170 reviews

ibi

Information Builders' scalable BI and analytics platform

4.5 /5 (170 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.6
95% recommended this app
170 reviews
Mitchell C.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Reliable, Robust, User Friendly, and Flexible.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

Robust Reports and Charts; Business users can easily develop reports

Pros

- As an IT professional, I find WebFOCUS to be a powerful reporting tool which meets very diversified demands within my organization.
- Allows non-developers to quickly create reports and charts without a lot of technical know how.
- The applications can handle processing large amounts of data in a short period of time. - Technical support staff is knowledgeable and turnaround time for resolving issues is excellent. - Creating ad hoc reports in InfoAssist allows business users to quickly analyze data.

Cons

Have experienced a few hiccups when upgrading from one release to another, but with the assistance of their technical support team, we were able to resolve issues promptly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brian N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Feature Rich & East to Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-06-04
Review Source: Capterra

We are helping our clients with modern ways to look at their data to make real time business decisions that continue to propel their businesses to the next level. WebFocus has provided every thing we have needed to create what our company calls raving fans.

Pros

From self-service to complicated analytic reporting needs, the WebFocus platform has fulfilled every need our company has demanded. The transition of modernizing our business platform as the WebFocus platform advances has been relatively smooth process.... and they have always been right there to guide and help with any difficulties we have encountered.

Cons

I do not have any cons with my experiences with WebFocus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lorne C.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Information Builders is truly a partner for success. They are always willing to work with you to implement successful solutions and continuously listen to specific customer needs. Many of the features in new releases are directly related to customer reque

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-08-01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Information Builders is an innovative company and their products continue to improve. Given the success, experience and age of the company, they have proven to be a trustworthy business partner.

Pros

The WebFOCUS product can handle most if not all reporting requests, functionality is wide spread. If the product needs to be improved then IBI will partner with you to find a solution and/or improve the offering with new features.

Cons

Depending on the user the learning curve can be a bit high; users should start with the basics and build from there. Even with that though, a user should be able to gain momentum by having success early on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Thomas C.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Best Customer Support in the Industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-10-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Fantastic, involved, motivated customer support team
Infographics are the best new feature to come along in quite awhile
Reporting Server is very fast - generally sub-second query time for a lot of queries, regardless of data source; server time is also minimal
Relatively easy to host multiple, separated applications with separate user groups and roles

Cons

Data adapter management
AppStudio software still needs an overhaul - unintuitive and ungainly (3GB???)
AppStudio licensing (vs Reports Developer) - reduce that to one version

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Linh D.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Review of WebFocus from SLGA

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-06-04
Review Source: Capterra

Rapid development helps quick delivery to upper management. More graph library and functions would be great since I do a lot of graphs.

Pros

New IA features and ease of use. New page designer reduced development time and create a standardized look and feel of a professional page.

Cons

Building business view and metadata can be more streamline. Changes made in one area should be cascade down to other related view without having to remember to change things in multiple places. More automated process to build a view.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ray C.
Industry: Program Development
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Lots of power to make custom report

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-05-22
Review Source: Capterra

can create reports from multiple data sources, can let users create custom reports from their own dash broads

Pros

flexible, data integration, support and cost, can design reports ans dashboards that fit all business units, mobile reports rock

Cons

needs some gui interface to make some task easier, can we make a better interface for setting up security. hard to understand that part

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eric M.

Ease of use and intuitive

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-10-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

How is can mesh up data from disparate sources and produce "board-room" style reports and analytics. The customer service experience is second to none. I would highly recommend to businesses that are ready to go to the next level.

Cons

upgrades are somewhat of a pain but are working on improving the process. Finding the right answers to upgrade issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rola T.

Very easy o learn and have users to adapt to it

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-11-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is a great width and depth to its functionality. Very easy to use. End users love it and gives out power users ability to query their own reports

Cons

We use Maintain tool as our two way query . This application isn't the easiest to use and can be very hard to maintain

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patrice B.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

IB WebFocus is the complete package

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-06-06
Review Source: Capterra

Are end users can use the tool. It is easy for them to use.

Pros

The ability to bring together data from different systems

Cons

We are on an older version. The graphs aren't as robust as other products. We are looking forward to upgrading.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matthew P.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Analytical User

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-10-11
Review Source: Capterra

We have been able to provide data snapshots for managers using dashboards.

