Microsoft Power BI

4.5 (913)
BI visualization and reporting for desktop, web or mobile

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(913)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.1/5

94%
recommended this app

913 Software options

Utkarsh B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How Powerful is Power BI ?

Reviewed on 2021-06-03

I am a Power BI Developer and have delivered many dashboards to the client in Power BI. Its Better than other Products. Its Save my lot of time by using Power BI various features. From Importing the Data to Publishing ,Its a easier platform I would suggest you to use. It contains the most trending Visuals in the market that a every developer wants.

Pros

1)Its Easy to use, Provides a Reliable user interface .
2)Its Time efficient as most of the work Power BI does it even before you know.
3)Integration to the third party visuals and creating its own market place have already took it way further than other products.
4)A User can customize its design and can easily give the dashboard access to the public.
5)It contains the most trending Visuals in the market.

Cons

1)Software is reliable on Latest Machines.
2)Old machines then need to be upgraded(OS, RAM) to use this software smoothly.
3) Multiple Dashboards can hang the entire system.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Its Integration among other Microsoft Products . Easier to Clean the Data and create beautiful Visuals in matter of time. Gets Published and can also export to website without throwing any error. Its a great Platform!
Satbir S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Self Service BI Solution to start with

Reviewed on 2021-09-28

Dashboard, Reports, Data extraction/Transformations from websites, PDF's and other sources, transformations and also as an alternative to vba)

Pros

Capability to Extract, Transform data at the desktop level in a single package. (Others solutions like have Data transformation feature inbuilt)

Cons

On publishing your report online, it gets slightly cumbersome to configure through (like configuring gateways for auto-refresh)

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Ease of use, be it using it as an alternative for VBA or using it for analysing large amount of data (that excel cannot handle)

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Ease of deployment, cost and eased-up learning curve
Robert G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise Analytics - with some gotchas

Reviewed on 2021-01-26

We're using this as our enterprise analytics platform to supplement paginated reports in SSRS/PBIRS. Aside from the wrinkles mentioned, it's been a solid performer. If there was a little more "admin" capabilities around subscriptions and permissions, it'd be a home run.

Pros

Near-constant updates and feature additions. It's exceptionally easy to throw together a Power BI Report across a bunch of different data sources and then share it with 1 or 100 people. Tons of connectivity support - if you have data somewhere it can *probably* read it into a model for consumption. The "front end" development is pretty straightforward with the ability to get very fancy with custom visuals - although you need to be a real developer to build those yourself.

Cons

It feels like there are some (currently) missing enterprise features. We still haven't really figured out a holistic way of managing both the enterprise stuff, as well as the "power user" self service stuff that gets published around the org. To Microsoft's credit, there are pretty much monthly releases that add ne functionality and features. Some things I'd like to see include more API support and additional sources like Box, perhaps.

Deepak F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The visualization and analytics product that is constantly evolving - for the better

Reviewed on 2020-02-07

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations, supply chain, people management and finance data. The ways to look at the data and the drilling capabilities make this a wonderful tool

Pros

1. Improves with new releases every two weeks
2. Powerful insight management
3. Integration with MS products
4. Online forums and learning zones

Cons

1. Not as intuitive as packaged applications, but getting there
2. Not a good IDE for Python / R
3. Connectors to social media need to be improved

Alternatives Considered

Domo and Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is evolving faster and with better options and integration

Switched From

TIBCO Spotfire

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Deeper integration with Microsoft tools online and offline.
Jerry A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very robust, though a little overwhelming

Reviewed on 2019-12-10

We're moving from having staff creating Excel reports or Access database reports to having Power BI do it all for us. We spend some time cleaning up the user's data, streamlining how they enter it (and where - we still use Access, some SQL, some Sharepoint), and Power BI does the rest after that. Our staff loves that they no longer have to manually create reports, and they love the way Power BI looks for them. We are enjoying it overall.

Pros

The dashboard creation is amazing. Give it a data source, design how you want to see your data, and it shows it to you. I enjoy creating dashboards for our different departments. And once our staff sees the reports and dashboards they get from this, vs how they used to get it in an Excel spreadsheet or an Access Report, they are hooked.

