Sage Estimating

4.1 (79)
Automated enterprise estimation

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(79)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support Software
3.9/5

78%
recommended this app
Sort by

79 Reviews

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sage Estimating

Reviewed on 3/16/2021

Pros

Spreadsheet format. Ease at which database could be imported.

Cons

Productivity factors are the opposite of how we use them.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Clay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hottest Estimating Software on the Market!

Reviewed on 7/14/2017

This is probably the most flexible estimating software available today. Always a leader in the industry, Sage Estimating can fit the bill for entry level, single user needs and expand to an unlimited number of users. The estimating system can tie into one of the best accounting packages, as well.

Pros

Totally flexible - can be used by virtually any trade as well as GC. From basic estimating needs to a complex reporting system, this software can do it.

Cons

Takes time to set-up properly. The software is ready to go out of the box, but to fine tune to make it "hum" takes more than just starting it up.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Think twice

Reviewed on 2/28/2015

Pros

I like all the functions of this dinosaur. The software still uses fox pro old arcane DOS language.

Cons

I dislike the amount of money they want yearly. I hate their amount of money I have to spend every year to maintain this software with limited tech support.

Janet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Estimating multi million dollar underground utility construction

Reviewed on 1/9/2019

Another pro is that this software can integrate with SAGE 300 Accounting, which will not only import the estimate, but also create purchase orders and email those purchase orders based on your estimate. Once you've learned how to use this and set it up it significantly saves time.

Pros

While this product provides you with sample databases, it is best used by creating your own database with phase codes and pricing as you do your construction. You are able to separate each phase into categories, i.e., Labor, Material, etc. There are some standard ones, but you can also add your own categories which adds to the flexibility of this software.

Cons

It's not really a dislike, but it is quite complex. You need one main person who controls all changes to the database, keeps pricing updated, controls anyone changing/adding phase codes, etc. You would need that with any sophisticated database.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have worked with Sage Estimating all the way back when it was Timberline Estimating,...

Reviewed on 5/30/2018

Accurate estimates and diverse reports

Pros

The power of Sages' Smart Assemblies is the best feature along with the results being displayed in a full spreadsheet format that can be changed in real time. The ability to slice and dice your estimate data is extremely powerful along with their use of WBS codes.

Cons

The tech support has been a bit of a struggle but thank goodness for qualified consultants and Business Partners that can act as your first line of support.

Mo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Well-Organised Estimating Software

Reviewed on 7/11/2018

Pros

Sage (Timberline) has been used for building industry primarily. You can use the advantage of their database or set up your own one based on the industry and market you are involved in. I recommend the software for Mid to Large Size building projects including residential or ICI.

Cons

The software is not user-friendly for heavy-civil or infrastructure projects as the functionality of crew cost method is not as easy as other heavy civil software.

Tiffany
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sage Estimating has made our Estimating department more effecient

Reviewed on 8/16/2021

It has been great. We have simply had to tell them what we needed and they make it happen. Support is always there. It is a great program.

Pros

I like the ease of use of all the programs. It is easy to learn. Easy to use.

Cons

The built in reports didn't really fit our company. We had to customized all of the reports.

Todd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Timberline is Huge!

Reviewed on 4/30/2018

Pros

This estimating program can do anything you want it to. It has the ability to be molded into however you want it to work for you.

Cons

Because it is so flexible it is also a little clunky. Quick takeoffs and estimates can be difficult. This feels like it is set up for the commercial realm of construction, in fact, I don't know many in residential construction that use this program.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice product, integrates well with Sage 300 CRE

Reviewed on 8/15/2017

Overall, a nice addition for your Estimating team.

Pros

We used this product for our estimators in my last Commercial Construction company. Works well with Sage 300 CRE. Allows you to set certain standard prices like labor rates. Calculate burden, buys, etc.

Cons

A little on the pricey side but that's about it. Many good features like importing into your Sage Project Management software.

mendel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

OVERVIEW SATISFACTION

Reviewed on 3/29/2016

Pros

it is very detail oriented which gives you good tracking and reporting

Cons

not user friendly you have to use the list very often to accommodate data
. almost impossible to create reports unless you are an expert in all the codes.

Rodolfo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software!!

Reviewed on 8/13/2021

Pros

The product is very user friendly. The RS Means cost database integration is excellent.

Cons

No cons about this product. Everything is positive.

Alternatives Considered

HeavyBid
Lyndon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good Software

Reviewed on 9/23/2018

Overall Its great software when set up.