Pros

All of the different functions and features. The ability to pull together data across various platforms.

Cons

Not always intuitive. I would like to see better error identification.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Overall good experience. Product allowed us to provide a rich customer experience.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-10-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Rich customer experience with ability to customize reports with our Brand. Ease of adding new visualizations and output formats.

Cons

Learning curve to use AppStudio and dialogue manager language. Dialogue manager language is not object oriented.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tim G.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Non-DEV Power User Tester

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use - easy to utilize existing views with minimum knowledge of the data

Cons

Products contain different features across the product line. InfoAssist vs app studio vs chart vs report

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

WebFocus Infoassist product review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy of use to get started and deploy the changes.

Cons

Features are not easy identify without reading thru the documentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shenghui Y.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

WebFocus Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019-03-15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to use, can access data from different sources

Cons

Sometimes it does not behave as it should be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Steve F.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Powerful Products

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-10-23
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I am pleased with the performance and possibilities the Information Builders products provide.

Pros

Powerful products for combing, analyzing and visualizing data into useful information.

Cons

Advanced development takes considerable time to learn efficiently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Steve H.

Ive used it for 6 years and still learn new tricks all the time.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-11-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the fact there is a true programing language behind the product so when you are faced with an odd request to do something, you can usually find a work around that will do the trick.

Cons

Sometimes the app studio interface can he hokey. When you make a change in the code it often will break the ability to open the code in particular charting. Also I have seen a lot of times where it crashes with very little information as to the why.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Data is Awesome

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019-06-04
Review Source: Capterra

The overall idea is great for implementing future projects.

Pros

Webfocus is great for getting a lot of data to alot of people quickly!

Cons

It does not allow for real time updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Reena K.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Webfocus

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020-06-19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Love it

Pros

The features and ability to create portals

Cons

The proprietary focus language for doing advanced programming

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Patrick S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Good tool but has some issues with version control

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019-03-15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Quickly create an MI report and can supply different ways to show the data

Cons

Version Control is probably gated through another feature we need to buy. It should be baked into the software so everyone can roll back code or look at the history of changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Thomas S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Love WebFOCUS

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018-05-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ability for users to do things themselves without requiring a trained developer.

Cons

Many end-users have trouble - they are able to write reports because the software is so easy to use, however they do not know the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jim P.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Information Builders is a great tool and we haven't found anything that we can't do with it

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017-10-27
Review Source: Capterra

We use many features of the product including IWay, portal development, and report scheduling and distribution capability.

Pros

The breadth of functionality the tool provides
The level of customer support both from the corporate staff and the technical group is excellent. They work very hard to be a business partner

Cons

The learning curve can be a bit steep, but the company is making great strides in this area. Previews of the road map for future releases are exciting

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alessandra L.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

WebFocus Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019-06-04
Review Source: Capterra

While we are in the beginning stages of testing the product and working out bugs, I am satisfied that WebFocus will be able to meet our needs.

Pros

WebFocus seems to have the capability for reporting for our needs. As a new product, while we are still testing, I am encouraged by what we are seeing. The conference is providing added confidence in the capabilities.

Cons

Still learning the product so I cannot say at this point.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jennifer T.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Mostly use InfoAssist as a manager of an HRIS team who uses it more than me.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017-11-29
Review Source: Capterra

Fast development, large userbase on campus

Pros

Very flexible and it made it easy for us to transition from Mainframe Focus to Webfocus. Love that we can use "hold" files in programs. Our other reporting product we use for other BI reporting does not allow that.

Cons

Would love to see its user base continue to grow larger than some competitors so that it continues to stay around for a long time; but overall, no cons I can think of about the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chendil S.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great experience overall! Would like more support on using the product.

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017-10-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Innovation - specifically in the predictable area. I love the page designer, ability to install the product on the cloud as well as voice search capabilities.

Cons

Steep learning curve of the tool. As a manager I find it extremely hard to find the right talent and experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shruti P.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

PMF is a great software but takes lot of time to load pages.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018-05-22
Review Source: Capterra

The whole organization has started identifying their key processes and started measuring their performance metrics. This software will help our organization to achieve performance excellence.

Pros

The tile on the gadgets which shows instantly where the data is coming from for the particular chart.

Cons

Loading time for each page is high. I hope the next version is fast. The time dimension always defaults to current period even when we choose other time periods. Wish it remained on the option we chose.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10