Cons

Overwhelming in the back end. Sometimes you just cannot get the data to display the way you want. There are so many options, features, methods. It gets overwhelming. My biggest gripe is that the back end is not as user friendly as other programs. And, comparing it to something that one of my users would create in Excel, it's difficult for me to get the exact data reported that they want. I have to figure out how to display it, and because the Power Bi is just so robust, it's a little overwhelming in that respect.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It brings the power of BI down to non-tech users

Reviewed on 2019-08-26

My job is to collect and process all sorts of data in my organization and present them to the highest management committee for policy level decision making. We are heavily dependent on MS Excel for this. I handle excel worksheets with thousands of entries every day. A year ago, I tried Power BI to see whether it can help me in my job or not. And i am hooked till now. I am most impressed with the processing power of Power BI. Huge worksheets can be processed very fast using Power BI. It also updates the reports automatically which improves my productivity significantly.

Pros

1. Ease of Use: Unlike other BI software’s, Power BI's interface is friendlier especially to MS Excel users. You will not feel overwhelmed rather it will look familiar.
2. Powerful engine: Users who need to tackle very large datasets with thousands of entries know that MS excel gets horribly slow processing such a large file. Power BI is a God sent for these users. Its processing engine is super-fast and the speed is more noticeable when you let it handle such large datasets.
3. Excellent data presentation tools: For regular MS Excel users Power BI is a PowerPivot on steroid but a lot smarter one. Even those users who are not familiar with the complexities of PowerPivot feels less intimidated by its simple and user friendly design.
4. User friendly but powerful DAX language: To write formulas you have to use DAX language in Power BI which in my opinion is a fancy name of just natural language formula writing. However, DAX is super easy to learn and pretty much intuitive but at the same time very much powerful.
5. Schedule refresh option: Power BI has an option to auto update the report at fixed interval of time which is very helpful if you need to prepare and submit reports weekly or monthly.
6. Option to control users of the report: In Power BI you can share your reports with other users and also control how much of the report can they see. If you want you can allow only a part of the report to be seen by some user which is super convenient.

Cons

Honestly, in my opinion, Power BI is by far the best software made by Microsoft. But considering I am a heavy user of MS Excel, it is easier to me. I think learning curve of Power BI for a beginner with no prior skill in MS Excel will be a bit steep. Then again, BI is a complex thing itself. So master any kind of BI software will be tricky by its own merit.

Sri H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Really good for aggregating data from multiple sources

Reviewed on 2020-01-15

Power BI has helped us go from random spreadsheet reports to consolidated dashboards that are pleasing to look at and easy to interpret.

Pros

The interface is beautiful and easy to navigate. Once data sources are all connected, it's pretty easy to create a new dashboard/layout if you know how to analyze your own data. Nearly every integration that we needed was already included.

Cons

It's hard to build some more complex reports. If you want to combine two different data sources into one view/metric, you will need some advanced skills.

Alternatives Considered

Periscope, Sisense and Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

We switched from our basic Excel reports because they weren't very good, they were hard to update, and they didn't include a lot of useful information on each screen.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

We are fairly well integrated into the Microsoft ecosystem and Power BI integrates well with the other tools we use. It offered the best balance of features, maturity, and value for our needs.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best BI softwares out there

Reviewed on 2019-12-08

I have created dashboards on project progress, business cases and at times, a personal dashboard of my own assets and savings just to keep track of certain things. I love that PowerBI is easy to use, and has been designed with the end user in mind. However, I would like to have a wider variety of templates to choose from, especially if I am a beginner to the whole business intelligence idea.

