Showing 115 reviews of 112

Dundas BI

Flexible Dashboard, Reporting and Data Analytics Software

4.5 /5 (112 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
Showing 115 reviews of 112
Kris B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dundas BI - If you don't have it, get it...

Reviewed on 2016-11-02

We have been a partner with Dundas BI for almost two years, since the initial release of the product. We were searching for a BI offering to present to our clients and stumbled upon Dundas almost by accident. Good thing we did. In hindsight, choosing any product other than Dundas BI would have been the wrong choice. The architecture of Dundas BI uses HTML5, CSS and JavaScript - no legacy technology here. The product is can be deployed on-premise or in the cloud, includes multi-tenant functionality, includes out-of-the-box connectors to an array of data sources, allows for ETL in the application, gives developers granular control over most design elements, the dashboard features are almost limitless and the support team is outstanding.

Pros

Flexibility and functionality.

Cons

I'll never fully exploit the capabilities of the software - it's simply too massive.

Luis S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Explore, analyze and get fast insights of your data in an easy and fast way using Dundas BI.

Reviewed on 2016-10-12

I've been working in Business Intelligence for quite a long time and in the beginning it was hard to explore data and show information in form of data visualizations for the end users. Since I discovered Dundas BI, this task turned to be much more simple and easy to achieve! Dundas Bi has an IDE for developing Dashboards, Reports and Scorecards that uses the last technologies in web applications developments which makes your life simplier. The smart drag and drop design tools, the rich set of data visualizations customizable to the lowermost detail, the style and themes feature, turns possible to create rich and interactive dashboards in a breeze! Dundas BI comes with an ETL (Export , Transform and Load) layer, where you can clean and prepare your data, this is done using a canvas where you can drag your tables from a data source, choose the columns you want, aggregate them, join with other tables, filter and a lot of interesting features regarding the ETL process. It connects to a lot of data sources: Oracle, Microsoft SqlServer, Excel files, ... It is a collaborative tool, with scheduled reports, based on a metric or not, you can even annotate data points, writing a comment on it in a way that others can see and respond to it! Every view can be exported to excel, pdf, image and even powerpoint.

The management of the software is in the form all in one! every thing is done in the application, from user creation object permissions, overall configuration, project exporting/importing and management!

Pros

The drag and drop feature for creating views is a very productive feature. The ETL is also great, it's easy to use and, for more advanced users, it evens permits to write direct sql against tha data source you choose. Regarding performance it has two possibilities, you can cache in memory or in DBI data warehouse. The collaborative feature of this tool is a must to have feature, I specially like the data driven notification option that could alert you by email when a specific metric goes behind a threshold or state.

Cons

It needs to take a step further and aboard predicted analytics!

Jatin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to customize and user friendly GUI

Reviewed on 2020-01-31

Overall I definitely would like to recommend Dundas BI as a BI tool for organization. within a sort time of period you can easily create your own reports or dashboard.

Pros

Dundas BI easy to customize and very friendly GUI. you can easily navigate to ETL process, Scheduling job, admin activity, configuration, user security and roles.

Most important thing is very well visualization options, flexibility, stability and multi tenancy licenses.

Customer Support is really very good.

Cons

Required better folder structure to manage data cubes, matric Set and dashboard.

Guillaume R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Hands down the best value for money

Reviewed on 2019-06-28

Pros

The first impression (pre-sales traject) is awesome. The people at Dundas are very friendly and efficient. When you actually start using it, there is a lot that can be done out of the box, and Dundas helps you in many places to make your life easy. For most of the rest, you can extend it programmatically.
Support is usually quite efficient, and there are a few great experts on the forum to get extra help.
The price and licencing models are really good and client friendly, especially for small companies.

Cons

If you want to do something which doesn't fall within what Dundas expects you to do this becomes tricky quite fast (it is still doable most of the time, though).
Everything in Dundas can be overridden in multiple places. It is as powerful as it is confusing.

