194 reviews

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
194 reviews
Varun S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic option for an accounting firm!

Reviewed on 2020-12-17

Very positive and highly recommended

Pros

We've transformed our accounting firm from traditional "after the fact" billing and collection, to a monthly recurring fee model using Plooto.
It has automated one of the most painful parts of running an accounting firm.
Our clients love to do their own Receivables, Payables and CRA payments using Plooto.

Cons

Reports functionality is lacking
It takes time for clients to get a hang of it initially when setting up PAD.

Scott W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great financial software for small and mid-sized organizations

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

We use the software for payment of invoices including external vendors, staff reimbursements, and payroll. Works perfectly for us. Just a few clicks and there are adequate checks and balances features to ensure accountability and security.

Pros

As a small association, with few vendors and accounts payable/receivable, the software works very well for us. While I'm sure it can also be used for larger organizations and may have lots of advanced functions, the core user interface, notifications, integrations and other features are perfect for our smaller organizations. No unnecessary complications.

Cons

I suppose if anything, if you need to reverse a payment already in process it can be a bit of a challenge but have only experienced that once.

Diana M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How Plooto Saved Me

Reviewed on 2020-12-09

Pros

Supporting associations with multiple signatories this has been a world of difference in my process flow and the quality and timeliness of payment processing. Each of signatories is set up and whosh off go payments. Was for several years using postal services or meeting in person. A couple of postal strikes later during which i felt i was losing the plot. Labelling/addressing envelopes (small operation so no stamps or administrative assistants), going to post office. And same on the other end for the receivers. Also had a situation of a missing cheque and bank account fraud as well. Am sure it was a payment to service provider that disappeared. Suddenly draws to the bank account are coming from all over Canada for large amounts.
And then I bumped into Plooto at a QBO Conference...LIFE CHANGING.
Not to speak of today's world where I'm limiting as much errand running as possible.

Cons

Used to be support was on phone live. really hate the chat funciton, somehow my descriptions never get captured by the feed, they receive blanks on support end. So it is really a pain. don't know why and know it must be a set up thing but have not been able to solve.

Zak K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Turnkey, easy to use accounts payable solution

Reviewed on 2020-12-08

It's been a tent pole product for us as part of our finance activities. Highly recommend to any organization with daily payment needs.

Pros

Plooto makes it very easy to pay suppliers and vendors. If you can get your bills from Xero or your accounting software, its just a couple of clicks away to create payments. The additional approval workflow features are great for scaling up and delegating Accounts Payable and setting limits on payment types. Plooto Instant is also a very handy solution for last minute payment needs, we always keep funds there for our staff.

Cons

A better/more open API so we could programmatically create new payment contacts or set Email Transfer passwords, but honestly that's nit-picking. The functionality provided is more than enough for 99% of businesses.

Monica S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Alternative Medicine
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great system for AP/AR

Reviewed on 2020-02-12

Great system will continue to use it

Pros

Its super easy to send/request money. Funds transfer pretty quickly.

Cons

If there is a technical glitch, it isn't easy to fix

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software for the price!

Reviewed on 2020-12-08

Pros

This software saves our organization so much time and effort to process our accounts payable. The link to Quickbooks also saves the time posting. Overall it’s a great system to remove all manual processes and payments from your workflows. And payments can be approved remotely which doesn’t hold up payments having to wait for signing authorities to be in the office.

Cons

I wish that the USD payments into the USA institutions were more competitive in pricing. It’s still expensive to process if they are outside of Canada for us.

Lynn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2020-12-08

Fairly good. I would recommend it.

Pros

The integration with QuickBooks Online is good - it is current and shows me bills have be paid that same day as the order goes in.
I

Cons

Missing bill payments.
Missing an integration to show that my recurring monthly Receivable payments are paid in QBO.

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple, dependable and powerful

Reviewed on 2020-02-12

A client had to bring A/P in house and I was tasked to find a solution that minimized their efforts in payment processing while securing QBO. Plooto is what we selected and it has been a great decision. From set up to ongoing use, the support is excellent.

Pros

From set up to ongoing use, the support is excellent. Seamless integration to QBO.

I am encouraging other clients to move over to Plooto.

Cons

There is nothing yet I "wished" Plooto did better. For A/P processing, it exceeds expectations.

Rachel L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable EFT Service

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

Pros

As an organization that previously printed cheques, being able to remit payment to vendors electronically has been great. The approval set-up is also great for our organization as we can easily set up two directors to sign off on all payments.

Cons

No major complaints. Getting set up as an organization was a little tricky.

Josh R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for paying multiple parties at one time.

Reviewed on 2020-12-17

Payments made to subcontractors and easily processed. I would like to see a quicker turnaround time for the money to hit the recipients accounts (and not require a separate "instant" account).

Pros

This software makes it easy to pay multiple parties at one time. The integration with QBO makes this easy and only takes a few clicks to process payments.

Cons

Banking reconciliation needs to be improved to support QBO. The fees often hit wrong chart of accounts and requires manual adjustments on occasions.

Lisa J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Company but actual conversions would be nice!

Reviewed on 2020-12-17

Besides what I described above with receivables everything else is fine. Wish they did not keep people on a monthly fee. We use to pay by the transaction. I always liked that better.

Pros

The fact that i can just send money in the click if a button!

Cons

The fact that when we are requesting a payment we cannot request it in the country $$$ like payments. For instance, I am in the usa. If I request 600 Canadian dollars from a customer in Canada I have to put in in USA dollars which leaves me to figure out the conversions and then by the time plooto pulls it almost a wekk later the conversions change so we are pulling more or less than we are suppose to. Nobody is going to agree on a different countries dollar amount and wait to see how much gets pulled depending on the conversion rate for that day. It should be $600 Candian regardless of what the conversions are. You do this on payables but not receivables which is aggravating.

