176 reviews
Overall rating
4.8
/
5
Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Support
4.8
99% recommended this app
176 reviews
Chris M.
Industry: Investment Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

iDeals VDR review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/13/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

we typically use iDeals software to run and manage virtual data rooms for ongoing transactions. We benchmarked the product against their key competitors and found iDeals to offer comparable product features at competitive pricing

Cons

No issues noted to date. Everything from initial set-up to operation has been flawless

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark W.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

iDeals Virtual Data Room Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We use iDeals as a central repository of key company data. This helps us to have one source of truth for information that could be communicated outside the company. We also use our data room to communicate with external parties. iDeals makes the experience easy for all parties. Initial setup took minutes, training and support resources have been readily available, system performance is reliable, and user feedback has been positive.

Pros

There are many things that my company loves about iDeals. First, the user interface is intuitive. We are often sharing access with external parties, and we rarely need to answer questions about how to use the software. As an administrator, the help resources and customer support have been fantastic. Pricing has been reasonable, and the iDeals team has been able to work quickly when we have needed their help.

Cons

Some of the reporting features are not quite as intuitive as other aspects of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cary S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Not so "Ideal"s

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/9/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Data room seems good once you're in. But if you actually want users to be able to get in easily, you'd be best looking elsewhere. Spam blocking has made this almost impossible for users to receive invitations. Then they are instructed to "and @ideals and Ip address" to whitelist ... so then you need to get your corporate IT department involved and ask everyone you invite to do the same; so in this case, not really "ideal"s.

Pros

like the features once in

Cons

can't get users into the room easily. 100% of the users I've invited have spent lots of time trying to figure out how to get in, even AFTER searching spam to find the link.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Pablo B.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent platform for M&A deals with a competitive price

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/27/2020
Review Source: Capterra

10/10 with a competitive price and an easy-to-use platform

Pros

Easy to use with a wide range of functionabilities including a well designed Q&A section

Cons

Lack of Spanish local team for a fast support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

User friendly and Ease of Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/31/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Just superb. We have closed M&A deals with help of this. Even we are keeping it to manage office data.

Pros

All the files are uploaded and can be used by the useres very easiliy. It is easy for the user to understand the interface and functions of the date room. We have got very good feedback from the the users - they just used to reguster and start viewing and using the files instantly. Administrators can control the way files can be viewed or downloaded by the users. We can Just drop the files and Indexing will be done in seconds. I cannot summarise the functions in words here - just start using it and will get to know the importance of the data room in manageing the data in all aspects of business.

Cons

Long name files could not be uploaded - it did not even gave warnings or any pop up. It was quite difficult to undrstand the issue but now well versed with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jaimin S.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great product with great features!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 3/24/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Special features of iDeals data room which are not available in other data rooms as per our previous experience.

The best feature in the iDeals data room is sharing the confidential documents with the external parties in a way that they cannot download/print the documents. Also the watermark in background will be generated automatically.

Multiple admins can manage the data room, also the log can be monitored (i.e. timestamp of activity, who spent how much time on which document, etc.)

Admin can limit the data room use in advance by setting up the end date and make it unable for external users. This helps to complete the review in timely manner.

Cons

I could not find any cons for this product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I am very satisfied with their product.

Pros

It is easy to use and can be easily understood by our clients (including older ones). There are some other VDRs that are a bit more complicated to use.

Cons

I can not come up with anything that I do not find convenient in the VDR, everything seems to be just in the right place.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rajendra K.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 201-500 Employees

User friendly platform

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

This platform is very much user friendly to share data with internal & external clients.
Providing restriction access to user allow us to secure confidentiality of data.
Users can operate the software without any additional training.
My external clients are happy to access iDeals data room.

Pros

User friendly and restriction for access

Cons

No capche code while login may gives false impression.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mayra V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The best virtual data room in the market

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It is so easy to move, rename, download and upload files within the data room. Also, the customer service is fast when you need their help and they are pretty knowledge of the platform.

Pros

The platform is user-oriented and the ability that reads all documents so the search feature is extremely useful, faster and efficient.

Cons

Our file names require a large amount of characters so when our file names are too large, iDeals does not read them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lee H.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exceeds Expectations

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 9/18/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great account manager with fast turn around times - platform is very easy to use and can be self taught... no need for boring and lengthy training videos etc.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, fast implementation and above all great and knowledgeable

Cons

No cons - everything has went smoothly from day one

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrea M.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Project consultants

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/15/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, iDeals exceeded our expectations! iDeals is our trustful partner already (no doubts we would choose them also in the future) and we strongly recommend iDeals to any potential users. Thank you very much for the excelent mutual cooperation.