Pros

Having been a user of the full range of Microsoft Office, it was only natural that PowerBI comes to mind when trying to create a live update dashboard. It is extremely easy to use - a plug and play approach comes to mind - and if you had worked with Microsoft Office before, some of the features are very intuitive to use. If the organisation that you are working with uses Microsoft Office, access issues are sorted and it becomes incredibly easy to drive adoption of this dashboard on a day to day basis

Cons

The design of the dashboard created with PowerBI can be found to be lacking at points, compared to some of the other BI softwares. The templates available seem great, but there aren't as many options as I would like when I am creating a specific type of dashboard.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New to Power BI but love it

Reviewed on 2019-12-03

Overall I love the software and would highly recommend it. Not only does it help visualize data but also helps to keep it updated in real time with the ability to connect to a server. The automation of pulling the data on a schedule and importing it directly into the visualizations solved a huge problem for our company.

Pros

I love how easy it is to make really powerful visualizations. The ease of use in order to basic visualizations is similar to Pivot tables in Excel. If you have a basic understanding of Pivot tables you will be able to open the software and get straight to visualizing. Once you take a deeper dive into the queries and data transformations you will uncover an entirely new world of analysis.

Cons

The software is easy to use for basic functions but when you get into more detail it can be difficult. It is also really hard to share your work with someone that does not pay for the service. Without paying for a Power Bi Pro account it is basically impossible to share the visualizations that you have created. Also, the Arc GIS feature only works within the software. If you try to post a map visualization to a website through an embed it doesn't work.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

We chose Power Bi because we had an enterprise with Microsoft already.
Muhammad K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Business Intelligence Tool Ever!

Reviewed on 2019-10-22

Great experience and great tool to experience has a very easy interface and can make dashboards easily.

Pros

Microsoft PowerBI is the most easy tool to use, an non IT personnel and not a well trained personnel can easily use this tool. This tool has an interactive Graphical user interface and if you have any problem you can just google it.

Cons

The frequent update sometimes will be much tricky to handle as if you have the newest version of the desktop and the old version of desktop so it may be tricky and the file may not upload to the server.

Alternatives Considered

QlikView and Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

As we have the SQL Server Enterprise license and we can deploy the reporting services of the powerbi onto the server so that we opt for Powerbi as it is cost effective rather than other products.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Outstanding Report Tool

Reviewed on 2021-06-09

Having switched from excel recently, Microsoft Power BI has been of great help. Having good visuals for data is a plus to us as an organization for they help do comparisons at a glance.

Pros

The ability to do data linking from different data sources and doing relations and end up developing organized and analyzed data for easy decision making.

It provides the ability to break down data to a level that is easy to understand.

The creation of dashboard in Power BI makes the reports appealing and data presented friendly to interact with.

Cons

Loading Microsoft power BI takes quite some time especially the desktop version. I don't the reason behind it but it could be better if it is looked into and a solution found will be of great help.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI makes work easier for it has features that Microsoft Excel does not have.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI has added features that our organization required.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power BI Helps You Tell the Story of Your Data

Reviewed on 2021-10-07

I love Power BI. The time and energy I've invested in learning it have been well worth it.

Pros

Once you get your data in, within just a few moments of looking around or following a tutorial, you can see how easy it is to shape, slice, and show your data in a huge variety of ways. It takes seconds to just try out a visualization and see if it works for you. It takes just a few seconds more to slot in all the data fields you want in that visualization. Don't like something? Drag it back out or click an X, no big deal! Your confidence will grow the more you spend time in the platform, and soon you'll be arranging informative, visually-pleasing dashboards that tell the story of your data.

Cons

I would prefer that individuals not directly involved in Power BI didn't have to have a Pro license just to view/do what I'd consider to be still Basic tier things. And at first, figuring out where/how to get the data into Power BI can be a learning curve. Lastly, it's not a true upload of data into Power BI as if I move, rename, or delete the source file that is still on my computer, Power BI Desktop can't pull up the report that I'd previously created from it.

Carlos A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power Bi its changing the way we interact with data, information and decision making

Reviewed on 2018-02-14

Data is the new petroleum, Information is the new combustible; and Power BI will boost this challenging new world of information and analysis.

Pros

For the last 30 years I have been using Excel to work with Tables, Filters, Functions, Formulas, Conditional formatting, Graphs, Pivot tables, Segmentation and VBA to register data and analyze information.

