDS. THE TUTORIALS ARE GOOD FOR ANYTHING BASIC BUT ANYTHING THAT IS MORE COMPLEX THEY MAKE MINOR MENTION OF THE THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW AND MOST OF THE HELP DESK ARE NOT MUCH HELP. SOME OF YOUR AGENTS ARE VERY GOOD BUT SOME ARE OF NO HELP AT ALL.. ONE TIME YOU CALLED HERE ASKING ON HOW TO IMPROVE THE SYSTEM BUT I WAS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF EVERYTHING AND WAS HARD TO THINK OF ANYTHING. WITH A LITTLE WARNING OR SOME ADDRESS WHERE WE COULD SEND OUR CONCERNS AS THEY COME UP WOULD BE EXTREMELY HELPFUL . THERE ARE A LOT OF THINGS IN INVENTORY MANAGEMENT THAT COULD BE IMPROVED ON.

Response from BrightOrder

Hello Karl,

Thank you so much for the review. Your feedback is really important to us! One thing that we are working on is a more complete knowledgebase for our clients - step-by-step guides and videos that go more in detail and depth than our previous articles. Next time outreach is done - I'll make sure that you receive an email so that you can have time to give us feedback. We strive to continually grow and listen to our customers - thank you again!

Diane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

emdecs review

Reviewed on 2023-10-17

We are very happy with this system.

We are very happy with this system.

Pros

This system is easy to use, so many features to make a shop run smoothly. inventory seems to work very well. tech software is such a big help allowing techs to use, clock in and out of jobs, add comments, add parts, job lines, without enough control to really mess up the paperwork. tech support is fantastic. call back time is usually within minutes and updates are emailed regularly until issue is resolved. when we looking for new program this just seemed to fit all criteria. set up for a repair shop or fleet maintenance it has most all features you could want. appreciate that operators of system can not easily change information once entered and always a record of changes. can not delete workorders or invoices without trail

Cons

reports are not always accurate and sometimes difficult to find which one you actually want. core on hand values are not correct. looking up past work history can be more difficult than other programs

Response from BrightOrder

Hey Diane , we appreciate the review and are glad we could be of service. Your feedback is really important to us. If you have any further needs or questions, please reach out!

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Rocky Start Redeemed By Dedicated Support

Reviewed on 2023-10-19

Pros

We needed a product that integrated with our transportation management software. EMDECS met that requirement for us. We really like that employees need to be logged into a job. It helps us track their productivity better than previous software packages. The fact that its browser based puts less pressure on our own internal IT resources so they can focus on other things. The service board allows for better planning in the shop for the daily activities. Does what we need it to do. Some reports are very detailed. Support requests are promptly responded to and addressed.

Cons

Integration with our transportation management software was very painful and time consuming. Cost us a lot of time during tax season when we didn't have time to spare. A lot of reports can't be exported to excel or have limitations on what they report on. For example, you can only report turnover on the top 100 parts. Default settings on the customer can override amounts on invoices and you can charge incorrect amounts if you're not paying attention. The server speed is slow. Physical inventory interface can be very slow to input data and cumbersome. Has a higher learning curve than previous software packages we've used.

Response from BrightOrder

We would not be able to grow and develop without feedback like yours, Ben. We are thrilled you had a great experience with our Customer Experience Team. Thank you so much for the review and if you need anything please do not hesitate to give us a call or submit a ticket.

lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

As below

Reviewed on 2023-08-24

Overall history of vehicle, breaking down costs to share with SLT to help understand fleet renewal

Overall history of vehicle, breaking down costs to share with SLT to help understand fleet renewal

Pros

Overall a great fleet management app. Main purpose for me is vehicle history of repairs, parts, dates etc....available at your finger tips. Works well with our requirements for DVSA ER, however, i do believe we are the only ER operator who uses Emdecs, it does make me wonder why? I have never looked at other products available but i have had no reason too. You work with the tools you have and more than happy to continue with Emdecs. Support team are very responsive and helpful when needed which is very key.

Cons

Emdecs are an DVSA ER approved service. Attention to Driver reporting defects is much needed going forward with ER KPIs (M4) Unable to use this function comfortably on our Drivers PDAs.

Response from BrightOrder

Lee, we appreciate your business and value your feedback. If there is anything else we can do for you, please let us know!

Barb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

emdecs

Reviewed on 2023-10-23

Most time when calling in is goodIf I get Nick the process goes way easier because he understands...

Most time when calling in is goodIf I get Nick the process goes way easier because he understands my way of doing things

Pros

Inventory Once you learn the system its easy to navigate

Cons

Not being able to go in a report and print information by click on an amount

Response from BrightOrder

Hello Barb! Thank you so much for the review. Your feedback is very important to us at BrightOrder. I will also forward this information to Nick! Thank you again.

Cosmin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Satisfactory

Reviewed on 2023-11-16

Pros

It has ease of access, good customer support, friendly interface.

Cons

System is crashing down often and almost all updates are followed by more issues than before.

Response from BrightOrder

Thank you so much for your review, Cosmin. We value your feedback and we strive to continually improve our product. If you need assistance please reach out to us at [email protected] and we will be happy to assist you!