Pros

The tool is unbelievably comprehensive but still very flexible and user friendly. We appreciated the "intro online-training" - it was really helpful, very practical, we received so many hints in a short time (our "iDeals contact" was able to answer any question very clearly and was supportive during the whole project). We also liked the 24hours support (we used it and it worked to our satisfaction). The tool itself is precisely built to the smallest detail, it has a very clear structure, enormous number of various helpful reports and you can tailor it to your most specific needs. We were fascinated also by the speed of data loading. We value also a very professional and prompt communication and helpful approach of the whole iDeals team.

Cons

There was one thing at the end we learned from the whole process - we used a robust structure of folders and files within one dataroom (lots of subfolders and too long file names). This brought us some extra work at the end (when we needed to "archive" the whole database) - we had to "rethink" the structure a little bit to be able to archive it. The most practical way for us was to shorten some file names (that were making the whole "path" too long to be processed). So I would just make a recommendation to any users to be careful when they are building their datarooms not to go to extreme "file paths" like we did:-) But apart of this little extra work for us, we must say that iDeals was very supportive also at this stage and we managed also the final archiving process with no problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Antoine F.
Industry: Investment Banking
Company size: 11-50 Employees

High Value for Money: a Complete Solution

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/31/2019
Review Source: Capterra

iDeals truly made our lives and that of the clients easier. The user-face is extremely user friendly and easy to manage, while the fees are very affordable to the client as well.

Pros

User friendly product and easily customizable: the interface is very flexible and allows you to truly customize the accessibility of every single file to each user on an individual basis. The support team is extremely helpful as well. The support team is available 24/7 and are very responsive and quick in tackling any issues.
The value for money of this software compared to competitors put iDeals at a clear advantage point.

Cons

I honestly could not find anything to dislike about the software. It is truly a great product 360 degrees.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Naasik I.
Industry: Investment Banking
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Best bang for the buck VDR!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 4/23/2020
Review Source: Capterra

iDeals is definitely one of my go-to products now! Great overall product, very intuitive and unbeatable pricing!

Pros

Having used 10+ other VDR providers, I can say iDeals has my favorite UI / UX and ease of use. The price point is unbeatable by a mile so for budget conscious clients. For a typical middle market / lower-middle market M&A deal, the feature sets are more than adequate. I like the easy drag and drop functionality and I must say iDeals is the only vendor who allows drag and drop from email client function. Easy permissioning and user invites.

Cons

I have not faced this issue myself but I am told by other colleagues they have had some security concerns about the platform. The customer support is also not as robust but frankly I did not need to use them as the product is very intuitive!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bina K.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great for Series A stage company

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

No automatic payment, hard to navigate through and edit per user options for document security

Cons

The customer service and response time was terrible, had to make multiple follow ups. No customer service available for the end user. Issues with invite emails.

Response from iDeals Solutions Group

Dear Bina,
Thanks very much for your feedback!
We are sorry you had difficulties in communication with customer support. We have double-checked the situation. A spam filter was a reason for delays, therefore your requests could not be processed quickly. This issue is already taken care of. Please do not hesitate to contact us in case of any open topics.

Kind regards,
Alexandra O'Brien

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Raul L.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

iDeals is a great product. Provides the level of security needed to ensure your documents are protected. Ease of use was fantastic and customer service is excellent.

Pros

Security, User interface, and permissions flexibility.

Cons

Installation needed for downloading of encrypted files. Should be easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ken G.
Industry: Investment Banking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Pritchard Griffin iDeals review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have been on the platform for approx 4 years and are very satisfied with the product in comparison with other VDR we see.

Pros

Excellent platform which is very easy for VDR users to access/use. Our clients and VDR invitees all like using iDeals - most important.

Cons

Need better macro-level reporting for client to see total storage used and available capacity. We have had instances in which we exceeded our contracted capacity as our deal teams did not know how much space was being consumed in total.
Also suggest having a tutorial for using the desktop version. Our team did not fully appreciate the functionality of the desktop version. The desktop version vastly accelerates upload times and users should be keenly aware at the time they first start using iDeals.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Vinod kumar B.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Simple and effective

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/26/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We used iDeals virtual data room to host few documents for review by our consultants. The reviews were done without the need for a travel or meeting, yet the documents were shared in a secure and simple way than sending them through an emails.

Pros

The ease of use is unparalleled. It take less than 20 minutes to set up the virtual data-room and roll-out go-live. Security features are as expected. Users can be restricted from printing, downloading or viewing documents. Downloaded files are encrypted and watermarked. Q&A can be monitored through the tool. Allows visual customization such as adding your own logo.