That was great. But now, with the huge amount of data, available from many sources and Excel limitations, we needed something more robust and Microsoft launched Power BI.

I have been using it for more than a year. Now I don’t use pivot tables and graphs for analysis anymore, I use Power BI visualizations to represent and summarize the data.

With it’s impressive tools including geolocalization, I have found more effective ways to convert, transform, represent, analyze and make better decisions and planning with Power BI.

It’s ecosystem composed of Power Bi Desktop, Power BI Services (in the cloud) and Power Bi apps, has allowed me to find very innovative and productive ways to monitor the performance of my business and improve communication with my clients

Cons

It is in continuous development.

The first week of each month, Microsoft releases a new version of Power Bi, so we have to keep us updated to use the program efficiently.

But the pros outweigh the cons.

Eugenio C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

first business intelligence tool for students

Reviewed on 2021-07-15

it is a very good tool to start learning about business intelligence

Pros

students can use it free, students can visualise data very easy.

Cons

there is no mac version for students, there is only one old version not working good.

Alternatives Considered

QlikView and Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

because it is easier to work with, the interface is similar to microsoft and students feel better

Switched From

Qlik Sense and Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

because students like the similarity with microsoft office products
Marco D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power BI like the "self service" BI system

Reviewed on 2021-04-06

it is very convenient and simple, we also have a certified person in the company and I did the course myself. it has many completely free features.
Gartner describe it like the best instrument about BI

Pros

Easy to use, cheaper then others, lots of functions and services.
We use it in our team and promote it also to our clients

Cons

power bi service layout... microsoft recently changed with an improved update but could still be improved further

Alternatives Considered

BOARD and SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

the price, simplicity and functionality offered
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

POWER BI : Excellent data analytics tool

Reviewed on 2019-03-26

It is a useful asset with regards to Business use. You can do huge things with your information with Power BI. Dashboard creation, report age, information representation are some powerful models. I unequivocally prescribe others to utilize Power BI on the off chance that you are a specialist Excel client.

Pros

Microsoft Power BI is a helpful device. It is anything but difficult to utilize and get it. It has comparative highlights to Excel with the capacity to make and import diagrams and outlines and control them. The apparatus is mind blowing for making natural dashboards to bestow to various customers. The features and limits improve this much than a direct surpass desires file and make it easy to bestow to various customers. As it is a Microsoft item, it very well may be effectively coordinated with other Microsoft items, for example, Office 365, Excel and so forth.

Cons

There is dependably opportunity to get better. The UI is unpredictable and confounding in it. There are expansive portions in the instrument itself which is in some cases confounding to make sense of which part does what. To utilize Power BI effectively you need to utilize totally cleaned information, there is no extent of information cleaning in Power BI.

Patrick L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PowerBI Features

Reviewed on 2019-11-14

desgin dashboard for KPI performance monitoring on daily basis
Gateway administration
Plateforme administration

Pros

Conditionally format button formatting
New performance analyser features
Transformation tools and connector with SAP HANA data source

Cons

Memory consumption
Stockage management
Push a report by mail many time per day
Cost of the premium License

Pablo B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very easy and interconnected

Reviewed on 2019-09-12

Fantastic, I'm allowed to present my reports to my clients in a multiplatform and dynamic way

Pros

Very good graphics, powerful editor of query's, easy to present and automate, Sharing the dashboard for a link or inserting it on my website opens up a world of possibilities

Cons

Having tutories in Spanish would help much more particularly for the topic of liaison doors, I admit I still have difficulty using that functionality

Kacie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

get Powerful Sales Insights with a few clicks

Reviewed on 2020-04-28

We're using Power BI on everything from keeping our clients apprised of our value to them, to allowing consultants to see what case types and clients they're interacting with most. From financials to geographic data to charting growth over several years, Power BI can do it all... it's quick and the sheer amount of data that the platform can integrate is impressive. And with customizable permission groups, users see the data they need, without seeing that data they don't.