Eilish K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great interface

Reviewed on 2020-02-12

Overall it has been a really great experience.

Pros

It has a really nice look and feel and ease of use. Ramp up time was very little when I had to take over as admin.

Cons

It isn't really about the software - but I do wish the window was smaller for when out account is credited to when it is then debited to our vendors.

Mattias B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2020-12-08

Pros

I like not having to write checks, plooto lets me pay anyone online with no trips to the postoffice or having to order checks.

Cons

I haven't had any issues with plooto. Only issue has been with my integration with quickbooks had a few glitches at the beginning with international currency.

Graham R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Plooto review

Reviewed on 2020-12-18

Excellent. It is one of the most important features when it comes to convincing clients to convert to cloud-based accounting systems.

Pros

The integration with QBO is fantastic. The ability to have send cheques as an option is also great when certain suppliers are still holding out on accepting EFTs.

Cons

Nothing to dislike, but I would love to see credit cards added as a payment option. We have lots of clients who prefer to pay suppliers this way.

Ken M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Loved the product until last week when we lost 30K because of PLooto system bug!

Reviewed on 2018-03-01

Pros

1-Easy to use
2- Dashboards are great
3- Cost is on point
4- Set up was easy

Overall has such potential to be a leader in this space, however, read cons!

Cons

1-Security
2- Customer services/Success
3- Accountability when errors are made-

Last week you guys seemed to have a system bug the resulted in your system double paying involves totalling 30K. This is a huge red flag for us on the controls and security of your platform. When we contacted you guys we were given no explanation and no solution. Just told to ask vendors for credit notes and this is just not a solution.. I need solutions and explanations fast or we will be removing our selves from your platform, won't roll out other companies and will certainly be adding the review on your product. This means we are currently out 30K and not to mention all the additional time this has take for my staff to investigate. The more troubling part is that we found this and this was not detected by Plooto. This is too bad as i feel your platform had lots of potential but when in comes to payments, security is the number one concern. Customer services would also be a good addition!

Milla Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good software but need a bit of tweaking

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

Pros

Easy implementation. Very easy to enroll A/R client for automatic payments.

Cons

I have issue with setting up notifications on approvals for A/P - in theory I know this can be done but I'm just lost on how to. The sync with QBO is manual, does not seem like Plooto is doing it automatically. And I acan not reach customer care line (multiple attempts) to resolve the above...

Mohamed I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, no need to write chq anymore

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

Pros

We use Plooto with clients that write many chq. We like how it streamlines payments and reconciliations

Cons

Well, this is more of an issue of banking in Canada, not Plooto but payments take 4 days to clear :(

Diane B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Plooto Experience

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

Pros

Product is very easy to use; tech support is quick and easy to access; integration with QuickBooks is simple.

Cons

I would like to see a separate section for reports.

Sam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

sam

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

otherwise i like it

Pros

it is a handy payable tool which integrates with qbs

Cons

for the last few months, i've had to put up with the web connector not being able to auto run by itself, i have to manually run it, and constantly the app permission window comes up and makes me give permission. Also, it would be a plus if Plooto would handle any vendor credits or refunds

Emalee K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product!

Reviewed on 2020-12-17

Great product, good pricing.

Pros

We like this product for Oran gazing payables and receivables from out QBO file and delegating them to be paid or set up for payment to another staff. EFT are great too for clients we don't have direct bank access too.

Cons

Some international payments we have had to make do not work - aka not offered.

Heather H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Recommend as part of your Basic Tech Stack

Reviewed on 2020-12-08

I appreciate the simplicity of paying the bills with minimal effort. It also encourages you to be sure your Accounting Software is clean.

Pros

I like the approval factor the best. We require 2 signatures of 7 partners. We can now get them with ease.

Cons

Setting up Credit Union Bank Accounts - Seams to require Customer Support each time.

Peter P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great method for bulk payments.

Reviewed on 2020-12-08

This has greatly simplified our payable transactions. It allows the company to make payments in multiple currencies with relative ease.

Pros

The product links with our accounting software (xero) very well and has been a great method of making significant payables for monthly payables.

Cons

Some transfers to foreign countries didn't work yet.

Holly W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Plooto Review

Reviewed on 2020-12-21

Great experience, easy to use, just takes a little too long to fill all of our needs.

Pros

Plooto makes paying vendors easy and fast. Vendor receiving notifications of incoming payment is very helpful.

Cons

Takes too long to send payments (one week).
Would like to send transfers to staff through Plooto for expense reimbursements, but can't because it takes a week for them to receive funds.

Norris P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Efficient process but too long for trans to complete. Plooto 5 bus. days...competitior 24-48...

Reviewed on 2020-12-21

We use it for 2 of the 5 companies in our group. A third was abandoned because the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] became frustrated with the setup process and subsequent delay in processing payments, especially for USD. A fourth ( a financial services division) is on hold because the insurance bond has excluded the use of Plooto.

Pros

Yes. comparatively user friendly. Large fields and navigation.

Cons

The payment confirmation has a code with the big green checkmark but no detail. Needs to have at least payee or amount to cross reference so that can be used in place of, say, a cheque stub. The follow-up alternative is to wait for the deposit confirmation days later or reprint the payment report detail month which doubles the effort.

Frank F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Plooto--easy setup and integration

Reviewed on 2020-12-21

Loved it--no issues at all, continue to use it today. It's very reliable.

Pros

Loved that setup with Xero was immediate and very easy. Probably less than 10 min.

Cons

Transaction costs didn't go down with scale