Pros

for several years I thought that Excel is the best of estimating but when I learn about Sage, things are getting more better estimating can handle multi building estimates. Sage is continuously developing its software it has upgrade of what is best for making it better .

Cons

when Upgrading sage I need the help of IT Expert to do it for me , It takes time setting it up so workers like me needs help of more experienced or encounter this kind of issues.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sage Estimating

Reviewed on 1/25/2018

Pros

Great database options for General Contractors that allows for more complex and complete estimates.

Cons

Due to the layout of the software it is hard to use Sage for hard bid jobs and incorporating alternates.

Glenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I set up and used the product for 12 years

Reviewed on 8/25/2016

Pros

A stable, robust, customizable, construction estimating software

Cons

The initial setup can be complicated. The databases available at the time of purchase were not of much help for my specific use

Stuart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Amazing estimating program, but pricey

Reviewed on 7/13/2019

Pros

Sage Estimating can provide a detailed level of estimating analysis based on material and labour libraries that either come with the software or are custom defined by the end-user.

Cons

Creating a custom material library is a very involved process which costs a lot of time and money to establish.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Save estimating program is a solid and trusted program

Reviewed on 12/7/2017

Pros

That most estimators are familiar with the program and it is easy to use. It really helps that it is so widely used that even if your company is new to it one of your employees is most likely experienced in it.

Cons

It's just like any other program. They all have their limitations and you have to review multiple products to make sure it meets your needs.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I have used Timberline Estimating since the mid 1990s.

Reviewed on 1/12/2015

Pros

Precision Estimating is exactly what it sounds like--the most exact way to estimate a project! Sage is easy to work with, and their technical support staff is fantastic.

Cons

The most difficult part of using the software is in the initial setup.

Jesse
Overall rating
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Concrete Estimation

Reviewed on 6/9/2015

Pros

Lots of customization. User friendly, and very detailed estimates.

Cons

The database building and assembly building is complex. There is support available for this however.

Glenn
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 6/4/2011

I have been estimating commercial construction projects for the past 15 years.

If you are on the fence with estimating software, look no further than Timberline. I have tried them all and none of them are as fast and refined as Timberline. Other companies put on a good sales show but the application doesn't measure up. We actually spent about $15k on a company's software licenses, and after using it we found it to be slow and klunky.

How good is Sage Timberline Estimating? Well, we walked away from $15k to use Timberline. Yeah, it's that good.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful product that is well integrated

Reviewed on 1/19/2017

For project estimates that are all inclusive and cover all aspects of a project you are bidding or developing a project budget for, there is no product more powerful than Sage Estimating. With its powerful ability to create well-defined estimates, it also has the ability to connect to many other facets of Project Management, Accounting and Construction. The product is capable of being enterprise-wide for a contractor or construction management firm, with the ability to bring in information from external sources.

Pros

Plenty of customization is available to have the output look and feel the way you want it, many modules to attach to and the ability to draw from database pricing information from external sources.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve for the beginning user. This is not a product for the occasional user.

Chuck
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

20+ year user review

Reviewed on 9/5/2014

Pros

It offers the flexibility to price anything you could dream up in detail and break it out any way you want.

Cons

The base databases are unreliable unless you develop them.

Ameen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

I am never had a chance to use this software

Reviewed on 1/20/2018

I want this software to be able to use in middle east and support

Pros

Good for estimating. I want some partbers of sage to help me use this software in saudi arabia. I saw this product is only available in NA

Cons

Not supported in middle east. How can i find a partner in middle east who can help me supply this software and provide training

Emad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Timberline

Reviewed on 10/27/2016

Timberline is a good old program that can be utilized for estimating however, you need to have a good database of prices to make it effective and you need to update these prices often to make it effective.

Pros

Good once you have learned it. It does complex estimating.

Cons

It has old features that are hard to change. Timberline does not change the programming technology to make it easier to use..

Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Using this for estimating worked, but not as well as other options.

Reviewed on 10/5/2017

Overall it works, but not my first choice.

Pros

Great for tracking, and is a fanatic database for historical information, but clunky to use and not as user friendly as other options.

Cons

Seems outdated, and reports are tricky to get right without knowing exactly what you need. Clunky interface with no options for improvement.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

sage estimating software

Reviewed on 8/18/2016

Pros

it is user friendly and looks like an excel spreadsheet

Cons

cannot buy the product directly you must go through a distributor