Onur Ö.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New generation self-BI

Reviewed on 2016-07-25

Pros

Dundas BI is the flexible BI tool I've ever seen and quite easy to use for BI developers. For the end-users, It can be a bit confuse at the beginning. But when they learn to manage the functionality and abilities of Dundas BI they will probably really like it.
They can learn it quickly with free videos and once data model ready; end-users can start to build their own report without need any technical support cause you don't need to create scripts. You can easyly create your dashboards with drags and drops.
Dundas BI has also a great support team. They are always there for you. On the website you can easyly reach all the documention and examples.
Dundas BI makes the complex reporting system too simple for you like version management, multi-tanency.

Cons

The product is huge ability. You can create whatever you want(I saw an example like a developer was changing the lamps with a bar of Dundas). But to manage this ability you need to have a good Java Script knowladge which i don't like.

Larry C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dundas is the way to go!!!

Reviewed on 2015-10-07

Pros

The visualization is great! I think this is exactly what executives are looking. We looked at several other software that did the same thing but they weren't as visually awesome as Dundas. Dundas BI is much much easier and user friendly than the first version they had. I like this one very much... They have basically incorporated the SSRS, SSIS and SSAS in a nice neat package. The drag and drop features for Excel documents are great.

Cons

The mobile app functionality isn't what we thought it would be. It is a bit difficult to understand and get at first.

Currently I'm fighting adding maps to it(I don't be believe this is a Dundas issue), but it would've been cool if they had the US states in the default map along with "every other country in the world"

Danny T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Value, but not the best

Reviewed on 2019-06-20

Overall, the product is working as intended. Like anything else, as you get more comfortable with it & start to learn the quirks it becomes a little like second nature.

Pros

The initial attraction to the software was the look. It's slick & clean & making visualizations is snappy & they look good with little tuning. That was a big selling point. The platform is built so that you can customize based on your needs & that's huge. Plus, the cost was a fraction of the largest competitor we reviewed.

Cons

Customer Service can be a bit choppy. You can't "call in" for an answer, unless it's a quick one, if you need help troubleshooting something while you're in the thick of it - sorry, you need to schedule the time when things go wrong. There were other issues with being sold different licenses than what we used in our trial, with no clear understanding of the separation until after the fact. Debugging data errors, if you're working with alot of data can be a NIGHTMARE.

Jian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Where data becomes alive and beautiful.

Reviewed on 2019-01-04

Pros

Very modern workspace style with a lot of visualization options.
Absorbs latest technologies fast and releases new features frequently.
Provides unlimited possibilities when it comes to dashboard design.

Cons

Object references are too complicated, making duplicating/promoting items not as straightforward as it could be.
Deployment could be very slow and problematic.
Data directly from SSAS cube often stops refreshing.

Shashank G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Visualization made easy

Reviewed on 2018-01-15

ts a versatile platform

Pros

I can connect to anything, customize most everything (or not), report on any kind of data.
It allows to combine data from numerous different data sources (SQL Server, Oracle, SAP BW, Excel, etc.) into combined data cubes allowing the data to be presented in cohesive dashboards and reports that are not broken up by where the data is stored.

Cons

The amazing flexibility of dashboarding tools comes complexity and a bit of a learning curve. It would be great if there was more guidance built into the application so that the tools could be more intuitive.

Elmar H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dundas BI review

Reviewed on 2016-09-07

Dundas BI is a very flexible tool to create the most creative dashboards and or reports. If there is something you can't figure out you can contact there support and you will always get an answer within a day.

Pros

The number of visualisations and the flexibility especially when you also start scripting

Cons

At the moment we have some difficulties with the export but that it also our own fault. We created a very complex table that we need to export.

Leann N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, Flexible, and Well Supported

Reviewed on 2015-10-07

Pros

Products that are powerful, flexible, and feature-rich can often be complex and take time to learn. Dundas makes the learning easy, with rich documentation, videos, example scripts, and a wonderful support team. Once you've mastered the basics, creating powerful dashboards in Dundas is surprisingly quick and easy. Dynamic elements give our users the flexibility they need without complex scripting being required, and I love the ability to use Layers for a cleaner design experience.

Cons

While we understand the good reasons behind switching from Dundas script to JavaScript, this transition is a bit of an extra learning curve for our team.

Rony A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outstanding data visualisation platform!

Reviewed on 2015-09-25

Pros

Product: Truly flexible, dynamic, and easy to use visualisation product. We have reviewed many that are available on the market, but Dundas stands out because of the stunning aesthetics, responsive and touch-enabled interface and highly robust deployment capabilities.

