119 reviews

Opsgenie

Modern IT incident management and response solution

4.7 /5 (119 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.7
100% recommended this app
119 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Basic incident management platform for startups

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020-09-24
Review Source: Capterra

Satisfied given the amount of money we pay with them

Pros

What I like the most about OpsGenie is its notification system. It has built-in SMS notification system, no need to integrate with other platforms & no need to pay extra. It comes with unlimited SMS notification (depending on your plan of course). Also, OpsGenie can notify you via phone call for critical alerts.

Cons

One thing OpsGenie is missing is alerts correlation. Basically OpsGenie just receives alerts and notify relative teams according to your notification rule. It would be better if OpsGenie has alerts correlation platform to deduplicate noise alarms

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bharath N.
Industry: Computer Software

its a nice a tools which can be configured as per your requirement and needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-01-09
Review Source: Capterra

stay up to date with the infra issues

Pros

--easy to configure or customise notification as per your requirement
--The GUI is very simple and self explanatory

Cons

when we change the mobile frequently then all the previously used mobile pile up in the configurations which causes issue later (I was not able to get the alerts since it was sending the alerts to the old mobile )...I had to delete the old mobiles from the web console to fix the issue

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Darren D.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Ops Genie - a new way forward

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-08-06
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a more suitable monitoring alerting platform to help us grow and make use of systems outside of our infrastructure. Ultimately, Ops Genie has helped us do that. We can now plug services like AWS and Jira into our monitoring without having to force Nagios checks to do the work that has mostly already been done elsewhere. It's provided us more accurate and reliable alerting and reduced the effects of duplicate alerts coming through whilst an incident is being investigated. We hope to make further gains using additional features we haven;'t touched upon yet in the Ops Genie ecosystem

Pros

We had previously been using a Nagios + SMS provider solution, which had served us well as a small company. However as we have grown, we have found that SMS just wasn't a reliable enough solution. We looked around at various alerting providers, and found Ops Genie to be the closest match to what we were looking for. It's given us the ability to test out new notifications before enabling them for our on-call schedules, Re-arrange on call as we see fit without having to fiddle with Nagios configs, utilise integrations to alleviate the sometimes difficult task of adding checks into Nagios from other systems and gain a better insight into our alerts while reducing the all too common "alert fatigue". It gives the ability to create much more complex workflows and setups that previously weren't possible.

Cons

As is often the case with software that provides a wealth of options, getting started was quite complex, particularly around scheduling on call patterns. I think larger organisations may not have this problem, but we wanted to do some rather custom set ups. Fortunately, the support from Ops Genie is frankly brilliant, and they walked us through everything we needed to do. Should there still be difficulties, they can enact the changes you're looking for and guide you through what was done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Allison G.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A Highly Capable Incident Management Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

We need an application that works hand-in-hand with our SIEM, Splunk, and OpsGenie does just that. As events filter into Splunk's incident management platform, our analysts are alerted through OpsGenie (via a webhook integration). Analysts can then acknowledge and manage alerts. We also use OpsGenie as a tool for documentation, although this may be a somewhat unconventional use case. Analysts can search back through past incidents, using them as a reference. This is a highly valuable tool to us and we look forward to future improvements.

Pros

We love the scheduling feature, which keeps all of our security analysts on track with their shifts. The mobile application is also very useful, as it allows analysts to manage their schedules and keep track of alerts while on the go. There are a plethora of applications that OpsGenie integrates with, such as Slack and AWS. The ability to integrate other applications with OpsGenie is important to us, as our services to our clients depend on it.

Cons

Sometimes new features are slow to be implemented, even if they are minor. For example, we have requested some minor features such as a dark mode and the ability to expand the text entry box, but these features have yet to be seen. Sometimes the search function can be difficult to use, as it requires a specific syntax that doesn't always function as expected.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rick R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perfect for Managing On-call Teams

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-03-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Software was easy to initially configure and get setup. Adding users was quick, both through the website and in the mobile app. Linking OpsGenie to our monitoring applications went smoothly. It allowed for multiple layers of logic to be incorporated. This helped implement escalations that were consistent in their performance. After using it for a month or so, we were able to go in and tweak that logic to make them even better. From an on-call technicians perspective, the software is easy to use. They know when they are on-call and are able to set their own notifications and escalations. Also, they can work with other techs to cover for each other and the app will let them set the time for the switch so the system notifies appropriately.

Cons

The rule creation can sometimes be complex and requires a more advanced user to accomplish.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Prabhudatsinh R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

One stop solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we are happy and glad to recommend OpsGenie at any other organization.

Pros

Opsgenie is one stop solution for our monitoring need . Adding Opsgenie reduces our manual and development effort very much. Systems are now easily manageable

Cons

There are still some integration which needs development efforts i..e JIRA . I wish that can also be automated and one click away integration.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

John G.
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool for monitoring systems and escalations

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

It has proven to be useful many times. We also utilize the incoming call option, so people can call for live support and it will rotate through the agents to find someone who is available.

Pros

It is a great tool because it allows you to escalate notifications so that if someone does not respond it will go to someone else. This allows for better support in an on call type of situation.

Cons

I have not encountered any issues with the software. There is a slight learning curve to understand how everything works and how to configure it, but it was fairly straightforward. Their support is also very helpful if you run into any issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shivashankar N.