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

EMDECS review

Reviewed on 2023-11-01

system relatively user friendly; overall, a very positive experience, customer support is attentive...

system relatively user friendly; overall, a very positive experience, customer support is attentive to our needs and issues, great value for money.

Pros

Ease of use, reliability, attention to detail, customer support is amazing if any issues

Cons

no identifiable glaring weaknesses noted

Response from BrightOrder

Scott,

Thank you so much for your review! It's always a pleasure to work with you and I look forward to speaking again soon. As usual, if you have any questions or comments, please feel free to reach out to us.

Best,
Lisa

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent system

Reviewed on 2023-10-12

Excellent from our first conversation, [sensitive content hidden] and the team are very helpful, we...

Excellent from our first conversation, [sensitive content hidden] and the team are very helpful, we worked together to develop a customer access portal - allowing a simple live customer access for processing estimates and final purchase order numbers.

Pros

Emdecs system supports our business operation daily, we have tried other systems but EMDECS is definitely the best out there.

Cons

Nothing, I can honestly say there’s isn’t any negatives

Response from BrightOrder

Thanks Nathan. We're thrilled that you were satisfied with our services. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to be of help again soon!

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dependable / Reliable / Valued Partner

Reviewed on 2023-11-29

Our business has grown and continues to grow with the help of this tool.

Our business has grown and continues to grow with the help of this tool.

Pros

How we have been able to insert the uniqueness of our inustry / business / process into the EMDECS system.

Cons

Nothing to report. We are very satisfied.

Response from BrightOrder

Thank you so much for the review, Jason. It's always great to receive feedback from our clients. Please, reach out if you have any questions or concerns and a member of our team will be more than happy to assist you!

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Emdec Review

Reviewed on 2023-09-11

Pros

Paperless, DOT schedules are in real time. Intergration with McLeod Loadmaster

Cons

the least thing I dislike about it. I really don't have one.

Response from BrightOrder

Dear Thomas, thank you for recommending us in your review! We're glad we made your experience with us a great one and will be happy to help you again soon.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Summery

Reviewed on 2023-10-02

Pros

To have a complete Inventory and the ability to track our units.

Cons

We are still transitioning from old program.

Response from BrightOrder

Thanks Brian. We're thrilled that you were satisfied with our services. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to be of help again soon!

Blake
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Aggravating

Reviewed on 2018-05-29

There's no real procedure for transitioning into this program, and the program is incomplete with...

There's no real procedure for transitioning into this program, and the program is incomplete with several options that I would have considered basic still missing, these are being added as far as I know but it was pitched to us as a fully functioning system, not a work in progress.

Pros

It seems to be on its way to being a high quality program, but its not there yet and service outages are an all to common occourance

Cons

Transitioning from paper/spreadsheet has been horrific, customer service is nice and they do what they can, but they are kind of clueless, it seems like they weren't given any training and are expected to learn it all on the job, from an outside point of view anyway

Gino
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

This system goes down so often, you never know when you’re not going to be able to access your...

Reviewed on 2018-08-06

Their system goes down constantly once for three days with no access to any of our information. ...

Their system goes down constantly once for three days with no access to any of our information. This system constantly gets very very slow where you’re unable to work on it because it takes minutes for one page to load.
The worst part we specifically asked if it was QuickBooks compatible but we were told it was. You can only merge a very small portion of the information to QuickBooks. We wasted thousands of dollars In labor to get this set up and to use it to find out it has many flaws.

Pros

This system goes down so often, you never know when you’re not going to be able to access your information.

Cons

Very difficult to use. Not QuickBooks compatible as they will tell you it is.
Their system goes down constantly once for three days with no access to any of our information

Spencer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Flexible product

Reviewed on 2023-10-13

EMDECS has allowed us to plan, track and record our work from start to finish, simplifying the...

EMDECS has allowed us to plan, track and record our work from start to finish, simplifying the whole process and ensuring compliance. The team have been excellent at helping set up and fix mistakes.

Pros

The software is flexible enough to be used in ways other than intended, which allows us to track our work the way we want to

Cons

job scheduling has a few flaws where multiple jobs are booked for the same asset

Response from BrightOrder

Hello Spencer! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate and value the feedback from our clients. We use this information to constantly improve EMDECS. Thanks again!

Rich
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Very easy to use and I realized a quick return on my investment

Reviewed on 2016-01-05

I am very happy with this software. My shop has always been and pen and paper shop, but I needed to...

I am very happy with this software. My shop has always been and pen and paper shop, but I needed to get with the times. We chose this product for its easy of use and how quickly my entire shop employees learned how to use the product.

Would like to see it have standard repair times in the system already, but as I have been told they are in the middle of getting this done.

Oronzo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Gestionale

Reviewed on 2024-02-28

Gestione lavorativa e gestionale ottima.

Gestione lavorativa e gestionale ottima.

Pros

Il modo semplice facile e veloce di gestire il proprio magazzino.

Cons

Non ho ancora provato l’assistenza clienti e spero sia altrettanto facile contattarla.