Cons

Nothing specific. Allowing for pop-up message at the time of login to remind about confidentiality would've been nice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jesse S.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Data room function is easy - some glitches

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

iDeals gets the job done - they are much less inexpensive than other VDR providers. Relatively easy to use but can be slow, customer services isn't so easy. Really need to enable iOS remote administration of the site.

Pros

Easy to set up, easy integration into file manager.
I really like the "updated version" function which allows a new version of a document to easily replace a dated version

Cons

Since the very first day - no matter where in the world I am - the automatic time zone finder function is wrong. Every single instance I open the site I am forced to re-set my timezone. Customer service was zero. no idea how to fix this simple problem.
Service - conducting a live chat is next to impossible (or at least it was) I don't want to get on the phone.
REMOTE ADMINISTRATION! SO many times i've been out to dinner or on a train with no laptop and would be great to manage files and run administrative tasks from mobile. right now can only be a 'viewer" from mobile.
Slow. Download speeds can be glacial.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Sharanya P.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Great to manage access, easy and quick loading

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/28/2019
Review Source: Capterra

all good - quick to rectify any issues

Pros

Very little time spent on learning the features, easy to manage folders and subfolders - particularly the access. Better than other big players in the market.

Cons

the document numbering can be too long when you have multiple subfolders

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nick C.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good integration, security features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 3/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Product works well, has rich feature set. Although API documentation is weak, customer support was prompt and helpful in every case, including working with 3rd party apps like Okta for SSO.

Pros

The API is robust, the security features including fence view.

Cons

The API documentation is barely there. Had to work with customer service on pretty much every question.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Martin S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Overall, great product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very, very, positive! Although, you are a bit strict on your data limitations.

Pros

I like all the posibilities, all the security, the customizations, and the tracking that you allow.

Cons

Loading time when you open a document. Supported document files are a bit limited. Sometimes the invitation emails end up in peoples spam filters.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chinmay N.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Prompt Customer Support

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

By far the best virtual data room service that I have come across with all industry par features at affordable pricing

Pros

Easy to use, platform independent and suitable for amateur to professional users

Cons

Nothing really that could be called unsatisfactory about this platform

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rudolf V.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Simple and Easy

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Very good experience, happy to use it again. Good value of money as well.

Pros

The software is very easy to use, providing the user seamless ability to work with the data, especially as an administrator. The layout is intuitive, almost feels like it is too basic, yet we did not find anything missing.

Cons

You could work a bit more on push notification, especially with restrictions on space availability. Moreover, it is not clear whether documents in Recycle bin count in as used data?

Response from iDeals Solutions Group

Dear Rudolf,
Many thanks for your feedback!
There is a notification available that informs your about reaching the certain Gb amount in your VDR. For your next project just reach out and we will help you to set it up.
With regards to Recycle bin, if you would like to keep these documents as a part of VDR (and you would like to have a possibility to restore) they will be counted in. However, if you decide that you won't need them more, you can just empty the bin and they will be removed also from your overall Gb limit.

Kind regards,
Alexandra O'Brien
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Twinkle R.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Ideals Solution - Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have using data room more than 2 years and so far I have not faced difficulty. Also I would really like to appreciate the co-ordinator from Ideals Solution- [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], he has been really proactive and helpful and has always given as the best comparitive quotation. Also there were times when I had given him very short timeline to arrange for data room access and he has never disappointed us on that. On software I would like to say that it is user friendly you dont really need a training before using the software

Cons

One drawback I would want to say that many a times user is not notified if any document is upload on the data room

Response from iDeals Solutions Group

Dear Twinkle,
Thanks a lot for your feedback!
The notifications for documents uploading can be configured in "My notifications" menu in the VDR settings. Please contact our support team in case you will need any assistance with this.

Kind regards,
Alexandra O'Brien
Customer Success Manager
iDeals Solutions Group

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Angela T.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Fairly Intuitive and Easy

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/14/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has given us the ability to securely share data with prospective outside business partners - which has been great. And really the reporting abilities that you can export to know who is actually logging in and using the site is a great resource.

Pros

Once I realized the depth of reports I could run on usage/uploads/downloads etc. I found that quite compelling and am glad we are using this product rather than an internal drive with a secure link.

Cons

It can be a bit "clunky" at times - particularly if you are replacing items in a folder and you use a very specific naming prefix. Might be great to allow the Admin to select whether or not to use the default numbering system as part of the file name (we had already done so internally and therefore had to remove upon uploading).

Response from iDeals Solutions Group

Dear Angela,
Thanks a lot for your feedback!
You can switch off the automatic indexing in VDR settings (General Settings -> INDEX -> Automatic document indexing: -> Off) and use your own numbering, which in such case should be a part of a folde/file name. Please reach out if you need any help with this!

Kind regards,
Alexandra O'Brien
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10