Ops-Genie is a great tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

Effective communication and timely information providing for critical issue resolution.

Pros

Highly sensitive and express pace in communicating the person responsible for any issue. Features really takes you to the function in no time and effective in network for the operations and functions for critical incidents are addressed in a proper way.

Cons

May be you can simplify the login procedure both in the system and mobile.
Reporting functions can be developed further and send out notifications on weekly/monthly basis, especially for MIM calls.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bernd R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Solid Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-08-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Generally all relevant incident management features are included.

Cons

Sometimes the UX can be difficult, but it is improving.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Arthur B.

I like it, does the trick

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017-12-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We've never run into a situation where we couldn't integrate OpsGenie with some other service. i think that's awesome.

Cons

The advanced configuration page is difficult to use. It would be nice if we could use a test event and dry run the integrations to see if they work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joshua C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

I love OpsGenie!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Business and application wise, everything has been great. We appreciate all the great customer service we have received from George!

Pros

So many integrations since we have so many endpoints that this makes our lives so much easier.

Cons

Reporting has been an Achilles heel for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Deepak D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

I like the support over chat that we get

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017-12-20
Review Source: Capterra

perfect on-call rotation, escalation, easy mobile app

Pros

ease of use, it has wide options of integration, very easy to integrate with other tools, good support, website experience is nice, it is fast.

Cons

we have thousands of alerts, searching those with some criteria is difficult sometimes, search pattern doesn't work well or at least I don't know how to search there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rohit R.
Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

The most convenient alerting platform I ever used.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017-12-30
Review Source: Capterra

The calling feature in case we miss an alert makes my job a lot easier. This single benefit trumps everything.

Pros

Ease of installing.

Convenient web interface.

Availability of mobile apps on all major platforms.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Overall positive, it does what it is supposed to.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Good possibilities in terms of choosing notification medium and also the ability to set yearly settings is a big plus.

Cons

the app could be improved as it is quite minimal and also more admin rights to be accessible would improve the whole experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jerry A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great groduct that is easily integrated with existing infrastructure

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-12-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The web user interface is very intuitive and responsive. Same with the mobile app. Lots of options for integrating with other 3rd party software as well as your own custom software. The API's are full featured and the api docs are very thorough. Support is always helpful and extremely quick.

Cons

I'd like so see more done with Policies. It would be nice to be able to have more powerful matching options like grouping with and's and or's.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Overall positive

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-01-03
Review Source: Capterra

Error tracking - when and who is the error owner. Sometimes why the error occurs (I know is up to us to fill the field and we're working on this)
Great automated error notification

Pros

Fast in notifications and very flexible in customization, the android app is miles ahead of the previous app.

Cons

The Android app has gotten better but still it's pretty basic. It's very common in out department to change schedule and the only way to do it is in the web.

Also: please, please add web notifications and notification actions in the android app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Dependable Notifications without Breaking the Bank

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-10-11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Very reliable, always dependable in delivering alerts as needed
- Escalation schedules are fantastic for making sure an issue doesn't get missed and the correct people get notified
- Ability to set quiet hours is great to allow people to get a good night's sleep without leaving big gaps in coverage

Cons

- Interface can be a bit confusing at times, making it harder than it should be to do things
- Policies can be a bit convoluted to implement

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Ease of use

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Great service, support and account management. Overall a great platform.

Pros

Great software, easy to use and competitive.

Cons

None, I love OpsGenie! We had some suggestions when we joined, and they got implemented so I personally cannot complain!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Valery H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use and Integrated

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2018-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

easy to use and very integrated to use all screens

Cons

price was changed and went to a new level during

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

First Job as an On-Call Engineer

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

This has allowed us to track incidents and keep documentation well organised

Pros

I like that it is supported by multiple platforms.
I like that you can tailor the notification policies
I like the speech-to-text feature when incoming call received

Cons

API V1 deprecated and migration process is not very clear

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

Opsgenie makes ticket automation magic.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019-01-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Opsgenie can be configured open and close tickets automatically. When you want to spend the last time on tickets and more on making ops work opsgenie is great.

Cons

Some of the available integrations are not available in the free tier.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ignatiy S.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Love it! Very easy to setup in comparison to Splunk or ViktorOps

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017-12-30
Review Source: Capterra

Escalations of alerts became very reliable

Pros

Vast array of integrations; quite easy to set up generic REST, email and zabbix (didn't setup another yet)

Cons

Top set of features is little bit pricey, GUI is not always immediately reflect the most recent alerts

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

D’orin A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great product

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We can spread out the workload easily amongst our team and always have someone to respond to calls.

Cons

The iPhone app is not that inclusive but I get the limitations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John C.

Fluid, integrated, responsive.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Multiple overlapping schedules with different notification criteria and parallelism.
Overrides can be added ad-hoc as needed reducing the admin overhead of duty managers.

Cons

Cannot sign into the App with an application API key for each Single-Sign-On user. Due to mobile device policy restrictions, it is not always possible for a user to have a provisioned device for SSO sign-in with the App.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Verified Reviewer

Great application and do what we need!

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018-04-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The application have a fantastic user interface, we can silence some notification (to not receive a lot of notification when something is wrong and we are working on it)

Cons

Don't have much to complain it but the android mobile application could be better (don't know about the ios)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10