Vendor: I can not fault the customer service, it is one the best that I have ever come across. For this reason in particular, I'd highly recommend Dundas to anyone without a doubt.

Cons

Nothing to add here - very happy with the service provided and the Dundas BI solution.

Helge S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly customizable BI software with awesome features and visualisations

Reviewed on 2017-11-16

We tried out many BI tools but Dundas is over all for us the best BI tool on the marked.

Pros

You can customize everything. Ease to use. Pixel perfect visualisations. Great support. Massive out-of-the-box capabilities.

Cons

The collaboration functionalities could be better. A function to send messages to other users for example would be create.

Kevin H.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quality product exceptional service

Reviewed on 2017-03-03

After a little learning Dundas BI is a powerful tool with enough functionality for most enterprise environments. Easy to deploy with a simple architecture.

Pros

Speed of deployment is a real plus. Customized white labeling, multitenancy, and a simple administration interface make this a powerful tool.

Cons

Does take a little learning and needs a big server Ram for in memory processing.

Jacqui K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast dashboard development

Reviewed on 2015-10-12

Pros

Product: That they have taken the HTML5 path and eventually the tool will become more responsive so solution providers can get closer to the build once and deploy on any device nirvana that clients are coming to expect.
Vendor: The awesome support team. Always very responsive to any queries that we have had.

Cons

Product: The navigation paradigm for people who don't embed this tool in another application, but rather use it as a stand alone tool. You pretty much need to roll your own.
Vendor: That they don't have the exposure yet that some of the other BI tool providers. It is harder to convince a client to consider a product that they haven't heard about. We in no way think this reflects on the capability of the product.

Charlie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Intuitive

Reviewed on 2015-10-08

Pros

Product: The balance between ease of use and flexibility to customize
Vendor: Our Account Rep Denise

Cons

Support has been more difficult requiring long detailed emails be sent instead of directly speaking with someone on the phone when the issue is something beyond a simple fix

Brad H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dundas BI allows for rapid extensibility

Reviewed on 2017-09-06

Pros

The ability for us to write custom extensions to use the product with our highly-customized data solutions

Cons

I wish that their support was a bit more responsive to requests the first time. I sometimes feel like they require more follow-up than I would anticipate.

Chris D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dundas: One of a kind

Reviewed on 2017-12-22

Pros

Easy to use and understand.
Great customer support team.
If stuck with a doubt the support team is always instant in backing with a reply and solution for the same.

Cons

Not many How to do videos or academy for beginners to learn the product to get comfortable in the start.

Tom L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Powerful Tool with some Amazing Capabilities

Reviewed on 2015-09-25

Pros

Product: I can create fantastic data visualizations quickly. Everything is self-contained--from security to data extraction to visualization. I don't have to spend time cobbling things together with JavaScript and bailing wire; I can just create dashboards.

Vendor: They provide great customer service and support for their products and I feel like I'm their only or top customer. I know I'm not, but it feels that way.

Cons

It would be nice if their support hours extended a little later for those of us in the Pacific time zone.

Kris B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dundas BI

Reviewed on 2016-01-05

While there is a bit of a learning curve with Dundas BI, the software is extremely powerful and flexible. The Dundas BI support team is great at helping clients get through the initial educational process and provides outstanding customer service.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Experience for Your Dashboard's Users

Reviewed on 2020-01-02

The Creation GUI is very quirky, but the results are well worth putting up with it.
I have never had an idea that I could not eventually create (sometimes, some java script is needed).
The fact that they expose all of their API tools to the end user is amazing, and allows you to create some awesome things.

Pros

- Support team is very helpful with basic use cases.

- After a dashboard has been created, it looks great and works well for the end user.

- People with zero programming experience are able to create dashboards.

Cons

(All very minor things, which might be addressed in future updates)
- Data cube creation, metric sets, and dashboards must be created using their GUI- they cannot be generated using scripts or edited as script.

- You cannot copy and paste sections of one dashboard or datacube to another.

- Data cube nodes cannot be copied.

- All programming scripts are stored in an sql database, which means you cannot use version control systems (such as Git Hub).