Pros

With tech like this, the potential is limitless. I love the depth and breadth of sales insights that can be gleaned from Power BI. It took a significant investment of time and money from a team of people in our company to get up and running. Once we did, e=I understood the value straight away. View your entire company's financial performance at a glance, or allow individual users to only see their stats. Every graph is clickable, making it easy to explore data, observe trends and make informed decisions on the future.

Want to see a breakdown of your sales by client name? You can. Then, click on that client within the pie chart to be taken to a whole new output, showing your relationship with that client over the years, by revenue type or by money received / outstanding.

The best part? This data can easily be customized and exported for sales presentations, client reports and PowerPoints.

Cons

It takes a few tries to become comfortable and familiar with this software, just like any software. But I can't think of any true drawbacks. You do get what you pay for - Power BI requires an investment. But with the ability to make truly informed decisions about the future of your business, Power BI is well worth it.

Christina T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power BI for Lean Dashboards

Reviewed on 2020-10-07

Overall, Power BI has helped my team go fully remote during this pandemic.

Pros

Power BI makes a great data visualization tool. We use it to track productivity metrics and capacity planning.

Cons

The UI definitely needs some work - buttons are not placed in intuitive places on the ribbons or tabs.

Ian L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent learning curve experience within a familiar paltform

Reviewed on 2017-11-09

Generally a good product that I am having my team self learn on and use in our management reports. Would like to see better connectivity to SQL within our secure corporate environment rather than having everything pushed to an Azure solution, which we are unlikely to get anytime soon. The pricing didn't seem to lend itself well to SME.

Pros

Power BI is free to learn on which is ideal for novice users and organisations that have limited experience with BI packages. The developmental nature of the package is also interesting as new features are added in response e to the user community feedback through the forums. The learning from community forums , on line tutorials and Youtube videos has been invaluable.

Cons

The limitations in the free version are frustrating as you can't share dashboards with colleagues unless they have Power BI. This means you can't show it off easily to others who may also start using it. Getting the IT department to implement this is a hard slog if you can't demonstrate the productivity gains to a wider audience. The CEO is not going to install Power BI, she just wants to see the output and then will endorse wider adoption.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great BI tool!

Reviewed on 2021-05-09

It's an excellent business intelligence software and Microsoft is constantly launching actualizations to improve it.

Pros

What I like the most about Power Bi is that is designed with excel users in mind, so it's easy to start creating reports without knowing too much about the program.
Also, it allows you to connect to a significant amount of different type of sources.

Cons

I don't have much to say here because my experience has been very good. One of the cons could be that data transformation is expected to be structured, there are no such thing as manually

Alternatives Considered

Tableau
Claudio V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My business intelligence

Reviewed on 2021-04-11

With the low cost it allowed me to acquire new customers

Pros

Initially the low cost for choosing the product, but then also a junior is able to easily create reports and dashboards

Cons

It would be nice to have the direct query on multiple types of databases, and have more possibilities of editing from the WEB without having installed the desktop version

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MSBI - Fun to learn

Reviewed on 2018-12-12

I Just like this Tool , No Complaints , its the BEST

Pros

Microsoft Support and online self-learning information is one of things other Companies does not have and it is because MSBI is so populer
SSRS is best tool to design report , i find it time-saving comparing using Crystal
Report Subscription and email delivery, available various Report Types
As a whole package ,with SSAS and SSIS , its a great tool to accomplish any project

Cons

You need bit of developing experience to work on it like Data Source , Dataset knowledge
It works on Windows only
Configure and installation is difficult
Need more browser supported reporting features and mobile supported
Interface can be enhanced to Fill-good for users

Graham G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for data visualization

Reviewed on 2021-01-31

Very positive. It is a piece of software that makes certain concepts easy to explain. I do not want to have to do a great deal of trouble shooting of software, and PowerBi gets students to be able to create outputs without a great deal of handholding.

Pros

PowerBi is very easy to get some very sophisticated data visualizations up and running. I use this in class and with very little training students are able to create dashboards which connect various visualizations. PowerBi has made teaching data analytics easy.

Cons

There are some errors that could provide a better explanation. There are cases where we would like to use numbers, that have been imported as text, as numbers. An easy conversion function would be a great addition