Octavian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dundas BI - Much more than a BI tool

Reviewed on 2020-04-14

Overall experience is very good, I like that there is nothing that can't be done with this tool, with regards to user requirements.

Pros

Best thing about Dundas BI is that it is very extendable to user needs and it can accomplish a lot more in a very short development time, comparing to other BI tools on the market which are not so extendable and easy to use. You can also build more than a dashboard with Dundas BI, you can also create software as a service applications with complex navigation systems and all sorts of rules applied to the visualizations and it's data. Speaking of data, it also has a very powerful ETL engine that enables data transformation without needing to know SQL or other query languages.

Cons

These is not much to dislike at this tool but if I have to come up with an answer, I will say that the complexity of options for every visualization could be a dislike because it is very time consuming to find everything in the properties tab of each type of viz. This also may be a big like because it enables you to customize everything pixel perfect.

Mohammad K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

End to End Enterprise BI Solution

Reviewed on 2016-11-01

I used Dundas BI for almost the last two years, Dundas BI is Enterprise end to end solution where you can connect to your data through wide range of data sources available and the ability to add extra data sources through its open API, Dundas BI contain embedded ETL engine to transform the data and it allows for multiple data access options (Datawarehouse, In memory analysis and direct connection to data). by using Dundas BI you can build your dashboards, reports and scorecard with friendly interface and with rich library of visualization charts from bar and pie charts and ending with relationship chart and histogram chart. Also Dundas BI allow business users to do their self service analysis with referring back to IT people, I cannot forget their customer support, they have well trained team to support their customers from incidents and issues and service request like helping us in writing Java codes to do amazing things in the solution.

The tools is completely open and it is build over JS and HTML5, this is so amazing since Dundas BI is fully supported on mobiles with all mobile features like pinch to zoom and others.

As Dundas BI have full Java and .Net APIs then it is very easy to integrated Dundas and embedded it in other portals and it has out the box integration with SharePoint.

Pros

Flexible tool where you can do what ever you want, I beleive that 95% of use cases can be build in Dundas BI as quick-wins and the rest is possible through JS and HTML5.

Cons

I wish Dundas BI to have out the box integration with web-services as this will be helpful and currently not available but it can be done through programming,

Kris B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Comprehensive BI = Dundas BI

Reviewed on 2015-10-01

Pros

Dundas BI is the most comprehensive BI platform available (trust me, we looked at BI products for almost a year before choosing DBI). Our three main criteria when selecting a BI platform for our clients were visualizations, reports and mobile. DBI covers all three criteria (with a codicil that will show up in the "What I like least" section) and the licensing costs are reasonable. Key features that are crazy cool: 1) DBI is data-source agnostic, 2) the scripting capability allows developers to do just about anything, 3) DBI is based on HTML5 technology (other well-known BI products are based on proprietary and/or outdated technology) and 4) the DBI support team (including the development team) provides excellent customer service.

For us, as a small software company, there is always the chance to second-guess the selection of a BI product. This was a critical decision for us as the BI software we deploy to our clients will directly impact the viability of our organization and our ability to stay relevant in the coming years. It is a testament to the DBI product and the Dundas team that the answer to the question "Did we select the right software?" is always a resounding "Yes".

Cons

The one knock on DBI is the lack of a mobile app. User experience is the number one factor for us when delivering products to our clients. Currently, mobile data is delivered via web pages. DBI would be greatly enhanced if the mobile experience was via a mobile app (even if the "app" was simply a wrapper the redirects users to the web page).

Mohammad Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great BI tool

Reviewed on 2016-09-07

We have chosen Dundas BI because of its flexibility and the ability to integrate with wide range of data sources, the open API platform that allows to do non-traditional integrations with our in-house systems.
Dundas support team are always on time to solve any issues or to provide any suggestions and java scripts to help our issues.

Pros

Flexibility to do whatever you want, Open API and known scripting languages like HTML5 and JS where 99% of your word can be accomplished through drag and drop including preparing the connections to database, you can do all the task which usually have to be done through SQL language by using Dundas and only drag and drop like join, sort , filter, union, aggregation and more.

Cons

The tool doesn't support the 3D Charts even it is clear that 3D charts are not professional.